View Full Version : What's your oldest Hibs programme?

05-02-2013, 12:33 PM
Anorak alert! :greengrin

Let's see what ya got..:wink:

05-02-2013, 12:35 PM
The yin with the biggest ever Derby attendance at Easter RD.:cb:cb

05-02-2013, 12:37 PM

Think its Hibs v Clyde 1963 although I wasn't there. Must have got it from Ricky Ragina's shop.

05-02-2013, 12:44 PM
The one on the left!

05-02-2013, 12:48 PM
The one on the left!

You had that valued? :greengrin

05-02-2013, 12:51 PM
Home game against Ayr United which I believe was the game before the greatest game in history. I was only 1 at the time but my dad was at the game and gave me the programme. We beat Ayr 8-1 as well. No a bad team those Tornadoes :greengrin

BenjiOscar
05-02-2013, 01:06 PM
Same as earlier poster Hibs V Hearts on 2/1/50. Oldest away is the friendly at Spurs on 1/5/50. Got a copy of the victory cup final programme from 1946 (couldn't afford the original).

greenteam
05-02-2013, 01:45 PM
Same as earlier poster Hibs V Hearts on 2/1/50. Oldest away is the friendly at Spurs on 1/5/50. Got a copy of the victory cup final programme from 1946 (couldn't afford the original).

My first game v Celtic 1969. its framed on my wall :flag:

London Hibs FC
05-02-2013, 01:45 PM
This one.....

ShadesLongThrow
05-02-2013, 03:11 PM
Gordon Smith's testimonial vs Man Utd in 1952. Given to me by my dad. The programme's in the attic but not in the best condition unfortunately....

big-mo
05-02-2013, 04:11 PM
My oldest is the 1948 Willie McCartney testimonial game v Man Utd at ER, we lost 1-0. Next is a April 1950's reserve friendly game against Airdrie, we won 2-1.
First competitive one was Aug 1950, League Cup v Dundee (2-0) 42,000 crowd, Smith and Johnstone scored.

hibbybrian
05-02-2013, 04:11 PM
One from April 1935 v Ayr United :cb next oldest is v Aberdeen in December 1946

05-02-2013, 04:13 PM
Skol Cup Final 1991 :smug:

05-02-2013, 04:17 PM
1955–56 Rot-Weiss Essen and Djurgårdens IF European cup, home programmes

05-02-2013, 04:56 PM
Skol Cup Final 1991 :smug:

Me too but you wasnt there :wink::greengrin

Wing Half
05-02-2013, 05:04 PM
Home to East Fife LC 10 August 1957 - wasn't there.
http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/570810ef.html

05-02-2013, 05:25 PM

Can you post up a pic of the 1935 one mate?

05-02-2013, 05:36 PM
Hibs V Dundee, Easter Road, 1954.

There are about 7-800 in the loft, most of them from late 70's to the early 90's when my old man was going home and away every week. Rakes from mid 90's until about 2009 when we stopped buying them.

There's quite a few peculiar ones, a game away up at Inverness that's a few sheets of paper with I think Bertie Auld on the front and one from some festival cup with Hearts, Coventry and Man City and the programme from when Hearts went to Dens in '86.

Also got a load of England international programmes from all over Europe, a guy my dad worked with followed them home and away and he'd get them for me as I used to love collecting my programmes when I was younger, they're from the mid 90's until about 2003 and I've got the France 98 and Japan World Cup ones.

hibbybrian
05-02-2013, 06:03 PM
Can you post up a pic of the 1935 one mate?

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e43/hibbybrian/30-40/1935.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e43/hibbybrian/30-40/1935centre.jpg

yeezus.
05-02-2013, 06:23 PM
I wish programmes were one penny now - that Scottish Cup semi-final v. Aberdeen last year was rubbish for £3 - all adverts.

05-02-2013, 07:02 PM
http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e43/hibbybrian/30-40/1935.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e43/hibbybrian/30-40/1935centre.jpg

Superb stuff mate!

