View Full Version : Clean Sheets

Purple & Green
18-02-2013, 10:38 AM
I've been doing some number crunching today, and I thought this might be of interest.

I noted that Saturday was our 10th clean sheet of the season in our 30th game and I wondered how this compared with previous seasons and other goalkeepers. So here is what I found:

Clean sheets per season:

2012-2013 10 clean sheets in 30 games - 33%
2011-2012 9 clean sheets in 46 games - 19%
2010-2011 7 clean sheets in 43 games - 16%
2009-2010 11 clean sheets in 44 games - 25%
2008-2009 12 clean sheets in 42 games - 28%
2007-2008 13 clean sheets in 43 games - 30%
2006-2007 16 clean sheets in 53 games - 30%
2005-2006 10 clean sheets in 46 games - 21%
2004-2005 10 clean sheets in 47 games - 21%
2003-2004 10 clean sheets in 44 games - 22%
2002-2003 9 clean sheets in 43 games - 20%
2001-2002 12 clean sheets in 46 games - 26%
2000-2001 19 clean sheets in 46 games - 41%
1999-2000 7 clean sheets in 43 games - 16%
1998-1999 12 clean sheets in 41 games - 29%
1997-1998 4 clean sheets in 39 games - 10%
1996-1997 14 clean sheets in 45 games - 31%
1995-1996 8 clean sheets in 39 games - 20%
1994-1995 19 clean sheets in 44 games - 43%
1993-1994 17 clean sheets in 51 games - 33%
1992-1993 12 clean sheets in 53 games - 22%
1991-1992 21 clean sheets in 52 games - 40%
1990-1991 12 clean sheets in 40 games - 30%
1989-1990 17 clean sheets in 46 games - 36%
1988-1989 17 clean sheets in 43 games - 39%
1987-1988 18 clean sheets in 51 games - 35%

And Goalkeepers

G Szamotulski 5 clean sheets in 12 games 41.67%
A Goram 61 clean sheets in 163 games 37.42%
B Williams 10 clean sheets in 30 games 33.3%
M McDonald 50 clean sheets in 150 games 33.3%
T Caig 5 clean sheets in 15 games 33.3%
J McArthur 98 clean sheets in 296 games 33.1%
J Leighton 58 clean sheets in 178 games 32.6%
Y Ma-Kalambay 20 clean sheets in 63 games 31.7%
J Burridge 24 clean sheets in 77 games 31.1%
N Colgan 41 clean sheets in 147 games 27.9%
G Stack 17 clean sheets in 63 games 27%
Si Brown 17 clean sheets in 64 games 26.6%
C Reid 11 clean sheets in 42 games 26.2%
A Rough 52 clean sheets in 206 games 25.2%
D Andersson 11 clean sheets in 47 games 23.4%
Z Malkowski 13 clean sheets in 57 games 22.8%
A McNeil 8 clean sheets in 38 games 21.1%
O Gottskalksson 13 clean sheets in 70 games 18.6%
B Gunn 2 clean sheets in 12 games 16.7%
M Brown 6 clean sheets in 40 games 15%
R Rae 2 clean sheets in 14 games 14.3%
Graeme Smith 2 clean sheets in 20 games 10%
J Divis 0 clean sheets in 3 games 0%
M Franks 0 clean sheets in 1 games 0%
T Carson 0 clean sheets in 2 games 0%

Note the goalkeepers table only counts starts, and clean sheets. Does not include clean sheets where a player has come on as sub, or after the original goalkeeper was red carded.

When I get time I'll go back and check the 60s and 70s to see how they compare.

18-02-2013, 11:04 AM
I've been doing some number crunching today, and I thought this might be of interest.

I noted that Saturday was our 10th clean sheet of the season in our 30th game and I wondered how this compared with previous seasons and other goalkeepers. So here is what I found:

Clean sheets per season:

And Goalkeepers

Note the goalkeepers table only counts starts, and clean sheets. Does not include clean sheets where a player has come on as sub, or after the original goalkeeper was red carded.

