View Full Version : Scotland V Wales
22-03-2013, 08:55 PM
And you base that on what, considering tonights team was an all Scottish 11, unless you count Fletcher as English? Maybe we need the English players, as tonights Scottish ones have not done so great have they?
Is Maloney Scottish. :greengrin
22-03-2013, 08:55 PM
oh and while i'm at it...get that wee ****** dwarf shaun maloney away tae **** anaw
22-03-2013, 08:56 PM
**** off. Pathetic
Ramsey sent off.
Straight red.
Deserved? I stopped watching when it went to 2-1
Malaysian.
22-03-2013, 08:57 PM
Bring back the Berti golden years.
Deserved? I stopped watching when it went to 2-1
He fell down and then grabbed the shorts of the Scottish player who was going through on goal.
I would say so.
He didn't have any complaints, in fact he was pretty much on his way off before the red card came out.
I'd have Webster and Berra any day before Caldwell and Hanley. That's how bad they were. Caldwell was an absolute embarrassment.
snodgrass our best player tonight, at least he had a go
22-03-2013, 08:59 PM
The Bertie Vogts era was bad, but he at least took Scotland to the play offs. He even beat a strong Holland team at Hampden (will gloss over the 6-0 defeat in the away leg)
Leigh Griffiths should have been at least on the bench for this game and should have come on when Fletcher got injured.
hibbymick
Berra is as bad as caldwell.
Malaysian.
I know. :greengrin
22-03-2013, 09:00 PM
snodgrass our best player tonight, at least he had a go
Until he made a ridiculous challenge and cost us the game.
Caldwell and Miller, thanks for your service, but it's your time
Hutton and Adam, please please please just leave. You're too fat, too slow and too lazy.
Give GMS, Rhodes, Leigh and even guys like Bannan a chance in the next few games. Build for 2016.
Its an insight into Scottish mentality when, faced with losing their best player, Wales put on a 19 year old who proceeded to have a decent half against us. When we lose our likeliest scorer, we have the choice of a) an young, hungry lad with bags of potential, or b) an over the hill loyal war horse with little future left at international level.n
othing against Kenny miller, but why throw him on when Rhodes is there. It's the same old same old with Scotland, you're still classed as young and up and coming when you're 26.
Tha Cabbage Kid
22-03-2013, 09:01 PM
there was absolutely no fight in that team. and after the two goals we should have had on another striker! both in my opinion were strachans faults.
22-03-2013, 09:03 PM
Time for WGS to confirm he has the baws for the job by promoting a string of players from the U21's and telling the likes of Caldwell, Miller, Adam and Hutton 'thanks but you're not in the plans any more.'
We might get a few pastings but we'll lose playing those guys anyway so time to really give youth its chance
22-03-2013, 09:03 PM
Time for WGS to confirm he has the baws for the job by promoting a string of players from the U21's and telling the likes of Caldwell, Miller, Adam and Hutton 'thanks but you're not in the plans any more.'
We might get a few pastings but we'll lose playing those guys anyway so time to really give youth its chance:top marks
22-03-2013, 09:04 PM
wee eck salmond should insist the SFA cancel our friendly against engerlund :agree:
22-03-2013, 09:05 PM
You ****ing Anglo!
:greengrin Maloney was one of our best players tonight, so lets get rid of him. Lets get rid of the Englishman Fletcher too. Is Rhodes Scottish, if not get rid we don't need his goals either. :wink:
22-03-2013, 09:05 PM
It doesn't matter who the manager / coach is of these jokers - will be same results. Even Mourinho would struggle with these below average players.
Bottom line is that Scotland aren't producing players who are good enough.
Players / quality is getting worse and the coaches / grassroots level at youth / pro clubs has to blame.
22-03-2013, 09:08 PM
We might get a few pastings but we'll lose playing those guys anyway so time to really give youth its chance
He should've done this in the first place.
My Strachan-ometer is already heading towards GTF due to his squad choice and this result! :greengrin
22-03-2013, 09:09 PM
Enjoyed that and the England game :greengrin
22-03-2013, 09:09 PM
Superb result.
But then, I am Welsh.
goosefat
22-03-2013, 09:10 PM
This current Scotland team would get relegated from the SPL.
Yes, they are worse than the Jambos and Dundee...but so are Wales.
Roll on the proper football next week.
22-03-2013, 09:11 PM
No interview from the manager. :confused:
This guy has gone from a world beater on his debut to a nobody.
