View Full Version : Match Updates Celtic 3 v 0 Hibernian

06-04-2013, 11:58 AM
Hanlon available after injury and Maybury returns from suspension.
Sun's out and hopefully a good Hibs display to go with it.
All we can do today is win and keep our fingers crossed that results go our way.

2-1 Hibs with a last minute winner from wee Alex Harris :greengrin

06-04-2013, 12:02 PM
I'm at a better game in Frankfurt today :greengrin

06-04-2013, 12:08 PM

Company cannae be up to much if you are still posting on here!

06-04-2013, 12:10 PM
Company cannae be up to much if you are still posting on here!

Well, as that company obviously includes a load of Germans, that's a rather obvious statement to make :wink:

06-04-2013, 12:12 PM
Frankfurt v Bayern - Bayern win they win the league I think?
But, Hibs are obviously better than both they teams anyway :greengrin

06-04-2013, 12:47 PM
Just parked off London Rd and a 60 year local woman has just asked me if she can watch my car!!!!
A couple of 12 year olds smoking outside my car!
Welcome to Glasgow

OsloHibs
06-04-2013, 12:55 PM
Mon the Hibs :pfgwa

06-04-2013, 12:59 PM
Whats the weather like in Glesgae? Nice and sunny here.
Team update, anyone?

Come on Hibs :flag::flag:

hibee19
06-04-2013, 01:08 PM
Total joke of a team again. Enough of the 3 defensive midfielders.

TomoHFC
06-04-2013, 01:09 PM
C'mon the hibees GGTTH FTH:hibees:pfgwa

06-04-2013, 01:09 PM
Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub (FC‏@HibernianFCClub)

Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McGivern, McPake, Hanlon, Wotherspoon, Deegan, Claros, Thomson, Harris, Griffiths #hibees (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

06-04-2013, 01:11 PM
Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub

SUBS: Murdoch, Forster, Cairney, Stevenson, Doyle, Handling, Robertson #hibees (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

You always seem to post negative things matey. Is there something up??

BarneyK

Agreed. We're a far better side than Celtic, let's get out there and let our substantial attacking threat loose on these mhanky bassas.:rolleyes:

06-04-2013, 01:13 PM
Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub

Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McGivern, McPake, Hanlon, Wotherspoon, Deegan, Claros, Thomson, Harris, Griffiths #hibees (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Glad to see Hanlon back... Good run out before semi next week.

Also glad to see KT and Harris starting.

Wonder if this will be close to next weeks starting 11??

06-04-2013, 01:13 PM
Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub (FC‏@HibernianFCClub)

Without seeing much of Harris, that looks to be our strongest team IMHO.

06-04-2013, 01:14 PM
I would have Stevenson in before Deegan any day.

06-04-2013, 01:14 PM

Not a big fan of 3 in the middle, but we're playing Celtic so we need enforcement in that area. It worked last time.

hibee19
06-04-2013, 01:17 PM
You always seem to post negative things matey. Is there something up??

You're probably right, I like a good moan about something. I actually feel fairly positive about this game, I know we cant go gung-ho but I think we need to get Griffiths a bit of support.

06-04-2013, 01:17 PM
Cairney for Wotherspoon is the only change I would definitely have myself, but I'm looking forward to seeing Claros and Thomson together. No complaints with the team though, come on Hibs!

:pfgwa

Hibstrooper
06-04-2013, 01:19 PM
Glad to see Hanlon back... Good run out before semi next week.

Also glad to see KT and Harris starting.

Wonder if this will be close to next weeks starting 11??

Same starting 11 two weeks in a row, don't be daft!

Fenlon isn't slow to take someone out the team if they aren't performing however we need consistency if we are to ever improve. Chopping & changing each week won't work.

AJWisme
06-04-2013, 01:19 PM
Totally agree, don't understand what Deegan contributes.

06-04-2013, 01:21 PM
You're probably right, I like a good moan about something. I actually feel fairly positive about this game, I know we cant go gung-ho but I think we need to get Griffiths a bit of support.

Tbh I would have Leigh on the bench wrapping him in cotton wool for next week buy Heay. Agree re swapping Wotherspoon for Cairney and this could be next weeks starting 11.

06-04-2013, 01:21 PM
Just parked off London Rd and a 60 year local woman has just asked me if she can watch my car!!!!
A couple of 12 year olds smoking outside my car!
Welcome to Glasgow

Of course that would never happen in Edinburgh, or any other part of Scotland. :rolleyes:

hibee19
06-04-2013, 01:26 PM
Tbh I would have Leigh on the bench wrapping him in cotton wool for next week buy Heay. Agree re swapping Wotherspoon for Cairney and this could be next weeks starting 11.

I'd love to see Cairney get a chance through the middle in front of Thomson and Claros. That has the potential be a cracking midfield.

06-04-2013, 01:29 PM
Deegan would be no where near my starting 11.

06-04-2013, 01:29 PM
I'd love to see Cairney get a chance through the middle in front of Thomson and Claros. That has the potential be a cracking midfield.

I'd like to see that lineup too, I think Deegan is only there today to make some challenges because of Celtic's obvious threat, Cairney is a better player IMO. No complaints if it works today though.

06-04-2013, 01:30 PM

Yip it does but we need to be able to compete in the middle of the park.

I think he plays the 3 because of our lack of pace.

06-04-2013, 01:31 PM
Looks a pretty full strength Celtc side as well.

C'mon Hibs!

06-04-2013, 01:32 PM

Lewis is a steady performer who rarely lets us down without ever being spectacular.

Deegan gets booked and subbed. Thats it. One good performance against Celtic and a goal against Aberdeen isn't a defence either before anyone says it.

LeighLoyal
06-04-2013, 01:32 PM
Would like to see Harris Thomson Claros and Cairney in the middle. Play LG and Doyle.

06-04-2013, 01:33 PM
Deegan again.

