View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 1 v 2 ICT (FT)

30-03-2013, 11:21 AM
The weather forecast for today is as follows;

A bright and cold day with some sunshine to warm the East stand during the game. 3C degrees wont be too bad in light 4mph Easterly or Nor'Easterly. Id still take a hat, but you can leave the thermal pants at home. Sunset 6:47, high pressure with the barometer currently at 1016mb.

Ive had a lot of emails and tweets on the subject of global warming, and how that corresponds with the current cold snap. Well, scientists predict that global warming will be characterised by increased VOLATILITY in weather, not just warming, as salt levels increase and the gulf stream's warming influence becomes less dominant. This means, parodoxically, that global warming could result in lower temps for Scotland in the short term, as extremes come into play. To illustrate, last March it was 21C in Edinburgh and a record breaking 29.3C one day in Aberdeen. This year on the same day it was 1C. Also, this has been the coldest March since 1962. Theres never been so much of the white stuff dumped on Edinburgh since Gary Locke moved into the Golden Shower Boarding House on Salamander Street.

Keep warm out there :aok:

CalgaryHibs
30-03-2013, 11:22 AM
Well the mighty green n white get back at today at ER

Any team news yet?

What's the weather like today in Leith??

30-03-2013, 11:28 AM
Theres never been so much of the white stuff dumped on Edinburgh since Gary Locke moved into the Golden Shower Boarding House on Salamander Street.
:

Hahaha superb! Actually laughed out loud at that.

30-03-2013, 11:54 AM
Scorchio in Naija. 50k vButtons on the Cabbage

GGTTH. :flag::pfgwa

HibeeB
30-03-2013, 12:12 PM
What's the weather like today in Leith??

Sunny :thumbsup:

30-03-2013, 01:11 PM
Can't make it today, hammered with the flu. I'm going 1-1. Hopefully I'm wrong and we pick up the 3 points we badly need to make top 6.

Good luck boys GGTTH!

GreenArmy1875
30-03-2013, 01:17 PM
Might be a bit useless info but mcdonald road is closed half way along, just for any hibs fans cutting through from canonmills area

sparkiedelpaco7
30-03-2013, 01:36 PM

This is what I would like to see us play today

6 players pushing forward. 4 staying back.

Much more attacking minded

DAVE1875
30-03-2013, 01:42 PM
Also...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UsAtbPuK4s

:lolyam:

30-03-2013, 01:48 PM
Also...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UsAtbPuK4s

:lolyam:

:greengrin -Should we not really be hoping that Aberdeen, United and Killie pick up as few points as possible though?

30-03-2013, 01:51 PM
Hate to say it but would not really mind if Hearts managed a win at Pittodrie with the situation with the top 6. Hopefully County pick up all three points vs Killie too.

30-03-2013, 01:53 PM
Last Hibs Game for me today before the semi-final.

Hopefully we pick up 3 points. :)

wilbertorama
30-03-2013, 02:04 PM
5 changes today,Doyle, Deegan, Harris, Thomson and ? in....

30-03-2013, 02:08 PM
@HibernianFCClub: Subs: Murdoch, Claros, Cairney, Wotherspoon, Handling, Robertson, Forster #wearehibernianfc #fromthecapital

30-03-2013, 02:13 PM
Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub5m (http://www.hibs.net/HibernianFCClub/status/318001656031768576)Hibernian (4-3-3): Williams, Clancy, McPake, McGivern, Stevenson, Deegan, Thomson, Taiwo, Harris, Griffiths, Doyle #hibees (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

30-03-2013, 02:15 PM
That's a brave lineup

30-03-2013, 02:17 PM
So proud of Harris getting a start, take this opportunity pal and good luck!

30-03-2013, 02:18 PM
That's a brave lineup

Funny how a couple of players change in the same formation and its suddenly brave!

Piqué
30-03-2013, 02:20 PM
Claros benched.. must be tired from internationals? as there is no way we can afford to leave a fit JC out

30-03-2013, 02:20 PM
That's a brave lineup

I think that's a winning lineup

Piqué
30-03-2013, 02:21 PM
Subs: Murdoch, Claros, Cairney, Wotherspoon, Handling, Robertson, Forster #wearehibernianfc (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23wearehibernianfc&src=hash) #fromthecapital (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23fromthecapital&src=hash)

30-03-2013, 02:23 PM
I think that's a more attacking line up than previous games! Hope Harris has a good game.

HibeeN
30-03-2013, 02:23 PM
It's a gamble but an exciting one...really hope to see Doyle and Harris (who more than deserves his start) push forward to support Griffiths. The centre 3 will have to work hard but with Deegan's bite and Thomsons's ability on the ball the blend might just work.

aussie_hibee
30-03-2013, 02:26 PM
I like the look of that line up. Maybe Claros for deegan but felt very confident after reading it. All of my 15,000 vbuttons on a Hibs win. Harris and griffiths to score in a 2-0 win.

CapitalHibs
30-03-2013, 02:31 PM
Nae Done:aok: Pat must realise now how crap he is.

30-03-2013, 02:32 PM
That's what you have a squad for. You can only hope the players that come in will have a hunger and with 3 very very important games coming up will want to keep the jersey.

30-03-2013, 02:35 PM
Wish I could be there but currently recuperating after my hip replacement 3 weeks ago, will have to listen to that god awful open all mics, good to see he's going with a 4-3-3 attacking team, also delighted Thompson is starting.

GGTTH :flag:

30-03-2013, 02:50 PM
Glad to see Thomson starting today! Also delighted that Harris' contribution in his substitute appearances have been recognised by Pat, a real boost for the other youngsters in and around the first team squad. Good to see Doyle also in my opinion, he has a lot more to give, especially with the transfer rumours going around.

1875Hibees
30-03-2013, 02:52 PM
Whats the crowd like at the moment?

Think Inverness will fancy their chances against Fenlon's chosen team - would have preferred Cairney and Claros in the line up - don't think we should be expecting too much from the young lad Harris, as promising as he is - we need 3 points today though, so hope the team is really up for it...

Liams
Any radio links? Missing today cause my dads mates taking his sons to their first game, hopefully get three new ST holders next year

sheep v hertz the live radio game, and also the BBC Alba game @ 5:30

OsloHibs
30-03-2013, 02:53 PM
Come on Hibs :pfgwa
3 points needed.

1875Hibees
30-03-2013, 02:53 PM
Any radio links? Missing today cause my dads mates taking his sons to their first game, hopefully get three new ST holders next year
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/bbc_radio_scotland?lang=en

30-03-2013, 02:54 PM
That's a brave lineup

Looks good to me.

Do people reckon it's a 4-5-1 or 4-4-2?

