11-02-2013, 10:20 AM
The Pope out, Butcher in.
11-02-2013, 10:20 AM
11-02-2013, 10:24 AM
I reckon he's signed a pre-contract with the Anglicans - that's where all the money is. :agree:
11-02-2013, 10:29 AM
I reckon he's signed a pre-contract with the Anglicans - that's where all the money is. :agree:
What odds the athiests?
11-02-2013, 10:35 AM
'consistory', 'petrine', 'conclave', 'solicitude'.
Whatever you think of all this papery japery, popery press releases are awfy good for the old vocabulary :aok:
LeighLoyal
11-02-2013, 10:59 AM
Surprised he's bowed out, but we won't see any change. My agnosticism will remain.
11-02-2013, 11:08 AM
A courageous decision from a man who has obviously given it a lot of thought and prayer.
11-02-2013, 11:11 AM
:faf: :aok:
11-02-2013, 11:15 AM
This Jimmy Savile inquiry is more thorough than I initially believed!
Twa Cairpets
11-02-2013, 11:16 AM
How does he address his resignation letter?
Mr God
Heaven
The Universe
GE1
yeezus.
11-02-2013, 11:16 AM
A courageous decision from a man who has obviously given it a lot of thought and prayer.
:agree: exactly my thoughts.
11-02-2013, 11:18 AM
This Jimmy Savile inquiry is more thorough than I initially believed!
Aye, because the Catholic Church was never under any previous suspicion ;)
11-02-2013, 11:24 AM
Which member of the ring is going to replace him?
11-02-2013, 11:36 AM
Simon Cowell rubs his hands in anticipation.
pope-idol his most ambitious project yet .... :)
Newry Hibs
11-02-2013, 11:38 AM
Good of him to bow out rather than be carried out as it removes the need for any potential flashpoint minute silences.
HibeeEmma
11-02-2013, 11:41 AM
:not worth
11-02-2013, 11:51 AM
There's a joke here somewhere about Ex-Benedict...
Dan Sarf
11-02-2013, 11:59 AM
'consistory', 'petrine', 'conclave', 'solicitude'.
Whatever you think of all this papery japery, popery press releases are awfy good for the old vocabulary :aok:
"The bark of Saint Peter" had me worried for a minute there. (Was St Pete really St Bernard?) But it's OK, apparently it was a boat.
11-02-2013, 12:01 PM
"The bark of Saint Peter" had me worried for a minute there. (Was St Pete really St Bernard?) But it's OK, apparently it was a boat.
I was 'stumped' by that too. His 'bark' :dunno:
11-02-2013, 12:10 PM
Heard he's resigned due to allegations of mass fixing.
11-02-2013, 12:10 PM
Another one will pope up soon enough.
11-02-2013, 12:11 PM
An employee at the Vatican branch of Blockbuster is said to be "distraught", after it has emerged that the request for a viewing of Godfather 3 came from two DJs at a Melbourne radio station, and not the Holy Father, as she first thought.
"I should have known, the minute I heard that stupid German accent, isn't it", said 18 year old Donna Corleone, "yeah but no but, is you disrespecting my family".
The Pope is said to have been deeply disturbed when he viewed the film, thinkiing he was going to see 100 Greatest Miracles (Director's Cut) instead.
"It has given me cause for thought and reflection", said the 130 year old head of the world's biggest church (non nazi).
Twa Cairpets
11-02-2013, 12:31 PM
Not wanting to start a fight here, but what's courageous about it?
I would say it's a sensible decision he's made, but there's nothing brave in it.
11-02-2013, 12:36 PM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/celebrity/pope-headhunted-by-satan-2013021159277
11-02-2013, 12:55 PM
I would say it's a sensible decision he's made, but there's nothing brave in it.
Must have taken a lot of soul searching. A decision as radical as this in an organisation as culturally conservative as the Roman Catholic Church is a brave move. It's no surprise that he seems to have kept the decision to himself before announcing it as many would have tried to talk him out of it.
11-02-2013, 02:28 PM
Must have taken a lot of soul searching. A decision as radical as this in an organisation as culturally conservative as the Roman Catholic Church is a brave move. It's no surprise that he seems to have kept the decision to himself before announcing it as many would have tried to talk him out of it.
Surprised he stuck it out so long - seems to me Ratzi never wanted the job in the first place - he only took it on because he was expected to and refusing the "honour" at the time was out of the question - or maybe he simply lacked the courage at the time to say no?
