View Full Version : Your highest/lowest attendance at an Easter Road match.

25-03-2013, 06:30 PM
I'm sure this thread has come up before at some point, but I was chatting to my dad about this yesterday: the highest and lowest attendance we'd been part of. I would think ( though I'm not positive ) my biggest crowd would have been a derby match as a nipper in the early nineties. Was capacity then about around 30,000? Packed like sardines, and the old man making sure I had a bit of a view of the pitch. As for lowest, I have no idea. Must be some midweek League Cup game of around 5,000 and possibly less.

25-03-2013, 06:39 PM
I'm sure this thread has come up before at some point, but I was chatting to my dad about this yesterday: the highest and lowest attendance we'd been part of. I would think ( though I'm not positive ) my biggest crowd would have been a derby match as a nipper in the early nineties. Was capacity then about around 30,000? Packed like sardines, and the old man making sure I had a bit of a view of the pitch. As for lowest, I have no idea. Must be some midweek League Cup game of around 5,000 and possibly less.

The early 90s capacity was 27000 before the new North and South stands were built in 1994.

25-03-2013, 06:50 PM
The early 90s capacity was 27000 before the new North and South stands were built in 1994.

:agree: I think the biggest crowd I've been in at ER was the Wayne Foster cup game - just over 27k IIRC (although on iHibs it's given as only 20,953 :confused:).

The lowest crowd I've been in - maybe about 3k or so during our first 1st division 'adventure' or during the old league cup league stage.

25-03-2013, 06:58 PM
:agree: I think the biggest crowd I've been in at ER was the Wayne Foster cup game - just over 27k IIRC (although on iHibs it's given as only 20,953 :confused:).

The lowest crowd I've been in - maybe about 3k or so during our first 1st division 'adventure' or during the old league cup league stage.

Just done a bit of checking and the crowd at the new year derby in 1989 (4/1/89) was 27219. The Foster game did have a big crowd but I didn't think it was as much as 27000. Beaumont should've chopped Foster down. Never forgiven the guy.

Miguel
25-03-2013, 07:04 PM
Highest would be when Celtic won league at Easter Road in I think 1973 which was in mid to late 50,000s. Around 5,000 would be right against various teams, usually at night. Slightly off topic, but was in biggest crowd ever recorded at a sporting event in Edinburgh, 104,000 for Scotland v Wales at Murrayfield in the mid-1970s.
Biggest Hibs crowd - in fact biggest crowd I have been in was 1972 Scottish Cup Final v Celtic. 106,000?

25-03-2013, 07:07 PM
I remember being at a midweek league game against airdrie and I'm sure there was only 2500 there.

Edit I've just checked and it was 3500 still a shocking crowd

25-03-2013, 07:09 PM
At ER probably the Barcelona game-though maybe a Rangers game around 1955.Biggest Hibs crowd was I think the Cup Final against Clyde 108,000-although Scotland/England matches I went to were usually about 140,000.Smallest at ER against Stirling Albion -midweek about 2000.

25-03-2013, 07:12 PM
Highest ... if non-competitive games count ... prob Pat Stanton's testimonial, c. 30k?

Lowest ... a league game v. Ayr Utd, Christmas Eve 1976(?), I think there was just over 2k there.

Emerald
25-03-2013, 07:18 PM
Hibs v Leeds United 1973, I think the attendance was over 36,000 that night. I was at school and had to get the bus home meaning I missed the end of the extra time and penalties. We were quite far down the huge east terrace and it took about half an hour to get through the packed crowd to the stairs at the top. I'll never forget it

I don't recall the lowest.

25-03-2013, 07:21 PM
Highest ... if non-competitive games count ... prob Pat Stanton's testimonial, c. 30k?

Lowest ... a league game v. Ayr Utd, Christmas Eve 1976(?), I think there was just over 2k there.

I was at same lowest game, we won with an og but Joe Harper claimed it! I was fortunate enough to be at Barcelona game, crowd is now reported as 45,000 but at time was said to be 54,000. There was a cup replay in early 60's vs Celtc which was reported as 56,000. Highest crowd from 1970 on was 49,000 vs Oldco in a cup replay, the infamous dive by McDonald.

25-03-2013, 07:23 PM

For some reason capacity was cut in early 90's to approx 21000. The Wayne Foster game was a sell out with just under 21000 there.

Edit - Seats were added in to the north and south enclosures in the main stand around 90 - 91, which must have reduced capacity. Also Hillsborough may have had an impact with extra exit stairways being introduced as a result in grounds at that time.....