05-02-2013, 07:04 PM

Damn!!! You've beaten me twice.:grr:
Oldest programme in my collection is Hibs v Celtic from '49 (I think ... would need to check in the attic and it's too cauld right now) with a team photo of Celtic on the front with Jock Stein, Bertie Peacock, Bobby Evans etc.
Not sure how the game finished.:hmmm:

GlenrothesHibee
05-02-2013, 07:08 PM
Scottish cup replay against Celtic at ER from 1961

05-02-2013, 07:12 PM
1970 Fairs Cup tie against Liverpool, it was my granddad's and has been framed along with his Eric Schaedler shirt in my bedroom.

05-02-2013, 07:13 PM
Nov '74 ma first Hibs game at Muirton.

StJ 0-2 Hibs (Stanton, O'Rourke)

05-02-2013, 07:23 PM
My oldest programme is Hibs v Clyde - 23rd January, 1960 (I was only 4 at the time, so it must be "borrowed" from my cousin...)

Hugh Shaw is the manager

Hibs team:

Muirhead - Grant - McClelland - Falconer - Hughes - Baxter - McLeod - Johnstone - Baker - Fox - Ormond

It cost 3d in old pennies, ...

Bobo
05-02-2013, 07:39 PM
My oldest programme is an away programme V Aston Villa from 11 February 1950. Oldest home is V Aberdeen from 2 January 1951.

swanny 6-2
05-02-2013, 10:04 PM
Victory cup v Rangers played June 1946 Scottish cup semi final v rangers played March 1948 also bound volumes from seasons 1949-1950 and 1950-1951 rarest home probably v Scottish Command played 23rd august 1954

05-02-2013, 10:56 PM
My oldest programme is Hibs v Clyde - 23rd January, 1960 (I was only 4 at the time, so it must be "borrowed" from my cousin...)

Hugh Shaw is the manager

Hibs team:

Muirhead - Grant - McClelland - Falconer - Hughes - Baxter - McLeod - Johnstone - Baker - Fox - Ormond

It cost 3d in old pennies, ...

You'll know this probably, but others might not. Game was played at the old Shawfield Stadium which also had a greyhound track. Game ended 5-5 with Joe Baker getting a hat trick and Bobby Johnstone a double.

05-02-2013, 11:03 PM
Home game against Ayr United which I believe was the game before the greatest game in history. I was only 1 at the time but my dad was at the game and gave me the programme. We beat Ayr 8-1 as well. No a bad team those Tornadoes :greengrin

The one after the GGIH... :-)

Mine is a home game against Falkirk in season 65-66. Won 2-1.

Wasn't there, dunno where it came from...

05-02-2013, 11:04 PM
My oldest programme is an away programme V Aston Villa from 11 February 1950. Oldest home is V Aberdeen from 2 January 1951.

Lost 5-2 at Villa (Reilly and Ormond) but won 6-2 at home to the Dons (Reilly and Johnstone got two each with Gordon Smith and young Robert Wood from Musselburgh getting the others)

05-02-2013, 11:04 PM
My first game .. 1976

KiddA
06-02-2013, 03:16 AM

Not old but I have the 6-2 one signed :greengrin

06-02-2013, 04:51 AM
This thread has had me trying to dig out all my old programmes but I can't find them anywhere. I started collecting them a few years back and I had a few from the 50s and 1 from the 40s. It always amazed me how cheap you can buy old programmes on ebay

06-02-2013, 05:31 AM
You'll know this probably, but others might not. Game was played at the old Shawfield Stadium which also had a greyhound track. Game ended 5-5 with Joe Baker getting a hat trick and Bobby Johnstone a double.

I'm not so sure about "Shawfield" - that excellent book I had bought recently entitled "At Easter Road They Play" written by you yourself reckons it was at Easter Road (p.195) and my programme does too as it is a Hibs one (not in pristine condition unfortunately)?

