View Full Version : Barcelona v Milan, ITV 1

12-03-2013, 06:36 PM
This should be good. Barcelona have to throw the kitchen sink at it, and you'd expect an Italian team to try every trick in the book to hold on. Fascinating contrast of styles ahead :aok:

12-03-2013, 06:40 PM
Barca need to keep a clean sheet - how often do they do that?

12-03-2013, 06:41 PM
C'mon Barca :aok:

Would be great to see a Barca v Madrid final, can't stand Italian teams.

12-03-2013, 06:41 PM
I predict extra time, so 2-0 barca. :greengrin

12-03-2013, 06:48 PM
Boom!

1-0 Messi - brilliant!

Stunning.

MoscowHibs
12-03-2013, 06:49 PM
Messi, 1-0, brilliant.

12-03-2013, 06:49 PM
That is just amazing. :top marks

12-03-2013, 06:56 PM
Was it definitely over the line?

Its like the Alamo so far....

If Milan don't keep the ball when they win it its going to be a long night for their defence

Barca in OMG! form tonight. Definite penalty....except to the ref

12-03-2013, 06:58 PM
Forza milan

12-03-2013, 07:17 PM
Milan seem to have lost the ability to play a 10 yard pass, on the rare occasion they have the ball.

12-03-2013, 07:18 PM
Have a sneaky feeling that Pique is going to cost Barca at some point. His defending is so lethargic at times and he looks completely lost without Puyol.

12-03-2013, 07:20 PM
Barcelona were unplayable for the first 15 minutes or so but it's settled down a bit now.

If it stays like this, as the game wears on then Barcelona will need to open up even more which could leave them exposed at the back.

12-03-2013, 07:21 PM
Milan hit the post.

What a chance that was!

12-03-2013, 07:22 PM
thats why I don't think Barca can keep a clean sheet.......

2-0, Messi.

Milan hit the post..

....Messi scores.

2-0 Messi - he's quite good!

JoeTortolanoFanClub
12-03-2013, 07:23 PM
Astonishing. This is football as it should be played.

12-03-2013, 07:24 PM
Just one goal for Milan changes the whole tie though and means that Barcelona need at least another two goals.

12-03-2013, 07:24 PM
Eyes always on the ball, he never even looked at the goals.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
12-03-2013, 07:25 PM
Just one goal for Milan changes the whole tie though and means that Barcelona need at least another two goals.

I fancy Barcelona to get 5 or 6.

12-03-2013, 07:26 PM
anyone else notice that when its a throw in for Barca a new ball is bulleted to the potential thrower....when its Milan they are left to get the original ball (allowing Barca to get set uo to defend)

Falkirk Hibby
12-03-2013, 07:28 PM
Schalke 1 - Galatasaray 2 (2-3). Cracking game, end to end. None of this Barca rubbish! :wink:

12-03-2013, 07:30 PM
anyone else notice that when its a throw in for Barca a new ball is bulleted to the potential thrower....when its Milan they are left to get the original ball (allowing Barca to get set uo to defend)

:agree: They are not daft eh? :greengrin

Teo10
12-03-2013, 07:30 PM
The game Messi really needed to step up to... he did:thumbsup:

Vamos!

12-03-2013, 07:32 PM
Forza milan

This Milan team is full of chavs. I wonder what Franco Baresi makes of it all.

renato
12-03-2013, 07:33 PM
**** sake!

Milan playing like the cabbage against St J a few weeks back, Barca almost unplayable. Their demise lasted long...

renato
12-03-2013, 07:35 PM
This Milan team is full of chavs. I wonder what Franco Baresi makes of it all.

He'll be shaking his head in disgust at the frauds playing at the back for Milan (Abate excepted)

12-03-2013, 07:39 PM
Shocking decision by the linesman to not notice Messi was way offside for his second goal.

12-03-2013, 07:40 PM
Shocking decision by the linesman to not notice Messi was way offside for his second goal.

He was probably watching the goal line

12-03-2013, 07:41 PM

i know someone who plays bowls with him, he is a Barca season ticket holder

12-03-2013, 07:42 PM

They've obviously been taking tips from the Swansea ballboy!

12-03-2013, 07:42 PM
He'll be shaking his head in disgust at the frauds playing at the back for Milan (Abate excepted)

:agree: Mexes especially is a poor defender at this level. He stood out for his gantingnesd at Roma. How he's playing for a top European side, even one rebuildinv like Meelan, i have no idea.

12-03-2013, 07:43 PM

:agree: Mexes especially is a poor defender at this level. He stood out for his gantingness at Roma. How he's playing for a top European side, even one in the middle of rebuilding like Meelan, i have no idea.

