View Full Version : There's Only One Ben Williams

03-02-2013, 04:13 PM
Simply take a bow big man. What a GK. He's up there with the likes of Goram & Leighton as one of the all time best GK we have had. My POTY.

03-02-2013, 04:14 PM
Best keeper since Goram without a shadow.

03-02-2013, 04:15 PM
Best keeper since Goram without a shadow.

Better than Leighton?

03-02-2013, 04:18 PM
Better than Leighton?

Not yet but keep this up and he will take over both

03-02-2013, 04:22 PM
The penalty double save was superb :not worth:not worth:not worth

03-02-2013, 04:22 PM
Ben Williams you beautiful beautiful man :flag:

03-02-2013, 04:24 PM
A fantastic performance and thank goodness he was on top class form, our defence was shaky at times, I hate Aberdeen, it was never a penalty in my eyes but you have to take your hat off to him for yet another great save.

03-02-2013, 04:25 PM
Top top class.

pampdahoosmoose
03-02-2013, 04:25 PM
You've got to love him, without that display today it's unlikely we're in the quarters. Great goal from Deegan but its all about Williams today!!

03-02-2013, 04:27 PM
Get him on a long term deal ASAP.

03-02-2013, 04:28 PM
THERE'S only one Ben Williams!:agree:

03-02-2013, 04:29 PM
THERE'S only one Ben Williams!:agree:

There is indeed.

03-02-2013, 04:29 PM
New man crush.

Hero.

Billie Jo
03-02-2013, 04:31 PM
The penalty double save was superb :not worth:not worth:not worth

Magic :not worth

03-02-2013, 04:31 PM
Sorry McPake, but Williams has stolen my man crush:agree:

03-02-2013, 04:33 PM
What a performance. Never had any doubt that he wouldn't save it. Simply outstanding. :agree:

03-02-2013, 04:34 PM
He is simply amazing!

03-02-2013, 04:35 PM
Great keeper!

Well done Ben!

Ell_Chrisso
03-02-2013, 04:36 PM
Ben Williams > Pepe Reina

Rivers Cuomo
03-02-2013, 04:36 PM
Biggest performance in a big game from a keeper since the semi with Andersson vs a team that used to win quite a lot called "Rangers" i believe.

Seriously though he was massive today and even when we were under the cosh i knew we wouldnt concede, even when they got the penalty i was convinced he would save it. Thats 4/6 pens hes saved now. At 22 ive never felt like we had a keeper that could bail us out in all my time watching Hibs but we do now!

On a side note, it might not always be pretty but do we now have a Hibs that at least will turn up for big games when it matters? I believe so.

03-02-2013, 04:37 PM
Can any stattos out there tell me his penalty save ratio? I think its something mad like 3 out of 6.

03-02-2013, 04:38 PM
Can any stattos out there tell me his penalty save ratio? I think its something mad like 3 out of 6.

4 out of 6

Can any stattos out there tell me his penalty save ratio? I think its something mad like 3 out of 6.4/6 and 1 was missed.

Eckie
Fantastic by the big man, overall good performance by the team , thought had better shape today, defence fairly solid, midfield controlled things, with Deegan and Claros distributing well and getting forward to support Griffiths.

Ben Williams > Pepe Reina

Don't insult Williams :wink:

03-02-2013, 04:39 PM
Ben Williams is the best keeper we've had since Leighton. No argument there

HiBremian
03-02-2013, 04:39 PM

Hibs TV said 5 out of 6, and only ex-Hibbie Kevin McBride has beaten him.:agree:

JollyGreenGiant
03-02-2013, 04:40 PM
Fenlons best signing by miles!

Ell_Chrisso
03-02-2013, 04:40 PM
Don't insult Williams :wink:

;)

03-02-2013, 04:41 PM
how long is his current deal ?

03-02-2013, 04:43 PM
Big guy was fantastic.

Any chance someone can amend the title so that it's spelt correctly?

03-02-2013, 05:07 PM
What a player. Best goalie I've seen at hibs and I've been watching for a long time. Better than Leighton IMHO when does his contract run out any1

Bleeds green
03-02-2013, 05:11 PM
Superb!! Pulled mcpake oot the ***** via that was a totally stupid challenge to give penalty away, granted it was soft but it was daft

TheEastTerrace
First class - well done Ben

He is even a handsome big fella tae,

Sometimes I am critical of our play under Fenlon but full credit to him for signing big Ben, outstanding !

03-02-2013, 05:14 PM
Remember PF saying we were lucky to have Ben shortly after signing. Have agrees ever since :-)

03-02-2013, 05:16 PM
Yet another fantastic performance from Big Ben, he is fast becoming a favourite of mine!

