View Full Version : Europe?

mon the cabbage
13-04-2013, 04:04 PM
Should Celtic win tomorrow are we guaranteed a place in Europa league qualifiers?

Or Should Dundee united get into a european spot in the league and they win tomorrow are we?

13-04-2013, 04:35 PM
Should Celtic win tomorrow are we guaranteed a place in Europa league qualifiers?

Or Should Dundee united get into a european spot in the league and they win tomorrow are we?

Yes to the first. No to the second - cup runners up only get a Europa spot if the winners are in the Champions' league.

Last Minute
13-04-2013, 05:38 PM
If we get Celtic in the final, Do we get in Europe ? And why ? Having a debate with a Jambo

13-04-2013, 05:39 PM
If we get Celtic in the final, Do we get in Europe ? And why ? Having a debate with a Jambo

Yes

Last Minute
13-04-2013, 05:43 PM
Can you explain why

13-04-2013, 05:44 PM
Cos Celtic will be in Europe via league placement.

13-04-2013, 05:46 PM
Celtic are in the champions league so the other cup finalists get the Europa league slot

Bad Habits
13-04-2013, 05:48 PM
We get 1 champ league slot and 3 europa slots, Winner of the cup goes into the Europa league as the highest seed from scotland for that competition, however if the other finalist is already in a European place the other finalist enters the competition as the 3rd seed for the Europa

Last Minute
13-04-2013, 05:49 PM
Can some one help explain this argument

Last Minute
13-04-2013, 05:50 PM
Thank you

Last Minute
13-04-2013, 05:58 PM
He keeps saying that was scraped 2 years ago, and why were we not in Europe when we played hearts last year, is it because they were not in champs league

13-04-2013, 06:12 PM
He keeps saying that was scraped 2 years ago, and why were we not in Europe when we played hearts last year, is it because they were not in champs league

Because i'm assuming the point of entry from cup qualification was greater than the league one offered via 5th place so they had it instead and the 5th place spot was given to 6th as its a league allocated place and not a cup one.

Bad Habits
13-04-2013, 06:14 PM
Because i'm assuming the point of entry from cup qualification was greater than the league one offered via 5th place so they had it instead and the 5th place spot was given to 6th as its a league allocated place and not a cup one.

Yup that's what I read it as:agree:

pontius pilate
13-04-2013, 06:15 PM
As I understand it if Celtic were to progress into the final we would qualify for Europe as they have qualified via the league placement into a higher competition than us. ( Champions league )However if united get through and qualify for Europe in the league the next best team in the league would get the Europe qualification spot as its for the same competition (Europa league) I hope that's correct and a help

13-04-2013, 09:40 PM
I am sure it has been mentioned before but if celtc win tomorrow are we in europe?

13-04-2013, 09:41 PM
aye :agree:

13-04-2013, 09:41 PM
I am sure it has been mentioned before but if celtc win tomorrow are we in europe?

As long as they don't have the biggest collapse in world football and fail to win the league title.

13-04-2013, 10:59 PM
If we win final ,we`ll be in Europa League but starting in late August . If we lose final to Celtic , we`ll be in Europa League but starting in early / mid July so players won`t have much holiday ( half team in cup final probably won`t be with us next season anyway ) and will also start League Cup a round later than some years ( already better than this season ! ) . If we lose final to Dundee United , usual early start in League Cup and no Europe .

14-04-2013, 07:29 AM
Bangor City, Wigan then somewhere with a beach please!

14-04-2013, 02:11 PM
Well done Hibs

HiBremian
14-04-2013, 02:12 PM
Wow, quick!!

But where's the various likely destinations and dates? :greengrin

14-04-2013, 02:12 PM
anyone know what date were likely to enter at? both dates would be appreciated based on winning or not the cup

14-04-2013, 02:13 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League#First_qualifyin g_round

Frankfurt would be very pleasing :wink:

14-04-2013, 02:14 PM
think we'll be 2nd qualifying if were runners up, 3rd if we win

14-04-2013, 02:15 PM
In the qualifying rounds and the play-off round, teams will be divided into seeded and unseeded teams based on their 2013 UEFA club coefficients,[7][8] and then drawn into two-legged home-and-away ties. Teams from the same association cannot be drawn against each other.
[edit]First qualifying round
The following 78 teams are expected to enter in the first qualifying round.
Rosenborg CC: 16.835
Ventspils CC: 6.658
Aktobe CC: 6.191
Dinamo Minsk CC: 6.175
St Patrick's Athletic CC: 5.975
Malmφ FF CC: 5.125
KR CC: 4.583
Inter Turku CC: 4.201
Levadia Tallinn CC: 3.941
Linfield CC: 3.866
Skonto CC: 3.408
Sūduva Marijampolė CC: 3.300
Flora Tallinn CC: 3.191
HB CC: 2.816
TPS CC: 2.701
Breiπablik CC: 2.583
Derry City CC: 2.475
Glentoran CC: 2.366
Irtysh Pavlodar CC: 1.941
Crusaders CC: 1.866
Žalgiris Vilnius CC: 1.800
ΝBV CC: 1.583
Drogheda United CC: 1.475
Astana CC: 1.191
Vνkingur CC: 1.066
ΝF CC: 0.566
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Liga I
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Slovak First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Serbian Super League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Bulgarian A League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Bulgarian A League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Hungarian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Hungarian First League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Georgian Top League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Georgian Top League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Premier League of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Premier League of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Winners of 2012–13 Slovenian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Slovenian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Slovenian First League
Winners of 2012–13 Lithuanian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Moldovan Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Moldovan National Division
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Moldovan National Division
Winners of 2012–13 Azerbaijan Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Azerbaijan Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Azerbaijan Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Latvian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Macedonian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Macedonian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Macedonian First League
Winners of 2012–13 Montenegrin Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Montenegrin First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Montenegrin First League
Winners of 2012–13 Liechtenstein Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Albanian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Albanian Super League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Albanian Super League
Winners of 2012–13 Maltese FA Trophy
Runners-up of 2012–13 Maltese Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Maltese Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Welsh Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Welsh Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Welsh Premier League European competition play-offs
Winners of 2012–13 Estonian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Luxembourg Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Luxembourg National Division
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Luxembourg National Division
Winners of 2012–13 Armenian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Armenian Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Armenian Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Andorran Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Andorran Premier Division
Winners of 2012–13 Sammarinese Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Sammarinese Championship
Fair Play
Fair Play
Fair Play
[edit]Second qualifying round
80 teams will play in the second qualifying round: the 39 winners from the first qualifying round, and the following 41 teams which are expected to enter in this round.
Shakhtyor Salihorsk CC: 5.175
Hδcken CC: 4.125
Strψmsgodset CC: 3.835
Honka CC: 3.701
Hψdd CC: 2.835
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Russian Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Eredivisie European competition play-offs
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Ukrainian Premier League
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Superleague Greece
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Sόper Lig
Winners of 2012–13 Belgian Pro League European competition play-offs
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Danish Superliga
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Swiss Super League
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Austrian Bundesliga
Runners-up of 2012–13 Cypriot First Division
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Cypriot First Division
Runners-up of 2012–13 Israeli Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Israeli Premier League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Scottish Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Scottish Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Czech Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Czech First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Czech First League
Winners of 2012–13 Polish Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Polish Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Polish Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Croatian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Croatian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Croatian First League
Winners of 2012–13 Romanian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Romanian Liga I
Winners of 2012–13 Belarusian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Svenska Cupen
Winners of 2012–13 Slovak Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Slovak First League
Winners of 2012–13 Serbian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Serbian Super League
Winners of 2012–13 Bulgarian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Hungarian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Georgian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Bosnia and Herzegovina Cup
[edit]Third qualifying round
58 teams will play in the third qualifying round: the 40 winners from the second qualifying round, and the following 18 teams which are expected to enter in this round.
Swansea City CC: TBD
Sixth-placed team of 2012–13 La Liga
Sixth-placed team of 2012–13 Fuίball-Bundesliga
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Serie A
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Primeira Liga
Winners of 2012–13 Coupe de la Ligue
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Russian Premier League
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Eredivisie
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Ukrainian Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Superleague Greece
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Sόper Lig
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Belgian Pro League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Danish Superliga
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Swiss Super League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Austrian Bundesliga
Winners of 2012–13 Cypriot Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Israel State Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Scottish Cup
[edit]Play-off round

62 teams will play in the play-off round: the 29 winners from the third qualifying round, and the following 33 teams which are expected to enter in this round.
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Premier League
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 La Liga
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Fuίball-Bundesliga
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Serie A
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Primeira Liga
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Ligue 1
Winners of 2012–13 Russian Cup
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Russian Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 KNVB Cup
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Eredivisie

14-04-2013, 02:16 PM
hertz will get into the group stages of the champions league...FACT :(

14-04-2013, 02:17 PM
In the qualifying rounds and the play-off round, teams will be divided into seeded and unseeded teams based on their 2013 UEFA club coefficients,[7][8] and then drawn into two-legged home-and-away ties. Teams from the same association cannot be drawn against each other.
[edit]First qualifying round
The following 78 teams are expected to enter in the first qualifying round.
Rosenborg CC: 16.835
Ventspils CC: 6.658
Aktobe CC: 6.191
Dinamo Minsk CC: 6.175
St Patrick's Athletic CC: 5.975
Malmφ FF CC: 5.125
KR CC: 4.583
Inter Turku CC: 4.201
Levadia Tallinn CC: 3.941
Linfield CC: 3.866
Skonto CC: 3.408
Sūduva Marijampolė CC: 3.300
Flora Tallinn CC: 3.191
HB CC: 2.816
TPS CC: 2.701
Breiπablik CC: 2.583
Derry City CC: 2.475
Glentoran CC: 2.366
Irtysh Pavlodar CC: 1.941
Crusaders CC: 1.866
Žalgiris Vilnius CC: 1.800
ΝBV CC: 1.583
Drogheda United CC: 1.475
Astana CC: 1.191
Vνkingur CC: 1.066
ΝF CC: 0.566
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Liga I
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Slovak First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Serbian Super League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Bulgarian A League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Bulgarian A League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Hungarian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Hungarian First League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Georgian Top League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Georgian Top League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Premier League of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Premier League of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Winners of 2012–13 Slovenian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Slovenian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Slovenian First League
Winners of 2012–13 Lithuanian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Moldovan Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Moldovan National Division
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Moldovan National Division
Winners of 2012–13 Azerbaijan Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Azerbaijan Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Azerbaijan Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Latvian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Macedonian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Macedonian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Macedonian First League
Winners of 2012–13 Montenegrin Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Montenegrin First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Montenegrin First League
Winners of 2012–13 Liechtenstein Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Albanian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Albanian Super League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Albanian Super League
Winners of 2012–13 Maltese FA Trophy
Runners-up of 2012–13 Maltese Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Maltese Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Welsh Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Welsh Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Welsh Premier League European competition play-offs
Winners of 2012–13 Estonian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Luxembourg National Division
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Luxembourg National Division
Winners of 2012–13 Armenian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Armenian Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Armenian Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Andorran Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Andorran Premier Division
Winners of 2012–13 Sammarinese Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Sammarinese Championship
Fair Play
Fair Play
Fair Play
[edit]Second qualifying round
80 teams will play in the second qualifying round: the 39 winners from the first qualifying round, and the following 41 teams which are expected to enter in this round.
Shakhtyor Salihorsk CC: 5.175
Hδcken CC: 4.125
Strψmsgodset CC: 3.835
Honka CC: 3.701
Hψdd CC: 2.835
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Russian Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Eredivisie European competition play-offs
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Ukrainian Premier League
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Superleague Greece
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Sόper Lig
Winners of 2012–13 Belgian Pro League European competition play-offs
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Danish Superliga
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Swiss Super League
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Austrian Bundesliga
Runners-up of 2012–13 Cypriot First Division
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Cypriot First Division
Runners-up of 2012–13 Israeli Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Israeli Premier League
Runners-up of 2012–13 Scottish Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Scottish Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Czech Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Czech First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Czech First League
Winners of 2012–13 Polish Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Polish Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Polish Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 Croatian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Croatian First League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Croatian First League
Winners of 2012–13 Romanian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Romanian Liga I
Winners of 2012–13 Belarusian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Svenska Cupen
Winners of 2012–13 Slovak Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Slovak First League
Winners of 2012–13 Serbian Cup
Runners-up of 2012–13 Serbian Super League
Winners of 2012–13 Bulgarian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Hungarian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Georgian Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Bosnia and Herzegovina Cup
[edit]Third qualifying round
58 teams will play in the third qualifying round: the 40 winners from the second qualifying round, and the following 18 teams which are expected to enter in this round.
Swansea City CC: TBD
Sixth-placed team of 2012–13 La Liga
Sixth-placed team of 2012–13 Fuίball-Bundesliga
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Serie A
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Primeira Liga
Winners of 2012–13 Coupe de la Ligue
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Russian Premier League
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Eredivisie
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Ukrainian Premier League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Superleague Greece
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Sόper Lig
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Belgian Pro League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Danish Superliga
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Swiss Super League
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Austrian Bundesliga
Winners of 2012–13 Cypriot Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Israel State Cup
Winners of 2012–13 Scottish Cup
[edit]Play-off round

