View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 0 v 0 Aberdeen

22-04-2013, 04:47 PM
An opportunity to reopen a three point lead over the Merricks this evening, or an opportunity to blood some youngsters in a meaningless game? or both?

Todays forecast is as follows;

A strong 25mph wind from the southwest will be a pain in the ass for those low down in the East Stand this evening, as you'll get the usual mix of plastic bags and crisp packets and dust blowing right in your face at kickoff time. There will be some low late evening sunshine right in your eyes as well, so an evening for the shades or the baseball cap. Might feel quite warm between gusts at 10C. Humidity 63%, 1002mb and falling on the Bollah Barometer. Sunset at 8:33pm, probably about when the players run out for the second half with the three points already in the bag.

Low evening sun can be a nuisance, especially if you have an extensive trophy and medals cabinet in a west facing conservatory. The sun can glint right off the silverware and be quite blinding if you're not expecting it. This however, won't be a problem for Gary Mackay this evening, or indeed, any evening :aok:

22-04-2013, 04:52 PM
I'd give Handling Caldwell and Donaldson a run in the team tonight

22-04-2013, 04:56 PM
Done to play :confused:

Any official news?

22-04-2013, 04:58 PM
Whatever the line-up, I hope we all can enjoy the performance and see a positive approach.

22-04-2013, 05:02 PM
Telly box options? Presume that's why we're moved?
delayed on my way back from weedge.

22-04-2013, 05:04 PM
Is the game repeated later? I'm at work until 11

22-04-2013, 05:05 PM
Telly box options? Presume that's why we're moved?
delayed on my way back from weedge.

ESPN tonight :aok:

22-04-2013, 05:07 PM
Is the game repeated later? I'm at work until 11

Just checked ESPN and looks like its not repeated at all.

22-04-2013, 05:18 PM
Just checked ESPN and looks like its not repeated at all.

Good/Bad thing :dunno: :wink:

22-04-2013, 05:20 PM
Good/Bad thing :dunno: :wink:

Depends which team turns up :-)

22-04-2013, 05:37 PM
Any team news?

Emerald
22-04-2013, 05:39 PM
Any team news?
Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon, Stevenson, Handling, Thomson, Taiwo, Harris, Doyle, Griffiths

22-04-2013, 05:40 PM
@HibernianFCClub: Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon, Stevenson, Handling, Thomson, Taiwo, Harris, Doyle, Griffiths #hibees

Piqué
22-04-2013, 05:41 PM
Subs: Grant, Claros, Wotherspoon, Done, Maybury, Caldwell, Horribine #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

22-04-2013, 05:41 PM
Pretty happy with that team. Give it a few hours and I'll be back calling for Fenlons head.....:wink:

22-04-2013, 05:42 PM
Largely what people wanted. Notice Cairney is out completely.

22-04-2013, 05:44 PM
Largely what people wanted. Notice Cairney is out completely.

McGivern too which I assume is more down to injury/fitness, he did seem to be struggling towards the end of ET last week.

AJWisme
22-04-2013, 05:44 PM
Lets hope it's the way we finished the semi! Fenlon's played an attacking starting team! :thumbsup::pfgwa

AJWisme
22-04-2013, 05:45 PM
McGivern too which I assume is more down to injury/fitness, he did seem to be struggling towards the end of ET last week.

Suspended unfortunately. But I agree so maybe a welcome rest for him :agree:

22-04-2013, 05:47 PM
Excellent. Just the team I'd hoped for

Shows that pat isn't stupid and can learn from mistakes

22-04-2013, 05:47 PM

He's suspended

22-04-2013, 05:48 PM

He's suspended

davhibby
22-04-2013, 05:49 PM
A bit disappointed that Claros isn't starting but other than that it looks like a good team

22-04-2013, 05:50 PM
Surprised that Claros is only on bench unless I've missed news of an injury or knock :dunno:

Suspended unfortunately. But I agree so maybe a welcome rest for him :agree:

No Murdock?

Robertson and Cairney both punted out completely. Looks like the team everyone wanted.

22-04-2013, 05:51 PM
Surprised that Claros is only on bench unless I've missed news of an injury or knock :dunno:

Don't think Claros deserves to be dropped. :agree:

22-04-2013, 05:55 PM
9 in the squad that are Hibs raised. Decent.

Piqué
22-04-2013, 05:56 PM
Claros did play 120 minutes last week while Taiwo and Thomson only played part of the game. Seems a good time to give him a rest when we have two very capable replacements. Allows Thomson more game time and match fitness and gives Taiwo a chance to prove why he should be in the first team.