30-03-2013, 02:55 PM
Hopefully Thomson & Harris have good games today we obviously need to win, pitch still looks bare, understandable in the present weather conditions.

C'mon the Hibees. :pfgwa:flag:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BGnNGfdCYAAamG9.jpg

30-03-2013, 02:59 PM
Looks good to me.

Hibs TV reckons it's 4-3-3

30-03-2013, 02:59 PM
Looks good to me.

The tweet said 4-3-3, but you'd imagine it will be a 4-5-1 when not in possession.

30-03-2013, 03:01 PM
Thomson nearly scores. :aok:

Wish I could be there but currently recuperating after my hip replacement 3 weeks ago, will have to listen to that god awful open all mics, good to see he's going with a 4-3-3 attacking team, also delighted Thompson is starting.

Glad yur in the mend JC... Mind as before hopefully you've got someone to help you up if you fall down?? ;-)

The tweet said 4-3-3, but you'd imagine it will be a 4-5-1 when not in possession.

Aye, same way we've played for months!

DAVE1875
Hopefully we don't resort to hoofing it up the field in a blind hope that Sparky can run onto it

Eckie
30-03-2013, 03:02 PM
Like the look of 4-3-3, hope if works,good to see Harris get a run too!

30-03-2013, 03:03 PM
Killie scored already

30-03-2013, 03:05 PM
Hopefully we don't resort to hoofing it up the field in a blind hope that Sparky can run onto it

Don't give a **** as long as we win. :agree:

vanNISHtelroy
30-03-2013, 03:06 PM
Killie scored already

Had Boydie first goalscorer as he was starting...didn't think the Fow would go and ruin it for me!

30-03-2013, 03:07 PM
Ripping my hair out listening to these ****s.

30-03-2013, 03:09 PM
That was embarrasing. We were driving around Aberdeen earlier and just as we went to pass some Hearts fans the windows opened and out of nowhere Sunshine on Leith come on our stereo very loudly. Also sneezed, kind of sounded like "three two".

Apologies to any Hearts fans who misconstrued that, total accident.

30-03-2013, 03:09 PM
Aberdeen too. Must win !

30-03-2013, 03:10 PM
1-0 for Aberdeen.

Hearts will do their best to throw this game...

30-03-2013, 03:10 PM
****ing Yams.

30-03-2013, 03:11 PM
Glad yur in the mend JC... Mind as before hopefully you've got someone to help you up if you fall down?? ;-)

Thanks, a wee bit too auld for help, down to one stick, back to work in about 3 weeks.

30-03-2013, 03:11 PM
Hearts playing in their own 6 yard box apparently. :rolleyes:

30-03-2013, 03:14 PM
I don't know why anyone thought an awful Hearts side were going to try their arse today.

Mon hibs.

30-03-2013, 03:15 PM

Anyone else watching on Hibs TV??

Is yours cutting out every 5 seconds????

Dan Sarf
30-03-2013, 03:17 PM
Ripping my hair out listening to these ****s.

I suspect they are actually playing a recording of last week's "show".

Financial cuts, you know.

30-03-2013, 03:17 PM

Locke out, McGlynn in

30-03-2013, 03:21 PM
A classic earlier on from chick at Easter Road. ' i don't know wht McPake can't get a game for Scotland' until somebody let him know that he's been playing for NI over a season. Nob

McHibby
30-03-2013, 03:22 PM

I ken the feeling. I have been struggling with a spinal injury since January. I bought my tickets for the semi-final this morning, though. The drive up from Cambridge is going to be absolutely brutal - but I just couldn't bring myself to miss it :scarf:

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 03:22 PM

Just cut out completely :confused:

30-03-2013, 03:23 PM
gie the baw tae reilly

mikewynne
30-03-2013, 03:23 PM

Mine completely died, just get a black screen.

30-03-2013, 03:25 PM
1-0 Dumbarton

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 03:25 PM
Mine completely died, just get a black screen.

Just back now

30-03-2013, 03:26 PM
Any updates for this game? How we playing?

30-03-2013, 03:26 PM
I did message them on chat - before it cut out completely i have been getting mega buffering:

hey, having extreme buffering issues (like every 5-10 seconds)...anything that can be done, or is it just my connection? Thanks

Hibernian TV Xtra
Seems to be ok here

can I actually do anything that may help it?

Im connected at 13000 Kbps....this is the poorest stream ive seen in ages (and one of the 1st ive pad for!)

30-03-2013, 03:28 PM
I did message them on chat - before it cut out completely i have been getting mega buffering:

hey, having extreme buffering issues (like every 5-10 seconds)...anything that can be done, or is it just my connection? Thanks

Hibernian TV Xtra
Seems to be ok here

Im connected at 13000 Kbps....this is the poorest stream ive seen in ages (and one of the 1st ive pad for!)

they just said on the radio that the TV problems should be fixed now

30-03-2013, 03:28 PM
Any updates for this game? How we playing?

According to Chickster its a good game and we're having the best of it.

CapitalHibs
30-03-2013, 03:30 PM

Hibernian TV Xtra
Seems to be ok here

Even though he bugged the hell out of me sometimes, things used to run alot smoother when Stuart Crowther was in charge.

30-03-2013, 03:34 PM
According to Chickster its a good game and we're having the best of it.

Cheers mate, hope we can get a goal.

30-03-2013, 03:34 PM
Even though he bugged the hell out of me sometimes, things used to run alot smoother when Stuart Crowther was in charge.

:thumbsup: agree

I was hesitant to part with 10 quid today - and so far I have seen probably a combined total of about 2 minutes of football

yet, click any link on first row sports and it will be almost faultness

frustrating as hell

30-03-2013, 03:35 PM
It's amazing the difference a quality midfielder makes (Thomson). He just gets himself in the right positions, all the players looking to get the ball to him.

Harris looks pretty handy as well.

CapitalHibs
30-03-2013, 03:37 PM

I was hesitant to part with 10 quid today - and so far I have seen probably a combined total of about 2 minutes of football

frustrating as hell

First Row is superb!

30-03-2013, 03:39 PM
'you hearts b******'

p.s. well 1-0 up at dundee

30-03-2013, 03:40 PM

frustrating as hell

The best things in life come free. :wink:

30-03-2013, 03:40 PM
Cheers mate, hope we can get a goal.

He's now saying theres 'nothing between the sides'. Praise for Harris. Williams just made a good save.

30-03-2013, 03:42 PM
taiwo not having a great game with his poor passing

30-03-2013, 03:44 PM
The best things in life come free. :wink:

They might do, but theres nothing Hibs related thats free today

Note - I just watched Tevez out city 1-0 up....no buffering or faults there

So, im really the only person having issues with Hibs TV today?