9million to Spurs, Redknapp didnt want him, off to Sunderland on loan then Bruce didnt want him, back to Spurs, then off to Villa signed by McLeish. Then Lambert didnt want him at Villa. Hes rank !!!
Like the look of Snodgrass tho...
Big Ed
there was absolutely no fight in that team. and after the two goals we should have had on another striker! both in my opinion were strachans faults.
Fight! We kicked anything that moved tonight!
We lack even a semblance of quality.
Would have been the best entertainment of the night.
Hovehibby
22-03-2013, 09:12 PM
Its an insight into Scottish mentality when, faced with losing their best player, Wales put on a 19 year old who proceeded to have a decent half against us. When we lose our likeliest scorer, we have the choice of a) an young, hungry lad with bags of potential, or b) an over the hill loyal war horse with little future left at international level.n
Nothing against Kenny miller, but why throw him on when Rhodes is there. It's the same old same old with Scotland, you're still classed as young and up and coming when you're 26.
Totally agree. Why put on Miller when Rhodes is on the bench as well. Is the 4-5-1 formation so ingrained that only Miller will do? Miller has been a great servant, and scored some crucial goals for us, but his time should be up. Let the young guys have their chance.
The next few games should be used to blood the young talent. Give them match experience, let them make mistakes, but they will be much better players come the next qualification group
Serious question - when was the last time we played a 19-year old in a major international????
22-03-2013, 09:15 PM
And you base that on what, considering tonights team was an all Scottish 11, unless you count Fletcher as English? Maybe we need the English players, as tonights Scottish ones have not done so great have they?
Then that just shows you the complete shambles we are in. We need to rely on another nation to bring through an " English C team" for us to stand a chance. There's hardly been any English player in this Scottish setup that you can say that gives you hope and optimism for the future other than Steven Fletcher. Give the likes of Barry Bannan, Jordan Rhodes, Leigh Griffiths, Gary Mackay-Steven, Jamie Murphy, Tom Hateley, James Forrest, Johnny Russell, etc. a chance in the side. These lads will show a hell lot more passion than the current mob. Get them in now to give them that international experience and have them ready for the Euro 2016 qualifiers.
22-03-2013, 09:17 PM
Absolutely correct re the youth !!
Caldwell, Miller, Adam and Hutton and one or two others nave been 'Tried and found guilty ' a few times over .
Was disappointed in the squad Strachan picked for these two matches to be honest
I was hoping , given we hadn't a snowballs chance of qualifying , he would have freshened the squad up and found out who amongst the youngsters had what it takes .
Potter mark 2 - perhaps :greengrin:wink:
22-03-2013, 09:17 PM
he's just finished an interview with chick young on the radio
22-03-2013, 09:18 PM
Then that just shows you the complete shambles we are in. We need to rely on another nation to bring through an " English C team" for us to stand a chance. There's hardly been any English player in this Scottish setup that you can say that gives you hope and optimism for the future other than Steven Fletcher. Give the likes of Barry Bannan, Jordan Rhodes, Leigh Griffiths, Gary Mackay-Steven, Jamie Murphy, Tom Hateley, James Forrest, Johnny Russell, etc. a chance in the side. These lads will show a hell lot more passion than the current mob. Get them in now to give them that international experience and have them ready for the Euro 2016 qualifiers.
Agree with all of that but is Tom Hateley eligible to play for Scotland? :confused:
He was born in Monte Carlo and his father and grandfather were both born in England. :dunno:
StarMan10
22-03-2013, 09:20 PM
Agree its definitely time to blood the youngsters but it worries me that i wouldn't describe any of the current under 21 crop to be a potential top class player. Obviously plenty time to progress, and they sure as hell cant do any worse than the current lot.
22-03-2013, 09:22 PM
That wouldn't solve anything IMO as the problems are at the back - our central defensive options are absoutely dire. Pair any 2 from Caldwell, Hanley, Webster and Berra and you are in big big trouble. There's no-one else coming through unless you move Mulgrew to CB but that would be a waste.
he's just finished an interview with chick young on the radio
Any 'hilarious' comments?
Agree with all of that but is Tom Hateley eligible to play for Scotland? :confused:
He was born in Monte Carlo and his father and grandfather were both born in England. :dunno:
I never knew that. I thought he was Scottish.
22-03-2013, 09:24 PM
There was on SSN about 15 minutes ago.