12-03-2013, 07:48 PM
:agree: Mexes especially is a poor defender at this level. He stood out for his gantingnesd at Roma. How he's playing for a top European side, even one rebuildinv like Meelan, i have no idea.

:agree: Mexes especially is a poor defender at this level. He stood out for his gantingness at Roma. How he's playing for a top European side, even one in the middle of rebuilding like Meelan, i have no idea.

It's fine if you don't like Mexes, but this just looks like a concerted campaign of abuse.

12-03-2013, 07:48 PM

Bollah are you posting via carrier pigeon or through your pints?

12-03-2013, 07:49 PM
It's fine if you don't like Mexes, but this just looks like a concerted campaign of abuse.

I think he's just smashed buddy

12-03-2013, 07:54 PM
3-0, Villa.

12-03-2013, 07:54 PM
great to see Villa back, he's a fantastic player

12-03-2013, 07:56 PM
looking very much like one of their 5 goalers

12-03-2013, 07:56 PM
What a club. And the honeymoon city for me and Mrs One Day Soon. Effortless scoring. Barca are quite good too.

renato
12-03-2013, 07:57 PM
Thoroughly deserved. Milan defence simply not good enough for one of the biggest clubs in the world.

12-03-2013, 07:57 PM

12-03-2013, 07:59 PM
Told you. The boys just merde:agree:

Milan can't cope with this.

Barca irresistable tonight.

Robinho coming on.

We heard you the first time! :greengrin

I think he's just smashed buddy

Sober as a sucking fudge

12-03-2013, 08:01 PM
Is this the same sport as what I understand to be 'football'? :not worth

12-03-2013, 08:03 PM
Told you. The boys just merde:agree:

You're absolutely right, even if you are pie-eyed.

Alone on the sofa with a bottle of red or propping up the bar somewhere like the Argyle?

Falkirk Hibby
12-03-2013, 08:08 PM
Meanwhile, away from the "pornfest", Schalke level it at 2-2. 3-3 on agg. Still end to end. :agree:

You're absolutely right, even if you are pie-eyed.

Alone on the sofa with a bottle of red or propping up the bar somewhere like the Argyle?

With Mrs Bollah and our new cat, watching football de la creme and slightly drunk on a cheeky chianti classico . Not a bad Tuesday :cheers:

That and the Nani red card and much dodginess in previous years in Chelski games, I'm thinking there's mibbe a bit of fixing going on in favour of The Spanish Giants.

12-03-2013, 08:09 PM
Meanwhile, away from the "pornfest", Schalke level it at 2-2. 3-3 on agg. Still end to end. :agree:

Germans eh?

12-03-2013, 08:16 PM
Milan were extremely good in the first leg, tonight they just folded like a paper bag, terrible.

12-03-2013, 08:16 PM
This is poetry

And yet 1 meelan goal and they're oot :greengrin

12-03-2013, 08:19 PM
C'mon Milan, give us a goal. Cant stand this Barca love fest.
Milan's LB is proper Tom Kite though.

12-03-2013, 08:22 PM
With Mrs Bollah and our new cat, watching football de la creme and slightly drunk on a cheeky chianti classico . Not a bad Tuesday :cheers:

Was there an old cat? That Sainsbury's Torretta Nero d'Avola reduced from £11 to £5.99 at the minute is a steal. You want to invest in some of that. Cameron Toll has it - you're Southside aren't you?

12-03-2013, 08:27 PM
Was there an old cat? That Sainsbury's Torretta Nero d'Avola reduced from £11 to £5.99 at the minute is a steal. You want to invest in some of that. Cameron Toll has it - you're Southside aren't you?

Thanks for the tip...Nero d'avola is mrs Bollahs favourite when there's no Brindisi about:aok:

12-03-2013, 08:31 PM
4-0.

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssssssssssssssssssssss sssss!

Patience and a REAL football brain from Messi to set that one up.

12-03-2013, 08:33 PM
not even Hertz could live with barcelona tonight

12-03-2013, 08:34 PM

That's a Top 5 post of the year

Jesus, Milan are crap. Hope Madrid pump barca in the next round.

Kaiser_Sauzee
Patience and a REAL football brain from Messi to set that one up.

This boy just won fifty grand with that goal!

http://twitter.com/BTBFootballTips/status/311161250061107203/photo/1

Barca are just awesome!

Full time;

Barcelona 4-0 AC Milan

Barcelona win 4-2 on aggregate.

12-03-2013, 08:36 PM
Barca = superb

12-03-2013, 08:36 PM
Absolutely amazing. Words don't do that team justice.