When are parts 2 & 3 available BTW?:greengrin

06-02-2013, 06:18 AM
Home to East Fife LC 10 August 1957 - wasn't there.
http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/570810ef.html

Good website mate. Actually got me thinking. Looking at the Victory Cup one. 6d a programme and 7/6 to get in. That is 15 times the programme price!!! Now going by an earlier post saying Cup Final programmes were £3 last season that would make a ticket £45. Is football becoming too cheap now? ( not necessarily directed at you :-))

Bobo
06-02-2013, 07:12 AM
Lost 5-2 at Villa (Reilly and Ormond) but won 6-2 at home to the Dons (Reilly and Johnstone got two each with Gordon Smith and young Robert Wood from Musselburgh getting the others)

Both games were before I was born but I've collected programmes since I was about 5 years old.

Got nearly every home programme since season 1956 and a few older ones too. I got all our european programmes at home and a good few of the away ones too but not really too sure which is the rarest, probably the programme vrs Celtic on 4 December 1977 as the game was postponed and the programme was never issued for sale, don't think there's too many about? The link below shows a scan of the programme.

http://www.hibsprogrammes.co.uk/1976-77.html

06-02-2013, 09:31 AM
My oldest is the 0-7 programme signed by the Hibs team.

CyberSauzee
06-02-2013, 10:23 AM
Gordon Smith's testimonial vs Man Utd in 1952. Given to me by my dad. The programme's in the attic but not in the best condition unfortunately....

Me too. Got mine off my Grandad. Those were the days when it would be Easter Road one week and Gorgie the next for a lot of folk.

06-02-2013, 10:43 AM
Me too. Got mine off my Grandad. Those were the days when it would be Easter Road one week and Gorgie the next for a lot of folk.

Yeah ... and you could even go see the Monarchs in the evening at the Old Meadowbank speedway stadium - Gordon Hunter, Dougie Tempelton and Reider Eide ... lots of spills and thrills...

06-02-2013, 10:53 AM
My oldest Hibs programme is from the Scottish Cup 1st round replay against St Mirren on 31st January 1951.

I used to be a keen collector and round about 1969/1970 I paid a programme dealer the princely sum(at that time) of £4 for an "Everton and Liverpool" programme dated 22nd April 1905 for a match between Everton and Manchester United. I must take some photos of it and post them on here.

Billy McKirdy
06-02-2013, 11:49 AM
The one on the left!

That game kicked off the actual day and minute I was born and my old man was where he should have been, at the game :greengrin

(We won 2-0 and my old man was also another 2 kids up after me and my twin arrived :wink:)

06-02-2013, 11:51 AM
Yeah ... and you could even go see the Monarchs in the evening at the Old Meadowbank speedway stadium - Gordon Hunter, Dougie Tempelton and Reider Eide ... lots of spills and thrills...

That's exactly what I used to do :agree: did the programmes as well, I vividly remember jumping the barrier after a heat and getting Jimmy Sqibb's goggles when the Monarchs played Exeter :greengrin

Happy days!

Some great memories here, keep it up guys and lets see yer foaties! :aok:

06-02-2013, 12:04 PM

Don't you mean George Hunter?

If so, he could also be seen at Powderhall along with Bert Harkins.

I regularly went to the speedway on a Friday night then ER on Saturday afternoon - I don't know how many youngsters could afford to do that at today's prices.

Dan Sarf
06-02-2013, 12:07 PM

And Jack Young? Never saw him ride - maybe he was before my time - but I'm sure he was a star.

Or has my memory crashed completely? :confused:

06-02-2013, 12:12 PM
Don't you mean George Hunter?

If so, he could also be seen at Powderhall along with Bert Harkins.

I regularly went to the speedway on a Friday night then ER on Saturday afternoon - I don't know how many youngsters could afford to do that at today's prices.

Yeah,you're right! It's a wee while back - had to check my speedway programme again:greengrin

You went on Fridays? I was sure the meetings were Saturday evening, maybe they swapped around (in the 60s)? ...