Sweet Left Peg
22-04-2013, 06:00 PM
@HibernianFCClub: Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon, Stevenson, Handling, Thomson, Taiwo, Harris, Doyle, Griffiths #hibees

That team excites me. I hope they are set up in a 4-4-2. If they are, it tells me that Fenlon intends to go out and win the game rather than trying not to get beaten. If this is what he is doing then good on him for trying something other than 4-5-1. He was basically forced to change his preferred tactics in the Semi and we saw the benefits. So looking at that team I hope we carry on from where we left off.

22-04-2013, 06:01 PM
Really pleased to see the young guys starting as well as Taiwo who has done a good job.

22-04-2013, 06:01 PM
That team excites me. I hope they are set up in a 4-4-2. If they are, it tells me that Fenlon intends to go out and win the game rather than trying not to get beaten. If this is what he is doing then good on him for trying something other than 4-5-1. He was basically forced to change his preferred tactics in the Semi and we saw the benefits. So looking at that team I hope we carry on from where we left off.

451 doesn't mean you aren't trying to win the game.

22-04-2013, 06:13 PM
451 doesn't mean you aren't trying to win the game.

sadly under Fenlon, 4-5-1 means sitting in and hardly seeing any green jerseys anywhere near the opposition box.

22-04-2013, 06:24 PM
I hope he gives Caldwell a shot in the next few games. He looked a cracking player when he played in Belgium, really want to see how he does from a start; I guess keeping Doyle on makes sense after last Saturday.

hibs4thecup1988
22-04-2013, 06:25 PM
sadly under Fenlon, 4-5-1 means sitting in and hardly seeing any green jerseys anywhere near the opposition box.

I realise your in Prague but have you saw some games this season? Tore motherwell nd dundee united apart away from home playing 4-5-1

22-04-2013, 06:28 PM
As expected a small crowd in tonight.

NYHibby
22-04-2013, 06:32 PM
Is the game on MW radio?

22-04-2013, 06:33 PM
Anyone got a radio link I can use on my phone? Cheers

22-04-2013, 06:42 PM
'he had his arms round his neck but Doyle was always looking to go down'
lol

"He's got his arms round his neck but I don't think you can give a penalty for that".

What a hapless fud Stephen Craigan is. I hate that wee motormouth, never stops talking. And he talks cliched pish as well.

Beat it, 'Crags', ya rusty pubed welt.

Just in from work to the penalty incident aparrantly or so Craigan says

" you can't give a penalty against Anderson even though he's go his hands round Doyle's neck"

Ehhh do one Craigan

22-04-2013, 06:43 PM
Is the game on MW radio?

Anyone got a radio link I can use on my phone? Cheers

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17499740

McHibby
22-04-2013, 06:44 PM
"He's got his arms round his neck but I don't think you can give a penalty for that".

What a hapless fud Stephen Craigan is. I hate that wee motormouth, never stops talking. And he talks cliched pish as well.

Beat it, 'Crags', ya rusty pubed welt.

22-04-2013, 06:46 PM
I get the impression that Craigan is ready to shoot his load every time the sheep get the ball and move forward... Everything they do is decent

Meant to add Thomson has had a few decent touches

22-04-2013, 06:53 PM
Leigh through middle shoots straight at keeper.

22-04-2013, 06:54 PM
Leigh shoots again over the bar.

22-04-2013, 06:57 PM
Hanlon only headed that because of player who was offside. Daft decision to give the corner.

22-04-2013, 06:58 PM
Hanlon only headed that because of player who was offside. Daft decision to give the corner.

aye, crazy.

Now Sparky offside ....2-3 yards on.

Are all linesmens jambos?

22-04-2013, 07:05 PM
Hideous game of football so far

22-04-2013, 07:06 PM
This has been 'kin brutal .......

22-04-2013, 07:12 PM
Need a striker to hold it up and link it for this 442 thing.

22-04-2013, 07:12 PM
Dreadful shot by KT. Keep your head man.

22-04-2013, 07:14 PM
Awful for last 30 mins.

HiBremian
22-04-2013, 07:16 PM
HT Borefest of the Century so far....

And the tone of the Hibs TV commentary team suits the football :yawn:

22-04-2013, 07:16 PM
Awful first half.

Greenblood70
22-04-2013, 07:17 PM
Abysmal, neither team has the first idea how to play. Aimless punts forward, miscontrol, bobbly pitch and end of season atmosphere. Scottish football in the raw!

