View Full Version : Should Hibs also produce 3D programmes?

big-mo
16-02-2013, 10:03 AM
I have just been down to the pink bus shelter and bought one of their 3D programmes for their game today. I know, I should not be giving them any money (I did ask for a free bag) but I do collect prog's and I thought that this was worth collecting.

I have to concede that it is quite impressive, I also have to admit that they do have a much better prog than ours, £3 for 68 pages compared to ours, £2.50 for 32 pages, and with just about the same numbers of adverts. I have not read any of the content so can not comment on the quality of articles.

They claim it is the first 3D prog in the SPL but does anyone else know what other clubs outwith Scotland have produced one?

16-02-2013, 10:06 AM
Does it come with free glasses?

Mark79
16-02-2013, 10:09 AM
We pay the printers. That's the difference.

16-02-2013, 10:14 AM
Hate to be pedantic but every one of our Programmes are 3D

16-02-2013, 10:15 AM
The rangers have D3 programs.

big-mo
16-02-2013, 10:22 AM
Does it come with free glasses?
Yes, I was expecting them to be branded but they are just the run of the mill plain white cardboard.

16-02-2013, 10:25 AM
Can't see the Yams making much money at thru'pence a pop... :wink:

Hank Schrader
16-02-2013, 10:29 AM

Actually laughed out loud at that! :greengrin

16-02-2013, 10:29 AM
Let's face it, the Yams have been viewing their football thru tinted specs for years.
Anyway, Hibs had 3d programmes in the 50's (a wee hint to younger .netters - threepence in auld money was known as 3d:rolleyes:)

16-02-2013, 10:32 AM
Is this to make crowds appear bigger?

16-02-2013, 10:39 AM

davym7062
16-02-2013, 10:44 AM

:greengrin:thumbsup:

16-02-2013, 10:46 AM
Dunno about Programmes but Olympic Lyonnais have a 3D shirt this season, So would guess at Launch there may have been at least something in the Programme 9373

Niffy
16-02-2013, 10:56 AM

Guid.

Mark79
16-02-2013, 11:02 AM
Message from the manager would be interesting

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=uncle+fester&hl=en&client=safari&tbo=d&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=2GYfUZz5F8j34QT57ICIDw&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAQ&biw=1024&bih=672#biv=i|13;d|xRtiwNzyAhx4NM:

Sweet Left Peg
16-02-2013, 11:07 AM

hibbybrian
16-02-2013, 11:15 AM
Anyway, Hibs had 3d programmes in the 50's (a wee hint to younger .netters - threepence in auld money was known as 3d:rolleyes:)

The programmes were 2d in the forties until the start of the 1949-50 season when they became 3d and stayed at 3d for 16 years until the start of the 1965-66 season when they became 6d :wink:

Hibeesforever
16-02-2013, 11:44 AM
Comedy value seeing the Yams all sitting blinkered with their glasses on. Did you ask them when their accounts and tax return will be available in 3D ? How about their payment terms to suppliers , in black and white at about three months, and the rest.

16-02-2013, 12:29 PM

Class 10/10

16-02-2013, 01:23 PM
The glasses come with a message -

Caution: With these glasses some teams may appear bigger than they actually are...

16-02-2013, 01:24 PM
Our programme is dire. My brother bought one on Monday and there was nothing of interest in it. Surely something else that could be improved upon. Hertz have their troubles but they are having to be innovative to increase revenue streams. Our marketing seems complacent.

16-02-2013, 07:33 PM

Is there a hibs.net one-liner of the year? We have a contender!

green glory
16-02-2013, 07:33 PM
No, it wasn't a serious question.

Shows how easily the pink Savile's can be distracted from the real issues by the puppet masters though.

16-02-2013, 08:33 PM
I have not bought a programme in years, what do they tell us these days that we dont already know from the web? :dunno:

16-02-2013, 08:43 PM
I have just been down to the pink bus shelter and bought one of their 3D programmes for their game today. I know, I should not be giving them any money (I did ask for a free bag) but I do collect prog's and I thought that this was worth collecting.

I have to concede that it is quite impressive, I also have to admit that they do have a much better prog than ours, £3 for 68 pages compared to ours, £2.50 for 32 pages, and with just about the same numbers of adverts. I have not read any of the content so can not comment on the quality of articles.

They claim it is the first 3D prog in the SPL but does anyone else know what other clubs outwith Scotland have produced one?

