View Full Version : what have those North Korean scamps been up to now?

Skanko79
29-03-2013, 04:19 PM
Apologies for the mistake in the last thread title. To many easter eggs.

about to launch attacks on US bases in hawaii, guam and south korea.

propoganda or the real mccoy?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-21974381

hibby rae
29-03-2013, 06:26 PM
Apologies for the mistake in the last thread title. To many easter eggs.

about to launch attacks on US bases in hawaii, guam and south korea.

propoganda or the real mccoy?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-21974381

Show of force by the Great Leader to prove himself to the North Korean elite. His father used a similiar tactic when he gained power. It would be suicide to go to war with the US and even though they have an ally in China, I very much doubt they would find any backing from them in the event of any hostile actions.

29-03-2013, 06:38 PM
Show of force by the Great Leader to prove himself to the North Korean elite. His father used a similiar tactic when he gained power. It would be suicide to go to war with the US and even though they have an ally in China, I very much doubt they would find any backing from them in the event of any hostile actions.

I'd not be surprised to see some form of attack on the south (korea not the US), but there's not a chance that they'll attack Hawaii or anywhere else in America.

hibby rae
29-03-2013, 06:57 PM

I'd not be surprised to see some form of attack on the south (korea not the US), but there's not a chance that they'll attack Hawaii or anywhere else in America.

Quite possibly. They certainly have previous, the gamble is how would the South react?

29-03-2013, 06:58 PM

South Korea has 28500 US service personnel in it so such a move would doubtlessly cause direct confrontation with America.

hibby rae
29-03-2013, 09:58 PM
South Korea has 28500 US service personnel in it so such a move would doubtlessly cause direct confrontation with America.

Unless of course it was something along the lines of the artillery strike they launched on that island or the sinking of the South Korean naval vessel.

29-03-2013, 10:53 PM
If they attacked America they would be finished inside 20minutes.

30-03-2013, 12:04 AM

BOOOOOMMMM :agree:

30-03-2013, 01:41 AM
The guys dad scored in the world cup final, beat Tiger Woods to win the Open and beat Roger Federer in straight sets to win all four majors.

He has a lot to live up to so this is at least a start.

hibby rae
30-03-2013, 07:13 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-21950069

A fairly informative article regarding North Korea here.

30-03-2013, 08:06 AM
Someone needs to fly in a decent barber for the boy, that's the worse barnet I've seen in many a year

LeighLoyal
30-03-2013, 08:41 AM
Lil Kim is all bowl and no rice.

yeezus.
31-03-2013, 11:01 AM
And there was me looking to go to North Korea with Lupine Travel!

http://www.lupinetravel.co.uk/north-korea-holidays-and-tours.html

StevesFamau5
31-03-2013, 11:46 AM

Seems legit. The pay on arrival thing has me thinking its clearly a good idea haha :D

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

31-03-2013, 12:50 PM
I'd like to know where Jong-un gets his hair cut. its quality.

yeezus.
31-03-2013, 07:15 PM
Seems legit. The pay on arrival thing has me thinking its clearly a good idea haha :D

They also do trips to Iran! I really need to win the lottery.

yeezus.
31-03-2013, 07:16 PM
Lil Kim is all bowl and no rice.

Isn't Lil Kim a rapper who used to hang out with Fat Joe and Ja Rule?

StevesFamau5
31-03-2013, 07:54 PM
Isn't Lil Kim a rapper who used to hang out with Fat Joe and Ja Rule?

And according to the film Notorious she also pumped biggie smalls.

01-04-2013, 02:15 AM

And the losers most likely innocent/brainwashed people.

01-04-2013, 10:02 AM

They've got the usual people worried :greengrin

http://sphotos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/601486_302260993236009_1961406465_n.jpg

02-04-2013, 08:46 AM

Ooft - £1700 gets you on the Trans-Mongolian from Moscow to Pyongyang - always fancied the Trans-Mongolian railway trip :agree:

02-04-2013, 12:49 PM
Ooft - £1700 gets you on the Trans-Mongolian from Moscow to Pyongyang - always fancied the Trans-Mongolian railway trip :agree:

I'm all for "crossover" genres in my music, but Trans-Mongolian seems a step too far. "Moscow to Pyongyang" hardly has the same ring to it as "Miami to Ibiza" does it?

02-04-2013, 01:03 PM
I'm all for "crossover" genres in my music, but Trans-Mongolian seems a step too far. "Moscow to Pyongyang" hardly has the same ring to it as "Miami to Ibiza" does it?

I'd rather listen to a Mongolian saying "Moscow to Pyongyang" over and over again for 4 mins, than listen to that god awful "Miami to Ibiza" pish.:cb

LeighLoyal
02-04-2013, 04:21 PM
And the losers most likely innocent/brainwashed peepul.

