View Full Version : Motherwell boycott of Dundee Utd last night...

20-04-2013, 11:23 AM
Shamelessly nicked from Twitter... Fair play to them :aok:

"It is with deepest regret that we announce Dundee United has continued their heavy handed approach to the Motherwell support by persisting to be the only club in Scottish football to deny entry for our drum, all fans flags and banners despi...te approval from the authorities. It is not the first occasion Dundee United have applied draconian measures in recent times, as at a match last season they refused entry for close to one hundred fans which included a full busload and any fan that was attempting to enter at the same time. For what reason it is unknown although we pinpoint the reasons following lengthy discussions with the stewards on the day as being; the flags were too big, no drums are allowed and it looked like a group of fans that fancied a song or two… imagine that at the football?

Since then, despite complaining afterwards about that day in the form of letters, emails and numerous tweets silence beckons from Tannadice. We are yet to receive explanation from that day, despite the extent of the complaints reaching a peak with an article in the Motherwell times condemning United’s treatment of our supporters. Subsequently Dundee United has given prior warning that no flags, instruments or banners will be permitted in the previous two fixtures, this being the third.

As has been stated Dundee United are the only team in Scottish football who continue to adopt a club approach in contrast to police approval, with no explanation, towards such measures. It seems Dundee United is happy to show such disregard to away fans, so why should we give them our hard earned wages in return? If not only their same street rivals Dundee can allow entry for flags, the drum and banners, but also every other team in the country, how can Dundee United continue to fail to understand how the atmosphere is improved and that numbers follow as a result?

Dundee United it seems is stuck in the footballing dark ages with their policies, in a nation looking to actively promote their game.

It is at this point, where the Heavy Hands Empty Stands campaign would like to suggest you join us at Fir Parks Davie Cooper suite to watch the match live and give our money to a club that is entirely behind creating a better atmosphere at matches, being fan friendly and at the forefront of ideas; our own.

Dundee United has shown that they are the very pinnacle of everything we are fighting against as a group, everything we stand against is emanating from Dundee United and it is time we put an end to it. We hate missing ‘Well games and it pains us to ask supporters to join us in doing so by advocating watching the match on television instead of attending, but sometimes the best way to answer these clubs is to hit them where it hurts, the pocket.

If we can get just 100 fans to gather together in the Davie Cooper suite, the equivalent of two busloads that we could otherwise take up to Dundee, we will be costing them roughly £2,000 in missed gate receipts. In the tough financial times for Dundee United, as for any club, it cannot fail to show them that fan engagement, treatment and experience is indeed a pivotal part in attracting crowds.

So please, whether you were considering attending the match or not, join us in the Cooper suite for a beer and the game, quite possibly a sing song and cheer the Steelmen on whilst showing Dundee United we will not stand for the continued mistreatment of our support.

Heavy Hands will lead to Empty Stands."

http://i47.tinypic.com/fsak9.png

20-04-2013, 11:37 AM
Didn't Hibs refuse entry to an 'Oompah Band' at a recent home match against Aberdeen? There was a bit of discussion on here about it but I don't suppose that's quite the same thing.

Anyway, back on topic, I think Hibs supporters have recently had the same kind of treatment at Tannadice so fair play to the Motherwell supporters in standing up to this. I'd be wary though of commenting on what exactly happened when they didn't allow the busload of fans into the game, as we don't know all the facts. If they were doing anything untoward, Dundee United should come out and give the reasons. Otherwise, we can only presume they were indeed being heavy-handed.

20-04-2013, 11:38 AM

20-04-2013, 11:45 AM
Another issue was that United released ticket info via Motherwell's web site that entry to the ground would be £19 for the lower and £22 for the upper stand, as is normal. However, on the day, only the upper stand was opened at £22. What if you travelled up with only £20 in your tail?

