View Full Version : "It Meant Nothing To Them"

16-04-2013, 02:01 PM
I still remember a thread with exactly the same title as this one on the day after the 2001 cup final. It was about Celtic fans who left the game at full time and didn't wait to see their team lift the cup.

To them it was just another tick in the record books. Another cup win compared to Rangers. A chance to get away sharpish, miss the traffic and get their tea.

Hopefully we'll give them reason to leave even earlier on 26th May and we can show them how it's done :cup:

16-04-2013, 02:06 PM
I always think this, it's a valid point. They're genuinely not that bothered with another Scottish Cup win unless it's against Rangers or vice versa.

Newry Hibs
16-04-2013, 02:18 PM
I really think the OF fans are sometimes jealous of us wee team fans (i.e. everyone else).

Do they ever get a pure sense of joy winning anything? Against their bigot rival, I suspect they are delighted the other side didn't win it.
Against anyone else, they expect to win so when they do it isn't a big deal.

Personally I wouldn't want to be like that.

neilmartinrocks
16-04-2013, 02:44 PM
I went tae the 2001 final wi' my brother and his mates. (tims) After the game I went tae the pub and was ready for a wait till they seen the cup lifted and a wee bit yahoo. NOPE!! the were in the pub looking for me tae go hame within 5mins of me getting there. If we had won that day you cuildnae hae got me oot the park wi' a polis escort. They only care when it's the huns they play.

StevieT
16-04-2013, 02:53 PM
Take a look at their semi highlights. Most were away before the players had left the pitch.

16-04-2013, 03:22 PM
Apparently dundee utd fans were giving it to some Celtic fans outside Hampden after the game on Sunday. Saying, come in the Hibees, cos you guys jut expect to win everything, etc.
well I hope their players and fans show up with exactly that attitude on May 26th. I hope they remember the recent 3-0 win and think they just need to show up. And I hope our players show up remembering exactly what it means to US and put that into their game.

I bet you not one Celtic player that's seen in the street in the next few weeks by a Celtic fan will get wished luck in the final. It will be exactly the opposite with Hibs players!

16-04-2013, 03:23 PM
I really think the OF fans are sometimes jealous of us wee team fans (i.e. everyone else).

Do they ever get a pure sense of joy winning anything? Against their bigot rival, I suspect they are delighted the other side didn't win it.
Against anyone else, they expect to win so when they do it isn't a big deal.

Personally I wouldn't want to be like that.

leithsansiro
16-04-2013, 04:55 PM
Oddly, I'm always of the opinion that the more a team wins, the less it starts to mean to their supporters.

16-04-2013, 05:04 PM
Already spoke to a few Celtic fans who have said they don't mind if Hibs win to get it up the jambos. Odd to be honest. Almost as amusing as the hertz fans who have said it won't matter if we win the cup.

leithsansiro
16-04-2013, 05:06 PM
Already spoke to a few Celtic fans who have said they don't mind if Hibs win to get it up the jambos. Odd to be honest. Almost as amusing as the hertz fans who have said it won't matter if we win the cup.

It won't matter, they are right. Soon, we'll be used to it and winning the cup will just seem routine and, dare I say it, boring...

16-04-2013, 06:19 PM

I was speaking to a Celtic fan today and he says that, although he's going to the final and obviously wants Celtic to win, if we win the cup then it won't bother him.

Very strange.

hibbydog
16-04-2013, 06:27 PM

A few Celtic supporting mates have said they want Hibs to win, basically because they are winning trophies every year and it has become meaningless, whereas if Hibs win it'll be a big thing and they will be chuffed for us.

I don't do any 'love ins' with other fans, especially the old firm, but I get what they mean, even if treating us like their pet team is a bit cheeky.

DarrenSQH
16-04-2013, 06:29 PM
I always remember them leaving before I did in 2001. Was only 13 and crying but wanted to applaud the team as they got their medals. Some Celtic fans didnt even stay to watch the presentation.

If hibs win on the 26th then they will struggle to get me out the stadium. Lol

Hibs07p
16-04-2013, 06:39 PM
Taken from the Scotsman this morning.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/scottish-cup-ledley-hails-celtic-s-passion-1-2896898

JOE Ledley is determined to help end Celtic’s lengthy wait for a domestic double after a dramatic victory against Dundee United secured their place in the William Hill Scottish Cup final.

Celtic have not delivered the double since 2007 and, with the Clydesdale Bank Premier League title within touching distance, Ledley believes this could be their year. The midfielder said: “We haven’t done the double for a long time so hopefully we can achieve that.

Is it a god given right that Celtc should win doubles, and expect the rest of Scottish football to just make up the numbers?

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

16-04-2013, 06:55 PM
A few Celtic supporting mates have said they want Hibs to win, basically because they are winning trophies every year and it has become meaningless, whereas if Hibs win it'll be a big thing and they will be chuffed for us.

I don't do any 'love ins' with other fans, especially the old firm, but I get what they mean, even if treating us like their pet team is a bit cheeky.

My celtic supporting workmate said the same. I think he was trying to be generous, but it just came out patronising as usual.

16-04-2013, 07:02 PM
I was talking to a Nuremburg fan about exactly this recently, and he agreed: the 'reward' for supporting a generally mid-table team and suffering trophyless season after trophyless season is that when you do win something, it means so much more than it ever could to a Celtc/Bayern/Man U/etc fan.

16-04-2013, 07:12 PM
I would preffer that Hibernian win the cup on merit and despite the abysmal showing in the first half last week, I think we are entitled to go into the final with no fear after disposing of the current holders,the dons and killie.the second half performance showed inner strength, if not in all the players at least some of them. we did look a bit shaky through parts of the QF too but came through that game on a high.I've always wanted us to beat Celtic in the final so i'm glad we have them.if we need to go to penalties and win it on sheer luck, I can live with that considering the sheer bad luck we've had in this competition for over a century.:pfgwa

16-04-2013, 07:18 PM
I have a few Rangers mate who put it perfectly thus:

When you support Rangers or Celtic, the lows are higher but the highs are lower.

They simply can't comprehend the elation I will feel when we eventually - be it this year, next year or in a decade - win The Scottish Cup.

16-04-2013, 07:20 PM
must add that ,not surprisingly , some Rangers fans have wished my team good luck(no surprise there, and 2 of them were at the semi) and even a couple of the gorgie mob. I also know a few Glasgow/west based Celtic fans that would be happy for me if my team won, because they can recognise the anguish in me when my team has lost at Hampden.

16-04-2013, 07:24 PM
It makes me angry now and it did in 2001. I am 30 and well up at the thought of hibs winning the Scottish Cup, coming so close makes it even more painful when it doesn't happen.

Thinking about all the folks like my grandad who lived his entire life and saw the best hibs teams ever not even lift the cup.

Knowing that everyone else in the hibs end will be feeling the same adds to that feeling, I was elated when we won the CIS in 2007 I can't even imagine what winning the Scottish Cup will be like.

To think there are celtc fans at the game that will rush away to be first in the queue for a fish supper if they win boggles my mind, if we win I will be a total wreck. All I hope is that I can see it in my lifetime, if not this year then it's bound to happen eventually right...........

16-04-2013, 07:42 PM
We were in the pub next to queen st and the rangers fans that came in after their game all said they hope we beat celtic in the final. Even the fat baldy fud who was trying to pick a fight with everyone turned around and said it (this was after he was singing yam songs).

16-04-2013, 08:02 PM
Take a look at their semi highlights. Most were away before the players had left the pitch.

It's just another routine Cup Final for Celtic, and excuse to get tanked up. They don't get to parade the cup along the streets, not even sure of they do a lap of honour ? Agree, just another notch in the belt, so cannot possibly mean as much to them as non-OF clubs.

16-04-2013, 08:09 PM
I would preffer that Hibernian win the cup on merit and despite the abysmal showing in the first half last week, I think we are entitled to go into the final with no fear after disposing of the current holders,the dons and killie.the second half performance showed inner strength, if not in all the players at least some of them. we did look a bit shaky through parts of the QF too but came through that game on a high.I've always wanted us to beat Celtic in the final so i'm glad we have them.if we need to go to penalties and win it on sheer luck, I can live with that considering the sheer bad luck we've had in this competition for over a century.:pfgwa

I'm not asking for much.... I just want Hibs to be in with a CHANCE of winning it with 10-15 mins to go :rolleyes: The closest I've seen us is in 79 but all the others 72, 01, 12 have been one sided and a huge anti-climax. We all know that this Final could be over in the first 30 mins, but praying we can pull off something special on the day.

16-04-2013, 08:12 PM
Taken from the Scotsman this morning.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/scottish-cup-ledley-hails-celtic-s-passion-1-2896898

JOE Ledley is determined to help end Celtic’s lengthy wait for a domestic double after a dramatic victory against Dundee United secured their place in the William Hill Scottish Cup final.

Celtic have not delivered the double since 2007 and, with the Clydesdale Bank Premier League title within touching distance, Ledley believes this could be their year. The midfielder said: “We haven’t done the double for a long time so hopefully we can achieve that.

Is it a god given right that Celtc should win doubles, and expect the rest of Scottish football to just make up the numbers?

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Never understood why the media go on about the "double" like its some mythical achievement.

Surely the treble is more impressive?

16-04-2013, 09:28 PM
I was with my family in the pub and the resident Celtc man just finished his pint and left. Couldnt understand it.

17-04-2013, 05:39 AM
"Oh Vienna...!"

HiBremian
17-04-2013, 06:35 AM
Never understood why the media go on about the "double" like its some mythical achievement.

