View Full Version : Greggs Deadline day thread - All rumours/confirmed deals (Matt Done Loan Confirmed)

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

31-01-2013, 09:56 PM
Rumor that MacLeish has left Forrest!!

green glory
31-01-2013, 09:57 PM
So the fans should turn out in force while this team tide us through to the summer? Good one.

Why bother at all eh?

GoldenEagle
Nah. Results will bear out that we haven't done enough. We have failed to improve a team that is already struggling. We were already behind Motherwell and ict and have made no inroads. Disappointing.

So signing Scott Robertson and a winger is disappointing and no inroads have been made?

What were your expectations exactly considering crowds are static and we were losing £1m a year

dmc1875
Hibs havent sent a text or put a statement out yet have they?

Maybe we aren't done yet...

31-01-2013, 09:58 PM
Nah. Results will bear out that we haven't done enough. We have failed to improve a team that is already struggling. We were already behind Motherwell and ict and have made no inroads. Disappointing.

Bye then.

31-01-2013, 09:58 PM
5 minutes left and all we're going by is a tweet from Brian McLauchlin that we have loaned this Matt Done. I'm wanting something abit more concrete! From the short video of him scoring that was put up here earlier, it shows he has very decent pace, and being a left midfielder, is definitely a good move by is.....IF it has indeed even happened??

31-01-2013, 09:59 PM
Someone having a laugh?

Stevie, Edinburgh Jambo: "Update on the Denis Suarez to Hearts rumour, his big brother has driven him up to tynecastle but hearts have denied entry as the zaliukas deal fell through. He may yet sign for an Edinburgh club..."

31-01-2013, 10:01 PM
For only £400,000. They'd be silly to accept that now, he's probably worth more, they won't get anyone in to replace him at this time and they'll sell him no bother in the summer.

Hopefully he stays anyway and helps United skelp the Huns at the weekend.

Then we play them in a few weeks.

official

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub)
Hibernian can confirm that winger Matt Done has agreed a loan deal until the end of the season #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

5 minutes left and all we're going by is a tweet from Brian McLauchlin that we have loaned this Matt Done. I'm wanting something abit more concrete! From the short video of him scoring that was put up here earlier, it shows he has very decent pace, and being a left midfielder, is definitely a good move by is.....IF it has indeed even happened??

Confirmed on official twitter.

@HibernianFCClub: Hibernian can confirm that winger Matt Done has agreed a loan deal until the end of the season #hibees

Hibs havent sent a text or put a statement out yet have they?

Maybe we aren't done yet...

Now on Hibs twitter.

green glory
Official now.

DarrenSQH
31-01-2013, 10:02 PM
We've loaned a players from Man City and i remember a while back we signed a player from chelsea and a guy from newcastle who both turned out to be gash, colin murdoch started his career at man u. Where they come from is pretty irrelevant.

We've been crying out for a winger, we've signed one, if you're underwhelmed i'd suggest you're epectations were too high.

I don't think a striker would have been too much to ask for or another playmaker. We have alot of midfielders but its only cairney that normally shows any creativity. Also another striker could give us a plan B and actually give us a chance of scoring when Leigh isn't on his game.

I wouldn't compare O'brian, Murdoch or Maka to a player like Wilson who hearts loaned. He was already proven at Rangers.

I just feel with a bit of ambition we could have pushed for 2nd.

alan1875
Welcome Matt!

Someone having a laugh?

Stevie, Edinburgh Jambo: "Update on the Denis Suarez to Hearts rumour, his big brother has driven him up to tynecastle but hearts have denied entry as the zaliukas deal fell through. He may yet sign for an Edinburgh club..."

:faf::faf: Who's going to fall for this pish!!

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130131/final-transfer-deal-done_2262950_3060689

31-01-2013, 10:03 PM
Well done Hibs & Pat, great business this windae :thumbsup::pfgwa :flag:

never mind the doomers and the doubters :stirrer: :greengrin

So, now that's done, what strikers are available on a free? :wink:

sparkiedelpaco7
Lee Croft been released by Derby by mutual consent

31-01-2013, 10:04 PM
Sorry if mentioned on one of the previous pages. Did the window close at 11pm in Scotland too?

