View Full Version : What's a Drill Driver?

01-02-2013, 03:58 PM
I am, for the first time in my life, considering buying a power tool. My garden gate blew down and I want to fix it with longish screws at top, middle and bottom of the posts. I am on the B and Q website and looking at cordless drill/drivers which look like space-age weapons.

What they don't explain is: Will this machine not only bore the hole for the screw but also screw it in as well? I just want to be sure.

Thanks for any help and/or recommendations. Normally my PA would handle this sort of thing but she's cooking the tea.

01-02-2013, 04:15 PM
I am, for the first time in my life, considering buying a power tool. My garden gate blew down and I want to fix it with longish screws at top, middle and bottom of the posts. I am on the B and Q website and looking at cordless drill/drivers which look like space-age weapons.

What they don't explain is: Will this machine not only bore the hole for the screw but also screw it in as well? I just want to be sure.

Thanks for any help and/or recommendations. Normally my PA would handle this sort of thing but she's cooking the tea.

You will still have to use a Drill bit to drill the hole/pilot drill it and the the screw driver bit to drive the screw home. Unless you use a self drilling/drywall screw which should not require a pilot hole :wink: how long are the screws you are using ?

01-02-2013, 04:20 PM
A drill driver is manual is it not? I remember my old boy crapping himself when the shaft shot out and nearly hit me in the heid....if they are the same things then they are well dodge!

01-02-2013, 04:22 PM
You will still have to use a Drill bit to drill the hole/pilot drill it and the the screw driver bit to drive the screw home. Unless you use a self drilling/drywall screw which should not require a pilot hole :wink: how long are the screws you are using ?

You mean all I have to do is put a different bit onto the same machine to do the two jobs? I can do that.

The screws have not been bought yet but will be 4 inches or summat.

I wish you'd stop talking about screws and holes. It's a bit embarrassing frankly.

But thanks!!!

01-02-2013, 04:55 PM
A drill driver is manual is it not? I remember my old boy crapping himself when the shaft shot out and nearly hit me in the heid....if they are the same things then they are well dodge!

That was your Classic Yankee screwdriver kind of drifted away when battery drills became affordable

01-02-2013, 04:58 PM
You mean all I have to do is put a different bit onto the same machine to do the two jobs? I can do that.

The screws have not been bought yet but will be 4 inches or summat.

I wish you'd stop talking about screws and holes. It's a bit embarrassing frankly.

But thanks!!!

Its a doddle mate :thumbsup: The hitachi drill in B&Q is a good bit of kit at about £90

HibsMax
01-02-2013, 05:35 PM
Most drills come in kits with a few bits but it's not a bad idea to buy yourself a set of drill bits and various other attachments like screwdrivers (philips, blade), hex keys, torq bits, etc. I think most kits will also be quick release so you don't need to spend more time than necessary tightening and loosening the chuck (which used to be done with a key but you can do it by hand now).

01-02-2013, 06:23 PM
Thanks to all. I'll get some advice from a B and Q person and then get the cheapest one!

01-02-2013, 06:33 PM
Thanks to all. I'll get some advice from a B and Q person and then get the cheapest one!Dinnae ...:panic:...I did that a few years ago, bought the cheapest o cheapest cordless drill for basic DIY jobs in the hoose .....lasted about 60 seconds fully charged & couldnae drill through butter !!!! :greengrin

01-02-2013, 09:14 PM
Right! Don't worry. I am only half daft! I don't want to shell out more than £50 though. Will I get a selection of bits with it for that kind of cash? Or do they come extra?

01-02-2013, 11:17 PM

What are the posts made of? If they are wooden, you will be able to drive the screw straight in with pretty much any drill you buy. If they are stone/concrete/pretty much anything else, you will have to drill the hole first and then fit the screw - possibly with the use of a rawlplug.

02-02-2013, 01:15 AM
Right! Don't worry. I am only half daft! I don't want to shell out more than £50 though. Will I get a selection of bits with it for that kind of cash? Or do they come extra?

Can you not rent one, fella? Save yourself a bit of dough and some shelf space in the future if you just get it for the job and not fork out on a bit of kit you'll use but once?

02-02-2013, 08:56 AM
Can you not rent one, fella? Save yourself a bit of dough and some shelf space in the future if you just get it for the job and not fork out on a bit of kit you'll use but once?
I've considered that but since we hope to move house in the near future I may need my own one.

I'm fed up getting a sore wrist doing manual screwing...........if you take my meaning.

02-02-2013, 09:04 AM
That was your Classic Yankee screwdriver kind of drifted away when battery drills became affordable

That's the one....he still swears by it for pretty much anything and when I use it I STILL nearly kill myself :rolleyes:

EuanH78
02-02-2013, 11:40 AM
I've considered that but since we hope to move house in the near future I may need my own one.

I'm fed up getting a sore wrist doing manual screwing...........if you take my meaning.

Personally I usually always screw things in by hand and just uses my combi as a drill. Better control that way.
At work we use Ryobi's which I have to admit arent bad even though I had some early misgivings about them (chinese so wasnt sure of quality at first)

At home I use a Dewalt, though I used to have a Bosch that lasted me about 10 years.

B&Q are selling pretty good combi drills - Hitachi, Dewalt, Makita or Bosch I think for about £100 and you wont go wrong with any of them and would be my recommendation tbh, will last a good few years.

You will be fine with Ni-Cad batteries if its occasional use so dont be tempted by more expensive Li-Ion sets unless your going to be using it a lot.

Can pick up a decent small bit set pretty cheap too - screwfix usually have deals on all the time.

02-02-2013, 02:12 PM
Personally I usually always screw things in by hand and just uses my combi as a drill. Better control that way.
At work we use Ryobi's which I have to admit arent bad even though I had some early misgivings about them (chinese so wasnt sure of quality at first)

At home I use a Dewalt, though I used to have a Bosch that lasted me about 10 years.

B&Q are selling pretty good combi drills - Hitachi, Dewalt, Makita or Bosch I think for about £100 and you wont go wrong with any of them and would be my recommendation tbh, will last a good few years.

You will be fine with Ni-Cad batteries if its occasional use so dont be tempted by more expensive Li-Ion sets unless your going to be using it a lot.

Can pick up a decent small bit set pretty cheap too - screwfix usually have deals on all the time.

I'm pretty much the same when doing a job at home unless it involves a repetition of lots of screws, I normally revert to my trusty Stanley ratchet posidrive which I have had since I was an apprentice nearly 30 years ago. Actually still got the Bosch cordless I used when fitting snooker tables, a great drill/driver but both batteries are now pretty useless so will need a new one soon, it is over 20 years old though! Pilot holes are the answer especially if working with hardwood.

02-02-2013, 08:12 PM
That's the one....he still swears by it for pretty much anything and when I use it I STILL nearly kill myself :rolleyes:

The old man still uses his when a bit more purchase is required expensive bit of kit back in the day, He still talks about how amazing they were when they 1st came out :greengrin

02-02-2013, 11:07 PM
Its a doddle mate :thumbsup: The hitachi drill in B&Q is a good bit of kit at about £90

This drill is the one i use professionialy , decent kit and Heretoday this or similar will get the job done for you