Nonsense from Fenlon after watching a disgraceful performance from him last week.

It's these decisions that worry me about Fenlon.

06-04-2013, 01:33 PM
Official Hibs twitter "Two weekends in Weegieland; two big wins required. Hibs will be going for it today at Celtic Park #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)"

Surprised they called Glasgow "Weegieland" haha

06-04-2013, 01:35 PM
Am I right in saying Lewis is suspended next week.... If so then I can see Deegan starting next week and a very similar line up against Falkirk??

06-04-2013, 01:35 PM
Hibs are set up not lose ratber than win matches it seems regardless of opposition and that ultimately will have us lose more than win. We needed a partner for Leigh not another option in middle of pitch.

hibee19
06-04-2013, 01:36 PM
Would like to see Harris Thomson Claros and Cairney in the middle. Play LG and Doyle.

I think 5 in midfield works well as long as Griffiths gets some support.

06-04-2013, 01:37 PM
Hibs are set up not lose ratber than win matches it seems regardless of opposition and that ultimately will have us lose more than win. We needed a partner for Leigh not another option in middle of pitch.

I can understand the line-up today. PF cannot play this way in the remaining SPL games especially against the Yams, it will use up any of the goodwill left towards him.

06-04-2013, 01:40 PM
I can understand the line-up today. PF cannot play this way in the remaining SPL games especially against the Yams, it will use up any of the goodwill left towards him.

Agreed, he absolutely has to give Caldwell a start up top next to Leigh.

06-04-2013, 01:42 PM
I know Robertson had one bad game but he HAS to start?

Deegan plays every game averagely.

06-04-2013, 01:45 PM

I'd have taiwo in before both ;)

HibeeN
06-04-2013, 01:46 PM
I understand Fenlon playing Deegan today (even if I don't rate him) as our midfield will have a tough battle containing Celtic, but he cannot start against Falkirk next week with 3 holding midfielders. If we're going with a midfield five then have two sitting (KT and Claros, without a shadow of a doubt our best midfielders), two out wide and one in a more advanced position in the middle to get forward and support Griffiths.

06-04-2013, 01:50 PM

WestEndHibee
06-04-2013, 01:51 PM
welcome back Hanlon! Whatever happens in the other games lets maintain our unbeaten record and spoil the lesser green's potential party! :pfgwa:pfgwa:flag::flag::pfgwa:pfgwa

06-04-2013, 01:57 PM
Guy on celtictv has clear eyesight problems, he just said its looking like a full house at celtic park today? :faf:

06-04-2013, 02:00 PM
What has Caldwell done wrong that he's not even on the bench these days? Surely with Doyle away it would be sensible to have him on the bench?

06-04-2013, 02:06 PM
Great tackle from Thomson

GlenrothesHibee
06-04-2013, 02:08 PM
1-0 Dundee. Cmon Hibs!

06-04-2013, 02:10 PM
A goal would put us top 6 at the moment. Cmon the cabbage!

06-04-2013, 02:12 PM
Oh Bollox

That is ****ing dreadful from gary deegan

Booooooooooooo

Commons 1-0 - defence split open

A shocker from both Centre halfs there.

cad
06-04-2013, 02:13 PM
Deegan gives the ball away stops couple of passes goal schoolboy stuff Ben no chance

AJWisme
06-04-2013, 02:13 PM
Why does that Deegan still get a game!?

06-04-2013, 02:14 PM
Gary Deegan :rolleyes: The lead up to the goal shows you a typical Deegan moment. I really hope we dont keep him next season.

Deek01
Where's Taiwo today?

MoscowHibs
get deegan tae ...

06-04-2013, 02:16 PM
Whats up with Hibs tv coverage

06-04-2013, 02:17 PM
Unable to be there today so thought I'd join in the match thread for the first time ever! Not sure whether being there is worse or not :greengrin

Doesn't surprise me that Deegan was involved in us losing a goal. Offers little or nothing to us and should be well down the pecking order.

06-04-2013, 02:18 PM
Gary Deegan :rolleyes: The lead up to the goal shows you a typical Deegan moment. I really hope we dont keep him next season.

Keep him?

Fenlon looks to be building a team round this guy if he still gets a game after last week's debacle.

06-04-2013, 02:19 PM
Deegan breaks up moves, stops passing plays and makes sure shots are of no danger of going in...unfortunately I am talking about his part in the Hibs team.

hibee19
06-04-2013, 02:20 PM
Is rather concede early than score early. We dont hold a lead well and we know we can score goals. score just before half time and we have a chance for top 6!

cad
06-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Shocker from Commons on Harris luck the wee fellas no hurt

06-04-2013, 02:22 PM
Is rather concede early than score early. We dont hold a lead well and we know we can score goals. score just before half time and we have a chance for top 6!

Apart from the last time we played Celtic.

mentalhibee
06-04-2013, 02:26 PM
We need more support going forward, dire tactics again!

cad
06-04-2013, 02:28 PM
Tell you what Griffiths wants to open his eyes thats three times we have had better options only for him to go on his own Harris twice and Deegan,

06-04-2013, 02:29 PM
If the game plan was to contain celtic then its safe to say its game over.

jane_says
06-04-2013, 02:29 PM

Me too, was surprised at him getting subbed last week as him and Harris were the only decent midfielders last week. Maybe a wee knock???:dunno:

06-04-2013, 02:30 PM
Tell you what Griffiths wants to open his eyes thats three times we have had better options only for him to go on his own Harris twice and Deegan,
I think it's symptomatic of the lack of service he gets that Leigh is basically so greedy when he occasionally gets the ball. He's trying to make things happen.

mentalhibee
The refs having a shocker like, blatant corner for hibs.....Celtic goal kick.

Officials showing their true colours there, doing all they can to make sure there is 0% chance of an equaliser.