Benny Brazil
31-01-2013, 10:05 PM

A point some on here seem to be missing that we can still sign free agents.
Pleased with the work done by Hibs - now we can focus on the weekend and hopefully seeing some improved performances.

31-01-2013, 10:06 PM
Sorry if mentioned on one of the previous pages. Did the window close at 11pm in Scotland too?

SPL aye, SFL window goes to midnight.

For me Hibs got the loan deals tied up which we needed and wanted. Brought in Robertson and Done. Tried very hard to get Wylde but Bolton didn't play ball. Yes we may still be a bit short but overall I think Hibs have done well. Good luck to the new lads and lets get behind the boys for the business end of the season starting with Sunday.

GGTTH.

Welcome to Hibs Matt.

You not good enough, last minute, disappointing panic buy.

Boooooooo

31-01-2013, 10:07 PM
Welcome to Hibs Matt.

You not good enough, last minute, disappointing panic buy.

Boooooooo:agree:

31-01-2013, 10:08 PM

Yes

31-01-2013, 10:08 PM
Fenlon - ''He is exactly what we were looking for - a quick, skilful winger with an eye for goal and he will provide us with an extra attacking option.''

I hope so Pat, looking forward to seeing him and Robertson play on Sunday! :flag:

31-01-2013, 10:09 PM
Pat says he's quick, skilful, with an eye for goal. Just what we were asking for really if he turns out that way.

31-01-2013, 10:09 PM

Come on Mikey, I even put it in the opening post for you :wink: :greengrin

31-01-2013, 10:10 PM
Is Done a right or left winger?

31-01-2013, 10:12 PM
Come on Mikey, I even put it in the opening post for you :wink: :greengrin

You don't expect me to be paying attention, do you? :greengrin

31-01-2013, 10:13 PM
Hearts loan players from Liverpool and we get boys that can't get a game for Barnsley. Underwhelmed.

Whatever happened to Victor Pallsson after his 3 games where he turned up for us :confused:

:cb

31-01-2013, 10:13 PM
Is Done a right or left winger?

Left winger.

31-01-2013, 10:14 PM
Left winger.

Thanks hope it works out.

Fair point :aok::greengrin

Fenlon - ''He is exactly what we were looking for - a quick, skilful winger with an eye for goal and he will provide us with an extra attacking option.''

I hope so Pat, looking forward to seeing him and Robertson play on Sunday! :flag:

13 goals in 202 games???

31-01-2013, 10:17 PM
Any news of players being released? Hibs are usually pretty quick with this kind of news after deadline shuts.

31-01-2013, 10:17 PM
Rumor that MacLeish has left Forrest!!

Forest chairman pulled the plug on the signing of george boyd from peterborough at the eleventh hour because boyd does not have 20/20 vision. Could be down to this.

31-01-2013, 10:18 PM
Mind you, last night the chat was that Hibs don't play the right way for a winger to look decent so I presume he will struggle for six months.

31-01-2013, 10:21 PM
Any news of players being released? Hibs are usually pretty quick with this kind of news after deadline shuts.

Galbraith contract terminated by mutual consent on the main website.

31-01-2013, 10:21 PM

Ok, just found answer to my own question.........

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130131/transfer-window-summary_2262950_3060699

31-01-2013, 10:23 PM
Forest chairman pulled the plug on the signing of george boyd from peterborough at the eleventh hour because boyd does not have 20/20 vision. Could be down to this.

I doubt the McLeish leaving rumour but this is utter madness!

David_D
31-01-2013, 10:23 PM
And kujabi is still here.

31-01-2013, 10:25 PM
I doubt the McLeish leaving rumour but this is utter madness!

Peterborough chairman was just on ssn saying its the most ridiculous thing thats ever happened to him.

31-01-2013, 10:25 PM
Peter Odemwingie. What a total bellend!

31-01-2013, 10:31 PM

People saying he's been misled. I could understand that argument if he was a 20yr old....