22-03-2013, 09:24 PM
Strachanometer is definitely twitching :greengrin
22-03-2013, 09:25 PM
Scotland manager Gordon Strachan"We never got reorganised before the second goal went in.
"It was that quick. We didn't have time to make changes or get any subs on and that's killed us.
"The midfield don't really know each other and they way Wales started spooked us. They were excellent at the start of the match.
"But the game turned our way and the second half was an excellent start for us.
"It's hugely disappointing."
So what's next for these teams? Wales host Croatia on Tuesday and Scotland travel to Serbia. Gordon Strachan confirmed that there is no way injured strike Steven Fletcher will be fit to travel.
22-03-2013, 09:27 PM
That wouldn't solve anything IMO as the problems are at the back - our central defensive options are absoutely dire. Pair any 2 from Caldwell, Hanley, Webster and Berra and you are in big big trouble. There's no-one else coming through unless you move Mulgrew to CB but that would be a waste.
You've got a point. We don't have any decent CB in the side nor have we heard of anyone coming through.
22-03-2013, 09:29 PM
It all went downhill as soon as Charlie Adam came on. Absolutely hopeless and couldn't pass wind.
22-03-2013, 09:31 PM
Thats right, lets ignore a rule that every other nation takes advantage of and make our team even weaker. I bet the Irish have been gutted at qualifying for all these competitions over the last few years. :rolleyes:
22-03-2013, 09:31 PM
It was better to watch than CLs team. Still not great but improvement in a Pat Fenlon sort of way
22-03-2013, 09:32 PM
You've got a point. We don't have any decent CB in the side nor have we heard of anyone coming through.
Yep, Strachan has a hell of a job on his hands. No manager could make a decent partnership out of any of that lot.
22-03-2013, 09:37 PM
Tactics and formation help but this is not rocket science - we haven't got any players who have been produced to compete at a decent standard of International level - If Wales can produce Bale and Ramsey why aren't we doing similar?
Until the level of our game / standard of player improves don't expect any improvements - the worrying thing is...other teams are getting better all the time - we are playing catch up...but going backwards at the same time - depressing times :rolleyes:
22-03-2013, 09:38 PM
McPake ?! Oh wait... :cb
22-03-2013, 09:40 PM
Tactics and formation help but this is not rocket science - we haven't got any players who have been produced to compete at a decent standard of International level - If Wales can produce Bale and Ramsey why aren't we doing similar?
Until the level of our game / standard of player improves don't expect any improvements - the worrying thing is...other teams are getting better all the time - we are playing catch up...but going backwards at the same time - depressing times :rolleyes:
Hibs have got the best striker in the country at the moment but he wasn't selected. Putting that wrong right should be high on Strachan's to do list
22-03-2013, 09:42 PM
Yep, Strachan has a hell of a job on his hands. No manager could make a decent partnership out of any of that lot.
True. I really hope there are a couple of good CB coming through as like I said. There isn't any at the moment that we have heard of.
22-03-2013, 09:44 PM
Kenny Miller , Charlie Adam , Shaun Maloney , Grant Hanley should do us all a favour and just retire now from international football. The four of them are total knickers.
22-03-2013, 09:47 PM
Hibs have got the best striker in the country at the moment but he wasn't selected. Putting that wrong right should be high on Strachan's to do list
Agreed - but at the same time from a selfish point of view (Hibs view) I wouldn't want LG playing as he might have been Fletcher tonight and got injured - missed the semi final etc.
But when I saw the squad announced and Kenny Miller in it...I honestly thought he had retired - not good enough any more for International level - let alone has he even been playing?!
This nonsense about give the manager time to change it etc - like I keep saying whoever takes the Scotland job is going to struggle till better players are developed - right now it's a nightmare job as your picking mince from mince.
We 100% aren't qualifying - you may as well try the younger players out and give them experience and see if they are actually any good.
I do hope the coaches at these development schools in Scotland now and youth clubs around the country are doing better than previous coaches otherwise it will be many a year till we Scotland at a major tournament.
22-03-2013, 09:48 PM
I was speaking to a guy from work earlier today as to how on earth out of nowhere a small country called Belgium have produced such a talented strong side that some bookmakers have them down as 4th-5th favourites to win the World Cup. What are they doing right and what are we doing wrong is the answer I want to know?
22-03-2013, 09:51 PM
It all went downhill as soon as Charlie Adam came on. Absolutely hopeless and couldn't pass wind.