06-02-2013, 01:01 PM
Yeah,you're right! It's a wee while back - had to check my speedway programme again:greengrin

You went on Fridays? I was sure the meetings were Saturday evening, maybe they swapped around (in the 60s)? ...

Saturday evening for me! around 63/4 perhaps?

06-02-2013, 01:06 PM

I think you mean George Hunter!

Gordon played for Hibs!

06-02-2013, 01:08 PM

When I went to Powderhall (late 70s - early 80s) it was Friday nights.

06-02-2013, 02:26 PM
And Jack Young? Never saw him ride - maybe he was before my time - but I'm sure he was a star.

Or has my memory crashed completely? :confused:

He was world champion in 1951 despite riding for Monarchs in the second division. He moved to West Ham and retained his title in 1952.

Dan Sarf
06-02-2013, 03:29 PM
He was world champion in 1951 despite riding for Monarchs in the second division. He moved to West Ham and retained his title in 1952.

Thanks for info!

Remember the first time I went to see the Monarchs. Found a brilliant spot to watch from at the first corner. Couldn't understand why no one else was standing there...

Miguel
06-02-2013, 07:24 PM
Used to go on a Saturday night In the 60s when I was a kid. Have a vague memory of bags being sold outside to protect your head from the grit when the bikes went around. Or maybe I've just dreamt that bit!

06-02-2013, 08:10 PM
That game kicked off the actual day and minute I was born and my old man was where he should have been, at the game :greengrin

(We won 2-0 and my old man was also another 2 kids up after me and my twin arrived :wink:)

Fantastic! It was 2-1 actually with goals from Tommy Preston and Gerry Baker.

06-02-2013, 11:04 PM
Used to go on a Saturday night In the 60s when I was a kid. Have a vague memory of bags being sold outside to protect your head from the grit when the bikes went around. Or maybe I've just dreamt that bit!

My folks used to go to the "round" track at meadowbank. They told me that you had to shield your eyes from the grit with your programme.

Billy McKirdy
06-02-2013, 11:08 PM
Fantastic! It was 2-1 actually with goals from Tommy Preston and Gerry Baker.

I wasn't there (obviously) but I've been aware that the score was as I claimed all my life... :wink:

See attached link :greengrin

http://www.footballzz.co.uk/jogo.php?id=332607

We lost 2-0 in the second leg which led to a replay (after the toss of a coin was scheduled for Valencia) which I think (!!) we lost 3-0 :confused:

And I think Jim Scott was one of the scorers, I knew his son, also called Jim who worked with Hi-Fi Corner in Falkirk, sorry to disagree with you here :wink:

Confirmed with this...

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/TimelineDetail/0,,10290~1750914,00.html

07-02-2013, 04:12 AM
My old man loves his programmes and gets one at every game, ill need to ask him what his oldest is I know that he recons one of his most valued is an official program from the European final that the Celtic Lisbon lions won.

07-02-2013, 01:47 PM
My oldest is the 0-7 programme signed by the Hibs team.

Awesome....can i assume you would have absolutely no interest in selling that?

07-02-2013, 03:37 PM
Oldest home one is 12th. September 1959 v Rangers
Also got Lawrie Reilly's testimonial match v an International select from 15th. December 1958and the Clyde Hibs cup final program from 26th. April the same year.
Earliest program I have is a Festival of Britain International from May 12th 1951 Scotland v Denmark , Reilly and Johnstone played. I also have Scotland v England from 9th. April 1960 with The Baker Boy playing for England.

Eyemouth Hibby
07-02-2013, 04:01 PM
I'd have to have a good look but I remember my Old Boy threatening to throw some of my "magazines", as he called them, out recently. This thread has caused a sudden state of panic as I was just assuming he meant some Gentleman's magazines he may have stumbled accross by accident i.e loaded, zoo, Front, Fiesta, Escort and so on. If the old chap has thrown out the programme from my very first game Hibs 2 Aberdeen 1 in 1983, when the Sloop John B was in charge no less, I think I may as well stop living. Brian Rice had a stormer that day and I think Fergie was in charge at the Dons. This game was something of a false dawn but was the reason I became a Hibby so I'd be truly gutted.

