View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 1v3 St Johnstone
11-02-2013, 07:48 PM
Just utterly hopeless throughout. Could end up 5 or 6.
11-02-2013, 07:48 PM
This is the kind of team performance that gets the Manager the sack. :cb
NO WAY anm I saying he should be sacked but it looks like the players do not understand their role and really dont care.
Recent league record is abysmal :rolleyes:
LeighLoyal
11-02-2013, 07:49 PM
Even mugs like Cregg are scoring here, wtf Fenlon. :confused:
Fenlon ****ed up massively with his team choice and formation..
The clamour for 4-4-2 and for Stevenson to start has proved to be nonsense..
Blame right at PF's door for this one!
Baws.
Hoofball ....
With no target man
Sare eyes
Scotty Robertson looks horribly like all the other limited midfielder plodders we have in abundance.
He wasn't what we needed - plain as day to see that.
Paddy Cregg scoring - fugg me! We'll do well to restrict them to three at this rate!! :grr:
11-02-2013, 07:50 PM
Fenlons not got a clue.
11-02-2013, 07:50 PM
We have no shape, look unfit and dare I say it, lazy. Nobody tracked Cregg for that goal. Woeful and no excuse for players being disinterested. Really cannae see what tactics PF sent them out with tonight, if any.
11-02-2013, 07:51 PM
Are you allowed to say that on here about PF?
A lifetime ban will be considered. And kindly remember that his name is Pat and not Fenlon!
11-02-2013, 07:51 PM
Winning is a habit, so is losing.
Look at Saints' work rate here, nae bother for them.
11-02-2013, 07:52 PM
I have to say this is not acceptable, we have been awful.
merritthibees
:rolleyes: 1 win in ten games the alarm bells should be going off now :grr:
Let me guess... Butcher in?
McGivern should have had a second yellow, but the ref gives us a break...
AJWisme
11-02-2013, 07:53 PM
Cairney has been AWFUL since coming on.
Does Fenlon know how to change a formation?
Mcgivern lucky not to get a 2nd yellow there
Dalkeith
Fenlons not got a clue.
Hibbylad86
Total baws!
TheEastTerrace
We'll be looking over our shoulders after this performance
11-02-2013, 07:54 PM
Handling on for Doyle, expecting a hat trick, no pressure fella.
If Doyle overruns another ball, I'm going to overrun my fist into his ginger.
Only Done can take a man on.
Robertson? pffffff.
Are you allowed to say that on here about PF?
no, not without sarcastic comments getting flung at you, but the favourite appears to be LTYF :agree:
Hibbylad86
11-02-2013, 07:55 PM
It's been coming for weeks bh! I'm gutted watching this, absolutely gutted
That boy up front has owned hanlon and mcpake, McLean. Not really lost a header and laid off Everything, well played that man
And to rub salt into the wound Steven Mclean is a Hibs man through and through.
LeighLoyal
Doyle is like Gareth Evans circa 1993... naw he's worse. :rolleyes:
11-02-2013, 07:56 PM
Given him lots of time, wanted him to do well, but McPake is a liability.
Off the bar
11-02-2013, 07:56 PM
Handling on for Doyle, expecting a hat trick, no pressure fella.
did Doyle actually come back out for the second half? wow. I can't say I'd seen him this half.
11-02-2013, 07:57 PM
Yes, we have been rank ****ing rotten yet again
Iceman1875
That boy up front has owned hanlon and mcpake, McLean. Not really lost a header and laid off Everything, well played that man
to add salt to the wound Stevie is a hibs fan...
the_ginger_hibee
Spare a thought for Liam Craig...poor guy.
steviehibsleith
Been saying it for ages and maintain it every team we play are fitter and faster than we are - when they defend they get 6- 7 players behind the ball and when they attack midfielder go past attackers. They are not technically better and we pay bigger wages we are just not as fit as them or most teams we play !
This is abysmal. Can't blame individual players because every one has been shocking. And someone has just let off a mega fart in section 43. And I spilled my Bovril without drinking a drop. Worst. Game. Ever.
HibernianJK
this is depressing, the simplest things are not being done. leigh can't shoot after umpteen attempts from 30 yards. lewis is pish. team selection was all wrong. drawing board here we come
FFS - even them twats on the radio are even saying how easy our Tactics are to beat... if everyone can see it how can the boss not.. :confused:
11-02-2013, 07:58 PM
It's been coming for weeks bh! I'm gutted watching this, absolutely gutted
Coming for weeks??? It's been happening for months
I would stake an awful lot of money on a bottom 6 place
And dare I say it a very very very poor Hearts team catching us !
Yes I am a DOOM and Gloomer
Want a box to box midfielder? Watch Murray Davidson's performance tonight.
looks like this will be st.johnstones best result at ER since 1966/67
GreenOnions
11-02-2013, 07:59 PM
I know the whole team is guilty of playing long balls today but I have to say McGivern really does win the award. I can hardly think of an occasion so far when he's passed the ball along the ground!
DAVE1875
This "Hibernian with bottle" is looking smashed on the pavement next to a half-eaten kebab. Absolutely pathetic Hibs
KiddA
Let me guess... Butcher in?
Go home YAM :wink:
11-02-2013, 08:00 PM
Plenty credit dished out to Fenlon for a good run earlier in the season so I am sorry but he has to take some flack for the last three months or so. Starting to look like griffiths goals were carrying us. He stopped scoring regularly in mid November. It was round about this time we stopped winning regularly. I felt the day we lost to Dundee away in November could potentially be the start of a rut. We have largely toiled since then.
Hibbylad86
11-02-2013, 08:00 PM
Coming for weeks??? It's been happening for months
Sorry Bolton, didn't mean literally weeks! Just mean its no surprise we are being shafted like this. It's been coming for a while
11-02-2013, 08:01 PM
he will be on the phone to his agent straight after this game to see if the inks dry yet
I fail to understand the balls going into the box when we haven't won a single one for 74 odd minutes, surely they would have learnt this by now. Really poor result and performance today, but I still have faith in Paddy.
Given him lots of time, wanted him to do well, but McPake is a liability.
Been saying that for weeks and weeks :rolleyes:
Can't think of any other word than SHOCKING to describe this display !!
And posters on here took issue with me when I said , back in December , that after 72 years attending ER I had had enough :greengrin
OsloHibs
11-02-2013, 08:02 PM
I don't like Mondays :boo hoo:
11-02-2013, 08:02 PM
Sorry Bolton, didn't mean literally weeks! Just mean its no surprise we are being shafted like this. It's been coming for a while
it certainly has
11-02-2013, 08:03 PM
He's not with us yet. Pre contracts aren't worth the paper they're written on.
11-02-2013, 08:03 PM
Hasselbaink to score. NAP.
Hibbylad86
11-02-2013, 08:05 PM
Will be interested to see/hear what Fenlon says after this?
Fully expect the Hibs players to be on Twitter en masse with the following 'unacceptable performance. Stick with us we will turn it around'
*sigh*
Starting to get to the stage in which I'd actually take a draw tonight
He's a class act and St Johnstone have done well to retain his services for so long.
Sweet Left Peg
11-02-2013, 08:06 PM
This is absolutely murder. No creativity. No urgency. No pace. No thanks.
Greenblood70
11-02-2013, 08:07 PM
As bad a performance as I've seen from us tonight, its been weeks and months in the making.
We seem to be able to play effectively only one way...flood the middle of the park with pedestrian cloggers who don't cross the halfway line and hope for a wonder goal, free kick from Sparky or a penalty. We were crying out for pace since the end of last season and two windows in we're still slow as ****.
Fenlon is frighteningly one dimensional..and we're eye bleedingly ***** to watch.
Now for the comeback - Griffiths scores 1-3!:greengrin
Great from Sparky, 4-3 Hibs now.
11-02-2013, 08:08 PM
This is proof maybe that it isn't tinkering ortweaking that we need but back to the blackboard changes, Time to stay strong.
Brilliant finish, sparky battled all the way for that
I am at the game.
Worst ever. We look unfit, slow, weak and p&sh.
St J are a class above us.
Dreadful - bottom 6 beckons.
11-02-2013, 08:09 PM
Heehaw to encourage us bar Sparky's goal!
11-02-2013, 08:09 PM
Very, Very good goal by sparky!
11-02-2013, 08:10 PM
4 points ahead of hearts with a game more played. Not nice.
First time we play one touch football with pace, the ball ends up in their net.
Hmmm.
att : 8,730 i think i'm pretty close with my guess :greengrin
edit: only 38 out :)
Massive well done to the remaining Hibs fans, making noise.
11-02-2013, 08:12 PM
As bad a performance as I've seen from us tonight, its been weeks and months in the making.
We seem to be able to play effectively only one way...flood the middle of the park with pedestrian cloggers who don't cross the halfway line and hope for a wonder goal, free kick from Sparky or a penalty. We were crying out for pace since the end of last season and two windows in we're still slow as ****.
Fenlon is frighteningly one dimensional..and we're eye bleedingly ***** to watch.
100% correct in everything you say.
11-02-2013, 08:12 PM
Where's Kuqi when you need him?
Since hibs scored they have not won one 50/50 ball.
11-02-2013, 08:13 PM
First time we play one touch football with pace, the ball ends up in their net.
Hmmm.
It was a lump up the park on my telly!
11-02-2013, 08:13 PM
1-3 flatters us massively.
We look a bottom 6 team (in a dreadful league!)
Disgusting.
11-02-2013, 08:14 PM
att : 8,730 i think i'm pretty close with my guess :greengrin
edit: only 38 out :)
No way, where on earth could you squeeze another 13k in???
GoldenEagle
11-02-2013, 08:14 PM
I'm actually lost for words after watching this tonight.
JCHibby
11-02-2013, 08:15 PM
Where's Kuqi when you need him?
In Tiger Lilly getting the drinks up for the boys.
11-02-2013, 08:16 PM
No way, where on earth could you squeeze another 13k in???
all around the 8,730 :)
11-02-2013, 08:17 PM
all around the 8,730 :)
:)
11-02-2013, 08:17 PM
Really awful. Can't wait to see how PF explains this performance.
11-02-2013, 08:18 PM
We don't look fit. No pace either.
Really really bad.
11-02-2013, 08:20 PM
Bad day at the office, we will win in Paisley this weekend.
You are full of *****
Is that not the 2nd yellow for Hastlebank????:confused:
TheEastTerrace
So much for the new Hibs - same old same old. Is any club more consistent than Hibs in going on dreadful runs of form in the winter months?
DAVE1875
11-02-2013, 08:21 PM
Too little too late from Sparky
HibeeHendo
Work rate - pish
Movement - pish
Communication - pish
Passing - pish
Crossing - pish
Finishing - pish
Pace - pish
Full backs - pish
Tactics - even more pish.
I'm so, so gutted.
Leishy1995
There was already 2 threads based on this game, 3 if you include the "knee jerk" thread.
This isn't knee jerk, we just conceded 3 goals to St Johnstone and Paddy Cregg got 1. So we must be pissssssh
Northern Hibby
11-02-2013, 08:22 PM
There's no urgency going forward, unless it's hoofed!
Well Done Saints. Absoutley shocking from hibs
Hope that Fenlon doesn't say we never got going.
AJWisme
Is anyone really that surprised? Maybe by the score but not the performance. It's been a long time since we have played football.
11-02-2013, 08:23 PM
We seem to have an awful lot of bad days at the office.
11-02-2013, 08:23 PM
I bet you we don't BH.
We are a poor team it pains me to say 🙉😭
11-02-2013, 08:24 PM
Teams must love coming to Easter road. Easy 3 points.
Thank **** for Dundee
At least Lewis got the start he merited though eh?
Outplayed at Aberdeen and made not one single chance.
Outplayed at Dingwall and made not one single chance
Outplayed against Aberdeen at home and scraped through thanks to the keeper
Outplayed tonight, should have been at least 5.
What have you seen in the last 4 games that makes you think we'll win in Paisley?
chriswood1401
11-02-2013, 08:27 PM
Horrible horrible result, and an inept performance to put it lightly.
I still think it's better than last season but clear to see there's still loads of work to be done.
I still think top six finish would be decent but we need to find a win from somewhere, and soon.
As bad a performance as I've seen over the past 5 seasons. Everything that's bad about football is still in this team and for me there's been very little improvement on the dross we watched last season. Another bottom six finish is on the cards again by the looks of it.
Sadly Fenlon looks like another woefully limited manager, there's been too many of this type of performance under him! When there's obvious faults a good manager addresses them, he isn't capable enough to do this as our players still can't pass, cross the ball, tackle, or work as a unit. Most teams strengthened during the window, we haven't we're still as poor as we ever were.
It may be simply that we are a crap team with crap players but there's no excuses for our overall softness and lack of fitness, even this hasn't improved. No wonder many supporters can't be bothered going to games when the team give up and concede so easily at home.
11-02-2013, 08:28 PM
Result like that was coming to be honest - midfield all wrong at present and work shy.
Well done Saints, clinical in front of goal yet the goals were by invitation. Sign a winger, Hibs play him second half all over the place- have a solid young defender on bench, shows the faith he has in youth - plays a left sided midfield player at right back - signs an 'attacking midfielder', Robertson never ended up in the opposition box once.
Shocking performance, compounded by baffling and equally shocking tactics to again be brutally honest - not knee jerk, just honest !
HibeeBigFly
11-02-2013, 08:28 PM
Very impressive, should have signed him years ago.
11-02-2013, 08:29 PM
Horrible horrible result, and an inept performance to put it lightly.
I still think it's better than last season but clear to see there's still loads of work to be done.
I still think top six finish would be decent but we need to find a win from somewhere, and soon.
The last 6 weeks or so HAVE been as bad as last season. Seemy summary above of the last 4 games.
11-02-2013, 08:29 PM
Outplayed at Aberdeen and made not one single chance.
Outplayed at Dingwall and made not one single chance
Outplayed against Aberdeen at home and scraped through thanks to the keeper
Outplayed tonight, should have been at least 5.
What have you seen in the last 4 games that makes you think we'll win in Paisley? agree with all except feel we gave as good as we got v Aberdeen in the cup
11-02-2013, 08:30 PM
agree with all except feel we gave as good as we got v Aberdeen in the cup
1st half we were miles behind a very poor Aberdeen side, 2nd half they could have scored 4. We had a couple of attempts from distance, one of which the goal.
11-02-2013, 08:30 PM
At least McCourt doesn't need to wash Robertson's kit tonight, not a speck of dirt or sweat on it.
11-02-2013, 08:32 PM
1st half we were miles behind a very poor Aberdeen side, 2nd half they could have scored 4. We had a couple of attempts from distance, one of which the goal.
Two poor teams in that game. As bad as each other. We rode our luck though. We seem to be able to grind results out in the cup. Killie must fancy it though but poor teams blunder there way into cup finals. Look at us last season. We may get there again.
11-02-2013, 08:32 PM
At least we will win the Scottish cup
11-02-2013, 08:33 PM
Hope they show Deegans woeful work rate at training too by the way - another one who thinks he can 'jog' and just let others do the hard shift - whole midfield in for extra days training up Arthur's Seat please Pat !
hibee62
11-02-2013, 08:35 PM
Hope that Fenlon doesn't say we never got going.
Do you think we did get going like?
11-02-2013, 08:35 PM
3-1 is a good result.
Should have been 5.
11-02-2013, 08:37 PM
Come on people, we drew the 2nd half 1-1 and will draw confidence from this, St Mirren 1 Hibs 3. :pfgwa
11-02-2013, 08:38 PM
what chances another Ayrshire drubbing on March 3rd.....?
11-02-2013, 08:47 PM
Whatever hibsbollah's match thread record was like before this game, it's been comprehensively trashed now. Worst performance of the season.
11-02-2013, 09:13 PM
Do you think we did get going like?
No we didn't, but my point is that it trips off the tongue too easy and what we need to hear is that this week in training they have been working on getting going.
Who cares about tonight.
We are a cup team.
Who cares about tonight.
We are a cup team.
whats our cup record again :wink:
11-02-2013, 10:19 PM
Did I hear correctly from the tv commentator that the last time Hibs came back from a 2 goal deficit was against Gretna in 2007/2008? Another astounding fact if true!
12-02-2013, 07:59 AM
At least Lewis got the start he merited though eh?
And we played 4-4-2 :rolleyes:
12-02-2013, 08:18 AM
Updates here please for those not fortunate enough to be at the famous Leith San Siro.
Temperatures 2C as the sun has set an hour ago but we should stay above freezing this evening. Winds at 13mph from a cold easterly direction. The Bollah barometer is through the roof at 1010mb. This represents good news for rheumotid arthritis sufferers, as a total absence of moisture and humidity in the air will result in pleasant relief for your aching joints as you struggle up those San Siro stairways this evening :aok:
Bollah Says: Help the aged.
Stick to the weather...no more thread starting for you :aok:
just read first page of this thread...over whelming happiness at team selection.....:coffee:
12-02-2013, 08:24 AM
Stick to the weather...no more thread starting for you :aok:
just read first page of this thread...over whelming happiness at team selection.....:coffee:
I was excited about seeing the new midfield, and i was impressed with Done, Robertson too early to tell, Lewis was being asked to do something he isnt capable of and Deegan was doing ok until we had to chase the game.
Its disappointing, but we have some ability in midfield we just havent worked out how to use the constituent parts yet.
12-02-2013, 08:34 AM
I was excited about seeing the new midfield, and i was impressed with Done, Robertson too early to tell, Lewis was being asked to do something he isnt capable of and Deegan was doing ok until we had to chase the game.
Its disappointing, but we have some ability in midfield we just havent worked out how to use the constituent parts yet.
Agree strongly with the bit in bold. Lewis is not a creative wide midfielder. He is better as a central midfelder in a three or a make shift left back at a push.
Lewis's best form for Hibs has been when he has played in a midfield three. Remember him playing alongside Scott Brown and Boozy when he first broke through? He was keeping a good player like Mikey Stewart out the team at one point.
OK, I know we have not had players of the quality of Brown and Boozy for some time now but I still think that whoever he plays with, Lewis is more effective in the centre of midfield than out wide.