30-03-2013, 03:44 PM
He's now saying theres 'nothing between the sides'. Praise for Harris. Williams just made a good save.

Glad Harris is having a good game. I think he could play a big part for us next season.

30-03-2013, 03:45 PM
Chick is unbelievable. Praised Williams for a save, then 5 mins later said neither keeper has made a save of note :dunno:

Praising Thomson and Harris, but Chicks opinion=massive pinch of salt.

30-03-2013, 03:46 PM
Ht 0-0

JoeTortolanoFanClub
30-03-2013, 03:46 PM

frustrating as hell

Eh ? The stream here has been perfect.

30-03-2013, 03:47 PM

Not sure about that, but I've had 10 seconds buffering - 15 seconds black picture - otherwise the stream has been perfect for me here in Berlin...unlike the performance of the team on the park which leaves a lot to be desired...

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 03:47 PM

HT 0-0

Just the once I lost the signal for a few mins, but otherwise ok.

As far as the game's concerned, got the feeling ICT were finding their men/space better than us first half.:cb

30-03-2013, 03:50 PM
taiwo not having a great game with his poor passing

Neither is Deegan. Hopeless.

We have a nice shape on the left with Harris. It's our right side that struggles.

I'd be swapping Deegan for Robertson sharpish.

30-03-2013, 03:50 PM
hibs commentator just gave out the HT results

dundee 0 INVERNESS1

ross co 0 INVERNESS 1

and the other guy didnt even pick it up either
:rolleyes: lol

30-03-2013, 03:51 PM

Are you downloading anything in the background?

It's always best to freeze all downloads when watching streams.

30-03-2013, 03:52 PM

We have a nice shape on the left with Harris. It's our right side that struggles.

i've not actually saw the starting line-ups, i honestly didnt even realise deegan was playing, not heard his name mentioned at all :confused:

30-03-2013, 03:54 PM

Thought so.

Must win today if we want a top 6 place.

30-03-2013, 03:57 PM
Are you downloading anything in the background?

It's always best to freeze all downloads when watching streams.

Nothing going on in background...i usually close all tabs too (but opened here to post)

Interesting that im having a really really poor quality stream whereas others have been nigh on perfect

ive just sat and listed to them talk at HT and watched the scoreboard update with nearly no buffering....hope that continues 2nd half!

30-03-2013, 03:57 PM
someones dropped the pies on the way up to the commentators, at last some excitement :)

30-03-2013, 04:00 PM
Nothing going on in background...i usually close all tabs too (but opened here to post)

Interesting that im having a really really poor quality stream whereas others have been nigh on perfect

ive just sat and listed to them talk at HT and watched the scoreboard update with nearly no buffering....hope that continues 2nd half!

Nothing worse when a perfect stream suddenly freezes, just as a player sticks his laces through the ball. :boo hoo:

I used to think that the person streaming had a freeze button that they pressed when the team they didn't like was about to score. It certainly seems that way sometimes. :greengrin

30-03-2013, 04:01 PM
i've not actually saw the starting line-ups, i honestly didnt even realise deegan was playing, not heard his name mentioned at all :confused:

He's not terrible, it's just when you see him playing alongside Thomson he looks average. Thomson's decision making is just a bit sharper and quicker so he creates more opportunities.

Heedersnvolleys
30-03-2013, 04:01 PM

Yip I agree or Claros.... Anybody really

30-03-2013, 04:02 PM
someones dropped the pies on the way up to the commentators, at last some excitement :)

Hopefully they just scooped it back up and handed it over to Chick.

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 04:03 PM
0-1 ffs :confused:

30-03-2013, 04:03 PM
Goal for Inverness - Hibs defence sleeping YET AGAIN....

30-03-2013, 04:06 PM
;not even good enough to be a schoolboy error

steviehibsleith
30-03-2013, 04:08 PM
Im not watching the game but posters are commentating on how poor Deegan and Taiwoo are playing , if two of your CM are playing crap then is it any surprise we have just conceded a goal. Defense will always bee bad if nothing helping out in front but have to see the goal later to check .

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 04:11 PM
Sparky free kick. ICT wall about 6 yards from the ball..

30-03-2013, 04:13 PM
Hopefully they just scooped it back up and handed it over to Chick.

it was for the Hibs tv commentators :(

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 04:14 PM
goal hibs - deflected off sparky!

Yeeesssss c'mon the Hibees 1-1 :pfgwa:hibees:flag:

Sparky once again.

Goal Hibs. Griffiths!!!

30-03-2013, 04:15 PM
YESSSS! SPARKY :not worth

Freak goal.

But we'll take it! :thumbsup:

Sparky scores from what looks like an offside position, but ....

sheep 2 up on hertz

goal hibs shot from deegan comes of sparky and in :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Time for our luck today !? Gotta push on !! apparently offside !? :flag:

30-03-2013, 04:16 PM
cairney coming on

30-03-2013, 04:17 PM
Cairney on for Taiwo...

HiBremian
Cairney on for Taiwo - makes sense.

Welcome back Cairney!

30-03-2013, 04:18 PM
Cairneys not been at the races for a while, hopefully better today.

30-03-2013, 04:20 PM
Ah well.... it was a good 3 minutes. :rolleyes:

1-2 Inverness - believe it or not our defence was sleeping again...

HiBremian
ICT gaol - Shinney had FAAAAR too much space!!!!

That might be that. 9th place here we come.

Well it was good while it lasted..

30-03-2013, 04:21 PM
FFS conceded again 2-1 ICT bottom 6 here we come :rolleyes:

30-03-2013, 04:23 PM
Imagine we had an extra four points before we started today.

Considering how much he'll be on we should be looking at getting rid of McPake in the summer. Couldn't organise a piss-up in a brewery.

Fenlon OUT, butcher(and caley players) IN

dundee 0 well 2 enjoy europe murrawell :(

30-03-2013, 04:24 PM
Deegan and McGivern both booked for tackles on Shinnie one after another, then Shinnie 'given too much space' :dunno: sounds like shinnie is giving us trouble.

30-03-2013, 04:24 PM
:boo hoo:I think that's us, bottom 6 again!

30-03-2013, 04:26 PM
Just like reading a flipping book you've read a 100 times, you know exactly what's coming next, ridiculous we simply cannot hold on to a lead these days, complete refurb at the back needed next season..

30-03-2013, 04:27 PM
Doyle offers ZERO

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 04:28 PM
Robertson on for Deegan

30-03-2013, 04:31 PM
So dissapointing when you think back to where we were half way through the season.

30-03-2013, 04:33 PM
Talking about "The Rangers" league win, as if its some kind of major achievement. :rolleyes:

The traditional Christmas collapse costs us big time again.

So dissapointing when you think back to where we were half way through the season.