07-02-2013, 09:05 PM
I'm not so sure about "Shawfield" - that excellent book I had bought recently entitled "At Easter Road They Play" written by you yourself reckons it was at Easter Road (p.195) and my programme does too as it is a Hibs one (not in pristine condition unfortunately)?

When are parts 2 & 3 available BTW?:greengrin

Right enough! I shoulda read that book before replying :greengrin

Summer and Autumn I'm told

07-02-2013, 09:07 PM
My folks used to go to the "round" track at meadowbank. They told me that you had to shield your eyes from the grit with your programme.

They stopped using cinders and switched to shale many years ago to deal with that problem.

07-02-2013, 09:13 PM
Great thread. Can't compete with those aforementioned on here so I won't.

Any chance some of you "older" boys can scan some front pages or whole programmes in for us to take a look at?

G-Reg
07-02-2013, 10:37 PM
Here is a link to a photo of 2 of my oldest

http://flic.kr/p/dT77rN

07-02-2013, 11:26 PM
I think my oldest one is a 1953 ( I think) Arsenal v Hibs friendly

08-02-2013, 08:46 AM

Some great photos in your flickr stream. :agree:

G-Reg
08-02-2013, 08:51 AM
Some great photos in your flickr stream. :agree:

Thank you very much

ano hibby
08-02-2013, 10:06 AM
Sorry this may have already been posted but if you want to see pics of old programmes see the attached link. Click on any one year and you can see pictures of nearly all post war programmes home and away as well as many pre war. Its a fantastic site.

http://www.hibsprogrammes.co.uk/

08-02-2013, 12:33 PM

Great stuff mate, let's keep this thread up please.

FWIW I sold all mine due to money problems in the early 90s, I had em all, even all the yam home progs of all their Euro nights in the 60s, sorry I sold them but that's life I suppose.

I used to buy mine from Alan Cunningham who had a great wee shop in Bread Street plus there were numerous programme fairs in Edinburgh and Glasgow, the one in Edinburgh was at Edinburgh City clubrooms at Elm Row and Bob Crampsey was there selling his Jock Stein book.

My oldest was a 1923/24 vs "them" and had belonged to my Grandad and was passed on to me, wish I had kept that one in particular.

08-02-2013, 01:50 PM
A mint condition Skol Cup Final programme is about the best I can muster up!

08-02-2013, 08:10 PM
Hibs v Aberdeen circa 1988, I was 8..

TrickyNicky
09-02-2013, 02:18 AM
I have this one.

2-0 Hibs

Goals scored by Hamilton and an OG by Zoco.

TrickyNicky
09-02-2013, 02:28 AM
Forgot the back page and a couple of the ads inside.

9346 9347

09-02-2013, 12:46 PM
Awesome....can i assume you would have absolutely no interest in selling that?

to be honest I've never really thought about it.

G-Reg
09-02-2013, 01:05 PM
Great stuff mate, let's keep this thread up please.

FWIW I sold all mine due to money problems in the early 90s, I had em all, even all the yam home progs of all their Euro nights in the 60s, sorry I sold them but that's life I suppose.

I used to buy mine from Alan Cunningham who had a great wee shop in Bread Street plus there were numerous programme fairs in Edinburgh and Glasgow, the one in Edinburgh was at Edinburgh City clubrooms at Elm Row and Bob Crampsey was there selling his Jock Stein book.

My oldest was a 1923/24 vs "them" and had belonged to my Grandad and was passed on to me, wish I had kept that one in particular.

I'm sorry to hear you had to sell all yours, would you ever try building up a collection again?

Most of my older ones where given to me by an elderly neighbor who's husband worked for a printer that manufactured programmes when he was alive. I might try and snap a selection of the others I have and post the link this weekend.