Yep, Charlie's got the pace of a snail and the heart of a mouse:confused:
22-03-2013, 09:53 PM
Kenny Miller , Charlie Adam , Shaun Maloney , Grant Hanley should do us all a favour and just retire now from international football. The four of them are total knickers.
Shaun Maloney was one of our better players tonight and Grant Hanley was making his debut, after a shaky start scored and played ok. I suppose one game is enough these days to see whether a player is good enough or not? :rolleyes:
22-03-2013, 09:57 PM
I was speaking to a guy from work earlier today as to how on earth out of nowhere a small country called Belgium have produced such a talented strong side that some bookmakers have them down as 4th-5th favourites to win the World Cup. What are they doing right and what are we doing wrong is the answer I want to know?
Belgium didn't just get good overnight - in 72 and 80 they came 3rd and runners up at the Euros. Teams like Anderlecht were very strong in Europe a few years ago.
The size of the country doesn't matter - look at New Zealand in rugby and Uruguay in football - it's the culture and quality of coaching - SIMPLE.
Until the quality of coaches in Scotland improves at a youth level and we change the drink / unhealthy yob culture we have - there is no chance we will improve - quite a big statement to make but even players in the SPL like a drink and that can't be denied.
HibeeMG
22-03-2013, 09:57 PM
Shaun Maloney was one of our better players tonight and Grant Hanley was making his debut, after a shaky start scored and played ok. I suppose one game is enough these days to see whether a player is good enough or not? :rolleyes:
I agree with all of that.
Maloney is on fire at the moment. I thought there were better options than Hanley to start with but he certainly wasn't the worst on the park and he has to get credit for his goal.
22-03-2013, 09:58 PM
Shaun Maloney never seems to get any better , has 1 good game in 6376292 for Wigan and all a sudden he's brilliant. Get him to **** and get Mackay-Stevens on the pitch..
22-03-2013, 10:00 PM
Shaun Maloney never seems to get any better , has 1 good game in 6376292 for Wigan and all a sudden he's brilliant. Get him to **** and get Mackay-Stevens on the pitch..
You really don't watch much English football do you? Maloney has been one of their best players this season, and the fans love him down here. :confused:
22-03-2013, 10:02 PM
I honestly can't believe you've picked out Maloney, he'd have been my MOTM behind Snodgrass!
Chibs
22-03-2013, 10:05 PM
Enjoyed that and the England game :greengrin
Fair enough.
What can I say other than you will be playing in Brazil and we won't.
Seriously Jealous.
But what the hell I can look forward to watching England getting pumped.
Anyhoo GGTTH
Big Ed
22-03-2013, 10:19 PM
Tonight was Hanley's fifth cap.
22-03-2013, 10:50 PM
I honestly can't believe you've picked out Maloney, he'd have been my MOTM behind Snodgrass!
Maloney doesn't do enough for Scotland. He never scores, and he doesn't set up any goals. Most of the games I've saw him for Scotland, he's looked like a wee boy lost. He just picks the ball up, stops, and then makes wee passes to the closest players all the time. His free kicks are always s**** as well. He was only one of our better player today because the others were so bad. Frankly, he is a luxury that we don't need.
Surely we'd have been better playing a 4-4-2, with a more solid midfield, and Rhodes up front and Miller playing off him? Anyway, there were so many problems tonight it's like picking through dung.
22-03-2013, 10:55 PM
So, so bad. The first half was as embarrassing as anything I've seen at Hampden. Totally outclassed at home by Wales; a smaller country than ourselves whose national game is rugby. So many bad players who are actually meant to be the best the country has. Well if that's true, we've had it. It could be decades before Scotland ever reach a tournament again. Wales were the better team and have beaten us home and away, leaving us bottom of the group. To think we used to have players like Law, Dalglish, Baxter, Souness, Bremner etc.
22-03-2013, 11:28 PM
I think the TV commentary referred to him making his competitive debut tonight, which is where the confusion may have arisen. Tonight was his first game in a WC or EC qualifier I think.
He had a couple of shaky moments early on for sure but also made a few significant challenges, as would be required. I was surprised to discover he's nearly two years younger than Paul Hanlon. Deserves a bit of leeway I suspect.
22-03-2013, 11:30 PM
Belgium didn't just get good overnight - in 72 and 80 they came 3rd and runners up at the Euros. Teams like Anderlecht were very strong in Europe a few years ago.