Sevco fans? :top marksGet it on in that case! :cb

yeezus.
02-04-2013, 06:13 PM

I found out about that website because apparently it's founder was e-mailed by the North Korean authorities being warned that war was close.

04-04-2013, 12:58 PM
All reports today suggesting that North Korea have moved a missile "with substantial range" to their east coast.

Fox News (hardly a bastion of impartiality) have also suggested that the North Korean army has been cleared to engage the US in nuclear war.

They've saber-rattled before but this is more powerful rhetoric than anything I can recall from their previous 2 leaders.

04-04-2013, 01:06 PM
Meanwhile, David Cameron uses the "threat" from North Korea as justification for keeping Trident. :rolleyes:

HKhibby
04-04-2013, 01:44 PM

Why? you dont think he would attack the u.s. if he could get away with it?...ofcoarse he would! he hates America!, most people do!, sadly tho the guy is a nutter, that will not sit down, the U.S. has provoked him by carrying out excersises in South Korea!...if the U.S. just sat back for a change and thought about their actions around the world, then they would realise why they are hated and thought of the way they are by most!, the real reason with the U.S. is they go in, whatever government is in charge there and to hell with the consequences!
They have never actually won a war in their own right, to my knowledge! without someone else cleaning up after them...and this is exactly what would happen with North Korea!...although this time they have met their match!

I live in HK which is part of China now, but it will take China to sort this out unfortunatly...and i am not a supporter of Mainland China politics...economics etc...etc... whatsoever! but you would have to hand it to them! in the interest of trade and business etc...

The Americans should realise exactly how stupid they look and always have looked and always will do!...no one like them in asia...just their money!...but that is drying up!

04-04-2013, 01:47 PM
Meanwhile, David Cameron uses the "threat" from North Korea as justification for keeping Trident. :rolleyes:

What an amateur he is :rolleyes: Its nonsense to suggest that North Korea has developed a ICBM that could reach mainland USA, let alone the UK. Everyone knows they havent got that capacity.

What he's done is demonstrate how fatuous the 'keep trident' argument is. We're wasting billions on a weapons system that protects us from nobody.

04-04-2013, 01:48 PM
Why? you dont think he would attack the u.s. if he could get away with it?...ofcoarse he would! he hates America!, most people do!, sadly tho the guy is a nutter, that will not sit down, the U.S. has provoked him by carrying out excersises in South Korea!...if the U.S. just sat back for a change and thought about their actions around the world, then they would realise why they are hated and thought of the way they are by most!, the real reason with the U.S. is they go in, whatever government is in charge there and to hell with the consequences!
They have never actually won a war in their own right, to my knowledge! without someone else cleaning up after them...and this is exactly what would happen with North Korea!...although this time they have met their match!

I live in HK which is part of China now, but it will take China to sort this out unfortunatly...and i am not a supporter of Mainland China politics...economics etc...etc... whatsoever! but you would have to hand it to them! in the interest of trade and business etc...

The Americans should realise exactly how stupid they look and always have looked and always will do!...no one like them in asia...just their money!...but that is drying up!

Except for the one that brought them into existence.

Oh, and the Spanish-American war was a decent result for them.

As was the Mexican-American war.

The 2 Barbary Wars

!!!!!!

04-04-2013, 02:04 PM
If anything, this shows that if we need to spend money on defence, then it would be better going on the sort of anti missile defences the US is reported to be deploying in Guam.... THAAD or something?
It's pretty clear that trident as a deterrent can't work against maniacs?

Or is that to simplistic..... Maybe it's complex! tm Baz

04-04-2013, 02:12 PM
Surley it is suicide to atack/start a war with the US? I would assume that the US prob has more weapons, neculear or otherwise than every other country combined. If the even attempted to, or managed to hit the US with any sort of missile I would imagine that NK could quite easily be wiped from the face of the earth within half an hour of any attack.

04-04-2013, 02:32 PM
Surley it is suicide to atack/start a war with the US? I would assume that the US prob has more weapons, neculear or otherwise than every other country combined. If the even attempted to, or managed to hit the US with any sort of missile I would imagine that NK could quite easily be wiped from the face of the earth within half an hour of any attack.

You're right it would be suicide, problem for the US is the fall out, and that's not just the radiation I'm talking about.

04-04-2013, 02:37 PM
i can't see in this day and age how anyone outwith rogue states etc could use a nuke, they know that there would be too much bother with the amount of innocents hurt and killed

they would just send a shed load of cruise and tomahawks and take out all the military buildings and infrastructure

04-04-2013, 02:40 PM
i can't see in this day and age how anyone outwith rogue states etc could use a nuke, they know that there would be too much bother with the amount of innocents hurt and killed

they would just send a shed load of cruise and tomahawks and take out all the military buildings and infrastructure

Agreed, I think that's exactly what would happen.