22-04-2013, 07:18 PM
Hibs v Aberdeen are always ****** games. Jackie McNamara watching Katie apparently.

22-04-2013, 07:20 PM
Need a striker to hold it up and link it for this 442 thing.

That's what Shefki's for.

22-04-2013, 07:21 PM
Atrocious performance yet again from Hibs - we have no shape going forward, no ideas, no creativity, don't think we have troubled their goalkeeper at all yet - It's difficult to believe that Fenlon actually gives these guys any instructions when they run out, it's particularly galling because Aberdeeen are even worse than we are - still maybe everything will change in the second half...

22-04-2013, 07:24 PM
Hibs v Aberdeen are always ****** games. Jackie McNamara watching Katie apparently.

He can watch all he wants but there is no way Utd can afford him, especially after being told they may need to pay a South American team 200, 000 for a player they had a couple of seasons ago!!

22-04-2013, 07:27 PM
Tonight is yet another Hibernian first.....

As in, the first team to play two wingers and adopt a strictly long ball approach. Barry!

22-04-2013, 07:27 PM
What a bore fest this has been, not really impressed with handling again. Doesnt seem to want to take a player on although most of the team are like that

22-04-2013, 07:29 PM
Is this definitely going to happen? I like the back of the bus.

Yep. With all the charles kennedys and mikey stewarts :boo hoo:

22-04-2013, 07:31 PM
Handling straight at keeper, easy save..

22-04-2013, 07:33 PM
To be fair, we looked dangerous coming out of the tunnel there. The sheep were on the rocks until they kicked off the 2nd half.

22-04-2013, 07:33 PM
To be fair, we looked dangerous coming out of the tunnel there. The sheep were on the rocks until they kicked off the 2nd half.

Ha ha!! No bad start

22-04-2013, 07:34 PM
Sunday pub league stuff I'm afraid. I'll be charitable and say that the wind and playing surface are not conducive to silky football.

22-04-2013, 07:37 PM
Handling off Spoon on for me.

22-04-2013, 07:39 PM
Doyle hit post.

22-04-2013, 07:40 PM
This is getting so exciting I can hardly sit still.

22-04-2013, 07:41 PM
I missed first 45 :greengrin

Second half's been alright.

22-04-2013, 07:41 PM
Has Charlie had a shot to save yet?

22-04-2013, 07:44 PM
Griffiths wasted taking the corners. He'd be better hanging around the box in the unlikely event the ball breaks to him.

22-04-2013, 07:45 PM
Griffiths wasted taking the corners. He'd be better hanging around the box in the unlikely event the ball breaks to him.He wasn't wasted there last week...

22-04-2013, 07:47 PM
Daft tackle from KT there. Booked

22-04-2013, 07:48 PM
He wasn't wasted there last week...

I know. I'm just trying to start something.

22-04-2013, 07:50 PM
This is decent now. So, you know what happens next.

22-04-2013, 07:50 PM
I know. I'm just trying to start something.:greengrin

lugz
22-04-2013, 07:55 PM
I quite like the incontinent slappers that advertise those pads for women........always falling down and flashing their knicks! hehehe

I finish work and come on here to see how the game is going and this is what I get!! Haha

Must be a cracking game!

22-04-2013, 07:56 PM
What an absolutely turgid game this is.

Come on Hibernian ya wee ride, give us a goal.

Does anyone know Craigan's home address? He's getting glassed with a betting slip.

West hamBERNIAN
22-04-2013, 07:56 PM
Would like to see Caldwell come on for Doyle, disappeared since his chance. Hell get done on too!

22-04-2013, 07:57 PM
Would like to see Caldwell come on for Doyle, disappeared since his chance. Hell get done on too!

If we get Done on then I'm officially done in.

HibeeHendo
22-04-2013, 07:58 PM
Hanlon's been decent.

West hamBERNIAN
22-04-2013, 08:00 PM

Fenlon definitely reads .net! Lets go three at the back pat. Guys are wanting done on.

22-04-2013, 08:00 PM
Blooming heck. Bbc text website just gone down! Watching Broadchurch so not listening to the game.

West hamBERNIAN
22-04-2013, 08:03 PM
Hanlon's been decent.

Motm so far, faultless.

22-04-2013, 08:08 PM

I'd have him on for one of the current wingers who haven't had great games.

22-04-2013, 08:09 PM
What a strike

HibeesLA
22-04-2013, 08:09 PM
Sparky going for the magnificent again

HibeeHendo
22-04-2013, 08:10 PM
Jesus Christ what a shot. Here comes the Done.

Mind wandering .. Some strike fae Leigh!