06-04-2013, 02:31 PM
how the **** was that not a corner. I don't understand how the ref could think that.

HibeeN
06-04-2013, 02:31 PM

:agree: I thought he was selfish at times against Inverness last week too. His body language seems more negative than usual recently, head seems to go down and berates his teammates more often than usual (maybe deservedly so, admittedly!) Must be frustrating for him having to play that role with so little support.

06-04-2013, 02:32 PM

How difficult can making basic decisions be :rolleyes:

06-04-2013, 02:33 PM

How difficult can making basic decisions be :rolleyes:

plenty support in that last move

06-04-2013, 02:37 PM
poor free kick by Clancy there....need to use opportunities

06-04-2013, 02:37 PM

Factor in Doyle heading off I reckon. How many runs did Eoin make into great areas only for Leigh to shoot.

06-04-2013, 02:38 PM
Tbf this is a better 1st half performance than the 2-2 draw there, should of been 5 down that time.

06-04-2013, 02:39 PM
Clancy has not found form so far...

Not much atmosphere considering Lennys pleas

AllyF
06-04-2013, 02:42 PM
Is it a good omen that the only two cup finalists in Scotland so far this year are also right down at the bottom of the league with us?

Where's the clutching at straws smiley?

06-04-2013, 02:46 PM
I'm not fussed what happens today as aspiring to be in the top six is ridiculous anyway, the game is rank rotten.

I'm more concerned about the teams that Pat isbputting out. They are devoid of any attacking threat and more worryingly have no tactics? He does not vary his setup so most primary children could set up to shut us out and score against us.

Robertson and Cairney should be starting. Deegan shouldn't. Play 4-4-2 and just give Cairney a free role in behind Griffiths. Playing Doyle or Deegans is like playing with a man down anyway.

No point speculating though as Fenlonegativity will go with his trusty 4-5-1.

06-04-2013, 02:47 PM
Why does that Deegan still get a game!?

Atrocious performance from a clueless Hibs team -Griffiths complaining at length about his team mates, Claros complaining at Griffiths for his failure to anticipate a pass, Clancy, Deegan having shockers and the rest are not much better, apart from Thompson - Fenlon has obviously failed yet again to motivate his team or to set it up with any sense of purpose...

... no top six on this showing!

06-04-2013, 02:47 PM
Dundee doing what we need and the other game being the needed draw.......we had better give this a decent push in the second half....

LeighLoyal
06-04-2013, 02:48 PM
Not the worst half, but something more needed. I'd put on Cairney and Doyle for Deegan and Spoon.

06-04-2013, 02:48 PM
:agree: I thought he was selfish at times against Inverness last week too. His body language seems more negative than usual recently, head seems to go down and berates his teammates more often than usual (maybe deservedly so, admittedly!) Must be frustrating for him having to play that role with so little support.

Happened with Garry O'Connor last season, he was banging them in early doors, but the lack of quality around him seemed to wear him down. For all I know thats what happened to Stokes a couple of seasons earlier.

06-04-2013, 02:50 PM
do the bbc watch the games?

Goal - Kris Commons - Celtic 1 - 0 Hibernian Kris Commons finds the back of the net with a goal from just inside the area high into the middle of the goal. Celtic 1-0 Hibernian.

they way I seen it was more just about on the penalty spot and rolled it in the bottom corner.

Juice-Terry
06-04-2013, 02:50 PM
Claros has been brutal. Take him off and stick Cairney on. Deegan's had a shocker as well. Get him off and Robertson on.

06-04-2013, 02:52 PM
Not the worst half, but something more needed. I'd put on Cairney and Doyle for Deegan and Spoon.

If it stays like it is no chance of PF making a change (unless enforced) before the hour mark.

mentalhibee
06-04-2013, 02:53 PM
Claros has been hibs best player!

cad
I think it's symptomatic of the lack of service he gets that Leigh is basically so greedy when he occasionally gets the ball. He's trying to make things happen.

I know wghat you mean mate when your doing it week in week out on your jack its hard to change it
Dont think Celtic have broke sweat yet ,its a pretty open game if Sparky takes a couple of different options they were in big trouble
Thompson Claros McGivern Harris Hanlon McPake Griffiths along doing well Deegan falls asleep boom goal ,Clancy some woeful passing and Spoons not giving us much if anything, he was tackled in the 38 min going forward that was the first time I noticed him ,hes cut out a few balls and went with who ever hes been asked to mark , Stokes Mullgrew and Izaguire could sell icecream doon that side its such an easy Shift

Happened with Garry O'Connor last season, he was banging them in early doors, but the lack of quality around him seemed to wear him down. For all I know thats what happened to Stokes a couple of seasons earlier.

:confused: but hows it a lack of others quality that he cant see an obvious pass (or hold the ball up for that matter) some people are blinded to his flaws due to the things he does do well.

Also nothing wrong with tactics - its the execution. Players failing to find the pass to create width and opposite wide player not arriving at back post when ball is out at other side (or failing to get the ball across if rest is done)

06-04-2013, 02:54 PM
Just go for it this half.

We have to win and i'd rather lose by 2 or 3 havin a go than by 1 playing like this. Other results are going our way so if we are brave enough then who knows.

Stringer
06-04-2013, 02:55 PM
Leigh is only good when he is driving into space. He isn't a great decision maker. Love the guy but he needs through balls, never play it to his feet

06-04-2013, 03:01 PM
156/1 for top 6. The odds are better now than before:greengrin

06-04-2013, 03:02 PM
Just turned on the Live BBC feed, and we were referred to as "The Hibs"

Urgh..:cb

06-04-2013, 03:03 PM
McGivern getting twisted like a corkscrew.....needs to get tighter

cad
06-04-2013, 03:05 PM
Leigh is only good when he is driving into space. He isn't a great decision maker. Love the guy but he needs through balls, never play it to his feet

If Clancy and McGivern use Harris and Spoons they can make some space for Sparky but some of the balls hes getting to control if its not stuck to him hes got 2 sometimes 3 players round him and just crowded out , dont get me wrong hes doing well I just feel sorry for the poor f...r doing it all on his own a bit more composure in our mid and he/we would get at the very least some space and time on the ball instead of the nano second that hes got to make up his mind just now

06-04-2013, 03:05 PM
That defence is just ****ing murder.

