View Full Version : Match Updates Celtic v Juventus

12-02-2013, 06:57 PM
good start to the game sofar 1 - 0 juventus, very stingy defence the italians have, so if celtic want to stay in the tie they need something from tonights game

12-02-2013, 07:00 PM
So far so good. Ended up boozing with some Juve Ultras in the Theatre Royal last night, mental bunch!

12-02-2013, 07:00 PM
Is it true Celtic have only lost two European home games in 15 years?!?!

HibeeN
12-02-2013, 07:02 PM
15 minutes gone and Celtic have had 7 attempts, 4 on target. I don't think we managed that in 90 minutes yesterday! (insert tongue-in-cheek smiley)

Time For Heroes
12-02-2013, 07:03 PM
Just a quick one on Nic Anelka, once he's made his debut for Juve he will have played in the top flight in Italy, France, England, Spain. I cant think of many players to do that, Beckham soon and Henry.... Anyone else?

khib70
12-02-2013, 07:03 PM
Is it true Celtic have only lost two European home games in 15 years?!?!
Hopefully 3 soon

1-0 down, 6 minutes gone and the STV Celtcvision commentator says "it's been a good start for Celtc":faf::faf:

GIRFUY ya jakey mingers!:na na:

StevesFamau5
12-02-2013, 07:17 PM
did anyone notice the juve fan flipping the bird towards celtic fans. well done stv wonderful coverafe

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

12-02-2013, 07:18 PM
Cannot stand Celtic, top of the list when it comes to clubs who love themselves. Twitter full of the "look at how great we/our fans are:thumbsup:" boak inducing posts.

Mon Juve:flag:

12-02-2013, 07:18 PM
delighted these mingers are 1 down , that will be them out then tie over. greatest fans in the world i right, greatest mingers inthe world:wink:

12-02-2013, 07:19 PM
The commentary is vomit inducing

12-02-2013, 07:20 PM
James Forrest is the most overrated player in years.

12-02-2013, 07:23 PM
It's a great game. Juve central defenders are very good. Big dominant players and of course they have the best goalie in the world.

Come on the Jungle Jims!

VickMackie
12-02-2013, 07:27 PM
They've been the better team. The finishing at this level is the difference.

12-02-2013, 07:28 PM
if commons would try shooting away from buffon he might score :greengrin or maybe buffon just knows where to position himself correctly :agree:

khib70
:agree: Expecting the commentators to break into a chorus of "Hail Hail" any minute. And the BFITW are getting really shirty because the ref's not letting them referee the game:greengrin

HibeeN
They've been the better team. The finishing at this level is the difference.

Yep, some of the stuff going forward has been good, just lacking a goal.

StevesFamau5
12-02-2013, 07:29 PM
its njce to see someone giving hooper a hard time and him not winning anything from it. if it was spl it would be a penalty everytime someone went near him

You listening to Alan brazil?

The cheating by Juve at the corners is outrageous.

12-02-2013, 07:30 PM
The referee is enraging the natives here :thumbsup:

12-02-2013, 07:31 PM
Celtic by far the better team but the defending for the goal was comical

12-02-2013, 07:33 PM
The referee is enraging the natives here :thumbsup:

With a pretty grim performance to be honest. Still, bringing a smile to my face, especially as the commentary in Italian, although I don't understand 90% of it, is vastly superior to anything we get back home.

HibeeN
12-02-2013, 07:34 PM
The cheating by Juve at the corners is outrageous.

Have to agree. Glad the ref got the cards out, but wouldn't have thought it unfair if Celtic had got a penalty too! Okay, Hooper was at it trying to impede Buffon but you can't have your arms around somone and drag them about like the Juve defender was doing.

12-02-2013, 07:35 PM
Ye cannae beat it when a non-SPL ref gives Septic the square root of f all and the natives start to throw the toys out the pram:thumbsup:

khib70
12-02-2013, 07:35 PM
Celtic by far the better team but the defending for the goal was comical
:faf::faf:

Oh my aching sides!

