View Full Version : Always believe in Jones

cam75
04-04-2013, 11:45 AM
Saw this in EEN
http://m.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/hibs/ex-hibs-hero-rob-jones-on-the-brink-of-promotion-1-2877167
Big love for the big man

04-04-2013, 11:48 AM
Some would say he was a bomb scare, I'm not one of them though. Loved big Rob Jones when he was at Hibs. :aok:

04-04-2013, 11:57 AM
[QUOTE=easty;3554755 Loved big Rob Jones when he was at Hibs. :aok:[/QUOTE]

Me tae, could do wi him now.

04-04-2013, 12:02 PM
Great to hear that he is doing well. A real Hibs legend - forever in my memory as he rose above the Kille defence in the snowstorm to head in that first goal.

04-04-2013, 02:48 PM
Wish him well. Good, backs-to-the-wall centre half and leader. Dangerous at set pieces.

cam75
04-04-2013, 02:55 PM
Won me a tidy few £s at the bookies the first season :-)

hibs4thecup1988
04-04-2013, 03:29 PM
Him and mcpake centre halfs with a sweeper behind...wow....

04-04-2013, 03:31 PM
Him and mcpake centre halfs with a sweeper behind...wow....

I'd prefer him and Hanlon.

Braids Hibby
04-04-2013, 04:03 PM
Could do with him just now IMHO

Up The Bracket
05-04-2013, 01:29 PM
I can't believe the way folk complained about him, he was a superb defender. A back four of Whittaker-Jones-Hogg-Murphy and that wasn't good enough for some. We had such a good team 6/7/8 years ago and that team would piss the league now.

05-04-2013, 04:53 PM
I can't believe the way folk complained about him, he was a superb defender. A back four of Whittaker-Jones-Hogg-Murphy and that wasn't good enough for some. We had such a good team 6/7/8 years ago and that team would piss the league now.

take it you didn't see him tearing after the ball on various occasions and leaving a big hole in the middle of the back 4 ??

Robinho08
05-04-2013, 05:01 PM
Great to hear that he is doing well. A real Hibs legend - forever in my memory as he rose above the Kille defence in the snowstorm to head in that first goal.

05-04-2013, 05:43 PM
Hibs cup winning captain = legend.

05-04-2013, 06:33 PM
take it you didn't see him tearing after the ball on various occasions and leaving a big hole in the middle of the back 4 ??

That's a bit harsh on Chris Hogg

hibsdaft70
06-04-2013, 05:43 AM
That's a bit harsh on Chris Hogg
Always remember a previous manager saying, when talking about staff numbers, " better to have a hole than an ar$hole"

killie-hibby
06-04-2013, 06:37 AM
Some would say he was a bomb scare, I'm not one of them though. Loved big Rob Jones when he was at Hibs. :aok:

He was our best CH since John Mcnamee.

Titch
06-04-2013, 07:27 AM
He was our best CH since John Mcnamee.

Sauzee

06-04-2013, 07:29 AM
I liked him but the stats show that, on average, we conceded less goals when he wasn't playing.

killie-hibby
06-04-2013, 07:42 AM
Sauzee

Sauzee was converted from a midfield role to sweeper by Mowbray.

06-04-2013, 07:45 AM

Mowbrays influence was even greater than once thought :cb

Just_Jimmy
06-04-2013, 08:57 AM

Then he captained the great hibs side which contained pele and which won the world cup, champions league and best dog in show at crufts.

06-04-2013, 10:18 AM
Great player for Hibs. I even miss the song.

06-04-2013, 10:38 AM

Was it not Jim Duffy?

06-04-2013, 10:39 AM
Was it not Jim Duffy?

No it was Alex McLeish. Yur kiddin are youse no. Where have you been

06-04-2013, 10:44 AM
If Fenlon wins the cup this year will it still be won by Mowbray's team?

06-04-2013, 10:45 AM
If Fenlon wins the cup this year will it still be won by Mowbray's team?

Ha ha like this

killie-hibby
06-04-2013, 03:06 PM

At my age i am entitled to a senior moment once in awhile.

hibeequinn
06-04-2013, 03:23 PM
just scored

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

07-04-2013, 01:19 AM

I knew! As I suspect every Hibby knew.

BarneyBreslin
07-04-2013, 02:40 AM
Nice wee bit on the football league show about captain Rob. Mon the rovers.

07-04-2013, 02:46 AM

We've gone through so many managers so quickly since then, that you can forgive some people if their memory is a little fuzzy. :wink:

H18Y GW
07-04-2013, 05:39 AM
He is also joint caretaker manager , lets get rid of Fenlon and Mcpake 😁