View Full Version : Gordon Rae in Corfu.

gorgie greens
15-02-2013, 12:49 PM
Heading over there,heard the big man has a pub on the island,anyone know the name ?
Will pop in and see him.

15-02-2013, 09:29 PM
Corfu is braw! even Better if said Big Man resides there :)

15-02-2013, 09:49 PM
Heading over there,heard the big man has a pub on the island,anyone know the name ?
Will pop in and see him.

Hes probably standing waiting on you coming, frosty beer at the end of the bar. A mean he canny be doing anything else wi his time eh :greengrin

15-02-2013, 10:54 PM
Gordon Rae scored one of my all time favourite goals ever. At Tannadice he ran from his own half, played a neat 1-2, then hit the ball from around 30 yards, which flew into the net, like a missile....I had in on tape somewhere, but no idea where it is now unfortunately....(I was in the pictures celebrating, still think fondly of that goal)

15-02-2013, 11:08 PM
Gordon Rae scored one of my all time favourite goals ever. At Tannadice he ran from his own half, played a neat 1-2, then hit the ball from around 30 yards, which flew into the net, like a missile....I had in on tape somewhere, but no idea where it is now unfortunately....(I was in the pictures celebrating, still think fondly of that goal)cant recall the goal you mention, but he could have had his hands on that cup, naw? was he captain when we were denied a peno, 3 mins from time against a now defunct team? come to think of it, should we not have had that 3 game result allocated to us?:wink:

15-02-2013, 11:10 PM
Gordon Rae scored one of my all time favourite goals ever. At Tannadice he ran from his own half, played a neat 1-2, then hit the ball from around 30 yards, which flew into the net, like a missile....I had in on tape somewhere, but no idea where it is now unfortunately....(I was in the pictures celebrating, still think fondly of that goal) hey Brockie, meant tae ask............did you wear a wig then?:greengrin

15-02-2013, 11:35 PM
Gordon Rae's my old mans favourite player. High praise because there ain't many folk he rates! Always going on about how he 'wishes we had a Gordon Rae now.' What was he like?

15-02-2013, 11:55 PM
Gordon Rae's my old mans favourite player. High praise because there ain't many folk he rates! Always going on about how he 'wishes we had a Gordon Rae now.' What was he like?not a lot of class, but guts, and plenty of it! my kinda player when the going gets tough and Hibs through and through

16-02-2013, 04:15 AM
So has he got a boozer in corfu or not

16-02-2013, 06:25 AM

My mate works with his laddie and though they have chatted about Gordon living over there no mention of a Boozer was ever made

16-02-2013, 07:56 AM
While you're there ask him why he or Gordon Hunter never tried marking John Robertson in any of the 22 in a row derbies...:rolleyes:

ruthven_raiders
16-02-2013, 08:04 AM
cant recall the goal you mention, but he could have had his hands on that cup, naw? was he captain when we were denied a peno, 3 mins from time against a now defunct team? come to think of it, should we not have had that 3 game result allocated to us?:wink:

Yep Colin Campbell was brought down by Peter McCloy stonewall penalty! Then several replays later we still didn't win the cup😉

16-02-2013, 08:29 AM
I remember well when he exploded on the scene as a center forward, he was blasting goals in from everywhere and I thought at last we have a bull in a china shop center forward only for mogadon Miller to revert him to center half, a crazy decision at the time (so was putting Joe T at left back) not his fault of course but in reality I couldn't be bothered with him after that and was highly critical of him, knew his auld man well (he could yap for Scotland but always interesting) and Gordon's a nice guy but the yam thing runs deep with me.

16-02-2013, 08:48 AM

I presume it'd be in the north of the island and not Kavos?!!

16-02-2013, 09:35 AM
I remember well when he exploded on the scene as a center forward, he was blasting goals in from everywhere and I thought at last we have a bull in a china shop center forward only for mogadon Miller to revert him to center half, a crazy decision at the time (so was putting Joe T at left back) not his fault of course but in reality I couldn't be bothered with him after that and was highly critical of him, knew his auld man well (he could yap for Scotland but always interesting) and Gordon's a nice guy but the yam thing runs deep with me.

He reverted to a centre half long before Alex Miller became manager.

16-02-2013, 09:51 AM

I think your memory is a bit jaded mate. It wasn't Miller who made him a centre half.

16-02-2013, 09:57 AM
He reverted to a centre half long before Alex Miller became manager.

Are you sure about that? who put him at CH then?

GoldenEagle
16-02-2013, 10:13 AM
Are you sure about that? who put him at CH then?

He was a CH about 83/84. Probably Stanton or Auld.

16-02-2013, 10:17 AM
He was a CH about 83/84. Probably Stanton or Auld.