And Hooper's the one doing his usual stuff at corners. Juve aren't letting themselves be bullied, and the ref''s not letting himself be conned.

12-02-2013, 07:39 PM
Ye cannae beat it when a non-SPL ref gives Septic the square root of f all and the natives start to throw the toys out the pram:thumbsup:
always brings a smile to my face, getting a taste of how SPL teams normally get treated in glasgow

12-02-2013, 07:39 PM
I can't understand why we don't all want Celtic to win. Surely their success raises us all up?

God knows we need it!

12-02-2013, 07:40 PM
oh and whats the hype with ambrose? been pish whenever ive seen him

12-02-2013, 07:40 PM

Oh my aching sides!

And Hooper's the one doing his usual stuff at corners. Juve aren't letting themselves be bullied, and the ref''s not letting himself be conned.

Celtic have certainly looked better over the first 45 minutes. Horrendous error at the back for the goal however.

Italians doing what they do best, being as dirty as possible, but going down as if they've been shot by the mafia when a player comes within 2 yards of them.

12-02-2013, 07:41 PM
You listening to Alan brazil?

His commentary has been cringeworthy. For starts, Celtc aren't playing Jooventus.

12-02-2013, 07:42 PM
Happy enough with the first half, hopefully Juve will get a second in the second half. Great hearing they manky ***** moaning coz they arent getting the 50/50 decisions like they would in the SPL. Get it up yez!

12-02-2013, 07:43 PM

:agree: welcome to the world of every other SPL club, celtic!

12-02-2013, 07:44 PM

He's a cracking player.

Lennon should never have played him tonight though considering he played in the Africa Cup of Nations Final on Sunday and he only got back to Glasgow this morning.

khib70
12-02-2013, 07:46 PM
Celtic have certainly looked better over the first 45 minutes. Horrendous error at the back for the goal however.

Italians doing what they do best, being as dirty as possible, but going down as if they've been shot by the mafia when a player comes within 2 yards of them.
Rubbish - even apart from the cliched racial stereotyping

Celtc have been by far the worst for niggly fouls, and aren't getting the same benefit of the doubt as they would from a Scottish ref in the 60-50 situations. Hooper's a great goalscorer at SPL level, but he's an annoying twat who expects a pen every time someone's shadow crosses him

12-02-2013, 07:50 PM

Celtc have been by far the worst for niggly fouls, and aren't getting the same benefit of the doubt as they would from a Scottish ref in the 60-50 situations. Hooper's a great goalscorer at SPL level, but he's an annoying twat who expects a pen every time someone's shadow crosses him

60-50 situations aye?? :greengrin

Celtc are just not sharp enough. Nice play (ish) until the last phase when they seem to shi te their pants when they realise that the team in black and white are Juventus, not St Mirren. Though that's a pretty poor example given recent events :greengrin

A set piece - as per usual - remains their best chance.

12-02-2013, 07:51 PM
Celtic fans so full of themselves makes you want to weep, but no getting away from the fact that their team is giving the top side in Italy a run for their money. Playing 3 up front and pressing Juve when on the ball, great control, pace and composure shows just how huge the gulf is between us and Celtic - which also make me want to weep :rolleyes:

12-02-2013, 07:55 PM
Great hearing they manky ***** moaning coz they arent getting the 50/50 decisions like they would in the SPL. Get it up yez!

To be fair though they were penalties...at almost every corner

how the refs dont see that is beyond me - its as blatent as you will see

HibeeN
12-02-2013, 07:56 PM
Hooper's a great goalscorer at SPL level, but he's an annoying twat who expects a pen every time someone's shadow crosses him

Maybe, but the way he was getting handled in the first half a penalty might have been warranted! No denying he was at it as well, but the Juve defender was all over him. If it was Hibs and Griffiths was getting grabbed like that I'd definitely have been looking for a pen!

Greendub
But they canni beat the hibees though!

:faf: This referee is Hibs class!