62 teams will play in the play-off round: the 29 winners from the third qualifying round, and the following 33 teams which are expected to enter in this round.
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Premier League
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 La Liga
Fifth-placed team of 2012–13 Fuίball-Bundesliga
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Serie A
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Primeira Liga
Fourth-placed team of 2012–13 Ligue 1
Winners of 2012–13 Russian Cup
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Russian Premier League
Winners of 2012–13 KNVB Cup
Third-placed team of 2012–13 Eredivisie

Much clearer :greengrin

Up The Bracket
14-04-2013, 02:17 PM
We've not made any progress though

LioNeilMessi
14-04-2013, 02:20 PM
Which round do we enter at? And does that change depending on the result of the final?

14-04-2013, 02:20 PM
[QUOTE=CallumLaidlaw;3566257]

:hyper:

14-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Which round do we enter at? And does that change depending on the result of the final?

2nd qualifying round if we lose. 3rd if we win.

Green Man
14-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Do they still split it into regional pots, making us likely to play a team from Scandinavia or suchlike?

hibby rae
14-04-2013, 02:24 PM
What month are the 2nd and 3rd qualifying rounds? Handy the final being in Turin, I've a pal who stays there. I'll find out how many hibees he can put up!

LioNeilMessi
14-04-2013, 02:25 PM
2nd qualifying round if we lose. 3rd if we win.

:aok: Cheers.

wearethehibs
Bit of a joke cup runners up are even considered for Europe but Im happy were in it.

Hopefully win the cup and be deserving of a place in Europe.

Stringer
Lets hope it is an Irish team!

Paddy will have signed half their players by then!

14-04-2013, 02:28 PM
What month are the 2nd and 3rd qualifying rounds? Handy the final being in Turin, I've a pal who stays there. I'll find out how many hibees he can put up!

Qualifying First qualifying round 4 July 2013 11 July 2013
Second qualifying round 18 July 2013 25 July 2013
Third qualifying round 1 August 2013 8 August 2013
Play-off Play-off round 22 August 2013 29 August 2013

14-04-2013, 02:28 PM
Get back from Turkey the week before the 2nd round starts

hibby rae
14-04-2013, 02:30 PM

Cheers.

14-04-2013, 02:32 PM
Lets Hope Hibernian Can Actually Get Out The Country,Unlike Our Pink Friends From The Wongadome. :wink:

14-04-2013, 02:38 PM

FFS I could be bankrupt by the end of August. 3 away European games in a month.