LeighLoyal
25-03-2013, 07:31 PM
Lowest: a midweek fixture verses St Johnstone in 1993. Was about 2,500 there, I got there late and we were already 2-0 down, finished 2-2 if I recall.

Corrected, was Tuesday 6th April 1993. Seems like yesterday. Was three days after the Sheep "pumped us" 1-0 at Swinie in the SC semi, nae wonder just 2.5k showed up.

25-03-2013, 07:34 PM

I had a thought you were very close to the mark but surprisingly the official attendance was given as 3,875!! Of course we maybe added the non attending season ticket holders :greengrin

25-03-2013, 07:36 PM
Lowest: a midweek fixture verses St Johnstone in 1992. Was about 2,500 there, I got there late and we were already 2-0 down, finished 2-2 if I recall.

Officially 3,526 and our goals came via Keith Keith Keith and subby Gareth Evans

Ottawa Hibs
25-03-2013, 07:45 PM

Highest, not sure though would have been in the 70s for a derby game with the old terrace still up.

Lowest though was a miserable wet night late in May 1980. We were already relegated and played Partick Thistle in the final game of the season. We lost 1-0 (O'Hara I think?). Anyway I remember the crows as 1,101. I always said I was the "1". Shocking attendance. Shocking season. My first as a STH. Not my last though :)

25-03-2013, 07:48 PM
Highest, not sure though would have been in the 70s for a derby game with the old terrace still up.

Lowest though was a miserable wet night late in May 1980. We were already relegated and played Partick Thistle in the final game of the season. We lost 1-0 (O'Hara I think?). Anyway I remember the crows as 1,101. I always said I was the "1". Shocking attendance. Shocking season. My first as a STH. Not my last though :)

1,191 and that included you, Ray in Ireland and me. Anyone else on here that suffered with us? :agree:

LeighLoyal
Officially 3,526 and our goals came via Keith Keith Keith and subby Gareth Evans

I had the year wrong, was 93, and the attendance. Oh well.

I was at same lowest game, we won with an og but Joe Harper claimed it! I was fortunate enough to be at Barcelona game, crowd is now reported as 45,000 but at time was said to be 54,000. There was a cup replay in early 60's vs Celtc which was reported as 56,000. Highest crowd from 1970 on was 49,000 vs Oldco in a cup replay, the infamous dive by McDonald.

I thought the dive game was a Saturday league match.:confused:

Gordon Rae scored first, and Bett equalised before half time. Both of those were in daylight.

The "penalty" was down the slope, when Benny made a face at the wee lamb and he fell over in fright.

25-03-2013, 07:49 PM

Hard to recall cos he did it in every match :wink:

25-03-2013, 07:53 PM
1,191 and that included you, Ray in Ireland and me. Anyone else on here that suffered with us? :agree:

Count me in as well. That was my first season following the Hibees home and away. Only missed about four games the whole season.

25-03-2013, 07:57 PM
Can remember a game under Bertie Auld think Clydebank where probably 1500 there. Largest would be Celtic 73/74 lost 4-2 Deans scored his regular hat trick or a Liverpool game where Toshack scored only goal both over 40k.

25-03-2013, 08:07 PM
Highest at Easter Road would probably be about 40k against Celtic or Rangers in the late 60's/early 70's. Would have been 49k when we played Rangers in cup replay 1973 but I was one of the unfortunate who was locked out that night. The lowest probably about 5k but that's a complete guess.

25-03-2013, 08:09 PM

Of course!

Highest was the 2-4 game v celtc in 1974 that has already been mentioned, crowd was 48,554. http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3325

Edit - 49,007 for the cup replay that Iwasthere1972 just mentioned.http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3271

25-03-2013, 08:12 PM

Me John, i was there.:greengrin On the other end of the scale, i remember a game against the ex huns, a midweek cup game iirc. And there was around 50,000, sometime in the middle 70s???????

25-03-2013, 08:46 PM
I think my biggest would be v Hearts in SC 1/4 final on our way to final in '79. My abiding memory of the day was the jambos fighting first with themselves and then the police.
Lowest may well hace been a LC section game v St Johnston when a certain McCoist scored for them

25-03-2013, 08:48 PM
Attendance figures are a joke though. Couple of games spring to mind as being much higher than reported. Anderlecht at ER and Hearts in the cup. Much much higher than reported

25-03-2013, 08:57 PM
27,022 4th January 1989 Eddie May scored

25-03-2013, 09:03 PM
Me John, i was there.:greengrin On the other end of the scale, i remember a game against the ex huns, a midweek cup game iirc. And there was around 50,000, sometime in the middle 70s???????