Teo10
12-02-2013, 07:58 PM
I love the fact they are getting nothing. Juve cheating at corners?! like every other team in WORLD football does but all of a sudden its Juve cheating?! Have a word:confused:

As for the Celtic love in happening on facebook/Twitter... get a grip, they are still the same weegies who time after time get 100% of 50/50's and every penalty shout they want.

****** Celtic. Forza Juve

khib70
12-02-2013, 08:01 PM
I love the fact they are getting nothing. Juve cheating at corners?! like every other team in WORLD football does but all of a sudden its Juve cheating?! Have a word:confused:

As for the Celtic love in happening on facebook/Twitter... get a grip, they are still the same weegies who time after time get 100% of 50/50's and every penalty shout they want.

:agree:This

And it seems to me that Celtc are doing as much diving as anyone - Izaguirre, Commons etc.

Teo10
12-02-2013, 08:03 PM
:agree:This

And it seems to me that Celtc are doing as much diving as anyone - Izaguirre, Commons etc.

No no you are wrong. This is the beloved Glasgow Celtic who create the brick wall of atmosphere from the GFATW..SKJFHKASDJFHA and who do no wrong and in Scottish teams eyes are saints. who have never cheated their way to win a game before.

Honestly sick of the Celtic love in!!!

12-02-2013, 08:03 PM

they are penalties - absolutely. makes no difference Celtic get the 50/50s is the SPL....the way hooper is being manhandled is a foul every day of the week

So I assume you weren't screaming blue murder at the man handling Zal is famous for in derbies....and what he does isnt half as bad as what they have been up to at corners?

12-02-2013, 08:04 PM
Rod Stewart's coupon

12-02-2013, 08:05 PM
To be fair though they were penalties...at almost every corner

how the refs dont see that is beyond me - its as blatent as you will see

Agreed. Even worse than Zaliukas' treatment of Rob Jones. Refs really need to start sending players off for this. Happens all the time and wont stop until the red cards start getting flashed.

Teo10
12-02-2013, 08:06 PM
they are penalties - absolutely. makes no difference Celtic get the 50/50s is the SPL....the way hooper is being manhandled is a foul every day of the week

So I assume you weren't screaming blue murder at the man handling Zal is famous for in derbies....?

Much like what happens in every game in the world? they are still penalties but never on TV mentioned so much with sheer desperation in hoping they'll get one.

Of course I was but after a certain amount of time it has to be sadly accepted in football its part and parcel of the game

HibeeN
12-02-2013, 08:07 PM

And as far as I'm concerned, it's not a Celtic love-in. If it was Rangers playing tonight I'd want to see them win as well. There isn't much to shout about in Scottish football at the moment so I have no problem with seeing Scottish teams doing well in Europe.

VickMackie
I've always thoughtAmbrose has been cracking when I've seen him but he's the only player that hasn't looked like he belongs on that pitch tonight.

Misses a sitter to get them back into it aswell!

has rod stewart ever paid in to a match in his life, i doubt it , maybe he will start greetin again kid on scotsman:na na:

12-02-2013, 08:08 PM
Should be 1-1 Ambrose had a free header and nods it at Buffon :greengrin

VickMackie
12-02-2013, 08:09 PM
Can't see them getting anything out it now. I reckon they'll struggle to get a clear cut chance. Juve will edge them out.

12-02-2013, 08:10 PM
I cant agree, if Brown and Pirlo were at the same when a by kick was taken, a foul would be given....no idea why it would be different at a corner....especially when the defender isnt even looking in the direction of where the ball is coming from!

12-02-2013, 08:11 PM
Marchisio is a very, very good player. :agree:

Agreed. Even worse than Zaliukas' treatment of Rob Jones. Refs really need to start sending players off for this. Happens all the time and wont stop until the red cards start getting flashed.

Did I miss something? From what I saw there was a bit of bumping from both sides, a bit of light obstruction from both sides and some peacocking "I'm standing my ground ya dobber" from each party.