14-04-2013, 02:40 PM
Lets Hope Hibernian Can Actually Get Out The Country,Unlike Our Pink Friends From The Wongadome. :wink:

Yeah, had to laugh at them, in europe two years in a row and still didnae need their passports - ( and nae duty-free either).

Hibs are going to europe, .....the hearts are going to porty ha ha ha haaaa

14-04-2013, 02:40 PM
More cash to tie down leigh maybe? European football will attract other players also!

Up The Bracket
14-04-2013, 03:04 PM
I'll miss the third qualifying round so lets hope we make the play off.

:pfgwa

Makaveli
14-04-2013, 03:21 PM
Next year's EL final is in Turin on the 14th of May.

Juventus Stadium only holds 41,000 so Rod should be selling STs as the only way to guarantee a seat. :agree:

14-04-2013, 03:34 PM
Yeah, had to laugh at them, in europe two years in a row and still didnae need their passports - ( and nae duty-free either).

Hibs are going to europe, .....the hearts are going to porty ha ha ha haaaa

Yep I was pissing myself as they drew Spurs then Liverpool! Give me that any day of the week!

14-04-2013, 03:39 PM
Hibs are going to Europe, the Hearts are going to Butlins Ha Ha Ha Ha HEY! Ha Ha Ha Ha

Edinburgh Green
14-04-2013, 03:44 PM
Thought they changed the ruling on the runner up in the cup qualifying a few years back?

14-04-2013, 03:45 PM
Hibs are going to Europe, the Hearts are going bust Ha Ha Ha Ha HEY! Ha Ha Ha Ha

Fixed that for you :wink:

Whos-the-poster
14-04-2013, 04:08 PM
Thought they changed the ruling on the runner up in the cup qualifying a few years back?

Yeah thats what i thought too. Im sure after the queen of the south european failings a few years ago the runner's up euro spot was removed and given to the forth placed spl team. It was to help with the coefficient rankings :dunno:

Green Man
14-04-2013, 04:10 PM
I think they planned to but UEFA didn't allow it.

14-04-2013, 04:11 PM
Wigan away?

Whos-the-poster
14-04-2013, 04:25 PM
I think they planned to but UEFA didn't allow it.

Is this confirmed???? Im pretty sure that Motherwell were not given a european spot when they were runners to celtic a couple of years ago.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League#First_qualifyin g_round)

14-04-2013, 04:43 PM
Is this confirmed???? Im pretty sure that Motherwell were not given a european spot when they were runners to celtic a couple of years ago.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League#First_qualifyin g_round)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motherwell_F.C.

scroll half-way down for the Europe games

Whos-the-poster
14-04-2013, 04:57 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motherwell_F.C.

scroll half-way down for the Europe games

oK, but they were runners up in 2011 but not in europe for the 11/12 season though. This just confirms my suspicions :bitchy:

NYHibby
14-04-2013, 05:05 PM
oK, but they were runners up in 2011 but not in europe for the 11/12 season though. This just confirms my suspicions :bitchy:

The SPL only had 1 Champions league spot that year and Rangers won the league. Celtic "used" the cup spot to enter the Europa League.

14-04-2013, 05:46 PM
I've been doing some digging on the various possibilities in terms of our Europa League qualification:

If we win the cup

The SPL website (http://www.scotprem.com/content/default.asp?page=s2&newsid=10789) states as follows:

This season's Scottish Cup winners enter the Europa League in qualifying round four (play-offs).
If the Scottish Cup winners have qualified for the Champions League, then the SPL third-placed club enters at QR4, the fourth-placed club enters in QR3 and the cup runners-up enter in QR2.

Nonetheless there has to be some dubiety over whether the Scottish Cup winners will enter at QR4 or QR3 - the Europa League wiki pages suggests QR3: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League#Second_qualifyi ng_round

QR3 is drawn on 19 July 2013, with ties to be played on Thursday 1 August 2013 and Thursday 8 August 2013.