Surely the treble is more impressive?

And over-dramatised by the phrase "lengthy wait" when we're really only talking 6 years!!!

Er, hello, how long have the other team been waiting?

Talk about dross journalism.

17-04-2013, 07:57 AM
We were in the pub next to queen st and the rangers fans that came in after their game all said they hope we beat celtic in the final. Even the fat baldy fud who was trying to pick a fight with everyone turned around and said it (this was after he was singing yam songs).

Rangers Fan in 'Wants Celtic to Get Beat' Sensation.

17-04-2013, 08:20 AM
I'm not asking for much.... I just want Hibs to be in with a CHANCE of winning it with 10-15 mins to go :rolleyes: The closest I've seen us is in 79 but all the others 72, 01, 12 have been one sided and a huge anti-climax. We all know that this Final could be over in the first 30 mins, but praying we can pull off something special on the day.

If we can stay in the game until the last 25/30 minutes theb we have a real chance.

We simply can't afford to lose silly early goals.

17-04-2013, 08:32 AM
I notice when they scored on Sunday their fans were just politely applauding, in contrast with the Dundee Utd fans who were going crazy when they scored, as were the Hibs and Falkirk fans on Saturday.

Surely we can instill in the team that we want it, SO much more :agree:

17-04-2013, 11:50 AM

My celtic supporting workmate said the same. I think he was trying to be generous, but it just came out patronising as usual.

It's the same patronising rubbish that the Huns gave to the Yams in 1998. Many Rangers fans hung back to applaud Hearts cup win (nothing to do with letting the traffic clear of course). Most Yams bought that line - hopefully, we are a bit more savvy and realise that Celtic have no feelings for Hibs whatsoever, and it's been that way since 1888.

They might as well call it a diddy cup, and play a reserve team. They care all right, and if we beat them they can do one - you chose your team and when it loses, it loses. No way out.

17-04-2013, 09:06 PM
I have posted on this fact a few times since that final.

Outside the stadium and on the way through Glasgow after the match we drove past hundreds of Celtic fans and there was just no out of the ordinary reaction from them, just walking along heading home or to the chippy.

I remember being quite angry about it at the time, but now I just feel a bit sorry for anybody who supports a club to whom success is such a run of the mill event that its no longer worth even celebrating.

Mind you .... that doesnt mean it wouldnt be nice to see our club get a bit closer to that position :greengrin

Purple & Green
17-04-2013, 09:26 PM
Sundays inflated pretendance for the other semi was celtics lowest Scottish cup semi crowd in 30 years.

I think op is spot on - it really doesn't matter to them if they win the Scottish or not.

17-04-2013, 11:10 PM
Sundays inflated pretendance for the other semi was celtics lowest Scottish cup semi crowd in 30 years.

I think op is spot on - it really doesn't matter to them if they win the Scottish or not.

HAHAHA!! :top marks.:faf:

18-04-2013, 01:02 AM
It maybe doesn't mean much to their fans, but it will do to their players.

There's no chance of Celtic taking a back seat against us. They'll want to do something about their recent cup competition failures and I fully expect them to come out all guns blazing.

We'll need to be at our very best right from the start, not half way through the game when Celtic are 5 goals out of sight.

18-04-2013, 07:20 AM
Oddly, I'm always of the opinion that the more a team wins, the less it starts to mean to their supporters.

I would be willing run the risk of this happening to us for a few years however. :-)

18-04-2013, 08:05 AM

What was the pretendance?

18-04-2013, 08:22 AM
I still remember a thread with exactly the same title as this one on the day after the 2001 cup final. It was about Celtic fans who left the game at full time and didn't wait to see their team lift the cup.

To them it was just another tick in the record books. Another cup win compared to Rangers. A chance to get away sharpish, miss the traffic and get their tea.

Hopefully we'll give them reason to leave even earlier on 26th May and we can show them how it's done :cup:

The old firm have always been like that.I love to poke fun at them telling them they have no idea of the feeling of winning a cup,the day out,family,friends,tears, alcohol (lots of it), open top buses,parades,singing till the early hours, all they have is beating each other,whoopee !!

Pat 0-7
18-04-2013, 08:27 AM
The old firm have always been like that.I love to poke fun at them telling them they have no idea of the feeling of winning a cup,the day out,family,friends,tears, alcohol (lots of it), open top buses,parades,singing till the early hours, all they have is beating each other,whoopee !!

And the sectarian singing, and the rioting, and stabbing someone for wearing the wrong top in the wrong area.........:rolleyes:

Irishlight
20-05-2013, 06:55 PM

You'd be surprised how many Celtic fans would never grudge Hibees a win on Sunday. I am a Celtic man since bhoyhood but I want Hibs to win the cup. If there is any justice in the world they will finally win it.

