View Full Version : Daily Mail bullying a 17 year old girl

09-04-2013, 02:03 PM
Now if you ask me, this girl seems to be an objectionable little madam, but all of this is ridiculous:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2306158/Paris-Brown-Crime-tsar-17-posted-vile-Twitter-rant-faces-investigation-police-force-commissioner-for.html

So far I've counted seven articles about a girl getting a job worth £15k a year, hardly a huge salary. She made some silly tweets when she was fourteen and now the Daily Mail are calling for her to be sacked and running story after story about her.

Whether or not you think the job role is a worthwhile use of £15k is irrelevant; there was a job vacancy there and she applied for it. She went through the recruitment process and was selected as the best candidate for the job.

We all know that the Daily Mail are vile, but in an age of google and instant access they may have ended the chance of this girl having a decent career before it even started. They run stories on youth employment, run stories criticising young people for not wanting to work and when there's a success story of a seventeen year old girl finding a job on a below average salary they look to hound her out of the job.

Have to say that this is one of the most disgusting acts of behaviour by that particular paper in quite some time.

09-04-2013, 02:09 PM
The irony of that particiular paper attacking her for passing comment on a pizza company employing foreign workers is quite something.

09-04-2013, 05:09 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2306335/Paris-Brown-QUITS-15-000-year-youth-commissioner-role-police-launch-investigation-Twitter-rant.html

She's quit her job.

Bullying a 17 year old so she quits her job and now most local employers will know who she is for a negative media story.

You stay classy, Daily Mail.

09-04-2013, 07:14 PM
It's a joke they've printed that rubbish.

So a 17 year old has said stupid things on twitter, who cares?

And what exactly is a "crime tsar?"

09-04-2013, 09:27 PM

She was actually fourteen at the time when she posted those tweets, which makes the Mail's tirade against her even more bizarre.

How much do you bet they're complaining if she ends up claiming some sort of benefit in the near future?

09-04-2013, 09:38 PM
Most newspapers are pish but the daily mail is among the worst.

10-04-2013, 12:06 AM

She wasn't just any 17 year old, though.

She was responsible for being the link between the police and the youth in her local area. Young or not, she really needs to be above that sort of thing.

Yes, I understand that these tweets were made as much as 3 years ago and the reaction's been a bit unfair towards her but people who go for that line of work really have to conform to different standards to most other people and they need to be very careful about what they put online.

Once the media got wind of these tweets, she was never going to be able to remain in this role.

10-04-2013, 04:09 AM
I hope somebody at Kent Police is getting dragged in to explain this one. Why on earth would anybody think putting a young girl in such a high profile position was a good idea. The girl has been let down badly by people who should have known better.

10-04-2013, 06:17 AM

She was responsible for being the link between the police and the youth in her local area. Young or not, she really needs to be above that sort of thing.

Yes, I understand that these tweets were made as much as 3 years ago and the reaction's been a bit unfair towards her but people who go for that line of work really have to conform to different standards to most other people and they need to be very careful about what they put online.

Once the media got wind of these tweets, she was never going to be able to remain in this role.

We're punishing people for comments they made when they were children? Christ, thank god twitter wasn't around when I was 12, I hated "pakis". That's what happens when you are young, you pick up the opinion and behaviour of those around you so easily.

3 years is a long time when your 17 years old. This is just another article that the Daily Mail has produced to create even wider divisions between young an old for the sake of sensational headlines. Anyone who buys into it is plain ignorant, and should be ashamed of themselves.

10-04-2013, 06:42 AM
I feel bad for her to be honest, everyone says stupid things when you were younger. Twitter etc wasn't around when I was that age but I was definately stupid enough to post similar things. She's 17 ffs and was given a good oppertunity in lifea few drunken tweets from 3 years ago and she's out a job. Poor show IMO.

LeighLoyal
10-04-2013, 11:47 AM
Used the phrase 'pikey' in an internet forum. I mean... throw away the key now, off with her head! :rolleyes:

10-04-2013, 05:37 PM

Exactly, the media (grown "professional" adults) should know better than to ruin the lives/careers of people because they have made a stupid mistake when they were 14 and drunk.

Out of the two I know who I think is more irresponsible.

yeezus.
10-04-2013, 05:43 PM
It was ridiculous that she got the job in the first place. Also, given the revelations about her comments on Twitter it is right that she quits.

10-04-2013, 05:54 PM
Statement from recruiting commissioner:
https://www.kent-pcc.gov.uk/crimecommissioner-files/News/09.04.13-Statement-from-Ann-Barnes.pdf

10-04-2013, 07:00 PM
Statement from recruiting commissioner:
https://www.kent-pcc.gov.uk/crimecommissioner-files/News/09.04.13-Statement-from-Ann-Barnes.pdf

Excellent statement.