Maybe this one Gary?

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3271

25-03-2013, 09:11 PM

The home crowds in Division One were good. The the lowest crowd that season was 8,659 against Stranraer. There were three crowds over 14,000!

The lowest crowd for a league match I attended was probably one against St Johnstone around 1993 at just over 4,000.. There was another match against St Johnstone a year before at around 2,500.

The lowest crowd of the season is usually for a second round League Cup tie if Hibs are drawn at home to a lower league club.

25-03-2013, 09:21 PM
Maybe this one Gary?

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3271

It might have been John, i had it in my mind we lost 1-0 but it could have been 2-1? This getting old is not good. :greengrin

25-03-2013, 09:50 PM
It might have been John, i had it in my mind we lost 1-0 but it could have been 2-1? This getting old is not good. :greengrin

It was 1-2.

Tommy Mclean (spit!) staggered 10 yards and fell in the box for a penalty. :rolleyes:

fozzy
25-03-2013, 09:55 PM
Biggest for me was a cup replay against Rangers in early 1973 where the crowd was give as 49,007 and which we lost to the usual dubious penalty, Bobby Davidson being ref, say no more. Lowest was that Partick game with the 1,000 and whatever it was crowd. Seem to recall at the time that the one of the reasons for it being so small was because the world snooker championship final which was a really big deal at that time was on the telly the same night! Maybe more to do with it being our swansong to an awful season though.

tanfield
25-03-2013, 10:26 PM
Highest - not sure, probably the cs gas canister game against Celtic? They had fans in every part of the ground! Probably the last time that game was not an all ticket match!

Lowest - against Partick thistle, 1k in about the last game if the 79-80 relegation season.

25-03-2013, 10:36 PM
Lowest: 3394 at home to Cowdenbeath in the League Cup. Only the Stand and Enclosure were open that night. http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3866

Highest: probably Pat Stanton's testimonial. 27000?

25-03-2013, 11:58 PM

Gordon Rae scored first, and Bett equalised before half time. Both of those were in daylight.

The "penalty" was down the slope, when Benny made a face at the wee lamb and he fell over in fright.

Definitely a Saturday afternoon league match. IIRC it was mid 80s and the crowd would have been around 17/18k.

Time For Heroes
26-03-2013, 03:26 AM
My highest was unfortunately at Tincastle a couple of years back
302654 IIRC
Jambo out in force that day! Haha

26-03-2013, 07:00 AM

Was at that game,in fact didn't miss a game home or away that season

26-03-2013, 07:15 AM

I remember that game as well. Did we not have a temp manager at that time. Trying to remember his name? Was it John Lambie?

26-03-2013, 07:19 AM
27,022 4th January 1989 Eddie May scored

I think I was at this game. If not, mine would be the cup tie with 20,000+ there. I remember the cowshed was absolutely rammed.

26-03-2013, 07:58 AM
Definitely a Saturday afternoon league match. IIRC it was mid 80s and the crowd would have been around 17/18k.

I think you're getting your diving McDonalds mixed up, an easy mistake!! John McDonald would have been about 70 in the mid 80's!!! I'm pretty convinced it was the cup game that JMcD dived in, CWG may be getting confused with fact that Tommy McLean then scored pen winner. I'm sure there must have been plenty on this board in 49,007 crowd that night who can clarify!

26-03-2013, 08:03 AM

That game genuinely changed my life! I flew back from an interview in London & was going to turn job offer down. Went straight to that game, changed my mind & accepted offer & been darn sarf ever since!
PS, think Craig P scored an og & that may have been same night as Dennis Taylor snooker final & Iranian embassy siege! Went back to Hibs Club after game & there were more watching TV in there than at ER!!

26-03-2013, 08:39 AM
That game genuinely changed my life! I flew back from an interview in London & was going to turn job offer down. Went straight to that game, changed my mind & accepted offer & been darn sarf ever since!
PS, think Craig P scored an og & that may have been same night as Dennis Taylor snooker final & Iranian embassy siege! Went back to Hibs Club after game & there were more watching TV in there than at ER!!

Memories :greengrin, they don't half play tricks on us. Dennis Taylor was April 1985, I was in an Irish Pub in London at the time. The Iranian siege was in April 1980, so it's a good chance you got that one spot on :greengrin

26-03-2013, 11:05 AM
The home crowds in Division One were good. The the lowest crowd that season was 8,659 against Stranraer. There were three crowds over 14,000!