20-04-2013, 11:49 AM
they have a point! D.Utd have some of the worst stewarding in Scotland, imho. some of them parade about like mini Hitlers.never seem to be helpful to fans,more like "you cant do that". a couple of years ago, one of the stewards jumped out of a toilet cubicle at HT, lying in wait to catch smokers! we never seem to be welcome.dont want a medal for turning up, just some common courtesy at times! we've had HT problems at Fir Park in the past too, but on a rare occasion,complaining and directing police to a small group of young guys, for singing?. maybe didnae like the song as it was upsetting the 'well fans near our end.

147lothian
20-04-2013, 11:57 AM
Thats a joke m'well have the worst support in the spl, even ross county bring more to easter road, m'well boycotting anyone? Your having a wee giraffe!

Twiglet
20-04-2013, 12:18 PM
Not much sympathy from me I'm afraid. The Motherwell drummer is so annoying as it's just "bang bang bang" with no rhythm or reason to their drumming (if they used it like section 43 I'd have no issue).

20-04-2013, 12:19 PM
Just following on the bowler hat and coattails of their Big Cousins

If Walter and co are boycotting tannadice they felt they'd better follow suit?

20-04-2013, 02:08 PM
Call me old fashioned but I'm with dundee united on this one. If I want to hear someone drumming ill listen to some music. Just a pain in the arse if you ask me.

20-04-2013, 02:10 PM
Utd fans probably didn't even realise they were getting 'boycotted'

20-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Call me old fashioned but I'm with dundee united on this one. If I want to hear someone drumming ill listen to some music. Just a pain in the arse if you ask me.

Think the point is that the Motherwell fans offered to leave the drum and flags on the bus but were still told they werent getting in.

20-04-2013, 02:34 PM
Think the point is that the Motherwell fans offered to leave the drum and flags on the bus but were still told they werent getting in.

The intent is enough for me :greengrin

neilmartinrocks
20-04-2013, 02:36 PM

Pretty much correct. Boy in our fishing club is a well fan and says after a heated discussion they put everything back on bus went to go in and were then refused entry.
Personaly I hate Tannadump, stewards are too heavy handed.

20-04-2013, 03:23 PM
Pretty much correct. Boy in our fishing club is a well fan and says after a heated discussion they put everything back on bus went to go in and were then refused entry.
Personaly I hate Tannadump, stewards are too heavy handed.

Fair play to the Motherwell fans for standing up for their principles - quite right too 👍

Dundee Utd's loss.

20-04-2013, 03:34 PM
Common sense card missing from the pack IMO.
Marjory Proops says ...
"Wellers - Leave the biscuit tin at home.
DUFC Enforcers - If they've no' brought their biscuit tin, let them in."

No brainer :doh:

20-04-2013, 03:38 PM
On the stewarding at Darkheid is worse that Tannadice. Sometimes you think they are looking to start things just to hook people. Motherwell boycotting is surely a non-event? The amount that the home team would have saved from keeping bits of the ground closed would have been greater than the receipts of 100 travellers.

20-04-2013, 03:41 PM
With the motherwell fans on this. We are supposed to be customers, we are entitled to some courtesy. Many football grounds lack atmosphere and having a bit of noise adds to the experience. It is not the cinema or theatre where you can understand a boisterious crowd might be unwelcome. FFS no swearing, no singing, no flags, no clapping, soon it will be a case of saying "good show" when a goal is scored and only a slight tut when you lose one. Thankfully football is still a place where young guys can gather and get a bit boisterious, compared to the 70s and 80s todays fans a very benign bunch.

20-04-2013, 05:29 PM
Not a fan of boycotts to be honest, but I can understand the Well fans annoyance. Drums are fine so long as they beat along with a song or chant ..... mindless banging ... like that Livvi tool a few years back is just bloody annoying. I can also understand Hibs banning the Aberdeen band ... paid performers? I dont think so, they belong on the park, not in the stands.

But having said that, this is the problem with our game. If it was up to me I would have standing areas, muckle big flags, flares & smoke bombs, rattles, trumpets, air horns ... the whole 9 yards. If the sheep had found a few fans with musical talent to be their band then I say "let them in" it would be up to us to make more noise.

There is some sort of misconception that fans go to watch professional football ..... no they dont.... they ARE professional football, for the most part they are the spectacle and make the game what it is.