IndieHibby
10-04-2013, 09:52 PM
In a relevant aside, if this goes some way to convincing the kids I teach of the dangers of social media, it'll be we'll worth the salary (she won't get paid)

10-04-2013, 10:15 PM
It was ridiculous that she got the job in the first place. Also, given the revelations about her comments on Twitter it is right that she quits.

Why. It was advertised, she applied, performed the best in various interviews and tests. Which part of that is ridiculous?

11-04-2013, 05:31 AM
Why. It was advertised, she applied, performed the best in various interviews and tests. Which part of that is ridiculous?

There was no proof that she was a New labour supporter. :wink:

11-04-2013, 07:18 AM
I must admit to slagging 'Daily Mail readers' in the past even though i had never really looked at the paper :greengrin

But when you actually make time to look at the pure deceit and mindless trivia that they get away with it really is shocking. Headline about complaints about antiThatcher bias on BBC coverage (reality: complaints on both sides, more about pro-Thatch bias than against). Headlines about teachers stirring up riots, seemingly all pulled from dubious twitter feeds, obsession about celebrity weight, stretch marks, blemishes...and pages and pages of road rage inducing rants about immigration/asylum/pc/islam.

People read it though :rolleyes:

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 08:02 AM

She was asked if there was anything posted that would embarrass the force. She said No. She lied. Good riddance little ****.

11-04-2013, 08:05 AM
She was asked if there was anything posted that would embarrass the force. She said No. She lied. Good riddance little ****.

I dunno, is Racism and Homophobia really that offensive or embarrassing to the Police force?

Throw in the fact that she was 14 or 15 when she wrote those tweets and you have a very silly young person. I did and said loads of radge things when I was younger, didn't you?

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 08:08 AM
I dunno, is Racism and Homophobia really that offensive or embarrassing to the Police force?

Throw in the fact that she was 14 or 15 when she wrote those tweets and you have a very silly young person. I did and said loads of radge things when I was younger, didn't you?

No, never. :cb:greengrin

11-04-2013, 08:11 AM
No, never. :cb:greengrin

Well, that makes you a liar or a right boring *******.

Or both :greengrin

11-04-2013, 08:11 AM

Sometimes kids say and do things to fit in with their peer group, I think its incredibly harsh to hold it against her as an adult. How would you feel if something you did as a 14 year old stopped you getting a job

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 08:12 AM
Well, that makes you a liar or a right boring *******.

Or both :greengrin

:agree: You have hit the nail on the head!

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 08:12 AM
Sometimes kids say and do things to fit in with their peer group, I think its incredibly harsh to hold it against her as an adult. How would you feel if something you did as a 14 year old stopped you getting a job

If I had posted something racist or homophobic (which I wouldn't) I would completely understand. Especially a job of that description!

11-04-2013, 08:31 AM
If I had posted something racist or homophobic (which I wouldn't) I would completely understand. Especially a job of that description!

So its ok for politicians to run the country into the ground and still receive your backing but a 17 year old who said some things when she was 14 can't be given a second chance

11-04-2013, 08:33 AM

She posted the tweets between the age of 14-16 and at that age plenty of kids do and say dumb things as a show of bravado. Prior to the growth of social media sites they could have learnt from their mistakes in private. Thank goodness I grew up in a different age, I would have hung myself several times over.
I would argue that the job should not exist in the first place. If the Police can't communicate with all groups in society without drafting in a 17 year old girl to take the media storm then they should look at why their existing (and expensive) liaison teams have been failing.

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 10:28 AM
So its ok for politicians to run the country into the ground and still receive your backing but a 17 year old who said some things when she was 14 can't be given a second chance

Completely irrelevant. Politicians are elected by the people, it is a matter of opinion if they have "ran the country into the ground".

Marinello59 makes a point better than I have - " If the Police can't communicate with all groups in society without drafting in a 17 year old girl to take the media storm then they should look at why their existing (and expensive) liaison teams have been failing."

11-04-2013, 11:36 AM
Completely irrelevant. Politicians are elected by the people, it is a matter of opinion if they have "ran the country into the ground".

Marinello59 makes a point better than I have - " If the Police can't communicate with all groups in society without drafting in a 17 year old girl to take the media storm then they should look at why their existing (and expensive) liaison teams have been failing."

They appointed a 17 year old after speaking to other youngsters who suggested that it would be better to have someone of their own age as a go between, so appointing a 17 year was entirely appropriate

11-04-2013, 12:44 PM
They appointed a 17 year old after speaking to other youngsters who suggested that it would be better to have someone of their own age as a go between, so appointing a 17 year was entirely appropriate

In which situations was the need for a go between employed by the police themselves required? Surely our highly trained Police Officers should be capable of communicating effectively with all parts of the community that they serve? If not then they are in the wrong job.