The size of the country doesn't matter - look at New Zealand in rugby and Uruguay in football - it's the culture and quality of coaching - SIMPLE.
Until the quality of coaches in Scotland improves at a youth level and we change the drink / unhealthy yob culture we have - there is no chance we will improve - quite a big statement to make but even players in the SPL like a drink and that can't be denied.
You've made a few comments now criticising the quality of coaching for kids/youth players.
Are you involved at that level?
What specifically have you seen that you don't like and where was it?
23-03-2013, 06:48 AM
You've made a few comments now criticising the quality of coaching for kids/youth players.
Are you involved at that level?
What specifically have you seen that you don't like and where was it?
I'll give you one the current SFA player pathway moves from 7 a side football at 11 years of age, to 11 a side football at 12. A complete nonsense with no interim move to say 9 a side which countries like England and Spain use. Completely different game on a massive pitch with massive goals. Any wonder the bigger kids are preferred while smaller probably more skilful kids likely to miss out.
Obviously it isnt the only thing but dear oh dear it is a shocker IMO.
23-03-2013, 07:14 AM
Maloney doesn't do enough for Scotland. He never scores, and he doesn't set up any goals. Most of the games I've saw him for Scotland, he's looked like a wee boy lost. He just picks the ball up, stops, and then makes wee passes to the closest players all the time. His free kicks are always s**** as well. He was only one of our better player today because the others were so bad. Frankly, he is a luxury that we don't need.
Surely we'd have been better playing a 4-4-2, with a more solid midfield, and Rhodes up front and Miller playing off him? Anyway, there were so many problems tonight it's like picking through dung.
Seriously? His freekicks are always *****?! What about the one against Belgium that was flying into the top corner before Cortouis(sp) somehow got to it? And he almost set up a goal tonight, his pass to Snodgrass, who consequently hit the post.
I find it ironic that you're saying all these things about Maloney only to say in the next paragraph that you think Miller is worthy of a starting spot. He was his usual self tonight, just falling over and not doing an awful lot besides missing good chances.
23-03-2013, 07:29 AM
I'll give you one the current SFA player pathway moves from 7 a side football at 11 years of age, to 11 a side football at 12. A complete nonsense with no interim move to say 9 a side which countries like England and Spain use. Completely different game on a massive pitch with massive goals. Any wonder the bigger kids are preferred while smaller probably more skilful kids likely to miss out.
Spot. On. In fact a lot of Clubs actually start playing 11s at 11 so that they don't get caught out when they actually go U13s.
Player development in this country is a bad joke. Some of the behaviour you see from so called Coaches but adult spectators at matches is embarrassing, when you combine the fact that we still INSIST on playing the winter game with the complete lack of sufficient winter training facilities it's no wonder we're in the mess we're in.
23-03-2013, 08:05 AM
A different sport but I've always admired New Zealand and their rugby at schools.
Kids play in weight groups, not age groups. That way no big unit has an advantage over his peers. They are all roughly the same size. This forces kids to focus on handling skills, tackling and running technique, not simply bulldozing over the try line with five smaller kids hanging off them.
Big Ed
23-03-2013, 08:25 AM
I think the TV commentary referred to him making his competitive debut tonight, which is where the confusion may have arisen. Tonight was his first game in a WC or EC qualifier I think.
He had a couple of shaky moments early on for sure but also made a few significant challenges, as would be required. I was surprised to discover he's nearly two years younger than Paul Hanlon. Deserves a bit of leeway I suspect.
Fair dos: I was merely responding to a post that implied that he was a complete novice at international level.
23-03-2013, 09:20 AM
23-03-2013, 09:28 AM
I said it when the team was announced, Mickey Thomas was spot on. That was THE worst Scotland side I have ever seen...on paper and on the park. I really can't see us recovering. We WILL finish bottom of the group with no wins. We will continue to slip down the pots until verry quickly hitting rock bottom with the likes of San Marino, Lichtensein (who we struggled to beat), the Faroes (who we always struggle tp beat) etc. We are finished as football nation. Sad times!
Big Ed
23-03-2013, 09:40 AM
Pardon?
23-03-2013, 09:42 AM
I don't disagree about the switch from 7s to 11s.
But to be accurate that's not about the quality of the coaching, which is what I asked, it's about the process.
23-03-2013, 09:44 AM
Fair dos: I was merely responding to a post that implied that he was a complete novice at international level.
