View Full Version : Tonight's game!!

totalfootball
30-01-2013, 07:54 AM
I've got my doubts the game will be on tonight! Been very windy through the night and some heavy rain. Was speaking to a pal that plays for county U20's at the weekend he was saying the pitch is a mess! Pisses me off county don't release information like this, was reading on here people had phones and they said no pitch inspection was planned, ill be amazed if that's true! Safe trip up the road to everyone if game does go ahead, just hope they make a sharp decision!

Greendub
30-01-2013, 08:02 AM
They have spent a huge amount getting the pitch back to a fair state, and covers on the pitch for the rain, I think it will be fine

30-01-2013, 08:04 AM
cheers for info, i've just emailed ross county asking if there is any doubt, leaving edinburgh late as possible just in case

30-01-2013, 08:15 AM
If it is cancelled, at least you can watch El Clasico instead :-)

1st leg of the cup semi between them tonight.

30-01-2013, 08:18 AM
emailed at 8:00 this morning got a reply 12 mins later excellent customer service!

Very windy last night
no rain, rain covers are still down but all seems OK

30-01-2013, 08:19 AM
Several people phoned RC yesterday and were told that there was no planned pitch inspection and that the game was not in doubt. RC have out covers on their pitch to protect the pitch after the postponement of 2 if their recent home games. Game should be on.

30-01-2013, 08:22 AM
emailed at 8:00 this morning got a reply 12 mins later excellent customer service!

Very windy last night
no rain, rain covers are still down but all seems OK

I think we can take from that the games on. The last thing they want is another game that's called off as they will get a fine if its called off will they not?

Bill Milne
30-01-2013, 09:09 AM
Problem is they did the same before the Hertz game, pretending that everything was fine and refusing to admit there might be a problem. If I get there and find the game is called off just before kick off, I will never go to Dingwall again.

30-01-2013, 09:15 AM
Problem is they did the same before the Hertz game, pretending that everything was fine and refusing to admit there might be a problem. If I get there and find the game is called off just before kick off, I will never go to Dingwall again.
They have spent about 20k in the last week on getting the draining system sorted. They have also covered the pitch. Thats the 300th time this has been said now.

30-01-2013, 09:17 AM

They've spent money upgrading their pitch drainage system. If the game is called off they will get fined by the spl and a small club like RC doesn't need that. I have to say if we get up there and it's off there may well be a riot.

30-01-2013, 09:20 AM
I've got my doubts the game will be on tonight! Been very windy through the night and some heavy rain. Was speaking to a pal that plays for county U20's at the weekend he was saying the pitch is a mess! Pisses me off county don't release information like this, was reading on here people had phones and they said no pitch inspection was planned, ill be amazed if that's true! Safe trip up the road to everyone if game does go ahead, just hope they make a sharp decision!

Exactly what "information" is there in your tirade you feel Ross County should be disclosing? We don't need a football club to tell us that it's a bit windy or wet and the historic state of their pitch is hardly worthy of a press release from the club.

If there's any doubt of the game going ahead, they'll announce something. As it is, the game's not in doubt so they've not said anything. I don't see the problem.

TheFamous1875
30-01-2013, 09:39 AM
Ryan McGivern a doubt for tonight according to SSN.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

30-01-2013, 09:48 AM

I'd be suprised if we risked him with a tight hamstring on a heavy pitch.
Lewis did just fine on sunday when he came on.

30-01-2013, 09:54 AM
I'd be suprised if we risked him with a tight hamstring on a heavy pitch.
Lewis did just fine on sunday when he came on.

Yes agree. Lewis played very well when he came on.

30-01-2013, 10:16 AM
Taking into account we have a huge match on Sunday allied to us hopefully bringing in 1 or 2 more by close of play tomorrow be happy to see this one postponed.

30-01-2013, 10:16 AM

He's out.

Worse than that we have other doubts.

Better if the game was off.

Hibs leave at high noon so I would like to think any early pitch inspection will be carried out before then.

30-01-2013, 10:33 AM
Derek Adams has backed his boys to 'Beat The Bottlers'.

Likes to court a bit of controversy doesn't he?

30-01-2013, 10:35 AM

Likes to court a bit of controversy doesn't he?Is that the same thing as being a tosser like Shiels and McGlynn?

dchibs
30-01-2013, 11:32 AM
Hope Hibs time waste tonight if they go ahead like they did at ER.

30-01-2013, 11:33 AM
Currently pishing it doon in Dingwall with gusts up to 60mph/70mph. The pitch will be very soggy i would have thought.

30-01-2013, 11:36 AM
Currently pishing it doon in Dingwall with gusts up to 60mph/70mph. The pitch will be very soggy i would have thought.

That's odd. The Met Office forecast says it's dry, wind gusting to 34mph.

They're never wrong.

You sure you're in Dingwall? :wink:

30-01-2013, 11:37 AM

Hopefully the covers are still down, keep the pitch nice and dry

30-01-2013, 11:40 AM

What a bitter little man.

I really hope we batter them tonight.

30-01-2013, 11:48 AM
Derek Adams has backed his boys to 'Beat The Bottlers's

http://www.mememaker.net/static/images/memes/86892.jpg

Adams has went too far, time to shut this roaster up:agree:

30-01-2013, 11:53 AM

I can't see hibs 'sitting in, nick what we can' style will ever see us 'batter' anyone.

Have we ever beat RC?

30-01-2013, 11:57 AM
He's out.

Worse than that we have other doubts.

Better if the game was off.

Hibs leave at high noon so I would like to think any early pitch inspection will be carried out before then.

Got to be said that was my thought also. Better to allow any knocks to clear before Sunday if possible.

30-01-2013, 12:02 PM
Got to be said that was my thought also. Better to allow any knocks to clear before Sunday if possible.

Might give Robertson some game time though and in a slightly better position for Sunday, but being off might have been the best overall...
still, Aberdeen face a tough game in Perth, so both teams face similar issues & I wonder if both teams will rest a couple of key players tonight....

30-01-2013, 12:05 PM
Hopefully the covers are still down, keep the pitch nice and dry

It will probably be to our advantage if they're not. The condition of the pitch is of no relevance to our particular brand of cultured football.

:tin hat:

:offski:

30-01-2013, 12:05 PM
Might give Robertson some game time though and in a slightly better position for Sunday, but being off might have been the best overall...
still, Aberdeen face a tough game in Perth, so both teams face similar issues & I wonder if both teams will rest a couple of key players tonight....

I agree with regard to Robertson however it was Scoopy's reference to other doubts which had me concerned. Wouldnt want to be risking anyone before Sunday.

30-01-2013, 12:09 PM

That's tonights team talk sorted then.

30-01-2013, 12:12 PM

whats adams problem? did someone at the club pump his boyfreind or something :dunno:

30-01-2013, 12:12 PM
That's odd. The Met Office forecast says it's dry, wind gusting to 34mph.

They're never wrong.

You sure you're in Dingwall? :wink:

Wind speed 36mph, thats the average, or mean speed. Gust speeds are between two thirds and double the mean wind speeds. The forecast for later tonight is dry, but if you go to the 'current observations' tab, it shows the 'pishing doon' icon.

Leave it to the professionals, auld yin :wink:

30-01-2013, 12:15 PM
http://www.mememaker.net/static/images/memes/86892.jpg

Adams has went too far, time to shut this roaster up:agree:

I would.

TheFamous1875
30-01-2013, 12:16 PM
Maybe Fenlon thought the same when we played QOTS, because we had Celtic that weekend. However, I'd rather have risked getting beat off Celtic to confidently beat QOTS in the cup. They've Thursday, Friday and Saturday to recoup, surely that's enough? If the chance (I'd assume Dundee was one), give the young guns a go, though I don't know if tonight is appropriate. Tough game, important as all are - but I'd say Robertson deffo should play at some point tonight, maybe sub Sparky off early n give Handling a shot up front. Sparky gets a rest, n Handling gets a pop = win win.

30-01-2013, 12:28 PM
Can anyone please explain the rationale of having a fortnights break then almost immediately arranging a round of midweek league fixture a few days before the Scottish Cup?

It's absolute madness imo.

:bitchy:

30-01-2013, 01:07 PM
Wind speed 36mph, thats the average, or mean speed. Gust speeds are between two thirds and double the mean wind speeds. The forecast for later tonight is dry, but if you go to the 'current observations' tab, it shows the 'pishing doon' icon.

I spent five years working in Tiree and Coll.

It was there that I learned exactly what the difference between 'mean' wind speed and 'gust' speed means - in non-professional terms, I admit, but still ...

It means the boat doesn't get in.

It means no roof on your house.

It means getting brained by flying roof-tiles - which only happened to me twice. :greengrin

I was going on the general 5-day forecast, which I've found reasonably accurate as far as the Caldera's concerned - usually.

And I wasn't seriously questioning you - far be it from me to do so. :not worth

But as a professional, perhaps you'd like to define precisely what the specialist scientific term 'pishing doon' means? :devil:

30-01-2013, 04:08 PM
I spent five years working in Tiree and Coll.

It was there that I learned exactly what the difference between 'mean' wind speed and 'gust' speed means - in non-professional terms, I admit, but still ...

It means the boat doesn't get in.

It means no roof on your house.

It means getting brained by flying roof-tiles - which only happened to me twice. :greengrin

I was going on the general 5-day forecast, which I've found reasonably accurate as far as the Caldera's concerned - usually.

And I wasn't seriously questioning you - far be it from me to do so. :not worth

But as a professional, perhaps you'd like to define precisely what the specialist scientific term 'pishing doon' means? :devil:

'Pishing it doon' refers to any single period of rainfall where the total amount of precipitation exceeds 5mm.

A period of rainfall measuring under 5mm is known in meteorological circles as a 'Fowkes seepage'.

nairn hibee
30-01-2013, 04:54 PM
lashing rain and gale force winds ,horrible night for football .bring it on:flag:

30-01-2013, 04:57 PM
On the bus on the way up. Talk of pitch inspection at 6pm

nairn hibee
30-01-2013, 05:00 PM
weather really bad up here

30-01-2013, 05:04 PM

hibsbollah is better at the weather than the Met office - FACT :greengrin

30-01-2013, 05:05 PM

Cannae see it being off. Am on train in inverschneckles for dingwall and its miserable but not weather worth a postponement.

30-01-2013, 05:10 PM

Just heard that aswell mate

30-01-2013, 05:13 PM
Hope you're on the wind up about this pitch inspection.

30-01-2013, 05:17 PM
The wind is getting worse as we head. Bus getting blown about the place

30-01-2013, 05:21 PM
That's tonights team talk sorted then.

But whatever way you peel and boil it, no question that he has the evidence on his side to say that. We were unlucky in the first game up there, the game at ER I have put into a dark unreachable place. The replay in the cup game up there though was a real Corporal Jones night, and we did not like it up us.

30-01-2013, 05:23 PM
The wind is getting worse as we head. Bus getting blown about the place

It's the perfect night for the high blooter.

30-01-2013, 05:26 PM
It's the perfect night for the high blooter.

Kuqi