View Full Version : If we won the Scottish Cup....

Macaroon
25-03-2013, 06:21 PM
Realistically, if we were to win the Scottish Cup this season, how many additional season ticket holders do you think that would draw in? Not only would there be significant prize money and subsequent money from European ties, but surely it would increase the number of people wanting to come and see the team next season.

What do you think?

25-03-2013, 06:29 PM
Realistically, if we were to win the Scottish Cup this season, how many additional season ticket holders do you think that would draw in? Not only would there be significant prize money and subsequent money from European ties, but surely it would increase the number of people wanting to come and see the team next season.

What do you think?

yes think crowd would improve but other side of the coin if we lost again it might just finish a few fans of forever. law of averages says we are due a win:flag:

25-03-2013, 06:32 PM

What do you think?

Got to admit I don't think winning the SC alone will increase ST numbers.

It's on the park that counts and maintaining a level of consistancy that can excite the fan base.

Looking at Hearts for an example, I don't think winning the cup last year increased their numbers of ST's by any significant amount.

Hibs lost a lot ST holders through several years of mediocrity on the park and trying to recapture the excitement the Hibs fans had under TM is going to be tough.

25-03-2013, 06:35 PM
No one would be back. What else is there for us to do after winning the cup?

25-03-2013, 06:44 PM
.... my alarm clock would go off just as McPake is about to lift the trophy.

25-03-2013, 06:46 PM
Probably attract the same folk who would definitely be back if we signed McPake, would definitely be back if Rangers were put in Division 3, would definitely be back if STs disn't go up in price........

25-03-2013, 06:49 PM
I think we would see an increase in the short term, at the beginning of next season for example.

But I don't think that a Scottish Cup win, alone, would mean that we would maintain that number for any length of time, if didn't play well and we were struggling in the league after a few months.

25-03-2013, 06:50 PM

What do you think?

Shhhhsh:shhhsh!:

25-03-2013, 06:58 PM
Dear god.... No sorry but do we have to.

Reaper
25-03-2013, 07:00 PM
I'll not be renewing next year regardless as Babys on the way and I just dont have the money. In respect of folk rejoining/getting ST membership I think it'd increase a wee bit but not hugely. I think years of mediocrity have finally begun to catch up with the club and with the size of the stadium nowadays I think folk are less inclined to commit now. You can take it game by game and pretty much still get a ticket for any game you want.

Folk I've spoken to do not want to become ST members and former members are getting used to not going to the football now. Sad but its seems times have changed.

PerfectlyFranck
25-03-2013, 07:26 PM

What do you think?

If we got through to the final, I reckon we'll get more (new) ST holders before rather than after.

The result won't affect a boost in sales directly.

We're not even in the final yet!
There's an unnerving amount of comments about the 'final' when we should be looking at a particular prefixture.

yeezus.
25-03-2013, 07:34 PM
All I know is, if Hibs win the Scottish Cup this year, the bender which followed May 2012's fiasco would be erased from my memory :greengrin

25-03-2013, 07:53 PM
Sssshhhhhhhh. Don't mention the Scottish Cup. I did once but I think I got away with it.

147lothian
25-03-2013, 10:00 PM
I don't even want to look at the cup until, the green and white ribbons are on!

c31
25-03-2013, 10:18 PM
I've got my deceased grandpas bottle of champagne he was saving for that elusive day to open, toast and drink. I got it when he died in 1984 he bought it in 1958 (lost v Clyde) it might in reality taste a bit off but to me it will be like nectar...

25-03-2013, 10:32 PM
... Hell would surely finally freeze over, and pork would be re-classified as poultry. :wink:

25-03-2013, 10:49 PM
The thing that sets us apart from fans of other clubs is that we're not all about winning meaningless trophies. We're concerned more about entertainment value and seeing a real game of football.

Winning the cup won't really increase out fanbase that much. But turning on the style will have fans flooding back.

25-03-2013, 11:01 PM
Not even thinking about the cup. Only if we were in the final winning with a minute....actually only until that whistle was blown would I think about winning the cup.

25-03-2013, 11:08 PM
It would certainly have an effect upon ST numbers, IMOH, and it would certainly mean the green side of Edinburgh would never need Viagra. They'll huv tae nail doon my coffin lid, even more so if we were to win the league and play Champions League. I'd never be rid of the stupid grin. :greengrin

LeighLoyal
25-03-2013, 11:08 PM
It's hardly going to hurt sales if it's finally won, is it?

Sweet Left Peg
25-03-2013, 11:28 PM
If we were to win the cup, I can safely say that I would not be home for tea...

25-03-2013, 11:37 PM
If i am sitting here pished cos i did well in the local pool tournament at Uni i am terrified to think of what will entail after us winning the Cup!

Hibs07p
26-03-2013, 04:14 AM
The semi is far more important at this point in time, than the final. Take care of that first, anything later will take care of it'self. The only omen I'm looking at just now, is after getting humped 6-1 at Hampden in 1972, the next final we played at Hampden the following season, we won.

Niffy
26-03-2013, 06:39 AM
Too many Jambos would top themselves.... it's not worth it. ;)

26-03-2013, 07:25 AM
Got to admit I don't think winning the SC alone will increase ST numbers.

It's on the park that counts and maintaining a level of consistancy that can excite the fan base.

Looking at Hearts for an example, I don't think winning the cup last year increased their numbers of ST's by any significant amount.

Hibs lost a lot ST holders through several years of mediocrity on the park and trying to recapture the excitement the Hibs fans had under TM is going to be tough.

I think that was predominantly down to the unique, ground breaking "dynamic pricing system" which meant that if you nipped away from your PC screen to get a cuppa before pressing "Buy", you'd find your season ticket price had gone up by about £50 in the intervening 3 minutes.

Another world first, world class **** up by the Merricks.

And to complete the opening sentence of the OP, the correct answer is "greet like a bairn and then drink until I shat myself"

26-03-2013, 07:39 AM
It is not if but when, and so STs will rise next season :wink:

hibs4thecup1988
26-03-2013, 07:53 AM
I think my girlfriend is dreading us winning the cup. We are due to be married next year but I really don't think she would see me for months if we won it. In regards to ticket sales in the short term it should increase. Long term? Depends on how we sustain it tbh

Kris1875
26-03-2013, 08:14 AM
As has been said let's see if we can beat Falkirk first , then we can let the dreaming and hypothetical scenarios commence !! GGTTH

26-03-2013, 09:06 AM
I don't even want to look at the cup until, the green and white ribbons are on!

Think there's a very high chance of that happening this year.

Teo10
26-03-2013, 09:39 AM
If we win the Scottish...

Would be saying goodbye to my life as I know it after the sheer ridiculous events that will follow it:greengrin

pontius pilate
26-03-2013, 09:53 AM
God knows what I'd do. I can remember last season watching city win the game with the last kick of the ball. Thinking this is our year. I'm more confident this year tho. I'd cry first not going to deny it.

26-03-2013, 09:56 AM
yes think crowd would improve but other side of the coin if we lost again it might just finish a few fans of forever. law of averages says we are due a win:flag:

A SC win would certainly have a positive influence on crowds. If we were to beat Falkirk and went on to lose in the final against D. Utd or Celtic with a poor performance, crowds would probably drop. If we lost the final with a good performance, crowds might still improve. The manner of winning or losing is just as important as the result itself.

26-03-2013, 10:22 AM

What do you think?

Just out of interest, did the Yams see an increase in sales after their theft last year?

;o)