11-04-2013, 12:52 PM
In which situations was the need for a go between employed by the police themselves required? Surely our highly trained Police Officers should be capable of communicating effectively with all parts of the community that they serve? If not then they are in the wrong job.

Indeed. Sounds to me like electing a token teenager, and not being too careful who got chosen.

Going by the quotes and photos in the Daily Mail article, I'd say she was probably the preferred police candidate? :rolleyes:

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 01:15 PM

A 17 year old in that position is ridiculous. If the police did their job properly 17 year olds wouldn't be disillusioned with them in the first place. And what do you mean a "go between"?

11-04-2013, 01:48 PM

I'm sure the highly trained police officers are capable of communicating with the community they serve but there's nothing wrong with trying new initiatives. I think giving kids someone who they can relate to seems a perfectly reasonable idea to me. I'm sure highly trained male police officers could more than adequately deal with a women who has been raped but the women is going to feel far more comfortable with a female officer. There's a huge problem with youth crime in this country and anything that helps with that can only be positive

11-04-2013, 01:53 PM
A 17 year old in that position is ridiculous. If the police did their job properly 17 year olds wouldn't be disillusioned with them in the first place. And what do you mean a "go between"?

Someone who can bridge the gap between young people and the police. As for your point on the police doing their job properly, maybe that's what they were attempting with this appointment but as usual it's met with the usual british response when new ideas are tried

11-04-2013, 01:56 PM
Someone who can bridge the gap between young people and the police. As for your point on the police doing their job properly, maybe that's what they were attempting with this appointment but as usual it's met with the usual british response when new ideas are tried

How though? In which situations was she going to act as go between?

11-04-2013, 02:08 PM
How though? In which situations was she going to act as go between?

Her job was to reach out to young people in the Kent area and work with the young people of that area. Obviously the post has never existed before so I can only go on what I've read but she was appointed because of her work with young people. What do you think her role would be if it wasn't to help youngsters stay on the straight and narrow

11-04-2013, 02:26 PM
Her job was to reach out to young people in the Kent area and work with the young people of that area. Obviously the post has never existed before so I can only go on what I've read but she was appointed because of her work with young people. What do you think her role would be if it wasn't to help youngsters stay on the straight and narrow

You said she was acting as a go between to link the Police and young people. I just wondered what that meant. Apparently she was to act as an adviser to the newly elected Police Commissioner on what young people wanted.
I am not knocking the girl. I think the treatment of her has been shocking and even though I question the value of the role she seems to have shown outstanding personal qualities during the selection process. I just don't see what the job actually was.

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 04:12 PM

The reason the public anger aroused was not because a 17 year old was getting £15,000 for a bull**** job - it was because of her statements on Twitter.

11-04-2013, 04:27 PM
The reason the public anger aroused was not because a 17 year old was getting £15,000 for a bull**** job - it was because of her statements on Twitter.

And my point was that she was a child then and should be given a chance to redeem herself

11-04-2013, 04:33 PM
You said she was acting as a go between to link the Police and young people. I just wondered what that meant. Apparently she was to act as an adviser to the newly elected Police Commissioner on what young people wanted.
I am not knocking the girl. I think the treatment of her has been shocking and even though I question the value of the role she seems to have shown outstanding personal qualities during the selection process. I just don't see what the job actually was.

I think her role was pretty unclear as well, from what I read she was going to be out in the community listening and talking to young people and reporting back to the police commissioner. It may well be a gimmick by the police but you never know maybe all forces will end up following suite

11-04-2013, 06:46 PM

Arguably the force has not been embarrassed, she has.

Let me know when you're next applying for a job and I'll point your prospective employers at your post calling a wee lassie a four letter word :wink:

yeezus.
11-04-2013, 06:58 PM
Arguably the force has not been embarrassed, she has.

Let me know when you're next applying for a job and I'll point your prospective employers at your post calling a wee lassie a four letter word :wink:

Oh don't worry, I won't be applying for a job anytime soon. The future is very black indeed. I don't have long to go now.

11-04-2013, 07:07 PM
I think her role was pretty unclear as well, from what I read she was going to be out in the community listening and talking to young people and reporting back to the police commissioner. It may well be a gimmick by the police but you never know maybe all forces will end up following suite

Going by that job description I think the job title used to be called "Grass".

Tin hat on smiley.

11-04-2013, 07:55 PM
Oh don't worry, I won't be applying for a job anytime soon. The future is very black indeed. I don't have long to go now.

Never mind, you can pass the time by thinking back to everything you said when you were 14 :wink:

12-04-2013, 04:43 AM

Stop that stuff immediately.

There are members you can talk to mate. That thread is still very much alive!

FFS that's scary stuff after all you have told us bud.