The way some folk are reacting on here I was expecting to see this happening to poor wee Hooper:

http://c8.img.v4.skyrock.net/1544/31481544/pics/2417612413_1.gif

Teo10
I cant agree, if Brown and Pirlo were at the same when a by kick was taken, a foul would be given....no idea why it would be different at a corner....especially when the defender isnt even looking in the direction of where the ball is coming from!

It's the point that gets discussed all the time but the only way to fix it is to give a penalty. Obviously itll end in about 10 pens given a game but eventually they'll stop

12-02-2013, 08:13 PM

wanyama is a good player though, cant see him at celtic next season

khib70

And as far as I'm concerned, it's not a Celtic love-in. If it was Rangers playing tonight I'd want to see them win as well. There isn't much to shout about in Scottish football at the moment so I have no problem with seeing Scottish teams doing well in Europe.
Really - even the one that makes no mention of being Scottish if they can help it , and whose ground is right now festooned with foreign flags? Try a saltire count if you don't believe me. Celtc and their Division 3 soulmates doing well in Europe just enriches them and increases their ability to exploit and loot the rest of Scottish football, while basking in smug arrogance.

Hell mend them and their nauseating fans

Much like what happens in every game in the world? they are still penalties but never on TV mentioned so much with sheer desperation in hoping they'll get one.

Of course I was but after a certain amount of time it has to be sadly accepted in football its part and parcel of the game
Its not part of the game though. Its blatant cheating and needs stamped out. Im no sellick sympathiser btw. Far from it.

Is it really?... :cb

12-02-2013, 08:14 PM
Brown was almost angle slammed at that corner :faf:

Loving it:greengrin

12-02-2013, 08:15 PM
Looking at the Celtic team and subs, I can honestly say I`ve never heard of Lustig, Zaluska, Matthews, Miku & Nouioui.

Teo10
12-02-2013, 08:17 PM
Its not part of the game though. Its blatant cheating and needs stamped out. Im no sellick sympathiser btw. Far from it.

It now is, well the way I see it. Like I said it happens all the time and is just accepted. Prime example as mentioned before, Zaliukas in every game and it's never given.. just need to pull on their shirt as much as it's done to theirs

12-02-2013, 08:18 PM
Did I miss something? From what I saw there was a bit of bumping from both sides, a bit of light obstruction from both sides and some peacocking "I'm standing my ground ya dobber" from each party.

The way some folk are reacting on here I was expecting to see this happening to poor wee Hooper:

Aye very good.you must be watching a different game from me. Their antics at corners is as bad as Ive ever seen.

StevesFamau5
12-02-2013, 08:18 PM
zaluska i think is ec dundee utd keeper. but yeah never heard of the rest

HibeeN
12-02-2013, 08:19 PM
Really - even the one that makes no mention of being Scottish if they can help it , and whose ground is right now festooned with foreign flags? Try a saltire count if you don't believe me. Celtc and their Division 3 soulmates doing well in Europe just enriches them and increases their ability to exploit and loot the rest of Scottish football, while basking in smug arrogance.

Hell mend them and their nauseating fans

I don't have a problem with anyone who wants to see them fail in Europe, that's up to them. And whether the fans see themselves as Scottish or not doesn't really bother me. Personally I just like to see Scottish teams do well in Europe, and was just pointing out that it wasn't a "love-in".

12-02-2013, 08:20 PM

2-0 Juve

VickMackie
Looking at the Celtic team and subs, I can honestly say I`ve never heard of Lustig, Zaluska, Matthews, Miku & Nouioui.

Matthews signed from Cardiff I think and was wanted by lower premiership teams.

Zaluska was the Dundee united keeper. A good one at that. Miku played at Easter road and looked very good on the ball but not much threat.

HibeeN
Ah well, that's them out now anyway!

