View Full Version : NHC Serbia v Scotland

bathhibby
19-03-2013, 08:49 PM
Anyone heading East ?

19-03-2013, 09:35 PM
Not going this time, travelled through Belgrade on the way to/from Skopje when we played there, its a fantastic city.

19-03-2013, 09:58 PM
:agree: Sunday to Wednesday :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:s altireflag:saltireflag

19-03-2013, 10:14 PM
Anyone heading East ?

:agree: Sunday to Wednesday :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:s altireflag:saltireflag

Why?

20-03-2013, 01:47 PM
Only 4 posts this time, must be a new record.

20-03-2013, 01:50 PM
heading through to Hampden on Friday

Velma Dinkley
20-03-2013, 01:57 PM
Heading through on Monday morn :aok:

18Craig75
20-03-2013, 02:33 PM
Hading there on Saturday morning. No doubt with a sore head from the Wales game!!

Ross4356
20-03-2013, 02:58 PM
Why?

Trolling

bathhibby
20-03-2013, 08:46 PM
Traveling myself with Bristolhibby on Sunday - Really looking forward to Belgrade :thumbsup:

20-03-2013, 10:32 PM
Why?

Why not? It's a place I have never been, so much history there and so much to see and do. Why do people go anywhere, the football is only 90 minutes of my 3 days away.

21-03-2013, 08:26 AM
Not going this time due to my husband having a slight problem with Serbians ;-) Stopped in Belgrade on the way to Macedonia a few years back though

Brummie_Hibs
21-03-2013, 10:15 AM
Got a 'red eye' from Gatwick on Saturday morning to Vienna. I have one night there sightseeing, then flying down to Belgrade on the Sunday until Thursday.

21-03-2013, 12:44 PM
Got a 'red eye' from Gatwick on Saturday morning to Vienna. I have one night there sightseeing, then flying down to Belgrade on the Sunday until Thursday.

That should help you acclimatise. Just head up to 'Ottakring (http://www.tourmycountry.com/austria/sixteenth-district-vienna.htm)' and you'll think you're already in the Balkans :wink:

21-03-2013, 01:32 PM
For anyone who hasn't been to Belgrade before make sure you pay a visit to the floating bars on the Danube in the city, the sights both on and off the boats are stunning! :aok:

green glory
21-03-2013, 01:50 PM
For anyone who hasn't been to Belgrade before make sure you pay a visit to the floating bars on the Danube in the city, the sights both on and off the boats are stunning! :aok:

A couple of nice ones on the Novi Beograd side of the river. Get a taxi though, driving NOT recommended.

21-03-2013, 02:07 PM
A couple of nice ones on the Novi Beograd side of the river. Get a taxi though, driving NOT recommended.

Is a taxi the best bet from the Old Town. Fancy going to one of these clubs, but it looks a hoofing walk.

21-03-2013, 04:46 PM
heading South East on Sunday morning, planning to spend Saturday looking up places to visit
hope if anybody's Lufthansa flights are affected by the strike that they make it okay

21-03-2013, 04:59 PM
Been to Novi Sad for Exit Festival, never got the chance to go Belgrade though, really liked the Serbian people that we met, there football fans give them a bad name though.

18Craig75
21-03-2013, 06:32 PM
heading South East on Sunday morning, planning to spend Saturday looking up places to visit
hope if anybody's Lufthansa flights are affected by the strike that they make it okay

I called to confirm today and was assured that the strike was to only affect today! :aok:

21-03-2013, 06:51 PM

:party::party:

22-03-2013, 10:02 PM
Why not? It's a place I have never been, so much history there and so much to see and do. Why do people go anywhere, the football is only 90 minutes of my 3 days away.

Put you're eye-patches on - brace yourself for a good kicking and it'll be a grand well spent following that bunch of hoofers.

It's you're money.

Serbia ain't in any tourist books.

Ross4356
23-03-2013, 09:53 AM
Put you're eye-patches on - brace yourself for a good kicking and it'll be a grand well spent following that bunch of hoofers.

It's you're money.

Trolling again!

23-03-2013, 10:14 AM

It's you're money.

OK, I'll bite.....neither are Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, Macedonia, Hungary, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia and many other fantastic places I've been lucky enough to visit whilst following Scotland. Many places I would never have dreamed of travelling to but so glad I did. I've seen some amazing places like Chernobyl, Gori, Lake Matka, Caucasus mountains, the stuning city of Minsk, Geyser...............all places I would never have gone to but for Scotland games.

On the other hand, plenty brochures full of horrible cesspits inundated with **** bags like Benidorm, Faliraki, Playa de la Americas, Torremolinos etc. I know where I'd rather go!

23-03-2013, 10:54 AM
Must admit. Last night has taken the wind out if my sails somewhat. But as always I will dust myself off and head abroad.

I can echo the AberGreen, I have been to places I would never normally see, and for that I thank Scotland.

As always the football is an irrelevance, but I love the trips.

Have booked up for Croatia as well.

Onward and upward.

23-03-2013, 01:08 PM
Is a taxi the best bet from the Old Town. Fancy going to one of these clubs, but it looks a hoofing walk.

It's a taxi journey, bit of a trek by foot - we trekked it one way then taxied back but wouldn't try walking it again! My only concern is that a lot of these river clubs might not be open at this time of year given the majority are open-deck barges - worth checking with the locals first.