12-03-2013, 08:38 PM

Hopefully soon they won't be living at all.

Die Hearts!

12-03-2013, 08:38 PM
This boy just won fifty grand with that goal!

http://twitter.com/BTBFootballTips/status/311161250061107203/photo/1

That's a crazy accumulator. looks like the prayers worked

.....and with a minute left on the clock. He must have been sh'ting himself

NaeTechnoHibby
12-03-2013, 08:39 PM
Only saw the last half hour in full, what a "RIPSNORTER" (copyright to John Hughes) of last half hour :thumbsup:

That's how football should be played :agree:

Both teams gave it laldy in that last half hour but with such grace and style :thumbsup:

Late goal for Galatasaray.

4-3 on aggregate.

Great performance by Barca. It might have been different if Niang's shot at 1-0 had gone in off the post.

12-03-2013, 08:40 PM
Italian team first to throw a 2 goal first goal advantage in champions league... Match fixing scandal surely??

12-03-2013, 08:41 PM
Too many simply not good enough for Milan....flamini ?!?....muntari ?...could go on, but major surgery required at the Italian San siro...to get them back up there in the top echelons of European football.

12-03-2013, 08:43 PM
Italian team first to throw a 2 goal first goal advantage in champions league... Match fixing scandal surely??

I saw an Italian team throw a 3 goal first leg advantage in the fairs cup....magic night :thumbsup:

12-03-2013, 08:44 PM
Barca are just awesome!

Says it all !!
For me they proved that football can be the ' beautiful game' when played by 11 ' masters of their trade '
The use of the ball and the ability to make an opening out of nothing was superb
Great 90minutes of pure entertainment !!!!!

On a down side what a tube Adrian Childs is
Is there a more boring TV sports ' anchorman '?
Mind you Rob Mclean is a very close second

12-03-2013, 08:45 PM
Did Milan not lose a 3 or 4 goal lead against Deportivo a few years back?

DarrenSQH
12-03-2013, 08:48 PM
Great game. Barca looked back to their best.

12-03-2013, 08:48 PM
Revenge for 1989 European Cup Final AC Milan 4 Barca 0:greengrin Anyone remember that game?

12-03-2013, 08:50 PM
Barcelona have been the best club side i have ever seen, but recently have slipped and not been so good. Tonight it all clicked for them again, it is superb when it does. :top marks

Teo10

Man U/Ronaldo fan?

Teo10
VAMOS Barca!

12-03-2013, 08:55 PM
Revenge for 1989 European Cup Final AC Milan 4 Barca 0:greengrin Anyone remember that game?

Meeeeeeee. Was in a pub in Catalonia in my MADRID shirt and celebrated every goal as if Hibs had scored the winner in the SC in the last minute. Totally crazy night and right up there with the best of them.

12-03-2013, 08:58 PM
Wonderful football and fabulous entertainment.

A suggested new song for Sparky, ' Are you Messi in disguise'.

12-03-2013, 09:00 PM

Can I ask why? Unless you are from Madrid or have a long connection with them I don't understand why anyone would have a dislike towards the sort of football Barcelona played tonight. They play the game as it should be and made a good AC Milan team look very average.

Is it fashionable to be anti Barca? Honest question?

NaeTechnoHibby
12-03-2013, 09:00 PM

1994 IRRC :agree:

12-03-2013, 09:01 PM
Meeeeeeee. Was in a pub in Catalonia in my MADRID shirt and celebrated every goal as if Hibs had scored the winner in the SC in the last minute. Totally crazy night and right up there with the best of them.

:greengrin Sounds like quite a night. Probably the best performance ive seen in a major final. Savicevic was amazing.

12-03-2013, 09:02 PM
Man U/Ronaldo fan?

Erm....No and No. Read my last post and you might see where I'm coming from.
I'm just very anti Barca and the myths that suround them.
Viva Espana.

Can I ask why? Unless you are from Madrid or have a long connection with them I don't understand why anyone would have a dislike towards the sort of football Barcelona played tonight. They play the game as it should be and made a good AC Milan team look very average.

:agree: Watching that tonight was like football porn. :top marks

Wonderful football and fabulous entertainment.

A suggested new song for Sparky, ' Are you Messi in disguise'.

Deffo heard the Barca fans singing "Are you Griffiths in disguise?" at Messi tonight :greengrin

12-03-2013, 09:04 PM
1994 IRRC :agree:

Aye you're right, 1989 was the Van Basten/Gullit/rijkaard team.