Always have a shocking 2nd half of the season:confused:

will we ever win a league game again, have partick thistle been promoted yet ? :(

plhibs
:boo hoo:I think that's us, bottom 6 again!

Not only bottom 6 but with a derby at THEM to come they will fancy the chances of moving past us before the end of the season.:grr:

alexhibs
30-03-2013, 04:34 PM
Woeful by the sounds of it

AllyF
30-03-2013, 04:34 PM
Just like reading a flipping book you've read a 100 times, you know exactly what's coming next, ridiculous we simply cannot hold on to a lead these days, complete refurb at the back needed next season..

What lead?

30-03-2013, 04:36 PM
Have we been basically top 6 all season until almost exactly when you want to still be there?

30-03-2013, 04:36 PM
Not only bottom 6 but with a derby at THEM to come they will fancy the chances of moving past us before the end of the season.:grr:

It's written in the script.

30-03-2013, 04:37 PM
the spoonster coming on for stevenson

alexhibs
30-03-2013, 04:37 PM
8th as it stands, when you think about the teams above us with half the support we have, its a shocking position to be in, nothing to play for again, a joke btw

30-03-2013, 04:38 PM
the spoonster coming on

He scored a cracker in this game earlier in the season.

30-03-2013, 04:40 PM
He scored a cracker in this game earlier in the season.

unforunately he would have to score two more here :(

dundee 0 well 3 that's the way to do it

JHFC
30-03-2013, 04:40 PM
8th as it stands, when you think about the teams above us with half the support we have, its a shocking position to be in, nothing to play for again, a joke btw

Scottish cup and give youth a chance, onwards and upwards.

30-03-2013, 04:41 PM

Nothing except a cup final. The four points we were robbed off is the difference in the league.

30-03-2013, 04:42 PM
Nothing except a cup final. The four points we were robbed off is the difference in the league.

We won't be the only club in the league that feels robbed this season. So it's pointless to say thats the difference.

30-03-2013, 04:43 PM
Are Dundee relegated yet?

30-03-2013, 04:44 PM

TBF, that's nothing on the number of points we've lost since November just by being really poor.

30-03-2013, 04:44 PM
the thought of they pink grunts getting another pay-day from us is quite frankly :sick:

alexhibs
30-03-2013, 04:45 PM

Aye and they we have played and still are, do you really think we have a chance?

30-03-2013, 04:46 PM
Aye and they we have played and still are, do you really think we have a chance?

Yes

kT sponsors man of the match

robertson with a poor poor poor shocking ball :(

We won't be the only club in the league that feels robbed this season. So it's pointless to say thats the difference.

Totally disagree, never said anything pointless in my life. A man of few words. We would be equal on points with St J if we had got them. Personally unless we are more than 4 points below 6th then I will consider we finished top 6. Moral victory as far as I am concerned.

30-03-2013, 04:49 PM
robertson push on caley player in our box, lucky not to concede the penalty

30-03-2013, 04:50 PM
FT caley own us :(

League season over looks like, cup final to play for now let's hope.

Full time. Bottom six it is.

;not even good enough to be a schoolboy error

30-03-2013, 04:51 PM

Yes

30-03-2013, 04:52 PM
shocking defending yet again apparently....

cwilliamson85
30-03-2013, 04:53 PM
If the table stays the way it is now after the split then fans from positions 7,8,9 & 10 should be disappointed.

Totally disagree, never said anything pointless in my life. A man of few words. We would be equal on points with St J if we had got them. Personally unless we are more than 4 points below 6th then I will consider we finished top 6. Moral victory as far as I am concerned.

We won't be the only club in the league that has lost points due to poor decisions, so get the green tints off.

Some things actually went for us in the first half of the season. So to say that we've been "robbed" of 4 points is deluded.

:agree:The four lost points are hard to bear but that's football. Teams like ICT and Ross County have proved they're better thn us and deserve a top six finish. We're a bit better than last season but still a soft touch. A game against Falkirk and the Jambos are all that's left of the season. I'm not even thinking ahead to a Cup Final if we are good enough to get past Falkirk, but it has been a real disappointing season, considering the start we made.

30-03-2013, 04:54 PM
3 draws and 2 defeats in our last five games at ER, to think once upon a time other teams were scared of a visit to ER :boo hoo:(sigh)

30-03-2013, 04:54 PM
the thought of they pink grunts getting another pay-day from us is quite frankly :sick:

I seriously hope people are sensible enough not to go and give them money, but in reality they will...

HiBremian
30-03-2013, 04:55 PM
kT sponsors man of the match

robertson with a poor poor poor shocking ball :(

Watching KT again, I'm not surprised. Watched a recording last week of our ER 2-1 win against the Huns during his last time here, and the difference between that team's passing and this team is like night and day. Like I said at HT, ICT were finding their men, and finding space, so much better than Hibs. We just looked like a bunch of plodders today, who can't control the ball without taking 10 touches, can't find their own players with a pass, and can't find space to receive, so bottom 6 is probably all we deserve.

Paying the price of a sheer lack of foresight in the January window - terrible additions in my opinion, should have invested in Taylor and a couple of other players. We ended up with last day dross. Really really poor football since Christmas, zero creativity in the middle of the park, zero physicality up top to help Leigh.

The Hibernian Charitable Trust just keeps on giving and giving - roll up roll up, get your 3 points here, much cheapness !

alexhibs
[QUOTE=AberGreen;

Ok so why cant the players get fired up for such an important game today eh?

30-03-2013, 04:56 PM
We won't be the only club in the league that has lost points due to poor decisions, so get the green tints off.

Some things actually went for us in the first half of the season. So to say that we've been "robbed" of 4 points is deluded.

WoooooooooooooooooooooHooooooooooooooooooooooooo. I am deluded. **** me where does that put you in life?

30-03-2013, 04:57 PM
:agree:The four lost points are hard to bear but that's football. Teams like ICT and Ross County have proved they're better thn us and deserve a top six finish. We're a bit better than last season but still a soft touch. A game against Falkirk and the Jambos are all that's left of the season. I'm not even thinking ahead to a Cup Final if we are good enough to get past Falkirk, but it has been a real disappointing season, considering the start we made.

Considering the start, I agree. However, if we have progressed from last season, which in my opinion we have, then I am happy. Slow progress, but progress is indeed progress. But I am deluded. :wink:

30-03-2013, 05:00 PM
I seriously hope people are sensible enough not to go and give them money, but in reality they will...

Yup, supporting your team at the home of our fiercest rivals is indeed a monumentally daft thing to do right enough.

I don't want to play those grunts once more this season anymore than anyone else, but only because it means we have had another massively underwhelming league season, not because we might stave off the Grim Reaper (if he is indeed even likely for them) for a month or 2.

30-03-2013, 05:01 PM
[QUOTE=AberGreen;

We never have done and never will, the mentality at ER is a disgrace at times.

30-03-2013, 05:02 PM
Pathetic that is all

30-03-2013, 05:02 PM
shocking defending yet again apparently....

... pretty shocking performance all round if you ask me - Fenlon obviously has no idea how to motivate this team, how to set it up tactically or how to change it when things are not working to make it work. The Hibs players didn't seem to be aware of the importance of today's game, yet again -

An easy 3 points for ICT - pretty disgraceful performance from Hibs - clueless for the most part - even the "pressure" we exerted at the end was for the most part Sunday park kickabout level

A league with only one OF team in it and we still can't get into the top six -

FWIW -the young lad Harris impressed me today

As to any talk of progress - :faf: (IMO!)

30-03-2013, 05:03 PM

they would get accused of not supporting the team and being non-uber fans :greengrin

Watching KT again, I'm not surprised. Watched a recording last week of our ER 2-1 win against the Huns during his last time here, and the difference between that team's passing and this team is like night and day. Like I said at HT, ICT were finding their men, and finding space, so much better than Hibs. We just looked like a bunch of plodders today, who can't control the ball without taking 10 touches, can't find their own players with a pass, and can't find space to receive, so bottom 6 is probably all we deserve.

aaaah back in the good old days, when a hibs player could do magical things with a football...and pass it to another player in the same team :(

That was awful, it looked them half of them just couldn't be bothered, no one apart from Griffiths and McGivern looked up for shooting at goal and its shocking how slow our players are!

I wouldn't say we "have" made progress. I would say we "did" make progress, only for it to be undone.

The 2nd half of the season hasn't been any better than it has been over the last several years.

30-03-2013, 05:07 PM
The real worry is now the brand of football we play - slow, ponderous, dithery and lacking in pace. Teams easily get behind the ball. The teams that have beaten us all seem to have a zip about their play. Hibs midfield need too many touches and there are far too many unnecessary passes.

McPake needs to seriously look at his game too. He led by example last season and early this - he's now lulled himself into ball watching, Caldwell-esque arm in the air pointing, and isn't grabbing games by the scruff - in short, standards have dropped all over the pitch and they appear unfit. Huge worry for me to be honest.

No wonder Falkirk aren't overly concerned at the draw. I'd fancy my chances if I were them.

alexhibs
30-03-2013, 05:07 PM
[QUOTE=alexhibs;3550584]

We never have done and never will, the mentality at ER is a disgrace at times.

Exactly, some people need to take off their green tinted glasses and wake up to reality, whatever happened to motivation?

30-03-2013, 05:09 PM
I'm confident we can still make the top six. It's no problem, we just need to go to Parkhead and win. :wink:

30-03-2013, 05:09 PM
The way we've crumbled in 2013 is all very Yogi-esque. Not good enough, Fenlon.

30-03-2013, 05:14 PM
Beginning of the season we were going along nicely in 4th gear with the progress. 2nd half of the season we've slammed into reverse and are spiralling back to a CCesque level.

2nd half of the season has just not been good enough. How many wins have we managed in the last 15/20 games?

With our record post split we better hope Hearts and Saints stay ***** to avoid another 11th place finish.

AL-Qaholik
30-03-2013, 05:16 PM
Honestly can't see us winning another league game this season.

We are now playing a two game season IMO...
Defeat in the semi and I suspect that'll be time up for Fenlon. We are just as bad now as we were under Calderwood. Yes progress WAS made in the early season, but even then, many of our results were somewhat lucky. Fenlon has been found out tactically & for his complete lack of motivational skills. I reckon winning the cup is the only thing that can save him now.

30-03-2013, 05:18 PM
Beginning of the season we were going along nicely in 4th gear with the progress. 2nd half of the season we've slammed into reverse and are spiralling back to a CCesque level.

2nd half of the season has just not been good enough. How many wins have we managed in the last 15/20 games?

With our record post split we better hope Hearts and Saints stay ***** to avoid another 11th place finish.

Last 15 games: 4 wins
Last 15 league games: 2 wins

30-03-2013, 05:19 PM
The way we've crumbled in 2013 is all very Yogi-esque. Not good enough, Fenlon.

That would be true if he'd not managed to get us into the top 6 and a actually managed to get us 4th. Wouldn't it have been nice if Fenlons team could have scraped a win and got us into the top 6 today with a bit of luck? :rolleyes:

30-03-2013, 05:23 PM
That would be true if he'd not managed to get us into the top 6 and a actually managed to get us 4th. Wouldn't it have been nice if Fenlons team could have scraped a win and got us into the top 6 today with a bit of luck? :rolleyes:

I didn't say the seasons had been the same. I said the collapses were similar.

30-03-2013, 05:24 PM
[QUOTE=AberGreen;

I wasn't at the game so can't comment on today. We have been inconsistent at best recently however, you can;t argue that we have a chance of beating Falkirk, which was the question. WDespite everything, we will be hot favourites. If we do beat them, then we will have a chance in the final, regardless of who we play. We also have a chance of getting gubbed mind!

30-03-2013, 05:24 PM
Time to let it go Gary! :-)

30-03-2013, 05:25 PM
I think a telling statistic is:

Aug - Nov (4 months) = 8 league wins

Dec - Mar (4 months) = 2 league wins

What happened? :confused:

30-03-2013, 05:28 PM

I think it's because every team in the league probably knows how to play against us. You stop Leigh Griffiths, You stop Hibs.

30-03-2013, 05:28 PM

ARE YOU RELATED TO MR FENLON IN ANY WAY ? :greengrin

30-03-2013, 05:31 PM

Lack of ambition/motivation take your pick

Bobo
30-03-2013, 05:32 PM
Another disgustingly negative performance today for a must win home game, to call the performance poor would Be giving it credit. Our players are so slow, soft and talentless it's un-true!!! We never threaten or pressure the opposition, we've no threat going forward, it's embarrassing.

Well done Pat, hope your pleased with the bottom six finish your negativity has produced in the poorest league in Europe.

30-03-2013, 05:32 PM

Still got to win the semi first.

30-03-2013, 05:35 PM
Boring negative pish at home yet again.

I think a lot of folk on here have maybe been caught up in cup hysteria and forgotten how bad we actually are.

And to blame it on refs is beyond celtc paranoia.

30-03-2013, 05:36 PM
I didn't say the seasons had been the same. I said the collapses were similar.

Yes you did, and i apologise. I should have stated Hughes did manage to get us into the top 6 and Europe once in the 2 seasons he managed us. And Fenlon could have done with a bit of the luck Hughes had to do this.