Bad decision by Pope Paul II originally not to let Ratzi resign (as he wanted to) as a cardinal shortly before his 75th birthday and when he wanted out of the church to enjoy peace and quiet, writing his books on theology ... or playing the piano.
And so the RC church blunders on -
11-02-2013, 02:58 PM
Surprised he stuck it out so long - seems to me Ratzi never wanted the job in the first place - he only took it on because he was expected to and refusing the "honour" at the time was out of the question - or maybe he simply lacked the courage at the time to say no?
Bad decision by Pope Paul II originally not to let Ratzi resign (as he wanted to) as a cardinal shortly before his 75th birthday and when he wanted out of the church to enjoy peace and quiet, writing his books on theology ... or playing the piano.
And so the RC church blunders on -
Piano my erchie...BBC Theology understands that he'd become obsessed with zumba and wanted to devote more time to throwing shapes and popping some new moves :agree:
Twa Cairpets
11-02-2013, 04:17 PM
I realise I'm nit-picking here, but a lot of the initial reports have hailed the resignation as a "brave decision". I'm just not getting it, and it imbues what I think is (despite my lack of faith) a sensible move by Ratzinger with a kind of air of courageous wisdom which it doesn't warrant.
11-02-2013, 05:02 PM
I reckon he's jumping ship. Expect The Catholic Church to enter administration before the months out. New Owners by Easter?
11-02-2013, 05:10 PM
I reckon he's jumping ship. Expect The Catholic Church to enter administration before the months out. New Owners by Easter?
Heard a rumour the new owner might be some old guy.... Nick I think? .... There's a bit of doubt regarding the "fit and proper" element though, some people are quite heated about it.
11-02-2013, 05:40 PM
Brave man to give up a good job in this day and age. Practically his own boss, house and uniform comes with the job and the retirement benefits are just out of this world.
McHibby
12-02-2013, 01:25 AM
But surely if you are God's 'chosen representative on Earth', it's not for you to decide that you've had enough?
Wouldn't a devout Catholic believe they had been given this job by God, and only God could take it away?
12-02-2013, 09:11 AM
But surely if you are God's 'chosen representative on Earth', it's not for you to decide that you've had enough?
Wouldn't a devout Catholic believe they had been given this job by God, and only God could take it away?
Maybe God told him to step down ?
12-02-2013, 09:12 AM
Then again, maybe Ratzi knows something God doesn't?:wink:
12-02-2013, 09:23 AM
Apparently he gave him a vote of confidence. :agree:
12-02-2013, 10:37 AM
Apparently he gave him a vote of confidence. :agree:
He sent a sign.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21421810
12-02-2013, 01:03 PM
I've heard he felt that recurring wardrobe malfunctions were unbecoming for a man of his venerable age.
12-02-2013, 09:10 PM
One of the Cardinals tipped is Peter Turkson....now I know Peter is a biblical name but some how it's seems far too ordinary a name for anyone to be Pope...he sounds more like a plumber than a Pope! :greengrin
Corstorphine Hibby
12-02-2013, 09:21 PM
I realise I'm nit-picking here, but a lot of the initial reports have hailed the resignation as a "brave decision". I'm just not getting it, and it imbues what I think is (despite my lack of faith) a sensible move by Ratzinger with a kind of air of courageous wisdom which it doesn't warrant.
Don't think you're nit picking tbh. It's just you using the thread as yet another opportunity for you to express that you're a non believer.:yawn:
Twa Cairpets
12-02-2013, 10:51 PM
Don't think you're nit picking tbh. It's just you using the thread as yet another opportunity for you to express that you're a non believer.:yawn:
Who's yanked your chain? Non-belief has bugger all to do with it. Am I not allowed to comment on religious matters at all? In fact, I mentioned that I thought it was sensible move by Ratzinger - one that shows a bit of realism in his ability to provide leadership of his organisation. It will almost certainly be a good thing for the RCC, as it opens the path for a more progressive Pope to come in - at least I hope so. I just think "brave" or "courageous" isn't the right word to describe the decision, and it was used by pretty much every commentator - the logical extension is to say that staying as Pope would have been cowardly, which isn't true either.
Why don't they go for a younger pope this time?
They get the job when they've one foot in the grave. no wonder he's knackered!
13-02-2013, 05:56 AM
Think that's actually quite funny considering I'm sat at the breakfast table and being blasted by two sets of church bells to my north and south.