06-04-2013, 03:06 PM
This is disgusting. We aren't even giving it a go! Shocking.

Steviie
06-04-2013, 03:07 PM
.... Pat must go, what have we set out to do today. This was a must win game and we play LG alone up front? He is not that type of player, fenlon - clueless

hibbymick
06-04-2013, 03:08 PM

Thats the Fenlon way, you must be used to it by now surely.

06-04-2013, 03:08 PM

Is that us singing "Allez Allez.." cause if so we sound good... Even if we aren't playing good...

06-04-2013, 03:09 PM
Bottom six without so much as a whimper.

Shambles of a club.

Steviie
06-04-2013, 03:10 PM
Bloody hell..

Nelly070
Pi$$ Poor !!

Steviie
If we play like this vs Falkirk we are getting pumped...

I think Hooper and Commons took pity on us there, schoolboy defending.

06-04-2013, 03:11 PM
Claros does brilliant to match the run and then a howler of a miss hit.....should have been 3

portyhibernian
Hanlon looks well off the pace today, we had nout to lose so thought we'd at least give it a go but once again we bend over. Same old story.

Steviie
Is that us singing "Allez Allez.." cause if so we sound good... Even if we aren't playing good...

Think I heard that too mate

HibeeN
No point speculating though as Fenlonegativity will go with his trusty 4-5-1.

4-5-1 in itself isn't necessarily negative. A great example of it done well was watching Bayern v Juventus the other night - Bayern absolutely dominated and were attacking all game. Mandžukić played up front on his own, but he had Ribery and Robbern helping on him on the wings (not to mention the help they got from their fullbacks bombing forward) but Mueller was also playing just behind, helping out.

4-5-1 can be incredibly attacking, but when it's being played with three defensive midfielders everything just gets stifled. That's why I'd prefer us to see playing with Claros and Thomson sitting and an attacking midfielder taking up a more forward role.

****ing rubbish quite frankly.

I understand we had to make sure we stayed in the game but we haven't even managed that and have gone down with a whimper.

06-04-2013, 03:12 PM
**** off Fenlon.

Was having a go of it really that much to ask for? Horrible to watch. Setting up not to get beat when we had to win to stand any chance of making the top 6 is ****ing ridiculous.

06-04-2013, 03:12 PM
.... Pat must go, what have we set out to do today. This was a must win game and we play LG alone up front? He is not that type of player, fenlon - clueless

Should he go before or after the Scottish cup semi? The second in two years that is. Griffiths isn't that type of player? Did you miss the hat trick he scored at Kilmarnock when he was playing alone up front? Clueless indeed.

AJWisme
06-04-2013, 03:13 PM
Substitution to make a straight swap for a tactic that's not working - clueless!

06-04-2013, 03:14 PM
****ing rubbish quite frankly.

I understand we had to make sure we stayed in the game but we haven't even managed that and have gone down with a whimper.

We deserve to be where we are. The Yams will leapfrog us in the table soon.

If we play like this vs Falkirk we are getting pumped...

By the end of today's match they won't care, cos their confidence will be shot. Celtic will absolutely hammer us in the Final.

3-0 going on 6-0.

Crap.

Steviie
We want four, maybe Petrie will open his eyes....

Have to mention though, there must be some worry in the Celtic boardroom over recent crowds. Today could see them win the league and the crowd is shocking (for their standards).

And its 3:bitchy:

Steviie
By the end of today's match they won't care, cos their confidence will be shot. Celtic will absolutely hammer us in the Final.

3-0 going on 6-0.

Crap. no way we will get to the final mate

06-04-2013, 03:15 PM
no way we will get to the final mateOh yeah, getting beat by Celtic away means we have no chance against Falkirk

06-04-2013, 03:16 PM
Oh yeah, getting beat by Celtic away means we have no chance against Falkirk

Best ignored, you'll just encourage him.

Juice-Terry
06-04-2013, 03:16 PM
Have to mention though, there must be some worry in the Celtic boardroom over recent crowds. Today could see them win the league and the crowd is shocking (for their standards).

And its 3:bitchy:

06-04-2013, 03:17 PM
Doesn't matter in terms of points for once but that goal was a clear hand ball.

Nelly070
Should he go before or after the Scottish cup semi? The second in two years that is. Griffiths isn't that type of player? Did you miss the hat trick he scored at Kilmarnock when he was playing alone up front? Clueless indeed.

Your head is too far in the sand mate !!
Fenlons tactics are clueless !!

other games still going our way :rolleyes:

Substitution to make a straight swap for a tactic that's not working - clueless!

This is the main problem. What the **** does he watch from the dug out?

Steviie
06-04-2013, 03:18 PM

Hmm yes? Our form has been poor and this game against celtic was a must win and PF has set up to do.... (I do not even know) and Falkirk have been on better form and have a good player in that Lyle boy. Once again, fenlon - clueless

06-04-2013, 03:18 PM
I'm off. Away to kick a passing reindeer or something .. :grr:

06-04-2013, 03:19 PM
Fenlon must stop this quite horrendous run of form after the split!

06-04-2013, 03:20 PM
Rather annoying that the other results are going exactly as we wanted.

My prediction of 4-1 is still on then :greengrin

Better get ready to nip down the bookies....................

