View Full Version : Yams Hoy's Heartache

BenjiOscar
05-02-2013, 11:16 AM
Article in today's Sun (I know) in page 22 with Sir Chris Hoy apparently embarrassed to be called a Hearts fan as he stopped following them properly in 1986. I'm sure there were a couple of potential reasons for this in 1986 but can't quite recall?

05-02-2013, 11:23 AM
Nobody needs a reason to be embarrassed for being one of them, but I suppose that's a good enough one?

05-02-2013, 11:32 AM
Anyone should be embarrassed to be called a Hearts fan.

05-02-2013, 11:37 AM
Ach well, they still have Ronnie Corbett :-))

05-02-2013, 11:45 AM
Article in today's Sun (I know) in page 22 with Sir Chris Hoy apparently embarrassed to be called a Hearts fan as he stopped following them properly in 1986. I'm sure there were a couple of potential reasons for this in 1986 but can't quite recall?

That's very strange, and makes him something of a Glory Avoider, as that's the very year that the yams won the League and Cup double. Got a 0-0 draw at Dens on the last day of the season to pip Celtc to the title, as I recall (or perhaps lost narrowly to Dundee while St Mirren trounced Celtc to hand the title to the yams on goal difference, something like that). 'mon the St Mirrens!

05-02-2013, 11:48 AM
Don't see the article in my paper

JollyGreenGiant
05-02-2013, 11:53 AM
Didn't look too embarrassed to me when he was on SoccerAm boasting about the fact that he could still remember the 1986 team of losers!

05-02-2013, 11:58 AM
The Sun :sick:

05-02-2013, 12:02 PM
Didn't look too embarrassed to me when he was on SoccerAm boasting about the fact that he could still remember the 1986 team of losers!

Same when he was pictured doing the 5 1

05-02-2013, 12:05 PM
Ach well, they still have Ronnie Corbett :-))Dinnae forget Cicero :hilarious

05-02-2013, 12:06 PM
Can't find the article. Where is it supposed to be?

05-02-2013, 12:09 PM
So he stopped following them properly when he was 10?

05-02-2013, 12:25 PM
So he stopped following them properly when he was 10?

This. The garbage that is trotted out to seemingly justify not going , just be easier to say you are not interested.

Also I remember his Faither saying after he won one of his golds in 2008 about how cyclists should make more money and 'look at what fitba' players gets' . Well go and play football then or be a tax adviser.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18564187

05-02-2013, 12:34 PM

iirc that was the year hertz done the double :dunno: he maybe thought with them winning the double they had no more to achieve, although some bampot/fruitloop did promise them the champions league title several years ago, no idea how that went tho

BenjiOscar
05-02-2013, 03:47 PM
It's just a tiny square inch column underneath the Ally Ross picture

05-02-2013, 05:10 PM
Ach well, they still have Ronnie Corbett :-))

And "Wee Airdrie Jambo", their charity boy that made off with the telly and funds raised from the raffle and the Proboscus nosed Jim Jeffries.

05-02-2013, 06:44 PM

I think I heard that they won a war somewhere, or saved a planet, something like that anyway, either that or they did the double, it can't be the Champions League win because Mr Romanov told them when that would happen and it was much later on.

Plenty fringe "celebrity" Yam's kicking about on the fringe of all this but apart from Pishy breeks himself who has evidently done a lot more harm than good, none of them actually seem to say or do anything directly to help. The snaggle toothed pastry ponce Gregg Wallace who seemed to like them at the Cup Final might eat a few of their fondant fancies I suppose................

05-02-2013, 07:46 PM
The article is taken from an hour long interview on 5 Live last week with Colin Murray.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/bespoke