13-02-2013, 10:59 AM
He resigned so he could spend more time with his grandchildren. :devil:
I'm thinking of applying for the job myself - Pope Julius III, anyone?
Twa Cairpets
13-02-2013, 11:30 AM
He resigned so he could spend more time with his grandchildren. :devil:
I'm thinking of applying for the job myself - Pope Julius III, anyone?
What would the good people of the Caldera say? You applying would genuinely be a brave decision..
13-02-2013, 11:39 AM
What would the good people of the Caldera say? You applying would genuinely be a brave decision..
I was thinking I could declare a Year of Indulgences - everyone who gives £500 to Hibernian FC gets a free pass to paradise.
A few million £500's would set us up very nicely to rebuild the team. Better than a cake-bake.
Would you like to be a cardinal, TC? :cb
Twa Cairpets
13-02-2013, 01:30 PM
I was thinking I could declare a Year of Indulgences - everyone who gives £500 to Hibernian FC gets a free pass to paradise.
A few million £500's would set us up very nicely to rebuild the team. Better than a cake-bake.
Would I get to wear the hat?
13-02-2013, 01:51 PM
Would I get to wear the hat?
I would make sure you had your own personal Beretta.
Dan Sarf
13-02-2013, 02:51 PM
Celtic? No thanks (sounds like hell to me). Rather have one for Easter Road.
13-02-2013, 03:40 PM
Celtic? No thanks (sounds like hell to me). Rather have one for Easter Road.
Stop splitting hairs - the basic idea is a scam to raise money for nothing. Think snake-oil. Think Lily the Pink's Medicinal Compound.
I would hope that the GFITW would all sign up for it, thus inadvertently redressing the gross injustice done to us 125 years ago by Bro Wallfrayed and his financial backers.
Twa Cairpets
13-02-2013, 06:29 PM
I would make sure you had your own personal Beretta.
Is that no' a gun? I want a hat. The weird ones with the two pointy bits.
13-02-2013, 07:37 PM
Tough luck - cardinals aren't vikings.
14-02-2013, 08:09 PM
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_FUtjLqPwlDw/TQIQeUknn6I/AAAAAAAAAig/WonWiSXnPPY/s1600/mi314.jpg
You want one of these.
I was actually thinking of one of THESE:http://world.guns.ru/userfiles/images/civil/civ003/beretta_cx4-3.jpg
I may have been in the Caldera a wee bit too long.
Twa Cairpets
14-02-2013, 10:05 PM
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_FUtjLqPwlDw/TQIQeUknn6I/AAAAAAAAAig/WonWiSXnPPY/s1600/mi314.jpg
You want one of these.
I was actually thinking of one of THESE:http://world.guns.ru/userfiles/images/civil/civ003/beretta_cx4-3.jpg
I may have been in the Caldera a wee bit too long.
Black with fuschia highlights for me please, then I'll be Cardinal to the Popeship of Dodster the Godster.
15-02-2013, 12:19 PM
Black with fuschia highlights for me please, then I'll be Cardinal to the Popeship of Dodster the Godster.
You say Biretta, and I say Beretta... :devil:
"His Sublime Beatitude Cardinal Archbishop Twa Cairpets of the Holy Ground".
Twa Cairpets
15-02-2013, 06:07 PM
Now that has a ring to it.
Twa Cairpets
15-02-2013, 06:09 PM
Now that has a ring to it.:greengrin
16-02-2013, 02:44 PM
Now that has a ring to it.:greengrin
A Cardinal's ring, no doubt?
http://www.nypost.com/rw/nypost/2012/02/19/news/web_photos/19.1n006-7.scene3.c--300x300.jpg
Twa Cairpets
16-02-2013, 04:19 PM
A Cardinal's ring, no doubt?
http://www.nypost.com/rw/nypost/2012/02/19/news/web_photos/19.1n006-7.scene3.c--300x300.jpg
I wouldn't want anyone to kiss my ring
17-02-2013, 12:12 AM
Scotland's Cardinal Keith O'Brien in from 80/1 to 50/1 in 24 hours:wink:
A Hibby in the Vatican hot seat:dunno:
Maybe divine intervention will win us the Scottish Cup this year:scarf:
18-02-2013, 03:07 PM
I wouldn't want anyone to kiss my ring
http://stancarey.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/father-ted-careful-now-down-with-this-sort-of-thing.jpg