You would - in my view - be semi ******ed to buy either effort. The content is largely drivel, written in a sub tabloid style. Several pages are adverts and the manager and chairmans columns in the opening pages read like North Korean propaganda.

16-02-2013, 08:45 PM
Do you know how many we sell on ave at home games?

darrenmcintosh2
16-02-2013, 08:47 PM
Haha a goal conceded for each dimension. Shuv your 3d program up yet tam kiter

Robinho08
16-02-2013, 09:01 PM

:top marks:tee hee:

16-02-2013, 09:05 PM
I have not bought a programme in years, what do they tell us these days that we dont already know from the web? :dunno:

:agree: Added to that the fact that they're f***in awful and cost a fortune (£3 last time I looked)

Re the Yams' 3D prog - I take it they had a big 3D Jobby on the front to signify the fact that they're Sh***, Sh***, Glorious Sh*** :cb

16-02-2013, 09:08 PM
3D = 3 Down :thumbsup:

16-02-2013, 09:29 PM

I`m the same. Used to be a match-day staple buying the programme, but honestly could not say when I last got one. Did not even cross my mind to buy one at the Cup Final last year.
Must be difficult to produce a programme that can supply information that the fans don`t otherwise know from the web. Would be interesting to learn how many we sell on average. Would be surprised if its over 1500.

Ross4356
16-02-2013, 10:34 PM
If its the same price as normal, surely they will be not making as much money at this crucial time, naw?

16-02-2013, 10:48 PM
If its the same price as normal, surely they will be not making as much money at this crucial time, naw?

Only if they sell the same amount :wink: i mean if they make a 3rd less per copy but sell twice as many then its an improvement, And if you have good Hibees like Big Mo going up to get one they will sell many many more than normal you would assume. Potentially the First 3D programme in world football could end up worth a fortune (when they go POP):thumbsup:

17-02-2013, 10:42 AM
Watch how they will start to brag about how they were the first ever club to release a 3D programme.

17-02-2013, 11:14 AM
Watch how they will start to brag about how they were the 1st ever club to release a 3D D3 programme.

Fixed that for you :greengrin

Time For Heroes
17-02-2013, 12:46 PM
I nearly took the bait... :D

17-02-2013, 12:58 PM
To be honest, they're mostly transfixed on Uncle Fester at the moment. They could go out of business tomorrow, and they'd still be demanding John McGlynn's head on a pike.

vanNISHtelroy
17-02-2013, 01:05 PM
To be honest, they're mostly transfixed on Uncle Fester at the moment. They could go out of business tomorrow, and they'd still be demanding John McGlynn's head on a pike.

Could be the front cover of the next 3d programme?

17-02-2013, 05:40 PM
Could be the front cover of the next 3d programme?

Or at the rate technology moves 3D will be out of fashion by then, maybe they will be managed by a much cheaper hologram of Fester for the next match? Vlad would be able to operate it remotely from the Bora Bora mountains or wherever he is currently hiding out.

17-02-2013, 05:43 PM

I collect shirts, but I would never buy one of theirs. I can't ever imagine wanted to spend money on any of their grubby merchandise. Have a word with yourself.

17-02-2013, 06:09 PM
I collect shirts, but I would never buy one of theirs. I can't ever imagine wanted to spend money on any of their grubby merchandise. Have a word with yourself.
I really hope you left out the :devil:

17-02-2013, 06:35 PM

Some of the player interviews used to be quite good.

Don't think they do it anymore, but as a child I remember I loved the A-Z weekly interview where you'd find out loads of pointless info about the player.

Woody70x2
17-02-2013, 06:55 PM
No, it wasn't a serious question.

Shows how easily the pink Savile's can be distracted from the real issues by the puppet masters though.

I think it would be a good idea to have free wifi installed around the stadium... Using your 3G connection to post on Hibs.net whilst at the game is costing me.

Mac
17-02-2013, 07:24 PM
I believe like most things at Hearts its franchised out to an external supplier, I think they ran out of printers as they didnt pay the previous ones who printed the programme, basicaly they wont make any more money and just the usual monthly fee I guess.

17-02-2013, 07:28 PM
I believe like most things at Hearts its franchised out to an external supplier, I think they ran out of printers as they didnt pay the previous ones who printed the programme, basicaly they wont make any more money and just the usual monthly fee I guess.

Did their printers from Haddington not go bust in January?

Mac
17-02-2013, 07:36 PM
Did their printers from Haddington not go bust in January?

