View Full Version : Match Updates Official match thread - Dundee Utd 2 V 2 Hibernian FT

24-02-2013, 08:11 AM
Since I am on a winning streak after last weeks 3 pts I thought I should go for 2 in a row.

Hibs take on Dundee Utd this afternoon. Remember its a 4.30pm kick off folks.

What's the weather like up in Dundee? The snow is thick in the south of the capital just now. What's the chances of the game going ahead?

Same team as last week please.

Edit - if i am too early with this admins feel free to close until closer to kick off :-)

24-02-2013, 08:21 AM
Woken up to snow in EL........:rolleyes:

Yesterdays results make today a much more pressured game - massive differences in league placing depending on result...

24-02-2013, 08:29 AM
Must win game for us today, would be embarrassing if we lost. United r a decent team but we r now in the bottom six and can`t afford not to take points today. I think we have the toughest run in out of the teams fighting for top a top six place. Celtic, Motherwell and United away with ICT, Hearts and Killie at home. Fenlon and the guys don't make top six it's a massive failure this season. Mon le cabbage let's get a positive result today

24-02-2013, 08:46 AM
The barometer is almost off the scale this morning at a migraine-inducing 1030mb, but this mornings quite heavy snow in south Edinburgh should clear away shortly, although further flurries in the Dundee area or indeed anywhere along the east coast cant be ruled out later on nearing kickoff time.

The wind is from a frigid north-north-east direction today coming straight off the north sea. It will feel more like -4C than the projected 4C, wind speed 10mph or so. Sunset is at 5:34pm, so during the second half Tannadice will be cloaked in darkness.

Its definitely a day for stylish knitwear. If you choose to adorn yourselves in McGlynn-esque artificial fabrics, you will find yourself at risk of uncomfortable nipple friction. And even if you go for layers, you run the risk of not letting the body breathe and generating significant cold sweat body odour, like John McGlynn. By going with the knitwear option, you retain freshness AND stay warm. Unlike John McGlynn.

Remember people, theres no such thing as cold weather, only inappropriate clothing. 3-2 the Hibs. :flag:

24-02-2013, 08:51 AM
Must win game for us today, would be embarrassing if we lost. United r a decent team but we r now in the bottom six and can`t afford not to take points today. I think we have the toughest run in out of the teams fighting for top a top six place. Celtic, Motherwell and United away with ICT, Hearts and Killie at home. Fenlon and the guys don't make top six it's a massive failure this season. Mon le cabbage let's get a positive result today

Don't understand that one. It would be embarrassing if we lost and didn't have a try is more accurate.

24-02-2013, 08:58 AM
Don't understand that one. It would be embarrassing if we lost and didn't have a try is more accurate.

Ross County are above us in the league, there first season in SPL! Hibs now need to beat some of the better teams in the league as we have dropped to many points this season to Dundee, Ross County and Hearts. If we want top six we need points today. We have Celtic as our 33rd game this season, that will prob be there party day for winning SPL, wouldn't fancy us taking anything off them on that day. We need top six secured after 32nd game (United, Killie, hearts, well, ict)

24-02-2013, 08:59 AM

I assume Lee will be our penalty kicker !? :greengrin

24-02-2013, 09:01 AM
Would take a point today tbh. I think wee will pump hertz and scrape up enough points from the other games to make top six.

24-02-2013, 09:10 AM
Would take a point today tbh. I think wee will pump hertz and scrape up enough points from the other games to make top six.

18pts to play for, I'm thinking 9pts from our three home games (Killie ICT and yams), would be good to secure 6 out the other 9 with wins today and in March v Well. Hail Hail

24-02-2013, 02:15 PM
Mon the hibees ..:pfgwa

24-02-2013, 02:19 PM
Now its embarrasing if we lose to Dundee Utd? :rolleyes:

24-02-2013, 02:20 PM
Every game untill the end of the season may as well be a cup game for us, we have to go and grab a result.

Very tough game ahead for us.

Up The Bracket
24-02-2013, 02:23 PM
jordon forster‏@jordonforster5Massive game today.... #bigchance (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23bigchance&src=hash) #GGTTH (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23GGTTH&src=hash)

24-02-2013, 02:30 PM
Guys on yesterday's "Off the Ball" reckoned United should have won 4 or 5-0 at Motherwell in the last game - seems they created lots of chances, but failed to take any.