There are some games I remember because of the great football, but there are a hell of a lot more that I remember because of the great atmosphere. Hibs v AEK springs to mind, The singing at the end of the 2007 LC final, our fans at Bolton and more recently at Killie. Not forgetting the legendary 7,000.

I'd rather leave a ground with a sore head than sit for 90 minutes in a library ...... Its fans that make the game and football ignores that at its peril.

neilmartinrocks
20-04-2013, 05:36 PM
Not a fan of boycotts to be honest, but I can understand the Well fans annoyance. Drums are fine so long as they beat along with a song or chant ..... mindless banging ... like that Livvi tool a few years back is just bloody annoying. I can also understand Hibs banning the Aberdeen band ... paid performers? I dont think so, they belong on the park, not in the stands.

But having said that, this is the problem with our game. If it was up to me I would have standing areas, muckle big flags, flares & smoke bombs, rattles, trumpets, air horns ... the whole 9 yards. If the sheep had found a few fans with musical talent to be their band then I say "let them in" it would be up to us to make more noise.

There is some sort of misconception that fans go to watch professional football ..... no they dont.... they ARE professional football, for the most part they are the spectacle and make the game what it is.

There are some games I remember because of the great football, but there are a hell of a lot more that I remember because of the great atmosphere. Hibs v AEK springs to mind, The singing at the end of the 2007 LC final, our fans at Bolton and more recently at Killie. Not forgetting the legendary 7,000.

I'd rather leave a ground with a sore head than sit for 90 minutes in a library ...... Its fans that make the game and football ignores that at its peril.

THIS :top marks

20-04-2013, 06:16 PM
I am with the Motherwell fans on this, Scottish fitba is on it's arse, United's stance is mental.

ZS DOOM
20-04-2013, 06:30 PM

Couldn't have put it better myself

20-04-2013, 06:33 PM
Remember this is Motherwell who only open the top tier in there ground so the away fans are so far away from the pitch that they cannot create an atmosphere for there own team, stinks of double standards if you ask me. :agree:

Niffy
20-04-2013, 06:47 PM
Knicked from Twitter , how the **** did all that it on Twitter?

20-04-2013, 06:57 PM
drums, or indeed bagpipes, at football?
no thanks.

yeezus.
20-04-2013, 07:15 PM

You are old fashioned. :cb

20-04-2013, 07:27 PM
With Motherwell on this. I'd never been thrown out of a stadium in my life until I went to tannadice (and haven't been thrown out since). The standard of "stewarding" there is absolutely dreadful. I got thrown out for singing and possibly standing a bit. I wasn't even out of order to the steward (who used some pretty colourful language towards me) and then as I was being escorted out by the police they even apologised to me for his actions and behaviour.

My mate wrote a letter of complaint to DUFC.. No reply.

I haven't been back and won't be back to tannadump in any hurry.

20-04-2013, 07:31 PM
;3573735']With Motherwell on this. I'd never been thrown out of a stadium in my life until I went to tannadice (and haven't been thrown out since). The standard of "stewarding" there is absolutely dreadful. I got thrown out for singing and possibly standing a bit. I wasn't even out of order to the steward (who used some pretty colourful language towards me) and then as I was being escorted out by the police they even apologised to me for his actions and behaviour.

My mate wrote a letter of complaint to DUFC.. No reply.

I haven't been back and won't be back to tannadump in any hurry.:aok:

Well said lad, last time I was up there, few seasons ago now, the stewards were absolute tossers, wouldnae bother again, disnae seem like anything has changed at that club. The stewards obviously act like that with the clubs blessing as they dinnae seem tae dae anything about it. Still they'll be the ones losing dosh so **** 'em

20-04-2013, 07:56 PM
I got dragged out a turnstile many years ago after a guy refused to take 3 fivers from me... 15 quid entry but they refused to accept the money cos of a lot of counterfeits going about the Dundee area.

I asked them why wait till we were in until they told us.

Some jumped up arse just about got lamped and then the police arrived. The steward concocted some story about me being abusive, drunk or drugged up and with a bunch of trouble makers. One complete and utter tosser of a cop tried to make me look stupid in front of everyone but ended up getting it back.