Here is one I took a while back its not as old as some but it's one of my favourites

http://flic.kr/p/dhDdCD

09-02-2013, 01:27 PM

0-7 signed programme

09-02-2013, 02:41 PM
I have just come across this little item on ebay and no, I am not the seller!

Mind you, I will not be bidding either!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1939-40-HIBERNIAN-V-DUNDEE-UNITED-/360567424850?pt=UK_Sports_Memorabilia_Football_Pro grammes_ET&hash=item53f37e4752

Conrad Gray
09-02-2013, 02:56 PM
I have just come across this little item on ebay and no, I am not the seller!

Mind you, I will not be bidding either!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1939-40-HIBERNIAN-V-DUNDEE-UNITED-/360567424850?pt=UK_Sports_Memorabilia_Football_Pro grammes_ET&hash=item53f37e4752

Stunning, but a bit rich for me.

09-02-2013, 03:52 PM
Stunning, but a bit rich for me.

Nice!

G-Reg
09-02-2013, 04:15 PM

0-7 signed programme

Top notch.

09-02-2013, 04:52 PM
I have this one.

2-0 Hibs

Goals scored by Hamilton and an OG by Zoco.

I have it signed by Jock Stein. Any offers?

10-02-2013, 12:27 AM

How much?

TrickyNicky
10-02-2013, 03:40 AM

How about £50 ?

andy1875
11-02-2013, 10:37 AM
I have a few oldies in the house.

Hibs Centenery Year Programme from 1975, Pat Stanton on the
Front, can't recall which games its from mind...

Hibs v Keflavik from 1973, Uefa Cup tie

Hearts v Hibs from Sept 1973, no mention of a "last time teams met here" I may add :-)

My personal favourite, I was born in 84 and my Dad told the Hibs who put a wee article in the next programme about the Youngest Hibby in town. Personal touch clearly but my favourite! Nice one faither! ;-)

11-02-2013, 10:45 AM
This thread inspired me to purchase a programme for the day after I was born. So my oldest is October 91 v Motherwell. :greengrin

11-02-2013, 11:34 AM
Slightly off topic but I've got the programme from when Oasis played Loch Lomond back in August 96. Signed by Noel, Liam, Bonehead, Guigsy and Alan White. :hyper:

Dan Sarf
11-02-2013, 01:01 PM
Slightly off topic but I've got the programme from when Oasis played Loch Lomond back in August 96. Signed by Noel, Liam, Bonehead, Guigsy and Alan White. :hyper:

Who won?

G-Reg
11-02-2013, 01:17 PM
ve a couple from the centenary year too but they are a bit beaten up. Here's a photo of one from the Liverpool game
http://flic.kr/p/dL55yL

11-02-2013, 01:29 PM
Got a load in the loft that were passed onto me years ago by my dad/grandad. Most are from the 60's onwards, mainly Hibs ones but a few Aberdeen ones (Grandad supported them, Unlce supports them). Also a few other ones, Saint Eittiene European Cup Final is one that sticks out.

11-02-2013, 01:33 PM
Who won?

Who won what??

Dan Sarf
11-02-2013, 02:22 PM
Who won what??

That's what I wanted to know.

11-02-2013, 02:33 PM
That's what I wanted to know.

I'm the winner as I've got the signed programme. :greengrin

11-02-2013, 02:41 PM

Will be worth a few quid for sure, do NOT sell to a dealer should you ever cash in on it, use an auction site to get best price.

11-02-2013, 02:59 PM
Will be worth a few quid for sure, do NOT sell to a dealer should you ever cash in on it, use an auction site to get best price.

No plans to sell at all but would definitely put it into a specialist auction if i was to sell.

11-02-2013, 03:12 PM
No plans to sell at all but would definitely put it into a specialist auction if i was to sell.