31-01-2013, 10:33 PM
DONE DEAL - Stephen Dobbie, Brighton to Crystal Palace
A late one here as play-off specialist Stephen Dobbie signs for Crystal Palace on loan. He has played under Eagles boss Ian Holloawy at Blackpool before.

WestEndHibee
31-01-2013, 10:36 PM
Someone having a laugh?

Guilty... :greengrin we had them going on kickback for a second

31-01-2013, 10:40 PM

:taxi for the lad.

What sort o reception is he going to get back at the baggies?

31-01-2013, 10:40 PM

What did we peak at on the site today anyway? How does it compare to previous windows?

31-01-2013, 10:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=559__4oKhI8&feature=player_detailpage
First goal :wink:

31-01-2013, 10:46 PM
Absolutely no idea if he's any good or not so it wouldn't be fair to say anything either way. Hope it works out though over the next few months.

We've got a big rebuilding job on our hands in the summer though.

We have 12 first team players out of contract in the summer.

I would have liked to have brought in another striker this month but it's not happened and we'll just have to get on with what we've got for the rest of the season.

Uphall Hibby
31-01-2013, 10:46 PM
We have to be happy at holding on to Griffiths and McGivern. Not thge greatest fan of Claros but he does a job. Scott Robertson should be a good signing but I have a feeling Done may live up to his name. Cant see him edging Cairney out as hes been struggling to get a game for a team struggling in the Championship. That all said and done I would be delighted to be proved wrong though!!

I cant help but feel that we have missed a great opportunity to drive on for a European spot. Probably top 6 is the best we can achieve now. Looking for you to prove me wrong Paddy!!:flag:

31-01-2013, 10:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=559__4oKhI8&feature=player_detailpage
First goal :wink:

Dive!!

Glad we didn't go for their keeper.

San Siro
31-01-2013, 10:51 PM
My name is Odemwingie
I hate Steve Clark and Albion FC
I went to see my new mate Harry
But the chariman wouldnae pay my fee

31-01-2013, 10:51 PM
We have to be happy at holding on to Griffiths and McGivern. Not thge greatest fan of Claros but he does a job. Scott Robertson should be a good signing but I have a feeling Done may live up to his name. Cant see him edging Cairney out as hes been struggling to get a game for a team struggling in the Championship. That all said and done I would be delighted to be proved wrong though!!

I cant help but feel that we have missed a great opportunity to drive on for a European spot. Probably top 6 is the best we can achieve now. Looking for you to prove me wrong Paddy!!:flag:

San Siro
31-01-2013, 10:53 PM

Louis Saha!

31-01-2013, 10:55 PM
For me Hibs got the loan deals tied up which we needed and wanted. Brought in Robertson and Done. Tried very hard to get Wylde but Bolton didn't play ball. Yes we may still be a bit short but overall I think Hibs have done well. Good luck to the new lads and lets get behind the boys for the business end of the season starting with Sunday.

GGTTH.

Your far too positive

31-01-2013, 11:05 PM
Left winger.

That's important - will free up Cairney to play in the middle or on the right :aok:

31-01-2013, 11:09 PM

Done is a winger and Cairney an attacking midfielder, 2 different positions. :confused:

31-01-2013, 11:16 PM
Done is a winger and Cairney an attacking midfielder, 2 different positions. :confused:

That in says it all, we are playing 4 arguabley CM's across the middle 4, we have no wingers. Hopefully this boy is an assett. think we may have been spoiled with the thought of a Wylde or Swanson coming in or both which if we did I really believe we would have a great chance of kicking on.

31-01-2013, 11:19 PM
DONE DEALS TODAY
Mehdi Abeid [Newcastle - St Johnstone] loan

Matt Done [Barnsley - Hibernian] loan

Paul Dummett [Newcastle - St Mirren] loan

Branislav Micic [Sion - Ross County] undisclosed

David Morgan [Nottingham Forest - Dundee] loan

Dan Twardzik [Calcio Como - Aberdeen] undisclosed

Gwion Edwards [Swansea - St Johnstone] loan

31-01-2013, 11:43 PM
13 goals in 202 games???

That'll solve our goalscoring problems.