Hmm yes? Our form has been poor and this game against celtic was a must win and PF has set up to do.... (I do not even know) and Falkirk have been on better form and have a good player in that Lyle boy. Once again, fenlon - cluelessTo be honest you're the one who is clueless, not Fenlon.

beastie
06-04-2013, 03:21 PM
other games still going our way :rolleyes:

No surprise though eh, the joys of being a hibby :(

Steviie
To be honest you're the one who is clueless, not Fenlon.

What a great comeback hahahahaha

mentalhibee
Fenlon must stop this quite horrendous run of form after the split!

He doesn't know how to, useless tactician! Same crap every week.

Bobo
06-04-2013, 03:22 PM
We needed to win to have any chance of salvaging a top six spot and his side are still as negative as They've been all season. If he had half an idea on how to set out a side that attacks we'd have secured our top six spot in January.

Fenlon's well out his depth and it shows, there's no improvement on last year IMO, we're still a dreadful team and will most likely finish behind the Gorgie Tramps and he'll still keep his job!! Fenlon the master tactician :rolleyes: Another failure in a long line of dud managers.

Stringer
06-04-2013, 03:23 PM
Hmm yes? Our form has been poor and this game against celtic was a must win and PF has set up to do.... (I do not even know) and Falkirk have been on better form and have a good player in that Lyle boy. Once again, fenlon - clueless

This! What was the plan Pat????? Don't see us winning another Spl game

OsloHibs
06-04-2013, 03:25 PM
Dundee still winning?

Steviie
06-04-2013, 03:26 PM
Dundee still winning?

Yep

06-04-2013, 03:26 PM
Listening on web, TBH playing Deegan has shot Pat in the foot. He is one of the most negative players I've seen, especially when we need a win for a top 6. He's tried to play the same way as last time against Celtic, soak up the pressure and hit them on the break, this works when you have the players all on the ball and working very hard for 90 mins. Harris isn't the type of player to throw into the fray at Parkhead, to big a game for the lad, Stevenson should have been on as well as Robertson, at least they have more experience. I'd have played a 4-1-4-1, Claros as the holder and a midfield 4 of Stevenson...Thompson...Cairney....Robertson.

06-04-2013, 03:27 PM
We needed to win to have any chance of salvaging a top six spot and his side are still as negative as They've been all season. If he had half an idea on how to set out a side that attacks we'd have secured our top six spot in January.

Fenlon's well out his depth and it shows, there's no improvement on last year IMO, we're still a dreadful team and will most likely finish behind the Gorgie Tramps and he'll still keep his job!! Fenlon the master tactician :rolleyes: Another failure in a long line of dud managers.

Emerald
This! What was the plan Pat????? Don't see us winning another Spl game

Paddy will take us nowhere. Tolal ****

Steviie

This, but seriously. I understand giving managers time but his tactics against celtic today are shocking, LG is not alone striker he needs a partner. This was a must win game and I'm worrying for next week, just hearing Falkirk are 1-0 up.....

06-04-2013, 03:28 PM

06-04-2013, 03:29 PM
Paddy will take us nowhere. Tolal ****

Welcome back. We must be losing.

Fenlon is a good manager and he'll improve us yet.

Your head is too far in the sand mate !!
Fenlons tactics are clueless !!

Exactly.

Hat-trick against Killie was purely down to terrible mistakes made by their defence and Leigh's persistence, sweet f.a about our tactical prowess.

06-04-2013, 03:30 PM

At the moment Falkirk are near the top end of Div 1 and we are nearer bottom of SPL, not a lot of difference between the two teams, we'll struggle next week.

06-04-2013, 03:30 PM
"They'll want Deegan fit for next Saturday"

:hilarious:rotflmao:

Celtic TV providing in-match comedy too.

06-04-2013, 03:31 PM
players look like they are saving themselves for Semi....NOT very professional

Emerald
06-04-2013, 03:32 PM
Fenlon is a good manager and he'll improve us yet.

He wont and he's not. Open your eyes, he is pash

06-04-2013, 03:33 PM

Either that or they're beginning to stop playing for Pat like they did earlier in the season.

Boyd just scored for Killie, at least the humping from Celtic stopped our hopes being smashed this afternoon.

They're just not very good. An entire team replaced and we're not that much better. A complete one man team.

Steviie

Even though I'd like to believe the previous post, I agree with you mate

hibbymick
We deserve to be where we are. The Yams will leapfrog us in the table soon.

I agree 100%

My eyes are open wide enough ta, he isn't 'pash'. We'll get better under him.

Juice-Terry
06-04-2013, 03:34 PM
Losing to Celtic away (when they have the chance of becoming champions) is something I can live with. Not looking even remotely interested in having a go at them is nothing short of disgraceful. The blame lies squarely with Fenlon. If he can't motive the team for a game like this, then there is something terribly wrong with his managerial skills. Awful performance from Hibs.

Steviie

What makes you believe this with all due respect ?

It's a disgrace if we've not gone there to have a go at winning. That, for me - when nothing less than a win would do- is on a par with Harry Potter playing no strikers.

When the other teams do us a favour we do f*** all to help ourselves. The erse has fallen right out the season and I'm seeing nothing from Fenlon that tells me he knows how to stop the rot.

IF that's true, it could be for the best. If Hibs and Celtc win next week, we've qualified for Europe.

See, who says I can't look on the bright side?

Emerald

When?

hibeequinn
06-04-2013, 03:35 PM
honestly listening to the radio and asks if lusting punched the ball in the net he replies with no it was a clear clean header what a clueless tit.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

06-04-2013, 03:36 PM
Dundee back in front.

Juice-Terry
06-04-2013, 03:36 PM
honestly listening to the radio and asks if lusting punched the ball in the net he replies with no it was a clear clean header what a clueless tit.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

CLEAR handball. Typical.

06-04-2013, 03:37 PM
When?

Over time, we've fallen away once again at the end of this season, but we're better than we were last year.

It's a disgrace if we've not gone there to have a go at winning. That, for me - when nothing less than a win would do- is on a par with Harry Potter playing no strikers.