QR4 is drawn on 9 August 2013, with ties to be played on Thursday 22 August 2013 and 29 August 2013.

If we finish runners up

The SPL website states:

If the Scottish Cup winners have qualified for the Champions League, then the SPL third-placed club enters at QR4, the fourth-placed club enters in QR3 and the cup runners-up enter in QR2.

The QR2 draw is on 24 June 2013, with fixtures to be played on Thursday 18 July 2013 and Thursday 25 July 2013.

Who we play would be influenced by the winners of the first round ties - albeit I would hope that the tie in respect of which we will play the winners would be capable of being guessed with reasonable enough certainty to allow the gamblers amongst us to book flights at that time and not be stung by having to book with potentially a week's notice!

Who will we play?

Either way it ain't gonna be cheap to get to some of the possible destinations:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League#First_qualifyin g_round
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League#Second_qualifyi ng_round

Visa charges for some of these places can be steep - for example, an urgent Azerbaijan tourist visa will set you back £162 - on top of flights! :rolleyes:

14-04-2013, 05:57 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League

3 domestic cup winners from associations 16–18 (if we win)...Scotland are ranked 18

The domestic cup runners-up, provided they have not yet qualified for European competitions, qualify for the Europa League as the "lowest-placed" qualifier (with the earliest starting round), with the other Europa League qualifiers moved up one "place". if we lose ?

it's all so confusing my head is nipping :(

Up The Bracket
14-04-2013, 05:59 PM
The bottom line is, we're in Europe regardless of what happens between now and the end of May. Alex Harris and Eoin Doyle got us there.

14-04-2013, 06:26 PM
Just imagine;

At some point this summer during a particularly violent thunderstorm, Sir Tom gets hit square on the noggin by a lightning bolt which leaves him flat out on the golf course. He wakes up two days later a changed man. He has a damascene conversion and decides to empty the piggy bank and fund an assault on the Europa League. Nothing ridiculous like Man City or PSG cash, lets be realistic and say a cash injection of£45million. We buy a new Sauzee, a new Latapy and a new Konte, and we get to the final (which will be in Juventus new stadium in Turin, in case you wondered). We win of course, new signing Edinson Cavani providing the assist to a revitalised Alan Maybury. The fans flood back, we get a new catering contract for ER and i can start buying the pies again...

Good times are coming. I feel it in my water.

14-04-2013, 07:26 PM
The bottom line is, we're in Europe regardless of what happens between now and the end of May. Alex Harris and Eoin Doyle got us there.

Only they two?

14-04-2013, 07:30 PM
Only they two?

Quite right. Konte too. He paved the way for this with his goal against the Muthers. He showed us we were good enough to get into Europe.

14-04-2013, 07:57 PM
I did some work and started a new thread before seeing this one: http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?261823-Hibs-in-Europe-2013

NYHibby
14-04-2013, 08:20 PM
I did some work and started a new thread before seeing this one: http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?261823-Hibs-in-Europe-2013

Your post there has a bunch of incorrect information. Because of our dropping coefficient, the cup winner no longer enters at the playoff round.

14-04-2013, 08:23 PM
Quite right. Konte too. He paved the way for this with his goal against the Muthers. He showed us we were good enough to get into Europe.

Konte, then Nish, and then Griffiths joins their esteemed company as scorers of the goals that got us into Euro dreamland© :agree:

14-04-2013, 08:41 PM
Konte, then Nish, and then Griffiths joins their esteemed company as scorers of the goals that got us into Euro dreamland© :agree:

It was Anthony stokes who scored the vital goal this year :greengrin

14-04-2013, 09:30 PM

How many times must this be raised?

The SFA have tried to change the rules several times but have been knocked back by UEFA who insist on the demestic cup winner (or runner up) getting a place by right.

Scotland had First Division teams entering on many occasions: Dumfermline, Gretna, Queen of the South.But UEFA were not moved.