01-02-2013, 04:37 AM
All in all, totally satisfied with this window. The three loanees that so many people said we had no chance, FACT, of retaining, plus the other two. Not bad at all. Onwards and upwards!!!!

01-02-2013, 04:41 AM

He's there to put in crosses for our strikers, no?

01-02-2013, 06:40 AM

I wonder what his assist record is like?

01-02-2013, 06:59 AM
Honestly, totally underwhelmed! Thought we might show a wee bit more ambition considering second place is up for grabs with a £2.4 mil pot waiting. However, it was not to be! Although, I must say, really disappointed that, yet again, we wait right up until the last seconds of the last minute of the last hour of the last day, to get players in! We really must address this to enable player an early settle period and the team to gel going forward because we always seem to be hoping rather than informed when trying to progress.

01-02-2013, 07:27 AM
Honestly, totally underwhelmed! Thought we might show a wee bit more ambition considering second place is up for grabs with a £2.4 mil pot waiting. However, it was not to be! Although, I must say, really disappointed that, yet again, we wait right up until the last seconds of the last minute of the last hour of the last day, to get players in! We really must address this to enable player an early settle period and the team to gel going forward because we always seem to be hoping rather than informed when trying to progress.Aye, because we only started trying yesterday? Nothing tae do with the fact that players and other clubs will be holding out 'til the last minute for the best deals they can get? Might have had mair money tae throw around if mair people bothered turning up tae games.

01-02-2013, 08:57 AM
Aye, because we only started trying yesterday? Nothing tae do with the fact that players and other clubs will be holding out 'til the last minute for the best deals they can get? Might have had mair money tae throw around if mair people bothered turning up tae games.

Aye. We WAITED until 11.59pm don't you know. We could have had this signed a week ago and got concentrating on getting in Falcao etc, but Petrie just loves pishing on our Hibbee parade, so he waited, biro quivering in his mitt, until the last second before putting pen to paper.

'king hate that man :grr:

01-02-2013, 09:20 AM
Generally pretty satisfied with the window. Would have been nice to get another forward in however I think we have strengthened given we have kept 3 key players on loan to the end of the season which we may have lost and added a couple to the group. Scott Robertson to me is an excellent buy as always thought he looked a player at United and he provides a better balance for the midfield as he can push forward more whether in a middle 2 or more likely 3. Getting a wide player with a bit of pace was hugely needed IMO and just hope Matt does us a turn.

It gives PF more options that is for sure and if we are going to more often play a 5 in the middle then Cairney, Spoon and Doyle may be fighting for the wide right position.

01-02-2013, 11:05 AM
Aye. We WAITED until 11.59pm don't you know. We could have had this signed a week ago and got concentrating on getting in Falcao etc, but Petrie just loves pishing on our Hibbee parade, so he waited, biro quivering in his mitt, until the last second before putting pen to paper.

'king hate that man :grr:

We said at the start of the window that we were wanting to extend the 3 loanees - Job Done.

We brought a box to box midfielder in on a 2.5 year deal, and a wide player on loan to the end of the season.

I am very happy with that, we were also linked with others but nothing happened. I am pleasantly surprised to keep 3 loanees, and bring 2 others in, more than I expected....The Board and management should be congratulated for that, not berated IMO

green glory
01-02-2013, 11:17 AM
We said at the start of the window that we were wanting to extend the 3 loanees - Job Done.

We brought a box to box midfielder in on a 2.5 year deal, and a wide player on loan to the end of the season.

I am very happy with that, we were also linked with others but nothing happened. I am pleasantly surprised to keep 3 loanees, and bring 2 others in, more than I expected....The Board and management should be congratulated for that, not berated IMO

No we should hang ourselves and lock the gates of ER forever.

01-02-2013, 11:40 AM

Yeah I know. My whole post was rather tongue-in-cheek. :greengrin

WestEndHibee
01-02-2013, 11:43 AM

whooooooooooooooshhhhh

Although Falcao could've been a good player for us IMO. Great name.

01-02-2013, 11:51 AM
Never said for one minute I wasn't happy! Dan, experience ma man! When do we ever do thing immediately? We need to prepare and be ready for all eventualities!! From the last lot of years, management have waited right up until the last day to do business and I can see the sense in that re finance. However, you cannot make the sarcastic point: "because we only started trying yesterday" Because, how would you know that they didn't only start yesterday?? Getting back to my experience point is that this is the way Hibs do business in the transfer window! FFS there has been threads on here stating that bloody fact! Of which, I'm sure you have contributed! Cannae prove it but ... Again, what I am pointing out is my perception/experience of, in my view, Hibs failings in the transfer window. Although, I do not know when they start to prepare but historically, the experience tells us, last day!

I suppose this make me a yam now! And; I can see a bloke outside with a crown asking to swap property for a horse!

Very happy with the team we have but like others would like to have seen ....?? Can't get everything you want though eh?

01-02-2013, 12:00 PM
Because, how would you know that they didn't only start yesterday??

Because we had 3 loans extended before yesterday and SR signed before yesterday..

Plus it's part of their job, if I was given a month to build a house and only started on the last day, well, I wouldn't be doing my job properly.

01-02-2013, 12:07 PM
Because we had 3 loans extended before yesterday and SR signed before yesterday..

Plus it's part of their job, if I was given a month to build a house and only started on the last day, well, I wouldn't be doing my job properly.

Yep, that was hard for them to organise eh! However, well done the board for fixing that and I very pleased!

01-02-2013, 12:09 PM
Yep, that was hard for them to organise eh! However, well done the board for fixing that and I very pleased!

I wouldn't think it would be that easy..

01-02-2013, 12:09 PM
Never said for one minute I wasn't happy! Dan, experience ma man! When do we ever do thing immediately? We need to prepare and be ready for all eventualities!! From the last lot of years, management have waited right up until the last day to do business and I can see the sense in that re finance. However, you cannot make the sarcastic point: "because we only started trying yesterday" Because, how would you know that they didn't only start yesterday?? Getting back to my experience point is that this is the way Hibs do business in the transfer window! FFS there has been threads on here stating that bloody fact! Of which, I'm sure you have contributed! Cannae prove it but ... Again, what I am pointing out is my perception/experience of, in my view, Hibs failings in the transfer window. Although, I do not know when they start to prepare but historically, the experience tells us, last day!

I suppose this make me a yam now! And; I can see a bloke outside with a crown asking to swap property for a horse!

Very happy with the team we have but like others would like to have seen ....?? Can't get everything you want though eh?

The pre-contract for the Craig and the signing of Robertson were not on the last day. It seemed pretty clear to me that a lot was going on for some time e.g Wylde but things didn't work out.

01-02-2013, 12:18 PM
The pre-contract for the Craig and the signing of Robertson were not on the last day. It seemed pretty clear to me that a lot was going on for some time e.g Wylde but things didn't work out.

I get that, I just feel a little disappointed!

01-02-2013, 12:20 PM

Better ratio than Ben Williams!!!!

Hope you see where I'm coming from.

01-02-2013, 12:58 PM

The problem with Wylde is that although Hibs would have been trying to haggle the wage % down, Bolton have got the option of just loaning him out next week when the loan transfer window re-opens in the English lower divisions. It's a fairly ridiculous rule given that the Championship must be in the top 5 or 6 divisions in Europe in terms of revenues and wages.

01-02-2013, 01:07 PM
I get that, I just feel a little disappointed!

Still no excuse for adding to the already large amount of pish thats posted here because some folk don't get what they want?

01-02-2013, 01:17 PM
Better ratio than Ben Williams!!!!

Hope you see where I'm coming from.

What's your thoughts on the window scoopy - I have to be honest and say I was a little downbeat last night and today. It's a tough business I know but I'm a bit flat when I think of what the team needs (in my humble opinion). Maybe I am being too harsh, who knows.

Milandinho
01-02-2013, 01:31 PM
Any chance of us looking at players who are without a club? surely some decent players are still available?

01-02-2013, 02:40 PM
Still no excuse for adding to the already large amount of pish thats posted here because some folk don't get what they want?