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssss:thumbsup::thumb sup::thumbsup:

Goodnight Vienna:thumbsup:

Teo10
Game.Set.Match

12-02-2013, 08:21 PM
Like I said, Marchisio :agree:

VickMackie
That's the difference right there.

they think its all over well it is now:wink:

khib70
12-02-2013, 08:22 PM

2-0 Juve

Get in!:na na:

The sound of whining from Darkheid will be drowning out Glasgow Airport tomorrow:boo hoo::blah::violin:

12-02-2013, 08:22 PM
Thats the difference between top Euro sides and Scottish sides....so clinical

what a touch to set Marchisio up too - magic

HibeeN
12-02-2013, 08:25 PM
Well outclassed in the end!

Teo10
12-02-2013, 08:26 PM
Boom. Roond ye!

Efe Ambrose.....costs 2 goals and misses a sitter....good night all in all

Ambrose:applause:

0-3 tie over

http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/ae247/Mainboy/Pleasing/f1jj0w.gif

Night night Irene. Ambrose's 1 man cluster**** of a game comes to a wonderful crescendo.

12-02-2013, 08:27 PM

Should never have been playing anyway.

12-02-2013, 08:27 PM

why lennon picked him having been away in africa and just back is a mystery lol

12-02-2013, 08:28 PM
Root Toot Oot

Got to be said completely mental to be playing Ambrose given he was playing in the African Nations final on Sunday in South Africa and only arrived back this morning.

Ambrose:applause:

reminds me of shelton martis :cb

I see that fat baseball-hatted steward is in his usual berth, carrying out his match-day remit of not permitting visiting teams to celebrate goals in front of their supporters.

GET IT ROOND YE YA FAT WEEGIE MESS.

khib70
12-02-2013, 08:29 PM
And again!!!:thumbsup:

And BTW the allegedly superb Ambrose was to blame for that one as well.

Anelka getting a wee run out now.

Alan Brazil " Celtic unlucky". What a bozo:rolleyes:

12-02-2013, 08:29 PM
Looks like Platini was right!

KingFranck
12-02-2013, 08:32 PM
Quite a few empty seats now go on Juve hope its 10 - 0 on aggregate

12-02-2013, 08:34 PM
Why have the GFITW started to dress as green seats:confused::greengrin

12-02-2013, 08:36 PM
Bhoys v men

12-02-2013, 08:38 PM
Looks like Platini was right!

is still the man who has killed football though.

12-02-2013, 08:38 PM
Dundee, Perth and Dingwall calling! :wink:

12-02-2013, 08:41 PM
Celtic played ok but juventus are a decent outfit surprised ambrose started

Forza Juve! Always enjoy seeing Celtc getting a dose of what they often give out.

why lennon picked him having been away in africa and just back is a mystery lol

Picked him in the hope he'd be the difference between the teams. How right he was

12-02-2013, 08:48 PM
Old folk like myself will remember Juve doing us 4:2 at ER, my memory says we were all over them & they had 4 shots in the whole game.
Wasn't at the return but we got horsed 5:0 & that was one of our best teams....

12-02-2013, 08:51 PM
Why have the GFITW started to dress as green seats:confused::greengrin

Because they are all still in Seville?? :dunno:

12-02-2013, 08:54 PM
it was 4-0 in the second leg, yes i was at first game too they out classed us and we had a decent side then:confused:

12-02-2013, 09:08 PM
Old folk like myself will remember Juve doing us 4:2 at ER, my memory says we were all over them & they had 4 shots in the whole game.

Altafini ruined that game for me by scoring 2 against us - hated them ever since

... "old folk?" :greengrin

12-02-2013, 09:09 PM
it was 4-0 in the second leg, yes i was at first game too they out classed us and we had a decent side then:confused:

:shotdowni I did say I was old.......

12-02-2013, 09:14 PM
Altafini ruined that game fo rme by scoring 2 against us -hated them ever since

... "old folk?" :greengrin

Older? Seems there's no Tena pad smiley......