23-03-2013, 01:10 PM

It's you're money.

That's a good thing - means Belgrade is still a half-hidden gem in eastern Europe and is in no danger of turning into the next Krakow or Prague :-)

25-03-2013, 01:59 PM
Miller to start tomorrow.

25-03-2013, 02:10 PM
Miller to start tomorrow.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/3/3b/Paris_Tuileries_Garden_Facepalm_statue.jpg/300px-Paris_Tuileries_Garden_Facepalm_statue.jpg

pontius pilate
25-03-2013, 02:15 PM
Honestly it's the same old shiete from the W.G.S and the rest of the SFA beaks what's wrong with playing younger players we need to get rid of the deadwood in players like Miller,Caldwell Etc Etv

25-03-2013, 04:18 PM
OK, I'll bite.....neither are Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, Macedonia, Hungary, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia and many other fantastic places I've been lucky enough to visit whilst following Scotland. Many places I would never have dreamed of travelling to but so glad I did. I've seen some amazing places like Chernobyl, Gori, Lake Matka, Caucasus mountains, the stuning city of Minsk, Geyser...............all places I would never have gone to but for Scotland games.

On the other hand, plenty brochures full of horrible cesspits inundated with **** bags like Benidorm, Faliraki, Playa de la Americas, Torremolinos etc. I know where I'd rather go!

Quite.

I'm not a fan of the national side but I've no animosity to those who are. I've been fortunate through my research to see some lovely places across the World I wouldn't have ordinarily have seen (and certainly not tourist hotspots) and if following Scotland provides people with an excuse (for lack of a better word) to get out and experience some different places and cultures which may be dissuaded by those who have no sense of adventure and cite safety for their travel patterns, this can only be a good thing.

Scotland are absolutely pish and I doubt many folks would argue but for most of the Tartan Army, they travel for the travel and without expectation for the most part.

The unyielding desire to give people **** for travelling with the national side never made much sense to me.

25-03-2013, 05:23 PM
I've been fortunate through my research to see some lovely places across the World I wouldn't have ordinarily have seen (and certainly not tourist hotspots) and if following Scotland provides people with an excuse (for lack of a better word) to get out and experience some different places and cultures which may be dissuaded by those who have no sense of adventure and cite safety for their travel patterns, this can only be a good thing.

Scotland are absolutely pish and I doubt many folks would argue but for most of the Tartan Army, they travel for the travel and without expectation for the most part.

The unyielding desire to give people **** for travelling with the national side never made much sense to me.

Pretty much describes my experiences of these away games.

Results like the one in Paris when they come along just makes being there all the sweeter.

(I realise Paris is in a travel brochure or two)

25-03-2013, 08:29 PM
Honestly it's the same old shiete from the W.G.S and the rest of the SFA beaks what's wrong with playing younger players we need to get rid of the deadwood in players like Miller,Caldwell Etc Etv

Who would you play ahead of Miller tomorrow?

25-03-2013, 08:40 PM

Rhodes/Griffiths?

seanshow
25-03-2013, 11:15 PM
Paul Caddis brought into the squad

25-03-2013, 11:22 PM

I'd pick Rhodes, M. We need to move on from the guys that have failed us :agree:

25-03-2013, 11:30 PM
I say we should start Mackay-Steven tomorrow :agree:

25-03-2013, 11:59 PM
http://en.wikipedia....€“_UEFA_Group_A (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_%E2%80%93_UEFA_G roup_A)

On the next match day (26 March 2013)

Scotland will be eliminated if:

they don't win against Serbia AND Belgium wins against Macedonia AND Croatia wins against Wales

Scotland will be unable to qualify directly if:

they lose to Serbia AND Belgium don't lose to Macedonia OR Croatia don't lose to Wales, OR
they draw with Serbia AND Belgium wins against Macedonia OR Croatia wins against Wales

26-03-2013, 09:23 AM
I'll be watching Montenegro v England instead, should be a cracking game, featuring one of the best up and coming sides in world football (thats the Montenegrans, not England).

Am i a bad person?

26-03-2013, 09:32 AM
I'll be watching Montenegro v England instead, should be a cracking game, featuring one of the best up and coming sides in world football (thats the Montenegrans, not England).

Am i a bad person?

Yeh :agree:

France v Spain is the game to watch tonight but can't find a channel that's showing so the internet stream for me.

26-03-2013, 09:40 AM

Am i a bad person?

Yes :wink:, fans cant berate the team and say they are pish, or lack effort when not even bothering to watch them. You don't imo get an option when supporting your national team if you are a football fan.

26-03-2013, 10:18 AM
Yes :wink:, fans cant berate the team and say they are pish, or lack effort when not even bothering to watch them. You don't imo get an option when supporting your national team if you are a football fan.

Really? You mean i HAVE to watch Scotland? What a ****ing pisser :boo hoo:

26-03-2013, 10:23 AM
Really? You mean i HAVE to watch Scotland? What a ****ing pisser :boo hoo:

That's the spirit, if I have to suffer then so do the rest of you. :greengrin

pontius pilate
26-03-2013, 10:24 AM

I'd play Rhodes up front with support from either Naismith/ Maloney in the supporting role. I'd also play Paul caddis

26-03-2013, 10:53 AM
That's the spirit, if I have to suffer then so do the rest of you. :greengrin

OK, Alcohol as painkiller then.

pontius pilate
26-03-2013, 10:54 AM
Game may be off due to snow. FFS

26-03-2013, 11:04 AM

OK, Alcohol as painkiller then.