When the other teams do us a favour we do f*** all to help ourselves. The erse has fallen right out the season and I'm seeing nothing from Fenlon that tells me he knows how to stop the rot.

Do you not think that maybe he had it too easy over in Ireland, not a lot to beat team wise, so your CV looks better than it really is, being found out now that he's way way out of his depth, doesn't know how to bring back a team on the slide.

What makes you believe this with all due respect ?

The difference he made at the start of the season.

06-04-2013, 03:38 PM
St. Liedown hand the title to Celtic by deliberately winning at Motherwell. '86 all over again. :bitchy:

It's a marathon, not a sprint

Dundehh back in front at Killie.

AberdreamHibee
06-04-2013, 03:39 PM
What a monumental collapse this season has been...same old.

Started it so well...anything short of 4th would be deemed a massive disappointment but now look at us?!

Really disappointed...but sacking Fenlon is not the answer. We cannot have another transition season, it would finish us, we need to settle with what we have and try and build. Manager merry-go-round is what, IMO, has wrecked our club.

Over time, we've fallen away once again at the end of this season, but we're better than we were last year.

Are we really?????

hibbymick

Is that you Pat ? should you not be in the dugoot ?

Emerald
06-04-2013, 03:40 PM
[QUOTE=ErinGavBragh;3556483]Over time, we've fallen away once again at the end of this season, but we're better than we were last year.[/QU
We are crap and Fenlon is clueless. His tactics stink. How can anyone defend him.

Not many pass marks but Clancy has been woeful.....

I don't really think that we go out to win any game. Our game plan is, first and foremost, not to lose the game (but even that hasn't worked very often in the last four months). Anything more than that is a bonus.

I thought it was evident that they weren't going to try and win the game when Thomson was talking about Fenlon 'setting the team out to play the way that he thinks will get a result'.

It's a marathon, not a sprint

I appreciate that, but if he can make improvements to a poor side once, he can do it again. He deserves more time is all I'm saying.

06-04-2013, 03:42 PM

the most important part of the season is the business end of it, if you dont believe me...ask Mr petrie

06-04-2013, 03:42 PM
Is that you Pat ? should you not be in the dugoot ?

No it's not.

[QUOTE=ErinGavBragh;3556483]Over time, we've fallen away once again at the end of this season, but we're better than we were last year.[/QU
We are crap and Fenlon is clueless. His tactics stink. How can anyone defend him.

The job he brought on is a big one, I think he has the right attitude to go and do well, shoot me.

06-04-2013, 03:43 PM
They're just not very good. An entire team replaced and we're not that much better. A complete one man team.

Claros cant do it on his own though

06-04-2013, 03:43 PM
the most important part of the season is the business end of it, if you dont believe me...ask Mr petrie

Again, very true. I'm just saying he actually made an initial positive impact, I think he can do that and then some again.

06-04-2013, 03:44 PM

Alex Miller often used to have us in the top two or three early in the season.

06-04-2013, 03:44 PM
I appreciate that, but if he can make improvements to a poor side once, he can do it again. He deserves more time is all I'm saying.

True but if the improvement cannot be sustained then you end up with the same result. Yet again bottom six with a real chance of being in the bottom 3. That is unacceptable along with the style of play that us on show.

Emerald
06-04-2013, 03:45 PM
No it's not.

[QUOTE=Emerald;3556503]

The job he brought on is a big one, I think he has the right attitude to go and do well, shoot me.

Your opinion and I admire the optomism. Ill be supporting him next week but he is not the answer for me.

hibbymick
06-04-2013, 03:46 PM
Claros cant do it on his own though

06-04-2013, 03:46 PM
I don't really think that we go out to win any game. Our game plan is, first and foremost, not to lose the game (but even that hasn't worked very often in the last four months). Anything more than that is a bonus.

I thought it was evident that they weren't going to try and win the game when Thomson was talking about Fenlon 'setting the team out to play the way that he thinks will get a result'.

I tend to agree with that, and personally i don't think that's acceptable at Hibs.

06-04-2013, 03:47 PM
Falkirk warming with 4-0 win

alexhibs
Clueless

[QUOTE=ErinGavBragh;3556512]No it's not.

Your opinion and I admire the optomism. Ill be supporting him next week but he is not the answer for me.

That's fair enough, entitled to your opinion, I just feel he deserves more time.

East Stander
06-04-2013, 03:48 PM
What a monumental collapse this season has been...same old.

Started it so well...anything short of 4th would be deemed a massive disappointment but now look at us?!

Really disappointed...but sacking Fenlon is not the answer. We cannot have another transition season, it would finish us, we need to settle with what we have and try and build. Manager merry-go-round is what, IMO, has wrecked our club.

Sacking could well be the answer, depends on the replacement. He has signed a whole new team yet we still show nothing, it's either the players are still keek or the managers keek, no other option.

I'm seriously worried about next week, Falkirk must be licking their lips at the prospect of playing us.

06-04-2013, 03:48 PM
arabs score and look like pipping killie pies, killie only have themselves to blame

06-04-2013, 03:49 PM
On the bright side if we had won, and united scored with 30 secs left it would of hurt more.

alexhibs
06-04-2013, 03:49 PM
If we lose next week then what?

06-04-2013, 03:51 PM

We're out the Cup :wink:

linlithgowhibbie
06-04-2013, 03:52 PM

I'll greet:agree:

Lets just get behind the boys next week, surely we all know it'll be disastrous to lose to falkirk, lets do our bit to make sure it doesn't happen.

Left at 70 mins. Abysmal. Not even much banter. If we lose next week then **** it I'm gonna support hertz zombie team.

were out the cup...