The ones highlighted never ever gave me occasion to have many clean sheets - fair keeked myself every time the ball went near them :greengrin

M6hibee
18-02-2013, 11:10 AM
Strange defence this one. Capable of keeping clean sheets, we have a great keeper in place and solid defenders such as McPake, Hanlon and McGivern but every now and again, we get taken to the cleaners. Inconsistent springs tae mind. Great in games like the 1-0 win over Celtic and coping with the yams at the new year game at the PBS, then absolutely woeful against Dundee in the 3-0 loss and the capitulation against Motherwell in December. Funny side so we are

GlenrothesHibee
18-02-2013, 11:28 AM

Clean sheets per season:

And Goalkeepers

Interesting viewing. Good stuff

Hibstrooper
18-02-2013, 12:32 PM

Progress :aok::wink:

18-02-2013, 12:36 PM

Apparently not, it appears its only an opinion these days?

18-02-2013, 03:38 PM
Apparently not, it appears its only an opinion these days?

Fact then. The clean sheet stats PROVE that this team is the best one we have had since 2000-2001. I knew we had improved but not to that extent. :thumbsup:

18-02-2013, 03:41 PM
Fact then. The clean sheet stats PROVE that this team is the best one we have had since 2000-2001. I knew we had improved but not to that extent. :thumbsup:

Exactly, how does Scottish Cup Winners 2013 sound? :wink:

18-02-2013, 03:43 PM
Exactly, how does Scottish Cup Winners 2013 sound? :wink:

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
(Possible.)

18-02-2013, 03:53 PM
Damn, thought by the thread title that this was for non bed wetters. :greengrin

Liams
18-02-2013, 05:03 PM
I wonder wht calum antell is like, ive heard great things about him even thou hes not been playing for the best teams in their league

18-02-2013, 05:45 PM

Don't use the P word!

Next time we lose a game you'll be targeted.

18-02-2013, 05:59 PM

Aye and Ma Kalamity was better than Andersson.:no way:

18-02-2013, 06:15 PM
Aye and Ma Kalamity was better than Andersson.:no way:

The overall list does prove that the team is harder to score against than last season as it's like for like. However the Goalies list is not like for like as they weren't playing with the same defence in front of them so is just for reference, not direct comparison.

18-02-2013, 06:39 PM
I wonder wht calum antell is like, ive heard great things about him even thou hes not been playing for the best teams in their league

He's a very good goalkeeper and another season in the lower leagues will do him no harm at all.

18-02-2013, 06:50 PM
The overall list does prove that the team is harder to score against than last season as it's like for like. However the Goalies list is not like for like as they weren't playing with the same defence in front of them so is just for reference, not direct comparison.

I was responding to the ironic/sarcastic post of Marinello with my own ironic/sarcastic post, also it could be said that each team/year were playing against different attacks/formations so not really like for like. No offence. :aok:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lies,_damned_lies,_and_statistics

19-02-2013, 12:38 AM
We've certainly been quite impressive this season from a defensive point of view, barring the odd nightmare such as last week against St Johnstone and the Dundee game a few months ago.

We've conceded 20 fewer goals than at the same stage last season which is certainly much more like it and I've no doubts that a lot of that is down to Ben Williams.

I would just like to see us score a few more goals and have someone other than Griffiths chipping in every now again. We've only managed to score 7 more goals in comparison to this time last year. Hopefully Fenlon's target for next season will be to give us more of a goalscoring threat, whilst still keeping our defensive capabilities in tact.

If we can manage to do that then I'm sure we'll be up there next season.

19-02-2013, 01:23 AM
Strange defence this one. Capable of keeping clean sheets, we have a great keeper in place and solid defenders such as McPake, Hanlon and McGivern but every now and again, we get taken to the cleaners. Inconsistent springs tae mind. Great in games like the 1-0 win over Celtic and coping with the yams at the new year game at the PBS, then absolutely woeful against Dundee in the 3-0 loss and the capitulation against Motherwell in December. Funny side so we are

It was 3-1 against Dundee!

19-02-2013, 01:35 AM
Wife and I got a bit rowdy on Saturday night and we needed clean sheets too.......:greengrin

TrickyNicky
19-02-2013, 09:18 AM
Wife and I got a bit rowdy on Saturday night and we needed clean sheets too.......:greengrin

Fnar, Fnar !:faf:

Nearly left ah wee Si Broon oan mah office chair thair !

Thankyou for the stats too Purple and Green - interesting read.

Any chance you can do the 50's too so that blackpoolhibs and ray in ireland can have a pagger?:greengrin

19-02-2013, 09:21 AM

Any chance you can do the 50's too so that blackpoolhibs and ray in ireland can have a pagger?:greengrin

I was not there in the 50's, my opinion on that time is worthless. :wink:

TrickyNicky
19-02-2013, 09:26 AM
I was not there in the 50's, my opinion on that time is worthless. :wink:

Purple & Green
19-02-2013, 09:39 AM

Here's a selected list of other goalkeepers, which I think points to the fact that Jim McArthur may well have kept more clean sheets for Hibs than any other keeper:

Jim Herriot 35 clean sheets in 93 games 37.63%
Tommy Younger 68 clean sheets in 254 games 26.77%
Thomson Allan 28 clean sheets in 106 games 26.41%
Willie Wilson 44 clean sheets in 181 games 24.3%
Lawrie Leslie 17 clean sheets in 98 games 17.34%
Gordon Marshall 19 clean sheets in 68 games 27.94%
Roy Baines 7 clean sheets in 28 games 25%
Ronnie Simpson 32 clean sheets in 168 games 19.04%
Jerry Kerr 62 clean sheets in 265 games 23.39%
Jock Brown 13 clean sheets in 57 games 22.8%
Mitchell Downie 16 clean sheets in 67 games 23.88%
Willie Harper 72 clean sheets in 205 games 35.12%
Willie Allan 70 clean sheets in 264 games 26.51%
Harry Rennie 72 clean sheets in 233 games 30.9%

TrickyNicky
19-02-2013, 09:45 AM

Here's a selected list of other goalkeepers, which I think points to the fact that Jim McArthur may well have kept more clean sheets for Hibs than any other keeper:

Jim Herriot 35 clean sheets in 93 games 37.63%
Tommy Younger 68 clean sheets in 254 games 26.77%
Thomson Allan 28 clean sheets in 106 games 26.41%
Willie Wilson 44 clean sheets in 181 games 24.3%
Lawrie Leslie 17 clean sheets in 98 games 17.34%
Gordon Marshall 19 clean sheets in 68 games 27.94%
Roy Baines 7 clean sheets in 28 games 25%
Ronnie Simpson 32 clean sheets in 168 games 19.04%
Jerry Kerr 62 clean sheets in 265 games 23.39%
Jock Brown 13 clean sheets in 57 games 22.8%
Mitchell Downie 16 clean sheets in 67 games 23.88%
Willie Harper 72 clean sheets in 205 games 35.12%
Willie Allan 70 clean sheets in 264 games 26.51%
Harry Rennie 72 clean sheets in 233 games 30.9%

I must say P&G, that's amazing, I only asked 2 minutes ago!

Do I still have 2 wishes left ?

19-02-2013, 05:31 PM

I think we've all come to realise we have a team with serious limitatons. If we play 442 and try a more expansive game, we run the risk of getting hammered, a la the game last week against St J. It seems (though surprises me, considering earlier season displays) that we only have the personnel for digging in and grinding out a result. I think that's the reason behind the clean sheet statistic.

19-02-2013, 05:54 PM
Clean sheets. - given the Jambo situation, very rare commodity in Gorgie households these days.