:greengrin its your duty. :agree:

Ross4356
26-03-2013, 01:32 PM
Tartan Army helped clear the pitch of snow. 6pm inspection

26-03-2013, 03:16 PM
Tartan Army helped clear the pitch of snow. 6pm inspection

That can't be right. Surely they're all blootered, not giving a **** about the game and flashing the locals with their "jimmy" hats on.

26-03-2013, 03:22 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BGSnqcsCEAEWR-8.jpg:large

26-03-2013, 03:24 PM

Bloody liberal do-gooders :grr:

26-03-2013, 03:40 PM

Am i a bad person?

Yeh :agree:

France v Spain is the game to watch tonight but can't find a channel that's showing so the internet stream for me.

France v Spain is the game to watch tonight :agree: Can't find it on any channels though ?

26-03-2013, 03:55 PM

We'll be shovelling
We'll be shovelling all your snow

wee 162
26-03-2013, 04:26 PM
France v Spain is the game to watch tonight :agree: Can't find it on any channels though ?

Not on the tele but The Guardian are streaming it.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/interactive/2013/mar/25/france-spain-live-video-stream

hibby rae
26-03-2013, 05:15 PM

I believe the topless one might be my brother's flatmate. Just seen a pic of him posing on fb. Mental Scotland fan, even goes to see the U-21s abroad.

26-03-2013, 05:57 PM
Some bad news: :greengrin

@BBCchrismclaug: #Serbia v #Scotland - pitch inspection complete - game on! Live on BBC 1 Scotland. KO 1930 #BBCSport

26-03-2013, 06:14 PM
We'll be shovelling
We'll be shovelling all your snow

26-03-2013, 06:23 PM
Team: Marshall, Hutton, Caldwell, Hanley, Whittaker, McArthur, Bridcutt, Naismith, Boyd, Maloney, Rhodes

Bridcutt and Boyd?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5RgKYpISuw4

I'll grit my teeth and look past the "I'm too ***** for England so may as well try with Scotland" selections and wish the team well.

26-03-2013, 06:24 PM
No Miller - Pleasing

26-03-2013, 06:38 PM
Bridcutt is a ridiculous name. Only retired Colonels with curly moustaches should be called Bridcutt :agree:

26-03-2013, 06:45 PM
Bridcutt is a ridiculous name. Only retired Colonels with curly moustaches should be called Bridcutt :agree:

Who does Bridcutt play for

26-03-2013, 06:45 PM

Brighton

26-03-2013, 06:53 PM

The Jolly Old Corinthians.

26-03-2013, 07:06 PM
Potter on ESPN "Its hard in International football to play two up front". Aye fair enough but what about one.

26-03-2013, 07:10 PM
Full Serbia team - Stojkovic, Ivanovic, Bisevac, Nastasić, Rajkovic, Fejsa, Petrovic, Basta, Djuricic, Tadic, Djordjevic

26-03-2013, 07:19 PM
Scotland team : Marshall, Hutton, Caldwell, Hanley, Whittaker, McArthur, Boyd, Bridcutt, Maloney, Rhodes, Naismith

26-03-2013, 07:21 PM
It's no gonnae be long til Scotland field an aw English 11

Gilks, Martin, Bardsley, Fox, Mackie, Commons, Phillips, Bridcutt,Morrison, Rhodes, Mackail-Smith

26-03-2013, 07:27 PM
I'm predicting a Scotland win. Comfortable as well. :wink:

26-03-2013, 07:30 PM
Pitch isn't that bad. :cb

26-03-2013, 07:32 PM
So the choice is listening to Craig Burley on ESPN or Liam McLeod on BBC one, I think I'm going to have to go for the mute option! :bitchy:

26-03-2013, 07:35 PM
So the choice is listening to Craig Burley on ESPN or Liam McLeod on BBC one, I think I'm going to have to go for the mute option! :bitchy:

Craig Burley for me ;)

JHFC
26-03-2013, 07:36 PM
Bridcutt looks good

26-03-2013, 07:41 PM
Bridcutt looks good

He's English though is he not?

26-03-2013, 07:42 PM

That's easy.... ESPN every time. Has McLeod or Dodds mentioned last season SCF yet??

26-03-2013, 07:43 PM
It's no gonnae be long til Scotland field an aw English 11

Gilks, Martin, Bardsley, Fox, Mackie, Commons, Phillips, Bridcutt,Morrison, Rhodes, Mackail-Smith

If LG was in the squad we might of had a team of Serbians in 20 years time :)

26-03-2013, 07:45 PM
Is the pitch plastic or grass? :greengrin

26-03-2013, 07:46 PM

Andy Murray on SS4 . I can virtually guarantee a Scottish win!

26-03-2013, 07:48 PM
Jordan Rhodes playing in the Chilean Miner Role.

Totally isolated.

26-03-2013, 07:50 PM
Andy Murray on SS4 . I can virtually guarantee a Scottish win!