Hibs will be in the Europa League (unless Celtic contrive not to win the SPL). Hibs will be in the Third Qualifying Round if we win the Cup and in the Second Qualifying Round if we lose the final.

14-04-2013, 09:36 PM
Just imagine;

At some point this summer during a particularly violent thunderstorm, Sir Tom gets hit square on the noggin by a lightning bolt which leaves him flat out on the golf course. He wakes up two days later a changed man. He has a damascene conversion and decides to empty the piggy bank and fund an assault on the Europa League. Nothing ridiculous like Man City or PSG cash, lets be realistic and say a cash injection of£45million. We buy a new Sauzee, a new Latapy and a new Konte, and we get to the final (which will be in Juventus new stadium in Turin, in case you wondered). We win of course, new signing Edinson Cavani providing the assist to a revitalised Alan Maybury. The fans flood back, we get a new catering contract for ER and i can start buying the pies again...

14-04-2013, 10:07 PM
How many times must this be raised?

The SFA have tried to change the rules several times but have been knocked back by UEFA who insist on the demestic cup winner (or runner up) getting a place by right.

Scotland had First Division teams entering on many occasions: Dumfermline, Gretna, Queen of the South.But UEFA were not moved.

Hibs will be in the Europa League (unless Celtic contrive not to win the SPL). Hibs will be in the Third Qualifying Round if we win the Cup and in the Second Qualifying Round if we lose the final.

Correct guv.

My question is will it be regionalised?

14-04-2013, 10:11 PM
It was Anthony stokes who scored the vital goal this year :greengrin

Strictly speaking you are correct :greengrin

Whos-the-poster
14-04-2013, 10:17 PM

3 domestic cup winners from associations 16–18 (if we win)...Scotland are ranked 18

The domestic cup runners-up, provided they have not yet qualified for European competitions, qualify for the Europa League as the "lowest-placed" qualifier (with the earliest starting round), with the other Europa League qualifiers moved up one "place". if we lose ?

it's all so confusing my head is nipping :(

:scarf: yay

14-04-2013, 10:42 PM
quite fancy us getting linfield, might get tasty :wink: 1 of fenlons old teams

NYHibby
14-04-2013, 10:43 PM
Correct guv.

My question is will it be regionalised?

No, the regions were done away with in 2009.

As an example, St. Johnstone played a Turkish team in the 2nd round this year.

14-04-2013, 10:58 PM
Strictly speaking you are correct :greengrin

Strictly it'll be whoever wins Celtic the league.

14-04-2013, 11:14 PM
Wigan away?

No thanks!

Green Man
14-04-2013, 11:17 PM
Hmmm the playoff 2nd leg is August 29th, the day I arrive in Prague. Dream scenario would be Sparta away that day :greengrin

15-04-2013, 07:37 AM
A trip to either Cyprus or Malta please:thumbsup: Hibernian v Hibernians:hibees

15-04-2013, 07:47 AM
Just imagine;

I was thinking butter chicken pies would be nice....:aok:

sven nil
15-04-2013, 08:13 AM
Wigan away? All nighter ?

15-04-2013, 10:56 AM
Your post there has a bunch of incorrect information. Because of our dropping coefficient, the cup winner no longer enters at the playoff round.

So where do we enter, and when?

15-04-2013, 10:59 AM
Europe is always the target for me from a Hibs season. A cup is always a bonus.

You'd prefer it for being in a good league position but what the hell. Part of trying to get in the top 6 is to be in with a shout of Europe so its nice to get it confirmed so quickly after missing out on the top 6.

15-04-2013, 12:39 PM
I was thinking butter chicken pies would be nice....:aok:

Nigella would be the signing you'd want for the butter chicken. She could whip up a storm in hospitality catering :agree: She might cost a bit more but you get what you pay for in the celebrity chef game :agree:

15-04-2013, 12:48 PM

Celtic would still be in Europe for finishing second, and therefore so would we :aok:

15-04-2013, 01:00 PM
Celtic would still be in Europe for finishing second, and therefore so would we :aok:

You sure? I thought it was only if the cup winners had already qualified for the better competition. If they were just in the Europa then the place would go to the league team best placed?