Haven't seen anything from Hibs recently to make me confident about this trip to Tannadice - think we'll drop down to 8th today.

It's OK if Hibs prove me wrong though...

24-02-2013, 02:41 PM
i can't see us getting anything today :boo hoo:

gie the baw tae reilly

mon the cabbage :flag:

24-02-2013, 02:45 PM
Any team news?

24-02-2013, 02:54 PM
If we win today, we go joint 3rd & only one point behind 2nd place. If that can't motivate the players, then I don't know whatever can.

C'MON HIBS!!!

Godsahibby
24-02-2013, 02:58 PM
Guys on yesterday's "Off the Ball" reckoned United should have won 4 or 5-0 at Motherwell in the last game - seems they created lots of chances, but failed to take any.

Haven't seen anything from Hibs recently to make me confident about this trip to Tannadice - think we'll drop down to 8th today.

It's OK if Hibs prove me wrong though...

Watched their game last weekend against Celtic and Scotland aside, in the first half they looked very good, kinda fell apart a bit after the break though. Will be a tough game,not sure who will be at Rght back but they will need to watch out for Mackay-Steven

24-02-2013, 03:00 PM
Don't have a good feeling about today, hopefully my doubts are wiped out by a good win:flag:

24-02-2013, 03:06 PM
Not optimistic in the slightest about this but Griffiths & 1-0 Hibs is 45/1 on William Hill. :cb

24-02-2013, 03:12 PM
If we concede early there will only be one outcome and its not positive. Still, when our defence plays like they can we are solid and hopefully they are at it from the get go. 2-1 Hibs.

24-02-2013, 03:18 PM
Today we will see how far we have progressed
We play a very good team today,, TBH a point would nt be to shabby,, how defeat against utd becomes enbarrasing baffles me ????.are we getting ahead off our selves?? Its been a far better season than the last 2, but surely we are still rebuilding
Bt

24-02-2013, 03:22 PM

Exactly, our recent record up here on Tayside is abysmal.

24-02-2013, 03:26 PM
Not optimistic in the slightest about this but Griffiths & 1-0 Hibs is 45/1 on William Hill. :cb

Good bet I've got sparky to score hibs to win 9/2 no confident either lol

24-02-2013, 03:28 PM
Come on Hibs and Bradford :greengrin

24-02-2013, 03:29 PM
For everyone who is not confident can I just say Utd have only won 3 times at home all season :wink:

24-02-2013, 03:33 PM
Hibernian: Williams, Stevenson, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Done, Taiwo, Claros, Robertson, Cairney, Griffiths #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

SUBS: Murdoch, Deegan, Doyle, Maybury, Handling, Caldwell, Forster #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash) #fromthecapital (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23fromthecapital&src=hash)

For everyone who is not confident can I just say Utd have only won 3 times at home all season :wink:

New manager? Something to do with unconfident outlook

24-02-2013, 03:35 PM
Same team as last week. Pleasing

24-02-2013, 03:35 PM
Deegan on the bench with Doyle and Maybury. Right decision sticking with Taiwo in my opinion. :agree:

24-02-2013, 03:36 PM
Hibernian: Williams, Stevenson, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Done, Taiwo, Claros, Robertson, Cairney, Griffiths #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Fine by me. Rather we played Doyle if we were 451 on though as a midfielder that you knew would be a decent support for Griffiths.

The key is singing that 'New song for today' chant on the other thread. Sing those two lines first minute to last and we'll be fine.

24-02-2013, 03:39 PM

Going to have a couple of pounds on that.

24-02-2013, 03:43 PM
Official DUFC ‏@dundeeunitedfc (https://twitter.com/dundeeunitedfc) United XI: Cierzniak, Watson, Dillon, Daly, McLean, Flood, Mackay-Steven, Rankin, Ryan, Russell and Armstrong

Up The Bracket
24-02-2013, 03:44 PM
Happy with that line up, our strongest possible team with Mr Clancy injured :agree:

24-02-2013, 03:46 PM
Been no snow whatsoever up here today. Cold mind you, but clear and bright outside!

Russell The Dug
24-02-2013, 03:50 PM
Fear for us today. Would take a loss if it meant a win next week mind. Mon the cabbage!

24-02-2013, 03:51 PM
I wonder if the players are as confident that they'll lose today.

24-02-2013, 03:54 PM

It wont be embarrassing to lose to United, but then again, Mackay-Stevens versus Stevenson.......:bitchy:

The score COULD be embarrassing.

I think we'll either sneak a 1-0 win with a slow moving defensive display and a boot up the park to Griffiths for a sneaky goal, OR Dundee Utd will thump us by three goals.

24-02-2013, 03:54 PM
No spoony even on the bench. Who can we blame if it all goes wrong.

24-02-2013, 03:56 PM
It wont be embarrassing to lose to United, but then again, Mackay-Stevens versus Stevenson.......:bitchy:

I think we'll either sneak a 1-0 win with a slow moving defensive display and a boot up the park to Griffiths for a sneaky goal, OR Dundee Utd will thump us by three goals.

Aye? How do you work that out then? Not by looking at the League table obviously!!

24-02-2013, 03:56 PM

Why? Stevenson was outstanding at Right back last week. He has good positional sense so don't think he'll necessarily get ripped.

24-02-2013, 03:57 PM

Stevenson :greengrin

The stay-away fans on here :agree: :greengrin

Can't see us getting anything, 3-0 to United I think they are on fire. Then again you never know with Hibs!

24-02-2013, 03:58 PM
I'm expecting a tough match today and we'll have our hands full with Russell and Mackay-Steven but the teams are evenly matched, I think the league table tells you that.

I would be content with a draw right now but I don't see any reason why we can't win.

24-02-2013, 03:59 PM
Why? Stevenson was outstanding at Right back last week. He has good positional sense so don't think he'll necessarily get ripped.

:agree: Lewis hasnt had a bad game in ages. Im guessingThe game will be won or lost depending on our midfield five, Done and Cairney in particular, offering some cover to Lewis and the rest of the back 4

24-02-2013, 03:59 PM

:agree: Maybury had a good game against him at Easter Road, so I'm sure Lewis can cope. On his day he is a very dangerous player though, so if he does get past Stevenson a few times, that's just something we will have to accept and try to withstand.

24-02-2013, 04:01 PM

Stevenson was outstanding last week and our defence kept the supposedly dangerous Goncalves quiet. Don't see why today and Mackay-Steven will be different.

24-02-2013, 04:04 PM

Stevensons probably been our best defender recently.. Don't know what that dig was for.

GlenrothesHibee
24-02-2013, 04:10 PM
Deegan on the bench with Doyle and Maybury. Right decision sticking with Taiwo in my opinion. :agree:

Agree. Midfield looked a lot better without Deegan last week

24-02-2013, 04:12 PM
Mon today Hibs.

24-02-2013, 04:12 PM
Nice 4-5-1 again today, we should be hard to beat again but hopeful we offer a bit going forward. Would be nice to score two goals in one game, but happy if it's just 1 if we win hail hail

24-02-2013, 04:13 PM
Was this game an early kick off? Or are people hungover from last night? Seems we've been beat already.

24-02-2013, 04:15 PM
1-0 Swansea

24-02-2013, 04:18 PM
Number of goals scored by Hibs in our last 8 games, 1-0-1-0-0-1-1-1.

If they score 2 or more, we're humped! :greengrin

24-02-2013, 04:20 PM
Watching ESPN and potter is on..... The guy is *****ing over Utd. Bet pound to a penny he'll take Utd to win at a canter.

I hate that guy

24-02-2013, 04:21 PM
Number of goals scored by Hibs in our last 8 games, 1-0-1-0-0-1-1-1.

If they score 2 or more, we're humped! :greengrin

Quite a frightening scoring statistic.

24-02-2013, 04:21 PM
1-0 hibs with united to miss a pen

24-02-2013, 04:29 PM
come on HIBS :flag:

24-02-2013, 04:29 PM
Disappointing so far, come on Hibs ffs!

24-02-2013, 04:33 PM
Quite a frightening scoring statistic.