We have a winner, thank you!! :greengrin

26-03-2013, 07:51 PM
If LG was in the squad we might of had a team of Serbians in 20 years time :)

Nearly spat my Pils out.

26-03-2013, 07:53 PM
Pretty ***** so far. Hope my chinky arrives soon.

26-03-2013, 07:55 PM
Pretty ***** so far. Hope my chinky arrives soon.

There could be trouble ahead.........

26-03-2013, 07:56 PM
Oooft, that was some challenge on Rhodes.

Bridcutt and Boyd looking not too bad, some good touches and passes. We still have the same problem though, the defence sits on the 18 yard box, the midfield stays about 30 yards out, and then Rhodes is stranded up front by himself.

26-03-2013, 07:57 PM
Scotland games are usually dire but this one is just awful stuff.

26-03-2013, 07:58 PM
I've already phoned the police.

26-03-2013, 08:00 PM

I'm outraged

26-03-2013, 08:00 PM

Bet only a constable arrives :)

26-03-2013, 08:01 PM
That Bridcutt looks a tidy player.

Pity he's playing on this kind of surface.

26-03-2013, 08:03 PM

Chinese guy on the bicycle will still be there first.

26-03-2013, 08:03 PM
That Bridcutt looks a tidy player.

Pity he's playing on this kind of surface.

Boyd as well looks good when he gets the ball. Would of been better playing on a ploughed field tbh.

Rooney just about scored a screamer

26-03-2013, 08:06 PM
Ladies and gentleman.. Billy Dodds...
30 minutes gone (when asked what he thought about the new guys) - "We've seen nothing much from them so far"
32 minutes gone - "Bridcutt, who's been excellent so far. Neat and tidy"
http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m8dyroysi81ruq9n3.gif

26-03-2013, 08:07 PM
Maybe better if they had just shown 90 minutes of the Serb fans and the Tartan Army clearing the snow.

26-03-2013, 08:09 PM
Boyd as well looks good when he gets the ball. Would of been better playing on a ploughed field tbh.

Rooney just about scored a screamer

Do you have 2 telly's on ?

26-03-2013, 08:10 PM
Wales beating Croatia.

26-03-2013, 08:11 PM
Grant Hanley. Takes no prisoners. Tough as old boots.

26-03-2013, 08:11 PM
Do you have 2 telly's on ?

No but got a Virgin HD box and I just flick back using BACK button.

26-03-2013, 08:14 PM
No but got a Virgin HD box and I just flick back using BACK button.

Good idea. :aok:

Now watching 3 games and the tennis. Andy Murray winning on SS4.

26-03-2013, 08:19 PM
just in and seen last few minutes .....that pitch :shocked:.....also whats the story with the 'House' they went into at HT....was it not Clyde who had an affair like that at their old ground :greengrin

Yessssss ya beauty! HT

Watching Scotland is like having toothache.

I can't believe how poor we've become. All of our clubs, coaches and academies better be watching this - investment in youth is absolutely vital. Does James MacArthur realise which way we are playing ? And does Gary Caldwell have a mate in the stand because he's constantly trying to give him a match ball to take home as a keepsake !

Dreadful team, dreadful formation.

just in and seen last few minutes .....that pitch :shocked:.....also whats the story with the 'House' they went into at HT....was it not Clyde who had an affair like that at their old ground :greengrin

I loved that wee hoose at Broomfield.

26-03-2013, 08:20 PM
Yes get in there!!!!!!! Chinky's arrived.

26-03-2013, 08:21 PM

Airdrie

26-03-2013, 08:22 PM

:hnet:

26-03-2013, 08:23 PM
30 minutes gone (when asked what he thought about the new guys) - "We've seen nothing much from them so far"

Dodds is an anagram for slavering fud :greengrin

Bridcutt has been very good :agree:

26-03-2013, 08:24 PM

Grandad. Is that you?

HiBremian
26-03-2013, 08:24 PM
Looks like a couple o junior teams on a junior pitch. Thank ferk I cooked a mega-hot Indian before the kickoff and washed it doon wi' 2 litres best plonk.

26-03-2013, 08:25 PM
Gareth Bale sitter. :greengrin

26-03-2013, 08:27 PM

Get yer tin hat on.

26-03-2013, 08:28 PM
Grandad. Is that you?

**** off ahm no sharing!

26-03-2013, 08:28 PM
Get yer tin hat on.

A wok's better for deflecting :)

26-03-2013, 08:30 PM
A wok's better for deflecting :)

26-03-2013, 08:32 PM
Some line up from the Beeb Faddy , Nevin and a plooky ironing board.

Charlie Adam on :(

If things had went as we had planned, a win vs Macedonia at home, 6 points off of Wales, we'd be delighted with a 0-0 at HT here.

26-03-2013, 08:33 PM
I loved that wee hoose at Broomfield.

Airdrie

:agree: thats right my mistake - only other odd affair like that is Craven Cottage which still has it ...

Although this one looked inflatable / tent?

hibsmad
26-03-2013, 08:34 PM

Erse of a man.

26-03-2013, 08:36 PM
Great finish that.

26-03-2013, 08:37 PM
More diving cheats trying to rob us blind.

you know the old cliche...'ploughing a lone furrow'.........could have been made for Rhodes tonight :greengrin

That was a yellow card dive booking.....

Calamity Caldwell went AWOL there.

26-03-2013, 08:38 PM
Liam is not going to be at Brighton much longer if this is typical of his performances - playing football in a field

26-03-2013, 08:41 PM
I'm abroad at the moment and at the start of the second half just seen the starts on BBC

Possession

45%55%52minsSerbiaScotland

Shots
On target

Corners

Fouls

26-03-2013, 08:43 PM
I'm abroad at the moment and at the start of the second half just seen the starts on BBC

Possession

45%55%52minsSerbiaScotland

Shots

On target

Corners

Fouls

It didn't quite come out alright but rest assured all those stats that start with zero are Scotland FFD

26-03-2013, 08:45 PM
1-0 Serbia

HiBremian
26-03-2013, 08:45 PM
Rhodes misses a sitter, Serbia score in next minute!

26-03-2013, 08:46 PM
Murray won. Have I missed anything?

****ing hell, all over the place there. Looked like a primary school team trying to get back there.

Self destruct button. Dearie me

26-03-2013, 08:47 PM
Griffiths would of done so much better that Rhodes there. ****ing joke he's not in the squad.

Where the **** was Caldwell?

David_D
****ing hell, all over the place there. Looked like a primary school team trying to get back there.

I think that is being rather unkind to primary school football. :wink:

26-03-2013, 08:48 PM
Don't worry folks we can still qualify :greengrin

Did the defender on the ground decide to knock that back across the box?

Get yer tin hat on.

Dinnae see what the problem is! :confused:

26-03-2013, 08:49 PM
Griffiths would of done so much better that Rhodes there. ****ing joke he's not in the squad.

i would go as far as to say Griffiths has more ability than anyone who started for Scotland tonight

quite glad he's not running about in that bog tonight though

26-03-2013, 08:49 PM
Dinnae see what the problem is! :confused:

Neither do I but I felt for sure others would.

I mean eating a Chinky on a Tuesday night is that right?

26-03-2013, 08:50 PM
1_0 Serbia, that's plan A f@@ked !!!

David_D
26-03-2013, 08:51 PM
Caldwell AGAIN :grr::grr::grr:

Caldwell pack your bags.

2-0 :faf: pathetic

HiBremian
1_0 Serbia, that's plan A f@@ked !!!

2-0 Serbia, that's plan b ferked as well

**** off Caldwell

cant believe FIFA think this is a suitable pitch.....

Caldwell howler as we were playing well again....

26-03-2013, 08:52 PM
Defence is utterly pathetic. Get Caldwell and Hutton to ****. Complete and utter liabilities who have let us done time and time again.

Seriously time to dump the has been's and bring in the laddies.

steviehibsleith
Gary caldwell is a bombscare what does he have to do to get the bullet andy webster is a mile better and that hurts to say

Don't worry folks we can still qualify :greengrin

We are absolute rubbish.cant believe how low we have sunk

Stachan out. Butcher in.

Haha what a load of s h I t e

26-03-2013, 08:53 PM
The pitch is in good nick, whats going on there?

Bye Gary - never in a million years a top level footballer. Take Charlie with you please.

And Alan.

26-03-2013, 08:54 PM
Hibs V Scotland would be an all time classic game, i think we might win

26-03-2013, 08:54 PM
We can now look forward to Euro 16

HibernianJK
26-03-2013, 08:55 PM
Fenlon out Strachan in

The way things are going we are going to find ourselves in pot 5. We could be depending on lady luck being on our sides for that draw.

Utter utter garbage...

26-03-2013, 08:56 PM

Exactly 2 for 1 Tuesday with dominoes!! Cannae beat an eyetie

26-03-2013, 08:57 PM
The way things are going we are going to find ourselves in pot 5. We could be depending on lady luck being on our sides for that draw.

Scotland and lady luck eh? Not often found together.

26-03-2013, 08:57 PM

Was either that or a visit to the "deep fried seafood and potatoes" establishment as it apparently now needs to be called. :wink:

David_D
26-03-2013, 08:58 PM
I suppose we should be thankful that we only see this defending from Scotland these days, All too often It was Hibs defending like this every week.

26-03-2013, 08:58 PM
Scotland try but they are just not that good.

26-03-2013, 08:59 PM
Scotland are pathetic!

steviehibsleith
Craig Burley is not my fave person but made a great point in his column this week after the Wales defeat - "gary caldwell in any other generation wouldnt have even got in the 25 man squad "

Their keepers headgear reminds me of the blackadder goes forth "wibble" scene.

Ah well. Time for csi

26-03-2013, 09:00 PM
Was either that or a visit to the "deep fried seafood and potatoes" establishment as it apparently now needs to be called. :wink:

Hope you never got a number 5, they're fekun brutal!!

26-03-2013, 09:00 PM
How bad is Hutton

26-03-2013, 09:01 PM
Craig Burley is not my fave person but made a great point in his column this week after the Wales defeat - "gary caldwell in any other generation wouldnt have even got in the 25 man squad "

Aye, the 25 man squad for Celtic. I thought he was lax and poor for Hibs to be honest. A player who is like Dailly - has accumulated huge wealth on the back of being a quite terrible footballer.

Amit
26-03-2013, 09:01 PM
Just turned on. That commentator is terrible. Surprised he hasn't mentioned the Scottish Cup Final yet...!