If we win we still have the chance to see Hibs team do what none of us have ever seen

Emerald

In my oponion Fenlon has to go as he woul.d have failed big time

GlenrothesHibee
06-04-2013, 03:55 PM
We lost 3-0 at Celtic park. Hardly suprising. Very unlucky with various decisions going against us and costing us points. Bottom 6, exactly what i was expecting at start of seasm. Lets concentrate on the semi now.

06-04-2013, 03:56 PM
We lost 3-0 at Celtic park. Hardly suprising. Very unlucky with various decisions going against us and costing us points. Bottom 6, exactly what i was expecting at start of seasm. Lets concentrate on the semi now.

Please lets not make that excuse. We've been rank for months, there are no excuses.

hibbymick
06-04-2013, 03:57 PM
At what point do we decide its not a "rebuilding process" for Fenlon ?

alexhibs
06-04-2013, 03:57 PM
were out the cup...

If we win we still have the chance to see Hibs team do what none of us have ever seen

Admire your optimism

Hibstrooper
06-04-2013, 03:59 PM
In my oponion Fenlon has to go as he woul.d have failed big time

That's starting to feel like my gut reaction too however getting shot of managers has got us nowhere over the past 4/5 years so I'd be inclined to stick with him and give him another season, at least until Christmas.

Greenblood70
06-04-2013, 04:00 PM
Alex Miller often used to have us in the top two or three early in the season.

We played much better football under Miller that's for sure...sick to death of Fenlon and his negative tactics.

Emerald
06-04-2013, 04:01 PM
That's starting to feel like my gut reaction too however getting shot of managers has got us nowhere over the past 4/5 years so I'd be inclined to stick with him and give him another season, at least until Christmas.

I dont want to keep sacking them either but I cant watch much more football the way Pat plays.

cad
06-04-2013, 04:04 PM

Mr Petrie will get awfi interested if the semi final money doesnt come his way

Hibstrooper
06-04-2013, 04:06 PM
I dont want to keep sacking them either but I cant watch much more football the way Pat plays.

I'm sure I read a while back that someone was speaking to Pat at one of these supporter forums, he said he wants to play more attacking fooball but doesn't have the players to do it.

Unfortunately it has been our attacking players that have probably seen the biggest dip in form from start of the season; Cairney, Wotherspoon, Doyle.

Doyle's away, no idea if Spoony is staying so it'll be interesting to see what type of player we bring in during the summer - hopefully a lot more attacking players. Craig is good for 5-10 goals a season from midfield for example.

LeighLoyal
06-04-2013, 04:06 PM
We played much better football under Miller that's for sure...sick to death of Fenlon and his negative tactics.

He was at Hibs ten years and produced one good team in the mid 90's. I'm sure if Fenlon is here another eight/nine years he'll manage one good team.

cad
06-04-2013, 04:09 PM
He was at Hibs ten years and produced one good team in the mid 90's. I'm sure if Fenlon is here another eight/nine years he'll manage one good team.

Say your no sure

alexhibs
06-04-2013, 04:10 PM

Are you for real, unlucky, get a grip we are pish

06-04-2013, 04:14 PM
arabs score and look like pipping killie pies, killie only have themselves to blame

And it was worth £500,000 :rolleyes:

06-04-2013, 04:16 PM

He really is, nae home league wins since Mid November, need I say more?

06-04-2013, 04:18 PM
Just found out the score what a ****ing disgrace!

06-04-2013, 04:19 PM
Frankfurt v Bayern - Bayern win they win the league I think?
But, Hibs are obviously better than both they teams anyway :greengrin

The Bayern game was amazing

06-04-2013, 04:21 PM
Tactically lacking.

The SC final last year proved that. We had been pumped of Hearts twice already under Fenlon that season and he went with the same.formation again!

Totally out his depth and tactically clueless. Our form over the last few months is relegation stuff, without Dundee next year that becomes a possibility again. We are garbage.

06-04-2013, 04:21 PM
He really is, nae home league wins since Mid November, need I say more?

Ah well that's your opinion, I think there's enough about him to improve us. Not been good enough for a good few weeks now though, which isn't acceptable by any standards.

06-04-2013, 04:31 PM
interesting to see some posters on here(without naming names) criticising PF/our performances/set-up/results etc etc, when a few months ago other posters were doing the same thing and getting abuse/hard time of said posters :confused: s'funny old game aint it :(

06-04-2013, 04:35 PM
Was Fenlon on the radio after the game? If so, did he say anything interesting?

06-04-2013, 04:41 PM
Was Fenlon on the radio after the game? If so, did he say anything interesting?

'A tot we were unlucky'

Says it every week.

06-04-2013, 05:42 PM
'A tot we were unlucky'

Says it every week.

Was that on Radio Scotland? My brotherinlaw text me saying Fenlon was raging?...

Sanger
06-04-2013, 05:45 PM
Raging saying we did not turn up and asked players to go for it but did not respond

06-04-2013, 05:52 PM
We were abysmal Today......

Could not believe PF selected us to play 4-5-1, and we managed to have not 1 shot at goal......Brings on 3 midfielders in like for like subs, totally inept.....

Really have my doubts now about him, his selection and subs Today were baffling, and not one player was up for the Match, from the off....

Hibeesforever
06-04-2013, 06:00 PM
Just back, we got off lightly. Why Deegan started is beyond me, clearly not up to it. David Wotherspoon did not once try and beat his left back, that's a waste of time and talent to me. Leigh just does not pass and because of this is just an average striker. Mistakes again at the back. Fenlon being blamed but really, at no point in the match, did the players look like they were going to take the game to Celtic. Unfortunately, now lots of pressure on this team for the semi-final. If they are timid and again keep passing sideways and backwards, then I fear the worst. Only bright bright spark is when Alex Harris gets the ball. His trouble is now that the 1-2 that he looks for with the centre-forward, just doesn't happen. Basically our Chairman must now realise that the Loanees policy just ain't working. Fenlon being compared to Miller is not encouraging but when Miller did get money to spend on two centre-forwards we became a very decent side....albeit for only about 12 weeks to Nov mid 90s.

semaj64
06-04-2013, 06:17 PM
Just back from parkhead. looking in from the corporate side I can see why Pies and Pints meant I missed the celtic 2nd goal, the game was just a non event, Hibs needed to win ok I got 200-1 on top six maybe if the players knew what it meant to a punter they would have turned up. Even Bertie Auld put hibs to win and he had more life than the hibs team. Why is SPL loosing so much, the game was crap and atmosphere was even worse, Could not hear the hibs support most likely due to the big metal barrier and why the stewards did not let the banner over to the hibs boys who knows. Fair play to green birgade they kept on sining event when the celtic loyal support left when they knew they were not winning the title.