It only takes one goal to win (or lose) a game. If it was 0-0-0-0-1-0-0-1-0 I'd be frightened.

24-02-2013, 04:34 PM
Midfield five pressing up the pitch. First 5 mins ok.

24-02-2013, 04:36 PM
So who's the Swedish boy we had training with us?

**** off

**** sake.

FFS!! :rolleyes:

'humiliation' for ben williams 1-0 arabs belated xmas gift for rankin

**** you rankin

24-02-2013, 04:37 PM
1-0 Dundee Utd, Rankin.

Terrible by Williams.

oldbiker
FFS Cmon Hibs

M6hibee
Chrissakes

Howler from Williams. Dear Lord...:rolleyes:

1-0 Arabs

FFS Big Ben howler. Very very slack by him. We started really well as well.

Just like Maka vs the Sheep.

Greendub
Great start

F*** sake Hibs

Oh dear, moment of madness we could do without, typical!

Makalamby-esque.

Had to be that **** Rankin as well.

Shoot ourselves in the foot

Keepers mistake but why are McPake and Claros standing still 10 yards in front of him. Make an angle ffs.

24-02-2013, 04:38 PM
Laugh out loud moment hahaha. That's two howlers against them now. Hibs started well

24-02-2013, 04:38 PM
Hospital pass from McPake to Claros then he just stood rather than offering Williams an option. Poor poor goal to give away.

24-02-2013, 04:39 PM
**** off

Back to painting the hoose then

24-02-2013, 04:40 PM
Rankin is little runt.

24-02-2013, 04:41 PM
On our previous form a draw is the best we can get or can we score two in one game?

Hospital pass from McPake to Claros then he just stood rather than offering Williams an option. Poor poor goal to give away.

Hardly a hospital pass, Williams just made an absolute howler. Granted all 3 Hibs players offered nothing but he could have walloped it up the park

why do ex players ***ing love to score against us!!:grr:

24-02-2013, 04:42 PM
The annoying thing about that goal is that apart from that we've actually looked no bad.

24-02-2013, 04:42 PM

Williams should have put his laces through it first time and got it to **** rather than trying to take the touch which gave Rankin time to close him down.

They look like they'll score more and we've not created much of anything yet. Worrying.

24-02-2013, 04:43 PM
On our previous form a draw is the best we can get or can we score two in one game?
2 in 1 game?? whats that ?

M6hibee
24-02-2013, 04:44 PM
why do ex players ***ing love to score against us!!:grr:

Sure we get more than our fair share of it. Always expect it now

Good shot from Cairney

Good move and effort by Cairney, decent save.

Good effort by Cairney

Good shot by Cairney. Annoying thing about losing that goal is that we are playing quite well.

M6hibee
24-02-2013, 04:45 PM
Sure we get more than our fair share of it. Always expect it now

Furthermore, if kuqi went to another SPL club, even he would return to haunt us

24-02-2013, 04:46 PM
The annoying thing about that goal is that apart from that we've actually looked no bad.

:agree: We started well against St Johnstone last week too.

24-02-2013, 04:46 PM

The only thing Kuqi haunts is my dreams.

24-02-2013, 04:47 PM
Bit better.

Nice passing from both teams, better quality of football than recent.

Cairney looking quite lively.

Daly booked early which means he cant afford to mistime another one.

Tell you what we're playing some nice stuff tbh heads still up.

Only if he was actually a poltergeist.

24-02-2013, 04:48 PM
Rankin is little runt.

Yep. Some players show a little bit of class when scoring against former clubs. Rankin is not one of them. Not Hibs class.

Only if he was actually a poltergeist.

He could always 'ghost' in at the back post!!

To be fair, we look pretty good today....always a risk now going a goal down to early against one of the best front three in the SPL

We are winning the midfield at the moment though

why would Rankin show 'class' wasnt he effectively frozen out for months and months before departure....every player isnt a supporter you know!

24-02-2013, 04:49 PM
Given our frightening scoring recort over last, what - 8 games, best we can hope for then is a 1-1 draw.

24-02-2013, 04:49 PM
Goal aside when he resorted to the safe and pedestrian, we're playing it out from the back much better. How we've played so far bodes quite well for next week.