30-03-2013, 05:36 PM
Lack of ambition/motivation take your pick

Lazy players lacking in basic will to win. We dont deserve to win any games at the moment and i would not be surprised to see us turned over by Falkirk. We have players turning their back on the ball, jumping up and down like a 4yo when they lose the ball, and a manager who seems determined to ignore players that dont give a shiyite. The other teams in the "top 6" arent actually better than us, they just try harder.

30-03-2013, 05:37 PM
Another disgustingly negative performance today for a must win home game, to call the performance poor would Be giving it credit. Our players are so slow, soft and talentless it's un-true!!! We never threaten or pressure the opposition, we've no threat going forward, it's embarrassing.

Well done Pat, hope your pleased with the bottom six finish your negativity has produced in the poorest league in Europe.

Aye I'm sure he's ****ing delighted right enough. He couldn't have put out a more attacking team today, the players simply aren't good enough.

30-03-2013, 05:38 PM
But, but, but....this is a hibs team with bottle...this is beginning to be just like last season, rank rotten in the league, but a chance of making the sc final....how the **** can we expect to shift season tickets with the thought of watching these shysters

30-03-2013, 05:39 PM
Aye I'm sure he's ****ing delighted right enough. He couldn't have put out a more attacking team today, the players simply aren't good enough.

Well who's bloody fault is that?

We just aren't good enough, simple. I'm not going to get too down about today's game because caley are a decent side.

alexhibs
[QUOTE=alexhibs;3550584]

I wasn't at the game so can't comment on today. We have been inconsistent at best recently however, you can;t argue that we have a chance of beating Falkirk, which was the question. WDespite everything, we will be hot favourites. If we do beat them, then we will have a chance in the final, regardless of who we play. We also have a chance of getting gubbed mind!

Gubbed? Every chance

30-03-2013, 05:40 PM

Clancy and Hanlon injuries haven't helped defensively, Hanlon has been by far the most consistent defender all year. Midfield have been so so poor it's quite irritating now - far too many 'same' players - Claros, Taiwo and Deegan all play side to side and are not pacy and offensive. Absolutely no natural width and again pace. Overly reliant on Leigh with no plan B up top due to no real physical, nasty streak.

Teams can defend without much problem against us - due to lack of pace. Stevenson at left back/right back has curtailed getting forward because Lewis is naturally quite defensive and 'safe'. Maybury likewise. Going forward is almost like a strategic, military manoeuvre with Hibs rather than it being instinctive and natural. There is also a lack of height in the middle of the park and again a real physicality.

We had the chance to get Lyle Taylor and Liam Craig in the January window - if necessary Sir Tom could have been approached to fund it. He's done so in the past. It would have been a very shrewd, wise investment. Instead we got a winger with no pace and a midfielder who I've yet to see take a game by the hands and drive forward. We should have been looking at electric pace in the wide areas - we got none.

Hibs have yet again just 'accepted the season' and the mediocrity that has gone with it - in a year without The Rangers, it was an ideal time to invest - we didn't. And I'm not calling for debt to rise - I'm saying Sir Tom could and should have funded it due to the sheer lack of success from Petrie and Co this last 5 years. They (the owner and board) owe the fans in my opinion - they've failed.

30-03-2013, 05:42 PM
Eyesintheirheid folk ken whit's gaun on --------------- and have done for a while.

Well who's bloody fault is that?

Mr Fenlon clearly. We are good at shutting teams out with the midfielders behind the ball but they are all too similar, he's made a massive mistake in that area this season IMO. Signing Robertson instead of another striker was a big mistake.

he bloody signed them didn't he? its his choice to leave us so light on strikers

30-03-2013, 05:46 PM
We just aren't good enough, simple. I'm not going to get too down about today's game because caley are a decent side.

That is the sad thing though. We should be down when Hibs don't win at home. Inverness aren't decent so much as we are mince.

The day the form of a fellow SPL also ran excuses another poor home performance is the day the game is up for me.

30-03-2013, 05:46 PM
he bloody signed them didn't he? its his choice to leave us so light on strikers

The signing of Kuqi now looks like a cruel, sick joke - I'd rather we have Valdas Trakys and that is saying something. Another wage that has been p***** against a very big East Mains wall.

Bobo
30-03-2013, 05:47 PM

12 year old bairns would have shown more endeavour than what I witnessed today. If that's Fenlon putting out a positive attacking line up then god help us when he's negative.

We've been p!ss poor this season, marginally better than last but still grossly underachieving in a joke of a league. There's no excuse for being this bad!!

30-03-2013, 05:52 PM
Yes you did, and i apologise. I should have stated Hughes did manage to get us into the top 6 and Europe once in the 2 seasons he managed us. And Fenlon could have done with a bit of the luck Hughes had to do this.

In Hughes' defence, he is a tactical genius compared to the tactical wasteland that is Pat Fenlon.

Clancy and Hanlon injuries haven't helped defensively, Hanlon has been by far the most consistent defender all year. Midfield have been so so poor it's quite irritating now - far too many 'same' players - Claros, Taiwo and Deegan all play side to side and are not pacy and offensive. Absolutely no natural width and again pace. Overly reliant on Leigh with no plan B up top due to no real physical, nasty streak.

Teams can defend without much problem against us - due to lack of pace. Stevenson at left back/right back has curtailed getting forward because Lewis is naturally quite defensive and 'safe'. Maybury likewise. Going forward is almost like a strategic, military manoeuvre with Hibs rather than it being instinctive and natural. There is also a lack of height in the middle of the park and again a real physicality.

We had the chance to get Lyle Taylor and Liam Craig in the January window - if necessary Sir Tom could have been approached to fund it. He's done so in the past. It would have been a very shrewd, wise investment. Instead we got a winger with no pace and a midfielder who I've yet to see take a game by the hands and drive forward. We should have been looking at electric pace in the wide areas - we got none.

Hibs have yet again just 'accepted the season' and the mediocrity that has gone with it - in a year without The Rangers, it was an ideal time to invest - we didn't. And I'm not calling for debt to rise - I'm saying Sir Tom could and should have funded it due to the sheer lack of success from Petrie and Co this last 5 years. They (the owner and board) owe the fans in my opinion - they've failed.

I find it hard to disagree with any of that, TH :agree: I am generally supportive of the team and the board, but a fellow season ticket said to me recently he couldnt understand why we are consistently unable to attract better players than teams who have attendances less than half of ours, and i couldnt come up with a decent answer...

It's more attacking than he has been of late but a midfield of Thomson, Deegan and Tawio can never be described as attacking.

However in the 1st half we did play some lovely football at times but when ICT scored the players seemed to fall apart, yet again. There's only so much Fenlon can do, once the players are on the pitch it's down to them.

