View Full Version : Yams Fashion disasters

JollyGreenGiant
02-03-2013, 07:03 PM
We've seen the images of Fatty Foulkes and Uncle Fester, but what's the story with the gear the yams wear?

No Hibs game today, so was out and about and spotted loads of horrible looking yams.

But my favourite was when I took my laddie to his P2 fitba training this morning, and a yam Dad was there sporting a pair of beige combats, black shoes, a horrible knitted jumper with his yam top over it.

I'm no fashion guru, but they are total tramps :lolyam:

Anyone spot any other classics?

02-03-2013, 07:10 PM
We've seen the images of Fatty Foulkes and Uncle Fester, but what's the story with the gear the yams wear?

No Hibs game today, so was out and about and spotted loads of horrible looking yams.

But my favourite was when I took my laddie to his P2 fitba training this morning, and a yam Dad was there sporting a pair of beige combats, black shoes, a horrible knitted jumper with his yam top over it.

I'm no fashion guru, but they are total tramps :lolyam:

Anyone spot any other classics?is there another kind? :dunno:

02-03-2013, 07:11 PM

02-03-2013, 07:13 PM
i've seen some bad stuff down the years but my all time favourite and never to be beaten is...

Ibrox around about 1976, a young hun wearing the essential high street ned fashions of the time..A pair of bright blue oxford bags with side pockets and high waist (six buttons), Blue V neck, three big white stars in the middle, three stripes on the upper arm and....2 clothes pegs at the back of his collar!...he'd either chored it off a washing line or his mammy hadn't got round to ironing it yet and he'd whipped it out of the washing basket with the pegs still attached...i spent a long time wondering about that boy and i sometimes wonder what became of him...

maybe it was sally?

02-03-2013, 07:18 PM
Was on princess st today and seen one of them with red chinos and his pink shirt on.

02-03-2013, 08:01 PM
Was on princess st today and seen one of them with red chinos and his pink shirt on.

princes street...male not female

here to help

03-03-2013, 01:21 AM
They really are scruffy *******s. Voi hoodies and Henleys jeans, scaffs.

07-07-2021, 08:11 AM
The Mullet is making a big return in Germany. They call it the Vokuhila (abbreviation for "Vorne kurz Hinten lang" and pronounced Foh-coo-Hee-la). Apparently the driving force behind it is a bald Scottish barber in Berlin.

07-07-2021, 08:35 AM
The Mullet is making a big return in Germany. They call it the Vokuhila (abbreviation for "Vorne kurz Hinten lang" and pronounced Foh-coo-Hee-la). Apparently the driving force behind it is a bald Scottish barber in Berlin.

https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/85584256.jpg

07-07-2021, 08:42 AM
i've seen some bad stuff down the years but my all time favourite and never to be beaten is...

Ibrox around about 1976, a young hun wearing the essential high street ned fashions of the time..A pair of bright blue oxford bags with side pockets and high waist (six buttons), Blue V neck, three big white stars in the middle, three stripes on the upper arm and....2 clothes pegs at the back of his collar!...he'd either chored it off a washing line or his mammy hadn't got round to ironing it yet and he'd whipped it out of the washing basket with the pegs still attached...i spent a long time wondering about that boy and i sometimes wonder what became of him...

maybe it was sally?

Presumably sold to him as accessories by an entrepreneurial Hibee.

09-07-2021, 04:42 PM

maybe it was sally?

That's his "mates" playing a prank on him.

09-07-2021, 05:03 PM
I went full bowl cut for lockdown..My demi wave mullet with orange silk shirt from concept man, black and blue splattered trousers orange socks and patent slip ons is probably my most cringeworthy get up i can remember.

10-07-2021, 09:58 AM
Some of the mid-80s Casuals gear was pretty cringeworthy.

Things like Denim Dungarees, Deerstalkers and Golf Shoes with the studs removed.

10-07-2021, 10:09 AM
Anyone who wears trousers that are too short, no socks with shoes.

Bangkok Hibby
10-07-2021, 11:34 AM
I just can't ridicule anybody for what they're wearing. I vividly remember the different versions of me as a teenager and clearly remember feeling cool as **** 🙂🙂🙂

10-07-2021, 07:18 PM
The Mullet is making a big return in Germany. They call it the Vokuhila (abbreviation for "Vorne kurz Hinten lang" and pronounced Foh-coo-Hee-la). Apparently the driving force behind it is a bald Scottish barber in Berlin.What's not to like about it. The haircut that says business at the front, party at the back :greengrin

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

10-07-2021, 07:36 PM
Some of the mid-80s Casuals gear was pretty cringeworthy.