Disappointed in hibs set up should have been there to win other teams have done why can't we.

06-04-2013, 06:27 PM
Raging saying we did not turn up and asked players to go for it but did not respond

Cue the 'lost the dressing room' posts

Next week, final league placing and outcome in final if we make it, will determine his future IMO

06-04-2013, 06:32 PM
Honestly it was worse than you can imagine!
Might give Harris a few good points, but can't offer anything to anyone else. Worst performance in years in my opinion, and I generally dont knock us, but it could easily have been 5 or 6 nil. Can't remember us in recent times being so outplayed and offered no resistance!
I'd love to know where we go from here.

06-04-2013, 06:33 PM
ONE SHOT and ONE CORNER in 90 minutes.
Okay, we were playing Celtic but this is absolutely terrible.
Need to buck up or ideas for next week or Falkirk could cause an upset.
Deegan definitely SHOULD NOT be playing in the Semi after his show today.

I'd go with:

Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
McGivern

Robertson
Claros
Thomson

Cairney
Harris

Griffiths

A 4-3-2-1 formation with the usual three in the centre and Harris and Cairney a bit more advanced alongside Leigh.

06-04-2013, 06:38 PM

It's sweet f.a to do with motivation at this level.

He can't keep saying they did not turn up, plan how to beat a team, instruct your players to stick to the plan and then it's up to them.

06-04-2013, 06:48 PM

Could not believe PF selected us to play 4-5-1, and we managed to have not 1 shot at goal......Brings on 3 midfielders in like for like subs, totally inept.....

Really have my doubts now about him, his selection and subs Today were baffling, and not one player was up for the Match, from the off....

I wish I could say I was surprised, but I can't.

Braids Hibby
06-04-2013, 06:55 PM
This is a team who beat Barcelona we played today some perspective please....

06-04-2013, 06:57 PM

No no. Hibs were absolutely terrible today, nothing to do with the opposition

06-04-2013, 06:57 PM

Its not just about today.

Braids Hibby
06-04-2013, 07:02 PM
Its not just about today.

Next week a win takes us back to another final come on...

http://www.authenticpua.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Facepalm.jpg

Did all of the other teams we have failed to beat in our last 20 games, that's a fair few by the way, also beat Barcelona or is there another nonsensical excuse for that?

06-04-2013, 07:05 PM
Roll over ?

06-04-2013, 07:11 PM
Honestly it was worse than you can imagine!
Might give Harris a few good points, but can't offer anything to anyone else. Worst performance in years in my opinion, and I generally dont knock us, but it could easily have been 5 or 6 nil. Can't remember us in recent times being so outplayed and offered no resistance!
I'd love to know where we go from here.

Slight over reaction! I've spent many journey home from Glasgow after/on the verge of a good humping...

In fact not slight - major over reaction...

We nearly got relegated last season man and have been poor for a few years now.. Based on money spent and talent on pitch I'd say 3-0 was a fair result and with them going for title, to be expected...

Don't go next week if it's worrying you that much...?

06-04-2013, 07:14 PM
Slight over reaction! I've spent many journey home from Glasgow after/on the verge of a good humping...

We nearly got relegated last season man and have been poor for a few years now.. Based on money spent and talent on pitch I'd say 3-0 was a fair result and with them going for title, to be expected...

I'm speechless

06-04-2013, 07:15 PM

This :agree:

Miller was in charge before managers were sacked 4 times a season... Otherwise would've bit the dust after about 8 months..

If people get stressed about Fenlon bringing on subs too late then they know nothing... Miller would bring on a sub with 2 mins to go when we were 3 - 0 down... ??

He signed some cracking players though :not worth but was as negative as they come...

06-04-2013, 07:16 PM
I'm speechless

Why? I think I explained myself quite clearly?

Edit: I'd say getting beat 4-1 away to Motherwell a few weeks back was our "worst performance in years".

Or 0-0 away to Hearts this season, or home defeats to Ross County/Inverness...

That explains why I think your statement was an over reaction...

06-04-2013, 07:16 PM

Billywhizz was at Parkhead Today, and witnessed as did all travelling supporter's an absolutely appalling display......Telling him not to go next week is petty and stupid.....

06-04-2013, 07:18 PM
Tell you what they better get up for next weekend cos Falkirk will be at it from the off.

Sure Pat will have a few words ( or ten) with the players bout not turning up and take the necessary steps.

Time to concentrate on the build up and getting into the right frame of mind.

If we cannot get up for the semi final of the SC then we don't/ won't deserve anything from it.

Falkirk will be up for it from the off and all the pressure is on us ( and rightly so).

Finger oot hibs.

06-04-2013, 07:20 PM
Why? I think I explained myself quite clearly?

Am I right in thinking that you thought 3-0 was about the right result?

06-04-2013, 07:22 PM
Billywhizz was at Parkhead Today, and witnessed as did all travelling supporter's an absolutely appalling display......Telling him not to go next week is petty and stupid.....

Cheers Baldy, it was terrible

06-04-2013, 07:25 PM

Really have my doubts now about him, his selection and subs Today were baffling, and not one player was up for the Match, from the off....What does that tell ye ..?...gttf !!