Green Man
15-04-2013, 01:20 PM
You sure? I thought it was only if the cup winners had already qualified for the better competition. If they were just in the Europa then the place would go to the league team best placed?

Correct. If the second placed team wins the cup, the cup winners place goes to the fourth placed team in the league.

NYHibby
15-04-2013, 03:44 PM

You are right. If Celtic somehow finished second, we would need to win the cup to go to Europe.

The SPL has 1 Champions league spot and 3 Europa league spots. The 3 Europa league spots are not all equal. The 4 spots are ranked in this order based on Scotland's coefficient

Champions League - SPL winner
3rd Q round Europa league - cup winner
2nd Q round Europa league - SPL 2nd
2nd Q round Europa league - SPL 3rd

If the same team wins both the league and the cup, they take the champions league spot. The 2nd place SPL team then taking the 2nd best spot, in this case the 3rd Q round. The 3rd place SPL team also moves up a spot, although that means nothing in Scotland's case. The cup loser then takes the lowest spot.

If Celtic finished second and won the cup, they would use the cup winner's spot (3rd Q round) as that is better than the 2nd place in the SPL spot (2nd Q round). The 3rd and 4th SPL teams then take the other two spot. The cup losers do not go to Europe.

People who don't know what they are talking about need to stop posting and confusing other people.

15-04-2013, 05:24 PM
You are right. If Celtic somehow finished second, we would need to win the cup to go to Europe.

The SPL has 1 Champions league spot and 3 Europa league spots. The 3 Europa league spots are not all equal. The 4 spots are ranked in this order based on Scotland's coefficient

If the same team wins both the league and the cup, they take the champions league spot. The 2nd place SPL team then taking the 2nd best spot, in this case the 3rd Q round. The 3rd place SPL team also moves up a spot, although that means nothing in Scotland's case. The cup loser then takes the lowest spot.

If Celtic finished second and won the cup, they would use the cup winner's spot (3rd Q round) as that is better than the 2nd place in the SPL spot (2nd Q round). The 3rd and 4th SPL teams then take the other two spot. The cup losers do not go to Europe.

People who don't know what they are talking about need to stop posting and confusing other people.

Are there only 3 rounds? So if we won the cup and went straight into the 3rd qualifying round, we'd just need to win one tie to advance?

NYHibby
15-04-2013, 05:34 PM
Are there only 3 rounds? So if we won the cup and went straight into the 3rd qualifying round, we'd just need to win one tie to advance?

There is a "4th qualifying round" called the "playoff round" before the group stages.

I believe the first two qualifying rounds are just the old Intertoto Cup rebranded.

15-04-2013, 05:39 PM

Win the third qualifying round, then we enter the Play-Off round, if the attached is to be believed.

15-04-2013, 05:55 PM
:aok: thanks.

Dream ties? Cypriot runner up- probably Anorthsis Famagusta, sun and european football, followed by the playoff against the 5th in serie a, Lazio or Fiorentina. How good would that be :greengrin

15-04-2013, 08:13 PM
So where do we enter, and when?

ok,I'll do it...........................ooooeerrrr missus ! :aok:

15-04-2013, 09:41 PM
:aok: thanks.

Dream ties? Cypriot runner up- probably Anorthsis Famagusta, sun and european football, followed by the playoff against the 5th in serie a, Lazio or Fiorentina. How good would that be :greengrin

We could realistically end up playing Irtysh Pavlodar - an expensive trip, given the Kazakh city of Pavlodar is further east than Delhi or even Goa, but would be memorable!

I'm hoping for an Azerbaijan based team - that and the Faroes are the only two UEFA countries I haven't visited! :thumbsup:

15-04-2013, 10:09 PM

I stand corrected, but absolutely nae need to be a bawsack about it.