Still don't get why Done plays right wing. Almost unfair bringing a new player in and playing him on the wing he's least uncomfortable on.

24-02-2013, 04:50 PM
Dundee United look quite uncomfortable at the back when we go forward.

We're playing some decent stuff, as are they, good game imo.

24-02-2013, 04:51 PM
Robertson looks good today.

24-02-2013, 04:52 PM
Looking a bit better now. Creating chances but nothing overly clear cut - right down the barrel from Griffiths there.

Comfortable enough in possession but still look a bit vulnerable when they come forward. Neither defense inspires much confidence.

24-02-2013, 04:53 PM
Willo Flood is a freakish man.

Robertson looks good today.

He helps a hell of a lot in there :agree:

You've taken this a bit too far

24-02-2013, 04:54 PM
Why is McPake so prone to such stupid lapses in concentration? It's an almost weekly occurence.

M6hibee
24-02-2013, 04:54 PM
Given our frightening scoring recort over last, what - 8 games, best we can hope for then is a 1-1 draw.

On the back of that, when as the last time we scored more than once in a game? I make it mid-December against Motherwell, which we still lost

Dan Sarf
24-02-2013, 04:55 PM
Great back-hell from Griffiths.

Done needs to get a bit more involved tbh.

Who ?!?!

24-02-2013, 04:56 PM
Poor tacklr there.

Trailing leg very deliberatly swung round.

24-02-2013, 04:56 PM
McPake :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

24-02-2013, 04:57 PM
McPake scores :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

1-1, McPake.

That's been coming. :thumbsup:

Thank ****

oldbiker
Yes come back is on:pfgwa

Greendub
Yass!!

Watson no booked , how no ?

Yessss

McPake, man love coming back.

HiBremian
Yassssssssss:flag::flag:

Deserved. Playing well.

First half goal

goal from a set-piece

first half goal

goal from a set-piece

first half goal

goal from a set-piece

Well deserved. Best first 30 mins we've played since turning over Celtc.

JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMES MCPAKEEEEEE :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:na na:

now, lets start again :)

24-02-2013, 04:58 PM
totally deserved - keep it up Hibs

Great delivery from Griffiths, nice header

**** sake, go for a Colin Nish and miss the goal:grr:

Very deserved equaliser, lets go on for the win:flag:

Good goal, hopefully we can actually score more

2 in 1 game?? whats that ?

We are half way there happy dayz JamesMcPake

Deserved goal, good game to watch aswell!

M6hibee
Well deserved leveller. Let's push on now

Get in!!!

Come on hibs!

24-02-2013, 04:59 PM
This is some really good stuff from Hibs.

24-02-2013, 04:59 PM
well deserved, playing well :thumbsup:

24-02-2013, 05:00 PM
Deserved equaliser there from a great ball by Griffiths.

We're playing some good stuff and hopefully can get the 3 points today.

:hibees:pfgwa:flag:

79% possession lets do this hibs!

M6hibee
Who ?!?!

It was tongue in cheek....... Though you never know!

24-02-2013, 05:01 PM
We're the better team just now, need to look for a second before half time.

Greendub
Taiwo playing attacking today, I like it

Good stuff hibs ..keep it up ..:hibees

WestEndHibee

Very deserved equaliser, lets go on for the win:flag:

Drink up sir! Let us get another!

Nailrod
24-02-2013, 05:02 PM
Given our frightening scoring record over last, what - 8 games, best we can hope for then is a 1-1 draw. That's being a tad generous.

1-0-1-0-2-1-0-1-0-1-0-0-1-1-1-1(so far :thumbsup:)

Could we... Could we.... Could we finally get back into nosebleed territory?

Hibernian with - ahem - bottle?

Sorry not there/watchin so no idea

For all the 'worst football ever' pish that gets peddled out, and some of it has been grim, mark this as evidence that Fenlon does want a decent football team.

Work in progress.

24-02-2013, 05:03 PM
Really liking the look of Robertson today.

Very obvious what he brings to the team when he plays like this.

24-02-2013, 05:03 PM
Tom Taiwo and Robertson make the difference in the middle. They actually pass the ball forwards. Hopefully we take advantage of our good play and take the lead.

Dan Sarf
24-02-2013, 05:04 PM
Tom Taiwo and Robertson make the difference in the middle. They actually pass the ball forwards.

Is that permitted?

24-02-2013, 05:05 PM
Tom Taiwo's best half for Hibs as well.

24-02-2013, 05:06 PM
Tom Taiwo and Robertson make the difference in the middle. They actually pass the ball forwards. Hopefully we take advantage of our good play and take the lead.

Robertson had actually gone beyind Griffiths a few times trying to get forward and support.

Great to see and lets Claros do the defensive midfield job then passbit on simply.

24-02-2013, 05:06 PM
Mon the Hibs :thumbsup:

24-02-2013, 05:07 PM
Why does Sparky take the free kick out on the right? Get in the middle man!

Taiwo and Claros need to play together weekin weekout. Robertson makes up the central three based on this performance.

Still only 1-1 though, we could still **** this up :greengrin

Russell The Dug
Playing surprisingly well here.

Taiwo battling hard today . He's up for it too

Very pleasantly surprised by this performance, thought we wouldn't see much of the ball but we are completely dominating the midfield right now.

24-02-2013, 05:08 PM
We look like a different team. Really good to watch. Mcgivern is playing really well

Saturdays Hero
Taiwo playing attacking today, I like it

Surprised some dont rate Taiwo,always feel we're a better team when he's playing,our midfield keeps a better shape.

Really liking the look of Robertson today.

Very obvious what he brings to the team when he plays like this.

PB just about to mention this. Needs games though but looks v good.

I also think Taiwo is showing what a good player he really is. Covering loads of ground, getting stuck in. I like Deegan but for me Taiwo brings more to the team

24-02-2013, 05:10 PM
We are half way there happy dayz JamesMcPake

1 more will do me, nah lets be greedy and want 3 :greengrin

24-02-2013, 05:10 PM
McGivern must have been watching Rafael yesterday to try a shot from there.

24-02-2013, 05:11 PM
Cracking effort by Sparky, keeper was beaten thrre.

24-02-2013, 05:11 PM
Don't want this half to end.

24-02-2013, 05:13 PM
Grifiths with another good effort.

24-02-2013, 05:14 PM
Playing Daly at CH is a big bonus as well because I think he would cause us no end if problems.

That was a Goooooal aw naw moment there.

What a shot from Leigh.

24-02-2013, 05:16 PM
McGivern can be a skillful player.

Godsahibby
Looking good, creating chance and Paddy Power have is at 10/3 in play for the win, think i will have some of that!

Best half from Hibs for God knows how long.

Good half generally. Some decent football, plenty effort, hard tackles, good efforts on goal and a few real end to end moments. Not a bad advert for the SPL.

HT 1-1 pretty good performance from us ;)

JHFC
24-02-2013, 05:17 PM
Good first half from hibs apart from the start, cmon the hibees!!!

1-1, half time.

Barring the blunder from Williams, we have been excellent today and really should be in front.

Dan Sarf
Playing Daly at CH is a big bonus as well because I think he would cause us no end if problems.

That was a Goooooal aw naw moment there.

What a shot from Leigh.

Bet they move him up front second half.

24-02-2013, 05:18 PM
Despite his goal Rankin is being made to look what he is, a mediocre midfielder. Robertson Claros and Taiwo are taking the pish :aok:

After a crap 6 mins thot we were excellent with Jorge, Leigh , Robertson and standout in this half Taiwo playing very very well.

More of the same 2nd half please.

Best team in first half, if it keeps going like this we should win.

Greendub
24-02-2013, 05:19 PM
Really impressed that first half, great passing, great team work

Keep it up!

Passing and movement at pace, what a refreshing change!

Great shape about us, loads of players making angles for passes and we are zipping it about really well and with real purpose. A stupid goal away from being our best performance in a long time.

24-02-2013, 05:20 PM
Very strong performance in all areas. Delighted with that.

24-02-2013, 05:20 PM
Pretty pleased with our performance so far.

Everyone gets pass marks but if I was to be critical I would say that Done and Cairney have both been a bit quiet.

Griffiths has looked very dangerous and is my MOM so far.

Special mentions as well for Robertson and Taiwo who have shown immense work rate tackling all over the pitch, defending in our own box and getting ahead of griffiths when attacking.

24-02-2013, 05:21 PM
Claros dictating play, and some great perfomances so far :thumbsup:. If we keep it up, we'll win. However, I can see United getting a reaction 2nd half. Richie Ryan is playing a blinder for us :agree:

The addition of Robertson and Done in the window seems to be making a difference.

I know that Hanlon is no Stanton but is it too much to ask him to bring the ball out especially when a gap opens in front of him? Affy keen to get rid.

24-02-2013, 05:22 PM
Apart from the Dundee United goal this is probably one of the best Hibs performances all season. Bossing in all positions. More of same second half please

Must be something wrong with my dodgy Internet stream: Hibs putting in a solid performance, playing inventive football going forward, the team playing as a team and working very hard at making life difficult for United ...going by this first half performance we could take 3 points here

...anybody else having the same problem?

Great stuff in the first half, the key is to keep up the same pressure from the off in the second, and not to give United a sniff. Good passing and movement, the 3 in the middle right now is the way to go.

Keep it up Hibs. :flag:

24-02-2013, 05:23 PM
Must be something wrong with my dodgy Internet stream: Hibs putting in a solid performance, playing inventive football going forward, the team playing as a team and working very hard at making life difficult for United ...going by this first half performance we could take 3 points here

...anybody else having the same problem?

:agree: Mine's is showing passes going forward and even showed a thrown in that won a corner. Completely bawsed up stream:agree:

24-02-2013, 05:25 PM
Playing superbly after losing the goal in 6 mins. Hope to God they can keep it up in the 2nd half but would expect Macnamara to change things around for united.
So far, so good.

24-02-2013, 05:26 PM
I really don't get the vitriol aimed at Rankin. A good solid Pro that never gave anything other than 100% in a Hibs Jersey and even now still gets it tight.

Bobo
24-02-2013, 05:27 PM
1-1, half time.

Barring the blunder from Williams, we have been excellent today and really should be in front.

Would agree, we've been the better team in the first 45 but although Williams took too long to clear his lines, the catalyst for the error was McPakes' unwillingness / inability to play the ball forward. His pass to Claros was a poor decision and the pass back from Claros was the only real option he had when he received the ball.

McPake has made up for his part in the blunder with his goal and overall we have collectively played some neat football, hopefully we can go on and get the winner in the 2nd half.

24-02-2013, 05:27 PM
What are the stewards like here today?? Effing hell. If there are no problems just hang on a tick until they make some.

24-02-2013, 05:29 PM
I really don't get the vitriol aimed at Rankin. A good solid Pro that never gave anything other than 100% in a Hibs Jersey and even now still gets it tight.

Little things upset football fans.

As said above a lot (most?) players dont celebrate scoring against their previous clubs. He seems to take great glee in it, see also Anthony Stokes. His comments about moving from Hibs to Dundee United being an obvious step up will also have no doubt left a sour taste for some.

24-02-2013, 05:29 PM
What are the stewards like here today?? Effing hell. If there are no problems just hang on a tick until they make some.

They were the same opening game. Full body searches for 8 year ol lassies before getting in :rolleyes:

24-02-2013, 05:32 PM
We are showing qualities that we have shown in many other games this season, it's just been a while. We didn't get to 33 points by January without playing well.

24-02-2013, 05:32 PM

I never liked him as a player for us, and i support everyone in a green and white shirt normally. He wore his socks in a stupid way. And he probably parked in disabled and children bays.

24-02-2013, 05:36 PM

It's no wonder he takes such delight in scoring against us when you remember the abuse he had to endure from some Hibs fans

DAVE1875
24-02-2013, 05:36 PM
McGivern must have been watching Rafael yesterday to try a shot from there.

Still more on target than Kujabi :greengrin

24-02-2013, 05:38 PM
Stevenson did well to get back there

i've obviously missed something, where's wotherspoon :confused: injured ? or dropped ??

goal sparky :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

What a goal!!!!!

What a goal

What a ****ing strike

oldbiker
SPARKY:top marks

Would agree, we've been the better team in the first 45 but although Williams took too long to clear his lines, the catalyst for the error was McPakes' unwillingness / inability to play the ball forward. His pass to Claros was a poor decision and the pass back from Claros was the only real option he had when he received the ball.

McPake has made up for his part in the blunder with his goal and overall we have collectively played some neat football, hopefully we can go on and get the winner in the 2nd half.

I've been a massive fan of Williams this season but he was to blame for that goal.

Saturdays Hero
What a goal.

Take. A. Bow.

what a ****** belter of a goal :greengrin

Greendub
Ya ****er!

2-1, Griffiths.

What a goal!

JoeTortolanoFanClub
24-02-2013, 05:39 PM
2-1 Sparky :hibees

Absolutely stunning goal from Griffiths - wow!

What a ****ing strike.

Also very composed hold up and ball by Done

Unbelievable Tekkers, Leigh!

Griffiths, what a guy!!! :not worth:not worth:not worth

Wonderful!

Cracking one off on the sofa over that goal as I type :agree:

Billie Jo
Ya beauty:flag:

Superb strike.

HiBremian
F***ing stunning! And beat that tw@t Rankin on the run too :na na:

The noise I made when that went in was unnaturally squeaky.

24-02-2013, 05:40 PM
WOW....what a goal :flag:

**** sake, go for a Colin Nish and miss the goal :fuming:

think it might be when he left he says he was taking a step up joining united:agree:

Will not tire of watching that goal again & again from Sparky, what a strike, the best I've seen us play all season.

2-1 Hibees

:hibees:pfgwa:flag::hibees:pfgwa:flag:

Contender for goal of the season! Well done sparky and well done hibs. We've actually scored 2 goals in 1 game

HiBremian
24-02-2013, 05:41 PM
Anyone got an oxygen mask? We've scored twice in one game!:greengrin

We are showing qualities that we have shown in many other games this season, it's just been a while. We didn't get to 33 points by January without playing well.

Correct. This is how we've tried to play and did play early season. Firm shaded and getting new attacking players in has helped.

Meant to say uncle Rodders better get the biscuit tin oot and dusted cos we need to do everything to get Leigh signed up on a deal.

My laptop is playing up now too, it is showing Hibs as having scored two goals but that could never happen! :wink:

Nailrod
:agree: Mine's is showing passes going forward and even showed a thrown in that won a corner. Completely bawsed up stream:agree: Hah. Hibs just socred a second goal. That's it. I'm binning it for today.

The noise I made when that went in was unnaturally squeaky.

Likewise.

Pumped the fist and screamed yes in a girly squeal just as the missus walked in from work. Think she thought I was having a sneaky ham shank.

24-02-2013, 05:42 PM
2 1 up and it seems like we are sitting back a bit now , can't we just go for 3 or 4 , c'mon the Hibees:flag:

24-02-2013, 05:43 PM

Nailrod
:agree: Mine's is showing passes going forward and even showed a thrown in that won a corner. Completely bawsed up stream:agree: Hah. Hibs just scored a second goal. That's it. I'm binning it for today.

**** sake, go for a Colin Nish and miss the goal :fuming:

:tsk tsk:

That's what half time is for

24-02-2013, 05:44 PM
Get in - Leigh for prime minister!

I am trying (unsuccessfully) to watch via skygo on my iPad.

Keep the updates coming please chaps !

Emerald
24-02-2013, 05:44 PM
Will not tire of watching that goal again & again from Sparky, what a strike, the best I've seen us play all season.

2-1 Hibees

:hibees:pfgwa:flag::hibees:pfgwa:flag:

The best for a few seasons. What a transformation. Great performance so far, well done Hibs, keep it going.

24-02-2013, 05:45 PM
Love that goal Sparky ..... 60 /70 yarder :)

24-02-2013, 05:46 PM
"@WelshIrvine (https://twitter.com/WelshIrvine): The more negative I get about Hibs the better they play. They'll NEVER hold onto this lead." Reverse psycology lol

Another case of Hibs.net displaying a page number within a thread that doesn't exist! :greengrin

Russell The Dug
Amazing goal. What's the deal with his frienSd

24-02-2013, 05:48 PM
How long to go