View Full Version : Your favorite Hibs quotes of all time?

zosohibee
14-03-2013, 11:13 PM
As it says on the tin, what do you think is the best Hibs related quote of all time? Mine has to be Franck's "Vive Le'Cosse, Vive Eebs and Vive Le France!"

14-03-2013, 11:15 PM
The Hibs class quote from Eddie turnull

MoscowHibs
14-03-2013, 11:31 PM
The Hibs class quote from Eddie turnbull

This, without a doubt.

14-03-2013, 11:32 PM
"Well.... there's always next year." :cb

A quote that should depress me, but always gives me a wee chuckle instead.

14-03-2013, 11:32 PM
"The ball is round because it's meant to roll, not fly through the air"

John Collins

14-03-2013, 11:33 PM
Leigh Griffiths after his first goal v the ****.

"It didn't matter where I scored. Whether it was Easter Road or Tyncastle so long as I scored against THEM".

aussie_hibee
14-03-2013, 11:33 PM
The ball is round, it's meant to roll

AND

you're just a pub team.

14-03-2013, 11:34 PM
"Rangers Are Rubbish", Dave Ewing Hibs manager, full back page, huge headline in the Scottish Daily Express around about 1970. Classic.

14-03-2013, 11:43 PM
Either

"If someone offers you two bags of sweets, you look in both before you decide"; Colin Calderwood.

Or...

"There's class, There's top class, and then there's Hibs class"; Eddie Turnbull.

Shall we have a poll? :greengrin

hibees4life89
14-03-2013, 11:52 PM
Didnay want tae go in awe gunghoo

John Hughes

gogs_t
15-03-2013, 12:17 AM
"Scottish football needs Celtic and Rangers supporters like Custer needed more indians" Tom Hart

15-03-2013, 12:28 AM
Lawrie Reilly

"I don't have any regrets about not moving during my playing career. I was born a Hibee, my dad was a Hibee, I will stay a Hibee and I'll die a Hibee"

15-03-2013, 12:32 AM
They won't walk over us again.......

James McPake

AK86
15-03-2013, 12:48 AM
Maroon is like a bad jobby that you don't want to see

my Dad

neilmartinrocks
15-03-2013, 02:22 AM
KEEP CALM .... and **** the hearts.

WellingtonHibby
15-03-2013, 03:27 AM
Fitba' folk ken whits gaun oan...:wink:'

15-03-2013, 06:31 AM
No use crying over spilled orange juice.....

And

but it must have been Casper the Ghost that got him because I never went near him! I thought he was going to swing at me but people managed to grab him away then he just rolled about.

15-03-2013, 07:13 AM

And

but it must have been Casper the Ghost that got him because I never went near him! I thought he was going to swing at me but people managed to grab him away then he just rolled about.

Eddie Turnbull to Alan Gordon - "The trouble with you, son, is that your brains are in your heid. "

15-03-2013, 09:42 AM
"Rangers Are Rubbish", Dave Ewing Hibs manager, full back page, huge headline in the Scottish Daily Express around about 1970. Classic.

You beat me to it, it was overheard from the Hibs dressing room after the 1971 Scottish cup semi final which ended in a 0-0 draw. We were very unfortunate to lose the replay 1-2. We got revenge though as in the next eighteen months we beat them in three cup semi's.

15-03-2013, 10:13 AM
"No we don't have any Joe Bakers, more like Greggs the bakers - somebody's sold us a couple of dumplings" Jim Duffy.

15-03-2013, 10:19 AM
Football fans are fickle, Ian Murray.

95% of Hibs fans no nothing about football. Colin Nish.

15-03-2013, 10:21 AM
Ivan saying he bleeds green, one of the few who actually means it!

15-03-2013, 10:26 AM
LG
i've waited 21 years to score that goal.

15-03-2013, 10:41 AM
'Hibernian, the team that wouldn't die will never die. Every family has it's ups and it's downs but throwing in the towel would never find a place in any Hibee phrasebook. Whatever the future may hold, fans of this unique club will stand firm in Hibernians corner. Yes, united they stand the great supporters and the greatest football club on earth. Together we can acheive what where once impossible goals.'