12-02-2013, 09:14 PM

And the Saturday before that we lost 5-0 to Celtic at Parkhead and the Saturday after it we lost 6-3...to Celtic (League Cup Final). What a week that was.

Smiggy 7-0
12-02-2013, 09:17 PM
Juve - DIFFERENT CLASS

Stop moaning about manhandling in box, it happens every game.

HA F***IN HA

12-02-2013, 10:18 PM
And the Saturday before that we lost 5-0 to Celtic at Parkhead and the Saturday after it we lost 6-3...to Celtic (League Cup Final). What a week that was.

Yup, was at all three games. Not the happiest I have ever been.

And that was the best Hibs team I have ever seen.....

LeighLoyal
12-02-2013, 11:04 PM
The goals they lost were sloppy, but they took the risk of pressing the game throughout. Can't fault them for that. A bit gutted as I wanted them to do well. Juve are just a more savvy outfit.

renato
12-02-2013, 11:21 PM
Well, just back from Celtc Park after managing to get a ticket for the Juve end. Strange game but a cracking atmosphere, especially from the Juve ultras who sang all night.

There was a bit of naughty stuff going on from both teams but how refreshing it was to see the plastics get 50% of the 50:50's!

Although not a fluent passing game I really enjoyed the crisp touches and control, especially with a seat so close to the pitch. It was (obviously) totally night and day from freezing my ballsocks off whilst getting a sore neck from the relentless hoofball we persisted with at ER last night, sadly.

I did feel like boaking however when the dodgers were chucking their scarves into the Juve end at FT, desperate for some acceptance from the big boys and playing up to the "GFITW" bull. What a load of boak.

PS Hibercelona: just behave yourself with the silly chat eh? Stereotype mania!

Hibs07p
13-02-2013, 12:50 AM
I wonder what made the "big man" unhappy? The pope resigning, Celtc getting beat, Juve only scoring 3 or UKIO nearly F****d

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21421810?SThisFB

13-02-2013, 11:40 AM
It now is, well the way I see it. Like I said it happens all the time and is just accepted. Prime example as mentioned before, Zaliukas in every game and it's never given.. just need to pull on their shirt as much as it's done to theirs
Some of those were just about bear hugs and if that is now an accepted part of the game something needs to change.

Teo10
13-02-2013, 11:50 AM
Some of those were just about bear hugs and if that is now an accepted part of the game something needs to change.

It's what I've been saying for ages. Not sure when it all started or when it became acceptable!

13-02-2013, 12:42 PM
They've highlighted the manhandling in the box on MotD before and claimed to be outraged that the ref isn't giving a penalty. The problem is that it tends to happen in about 4 places in the box at once and it can be difficult to know who is fouling who. As soon as a ref gives a penalty, the pundits point to three other challenges and say "why didn't he give these ones".

Anyway, back to the more important business of Alan Brazil's commentary; after David Moyes had been on at half-time and Celtc were launching balls into the box in the second half, did anyone else hear the line "Celtc would love to have something to aim at like Big Davie's Fellaini"? Absolute belter.

13-02-2013, 04:15 PM
I have to laugh at the celtic supporters, they went mad about the way Porto cheated by diving all over the shop in the UEFA cup final in Seville, yet last night their players were at it all night too?

Another funny from last night i'd like to share with you, the Celtic bus from Blackpool went up yesterday, but on the way back the driver had an asthma attack and had to be taken to hospital at Abingdon.

The bus company had to send another bus up to pick up the passengers, and that had a blow out on the motorway. The bus finally got back to Blackpool at 2pm today, anyone here feel sorry for them? :wink:

Well the driver might get a wee bit of sympathy i suppose?

13-02-2013, 05:42 PM
I wonder what made the "big man" unhappy? The pope resigning, Celtc getting beat, Juve only scoring 3 or UKIO nearly F****d

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21421810?SThisFB

conspiracy theorists will love a bit of that :agree:

13-02-2013, 06:29 PM
conspiracy theorists will love a bit of that :agree:

Aye, that's shocking!