The commentary caught me out - I inferred it was his debut then when I thought about it I was puzzled because I was sure he had played previously :greengrin
darwenhibby
23-03-2013, 09:52 AM
Spot. On. In fact a lot of Clubs actually start playing 11s at 11 so that they don't get caught out when they actually go U13s.
Player development in this country is a bad joke. Some of the behaviour you see from so called Coaches but adult spectators at matches is embarrassing, when you combine the fact that we still INSIST on playing the winter game with the complete lack of sufficient winter training facilities it's no wonder we're in the mess we're in.
The two best posts on here in ages. Until the blazers wake up and smell the coffee it is pointless having a national team. When I was a kid I used to get laughed at the school about Scotland being on the first plane home. What would do to get near to qualifying let alone qualify!
23-03-2013, 09:55 AM
The two best posts on here in ages. Until the blazers wake up and smell the coffee it is pointless having a national team. When I was a kid I used to get laughed at the school about Scotland being on the first plane home. What would do to get near to qualifying let alone qualify!
To be fair, people just laughed at you anyway
23-03-2013, 10:04 AM
To be fair, people just laughed at you anyway
I have heard they s****** when he gets on the Lancaster bus. :agree:
23-03-2013, 10:33 AM
I posted a little anecdote I'd heard about the Barca players when they were over for the friendly and staying in St Andrews - a friend of mine who helped the squad out with travel arrangements that summer told me that the players used to 'sneak out' of the hotel, order taxis, and go to local garages to buy sweets and confectionary - not jagerbombs, pints or nandos - sweets !!!
Apparently Pep Guardiola was a very strict manager with regards diet and looking after your body, and sweets and a bad diet was dealt with severely (this was from one of the English speaking players - I think Hearts signed him :greengrin:faf: oh aye, forgot, he never).
Take a wee read of certain Scottish players twitter accounts over the next week and this weekend - let's see how many 'can't wait for the bombs' or are off to Lulu etc - that sadly is the Scottish football player culture - now I know I'll get the 'players have to relax' and 'have you never bevvied' responses from some - but our current national manager ended his playing days in his 40's and at a high level due to Gordon being very quick to realise about diet and looking after your body (yes he took the odd fish supper at the Montgomery Fry :greengrin) - our SPL players have to take a long hard look at themselves if they want to reach any kind of successful level - and our kids at the academies, who are getting inputs regularly on diet, off the field behaviour, etc need that penny to drop.
The coaching is improving but we still live in the 'dad living out his fantasy in the shape of his son' coaching model - barking from the touchline, 'square baw' and 'get in hard son' type 'coaching' - playing the 'biggest laddies' at the back and the 'strongest laddie' up top - players are not being taught the art of technique and positions, they are not being coached to be versatile.
Last night's team was a shambles as it was 11 strangers thrown together - the second I saw the midfield I knew we'd be in big bother. There was no real height or a player who could link, hold and show composure - it had no experienced head there. Ledley and Ramsay were allowed to run the show - McArthur, I'm sorry but I've never ever rated this lad - he runs about like he's been stung on the backside and offers little in the way of link up play. Burke must have had to be shown what the football looked like at the end of the game, as for the whole of the second half he never saw it - yet he was quite direct when he was given possession first half. Snodgrass was good, but was treading a fine line - I actually thought he could have seen red for a tackle shortly after he had been booked first half - Maloney came into the game second half, but for some reason midway through that half went infield, when all his good work was on the flank.
Caldwell and Hanley - of dear oh dear oh dear - Caldwell is a player like Christian Dailly - how on earth he has commanded the fees and salary over his career is quite astonishing - he's a terrible centre half - very good at pointing though and putting his arm in the air for no reason.
Fletch going off should have paved the way for Rhodes - similar player, strong and composed for a young man.
Charlie Adam - I think someone slipped tranquilizer in his half time tea. What a horrible horrible player he is to watch. He's no more than a Junior footballer with a good left foot at a set piece. Watch his movement for both goals - absolutely not bothered his bahookie to make a real attempt to defend and track back. And he was a sub !!!
All in all, the first 45 minutes yesterday, was quite simply the worst football I've watched in years - the Scotland youth levels were more competent. As I said, 11 strangers thrown together who played like strangers.
23-03-2013, 10:42 AM
Agree with all of that, especially the last bit. Expecting kids to learn the game properly whilst they play in the freezing cold. wind, rain etc is stupidity.
23-03-2013, 10:48 AM
Very good point.