Aye just a bit. Sooperb boot and save

What a strike! And what a save! You could see from Langfields face he couldn't believe it.

How we're gonna miss that guy. Griffiths I mean not KT.

22-04-2013, 08:11 PM
That was a foul tbh. No advantage Guv

HibeeHendo
22-04-2013, 08:12 PM
How was that not a free kick? Hate the amateurish refereeing we have.

22-04-2013, 08:13 PM
Clancy looking back to a bit of form as well.

22-04-2013, 08:14 PM
Kingstonian 0 - Concord Rangers 1 :thumbsup:

Ref's had a pants last ten has he no?

Get yer eyes tested ref!

If in doubt give it against Hibs.

22-04-2013, 08:15 PM
What a bloody crap game of football.

West hamBERNIAN
22-04-2013, 08:15 PM
how was that not a free kick? Hate the amateurish refereeing we have.

ish??

22-04-2013, 08:16 PM
If the Sheep are as humpty as this, they'll be closing the remaining three and a half stands. They're pish.

Scott Vernon has a heed the size of a Citroen Saxo. Planets orbit around that coupon.

Clancy! It's funny really.

22-04-2013, 08:17 PM
Interesting that pre season Aberdeen were tipped to be a great attacking force. Shows it doesn't always work that way!

LeighLoyal
22-04-2013, 08:18 PM
Why didn't he start Claros? I thought there was no shape because Claros is the main guy for us.

HibeeHendo
22-04-2013, 08:19 PM
Decent second half performance. We've been guilty of slow starts a lot this season.

Off the bar
22-04-2013, 08:20 PM
anyone know official attendance?

22-04-2013, 08:21 PM
Why didn't he start Claros? I thought there was no shape because Claros is the main guy for us.

We wanted 442. Taiwo played well last week. Claros played 120 mins. If he'd left Thomson or Taiwo out someone would have questioned it.

22-04-2013, 08:22 PM
Kingstonian pushing forward now...squeaky bum time.

22-04-2013, 08:22 PM
Clancy! It's funny really.
Bloody awful player....can see Celtic marauding down his side in the final....absolute gash

22-04-2013, 08:23 PM
Triple substitution for Kingstonian - they must be going for the equaliser. Nine minutes left...

22-04-2013, 08:23 PM
Still 0-1 to Concord Rangers....if anyone actually cares :rolleyes:

MotherSuperior
22-04-2013, 08:24 PM
Bloody awful player....can see Celtic marauding down his side in the final....absolute gash

he had a good game tonight!

22-04-2013, 08:24 PM

Played well tonight.

22-04-2013, 08:25 PM
Difficult to believe Fenlon's assertion that we are aiming to gain as many points as possible from the last 5 games of the season, and everyone is playing for a cup final place ... on this showing that simply cannot be true. Truly abysmal Fenlon. What's the excuse this time?

LeighLoyal
22-04-2013, 08:26 PM

Is Stevenson any better? Heidless chicken at times. Clancy was ok

22-04-2013, 08:27 PM
Difficult to believe Fenlon's assertion that we are aiming to gain as many points as possible from the last 5 games of the season, and everyone is playing for a cup final place ... on this showing that simply cannot be true. Truly abysmal Fenlon. What's the excuse this time?

Playing the formation and players the fans wanted.

22-04-2013, 08:27 PM
Another ball out the ground at Kingstonian...

...hoof...

22-04-2013, 08:29 PM
Terrible referee and 'assistant referee combo' blatant foul and blatant corner not given

22-04-2013, 08:29 PM

He needs games, he is a very good player and we all know it.

22-04-2013, 08:32 PM
What's the line here? Are we backing Kingstonian or Concord?

22-04-2013, 08:33 PM
It's been Full time at the Hibs game for a good 15 minutes now, just for the record likesay :wink:

22-04-2013, 08:33 PM
What's the line here? Are we backing Kingstonian or Concord?

Concord need to win to keep Carshalton in with a shot at Europe.

22-04-2013, 08:34 PM
That was one of the coldest games in history. Still trying to warm up.

22-04-2013, 08:35 PM

This is VERY confusing. So, we're backing Carshalton via Concord?

Meanwhile Celta Vigo need to seriously get the finger out or my accumulator's out the window.

22-04-2013, 08:36 PM

A bad looking injury to Sidorowicz for Kingstonian/ Looks like a snapped lace :agree:

another 30 seconds!