30-03-2013, 05:56 PM
In Hughes' defence, he is a tactical genius compared to the tactical wasteland that is Pat Fenlon.

I wouldn't say that?

30-03-2013, 05:56 PM
12 year old bairns would have shown more endeavour than what I witnessed today. If that's Fenlon putting out a positive attacking line up then god help us when he's negative.

We've been p!ss poor this season, marginally better than last but still grossly underachieving in a joke of a league. There's no excuse for being this bad!!

When he's been overly negative this season we've ground out some results, although its been brutal to watch. Today he didnt do that. Thomson was the only midfielder of the three who put his foot on the ball and tried to pass it. Deegan is rubbish, no idea why he got a game. Taiwo was poor. This meant the supply out wide and to Griffiths was non existent, not one of them was willing to push forward with the ball, Thomson at times being the exception. Fenlon has signed too many of the same type of player in the middle of the park, poor use of his budget.

30-03-2013, 06:02 PM
Why does Fenlon never bring on strikers? Why bother with Wotherspoon with 10min to go? Robertson? Just really odd tactics and i dont see how we can ever win with players like that coming on. Get us these young boys on the park and give them some game time. Harris is a country mile better than anything else we have, so lets see what else we have in the youth team.

30-03-2013, 06:03 PM
Some folk on here need a reality check. For me anyway, there has been a vast improve on last term, however there is a long way (still) to go.

The most important game of the season is now in a fortnight and we need to get up for it from the off.

We have only ourselves to blame for failing to make top 6. I will say this that we have defo missed Hanlon over the last number of weeks and I am sure if he had been fit then we would of already been safe in the top 6.

30-03-2013, 06:04 PM
It's more attacking than he has been of late but a midfield of Thomson, Deegan and Tawio can never be described as attacking.

However in the 1st half we did play some lovely football at times but when ICT scored the players seemed to fall apart, yet again. There's only so much Fenlon can do, once the players are on the pitch it's down to them.

It's Fenlon's team -------- make no mistake about that and he's got to shoulder the responsibility for both tactics and performance.

30-03-2013, 06:05 PM
Pat reasonably upbeat, thought we 'deserved a point today'

http://audioboo.fm/boos/1299382-pat-fenlon-talks-to-hibernian-tv-s-keith-reid-after-today-s-match-against-inverness-caley-at-easter-road

30-03-2013, 06:06 PM
I can see where people are coming from in calling the team selection more positive. But in terms of urgency and desire to win we just don't seem to have it.

When was the last time Hibs raced out the traps and tried to dominate a team early? Our mentality seems to be to wait for something to happen and hope for the best. It's difficult to blame anyone other than the manager - he seems to have no football philosophy.

On a separate note, earlier in the week I was thinking we've possibly rushed to judge the likes of Deegan and Doyle and maybe they deserve more time. Then they produce performances like today and its easy to see why they're rarely getting a chance. Hopeless

alexhibs
30-03-2013, 06:11 PM
Some folk on here need a reality check. For me anyway, there has been a vast improve on last term, however there is a long way (still) to go.

The most important game of the season is now in a fortnight and we need to get up for it from the off.

We have only ourselves to blame for failing to make top 6. I will say this that we have defo missed Hanlon over the last number of weeks and I am sure if he had been fit then we would of already been safe in the top 6.

Vast improvement!!! Its woeful football

HibernianJK
30-03-2013, 06:13 PM
Just home from the game with mixed feelings. Didnt think we were overly bad but really no where near where we were at the start of the season. First thing I noticed is it looked like a midfield 4. And if you player 4-4-2 you cannot play Taiwo at right midfield. Secondly in the first half Thomson played an awful lot higher up the park than he did in the second. Sustained some better pressure in the first half. Alex Harris floated in and out of the game but I do think he showed more than enough to deserve another chance. Deegan pondered on the ball a lot but didnt give it away much. Doyle was OK and Leigh was even more selfish than usual. Crowd really annoyed me tidy as with 30 minutes left they were really getting on the players back when we were keeping the ball at the back. ****ing annoying as we kept the ball and took our time. Eventually Mcpake ran the ball out of defence and gave it away. Key to winning matches is keeping the ball and more people need to ****ing realise this. Not the best performance but no where near the worst. Look forward to celtic next week.

30-03-2013, 06:16 PM
I'm confident we can still make the top six. It's no problem, we just need to go to Parkhead and win. :wink:

If only it was as easy and straightforward as beating Celtic. :greengrin Kilmarnock have two games to our one........St Mirren and Dundee. I can't see them not getting at least 2 points from them. Dundee Utd are far from out of it as well. So it looks like bumsoutra for us.

30-03-2013, 06:16 PM
Cheer up everyone :greengrin

http://freeemoticonsandsmileys.com/animated%20emoticons/Cartoon%20Animated%20Emoticons/donald%20duck%20dance.gif

30-03-2013, 06:19 PM
Would rather see Claros and Thomson in midfield.. Thought we played okay at times today, defence is our main downfall.. We just seem to hold off too long, see their second goal for an example.

Disappointing. Thomson looks good though :wink:

30-03-2013, 06:27 PM

I don't see a vast improvement -the fitba is absolutely dire. Not sure what we'll do for strikers next season but that will be key.

30-03-2013, 06:27 PM

Vast improvement? Inverness are further away from us than last season, and Ross County were in the league below us last season. Both have miniscule budgets compared to what Fenlon has. Rangers aren't even in the League, Hearts have lost most of their players, and we could still finish 11th again this season the way things are going.

And you still think that we have vastly improved?

30-03-2013, 06:42 PM
So what yur saying is that we are in the same place as we were last season.

Put it this way if we had signed or attempted to sign any if the players ICT have signed ( unknown guys) then PF would of been slated. Yeah they've turned out Alrite but will they be up there next season.

What are people expecting FFs fast flowing football and loads of goals.

Fwiw I don't give a flying **** about what other teams have done or are doing. Loads of folk have a hang up bout what ICT are doing. Don't care. there are a few games to go till the end of the season and we could still finish 6th with more points than the team in 3rd say.

alexhibs
30-03-2013, 07:09 PM
Aldo wtf are you gibbering about

30-03-2013, 07:16 PM
So what yur saying is that we are in the same place as we were last season.

Put it this way if we had signed or attempted to sign any if the players ICT have signed ( unknown guys) then PF would of been slated. Yeah they've turned out Alrite but will they be up there next season.

What are people expecting FFs fast flowing football and loads of goals.

Fwiw I don't give a flying **** about what other teams have done or are doing. Loads of folk have a hang up bout what ICT are doing. Don't care. there are a few games to go till the end of the season and we could still finish 6th with more points than the team in 3rd say.