26-03-2013, 09:03 PM
Switched the TV off after the second goal went in. Bad enough watching Scotland without having to also listen to that cretin Liam McLeod. BBC, get him tae ****

26-03-2013, 09:03 PM
2 woeful goals. Worst defence from an international team in quite some time.

26-03-2013, 09:04 PM
Just turned on. That commentator is terrible. Surprised he hasn't mentioned the Scottish Cup Final yet...!

haha that made me chuckle, hes a slavering jambo sod, loves a cup final mention

26-03-2013, 09:05 PM
@McJmk1987st: If Scotland were in the SPL, Dundee would be safe. :faf:

Miller on :faf:

andy1875
26-03-2013, 09:06 PM
This game tonight and tourney overall is like the steady decline of the family pet dog.

It's pure suffering and you just want it all to end. Horrific.

26-03-2013, 09:06 PM
Miller?

Why are you doing this to us Gordon, why:boo hoo:

HiBremian
26-03-2013, 09:07 PM
@McJmk1987st: If Scotland were in the SPL, Dundee would be safe. :faf:

Miller on :faf:

Miller out, Nish in :-)

26-03-2013, 09:08 PM
How bad is Hutton

:agree:his international career should end here. End of.

26-03-2013, 09:08 PM
Hope you never got a number 5, they're fekun brutal!!

I didn't take 5 but Scotland might? Getting indigestion watching this. Beginning to wish I'd had an Itai! :tin hat:

26-03-2013, 09:12 PM
Their goalkeeper looks a complete nightmare. Has he even had a save to make?

Scotland are brutal.

26-03-2013, 09:13 PM
Strachan out; .netters never gave Fenlon this amount of time :greengrin

26-03-2013, 09:13 PM
That pitch is heavier than Blackpoolhibs.

26-03-2013, 09:14 PM
Nice touch to have Borat doing the PR in the stadium.

26-03-2013, 09:14 PM
With our fixture list, Croatia twice, Belgium, England, Macedonia away, Strachan's start could be ****ing woeful.

26-03-2013, 09:15 PM

The manager will stick by Caldwell.

Another nippy sweetie. :greengrin

26-03-2013, 09:16 PM
Hope Wales can qualify :aok:

26-03-2013, 09:19 PM
Hope Wales can qualify :aok:

Do you not mean Bales?? ;-)

26-03-2013, 09:20 PM
FT :faf:

26-03-2013, 09:21 PM
For those with only council telly, last 25 mins of France-Spain is free on the Daily Telegraph website:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/competitions/world-cup-2014/9954626/World-Cup-2014-qualifiers-France-v-Spain-watch-live.html

26-03-2013, 09:22 PM
Do you not mean Bales?? ;-)

They've actually got a few decent players. Ramsey looks a better player for Wales than when he plays for Arsenal. That Williams laddie looks very exciting aswell. They played some great stuff @ Hampden also. Good luck to them.

Edit- Croatia score lol.

Good luck to Ireland!

26-03-2013, 09:22 PM
Well back to Hibs. Yipee.

That was just f*****g dire.

26-03-2013, 09:25 PM
Thank God thats the pretend football out the way for abother wee while.

26-03-2013, 09:27 PM
Scotland has more world class tennis players than world class footballers.

pontius pilate
26-03-2013, 09:28 PM
Hopefully Strachan can now get rid of Miller Caldwell Hutton Adam etc. Time for new blood now me personally I'd have
McGregor
Fox. Mulgrew. Hanley. Wallace/Caddis

Maloney. Bridcutt Brown. Mackay-Stevens
And either Rhodes/Sparky/Boyd Fletch
Subs: Marshall Wallace Hanlon Morrison Russell and the two up front who aren't starting.

26-03-2013, 09:32 PM
I seriously hope that we have 2 good CB's coming through as our defence is just as bad as Calderwood's Hibs defence.

26-03-2013, 09:34 PM
Croatia come from behind to lead 2-1. That's us officially out.

26-03-2013, 09:34 PM
I stopped watching after the 2nd goal went in and went onto the laptop. Whilst I was on I listened to the radio commentary which, to me was appalling. Serbia are a better team than Scotland-fact. But the way they were talking, Gordon and Miller that is, Serbia were a joy to watch, and that's just pish. It must've taken them over an hour approx to score against a poor team, and apart from the first 10 mins or so in the 1st half, for the rest of the half created not very much. The 2 goals were defensive errors, Serbia are nothing special on the basis of their 2 performances against Scotland, dunno how they managed to hump Wales, cos they look strong enough at the back but are pretty notorius for not scoring that many goals anyway. And Caldwell and the pitch were both equally *****.

pontius pilate
26-03-2013, 09:35 PM
Not forgetting we still have Mackay Vigours Morrison Commons McFadden Etc

26-03-2013, 09:35 PM
I seriously hope that we have 2 good CB's coming through as our defence is just as bad as Calderwood's Hibs defence.

Does Junior Agogo have a Scottish granny by any chance?

26-03-2013, 09:51 PM
Hopefully Strachan can now get rid of Miller Caldwell Hutton Adam etc. Time for new blood now me personally I'd have
McGregor
Fox. Mulgrew. Hanley. Wallace/Caddis

Maloney. Bridcutt Brown. Mackay-Stevens
And either Rhodes/Sparky/Boyd Fletch
Subs: Marshall Wallace Hanlon Morrison Russell and the two up front who aren't starting.

No....just no...unless there's a Wallace playing at a decent level that I've never heard of? And Fox is a left back but I'd have Whitty over him any day.

Can't argue with the central defence though, Caldwell has been found out big time.

26-03-2013, 10:05 PM
Really poor. Need the Fletcher's, Brown, Forest and Morrison in when fit and players like Griffiths, Mackay-Stevens, Russell to step up to the plate.

Apart from Griffiths whose only a loan player, we have no one near getting in the Scotland squad. Sad inditement of the quality of the SPL at present.

26-03-2013, 10:10 PM
Scotland shouldn't have a big name manager. It's asking for trouble especially with the likes of GS who has been around the block a few times. He looks at his team knowing that he was a better player than any of them.

Employ a couple of young, up and coming coaches with some fresh ideas - if such a thing exists. Send them off round Europe and study how the others do it.

26-03-2013, 10:10 PM

3016?

26-03-2013, 10:59 PM

Plus a right back - Hutton looked almost as though the game was passing( no pun intended) him by
Looking back on the game it is fairly obvious that we do not have
ONE CLASS PLAYER
or
ONE INSPIRATIONAL PLAYER
or
ONE FLAIR PLAYER

Not sure what Strachan can do with this group of players

Perhaps arranging a couple of 'B' internationals over the next year to blood some of the younger guys
Again however are there any outstanding 'young ' players around ?

' The futures bright ' but unfortunately not in Scottish football :wink:

P.S. Did feel sorry for both teams trying to play football on that pitch !!

26-03-2013, 11:15 PM
Does Junior Agogo have a Scottish granny by any chance?

Aye but she's already said that she's not interested in playing as it would interfere with her bingo nights.

26-03-2013, 11:32 PM
Jordan Rhodes playing in the Chilean Miner Role.

Totally isolated. :hilarious . nice one Rab, being an ex-mineworker I to ,sometimes feel isolated. especially when my missus says get to yer bed ********, when I come home after the pub.

26-03-2013, 11:43 PM
Scotland has more world class tennis players than world class footballers.we also have more chinese pandas living in scotland, than world class tennis players

26-03-2013, 11:45 PM
Scotland shouldn't have a big name manager. It's asking for trouble especially with the likes of GS who has been around the block a few times. He looks at his team knowing that he was a better player than any of them.

Employ a couple of young, up and coming coaches with some fresh ideas - if such a thing exists. Send them off round Europe and study how the others do it.

That will never happen. It makes too much sense.

26-03-2013, 11:51 PM
Plus a right back - Hutton looked almost as though the game was passing( no pun intended) him by
Looking back on the game it is fairly obvious that we do not have
ONE CLASS PLAYER
or
ONE INSPIRATIONAL PLAYER
or
ONE FLAIR PLAYER

Not sure what Strachan can do with this group of players

Perhaps arranging a couple of 'B' internationals over the next year to blood some of the younger guys
Again however are there any outstanding 'young ' players around ?

' The futures bright ' but unfortunately not in Scottish football :wink:

P.S. Did feel sorry for both teams trying to play football on that pitch !!never watched it, no inclination to do so but assume we were pumped.maybe an "international B world cup could be our saviour? would be good to qualify, maybe out of a 4 team league of san marino, andorra,greenland,scotland.....top two to qualify for play-off stages to enter at the first qualifier propper.

27-03-2013, 12:44 AM

Dinnae call it a chippy, you'll upset the joiners! :greengrin

27-03-2013, 07:52 AM
Now give me one good reason why Hanlon wont make that Scotland team. Caldwell is a shocking footballer and everything that is wrong with game. He cant even do punt ball properly. Positives - Boyd and the young lad in midfield were stand outs. Now for the next squad lets get all the young boys in there.

27-03-2013, 07:55 AM
Dinnae call it a chippy, you'll upset the joiners! :greengrin

27-03-2013, 08:59 AM

Did´nt they try that with jakey Levein?

27-03-2013, 09:08 AM
Now give me one good reason why Hanlon wont make that Scotland team. Caldwell is a shocking footballer and everything that is wrong with game. He cant even do punt ball properly. Positives - Boyd and the young lad in midfield were stand outs. Now for the next squad lets get all the young boys in there.

Time is running out, how much was it you will owe me? :greengrin

27-03-2013, 09:26 AM

Aren't they Swiss or do they have Scottish Grannies? :wink:

27-03-2013, 09:31 AM

He was captain of the U21's but now too old, he's been one of the steadiest performers in the SPL this season and I see no reason why he wouldn't be at least included in the squad, he's been injured recently so until he's fit again, we don't know if he's in WGS mind at all.

27-03-2013, 09:38 AM
Scotland and lady luck eh? Not often found together.

Scotland have been pretty lucky with qualifying draws for the last 20 years. The two exceptions being the Euro 2008 draw (where we made our one decent attempt at qualifying) and this one. The problem being that we have been utter pish for the most part. Those weak draws, with the usual 4-6 points against a couple of minnows (perm two from Lithuania, Iceland, Faroes, Liechtenstein), prevented our ranking and coefficient from collapsing, but we weren't capable of beating anyone decent to qualify.