12-03-2013, 09:04 PM
Deffo heard the Barca fans singing "Are you Griffiths in disguise?" at Messi tonight :greengrin

That was 'come back, when you've got four kids'.

12-03-2013, 09:05 PM
That was 'come back, when you've got four kids'.

:greengrin :applause:

12-03-2013, 09:05 PM
Aye you're right, 1989 was the Van Basten/Gullit/rijkaard team.

Nah, that was the Netherlands in Euro '88. Deary me...

12-03-2013, 09:13 PM

Aye cause all the barca lovers on here are from Barcelona aint they. I am just very bitter and VERY pro Spanish. Can't help myself I'm afraid and hate Barca with a passion.
My daughter loves them though and kills me she is a barcs fan. She wstches all their games, has the kits and will tell you strsight dhe supports them and Messi is god. Shes no time for Scottish football and isn't interested in us or any other teams.

12-03-2013, 09:14 PM
Nah, that was the Netherlands in Euro '88. Deary me...

12-03-2013, 09:16 PM
Aye cause all the barca lovers on here are from Barcelona aint they. I am just very bitter and VERY pro Spanish. Can't help myself I'm afraid and hate Barca with a passion.
My daughter loves them though and kills me she is a barcs fan. She wstches all their games, has the kits and will tell you strsight dhe supports them and Messi is god. Shes no time for Scottish football and isn't interested in us or any other teams.

I'm not pro Barca, i'm pro good football. I loved watching Madrid beating Barca and Man Utd over the last few weeks. I cant understand why anyone could hate good football, and that was very good tonight?

12-03-2013, 09:19 PM

Pro Spanish but hate Barca. Is it wholly on football or maybe the politics? Genuine question

NaeTechnoHibby
12-03-2013, 09:32 PM
Pro Spanish but hate Barca. Is it wholly on football or maybe the politics? Genuine question

My question too?

Barca and Milan played fantastic tonight :agree: some real skill and no amount of determination shown by both teams :thumbsup:

But Barcelona FC were the better team IMO :agree: I also have a resonace with the Catalyna people :thumbsup:

But's just down to the football in the end :hibees

12-03-2013, 09:38 PM

Bit of both if I'm honest. Can't stand the myth that is Barcelona. I guess having lived and worked in Spain my judgement is clouded but even as a kid I hated them. Like I said, my youngest is Barca daft. It comes from when we lived over there. Despite living 100s of miles away on the costa del sol everone followed Barca. She just picked it up from there. Bloody glory hunters. Its like hibs fans who moan about infirm fans who don't come from Glasgow.

12-03-2013, 09:47 PM
Bit of both if I'm honest. Can't stand the myth that is Barcelona. I guess having lived and worked in Spain my judgement is clouded but even as a kid I hated them. Like I said, my youngest is Barca daft. It comes from when we lived over there. Despite living 100s of miles away on the costa del sol everone followed Barca. She just picked it up from there. Bloody glory hunters. Its like hibs fans who moan about infirm fans who don't come from Glasgow.

Fair do's :aok:

I just enjoy watching Barca because of the football they play.

12-03-2013, 09:54 PM
Thoroughly deserved. Milan defence simply not good enough for one of the biggest clubs in the world.

If it is any consolation, this Barca team is the best football team I've ever seen in my almost 50 years. Club or nation. They're not infallable, thank goodness, but the best i've seen.

GhostofBolivar
12-03-2013, 09:59 PM

I remember it so well it's like they played it in 1994... :wink:

The 89 European Cup final - played in the Nou Camp - featured Milan putting 4 past Steaua Bucharest.

GhostofBolivar
12-03-2013, 10:12 PM

I thought Barca did a good job of adapting after the first leg. Shifting Pedro to the left and pushing Dani Alves forward gave them more width and neither El Shaarawy or Boateng did a good job of tracking back and helping. This was most apparent on the left where Muntari doubled up on Dani Alves in the first leg, but he was dropped in favour of Flamini who played much more centrally.

The other change Barca made was playing Villa and playing him centrally. Messi played much more like a classic number 10 instead of his more normal false 9. Mexes and Zapata had to respect Villa playing in the same area, so with Messi slightly deeper than normal, neither of them could go with him and so Barca were able to get more space in the centre of midfield where they were 4 v 3.

Barca did a much better job of stretching play and isolating Milan's defenders in this leg. It wasn't all down to Milan's defence being poor.

13-03-2013, 05:31 AM
Gutted had 3-0 Barca.
Was tempted to do 4-0 but instead done 2-0 and 3-0 wins.

13-03-2013, 07:47 AM
Viva Espana.

Gloria azulgrana ! Vista Barca ! Vista Catalunya !

renato
13-03-2013, 08:04 AM
I thought Barca did a good job of adapting after the first leg. Shifting Pedro to the left and pushing Dani Alves forward gave them more width and neither El Shaarawy or Boateng did a good job of tracking back and helping. This was most apparent on the left where Muntari doubled up on Dani Alves in the first leg, but he was dropped in favour of Flamini who played much more centrally.

The other change Barca made was playing Villa and playing him centrally. Messi played much more like a classic number 10 instead of his more normal false 9. Mexes and Zapata had to respect Villa playing in the same area, so with Messi slightly deeper than normal, neither of them could go with him and so Barca were able to get more space in the centre of midfield where they were 4 v 3.

Barca did a much better job of stretching play and isolating Milan's defenders in this leg. It wasn't all down to Milan's defence being poor.

Agree with the change of tactics from Barca and appreciate it wasn't solely down to Milan's defending but, regardless of that, the quality of marking, jockeying, positioning and tackling was not good enough at that level, specifically from Mexes, Zapata and the massively exposed Constant, who is naturally a midfielder anyway.

Barca were awesome and would have blown away any team in the world last night but the minimum any team, never mind an Italian one and AC Milan for that matter, needs to do at that level is defend well individually and as a unit.

13-03-2013, 08:10 AM
There were 2 defining moments last night, the first goal was unstoppable. A wow moment that you have just applaud. The 2nd moment was when the Milan fella hit the post, if that had gone in the whole scenario changes, and while Barca may still have got 4, the away goal would have galvanised Milan and got them over the shock of losing the first goal, and gave them much more hope.

It was still a fantastic performance from the Spanish club, i love watching them in that form. :top marks

13-03-2013, 09:00 AM
There were 2 defining moments last night, the first goal was unstoppable. A wow moment that you have just applaud. The 2nd moment was when the Milan fella hit the post, if that had gone in the whole scenario changes, and while Barca may still have got 4, the away goal would have galvanised Milan and got them over the shock of losing the first goal, and gave them much more hope.

It was still a fantastic performance from the Spanish club, i love watching them in that form. :top marks

Thought Barca were brilliant especially the first goal. I would also say a defining moment was the penalty shout at 1-0 which looked a stonewaller and a red card. They also got a break with offside for the second goal. It was good to see Villa back playing as he is an amazing finisher. Was glad Barca got through as they are just great to watch when on form.

Teo10
13-03-2013, 09:35 AM
Viva Espana.

Ah I see, Apologies!

13-03-2013, 09:43 AM
On the issue of how anyone can dislike Barca I've recently grown a distaste for them and it was after the love-in with Celtic, we had about a two week build up of "look at us, look at how we are both "more than a club" together:thumbsup:". The mutal Hamshank fest was boke-inducing.

13-03-2013, 10:09 AM
You know your enjoying a game when the time flys :) that performance was great to watch, and with their defence still ropey you know there will be chances for whoever gets them next.

Greendub
13-03-2013, 10:21 AM
I watch a lot of barca, purely because I enjoy the football, much the same as Ajax.

They just haven't played with the same finesse as the last couple weeks, enjoyed last nights game, didn't see the nou camp get on their backs if they went backwards lol

13-03-2013, 11:05 AM
On the issue of how anyone can dislike Barca I've recently grown a distaste for them and it was after the love-in with Celtic, we had about a two week build up of "look at us, look at how we are both "more than a club" together:thumbsup:". The mutal Hamshank fest was boke-inducing.

:top marks.

13-03-2013, 11:09 AM
Gloria azulgrana ! Vista Barca ! Vista Catalunya !

And you base all this on a football team? Very good :rolleyes:.

And it's Visca :wink:.

13-03-2013, 11:11 AM
I used to like watching Barca until they actually started to play games like training matches. They can sedate a football match and it's mind numbing at times to watch. I'd much rather watch Bayern just now. Fast passing yet very direct. Just my opinion but Barca with the exception of last night i'd say bore me to death.

13-03-2013, 12:02 PM
I watch a lot of barca, purely because I enjoy the football, much the same as Ajax.

They just haven't played with the same finesse as the last couple weeks, enjoyed last nights game, didn't see the nou camp get on their backs if they went backwards lol

If they were playing at ER the old boy behind me would be screaming at Iniesta 'getriddyit' and 'stop pissing about gettit in the box'

13-03-2013, 01:33 PM
If they were playing at ER the old boy behind me would be screaming at Iniesta 'getriddyit' and 'stop pissing about gettit in the box'

Or stop this tippy tappy stuff and getit up the park. :greengrin