Time to stop drinking pal, and get to your bed. :greengrin

30-03-2013, 07:24 PM
Last season we were terrible but we are just as bad in the worst SPL ever. 11th last year and likely to be 9th this year with no Huns and skint yams. Not much progress is being made. Failure to get to the cup final could finish PF off.

30-03-2013, 10:25 PM
When did we last play 442 @ ER ? Genuine question ?
Reason I ask is if PF thinks we can win 2 difficult SC games playing a different system & come thru them.whilst I am full of praise for selecting Harris regardless of his performance prior to ko.
The selections & positioning of Doyle, Taiwo in particulsr leave me feeling there was a couple of intuitive selections at the expense of 2/3 to fill in to accommodate his choices.
I'm yet to be convinced as to PFs authoritive 11 and any changes/ time of changes to suggest he has the conviction to grab a game whilst its ongoing & influence a win with a decision out with his 1st 11.
The most disappointing thing from today is its been shown that PF cannot raise players to achieve a win when required, as difficult as it may be.
The seemingly unwillingness from players to hustle opponents whilst not on the ball is soul destroying to watch & IMO is inexcusable at any level.
Major disappointment
Positively Harris looked very hungry to play football as did Cairney when he came on, Clancy for me looks very ordinary.

30-03-2013, 11:12 PM
When did we last play 442 @ ER ? Genuine question ?
Reason I ask is if PF thinks we can win 2 difficult SC games playing a different system & come thru them.whilst I am full of praise for selecting Harris regardless of his performance prior to ko.
The selections & positioning of Doyle, Taiwo in particulsr leave me feeling there was a couple of intuitive selections at the expense of 2/3 to fill in to accommodate his choices.
I'm yet to be convinced as to PFs authoritive 11 and any changes/ time of changes to suggest he has the conviction to grab a game whilst its ongoing & influence a win with a decision out with his 1st 11.
The most disappointing thing from today is its been shown that PF cannot raise players to achieve a win when required, as difficult as it may be.
The seemingly unwillingness from players to hustle opponents whilst not on the ball is soul destroying to watch & IMO is inexcusable at any level.
Major disappointment
Positively Harris looked very hungry to play football as did Cairney when he came on, Clancy for me looks very ordinary.

Sorry but Clancy looked fine today, willing to go forward and solid defensively, a few shaky moments agreed, but strange as it may seem the defence looked better today with him in it, we need Hanlon back though

30-03-2013, 11:16 PM
Pat reasonably upbeat, thought we 'deserved a point today'

http://audioboo.fm/boos/1299382-pat-fenlon-talks-to-hibernian-tv-s-keith-reid-after-today-s-match-against-inverness-caley-at-easter-road

Interesting to hear PF say we played well at times Today.....Not for me Pat, we looked jaded and flat.....When teams nullify Sparky, we have nothing else....So disappointed to watch a lacklustre display, when we knew we needed 3 points.....Real lack of desire and urgency at times.....

30-03-2013, 11:37 PM
Sorry but Clancy looked fine today, willing to go forward and solid defensively, a few shaky moments agreed, but strange as it may seem the defence looked better today with him in it, we need Hanlon back though

Opinions eh, although Clancy was unlucky with a rebounded clearance to allow their 1st, I personally thought he looked slow & laboured/ if not a pound or 2 heavy. Caught out of position regularly, poor distribution & for me due to his injuries this remains a problem position for PF
On a side note, auld geezer nxt to me in east says after their 2nd, PF must be seek, Mr the hat rolls his eyes & says he does nae pay his 22 snaps pal :-(

31-03-2013, 12:07 AM
Interesting to hear PF say we played well at times Today.....Not for me Pat, we looked jaded and flat.....When teams nullify Sparky, we have nothing else....So disappointed to watch a lacklustre display, when we knew we needed 3 points.....Real lack of desire and urgency at times.....

ICT came to ER today with tactics and a solid, well balanced team.

We, put out a team derived of any attack mindedness and severely lacking in balance. What's more worrying is I don't think our team knew how to go and get a goal. ICT had several methods of going forward and did so with apparent ease today.

I don't want to praise opposing teams too much but ICT had two solid central midfielders surrounded by athletic and pacey wingers. They also had a striker in McKay who knows how to play as a striker. I don't even know if their defence is any good because we never caused them any bother.

In comparison Hibs have no balance outwith the defence. Today we played with one left sided winger but no right sided wide man. On occasions Thomson gestured towards the bench and asked what was happening, not a good sign! I'm not discussing Doyle as his last games in green have been like playing with ten men.

One last difference is found in our strikers where McKay and Griffiths are very similar types of players. Both speedy, nippy players with an eye for goal. Griffiths is the better technically. However he does not know how to play as a striker. On countless occasions today he was the wrong side of the pitch from where the play was. I think thats a coaching/tactics thing and possibly a reason we only score goals that showcase his extraordinary ability to strike a ball. McKay on the other hand ran channels all day and got in behind our defence on countless occasions.

31-03-2013, 12:20 AM

We, put out a team derived of any attack mindedness and severely lacking in balance. What's more worrying is I don't think our team knew how to go and get a goal. ICT had several methods of going forward and did so with apparent ease today.

I don't want to praise opposing teams too much but ICT had two solid central midfielders surrounded by athletic and pacey wingers. They also had a striker in McKay who knows how to play as a striker. I don't even know if their defence is any good because we never caused them any bother.

In comparison Hibs have no balance outwith the defence. Today we played with one left sided winger but no right sided wide man. On occasions Thomson gestured towards the bench and asked what was happening, not a good sign! I'm not discussing Doyle as his last games in green have been like playing with ten men.

One last difference is found in our strikers where McKay and Griffiths are very similar types of players. Both speedy, nippy players with an eye for goal. Griffiths is the better technically. However he does not know how to play as a striker. On countless occasions today he was the wrong side of the pitch from where the play was. I think thats a coaching/tactics thing and possibly a reason we only score goals that showcase his extraordinary ability to strike a ball. McKay on the other hand ran channels all day and got in behind our defence on countless occasions.

I noticed that on the right too, at times it looked like Doyle was up top and Taiwo was playing wide right which is completely ridiculous as he's a defensive midfielder! Just looked a complete mess at times tbh.

31-03-2013, 12:35 AM

Leigh needs an athletic, physical presence up top to help him and to free him up a little. Far too much is expected of him.

Pace - wingers - not seen either of that around Easter Road for a long, long, long time. I seriously cannot recall that last genuine 'tanner ba' winger at Hibs. We've a beautiful, wide, expansive pitch but yet all our play is centred, quite literally, through the middle. Opposition full backs can set up the deck chairs pre-match knowing they are in for an easier ride than at most other grounds in the SPL.