03-02-2013, 05:18 PM
I'd do illegal things to him.

03-02-2013, 05:19 PM
I'd do illegal things to him.

:agree: I illegally streamed him this afternoon.

03-02-2013, 05:20 PM
What a keeper, great saves today hail hail

03-02-2013, 05:22 PM
We need to get him signed on a longer contract. It's not just the shot stopping that impresses me. He oozes confidence and even when he makes a mistake, he bounces back. Too often in the recent past we've had keepers go to pieces after making a mistake.

DarrenSQH
03-02-2013, 05:23 PM
He's been brilliant. Hope he sticks around for a while.

03-02-2013, 05:24 PM
4/6 and 1 was missed.

2 saves vs Aberdeen, 1 vs st johnstone

what was the other save and the missed one?? my memory is shocking.

03-02-2013, 05:25 PM
If we're going to lose him, it'll be to a top five Championship team or bottom five EPL team. The best SPL keeper in quite a few years.

03-02-2013, 05:25 PM
St Mirren away was it not?

03-02-2013, 05:28 PM
Is he married?!

HibeeSince85
03-02-2013, 05:30 PM
The man is immense!

03-02-2013, 05:32 PM
Contract extension please, Rod.

03-02-2013, 05:34 PM
2 saves vs Aberdeen, 1 vs st johnstone

what was the other save and the missed one?? my memory is shocking.

Saved a pen vs St Mirren away and Higdon put one over the bar when we horsed 'Well

03-02-2013, 05:34 PM
St Mirren away was it not?

Oh aye thats right cheers. And Motherwell away Higdon hit the bar.

03-02-2013, 05:35 PM
Saved a pen vs St Mirren away and Higdon put one over the bar when we horsed 'Well

english_hibee
03-02-2013, 05:40 PM
:greengrin no words for my love of this man!!!!

Hibs site say's he signed for 2 years in July

03-02-2013, 05:42 PM
Thing with Big Ben is we've got a proper all round keeper. Stacky had a good command of his box and was a decent shot stopper but his positioning was poor. Mark Brown was a good shot stopper but had no command of his box. Graeme Smith still holds the high score on the pinball table that the team play all day at East Mains rather than practise throw ins but was horrific elsewhere.

Big Ben has a command of his box, positions himself well and is a fantastic shot stopper and is only improving. Cracking aquisition from PF.

03-02-2013, 05:43 PM
Makes Craig Gordon look like yves makalambay

03-02-2013, 05:43 PM
Best keeper we've had for years. Fenlon's best signing.

03-02-2013, 05:45 PM
:agree: I illegally streamed him this afternoon.

Very naughty.

03-02-2013, 05:48 PM
Best goalie in spl by some distance...big Ben was outstanding again today!

03-02-2013, 05:50 PM
Best goalie in spl by some distance...big Ben was outstanding again today!

Got to say Williams and forester Celtic goalie not much between them.

HTD1875
03-02-2013, 05:50 PM
My hero :flag:

JMac
03-02-2013, 05:57 PM
Can't believe hibs have finally got a brilliant keeper in the sticks, couldn't say who our last good one was

Capt Mainwaring
03-02-2013, 06:01 PM
Fantastic performance from Williams today. Well done son - take a bow and enjoy your Man of the Match Champers :thumbsup:

03-02-2013, 06:08 PM
Big Ben strikes again!!!:wink: Absolutely wonderful performance from the big man today. I hope he realises just how much he is appreciated by the fans.
Superb!:not worth

03-02-2013, 06:08 PM
What a guy :greengrin

03-02-2013, 06:11 PM
If we get through to the final again and it went to penalties then I'd start the partying as soon as the 120min whistle went.

03-02-2013, 06:23 PM
Ben "The Wall" Williams!

cam75
03-02-2013, 06:30 PM
Very handsome and a class professional,well done PF keep them coming.

The_Sauz
03-02-2013, 06:30 PM
Actually if you watch that penalty again.....he blows the ball onto the bar :greengrin So I count that as a save :agree:

PJ IronHIbee
03-02-2013, 06:55 PM
Just back - what a performance - England's #1
All joking apart - never felt so confident since Goram was our #1. Leighton was a great shot stopper but couldn't kick a ball - Williams is an all round solid gk
:pfgwa

03-02-2013, 07:00 PM
Best Hibs goalie since Jim Leighton. Piity we didnt have someone like him in goals when we had our team under Mowbray.

03-02-2013, 07:01 PM
Superb today, thankfully it's the real Williams we have and not the one on FM13 who is pants.:greengrin

03-02-2013, 07:06 PM
Great performance today. He's a fantastic keeper. :top marks

03-02-2013, 07:07 PM
Absolutely brilliant performance. Well done Ben.

03-02-2013, 07:11 PM
I have to say he distinctly average and nothing to shout about.

Good, that'll keep the vulture scouting networks at bay :greengrin

Fantastic performance from Fenlon's star buy

03-02-2013, 07:17 PM
Been saying it for a while.

After a nervous start to the season has really done well for us.

His penalty saves have also come at key times in the games.

Keep it up Ben -Hibs hero in the making :agree:

03-02-2013, 07:23 PM
If we are serious about moving forward then I think we should be looking at an improved and extended contract, even at this early stage.

03-02-2013, 07:34 PM
...and did anyone hear his SKY interview?!

03-02-2013, 07:34 PM
If we feel that confident about him being on goals for us, imagine the effect he has on his teammates?

Agree on the extension.

03-02-2013, 07:35 PM
Best Hibs goalie since Jim Leighton. Piity we didnt have someone like him in goals when we had our team under Mowbray.

almost broke his hand today,hitting the dugout,after the penalty.
When Ben pulled off another save.....same again :greengrin

Great goalkeeper,and was delighted he played for Hibs.

Good to see he still has a passion for his club :aok:

03-02-2013, 07:38 PM
...and did anyone hear his SKY interview?!

Nope, what was said? :greengrin

03-02-2013, 07:50 PM
One of the biggest positives from today and the best goal keeping performance i've probably ever witnessed at ER. :not worth

If it were Zibi, we would have conceded 3-4 (5 if you throw in a GK blunder :wink:)

The first half was the same old pish. But we came out looking a fair bit better in the 2nd half, but without looking quite as good as we're capable of.

A few shaky slip ups in defence may have cost us on another day, but thankfully they didn't today.

Deegan's goal was a cracker. Initially I thought the ball had gone over and dropped behind the goal. There seemed to just be a split second of silence in the ground, before everybody realized that it had actually gone in.

03-02-2013, 07:51 PM
Nope, what was said? :greengrin

Lots of self belief...

- I am the best in the last 10 years
- Hibs will win something in the next few years.

03-02-2013, 07:57 PM
One of the biggest positives from today and the best goal keeping performance i've probably ever witnessed at ER. :not worth

If it were Zibi, we would have conceded 3-4 (5 if you throw in a GK blunder :wink:)

The first half was the same old pish. But we came out looking a fair bit better in the 2nd half, but without looking quite as good as we're capable of.

A few shaky slip ups in defence may have cost us on another day, but thankfully they didn't today.

Deegan's goal was a cracker. Initially I thought the ball had gone over and dropped behind the goal. There seemed to just be a split second of silence in the ground, before everybody realized that it had actually gone in.

THAT'S YOU'RE COMPUTERGAME.....this was real life :agree::agree:

03-02-2013, 08:26 PM
If I was Rod Petrie, I would be speaking with him and his agents over the next few months to try and agree an extension to his contract.

He's under contract for another 18 months but I think it's vital that we do all we can to keep him at the club for the remainder of his career, if possible.

03-02-2013, 08:27 PM
Lots of self belief...

- I am the best in the last 10 years
- Hibs will win something in the next few years.

I'd like him to speak like a WWF wrestling like the Rock or something in all interviews, talking in the third person and everything :greengrin

Finally, Big Ben HAS COME BACK to Easter Road

DAVE1875
03-02-2013, 08:33 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/f9/45/0,,10290~11224569,00.png

http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mac3x3mzkj1ruj2iwo1_400.gif

LeighLoyal
03-02-2013, 08:48 PM
Delighted with this guy, my favourite Hibs keeper in many a year.

on-the-level
03-02-2013, 08:52 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/f9/45/0,,10290~11224569,00.png

http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mac3x3mzkj1ruj2iwo1_400.gif

Stop that cause its just wrong :greengrin

03-02-2013, 09:18 PM
Another Ben lover here :greengrin Was fantastic again today.

How old is he??

03-02-2013, 09:23 PM
Delighted with this guy, my favourite Hibs keeper in many a year.

The competition has been fierce over the last 10 years as well!

Hibee Ryan
03-02-2013, 09:49 PM
Superb today, thankfully it's the real Williams we have and not the one on FM13 who is pants.:greengrin

Don't get me started on the Hibs players ratings in that game :grr:

But seriously, every game he's the exact same. So consistent! One on One's are fantastic, coming for crosses is 10 times better than our last 5 keepers at least and his all round game is very good!

And by what he said at the beginning of the season he wants to be here for a long time, which is great :flag:

03-02-2013, 09:51 PM
While he undoubtedly deserves the plaudits for his display today, I feel compelled to point something out.

Ben Williams (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Williams_%28actor%29) British (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Kingdom) actor of the 1940s
Ben Williams (footballer born 1900) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Williams_%28footballer_born_1900%29) (died 1968), Swansea Town, Everton and Wales international footballer
Ben Williams (footballer born 1982) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Williams_%28footballer_born_1982%29), English football goalkeeper
Ben Williams (American football) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Williams_%28American_football%29) (born 1954), American football defensive lineman
Ben Williams (referee) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Williams_%28referee%29) (born 1977), Australian soccer referee
Ben Ames Williams (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Ames_Williams) (1899–1953), American writer
Ben Williams (Family Affairs) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Williams_%28Family_Affairs%29), character in UK soap opera Family Affairs
Ben H. Williams (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_H._Williams), Industrial Workers of the World leader

So when we sing his name in praise we should actually be singing;
Ben Williams, he's 1 of 8 Ben Williams's listed on Wikipedia.
1 of 8 Ben Williams's listed on wikipedia, there's only ........ etc etc.

It needs ironed out a bit but it could catch on.

His performance today was all the more amazing seeing as how he died in 1968.

Newhaven
03-02-2013, 09:52 PM
Great keeper and he doesn't have ex-superstar goalkeeping coach Gordon Marshall to hinder his development.

03-02-2013, 09:53 PM
James McPake may have to step aside for my new "Man Crush"... :aok:

03-02-2013, 10:02 PM
James McPake may have to step aside for my new "Man Crush"... :aok:

I get the feeling that James McPake is sat on his sofa tonight, bubbling his eyes out and eating an entire tub of Ben and Jerries with the amount of man crush being transferred over to Big Ben.

Persevere80
03-02-2013, 10:10 PM
What a keeper, had to log on just to add my support to the big man.

03-02-2013, 10:20 PM
Love the guy, was brilliant when he saved it today, as good as a goal!

hibby rae
03-02-2013, 10:24 PM
BBC interview with Nutsy said he'd conceded 1 penalty, 1 came off the post and 4 saves. I remember him saving previously but what were all the games this all happened?

03-02-2013, 10:25 PM
fantastic game today! pulled off some stunning saves!

Well done Ben :top marks

Miguel
03-02-2013, 10:27 PM
Well done Ben. Bit worried when he was giving it some on Sky before the game, but he walked the walk!

HibeeN
03-02-2013, 10:29 PM
Is he married?!

Why hasn't this very important question not been answered yet?? :greengrin:greengrin:love ya!:

HibeeN
03-02-2013, 10:30 PM
Well done Ben. Bit worried when he was giving it some on Sky before the game, but he walked the walk!

I got in from work late on, so watched the interview after I already knew he saved the penalty. Seemed very prophetic :greengrin

03-02-2013, 10:31 PM
Why hasn't this very important question not been answered yet?? :greengrin:greengrin:love ya!:

I thought you were a Stephen Fletcher kind of girl?:greengrin

HibeeN
03-02-2013, 10:40 PM
I thought you were a Stephen Fletcher kind of girl?:greengrin

I think it's finally time to move on. :wink:

03-02-2013, 10:45 PM
I think it's finally time to move on. :wink:

Don't fancy your chances if thats your photo in the avatar

03-02-2013, 11:24 PM
BBC interview with Nutsy said he'd conceded 1 penalty, 1 came off the post and 4 saves. I remember him saving previously but what were all the games this all happened?

The ones i remember are Aberdeen save (home), Aberdeen save (away), St Johnstone save (away), Motherwell miss (away) but can't remember the other two?

Billy
03-02-2013, 11:26 PM
The ones i remember are Aberdeen save (home), Aberdeen save (away), St Johnstone save (away), Motherwell miss (away) but can't remember the other two?

He saved McGowan's at Paisley.

Only Kevin McBride has scored against him for Dundee.

03-02-2013, 11:28 PM
He saved McGowan's at Paisley.

Only Kevin McBride has scored against him for Dundee.

Oh yeah! Was at both games too, one was very enjoyable.....the other not so. :greengrin

ChooseLife
04-02-2013, 12:37 AM
I suggest we all keep hush about our new keeper, Sparky and McGivern have been getting a lot of praise this season which is why we have no chance of keeping them longer than the summer, if we keep Williams ability a secret we might have a chance of getting him to sign a new deal before he realizes he can get 5X his wages for a championship team.

4 pages to late though :boo hoo:

04-02-2013, 12:40 AM
Fantastic MOTM performance!

04-02-2013, 04:35 AM
Looking forward to my next trip home to see if the clown who usually sits behind me still abuses him from the minute he steps on to the park.

TrickyNicky
04-02-2013, 05:11 AM
Well done Ben - Brilliant performance!:flag::flag: