View Full Version : Match Updates Official match thread - Dundee Utd 2 V 2 Hibernian FT

Pages : 1 [2]

24-02-2013, 04:48 PM
Amazing goal. What's the deal with his frienSd

Dante Donofrio?

24-02-2013, 04:48 PM
How long to go

Half an hour

24-02-2013, 04:49 PM
How long to go

30 minutes

24-02-2013, 04:50 PM
Great tackle by the defender denying Cairney a chance to finish a nice move.

Dante Donofrio?

Yeah was a massive hibee

Dante Donofrio?

Thats what I thought.

Was a really nice lad.

24-02-2013, 04:51 PM
well deserved yellow for Mackay-steven, serves him right for having a double-barreled name

24-02-2013, 04:51 PM
Wee smile to the fans from Lewis there

24-02-2013, 04:54 PM
Thats what I thought.

Was a really nice lad.

will be sadly missed :agree:

24-02-2013, 04:55 PM
Sparky struggling with that knock, hopefully not too serious would not want him missing next week.

24-02-2013, 04:56 PM
Sparky struggling with that knock, hopefully not too serious would not want him missing next week.

Or Wednesday night!

Doyle coming on for him now

24-02-2013, 04:56 PM
Letting them back into it now, could be a long 20 minutes.

24-02-2013, 04:57 PM
Need to keep up the pressure, UTD getting back into it.

24-02-2013, 04:57 PM
Come on hibs.

24-02-2013, 04:58 PM
Letting them back into it now, could be a long 20 minutes.

They're bound to step it up to get an equaliser, hopefully leave a gap or 2 for us to exploit.

Although more hopeful of that had Sparky still been on.

24-02-2013, 04:58 PM
Good work by Doyle to win thr free kick.

24-02-2013, 05:00 PM
We are Hibs, we are good :greengrin

HibeeN
24-02-2013, 05:02 PM
Would love to see Doyle step up and get back on the scoresheet...might spur him back into his earlier-season form.

24-02-2013, 05:03 PM
att: 6,160

24-02-2013, 05:04 PM
Claros is a classy wee player at times.

24-02-2013, 05:04 PM
Very silky by Claros there:agree:

24-02-2013, 05:05 PM
Yeah... Claros takes the ball off them and goes back to beat them again

Lovin this

24-02-2013, 05:05 PM
Very silky by Claros there:agree:

:agree: Hibs class

24-02-2013, 05:06 PM
yellow card for taiwo

24-02-2013, 05:06 PM
We have played with the head today. Well pleased.

24-02-2013, 05:07 PM
Maybe take Done off?

24-02-2013, 05:08 PM
Giving away a few silly free kicks now that we could do without.

Defending well though.

Come one Hibs!! How long?

yellow card for taiwo

over 800 guests slowing the site right down :(

24-02-2013, 05:09 PM
Jim Spence (https://twimg0-a.akamaihd.net/profile_images/3290665824/f0d5ef8e780a8aebb9101fbf48293315.jpeg), get it right roond ye!

24-02-2013, 05:10 PM
That was the warning shot.

24-02-2013, 05:11 PM
Starting to hang on a wee bit.

24-02-2013, 05:11 PM
Pen

24-02-2013, 05:12 PM
Penalty to Dundee Utd :rolleyes:

Diving little prick!

Penalty for Dundee Utd.

Nonsense, clearly outside.

Penalty, come on the penalty king

Never a pen

Never a pen outside the box.

Wow ****ing cheated. Nowhere near inside the box

2-2, Russell.

Totally undeserved.

Linesmen what you doing???! Are you ****ing blind?!

Almost got to it.

1/2 a yard outside the box right in front of the ref!

HiBremian
B*llocks

7+ mins left, we really need someone to hold on to the ball in midfield, McGivern gives away a penalty, replay shows foul was outside the box pretty disappointing :(

Greendub
24-02-2013, 05:13 PM
Never a penalty, ****in joke

How was that a pen tackle defo outside the box , trouble is we can lose now.

HibeeSince85
Diving little *******!

Feel sick:agree:

24-02-2013, 05:14 PM
Doyles mistake

HibeeSince85
Never a penalty.

:(

Doyle gave ball away far too easily, McGivern gives a way far too many fouls in that area. Linesman and ref are fuds.

manx hibee
How was that a pen tackle defo outside the box , trouble is we can lose now.

Technology is a must GGTTH

East Coast Hibe
24-02-2013, 05:15 PM
Why oh why do we sit back when we get in front ??

So frustrating :-(

24-02-2013, 05:16 PM
Being harsh that stemmed from the midfield being knackered, Mackay-Steven had three around him and managed to turn past all of them.

Payback for our one at Motherwell maybe :no way:

Yet another shockingly poor refereeing decision goes against us.

Hmmmmm.

Never a penalty.

Ridiculous decision!!!

Why oh why do we sit back when we get in front ??

So frustrating :-(

:agree: that's our main problem, you could tell it was coming

24-02-2013, 05:17 PM
Distraught. Undeserved, incorrect and disgusting. A nice representation of Scottish refereeing.

AllyF
24-02-2013, 05:18 PM
That decision could ruin our season.

When will football, the multi billion pound business, come into the 21st century and start using technology for the big decisions?

Absolutely ridiculous that they got a penalty there, clearly outside the box.

SneakersO'Toole
I dont think we can complain tbh. We've had some questionable decisions in our favour this season.

You will never go a season without some unlucky decisions.

24-02-2013, 05:19 PM
sub too late pat :(

24-02-2013, 05:19 PM
When will football, the multi billion pound business, come into the 21st century and start using technology for the big decisions?

We got away with a shocker at Motherwell when the header was clearly over the line.

It's annoying (and I admit to not seeing it yet so I'll no doubt be livid later on :greengrin) but it happens.

24-02-2013, 05:20 PM

When will referees start doing their job properly?

That decision didnt require technology, it was almost a yard iutside the box right in the eye line of both the referee and linesman.

Terrible, terrible decision.

2-2.

Pish. :bitchy:

McGivern quite rightly giving the ref his thoughts :agree:

24-02-2013, 05:21 PM
Being harsh that stemmed from the midfield being knackered, Mackay-Steven had three around him and managed to turn past all of them.

Thought we had already re-paid that one - cannae at this moment recall the game but sure there was a dodgy penalty given against us at E/R

24-02-2013, 05:21 PM
That decision could ruin our season.

Nah, i'm not having that. Garbage performances like last week vs St Johnstone are more likely to ruin our season. We've had dodgy decisions in our favour too, so I won't lose my cool over that.

On the plus side we're only 3 points off second.

24-02-2013, 05:22 PM
I dont think we can complain tbh. We've had some questionable decisions in our favour this season.

You will never go a season without some unlucky decisions.
There is unlucky then there is complete incompetent

Would have taken a point before the game but we deserved more.

When will referees start doing their job properly?

That decision didnt require technology, it was almost a yard iutside the box right in the eye line of both the referee and linesman.

Terrible, terrible decision.

Everyone makes mistakes, it was a bad one by the referee but it does happen.

Hibs could have appealed there and it could have gone "upstairs".

A quick review could have seen that it was clearly a nonsense decision to award a penalty and it would have been a free kick instead.

Easy.

Unlucky hibs ..****ing robbed !!

24-02-2013, 05:23 PM
Good game and performance but very poor decision by the ref at the penalty

SneakersO'Toole
There is unlucky then there is complete incompetent

It happens at every level of football. If we weren't getting those decisions in our favour then we would complain but that isn't the case.

On paper a draw at Tannadice is an ok result, however it feels like a defeat today. Awful decision from the ref.

Would've taken a point before the match but to draw like that leaves a very bitter taste in the mouth.

Lots of positives though to take away, one of the best performances for a while, very expansive football and pleasing on the eye.

Just sat back a bit too much when we went ahead, could do nothing about the equaliser unfortunately.

Play like that for the rest of the season and we should see ourselves finishing high up the table.:flag:

two *****n p@shY goals for the arabs! ********

AllyF
Nah, i'm not having that. Garbage performances like last week vs St Johnstone are more likely to ruin our season. We've had dodgy decisions in our favour too, so I won't lose my cool over that.

On the plus side we're only 3 points off second.

Obviously there's that too.

But we had the 3 points wrapped up there which would have put us in the perfect place to seal top six. I am absolutely baffled by that decision.

oramhibee
God sake referee, replays show that the player was fouled outside the box!

Very proud of that performance. Silly goal and a dodgy penalty undid us. For some reason many on here perceived us to be lucky earlier on in the season when we were playing well - our luck was certainly out today.

Really optimistic for the future after that performance, especially with Liam Craig to come in.

Ridiculous decision!

24-02-2013, 05:24 PM
What is it with refs giving penalties against us when the foul is CLEARLY outside the box? Aberdeen away last season, that game in May and now today. We can't even blame Thomson this time!

JHFC
We deserved more but that was an anazing performance from the lads! More of the same next week please :thumbsup:

How many penalties against us this season :confused:

Clearly outside the box - poor decision.

Shame as we played well today and 3 points would have been excellent.

1 point is better than none at a tough place to go - much improved compared to the first humping of the season at Tannadice.

Much better balance in the team - missed LG when he went off though as Doyle works but not as natural a goal threat.

Next two games vital for our season against Killie then the yams at home - bring it on :agree:

SneakersO'Toole
Good result Hibs. Would have taken it before the game.

24-02-2013, 05:25 PM
Referee was shocking. His decision not to book Dillon was unbelievable.

Sergio sledge
I would have taken a point before the game, but to concede the equaliser like that is gutting.

Still it was a much improved performance and if we play like that every week we'll win more then we lose....

Cannot quite believe that we drew, especially with reports saying that we dominated, but in typical fashion a horrendous decision by an official sees us lose 2 points

i think we've more than payed that back already, the last trip to Aberdeen jumps out.we seem to get the softest pens against us :rolleyes:

24-02-2013, 05:26 PM
Shocking decision by the ref....shame as that performance deserved the 3 points, well played hibees!!

Mackay-Steven being a whinging wee bitch (for absolutely **** all) got the crowd on the referee's back and put him under pressure.

radio pundit quite rightly stating that penalty could be the difference of a couple of hundred grand

24-02-2013, 05:27 PM
Doyles mistake

He owes the lads a win bonus - awful awful loss of possession. The word cheap doesn't do it justice.

Best we have played all season first half, very workmanlike second half and tired - but just a magnificent team effort today especially after a shaky start. Doyle has spoilt my weekend. He's done that before this season and its resulted in goals - he must learn not to take the ball back into his own half and into traffic. He needs far quicker game awareness and to turn and face.

That feels like a defeat, which is something given the opposition and the fact we were away. Really honest performance with some delightful one touch possession football first 45. Gutted for the lads.

24-02-2013, 05:27 PM
Scottish referee's are ****ing pish :agree:

We got a dodgy decision earlier in the season v Well with a foul V Spoony that looked outside the box, so I guess that's evened that one out.

We should be encouraged by that performance though, thought we fairly dominated throughout.

On another note, Celtic 5-0 Dundee and Dundee Utd 2-2 Hibernian gained me 6 points in the prediction league.... COuld anyone tell me the odds on that double correct score? :aok:

KiddA
24-02-2013, 05:28 PM
Doyle should get his knuckles rapped for that :grr: yes it was not a penalty but it was his fault for loosing possession so cheaply

GlenrothesHibee
24-02-2013, 05:29 PM
We have had a couple lucky decisions go for us this season so got to take it. On the whole, very encouraging performance by Hibs

24-02-2013, 05:30 PM
1816:
18:16 The television replay makes it look like Gary Mackay-Steven is just outside the penalty area when the tackle from McGivern takes place. Unlucky for Hibs, but it puts United back into the match.

Horribly mixed feelings now, we played much better today than we have in ages. In the first half particularly passed the ball really well. Russell and Mackay-Steven were anonymous.

But as soon as Leigh went off the threat was gone. A decent side, after almost dominating the whole match would be looking for a third but without Griffith there is just nothing going forward. The last 15 mins came along and we started sitting back I knew Dundee Utd would get an equaliser.

Ok the decision was shocking but McGivern has given away 3 penalties in how many games now with really, really back tackles. Its a real shame today as both Dundee Utd goals were rubbish ones to lose and the defence had very little real danger to deal with for the majority of the game.

A lot of positives to take after the St Johnstone game and the ref will take a lot of stick but in truth we should be capable of closing a game out.

kevo1875
Some great football by hibs in the first half..quick passing good movement and everyone looking for the ball...more of the same boys GGTTH

24-02-2013, 05:31 PM
Everyone makes mistakes, it was a bad one by the referee but it does happen.

Hibs could have appealed there and it could have gone "upstairs".

A quick review could hav seen that it was clearly a nonsense decision to award a penalty and it would have been a free kick instead.

Easy.

Agree technology is a must.

However the clamour for it seems to overlook tht a lot of poor decisions by officials are shockingly bad.

That wad quite obviously, even at full speed, never a pen. Whilst down in England today Joe Hart pulls down Ba as last man, admittedly wide, gets no booking and saves the resultant penalty whilst in the game at Wembley Matt Duke pulls a player down and gets a straight red. Baffling inconsistency.

Technology will solve some problems but until referees are more accountable the current incompetencies will remain.

24-02-2013, 05:32 PM
good result in context, played much better, positives to be taken from this.

24-02-2013, 05:33 PM
Another shocking decision by a ref!!! Thought he had a poor game today including the hand ball against Cairney in the first half in the Utd box, his hand never moved and was in a natural position. If it was against a defender, these are never given as a penalty, but the ref gave it against the forward??

24-02-2013, 05:34 PM
**** off Levein, you weirdo Jambo geek freak.

LeighLoyal
24-02-2013, 05:35 PM
Why can't a referee and linesman see a player standing outside the box can't give away a penalty? :confused:

24-02-2013, 05:39 PM
Thats an absolutley ridiculous decision. Nowhere near inside the box and its clear to see in full speed without even needing a replay. Cant be disappointed with Hibs today though, good performance and if not for a rare mistake from the keeper we take the win. Hopefully we take it on to the two massive games next week.

archiebald
24-02-2013, 05:39 PM
This a laugh my brother in-law said it was a penalty no doubts and he should have got sent off (ps he is a jambo) :confused:

kevo1875
24-02-2013, 05:40 PM
Keep playing like we did in first half in the next few games and we will be back up challenging for second ...no more long punts from back to front ... I was impressed by the boys movement and midfielders trying to get forward

HibernianJK
24-02-2013, 05:40 PM
Absolutely ****ing raging. Brilliant first half performance. Kept the ball with ease and looked threatening. Sparky immense. Stupid ******** of a ref blows it for us. Proud of the team. Feels like a defeat

24-02-2013, 05:45 PM
Very unfortunate to be denied all three points due to Ref's error. On the positive side though, we're looking much improved and were by far the better side. Hope Sparky is ok for Wed.

Up The Bracket
24-02-2013, 05:47 PM
Played very well today Hibs, more of that and in a few months time, I'll be looking out my passport, we were robbed by a complete ******** of a referee and deserved the 3 points 100%.

24-02-2013, 06:08 PM
It wont be embarrassing to lose to United, but then again, Mackay-Stevens versus Stevenson.......:bitchy:

The score COULD be embarrassing.

I think we'll either sneak a 1-0 win with a slow moving defensive display and a boot up the park to Griffiths for a sneaky goal, OR Dundee Utd will thump us by three goals.

Well?

24-02-2013, 06:10 PM
Annoyed we never held on, was at game and looked outside the box but not seen a replay. First half we battered them and looked a really good passing side, just a shame about the goal conceded.

Very good performance against a good team and confident we will do the business against Kille on Wednesday.

24-02-2013, 06:20 PM
I'm glad that the feeling of disappointment is because we didn't hammer them as opposed to being hammered by them. A welcome change.

Happy that we scored more than one goal but we really need to finish teams off. Utd were there for the taking today

24-02-2013, 06:22 PM
We deserved the win after playing so well. A comedy goalkeeping moment and a terrible penalty decision denied us what we were due. Everyone worked hard and put in a shift. The team cohesion was there ans we did some nice things with the ball. Sparky was superb and his goal was class. United got out of jail today. I would have been happy with a point before the game, but feel robbed now.

24-02-2013, 06:44 PM
Very perplexed that Williams didn't make his normal bog standard penalty save.

Petrie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

EH6 Hibby
24-02-2013, 06:59 PM
Am I the only person a bit baffled by Rankins celebration? He acted like he'd just scored the goal of the season rather than it practically bouncing off his erse.

DoonTheSlope
24-02-2013, 07:01 PM
Just back very good performance by the team. Congratulations to Pat and the team. But for a dreadful mistake by the ref for the penalty.....

24-02-2013, 07:04 PM
Am I the only person a bit baffled by Rankins celebration? He acted like he'd just scored the goal of the season rather than it practically bouncing off his erse.

He's gone on record a few times that he didn't enjoy his time at Hibs. He thinks he got unfair critisism from the fans and was never appreciated. I tend to agree with him if I'm being honest.

24-02-2013, 07:04 PM
The ref clearly thought the first was a pen so couldnt wait to give it. Clown.

24-02-2013, 07:06 PM
He's gone on record a few times that he didn't enjoy his time at Hibs.

Well Rankin and I have something in common then.

Nuitdelune
24-02-2013, 07:08 PM
He's gone on record a few times that he didn't enjoy his time at Hibs. He thinks he got unfair critisism from the fans and was never appreciated. I tend to agree with him if I'm being honest.

Me also, let it be a lesson to us

EH6 Hibby
24-02-2013, 07:13 PM

That's fair enough and if he'd scored a goal in the normal fashion I wouldn't bat an eyelid about his ott celebration, I just think he looked stupid giving it big licks for a goal he had no idea about cause he was facing the other way.

24-02-2013, 07:16 PM
Russell, who scored the penalty, gave us some credit. Said we were the better team and they were happier with the draw than us, refreshing change!

24-02-2013, 07:24 PM
Anyone know how many hibs were there?

24-02-2013, 07:29 PM
Just watched the game, thought we were excellent, throughout and robbed of 3 points bad a very poor refereeing decision. our passing was very good and it's the best I've seen them play this season, far more balanced and very good going forward. Thought Sparky was awesome and defo MOM, also thought Stevenson was superb, caught out of position a couple of times but recovered well, maybe a new position for him. :greengrin

All in all a very good performance and they must've been very deflated to only come away with 1 point, things are starting to look very good.

24-02-2013, 07:35 PM
Anyone know how many hibs were there?

Just the one.. Unless you count Dundee Hibernian :wink:

24-02-2013, 07:45 PM
Another solid performance on the back of last week.....4 points from two away games not too shabby....

Midfield worked their socks off.....Plenty to be encouraged about

24-02-2013, 07:46 PM

Ok. Not seen it so this may be way of the mark but an Arab mate said he didn't overdo the celebration. Reckoned he was very proffessional.

24-02-2013, 07:48 PM
Another solid performance on the back of last week.....4 points from two away games not too shabby....

Midfield worked their socks off.....Plenty to be encouraged about

Agree mate, shame about the poor away crowd though. :-(

24-02-2013, 07:52 PM
Well Rankin and I have something in common then.

:hilarious Same here.

Stevenson outpaced him 2nd half and i'm sure that's not because wee Lewis is a whippet!

24-02-2013, 07:53 PM
Ok. Not seen it so this may be way of the mark but an Arab mate said he didn't overdo the celebration. Reckoned he was very proffessional.

Nah he was jumping about like he'd scored goal of the season rather than a charge down.

24-02-2013, 08:25 PM
Rankin wouldn't have got it tight at Hibs if he hadn't been an absolute ****ing fairy in every challenge. Ballet dancers would've been more hard in a challenge.

He's where he should be, bottom six pish.

hibs4thecup1988
24-02-2013, 08:56 PM
Rankin wouldn't have got it tight at Hibs if he hadn't been an absolute ****ing fairy in every challenge. Ballet dancers would've been more hard in a challenge.

He's where he should be, bottom six pish.

Hardly! Loved his celebration today. He tried his heart out for us and the absolute dogs abuse he got was ridiculous. Never mind!

It has taken me nearly 4 hours to want to write something about this game. Gutted doesn't really cover it. Cannot believe we never got the three points. HOWEVER, having said that I am absolutely delighted that they played the same way as last week passing and moving. The St Johnston game has obviously given them all a kick up the arse. And please please please nobody give the usual groans on Wednesday when we play 4-5-1 which we no doubt will.

Thought we were immense today, and if it was not for a slack judgement by Big Ben, and what can only be described as a horrific decision by the referee then we would be sitting joint 3rd with a winnable game to come on Wednesday night.

Hopefully 3 points on Wednesday will put us joint 2nd going into the break and then get the jambos at Easter Road and give them a mauling securing our top 6 place in the process.

:flag::flag:

24-02-2013, 09:53 PM
:hilarious Same here.

Stevenson outpaced him 2nd half and i'm sure that's not because wee Lewis is a whippet!

Must admit I was surprised at times by Lewis's pace, didn't realise how quick he was.

24-02-2013, 10:16 PM
Very encouraging performance all round today

Couple of unfortunate moments but the team played their hearts out and thats all we can ask of them

Roll on Wed night. Same fight and commitment and im sure we'll take the 3 points.:thumbsup:

Teo10
24-02-2013, 10:21 PM
Dante Donofrio?

Dante passed away last week, devastating news for a genuinely great guy! Brilliant from Leigh to honour him and mention him!:agree:

24-02-2013, 10:24 PM
Must admit I was surprised at times by Lewis's pace, didn't realise how quick he was.

Lewis has seen Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Hughes and Calderwood in and out the door - he has played left back, right back, centre mid, left mid, up top (v Well at ER) - he's suffered doubters, abuse, had all sorts of negativity thrown at him.

Yet he's Mr Dependable, never ever moans, always plays his lion heart out, never lets anyone down in terms of effort - to the point where it was noticed and he got player of the year last season. And this season when called upon, usually due to injury (again) he comes in and gives Fenlon a hard decision.

He's an absolute nugget is Lewis. No amount of knocks have managed to curb his effort and enthusiasm. Someone told me he is everything wrong with Hibs as he is below average. On the contrary, he is everything right with Hibs. Effort, professionalism, stability, big hearted, courageous and dependable/versatile. I actually can't recall Lewis being injured other than this season when even then he returned to action in double quick time, sooner than anticipated.

Cool wee guy, terrible dress sense - but a definite Hibernian asset.

24-02-2013, 10:35 PM
Lewis has seen Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Hughes and Calderwood in and out the door - he has played left back, right back, centre mid, left mid, up top (v Well at ER) - he's suffered doubters, abuse, had all sorts of negativity thrown at him.

Yet he's Mr Dependable, never ever moans, always plays his lion heart out, never lets anyone down in terms of effort - to the point where it was noticed and he got player of the year last season. And this season when called upon, usually due to injury (again) he comes in and gives Fenlon a hard decision.

He's an absolute nugget is Lewis. No amount of knocks have managed to curb his effort and enthusiasm. Someone told me he is everything wrong with Hibs as he is below average. On the contrary, he is everything right with Hibs. Effort, professionalism, stability, big hearted, courageous and dependable/versatile. I actually can't recall Lewis being injured other than this season when even then he returned to action in double quick time, sooner than anticipated.

Cool wee guy, terrible dress sense - but a definite Hibernian asset.

Sums the guy up completely. He is seemingly improving with every game this season, and as the team around him becomes stronger, we are seeing him blossom into the player we all thought he would become a few years back. I hope he stays for a long time and becomes a bit of a figurehead for anyone new to the team. Thoroughly professional, physically fit and a good player too.

Well done Lewis, keep it up. :thumbsup:

24-02-2013, 10:58 PM

Sums the guy up completely. He is seemingly improving with every game this season, and as the team around him becomes stronger, we are seeing him blossom into the player we all thought he would become a few years back. I hope he stays for a long time and becomes a bit of a figurehead for anyone new to the team. Thoroughly professional, physically fit and a good player too.

Well done Lewis, keep it up. :thumbsup:

Personally don't and never have rated him but am glad to be proved wrong

25-02-2013, 01:30 AM
Was annoyed at the time they penalty was given....fuming now i have seen the highlights!