From the end of the Skol Cup Winners video.

Cauld Bovril
15-03-2013, 10:42 AM
Always liked Alex Millers response to a fan who called him a rangers bast%%d when he first took over - "Aye, but i`m a Hibs bast%%d now".

pentlando
15-03-2013, 12:21 PM
Yogi's crazy comment after the Hearts game where McCormack and Palazuelos were sent off. Something about Palazuelos not being able to win a fight in a chippy?!

Mikeystewart
15-03-2013, 12:34 PM
Yogi's crazy comment after the Hearts game where McCormack and Palazuelos were sent off. Something about Palazuelos not being able to win a fight in a chippy?!

"He couldn't win a fight in a chip shop" -Yogi :top marks

15-03-2013, 12:41 PM

He's showing his age there...'chippy casuals'...

15-03-2013, 01:24 PM
"Players who play fir me huv to pit a biler suit oan".

John Hughes

15-03-2013, 01:26 PM
"Ave got a message fur they hibs fans if yir listening, if the boozers are still open git yirsels along that M8 and get yirsels a pint cos that one was fur yous" Yogi after we beat Celtic 2-1

Ross4356
15-03-2013, 01:58 PM
"Hearts have lost out, on the last day, the last 10 minutes, cruel, utterly cruel"

Archie MacPherson
Dens Park
3rd May 1986

15-03-2013, 02:21 PM
The late(great) Tom Hart on a team trip to NYC where we we due to play a couple of games. Upon finding out the team hotel was a dump instructed the bus driver to take them "to the best hotel in town. This, son, is THE Hibernian Football Club".

15-03-2013, 02:21 PM
"Hearts have lost out, on the last day, the last 10 minutes, cruel, utterly cruel"

Archie MacPherson
Dens Park
3rd May 1986

Was that the year they won their famous league and cup double?

15-03-2013, 02:23 PM
Latapy twisting turning........................

15-03-2013, 02:31 PM
Latapy twisting turning........................

lovely 1-2 ...........

15-03-2013, 04:44 PM
"You come into my box son and I'll break your back" Budgie to Mark Hately in the tunnel before a match

15-03-2013, 05:52 PM
Barry Venison playing for Sunderland at ER in a pre-season friendly.

Shout from one of the crowd - "Hey Venison, yer an English b*****d

Smiling reply from BV - "Aye, but I'm a rich English b*****d"

Quality reposte. :applause: :greengrin

15-03-2013, 06:12 PM
Eddie Turnbull to Alan Gordon - "The trouble with you, son, is that your brains are in your heid. "

:-)))

Rivers Cuomo
15-03-2013, 06:23 PM
lovely 1-2 ...........

that. Is. Absolutely. Stunning!

15-03-2013, 07:38 PM
BBC Radio commentary from Dens in 86

GOAL number 2 for Kidd..........and the Hertz fans feel they have taken enough, they're running onto the pitch now and this is a great great pity :boo hoo: just 4 minutes left. :lolyam:

10-08-2023, 08:43 AM
Come across this looking for the exact wording of Lawrie Reilly's born a Hibby quote. Great thread and there are surely more.

This must have been just before TB's 'sometimes it's good to concede the first goal because it takes away the pressure of not wanting to concede first'.

10-08-2023, 08:46 AM
"You come into my box son and I'll break your back" Budgie to Mark Hately in the tunnel before a matchA personal favourite [emoji16] 1991 league cup semi final I think. 1 nil to the good guys.

10-08-2023, 08:47 AM
Look boss time flies

Johnny Hamilton when Eddie Turnbull knocked a tray of gold Sporting Lisbon watches into the air during a half time rant in Lisbon

scm70nyd1973
10-08-2023, 08:51 AM
As it says on the tin, what do you think is the best Hibs related quote of all time? Mine has to be Franck's "Vive Le'Cosse, Vive Eebs and Vive Le France!"

Did Sir Tom Farmer not say something about him wanting to take action to prevent millionaire casuals running amock over Edinburgh’s Green belt area after Mercer and his cronies were trying to buy land in the area near to the Gyle.

Clarence
10-08-2023, 09:08 AM
Former England skipper Terry Butcher has been sacked by Hibs after less than seven months in charge of the Edinburgh outfit.

Not glad that it happened but it felt like that was the first step on the rod to May 2016.

10-08-2023, 09:21 AM
"Alan's like Ivan Sproule on a motorbike"

John Collins on Alan O'Brien.

10-08-2023, 09:32 AM
"Henderson to deliver..."

10-08-2023, 09:42 AM
Andy Goram asked after Hibs beat herts in the Tennents sixes, who would you like to meet in the final? “Hearts again!”

Donegal Hibby
10-08-2023, 09:47 AM
They've only gone and done it ,
They've only gone and won the Scottish cup.

10-08-2023, 09:58 AM
They've only gone and done it ,
They've only gone and won the Scottish cup.

What kept you Hibs!

10-08-2023, 10:24 AM
"Do Rangers have one more chance? No they don't! Ladies and gentlemen you are witness to a moment of Scottish sporting history. Hibernian have won the Scottish Cup"

10-08-2023, 10:32 AM
“No one goes out to be lazy but fatigue makes cowards of us all. I thought for the third goal Will Fish could’ve got back in quicker. I looked on the GPS because I’m psychotic like that and he ran at 82 per cent of his maximum. So I asked him if a lion had been behind him, how much of his maximum would he have gone and he said 103 per cent, which I thought was quite funny”

Bridge hibs
10-08-2023, 10:44 AM
“Rangers dropped points, Aberdeen dropped points, St Johnstone dropped points, Livingston dropped points, so in a way we haven’t lost anything at all really, although we dropped all three.”

Lee Johnson post hibs v St Mirren

Stubbsy90+2
10-08-2023, 10:45 AM
“Rangers dropped points, Aberdeen dropped points, St Johnstone dropped points, Livingston dropped points, so in a way we haven’t lost anything at all really, although we dropped all three.”

Lee Johnson post hibs v St Mirren

Its telling that I’m questioning whether he did actually say that

10-08-2023, 10:49 AM

Lee Johnson post hibs v St MirrenIf that's true then unless there's a dramatic upturn in results we will win the league by a mile.

Can't wait. Sparkling wine on ice.

10-08-2023, 10:56 AM
“No one goes out to be lazy but fatigue makes cowards of us all. I thought for the third goal Will Fish could’ve got back in quicker. I looked on the GPS because I’m psychotic like that and he ran at 82 per cent of his maximum. So I asked him if a lion had been behind him, how much of his maximum would he have gone and he said 103 per cent, which I thought was quite funny”

So Stevie Naismith, you take your 33 1/3 chance, minus my 25% chance and you got an 8 1/3 chance of winning at Tynie. But then you take my 75% chance of winning, if we was to go one on one, and then add 66 2/3 per cents, I got 141 2/3 chance of winning at Tynie. Senior Stevie, the numbers don’t lie, and they spell disaster for you at Tynie.”

10-08-2023, 10:58 AM
"I love these players. I love this group"

Shaun Maloney.

10-08-2023, 11:00 AM
“Do I look happy? Don’t ask silly questions then”

One of our own noising up Slippy G. Wonderful.

KNBE
10-08-2023, 11:01 AM
Dominique Malonga's "I don't care about the Rangers".

Sent from my moto g(30) using Tapatalk

HibsGW
10-08-2023, 11:06 AM
Fitba folk ken wits gawn oan

10-08-2023, 11:10 AM

:agree: got to be the best.

10-08-2023, 11:15 AM
"If you want entertainment, go to the cinema." - Bobby Williamson.

10-08-2023, 11:17 AM
All hail the King.

https://youtu.be/oeauSzvGUpU

Clarence
10-08-2023, 11:43 AM
I dunno
I dunno
I dunno
I dunno
Good
Very good.

leith lynx
10-08-2023, 11:49 AM
"Rangers are rubbish" - Dave Ewing

leith lynx
10-08-2023, 11:52 AM
"A walk in the park" - George Stewart, after Hibs knocked Hearts out the cup ( late 70's).

Saint Hibee
10-08-2023, 11:55 AM

This. Made even better by his accent and the look of disgust on his face when he said it.

HarpOnHibee
10-08-2023, 12:08 PM
"The ball's round. It's meant to roll." - John Collins

10-08-2023, 12:10 PM
"We must have Hibs'd it, eh?". SJM 21/5/16, 17:00

10-08-2023, 12:11 PM
"I did not need any persuading to play for such a great club"

h1bs4life
10-08-2023, 12:19 PM
"We must have Hibs'd it, eh?". SJM 21/5/16, 17:00

One of my favourites another was Eddie Turnbull to the Tornados in the Tynie dressing room after that game ‘ You let those bleeping bleeps of the hook ‘

heidtheba
10-08-2023, 01:11 PM

And

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH! THAT'S where the 'Caspar game' name comes from. Thank you.

heidtheba
10-08-2023, 01:12 PM
Not one I look back on fondly, but weirdly memorable, was Terry Butcher's one about "Losing an early goal meant we weren't worried about losing an early goal" - that's not it exactly, but I'm sure someone will provide the proper quite.

heidtheba
10-08-2023, 01:14 PM
Come across this looking for the exact wording of Lawrie Reilly's born a Hibby quote. Great thread and there are surely more.

This must have been just before TB's 'sometimes it's good to concede the first goal because it takes away the pressure of not wanting to concede first'.

That's the one I was on about.

10-08-2023, 01:14 PM
Alex Miller explaining the qualities of a new striker that we were meant to be signing.

"He can leap like a giraffe".

10-08-2023, 02:04 PM
As we slid towards relegation, I remember a guy running down from the back to the front of the East terrace to confront the late Butch Wilkins as he was coming over to take a throw in and shouting
" Hey, Wilkins , ( long pause) F### OFF!"

10-08-2023, 02:48 PM
Punchinello Rocks The Gers

Pink News headline when Hibs beat Rangers 3-1 at Ibrox to go top of the league

Marinello scored two

10-08-2023, 02:54 PM
I'm out in Africa and you see Lions and s***. And I mean real lions, not the kind you be f****** with at the zoo - Lee Johnson.

10-08-2023, 03:04 PM
https://www.brainyquote.com/authors/john-mcginn-quotes
A few good ones here.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

10-08-2023, 03:17 PM
Alister alexander on bbc

"Look at the legs on jimmy o'rouke"

10-08-2023, 03:48 PM
Rangers are Rubbish

A Rangers fan sitting behind me in the North Stand at the 1972 scottish cup semi final replay.

10-08-2023, 03:52 PM
"Hearts are dug shoit"

10-08-2023, 03:54 PM
"I'm away for a dump", Craig Levein, Dens Park 1986.

10-08-2023, 04:00 PM
I did not need any persuasion to play for that great club, the Hibs result is still one of the first I look out for.
MATT BUSBY

10-08-2023, 05:09 PM
Natural order

10-08-2023, 05:43 PM
Rangers are Rubbish

A Rangers fan sitting behind me in the North Stand at the 1972 scottish cup semi final replay.

Dave Ewing surely?

ChicoM1875
10-08-2023, 05:46 PM
All hail the King.

https://youtu.be/oeauSzvGUpU

Best video on YouTube

10-08-2023, 06:07 PM
Paraphrasing but:

“The goalie, what’s he daein”

King conrad
10-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Fitba folk ken wits gawn oan

pollution
10-08-2023, 06:21 PM
Awa hame, Blackely . Hibs v Juventus 1974.

10-08-2023, 06:53 PM
01/01/73

”This is sheer football delight…”

a little later on the same day… “and back comes this green machine”

a little later on the same day… “Gordon!.. It’s Seven!”

Paul1642
10-08-2023, 08:25 PM
"Henderson to deliver..."

It’s never going to be anything other than this.

10-08-2023, 10:09 PM
Ned's comment to Alan Gordon. "The trouble wi you is that your braIns are in your heid...."

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

10-08-2023, 10:15 PM
Whatever James O'Rourke was saying to himself when he turned the telly off just as the Z for zorro was on its second stroke on 1.1.73.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk