View Full Version : Final in NZ/ OZ

ng23
14-04-2013, 05:03 AM
Just recently moved to New Plymouth in NZ, highly unlikely to see final here. Will anywhere in Auckland be showing game ? Remember reading some posts last year, sure a few guys went over to Sydney. Any info please let me know. Quite fancy a trip to Oz.

14-04-2013, 05:17 AM
There's a pub in Auckland that will likely stream it. We are the group that went to Sydney last year, we're possibly thinking Melbourne this time due to bad memories!

Discussions will be held this week no doubt so will keep you posted!

Auckland Hibs
14-04-2013, 06:10 AM
There's a pub in Auckland that will likely stream it. We are the group that went to Sydney last year, we're possibly thinking Melbourne this time due to bad memories!

The Fox will be showing the game (via stream) in Auckland - will forward times & details later the time.

14-04-2013, 06:41 AM
The Fox will be showing the game (via stream) in Auckland - will forward times & details later the time.

How good is the stream? I am a bit cautious of it buggering up or being crap quality (despite watching a stream without issue last night)...

Sproule Three
14-04-2013, 06:56 AM

Wasnae a bad night till someone put the cup final on TV .
Will be usual base Scruffys in Sydney. Sunday midnight kick off will limit the available venues to those with generous opening hours .

Auckland Hibs
14-04-2013, 07:28 AM
How good is the stream? I am a bit cautious of it buggering up or being crap quality (despite watching a stream without issue last night)...

The stream was very good last night - was really surprised as it was quite slow for last years final.

ng23
14-04-2013, 07:45 AM
Thanks for the info, keep me updated need to organise time off work,flights etc.

14-04-2013, 08:08 AM
Wasnae a bad night till someone put the cup final on TV .
Will be usual base Scruffys in Sydney. Sunday midnight kick off will limit the available venues to those with generous opening hours .

We're just superstitious!

17-04-2013, 12:39 AM
As good as given up on going home for it so It's either Fox's stream, home stream or Sydney & Scruffies for me.

I think there would be some serious temper tantrums at any moment the stream cut out or jumped. Was it on the wee tv in Fox's for the semi mate? Are we in competition with any other games for the big yin or could we get the big screen or is it only the small tele that's compatible for a stream. ARGH, really is so bitter sweet.

Auckland Hibs
17-04-2013, 01:25 AM
As good as given up on going home for it so It's either Fox's stream, home stream or Sydney & Scruffies for me.

I think there would be some serious temper tantrums at any moment the stream cut out or jumped. Was it on the wee tv in Fox's for the semi mate? Are we in competition with any other games for the big yin or could we get the big screen or is it only the small tele that's compatible for a stream. ARGH, really is so bitter sweet.

They had the Semi game on the large projector screen down the back (next to the Pool tables) - although last season's final was only shown on the small plasma TV because it clashed with the Chamionship Play-Off games from England IIRC.

The difference between the streams from last season's final and the weekend was significant - however I guess it's always going to be a risk. Last year's stream for the final was shocking and slow - although that may have only been a reflection of our performance.

I can't see any clashes with the game on the 26th May - the English Cup Final is 11th May and both domestic leagues will have been completed by then. One drama could be if The Fox decides that they won't open for a Monday early morning kick-off, 3pm Sunday in the U.K will be 3am Monday here and it will likely depend on how many people we can get along to make it worth their while.

Actually thinking about Sydney for the game - 1am kick off time and live on T.V is quite appealing.

17-04-2013, 02:44 AM
Will it not be 2am here and 11pm in Sydney? It's 11 hours difference at the moment to home....I think!

Cheapest I can see to Sydney at the moment is about $380NZD return through Jetstar, dunno if their Friday deals includes Oz but shall check then.

State of Origin and the Lions tour will be around that time too and maybe worth hanging about for. Same problem of dosh though!

Good that Fox's stuck it on the big screen though, wasn't sure they could do that :thumbsup:

17-04-2013, 05:58 AM
I'll correct you both, it's a midnight KO in Australia, 2am NZ. :greengrin

Can see The Fox not opening unless they're going to get a significant crowd on. That said, there must be Celtic fans who will want to watch it too.

17-04-2013, 09:26 AM
Unless you're in Perth :wink:

17-04-2013, 09:33 AM
Unless you're in Perth :wink:

Indeed :greengrin

Cracking time over there to be fair.

ng23
19-04-2013, 08:30 AM
Any further update on locations definitely showing game?:flag:

Sproule Three
19-04-2013, 09:01 AM
Any further update on locations definitely showing game?:flag:
Will be shown everywhere in Aus . The Sydney Hibbies will be in Scruffy Murphys .
think the Melbourne boys will be in the Charles Dickens .
You'll like Sydney better as its not a *****hole -;)

Time For Heroes
19-04-2013, 01:25 PM
Anyone in Cairns QLD?

Sproule Three
23-04-2013, 01:20 AM
The Wullingtun Hibs bros are going to Melbourne to watch the game.
For other NZ based Hibbies who fancy a trip to Sydney instead there will be a big crew watching here too.

23-04-2013, 03:47 AM
I'm hoping to go to Sydney.

If I'm in Auckland it'll probably be the Fox. From what I've heard the Celtic fans are going to Danny Doolans at Newmarket.

The stream has me proper worried, I was getting annoyed enough this morning with the Aberdeen game. Missed Doyler hitting the post, if that's happening during the final I'll be going off ma heid!

Sproule Three
23-04-2013, 04:33 AM

If I'm in Auckland it'll probably be the Fox. From what I've heard the Celtic fans are going to Danny Doolans at Newmarket.

The stream has me proper worried, I was getting annoyed enough this morning with the Aberdeen game. Missed Doyler hitting the post, if that's happening during the final I'll be going off ma heid!

You'll have a good night over here KW . Can stay out all night if we win as there's 24 hour opening . I remember getting on the ferry back home to Manly at 7.30am after the LC win in 2007 absolutely hammered and bumping into my mates on way to work ;-) Hopefully be doing the same this time .
You live in a beautiful part of the world mate. Stayed at my mates holiday home in Whangamata 5-6 years ago .

23-04-2013, 06:28 AM

3 of us are booked to go to Melbourne as of today, from Wellington. Sydney was good last year though, just felt like a change given that result!

Charles Dickens sounds like it'll be pretty good in Melbourne, not to mention the Great Australian Beer Spectapular in Melbourne on the Saturday :wink:

23-04-2013, 11:07 PM
You'll have a good night over here KW . Can stay out all night if we win as there's 24 hour opening . I remember getting on the ferry back home to Manly at 7.30am after the LC win in 2007 absolutely hammered and bumping into my mates on way to work ;-) Hopefully be doing the same this time .
You live in a beautiful part of the world mate. Stayed at my mates holiday home in Whangamata 5-6 years ago .

First time I was in Scruffies was a day sesh when they were celebrating christmas in July. A fight broke out the got pulled apart but allowed to stay in der boozer :greengrin

Used to watch the Hibs games in Cheers but if I make it over it'll definitely be SM and quite the sesh either way.

Unfortunately I'm now back in Auckland after just a month in Coromandel Town, was trying to get a job on the fishing boats, or anywhere, but it's no easy there. Whangamata is indeed a nice wee spot as is most of the Coromandel; lovely chilled out place.

Saw AKL-SYD return for $300 NZ, I have to wait 2-3 weeks til I can afford it, kidding myself if I think they won't go up :/

WellingtonHibby
24-04-2013, 09:35 AM
3 of us are booked to go to Melbourne as of today, from Wellington. Sydney was good last year though, just felt like a change given that result!

Charles Dickens sounds like it'll be pretty good in Melbourne, not to mention the Great Australian Beer Spectapular in Melbourne on the Saturday :wink:

Strapped in, booked in, ready to roll!

colmac
24-04-2013, 10:44 AM
Where can i watch the game in Perth? I presume it will be on at Burswood casino?

Sproule Three
25-04-2013, 01:08 PM
[QUOTE=colmac;3576971]Where can i watch the game in Perth? I presume it will be on at Burswood casino?[/QUOT
The Perth boys watched the semi in the Irish Club in Subiaco .
Might it be such a comfortable option given the opposition .
ill let you know when I find out .

25-04-2013, 10:26 PM
Flights to Sydney have gone up $105. Bugger!

Auckland Hibs
25-04-2013, 11:44 PM
Flights to Sydney have gone up $105. Bugger!

The Mrs. wasn't best pleased that I was trying to amend our holiday plans from a week in Rarotonga to a long weekend in Sydney for the Cup Final - not sure what her problem was?!

Anyway, will be staying in Auckland and will be arranging for the Fox to stream the game - will post details once the final arrangements have been made.

:aok::flag::aok:

stirwill
01-05-2013, 12:29 PM
What's the score with non-hibees attending in Perth? I've got a couple of sheep/arab mates wanting to come along and support us against the great unwashed

ng23
03-05-2013, 10:32 PM
Any news if the Fox is definitely showing game? Getting a bit twitchy now.:flag:

Danny_Hibee
03-05-2013, 11:53 PM
Does anyone know of anywhere in Brisbane that will be showing it!? And any other Brisbane based Hibs fans fancy meeting up for it?

04-05-2013, 12:07 AM
Sure I watched a hibs game in te Irish bar on queen street in Brisbane, ask them. Is it still setanta in oz ?

04-05-2013, 12:09 AM
Sure I watched a hibs game in te Irish bar on queen street in Brisbane, ask them. Is it still setanta in oz ?

Yep, Setanta is still operating on OZ and will be showing the cup final.

I however, will be seated at Hampden, this time around.