Things like Denim Dungarees, Deerstalkers and Golf Shoes with the studs removed.

Golf shoes with studs? Interesting fashion concept that for sure [emoji12]

10-07-2021, 08:17 PM
Anyone who wears trousers that are too short, no socks with shoes.

This is everywhere and it looks awful.

Full disaster points if it's accompanied by a skin tight short sleeve shirt and full sleeve tattoo.

Silky
10-07-2021, 09:06 PM
This is everywhere and it looks awful.

Full disaster points if it's accompanied by a skin tight short sleeve shirt and full sleeve tattoo.

I'm just back from a few days in London and this sort of attire is rife there. Loads of guys down there dress like that. Looks horrendous. The short sleeve shirt and sleeve tattoo appear to be favourites!

11-07-2021, 12:48 PM
Golf shoes with studs? Interesting fashion concept that for sure [emoji12]

Spikes?

I've never been much of a golfer, so I'm not up-to-date with all the correct terms

But I do remember the clunking noises made by the few people that thought they were a fashion item trying to walk along the pavement.

11-07-2021, 12:57 PM
Spikes?

I've never been much of a golfer, so I'm not up-to-date with all the correct terms

But I do remember the clunking noises made by the few people that thought they were a fashion item trying to walk along the pavement.

Aye spikes (as they were back in the day, those old skool metal spikes are long gone). I can only imagine the green keepers face if everyone pitched up wearing studded golf shoes! Would certainly save him aerating the greens right enough [emoji12]

But I think yer right…I vaguely remember that fad as well…brutal would be too nice a word for it!

Bangkok Hibby
11-07-2021, 01:46 PM
We used to hammer segs into our shoe soles to make the clicking noise on the pavements

11-07-2021, 04:27 PM
We used to hammer segs into our shoe soles to make the clicking noise on the pavements

We only did it to make our school shoes last longer. :greengrin

11-07-2021, 04:54 PM
We only did it to make our school shoes last longer. :greengrinDrawing pins for the win! :greengrin

12-07-2021, 07:05 AM
... I can only imagine the green keepers face if everyone pitched up wearing studded golf shoes! Would certainly save him aerating the greens right enough [emoji12]

True.

We only did it to make our school shoes last longer. :greengrin

This thread has inadvertently turned into a variation of the Four Yorkshiremen Sketch.

13-07-2021, 09:28 PM
I was down in Manchester for a few days last week to visit family. At Victoria Station I saw a six foot bloke in six inch high heels (must have been at least size tens) mini skirt (thighs like a power lifter) and boob tube, but nae boobs to put in it. Hair shoulder length and dyed blonde.

Live and let live.

14-07-2021, 08:15 PM
I'm just back from a few days in London and this sort of attire is rife there. Loads of guys down there dress like that. Looks horrendous. The short sleeve shirt and sleeve tattoo appear to be favourites!It's their right to express their individualism....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

14-07-2021, 09:31 PM
True.

This thread has inadvertently turned into a variation of the Four Yorkshiremen Sketch.

They're lucky they had shoes. We had to hammer the segs into the soles of our feet!!

14-07-2021, 11:28 PM
It's their right to express their individualism....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Nothing individual about it, it’s a trend they are following.

Alfiembra
15-07-2021, 06:47 AM
They're lucky they had shoes. We had to hammer the segs into the soles of our feet!!

Luxury, we couldn’t afford segs, we used rusty nails from scrap pallets pulled out with our teeth.

15-07-2021, 07:19 PM
Luxury, we couldn’t afford segs, we used rusty nails from scrap pallets pulled out with our teeth.

You were lucky you had a hammer.

My parents used to bang the rusty nails into my brothers shoes with my head!

I still have the bruises.

HibbyDave
18-07-2021, 06:00 PM
Ah, we used to dream of having pallets. We were made to carry everything in our arms ( no sleeves mind you).

24-07-2021, 08:52 AM
Nothing individual about it, it’s a trend they are following.Whoosh. Think Life of Brian and "Yes, we are all individuals" [emoji3]

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

24-07-2021, 09:21 AM
Whoosh. Think Life of Brian and "Yes, we are all individuals" [emoji3]

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Never watched Life of Brian!

24-07-2021, 10:14 AM
Never watched Life of Brian!

It's much better than the original.