We've been rumbled by getting a draw where there isn't an obvious minnow or two. Sub in Faroes (pot 5 in this draw) and Andorra for Macedonia and Wales (pot 6 in this draw!) and we would probably be sitting on 10-11 points right now and still have an outside chance of qualifying.

27-03-2013, 09:50 AM
Two absolutely abysmal goals apart personally thought it was better than the Wales game. Bridcutt looked a player and obviously knows that position. Rhodes while not getting a lot of service to me completely negated any argument that he cant play up front on his own as he played ok and linked up well on occasions. Hanley was decent and covered well. Some of the combination play was ok at times. It did show how lacking we are when some of our better players arent there. Surprised GMS didnt get the last 10 when Miller and Burke came on.

27-03-2013, 09:56 AM
It really doesnt matter who is managing Scotland for the next 5/10 years. The product is so poor at the moment and until its fixed at Grass Roots level we can forget about having decent players. We really are at the level of Luxemburg etc now. Every decent 15 / 16yo player ends up being turned into a lump it and thump it defender. So dont blame the manager, blame the SFA and the clubs that have stripped the talent out of the game.

pontius pilate
27-03-2013, 10:52 AM
Are we really that bad as I've been thinking this for a while. We have talent of that there is no doubt ie: GMS,Sparky,Russell,Ferez to name a few. My belief is the national managers unwillingness to try them out for instance my starting 11 at this moment in time would be:
M
1 Mcgregor
2 Whittaker
3 Mulgrew
4 Hanlon
5 Caddis
6 GMS
7 Bridcott
8 Brown
9 Russell
10 Fletch
11 Sparky
On paper it's strong and you would still have quality on the bench in Marshall Fox Bardsley Maloney Commons Ferez Boyd Craig Makail-Smith

Just opinion of course

27-03-2013, 10:56 AM
I took Blobby's advice and went to the cinema. What'd I miss? :greengrin

27-03-2013, 10:59 AM
That team is absolutely mental. Two right backs, one centre half, no right midfielder, three strikers.

To give an example of the problems, everyone seems to be quoting Griffiths and/or Russell now. They aren't doing anything now that David Goodwillie was doing two years ago, but nobody would quote him now. Look right through the SPL - how many players are picked for international teams, and how many of them actually play? The SPL simply isn't of a high enough standard and it isn't even producing players who can compete at a higher level.

27-03-2013, 11:00 AM
Are we really that bad as I've been thinking this for a while. We have talent of that there is no doubt ie: GMS,Sparky,Russell,Ferez to name a few. My belief is the national managers unwillingness to try them out for instance my starting 11 at this moment in time would be:
M
1 Mcgregor
2 Whittaker
3 Mulgrew
4 Hanlon
5 Caddis
6 GMS
7 Bridcott
8 Brown
9 Russell
10 Fletch
11 Sparky
On paper it's strong and you would still have quality on the bench in Marshall Fox Bardsley Maloney Commons Ferez Boyd Craig Makail-Smith

Just opinion of course

In my opinion that team is slightly better in midfield and weaker at the back, if we are honest it makes no difference these days, we are just not very good whatever the team we put out.

Just throwing in kids imo wont make any difference, but we hardly have a wealth of talent however old they are?

pontius pilate
27-03-2013, 11:15 AM
That's the crux of the problem we don't have any decent defenders the only good thing is someone like Caddis can at anywhere across the back giving a bit more depth if and only if you wanted to play Someone like Wallace and even keeping Hanley in there we are pretty strong for midfield and attack options and even in goals it's the back four in my opinion where we need the strength in depth.

pontius pilate
27-03-2013, 11:17 AM
That team is absolutely mental. Two right backs, one centre half, no right midfielder, three strikers.

To give an example of the problems, everyone seems to be quoting Griffiths and/or Russell now. They aren't doing anything now that David Goodwillie was doing two years ago, but nobody would quote him now. Look right through the SPL - how many players are picked for international teams, and how many of them actually play? The SPL simply isn't of a high enough standard and it isn't even producing players who can compete at a higher level.
Bearin in mind Caddis can play anywhere across the back and drop Russell then and bring in someone else my point was we have the strength in depth in younger hungrier players but ad it's a big but if they are busting their gut in the SPL and not getting international recognition when the time comes will they say thanks but no thanks

27-03-2013, 11:40 AM
I'm afraid at the end of the day, as a nation we're no longer producing exceptionally talented footballers with dedicated professional attitudes.

There ain't no quick fix.

27-03-2013, 11:55 AM
I'm afraid at the end of the day, as a nation we're no longer producing exceptionally talented footballers with dedicated professional attitudes.

Not sure we've ever done that. Some of the most talented were the least dedicated professionals (Baxter, Johnstone, Hamilton, etc) and the two most quoted as dedicated pros on here would I think be John Rankin and Lewis Stevenson.

27-03-2013, 12:20 PM
Not sure we've ever done that. Some of the most talented were the least dedicated professionals (Baxter, Johnstone, Hamilton, etc) and the two most quoted as dedicated pros on here would I think be John Rankin and Lewis Stevenson.

Of the top of my head I reckon guys like Denis Law, Kenny Dalglish, Gary McAllister, Alex Mcleish, John Collins & Jim Leighton would fit the bill.

Out of the present generation then I'd say that Darren Fletcher could come into the same category.