Cop didn't believe me but the steward. Me and Mrs Aldo ( whose 5ft tall) couldn't believe it.
Wife complained big time, steward was laughing at which point I told him what I actually did and his face dropped as did the coppers. ( didn't have a drop to drink that day btw)

It's fair to say I've never been back to that ramshackle of a dump.

20-04-2013, 08:27 PM
With the motherwell fans on this. We are supposed to be customers, we are entitled to some courtesy. Many football grounds lack atmosphere and having a bit of noise adds to the experience. It is not the cinema or theatre where you can understand a boisterious crowd might be unwelcome. FFS no swearing, no singing, no flags, no clapping, soon it will be a case of saying "good show" when a goal is scored and only a slight tut when you lose one. Thankfully football is still a place where young guys can gather and get a bit boisterious, compared to the 70s and 80s todays fans a very benign bunch.spot on Vini:cb

20-04-2013, 08:37 PM
Remember this is Motherwell who only open the top tier in there ground so the away fans are so far away from the pitch that they cannot create an atmosphere for there own team, stinks of double standards if you ask me. :agree: that's not exactly how it goes, is it? Motherwell have accommodated us in the last couple(or 3) of Friday games by opening the top and the lower sections. they were, in the past guilty of trying to cram a'bdy into the lower section and stewards would say ,no its not open up there!. seem to have altered their idea on this of late.they have had to be a bit more flexible I suppose, given the shambles they've been re-pitch-lighting-etc over a few years but I'd give them a few brownie points for effort at least.

20-04-2013, 09:19 PM
You are old fashioned. :cb

Indeed I am. I yearn for a day of pitch invasions by hordes of Fitba fans in flares and platforms with scarfs tied round their wrists, jaked to the max on tins of cheap lager wi half naked birds on the side of them. :greengrin

hongkonghibee
21-04-2013, 04:24 AM
Ive been to 2 away matches at Tannadice and in both cases the organization was a shambles. Opening the away gates late, so long queues had formed and people missed the start of the match and then they gave no seat numbered tickets out which meant there were too many people in the upper part of the stand, and empty seats in the lower part of the stand. People with tickets found their seats were taken by walk-up customers. Then if you stood up(even to celebrate a goal) the stewards would shout at you to sit down or remove you from the ground. Its the worse ground in the country (maybe Celtics too) for disorganization and heavy-handed (almost aggressive) stewarding.
I wish that it wasn't left to supporters to complain or boycott matches, and that other Clubs should officially complain about the treatment of away fans at Tannadice.
As another poster pointed out, Dundee are fine with organization and stewarding. so their should be no excuses.

21-04-2013, 12:54 PM
I'm definatley with the 'well fans on this - going by the looks I've sometimes got for simply wearing a football scarf, there are large swathes of society to whom football fan=hooligan and incredibly enough, this seems to extend to the people employed to ensure those very fans' safety at games.

These people should be well drilled that THEY are there to provide a service to US and that they should have an ethos of facilitating our enjoyment of the day out rather than one of pouring rain on our parade at any given opportunity as sometimes seems to be the case.

The default position of Dundee Utd also seems to be that fans (or at least away fans) can take a running jump if they have not even had the good grace to reply to these concerns raised about the stewarding at their ground - far less do anything about it. Motherwell fans are quite right to hit them where it hurts - in the pocket - until such time as an effort is made by Utd to address their concerns.

21-04-2013, 12:58 PM
Indeed I am. I yearn for a day of pitch invasions by hordes of Fitba fans in flares and platforms with scarfs tied round their wrists, jaked to the max on tins of cheap lager wi half naked birds on the side of them. :greengrin

Don't we all mate

21-04-2013, 01:01 PM
I know a fair few who aren't going back to Tannadice cos of the awful stewarding. The away stand is poor, really dislike both of the Dundee grounds.

21-04-2013, 01:15 PM

Sigh!

The good old days..:wink:

21-04-2013, 01:34 PM
I remember we suggested something similar at the start of last season which was shot down in flames. A lot of people backing Well fans on this now...

21-04-2013, 01:39 PM
I remember we suggested something similar at the start of last season which was shot down in flames. A lot of people backing Well fans on this now...

It's a bit easier for the 'Well fans to boycott a game they wouldn't be going to anyway.
I actually quite enjoy the trip to Tannadice. The frisking down outside is pretty annoying but apart from that I haven't had any real problems.

neilmartinrocks
21-04-2013, 01:49 PM
It's a bit easier for the 'Well fans to boycott a game they wouldn't be going to anyway.
I actually quite enjoy the trip to Tannadice. The frisking down outside is pretty annoying but apart from that I haven't had any real problems.

Next time we go to tanadump I'm going to sellotape a row of drawing pins points out in my Hibs top. Frisk that ya ****!!:greengrin

Jamie
21-04-2013, 05:01 PM
Shamelessly nicked from Twitter... Fair play to them :aok:

"It is with deepest regret that we announce Dundee United has continued their heavy handed approach to the Motherwell support by persisting to be the only club in Scottish football to deny entry for our drum, all fans flags and banners despi...te approval from the authorities. It is not the first occasion Dundee United have applied draconian measures in recent times, as at a match last season they refused entry for close to one hundred fans which included a full busload and any fan that was attempting to enter at the same time. For what reason it is unknown although we pinpoint the reasons following lengthy discussions with the stewards on the day as being; the flags were too big, no drums are allowed and it looked like a group of fans that fancied a song or two… imagine that at the football?

Since then, despite complaining afterwards about that day in the form of letters, emails and numerous tweets silence beckons from Tannadice. We are yet to receive explanation from that day, despite the extent of the complaints reaching a peak with an article in the Motherwell times condemning United’s treatment of our supporters. Subsequently Dundee United has given prior warning that no flags, instruments or banners will be permitted in the previous two fixtures, this being the third.

As has been stated Dundee United are the only team in Scottish football who continue to adopt a club approach in contrast to police approval, with no explanation, towards such measures. It seems Dundee United is happy to show such disregard to away fans, so why should we give them our hard earned wages in return? If not only their same street rivals Dundee can allow entry for flags, the drum and banners, but also every other team in the country, how can Dundee United continue to fail to understand how the atmosphere is improved and that numbers follow as a result?

Dundee United it seems is stuck in the footballing dark ages with their policies, in a nation looking to actively promote their game.

It is at this point, where the Heavy Hands Empty Stands campaign would like to suggest you join us at Fir Parks Davie Cooper suite to watch the match live and give our money to a club that is entirely behind creating a better atmosphere at matches, being fan friendly and at the forefront of ideas; our own.

Dundee United has shown that they are the very pinnacle of everything we are fighting against as a group, everything we stand against is emanating from Dundee United and it is time we put an end to it. We hate missing ‘Well games and it pains us to ask supporters to join us in doing so by advocating watching the match on television instead of attending, but sometimes the best way to answer these clubs is to hit them where it hurts, the pocket.

If we can get just 100 fans to gather together in the Davie Cooper suite, the equivalent of two busloads that we could otherwise take up to Dundee, we will be costing them roughly £2,000 in missed gate receipts. In the tough financial times for Dundee United, as for any club, it cannot fail to show them that fan engagement, treatment and experience is indeed a pivotal part in attracting crowds.

So please, whether you were considering attending the match or not, join us in the Cooper suite for a beer and the game, quite possibly a sing song and cheer the Steelmen on whilst showing Dundee United we will not stand for the continued mistreatment of our support.

Heavy Hands will lead to Empty Stands."

http://i47.tinypic.com/fsak9.png

must have been some amount of tweets that considering twitter only allow 140 chars :rolleyes::thumbsup:

21-04-2013, 08:35 PM
Who exactly do these guys think they are? Dictating to their fellow fans what games they should and should not be going to? I`m sure the majority of Motherwell supporters as a whole have been attending games long before this fans group appeared on the scene, and are perfectly capable of making their own decisions on what games they fancy going along to.