04-04-2013, 02:45 PM
You're right it would be suicide, problem for the US is the fall out, and that's not just the radiation I'm talking about.

I was not meaning a nuke on the NK's i was meaning the same as Mon Die in that the US would send in the big guns and blow the necesary sites in NK to stop them doing anything else

04-04-2013, 03:12 PM
I was not meaning a nuke on the NK's i was meaning the same as Mon Die in that the US would send in the big guns and blow the necesary sites in NK to stop them doing anything else

Yup I got that :-)

I was just making it clear when I said "fall out" that it could be taken a few ways.

LeighLoyal
04-04-2013, 03:32 PM
Go on Lil Kim, make a crazy move. :devil:

04-04-2013, 07:20 PM
I've just watched Olympus has fallen, its ok, turns out Gerard Butler smashes the Koreans

04-04-2013, 07:22 PM
I've just watched Olympus has fallen, its ok, turns out Gerard Butler smashes the Koreans

Lesser Green. Sod him. :greengrin

06-04-2013, 09:10 PM
they are a funny lot in North Korea. I remember this from bbc a wee while ago.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-17672186

their space centre looks like something from an old james bond film
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-17674226

07-04-2013, 03:29 PM
What an amateur he is :rolleyes: Its nonsense to suggest that North Korea has developed a ICBM that could reach mainland USA, let alone the UK. Everyone knows they havent got that capacity.

Cameron didn't claim that North Korea can reach continental USA. AFAIK, he said that North Korea had claimed that they could and that, if that claim ever actually became reality, it would mean that they could also reach Europe.

07-04-2013, 03:35 PM
Cameron didn't claim that North Korea can reach continental USA. AFAIK, he said that North Korea had claimed that they could and that, if that claim ever actually became reality, it would mean that they could also reach Europe.

It's actually a shorter distance between Pyongyang and London than it is between Pyongyang and L.A.

allmodcons
07-04-2013, 04:08 PM

This is what he said. Whichever way you look at it he's using the North Korean 'threat' as an argument for retaining Trident when in reality we all know this obscene waste of money in times of austerity is all about GB posturing on the world stage and telling anyone interested not to mess with us! It is (and he is) truly pathetic.

Mr Cameron said: "North Korea recently conducted its third nuclear test and could already have enough fissile material to produce more than a dozen nuclear weapons.
"Last year North Korea unveiled a long-range ballistic missile which it claims can reach the whole of the United States. If this became a reality it would also affect the whole of Europe, including the UK."
The prime minister questioned whether anyone would "seriously argue that it would be wise for Britain, faced with this evolving threat today, to surrender our deterrent".
"My judgement is that it would be foolish to leave Britain defenceless against a continuing, and growing, nuclear threat," he said.

07-04-2013, 05:24 PM
This is what he said.

Thanks for confirming that I was correct. I didn't comment on his justification for Trident.

allmodcons
07-04-2013, 06:05 PM
Thanks for confirming that I was correct. I didn't comment on his justification for Trident.

You're welcome Mr Beefster. I did comment on his 'justification' for Trident.

07-04-2013, 09:50 PM

It doesnt change the basic point, which is that Cameroon is using North Koreas 'threat' as a justification for Trident, which is beyond ridiculousness.

07-04-2013, 10:08 PM

I can honestly say that I can't think on too many places in the world that I would less like to go to for a holiday than North Korea!

Why anyone would want to go there whilst that sort of regime is in charge is beyond me.

07-04-2013, 11:21 PM
I can honestly say that I can't think on too many places in the world that I would less like to go to for a holiday than North Korea!

Why anyone would want to go there whilst that sort of regime is in charge is beyond me.

Maybe it's a straight choice between there and Falkirk. :greengrin

08-04-2013, 08:48 AM

Some folk have no sense of adventure :greengrin

08-04-2013, 08:53 AM

Personally, I would love it.

I like going places where I am an alien, where the way of life is challenging to my experience, either economically or politically. It's mind-broadening.

Edit:- That's why I love going to Falkirk. :greengrin

yeezus.
08-04-2013, 09:01 AM

But you don't see the "bad bits". Just to say I've been to North Korea would be fantastic!

yeezus.
08-04-2013, 09:01 AM

I like going places where I am an alien, where the way of life is challenging to my experience, either economically or politically. It's mind-broadening.

:agree: Same - I would definitely go there if I had the money.

EuanH78
08-04-2013, 09:05 AM

I don't consider it a holiday unless I have, at the very least, had to bribe someone or pay a special 'tax'.

allmodcons
08-04-2013, 12:19 PM
It doesnt change the basic point, which is that Cameroon is using North Koreas 'threat' as a justification for Trident, which is beyond ridiculousness.

Correct.