Sorry mate, no idea.

yeezus.
17-02-2013, 08:18 PM
I used to collect programmes as well. I have numerous Stranraer programmes (including the League cup 0-0 draw against Hibs). I have a programme from Rochdale, some from Aberdeen, Kilmarnock, Dundee and just about every other club apart from the yams.

17-02-2013, 08:28 PM
I`m the same. Used to be a match-day staple buying the programme, but honestly could not say when I last got one. Did not even cross my mind to buy one at the Cup Final last year.
Must be difficult to produce a programme that can supply information that the fans don`t otherwise know from the web. Would be interesting to learn how many we sell on average. Would be surprised if its over 1500.

In a nutshell :agree:

I used to write stuff for the programme, mainly historical pieces but the guys who put the current one together have a thankless task thanks to the internet

17-02-2013, 08:38 PM
Q:- who'd want to see fud chops McGlynn in 3D? really?!

Time For Heroes
17-02-2013, 09:14 PM
Q:- who'd want to see fud chops McGlynn in 3D? really?!
****** me, he honestly look's like he's been dooking for apples in a chip pan

18-02-2013, 12:01 AM
no, its a gimmick and nobody really cares about a 3d programme, bring back MassHibsteria :agree:

JIm
18-02-2013, 12:04 AM
Aint nobody got time for that

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFEoMO0pc7k

18-02-2013, 12:22 AM
I think it would be a good idea to have free wifi installed around the stadium... Using your 3G connection to post on Hibs.net whilst at the game is costing me.

The bandwidth requirements would be horrendous.

Great idea but difficult to deliver.

18-02-2013, 08:31 AM
They can add it to their wee list of firsts. First club in the UK with a 3d programme. There's a reason no one else has done it before: a) it's pointless and b) it's just a gimmick.

18-02-2013, 08:39 AM
Leave the pop up books to them.

M6hibee
18-02-2013, 08:47 AM
They can add it to their wee list of firsts. First club in the UK with a 3d programme. There's a reason no one else has done it before: a) it's pointless and b) it's just a gimmick.

Exactly. Just the sort of meaningless frilly pish to be expected fae them

18-02-2013, 12:40 PM
no, its a gimmick and nobody really cares about a 3d programme, bring back MassHibsteria :agree:

18-02-2013, 12:45 PM

And Shavers Weekly :greengrin

18-02-2013, 12:46 PM

They are claiming they are the 1st in the World

18-02-2013, 12:50 PM
And Shavers Weekly :greengrin

Shavers weekly was amazing, In particular I enjoyed the horoscopes and the adverts for Black Bo's
"Black Bo's welcomes ginger people and other assorted freaks of nature"

green glory
18-02-2013, 01:54 PM
They are claiming they are the 1st in the World

QPR did it first last season. The Yams are clinging onto anything positive just now.

Considering their plight the 3D programme was the most cynical, childish even attempt to deflect attention from the grim financial reality.

Easy to do though as they're all ****ing vegetables.

cam75
18-02-2013, 04:12 PM
Shavers weekly was amazing, In particular I enjoyed the horoscopes and the adverts for Black Bo's
"Black Bo's welcomes ginger people and other assorted freaks of nature"

Get on to Murry at the tourmalet next to robbies bar !

18-02-2013, 06:08 PM
For a complete non techy like me can anyone tell me what 3d stands for?

In view of the coincidence of a 3d programme and Saturday's match result does it stand for 3 down? Sounds reasonable enough tom e.

Maybe they did a 7d programme on 1st Jan 1973?

18-02-2013, 07:46 PM
What a bunch of trumpeting wallopers:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeC7qbhMt0A

18-02-2013, 10:55 PM
What a bunch of trumpeting wallopers:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeC7qbhMt0A

I honestly thought some of them couldnt look more stupid, and along comes 3D. :faf:

18-02-2013, 11:06 PM
Mark Donaldson‏@Donaldson007Love this Hearts sketch by @boylecartoon (http://www.hibs.net/boylecartoon) - if you can't laugh at yourself and all that.. pic.twitter.com/XtHgCStP (http://t.co/XtHgCStP)

(apologies if this is already posted somewhere!)

18-02-2013, 11:08 PM
Mark Donaldson‏@Donaldson007Love this Hearts sketch by @boylecartoon (http://www.hibs.net/boylecartoon) - if you can't laugh at yourself and all that.. pic.twitter.com/XtHgCStP (http://t.co/XtHgCStP)

(apologies if this is already posted somewhere!)