:thumbsup::agree:
It never fails to amaze me the number of posters who spend their time as 'flies on the wall' at internal meetings held at ER which allows them to tell us why this did or did not happen .

For goodness sake give the people concerned in these negotiations some credit for the time and work they put in to achieve signings

01-02-2013, 02:48 PM

Seeing as its you, OK then!

01-02-2013, 02:57 PM
Seeing as its you, OK then!

Don't give me all the credit, there's probably a thousand more who wanted to say the same?

01-02-2013, 03:02 PM
Yeah I know. My whole post was rather tongue-in-cheek. :greengrin

Oops Sorry Lyonhibs, I should know not to read the board after sleep deprevation:greengrin

01-02-2013, 03:06 PM
:thumbsup::agree:
It never fails to amaze me the number of posters who spend their time as 'flies on the wall' at internal meetings held at ER which allows them to tell us why this did or did not happen .

For goodness sake give the people concerned in these negotiations some credit for the time and work they put in to achieve signings :rolleyes:

Exactly, I must have been down to sheer hard work and determination to get the job done, it was beyond my wildest dreams, so delighted, and the guys at Hibs, who have worked tirelessly on this, must be congratulated. Credit where it is due......

Now let's knock the dandies out the Cup, and start working towards a decent finish to our league campaign......

01-02-2013, 03:08 PM
Aye, because we only started trying yesterday? Nothing tae do with the fact that players and other clubs will be holding out 'til the last minute for the best deals they can get? Might have had mair money tae throw around if mair people bothered turning up tae games.

Deary me:rolleyes:. We still signed utter dross on the last day of the window when we had average crowds of 12/13k so its unnecessary and lazy to just have a pop at the fans again.

01-02-2013, 03:16 PM
Deary me:rolleyes:. We still signed utter dross on the last day of the window when we had average crowds of 12/13k so its unnecessary and lazy to just have a pop at the fans again.

That's not knocking the fans, it's pointing out a basic truth. The more of us that go to games, the more the manager has to spend. I am not to chuffed with the way things are going at present but it is OUR team, if we want things to get better we need to do our bit.

01-02-2013, 03:18 PM

In the middle of the worst recession in decades, money inside the Scottish game at an all time low and the worst set of managers and players at ER in the past 5-6 years with Hibs languishing near the bottom the past 2-3 seasons, I think getting around 10,500 average is pretty good all things considered.

01-02-2013, 03:18 PM
That's not knocking the fans, it's pointing out a basic truth. The more of us that go to games, the more the manager has to spend. i am not to chuffed with the way things are going at present but it is OUR team, if we want things to get better we need to do our bit.Saved me the bother :wink: I'm glad you visit the MB now and again :wink: :greengrin

01-02-2013, 03:19 PM
In the middle of the worst recession in decades, money inside the Scottish game at an all time low and the worst set of managers and players at ER in the past 5-6 years with Hibs languishing near the bottom the past 2-3 seasons, I think getting around 10,500 average is pretty good all things considered.and we got the signings that 10,550 could pay for!

greenteam
01-02-2013, 03:25 PM
In the middle of the worst recession in decades, money inside the Scottish game at an all time low and the worst set of managers and players at ER in the past 5-6 years with Hibs languishing near the bottom the past 2-3 seasons, I think getting around 10,500 average is pretty good all things considered.

i 100% AGREE M8. WE SHOULD NOT FORGET PEOPLE SPEND MONEY ON hIBS THAT THEY MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO BUDGET, BUT STILL DO. :not worth TO ALL HIBS FANS WHO HAVE STUCK WITH THE DROSS OVER THE PAST FEW YEARS. :flag:

01-02-2013, 03:26 PM
and we got the signings that 10,550 could pay for!

Exactly, it's not just us watching the pennies nowadays, lots of loan players coming in.

darwenhibby
01-02-2013, 03:38 PM

Pretty Good?

I think it is appalling. Hibs a club in a city of half a million, potentially their (take into consideration one other team in the city) must be at least 100k folk who have an allegiance to Hibs.

Out of that 100k, we should be able to attract 15-20k to ER, in times of recession, poor quality football, inconvenient KO times.

We should be able to attract over 20k in better economic climates.

15-20k from a 100k population within 10 miles of the ground would mean bigger budgets, attract better caliber of managers and players than some of the dross we have had to put up with.

Better quality players would take away the moan of poor standard of football and inconvenient KO times, would be better tolerated if the product is right.

Every one wants to blame the board, but we must live within our means.

15-20k at every home game allows us progress and be where some folk think we have a divine right to be.

Its our club our team lets go and support them. Roll on Sunday!! Bought 3 tickets

GTTGH

01-02-2013, 03:45 PM
Pretty Good?

I think it is appalling. Hibs a club in a city of half a million, potentially their (take into consideration one other team in the city) must be at least 100k folk who have an allegiance to Hibs.

Out of that 100k, we should be able to attract 15-20k to ER, in times of recession, poor quality football, inconvenient KO times.

We should be able to attract over 20k in better economic climates.

15-20k from a 100k population within 10 miles of the ground would mean bigger budgets, attract better caliber of managers and players than some of the dross we have had to put up with.

Better quality players would take away the moan of poor standard of football and inconvenient KO times, would be better tolerated if the product is right.

Every one wants to blame the board, but we must live within our means.

15-20k at every home game allows us progress and be where some folk think we have a divine right to be.

Its our club our team lets go and support them. Roll on Sunday!! Bought 3 tickets

GTTGH

Not disagreeing that we should be getting bigger crowds but we have to be realistic and look at the whole scenario re football in Scotland and at Hibs.

darwenhibby
01-02-2013, 03:55 PM
Not disagreeing that we should be getting bigger crowds but we have to be realistic and look at the whole scenario re football in Scotland and at Hibs.

Where Hibs are geographically positioned, we all should be taking advantage of the whole scenario.

There are winners and losers in hard times, this opportunity may not come round again for a long time if we do not seize the chance!!

I think as supporters we cannot see the wood for the trees:wink:

vanNISHtelroy
01-02-2013, 05:13 PM
Another bit about Ben Gordon (as I mentioned yday)

Former Kilmarnock loanee Ben Gordon would be willing to consider a return to Scottish football, according to his agent.

The 21-year-old reached a mutual agreement with Chelsea to terminate his contract and is now a free agent.

Gordon enjoyed two spells in the SPL under Mixu Paatelainen and Kenny Shiels, helping the Ayrshire side win the League Cup in 2012.

The ex-Leeds youth player also had spells with Tranmere Rovers, S****horpe, Peterborough and Birmingham City.

And Gary Gordon, the player’s father and agent, told STV he would be keen to explore any opportunities north of the border.

He said: “This move is a big one for Ben and we want to make sure it is the right one for him.

“Scotland is a place that’s very close to his heart and he made a lot of friends there. “He loved his time with Kilmarnock and he gets on very well with Kenny Shiels.

“We will sit down and consider what options are available but he’d certainly listen to any offers from clubs in Scotland.

“Ben wants to build on the experience he got at Chelsea and find a club that he can call home for the next few years.”

Gordon made 33 appearances in his two spells with the Rugby Park club, scoring once.

Uphall Hibby
01-02-2013, 10:45 PM
Personally, I feel as if we missed the boat. Robertson will do well and we know Griffiths will score goals. McGivern gives us options at the back. Still not convinced about Claros. Hes one of a handful of defensive midfielders that do an ok job. I am hoping that Matt Done does better than his Cv. We were probably a bit spoiled yesterday when there were names getting branded about such as Wylde Swanson and McCourt. If it is true that a deal couldnt be done for Liam Craig because St. Johnstone wanted 60k then thats the worst piece of business that Petrie will ever not do!! We would only have needed to pull in another 3000 fans between now and the end of the season pay for that. Now I am truly hoping that Petrie can prove me wrong but we have a massive game on Sunday and if we lose that then Aberdeen and St.Johnstone are breathing down our necks and just waiting to spoil what should have been a very successful season. With a better window we could have been assured of Europe next season. Come on Hibs its up to you to put bums in seats rather than relying on the loyalty of fans that are forever getting kicked in the teeth!!