Think it was Auld now that you mention it...I stand corrected....:wink:

16-02-2013, 10:28 AM
Think it was Auld now that you mention it...I stand corrected....:wink:

Though Miller did on occasion change a player's position based on Tennants Sixes performance....

16-02-2013, 10:47 AM
Mentions Rae living in Corfu in this article in the Scotsman last December but does not say which bar or where :dunno:

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/gordon-rae-last-hibee-to-score-a-cup-winner-against-hearts-hopes-to-see-record-broken-1-2670930

Tomorrow will be the first time Rae has been to a Hibs match since watching them against Dundee United a couple of years ago, but afterwards he’ll return to Corfu to watch from afar as Fenlon’s players bid to continue the remarkable progress they’ve made in the past few months. He also takes a healthy interest in football in his new homeland.

He said: “We’ve been in Corfu for the past three-and-a-half years and love the lifestyle. When we first moved there I played a season with a local village team, Kavadades Thunder in the lowest league in the Greek pyramid system. We had a very young team and I was by miles, some 25 years, the oldest.

“The coach had me playing central midfield but I ended up as sweeper. I got a couple of goals and enjoyed it but the games were on astroturf and that did my knees in. Now I play fives on a Sunday morning and have a three or four-mile run on the beach a few times each week. When I come home, I catch up with the local guys who used to play for Hibs like Keith Wright, Gordon Hunter, Paul Kane, John Collins, Mickey Weir and Callum Milne, have a game of fives and a couple of drinks.

“We like to think we’re still playing as we used to – but then the aching legs the next day tell you we’re all that bit older.”

16-02-2013, 10:59 AM
Though Miller did on occasion change a player's position based on Tennants Sixes performance....

16-02-2013, 11:05 AM
hey Brockie, meant tae ask............did you wear a wig then?:greengrin

Had a sporting middle parting like New Kids on the Block, sadly the middle parting was the onset of a helluva parting all over:greengrin

16-02-2013, 11:15 AM
[QUOTE=Hibernia Na Eir;3507228]I presume it'd be in the north of the island and not Kavos?!![/QUOTEI would hope so as I no longer qualify for the 18-30 style of holiday

16-02-2013, 11:53 AM
Will pop in and see him.

I take it you're not going just now? Resorts won't start picking up til April. Lovely island. Where are you heading to?

16-02-2013, 12:08 PM
Gordon Rae scored one of my all time favourite goals ever. At Tannadice he ran from his own half, played a neat 1-2, then hit the ball from around 30 yards, which flew into the net, like a missile....I had in on tape somewhere, but no idea where it is now unfortunately....(I was in the pictures celebrating, still think fondly of that goal)1982 in the cup, one of the best goals i've seen. Shame about the replay 1 up with seconds to go then cuffed in second replay.

16-02-2013, 01:48 PM
[QUOTE=Hibernia Na Eir;3507228]I presume it'd be in the north of the island and not Kavos?!![/QUOTEI would hope so as I no longer qualify for the 18-30 style of holiday

aye, me neither! Corfu is an absolute gem of an island. if I could choose one place to retire it'd be there....

16-02-2013, 02:06 PM
[QUOTE=lord bunberry;3507345]

aye, me neither! Corfu is an absolute gem of an island. if I could choose one place to retire it'd be there....

I love Greece my grandmother was from there. I have been to corfu a few times I remember being in kavos with my parents years ago and it was a lovely family resort I then went years later with my mates and I couldn't believe the difference.

16-02-2013, 05:04 PM
He scored a cracker to beat Hearts at ER once. I think it was a cup match.

Originally, he was a forward player but at some point he "bulked up" and his future lay at the back. I have to say he could be slow to turn at times!

Hibs legend though, I reckon.

Edina Erin
16-02-2013, 07:43 PM

I remember that goal well Brocks. I was stood behind the goals at Tannadice - the opposite end from where we get now - and couldn't believe that he just kept going and going.

If anyone does speak to him in Corfu, ask him the story about him, Chic Charnley, lumps of wood a guys with swords ;-)

17-02-2013, 09:04 PM
Gordon Rae's my old mans favourite player. High praise because there ain't many folk he rates! Always going on about how he 'wishes we had a Gordon Rae now.' What was he like?

Sean, shake your Dad's hand from me :aok:

Gordon was a fantastic person to have in your team. Not the best player in the world but a damned good professional who was as brave as brave can be. A GR type figure in our current team woulod be an instant hero to those of us watching from the stands.

17-02-2013, 09:35 PM
My first ever to Castle Greyskull was Gordon's debut if I remember correctly. I'd sneaked away with out my old boy knowing and ended up in the wrong end trying to hide my Hibs scarf under my parka. If my memory serves me correctly then Gordon scored two in a Hibs 2-0 win. Have eternal thanks for the big hun who took me under his protection with the unforgettable words "It's awright we man, we're no gonna eat yeah". The big hun even escorted me back to the bus after the game and Gordon became one of my all time heroes. Or maybe the mists of time are clouding my memory. Anyone confirm Gordon's debut?

17-02-2013, 09:58 PM
My first ever to Castle Greyskull was Gordon's debut if I remember correctly. I'd sneaked away with out my old boy knowing and ended up in the wrong end trying to hide my Hibs scarf under my parka. If my memory serves me correctly then Gordon scored two in a Hibs 2-0 win. Have eternal thanks for the big hun who took me under his protection with the unforgettable words "It's awright we man, we're no gonna eat yeah". The big hun even escorted me back to the bus after the game and Gordon became one of my all time heroes. Or maybe the mists of time are clouding my memory. Anyone confirm Gordon's debut?

Almost spot on in the memory stakes :greengrin Gordon did indeed make his first team debut at Ibrox and scored early in the 2-0 win. The other goal came from Des Bremner to ensure Hibs beat Rangers (remember them? :greengrin) for the first time in three years.

This was the game in question :aok:

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3495

17-02-2013, 10:29 PM
Almost spot on in the memory stakes :greengrin Gordon did indeed make his first team debut at Ibrox and scored early in the 2-0 win. The other goal came from Des Bremner to ensure Hibs beat Rangers (remember them? :greengrin) for the first time in three years.

This was the game in question :aok:

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=3495

Thanks JB, not quite ready for the knackers yard yet then. Just looking at that team sheet gives me a warm nostalgic glow.

17-02-2013, 10:31 PM
Thanks JB, not quite ready for the knackers yard yet then. Just looking at that team sheet gives me a warm nostalgic glow.

Me too and then I read the ref's name! Folk think Craig Thomson is the spawn of the devil tae :greengrin

Purple & Green
17-02-2013, 10:37 PM
Will pop in and see him.

He lives in Arillas in the north west of the island. He doesn't have a pub AFAIK, but I'm sure he visits his local to watch the Hibs games.

18-02-2013, 10:09 AM
Me too and then I read the ref's name! Folk think Craig Thomson is the spawn of the devil tae :greengrin

Indeed, Mr J.R.P Gordon (John Reverend Paisley Gordon) must have had a bad day at the office that day.

18-02-2013, 03:43 PM
We were at Corfu last October , hire a car mate and head for San Stefano ,there is a gem of a place called To Fagopotion on the top of the Island[North East ] ,best Greek food /desert we have tasted .
Never seen the big fella [GR] but if he ever visited the above ,he would never be away ,lol

connerg
18-02-2013, 07:11 PM
Gordon Rae scored one of my all time favourite goals ever. At Tannadice he ran from his own half, played a neat 1-2, then hit the ball from around 30 yards, which flew into the net, like a missile....I had in on tape somewhere, but no idea where it is now unfortunately....(I was in the pictures celebrating, still think fondly of that goal)

Was there too, 3-3 draw. Brian Rice equalised for us late on. We beat Killie 8-1 the following week at ER.:flag:

18-02-2013, 07:19 PM

I remember Louis Thow being a right bar steward towards us in the 80s.

18-02-2013, 08:30 PM
I remember Louis Thow being a right bar steward towards us in the 80s.

Another plank aye :greengrin

hibeg
18-02-2013, 10:22 PM

I am pretty sure that his debut was v Queen of the south in the league cup the previous midweek. QOS beat us 2 1 and i think Gordon scored our goal.

18-02-2013, 10:25 PM
I am pretty sure that his debut was v Queen of the south in the league cup the previous midweek. QOS beat us 2 1 and i think Gordon scored our goal.

Yip that was his League Cup debut and Hibs lost 2-1 as you say. Was Ally MacLeod who scored for us though :agree:

18-02-2013, 10:28 PM
I was at the playhouse last year to see the Proclaimers, Gordon was sitting 3 or 4 rows away from me. :greengrin

19-02-2013, 07:18 PM
Was there too, 3-3 draw. Brian Rice equalised for us late on. We beat Killie 8-1 the following week at ER.:flag:

Different game Webber, the 3-3 draw and 8-1 was 1982, I think, I was a Hibs Kid at the 8-1 thumping.....Im sure the goal I was referring to was c1988......

19-02-2013, 07:38 PM
Different game Webber, the 3-3 draw and 8-1 was 1982, I think, I was a Hibs Kid at the 8-1 thumping.....Im sure the goal I was referring to was c1988......

Was it not Alan Sneddon who scored our first (from 30-40 yards) in the 3-3 game? Graham (Graeme?) Harvey and Ricey were the other scorers.

I was also at the 8-1 game. Jackie Mac gifted them their goal by tripping over the ball, but made up for it with a 25 yard screamer.