Miguel
11-02-2013, 08:09 PM
My brother has every home programme since he started attending matches in the 1950s, bar three: Spurs 56. Airdrie 59. Dundee 57 (was postponed and played later with a different programme.)
If anyone has any of these...

hibbybrian
11-02-2013, 08:32 PM
My brother has every home programme since he started attending matches in the 1950s, bar three: Spurs 56. Airdrie 59. Dundee 57 (was postponed and played later with a different programme.)
If anyone has any of these...

Hibs didn't play Airdrie in 1959 - maybe referring to the Friendly on 8 March 1958 but there was no programme issued for this game :wink:

Miguel
11-02-2013, 11:38 PM
Hibs didn't play Airdrie in 1959 - maybe referring to the Friendly on 8 March 1958 but there was no programme issued for this game :wink:

Thanks, I will pass this info onto him. Someone else suggested there was no programme for the Spurs game either.

hibbybrian
12-02-2013, 04:31 AM
Thanks, I will pass this info onto him. Someone else suggested there was no programme for the Spurs game either.
There was a programme for the Spurs game

http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/spurs6.html

The Dundee game was probably the match which was due to be played on 8th Feb 1958, when all games in Scotland were cancelled due to heavy snow, but was played on 16 April 1958

http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/580208de.html

http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/580416de.html

12-02-2013, 07:09 PM
Crazy money, they could have bought a season ticket for the price paid!

The programme was probably better value for money though!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/360567424850?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

12-02-2013, 07:15 PM
I've got programmes for 100s of games including Hibs vs Napoli/Juve/Barca.

Not sure what they're worth or what the oldest is. Will look them out when I get home.

12-02-2013, 07:24 PM
I've got programmes for 100s of games including Hibs vs Napoli/Juve/Barca.

Not sure what they're worth or what the oldest is. Will look them out when I get home.

Ebay probably your best bet or on here, under no circumstances sell them to a dealer..:aok:

12-02-2013, 07:27 PM
Crazy money, they could have bought a season ticket for the price paid!

The programme was probably better value for money though!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/360567424850?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Wow!

12-02-2013, 07:29 PM
Ebay probably your best bet or on here, under no circumstances sell them to a dealer..:aok:

No plans to sell any :)

12-02-2013, 07:33 PM
No plans to sell any :)

Good lad!

Miguel
12-02-2013, 07:49 PM
There was a programme for the Spurs game

http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/spurs6.html

The Dundee game was probably the match which was due to be played on 8th Feb 1958, when all games in Scotland were cancelled due to heavy snow, but was played on 16 April 1958

http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/580208de.html

http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/580416de.html
Thanks for this.
As a matter of interest, do you know who the teams are on the cover of the first Dundee one?

12-02-2013, 09:28 PM
Found some beauties when looking through my programmes.

Hibs vs Juve
Hibs vs FC Besa
Hibs vs Leeds
Hibs vs Liverpool
A programme for a supporters association rally in 1958.
Programme for the hillsborough replay at old trafford.
Benfica Man Utd European cup final.

My favourite is the attached tho!

hibeg
12-02-2013, 10:37 PM
Thanks for this.
As a matter of interest, do you know who the teams are on the cover of the first Dundee one?

Scotland v Scottish League .. World cup trial match which was played at easter Road on 3 Feb 1958. There is a programme for the game but I don't know how to show it.

Miguel
12-02-2013, 11:31 PM
Scotland v Scottish League .. World cup trial match which was played at easter Road on 3 Feb 1958. There is a programme for the game but I don't know how to show it.

Yes, thought it would be something like that. Any Hibbies in the teams?

hibeg
13-02-2013, 11:34 AM
Nope, but ex hibees Tommy Younger and Bobby Johnstone were in the Scotland line up. No Hibs players quoted in the League team

13-02-2013, 02:19 PM
http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/html/580210ba.html

14-02-2013, 03:33 AM
I was looking at mine last night and I've got the real madrid leeds and Liverpool programes. I also found the programe for the bp youth cup final that we won at easter road. I'm sure there was a decent crowd that night