View Full Version : Watching Killie v Hibs cup game in Madrid

andrew70
26-02-2013, 11:27 AM
Am going to Madrid for Real vs Barca this weekend...does anyone know anywhere that I'd be able to watch the Hibs game on Sunday?

I imagine this maybe a little harder seeing as the game is on BBC Scotland and not Sky TV.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

26-02-2013, 11:37 AM
There are 2 Irish Bars in Calle Espoz y Mina which usually show most of the sports they are O'Connells & The Dubliner.

Watched a Hearts v Hibs new year game on ESPN in O'Connells a couple of years ago, not sure if they have BBC but they will put on multiple games if you ask.

This street is near Puerta Sol.

http://www.madrid-tourist-guide.com/...irish-bar.html (http://www.madrid-tourist-guide.com/en/bar/madrid-irish-bar.html)

andrew70
26-02-2013, 12:09 PM
There are 2 Irish Bars in Calle Espoz y Mina which usually show most of the sports they are O'Connells & The Dubliner.

Watched a Hearts v Hibs new year game on ESPN in O'Connells a couple of years ago, not sure if they have BBC but they will put on multiple games if you ask.

http://www.madrid-tourist-guide.com/...irish-bar.html (http://www.madrid-tourist-guide.com/en/bar/madrid-irish-bar.html)

Fantastic, thanks for this, much appreciated. 😄

villager
26-02-2013, 01:02 PM
.netters

taking a trip to see el classico at the weekend and was wondering if anyone has any knowledge of the city?

we want to watch the killie cup game so i'm hoping there might be a bar or two that shows u.k football
you may know of ??????

bbc covering it may make it harder but hoping it will be possible.

any suggestions much appreciated......

Greendub
26-02-2013, 01:08 PM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?257891-Watching-the-Hibees-in-Madrid&p=3516835#post3516835

villager
26-02-2013, 01:35 PM
great, thanks.

andrew70
26-02-2013, 01:39 PM
.netters

taking a trip to see el classico at the weekend and was wondering if anyone has any knowledge of the city?

we want to watch the killie cup game so i'm hoping there might be a bar or two that shows u.k football
you may know of ??????

bbc covering it may make it harder but hoping it will be possible.

any suggestions much appreciated......

I will be in Madrid for el Clįsico as well, if u find anywhere while across there let me know! Cheers

villager
26-02-2013, 02:07 PM
will do andrew

Buc
26-02-2013, 02:19 PM

I was in Madrid at the weekend and was in O'Connells. We watched the rugby there, however when they were changing the channel on Sky, I noticed it was showing on BBC South East, I didn't see BBC Scotland. I'm not saying they didn't have BBC Scotland, I just didn't see it. Also they were advertising that the would be showing Hibs v Utd, but we left before it started as we were going to the Atletico game.

At one point there were 4 different games on the various TV's, so I am sure if they can show it they will.

26-02-2013, 04:37 PM
Being on the BBC might be a god send as you could get it on your TV in your hotel/apartment if they have a decent enough dish :aok:. Any bar with a decent enough signle will be able to show it. Question is, will they. Could struggle to find a bar who will show it as the Spurs v Arsenal game is on. Best bet is one of the Irish bars, there used to be loads but not sure how man are still open. Anyhow checkout O'Neils, O'Connells, Finbars, Molly Malones and Finnigans as they all got big screens (if there still open). Quick search online should get their contact details.

26-02-2013, 04:41 PM
If they've got a dish that picks up SKY then the same dish will pick up the BBC so the bonus is that even if they don't have sports channels, you'll still get it and could even have it in your hotel or apartment.

26-02-2013, 04:50 PM
Get BBC england and wales abroad no bother, BBC Scotland less easy (unless bigger dish). So you might be dissapointed and find its not available.

26-02-2013, 04:54 PM
There's a chance the game may be available on line. The diddy cup semi between St Mirren and Celtic was on the BBC Scotland website

26-02-2013, 04:57 PM
Get BBC england and wales abroad no bother, BBC Scotland less easy (unless bigger dish). So you might be dissapointed and find its not available.

Maybe in Prague but never had a problem in Spain. Don't know what all the bars and expats are going to do next year though when they shut down the satellite they've all been using.

London Hibs FC
27-02-2013, 12:17 AM
Maybe in Prague but never had a problem in Spain. Don't know what all the bars and expats are going to do next year though when they shut down the satellite they've all been using.

Good broadband connection, UK VPN, Sky Go, VGA Cable linking a TV or Monitor and the job's done:cb

andrew70
01-03-2013, 06:24 PM
It will be on in the Dubliners, I am in just now and asked the guy behind the bar.

MoscowHibs
01-03-2013, 06:35 PM
http://lsh.streamhunter.eu/

That should do the trick to all fellow Hibees the world over that cannae get the beeb live. However as a previous poster said, hook up tae focus vpn and you can get British telly. Anyone unsure what tae do, pm me and I will send instructions.

Billy
01-03-2013, 07:03 PM
I've sent a message to my wee brother as he has lived in Madrid for 10+ years. He said to try The James Joyce in Calle Alcala.