The lowest crowd for a league match I attended was probably one against St Johnstone around 1993 at just over 4,000.. There was another match against St Johnstone a year before at around 2,500.

The lowest crowd of the season is usually for a second round League Cup tie if Hibs are drawn at home to a lower league club.

Look again - I said our first 1st division adventure.

26-03-2013, 11:58 AM

We had two strong penelty shouts in the 2nd half. Both, and this is amazing, turned down. Spent the whole 2nd half on the floodlight pylons as it was the only place where i could see the game. The way things change at football, the way they stay the same. Newco are still the same old cheating lot as the oldco were.

wee 162
26-03-2013, 12:01 PM
Highest - not sure, probably the cs gas canister game against Celtic? They had fans in every part of the ground! Probably the last time that game was not an all ticket match!

Lowest - against Partick thistle, 1k in about the last game if the 79-80 relegation season.
Huge Celtic support that day, but also a huge Hibs one as well. Mate in the Celtic end and I independently at the game both came to the same answer re the crowd which we thought was around 35k. Think that's the only game I can remember which every single part of the ground looked absolutely rammed. Official attendance given was exactly our capacity at the time if memory serves, but the gates were never shut which suggests that it was quite lucky that with about 7 separate parts of the ground to go to they all filled exactly to capacity...

And just to give people nightmares, imagine the gas cannister thrown that day was into an all seated stand with the significantly longer time it takes to get out. The terracing cleared in about 2 minutes that day, I'm lucky to have reached an aisle by that point nowadays at ER.

edit: Lowest, no idea, but there weren't too many against Dundee Utd on the final day of season 85/86...

26-03-2013, 03:57 PM
Statos will be able to confirm/contradict. Highest for me at Easter Road was Ne'erday 1960 versus Hearts. 54,000 official attendance if I remember but I am sure there were more than that on that day. Lifted off my feet numerous times and almost passed out in the crush. Lowest was a midweek game against Airdrie during Walter Galbraith's reign. 1500 or so, I think. Would be nice to get some confirmation.

26-03-2013, 04:34 PM
dont know my highest or lowest but a crowd worthy of note would be at tynecastle...an east of scotland shield final...1975 i think, cant remember the score but 36,000 was the crowd i.i.r.c.

in those days the east of scotland shield was regarded as a trophy worth winning...through in the weedge the glasgow cup finals between the old firm generated ridiculous crowds as well...t.v. has a lot to answer for.

26-03-2013, 05:07 PM
Can't think of the highest at Easter Road but was at many of the games mentioned. I was there in 1972 at the Scottish Cup final when there was 102,000. The smallest old firm crowd must have been against Rangers on the last game of the season before Souness arrived. Think Hibs won 1-0 with a Paul Kane penalty. Their support was pitiful. Ironically our first game of the next season was Souness' debut when the glory hunters appeared in massive numbers.

26-03-2013, 05:21 PM
George Best's first home game at Easter Road would fall into the under reported category. My memory must be failing as I have been regularly since about 1978 and wouldn't have thought the attendences were so high on some of those games. Must take a look at the record books.

Attendance figures are a joke though. Couple of games spring to mind as being much higher than reported. Anderlecht at ER and Hearts in the cup. Much much higher than reported

26-03-2013, 05:28 PM
Not that anyone's asked but the biggest attendance I was in at Tynie was an all ticket cup tie of 48000 when they beat Rangers 4-0 on their way to winning the cup in 1956.That'll have cheered everyone up.Incidentally a Rangers supporter peed down my leg and then gave me a quid to get my trousers cleaned.I went to my tailors(Clinkscales of Junction Street)and got a new pair for fifteen bob.The Rangers supporter was drunk of course because a quid was way above the going rate for getting peed on in those days.  

26-03-2013, 06:05 PM
Ancient I think Primark could just about do a pair of breeks for 15 bob nowadays. Clinkscales, they don't make them like that any more ( Breeks or shops!)

147lothian
26-03-2013, 10:04 PM
I think my highest, was v herats at Easter Road, I think it was new years day in the late 70's Hibs won 3 - 0 I believe the attendance was 33 000

H18Y GW
27-03-2013, 04:17 AM
Highest
Probably Sporting Lisbon 6-1
Lowest
Never even thought about it or cared tbh

Drem
27-03-2013, 07:45 PM
Terracing was shut for the Thistle game as well.
Think what it would have looked like if they had opened that old monster.

NGH
27-03-2013, 09:18 PM

I was there. In the enclosure of the main stand.

27-03-2013, 10:50 PM