22-04-2013, 08:36 PM
Yet I read in the Scotsman /Evening News that he was going to play the team/formation he wanted ...
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/i-will-keep-using-4-5-1-formation-says-hibs-pat-fenlon-1-2904484

Feed McGraw
22-04-2013, 08:40 PM

Is that right Andy ? Well he got that wrong too, didn`t he ?

22-04-2013, 08:43 PM
Is that right Andy ? Well he got that wrong too, didn`t he ?

Yeah we should maybe start banging on about a third formation. See how that does.

Feed McGraw
22-04-2013, 08:48 PM
Yeah we should maybe start banging on about a third formation. See how that does.

Yeah, why not ? Can`t be much worse can it ?

22-04-2013, 08:48 PM
That was a terrible game of football, we are poor but the sheep are something else entirely!

Weather played a big factor for us tonight though, had a few good chances to win it but just couldn't take them.

22-04-2013, 08:52 PM
I think we have the makings of a half decent team but they lack organisation and a cutting edge. Unfortunately I can't see any prospect of change in the foreseeable future.

22-04-2013, 08:52 PM
Aberdeen really are piss poor. Ive never seen Hibs control a game so easily. Just a shame we didnt get a goal as they would have opened up. Positives. Harris, Griffiths, Thomson, Hanlon.......negatives McPake continues to pull the team back and we defend far too deep, Fenlon still waits far too long to bring on subs, and finally surely we have one creative player in the reserves to bring on for 30 mins in a second half?

22-04-2013, 08:55 PM
Aberdeen really are piss poor. Ive never seen Hibs control a game so easily. Just a shame we didnt get a goal as they would have opened up. Positives. Harris, Griffiths, Thomson, Hanlon.......negatives McPake continues to pull the team back and we defend far too deep, Fenlon still waits far too long to bring on subs, and finally surely we have one creative player in the reserves to bring on for 30 mins in a second half?

I don't think we do. Aside from either wingers or properly overlapping wing-backs, a central midfield creative play maker is what we have missed all season. I'd say that was our top signing priority for the summer if we weren't also going to need to sign at least one goal scorer, probably two, plus the wingers/fullbacks and of course the Claros and Thomson replacements.

Where we actually that bad tonight?

Thought we tried to play with a bit more urgency but the wind killed any chance of a decent game. We slowed up a lot when the ball went to Clancy who looked miles off the pace. We had 4 or 5 chances to win the game whilst Williams never really had a save to make.

Not great but not terrible, given the conditions, imo of course.

Agree with this,

Was a pish game of football but I've seen us play alot worse in recent years. Not entirely disheartened.

22-04-2013, 08:57 PM
I don't think we do. Aside from either wingers or properly overlapping wing-backs, a central midfield creative play maker is what we have missed all season. I'd say that was our top signing priority for the summer if we weren't also going to need to sign at least one goal scorer, probably two, plus the wingers/fullbacks and of course the Claros and Thomson replacements.

:agree: Desperately, desperately need a proper number 10.

22-04-2013, 09:01 PM

Spot on. Thomo , Tawio, Claros...basically all the same player. I only wish Cairney had built on his early promise - but its the forward running Centre mid we need. We really arent that bad guys....we played some decent football tonight, and never looked like losing a goal.

22-04-2013, 09:21 PM
Well that was boring

EastCalderHibby
22-04-2013, 09:35 PM
Agree with this,

Was a pish game of football but I've seen us play alot worse in recent years. Not entirely disheartened.

Totally agree it was a pish game, Second half of sf played ball on the deck and tore them apart , First ten mins of second
half v sheep played the ball on the deck and put them under pressure but the minute the ball is in the air we lose it apart
from the odd one that actually goes over the defenders.Also so slow going forward

TheFamous1875
22-04-2013, 09:47 PM

It hink Cairney should get a chance to try this role at some point. He's skilful, and has no pace to be on either wing.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

22-04-2013, 10:18 PM

Thought we tried to play with a bit more urgency but the wind killed any chance of a decent game. We slowed up a lot when the ball went to Clancy who looked miles off the pace. We had 4 or 5 chances to win the game whilst Williams never really had a save to make.

I'm with you PB, I thought we played well and the better side from the 2 and probably deserved the 3 points.

22-04-2013, 10:37 PM
Was impressed with Hanlon tonight, hopefully Clancy can find a wee bit of form leading up to the final as his distribution has been poor of late.

23-04-2013, 09:35 AM

No we werent we were pretty good and the better team on a difficult night with the wind and a bare pitch also thought Clancy was better than previously. Looked like we had more energy and looked a better team to me with Thomson in for Claros. Quite happy with last night to be fair.