HibeeHendo
20-05-2013, 07:01 PM
You'd be surprised how many Celtic fans would never grudge Hibees a win on Sunday. I am a Celtic man since bhoyhood but I want Hibs to win the cup. If there is any justice in the world they will finally win it.

I'm not trying to start anything but if I was a Celtic fan, I would want to win every single game regardless of the opposition. A lot of Celtic fans I know give it the whole patronising, wee cousin line, "I'd love to win the final but if we don't I wouldn't be too upset if it was you who win."

Does my nut in.

LioNeilMessi
20-05-2013, 07:03 PM

I personally hope every 'Bhoy' is greetin' on Sunday evening :aok:

20-05-2013, 07:07 PM

Patronising rubbish mate.

20-05-2013, 08:12 PM
In 98 hearts were back at the scf after losing their previous one by five goals to one
#justsaying

26-05-2013, 07:20 PM
my thoughts after full time turned to this thread, as at full time it was our fans making all the noise in Hampden (they weren't even celebrating). Upon leaving the ground there was as many Celtic fans as Hibs (were they not staying to see their team at least lift the cup?). They're faces weren't full of cheer or joy. It's just another box ticked for them.

26-05-2013, 07:23 PM
my thoughts after full time turned to this thread, as at full time it was our fans making all the noise in Hampden (they weren't even celebrating). Upon leaving the ground there was as many Celtic fans as Hibs (were they not staying to see their team at least lift the cup?). They're faces weren't full of cheer or joy. It's just another box ticked for them.
At first I was annoyed at them acting like this but now I kind of pity them. Can even be happy to win 2 trophys.

26-05-2013, 07:26 PM

Bigoted financial freaks of the Scottish game. That's what money buys you.

ColintonHibs
26-05-2013, 07:43 PM
Glory hunting fannies

OsloHibs
26-05-2013, 08:49 PM
Neil Lennon has the easiest job in Scottish football and the fans only want to see them beating Rangers. To see their fans not too bothered about winning the cup today just sums this rancid club up.

26-05-2013, 08:56 PM
I really annoyed me seeing them showing next to no emotion walking out after the game, they made no noise, showed nothing and left basically on full time, pathetic support tbh.

We would have had to have been dragged out if we had won today.

26-05-2013, 09:25 PM
I would hate to have been one of them. I love hibs, sleays will and will celebrate every victory like its the first

26-05-2013, 09:55 PM
When beating the traffic beats lifting a cup then it's time for the of to gtf

anon1875
26-05-2013, 09:57 PM
The noise we made after the final whistle you would of thought we won the cup. The celtic fans were just sitting on there arse not even celebrating, it doesn't mean **** all to them.

26-05-2013, 10:07 PM
It meant not much to Joe Ledley.
He's already had a music career as one of the beastie boys.

Purehibee_MYB
26-05-2013, 10:11 PM
I really annoyed me seeing them showing next to no emotion walking out after the game, they made no noise, showed nothing and left basically on full time, pathetic support tbh.

We would have had to have been dragged out if we had won today.

There was no singing from them, they were gone at the same time as us and most of them were just heading home. I would have woken up in a ditch somewhere along the M8 if we had won the cup today

Hibdan12
26-05-2013, 11:07 PM
like I said on my facebook. the singing at full time really showed who are the true fans in Scottish football and who are the artificial ones. and they call hibs the lesser greens HA! we know what the word fan means, through thick and thin a hibs fan will always be a hibs fan no matter what and thats what so great about our fantastic club
:pfgwa

27-05-2013, 03:25 AM
Honestly couldn't get it. By the time we hit central station there were loads of them about :confused:. If we'd have won I'd have still been there the now :thumbsup:

27-05-2013, 05:43 AM
Plastic artificial fans who have a lot of glory hunters that tag along. Every song is nicked from other clubs yet they try pass them off as their own. We out sang them from start to finish yesterday, you certainly wouldn't have thought they were 3-0 up in a cup final. Then just after they lifted the cup I seen some leaving, not even sticking around to celebrate.

Best fans in the world? Aye ****ing right! :faf:

27-05-2013, 07:24 AM
The problem is that was their 36th time of winning it. Yes we out sung them yesterday but they outplayed us. I know which I would have rather had.

27-05-2013, 07:41 AM
The problem is that was their 36th time of winning it. Yes we out sung them yesterday but they outplayed us. I know which I would have rather had.

:agree: When I was 15 yrs old, out-singing the opposition was important and consoling if we got beat. In Scottish Cup Finals, there's only one thing that matters and it isn't a song contest.

27-05-2013, 08:39 AM
Looking at both sets of supporters after the final whistle you honestly would not have guessed that Celtc had won.

And I had to walk through the Celtc support after the match and you wouldn't have known they'd just won a cup final.

Mikey is spot on .. it means NOTHING to them. :rolleyes: