View Full Version : A few questions i'd like to ask the club

27-01-2013, 01:27 PM
1) Why do our own players always appear to be slower than the opposition players?
2) Why don't the midfielders push further forward to support the attacking players?
3) What did Fenlon hope to achieve by playing a player like Kuqi without a striker in front of him?
4) Why was our top goal scorer playing as a winger?
5) What was the game plan today?

Capt Mainwaring
27-01-2013, 01:31 PM
1) Why do our own players always appear to be slower than the opposition players?
2) Why don't the midfielders push further forward to support the attacking players?
3) What did Fenlon hope to achieve by playing a player like Kuqi without a striker in front of him?

By "the Club" you really mean "the Manager" ?

All reasonable questions but only Fenlon can give the answers

27-01-2013, 01:32 PM
Unbeaten in 4, 1 goal conceded in that time, victory over Celtic and solid draws away at Aberdeen and Hearts. We could have went down last year, Fenlon has done very well making us harder to beat.

27-01-2013, 01:33 PM
The plan was to let a scout have a look at Kuqi.

27-01-2013, 01:34 PM
A pitch like that and Aberdeen a big team. Doyle has been a wee bit off his game. Why not play a big striker?

Magnifique
27-01-2013, 01:35 PM

6) why do opposing strikers manage to find free space in our box so easily at corners, are our defenders too stupid to track them?

7) why can't our players muster any fight in their performance?

8) why when we do manage to clear our lines from corners etc does it always fall to the opposition on the edge of our box, does nobody track them?

9) what the f*** do we do all week in training, don't we learn anything from past performances

LioNeilMessi
27-01-2013, 01:36 PM
The amount of stray passes and awful first touches was unbelievable.. Shocking stuff!

27-01-2013, 01:37 PM

1. Possibly perception only - caused by the deeply negative beliefs of the observer.
2. Prevent opposition getting in behind them.
3. He was the striker
4. To provide crosses for Kludgie
5. See above

27-01-2013, 01:38 PM
Unbeaten in 4, 1 goal conceded in that time, victory over Celtic and solid draws away at Aberdeen and Hearts. We could have went down last year, Fenlon has done very well making us harder to beat.

He's also don't a good job lately making it harder for us to score!

27-01-2013, 01:39 PM

As a log for a campfire?

27-01-2013, 01:40 PM

And now that he's had a look, he can go back home and gauge his eyes out.

27-01-2013, 01:43 PM
6) why do opposing strikers manage to find free space in our box so easily at corners, are our defenders too stupid to track them?

8) why when we do manage to clear our lines from corners etc does it always fall to the opposition on the edge of our box, does nobody track them?

9) what the f*** do we do all week in training, don't we learn anything from past performances

And with such a lack of fight, marking and training we conceded how many today?

Fenlon clearly believes we are not good enough to go away and play open, expansive football so the focus is on grinding out points and looking to sneak one on the break or late on. I happen to agree with him that we are not good enough to go toe to toe with a few sides in the SPL and although its pretty horrible to watch have to think that a pragmatic approach at this stage of restructuring a relegation 'quality' side might be the correct one.

27-01-2013, 01:44 PM
A pitch like that and Aberdeen a big team. Doyle has been a wee bit off his game. Why not play a big striker?

Lets not be blaming the pitch for this. School boys have performed better on worse surfaces.

Playing a big striker up front on his own is only good if the midfielders get forward and push the defensive line back. Because this didn't happen, he just kept getting caught offside. When he wasn't offside, he was so far up the pitch that he needed to try and hold the ball up for someone else instead. However, there was no other striker for him to hold the ball up for!

27-01-2013, 01:48 PM
10) Why dont we defend the crosses coming in as well as the actual cross ? We should be doing both.

27-01-2013, 01:48 PM

Fenlon clearly believes we are not good enough to go away and play open, expansive football so the focus is on grinding out points and looking to sneak one on the break or late on. I happen to agree with him that we are not good enough to go toe to toe with a few sides in the SPL and although its pretty horrible to watch have to think that a pragmatic approach at this stage of restructuring a relegation 'quality' side might be the correct one.

We have players that have more than enough quality to win these matches though. But when they're being played out of position and have no other game plan other than to defend for dear life, then they can't possibly play to their strengths.

Aye, you can say we are more solid and harder to break down, but a lot of that is down to how the opposition play themselves. Aberdeen really should have beaten us today if they weren't so sloppy in attack.

Magnifique
27-01-2013, 01:53 PM

We were good enough earlier in the season, what's changed?

Aberdeen just had one of these days, most games we are going to concede

All in my opinion of course, other views are fair enough

HibeeHendo
We're like the Stoke of the SPL, minus the dirty tackles. So damn negative it frustrates me.

Are the armchair experts on this thread unhappy with a point at Pittodrie?

It seems to be the same week in week out. Do they not practice this thing called "man marking" in training?

The only reason we're able to prevent goals is because we have so many bodies back to get in the way of shots and crosses. We wouldn't need to have so many bodies back in the box, if players could just stick tight to their marker. That's why we're 2nd to every ball in the middle of the park, because theres virtually no marking at all.

27-01-2013, 01:56 PM

Would you be as happy right now if Aberdeen actually took one of their chances?

We can't rely on the opposition missing chances all of the time.

27-01-2013, 01:58 PM
We were good enough earlier in the season, what's changed?

Aberdeen just had one of these days, most games we are going to concede

All in my opinion of course, other views are fair enough

In the last month we have lost 2 goals in 5 league games therfore it's quite obvious that we are not going to concede most game.. Serious question here - do you think thats unacceptable?

27-01-2013, 01:59 PM
It seems to be the same week in week out. Do they not practice this thing called "man marking" in training?

The only reason we're able to prevent goals is because we have so many bodies back to get in the way of shots and crosses. We wouldn't need to have so many bodies back in the box, if players could just stick tight to their marker. That's why we're 2nd to every ball in the middle of the park, because theres virtually no marking at all.

If we're second to every ball why was time on the ball 50/50 according to the TV?

27-01-2013, 02:02 PM
In the last month we have lost 2 goals in 5 league games therfore it's quite obvious that we are not going to concede most game.. Serious question here - do you think thats unacceptable?

Only because the opposition haven't been taken their chances against us. :rolleyes:

Do you honestly think opposition teams will just keep squandering all of their chances against us until the end of the season?

We've been more of less dominated in every game over the last several games. Yeah, we got that win against Celtic. But it was a paper over crack result IMO.

27-01-2013, 02:04 PM
Would you be as happy right now if Aberdeen actually took one of their chances?

We can't rely on the opposition missing chances all of the time.

But they didnt, we drew 0-0, the defence kept a clean sheet and our goalie saved a penalty.

27-01-2013, 02:05 PM
If we're second to every ball why was time on the ball 50/50 according to the TV?

% of possession has nothing to do with whether you are 2nd to every ball or not.

We held onto the ball well when we had it, but then we'd give it away after realizing we were going nowhere with it.

27-01-2013, 02:06 PM
But they didnt, we drew 0-0, the defence kept a clean sheet and our goalie saved a penalty.

The game ended 0-0, but it wasn't convincing by any means.

Makaveli
27-01-2013, 02:07 PM
What's this nonsense about space in our box?

Our centre halfs and fullbacks defended like lions again and were on everything in the box like a rash — special mentions for Hanlon and Stevenson, Clancy too. Maybe twice their players found real space, once from Cairney being understandably outjumped at the far-post and once with McPake totally misjudging the flight of the ball.

You make your own luck in the box. When our defence don't get there they're right on the strikers' erses, hence them "missing all their chances." We also have a very good goalkeeper, who counts as part of the team last time I checked. Saves ≠ misses.

Our midfield is too slow to get forward and to close down space, clearances are too often half-complete and we're nowhere near threatening enough at set-pieces given the height we have at the back. We have problems, yes, but we drew. Who are this Hibernian FC that people expect to waltz up to Pittodrie and win? Of course we want better football but we have to stop being pushovers first, and IMO we're pretty much there.

The defence is a solid foundation and we have a clinical striker. Add creativity to our midfield and we'll be better placed than anyone bar Celtic.

cad
27-01-2013, 02:08 PM

Our display a bit shambolic at times still had a couple of good performances Ben's save and Paul Hanlon stuck out for me ,never a pen if you ask me that clown Thompson at his best .
The throw in to nobody ,is a tad worrying tho :wink:

Chibs
27-01-2013, 02:09 PM
He's also don't a good job lately making it harder for us to score!
Ok mate calm down.
I have no idea what your trying to say but I am sure it must be something life threatingly important.

27-01-2013, 02:11 PM

Certainly happy with the point, as for the performance, it was woeful.

27-01-2013, 02:12 PM
I'm quite happy this season to build a tenacity and defensive determination into the team. Remember Neds quote to Hughes about not wearing wellies while sporting an Umbrella? Trying to play flash stuff whilst not having a defence or midfield capable of covering a "maverick" player/s has been disasterous for us in recent seasons. Heads have been down and player after player has been guilty of trying to hide during matches. Fenlon, no matter the level, is used to being a winner and you don't win things playing how we are at the moment but I reckon he's seen we have to get tougher and is going about instilling that as a club. Every club has seen us as an easy touch recently and if that perception changes then is the time to broaden out with more expansive play. As I've said since the start of this season I'm very much looking forward to next season.

27-01-2013, 02:13 PM

Do you actually think thats the case ? 6 clean sheets in 24 league games. If you want to be pedantic you could say 3 in the last 4 but that would include two where we were comprehensively outplayed and never looked like scoring in either.

27-01-2013, 02:14 PM

Our centre halfs and fullbacks defended like lions again and were on everything in the box like a rash — special mentions for Hanlon and Stevenson, Clancy too. Maybe twice their players found real space, once from Cairney being understandably outjumped at the far-post and once with McPake totally misjudging the flight of the ball.

You make your own luck in the box. When our defence don't get there they're right on the strikers' erses, hence them "missing all their chances." We also have a very good goalkeeper, who counts as part of the team last time I checked. Saves ≠ misses.

Our midfield is too slow to get forward and to close down space, clearances are too often half-complete and we're nowhere near threatening enough at set-pieces given the height we have at the back. We have problems, yes, but we drew. Who are this Hibernian FC that people expect to waltz up to Pittodrie and win? Of course we want better football but we have to stop being pushovers first, and IMO we're pretty much there.

The defence is a solid foundation and we have a clinical striker. Add creativity to our midfield and we'll be better placed than anyone bar Celtic.

Nobody is saying anything about there being too much space in the box. :confused:

We actually give opposition players very little space in the box, but the only reason that happens is because we have far too many bodies back inside the box.

When the ball gets cleared out of the box, there's almost always an opposition player there to pick up the scraps, giving us no chance to counter attack.

If our defence is so solid, then why do out midfield players spend more time inside our box than they do in the middle of the park?

steviej147
27-01-2013, 02:16 PM
The game ended 0-0, but it wasn't convincing by any means.
the game was dire thats all that can be said for it.we have no creativity what so ever and give the ball away very cheaply.

27-01-2013, 02:19 PM

He might well have made us harder to beat.

But he's doing a bloody fine job of making us impossible to watch!

27-01-2013, 02:21 PM

My thoughts exactly.

Emerald
27-01-2013, 02:23 PM
Nobody is saying anything about their being too much space in the box. :confused:

We actually give opposition players very little space in the box, but the only reason that happens is because we have far too many bodies back inside the box.

When the ball gets cleared out of the box, there's almost always an opposition player there to pick up the scraps, giving us no chance to counter attack.

If our defensive is so solid, then why do out midfield players spend more time inside our box than they do in the middle of the park?

Because we have two banks of four defenders and a forward on his own, way up the park. We are getting points from strangling games. We could give the benefit of the doubt if we didn't have the players to play attacking football but we do. The pitch didn't help today but something needs to change or we will just keep digging ourselves into a bigger defensive hole every week.

27-01-2013, 02:28 PM
Because we have two banks of four defenders and a forward on his own, way up the park. We are getting points from strangling games. We could give the benefit of the doubt if we didn't have the players to play attacking football but we do. The pitch didn't help today but something needs to change or we will just keep digging ourselves into a bigger defensive hole every week.

Which is exactly why we are being linked to wide and more attacking players.

27-01-2013, 02:29 PM

If that's the case he must believe we never are good enough to play expansive football. Hibs are always the away team. Even at home

27-01-2013, 02:29 PM

Not signed.

27-01-2013, 02:31 PM

Which are totally useless if our midfield continues to sit so deep all of the time.

No use having attacking players when the middle men are back bailing the defence out time and time again.

Emerald
27-01-2013, 02:32 PM

Hope we get them in soon then and see if we can turn this siege type football round into something that's a bit better on the eyes. :agree:

Makaveli
27-01-2013, 02:32 PM
Nobody is saying anything about there being too much space in the box. :confused:

If our defence is so solid, then why do out midfield players spend more time inside our box than they do in the middle of the park?

Really? -- "why do opposing strikers manage to find free space in our box so easily at corners, are our defenders too stupid to track them?"

Aside from that, what's your threshold of "too many" bodies? Where is the line that divides "clean sheet at Pittodrie" from "too many bodies back"?

The point about our midfielders being too deep is one I agree with but that's not the fault of the defence. Deegan and Taiwo are defensively minded and reluctant to pass the halfway line. We are being linked with more attack-minded midfielders so I trust that Fenlon is trying to remedy this imblance.

hibbymick
27-01-2013, 02:34 PM

I think its the performance or performances thats the problem, last time i looked football was meant to be an entertainment sport, although i suppose some folk are easily entertained. Im away back to watching paint dry.

27-01-2013, 02:35 PM
In the last month we have lost 2 goals in 5 league games

To be fair, Brooster, part of the reason for that is because the midfield plays about 5 yards in front of the defence.

27-01-2013, 02:36 PM

We are making ourselves hard to beat. We need our attacking players to find some form, and we have players coming in with a reputation for making chances, getting goals and making the team tick. Plus guys like Doyle and Cairney are only going to get better next season. Things are getting better.

27-01-2013, 02:59 PM
Wasnt great today but thought we defended ok and certainly didnt see a lack of fight as some are claiming.

3 of our last 4 games have been Celtic, Hearts and Aberdeen and we have come away unbeaten and without conceding a goal. Performances havent been great but that's a good 5 points imo.

27-01-2013, 03:01 PM

I think we have all got to hope that Fenlon is in page 1 of reconstructing us as a team.

If it had been me I would have made us uber competitive and harder to beat / play through.

I dont think there is any question he has done that.

Virtually all the guys dig in and despite the fact they create virtually nothing the midfield like to try and keep the ball and play short passes, they dont in my limited experience set out to hoof it too often. The problem is they have no-one ahead to give the ball to and they end up giving it away.

My personal opinion is that the two wide players give the ball away very easily and that this restricts the ability of the CM's to get forward, although IMO Taiwo offers more than Claros in trying to support the attack.

I also think that as a team we are chronicaly short of pace throughout and that as a result we cant allow the game to get too stretched as the midfield would never get back and we would be over-run.

The next step in our evolution would need to be someone like Wylde who has a bit pace and can beat a man (or at least used to be able to) to replace Cairney and virtually anyone to replace Wotherspoon whom I dont rate at all.

If we could then get a better second striker to accompany Griffiths we might see football easier on the eye.

Fingers crossed smiley

27-01-2013, 04:01 PM

Do you think 10 points out of a possible 33 is acceptable?

Chibs
27-01-2013, 04:06 PM
Gauge means measure

Chibs
27-01-2013, 04:09 PM
Gauge means measure.
At times I despair at some posts on here.

27-01-2013, 04:16 PM
Gauge means measure.

aye,they're fair hoochin' the night,like badly educated midgies swarming :greengrin

27-01-2013, 04:20 PM
Gauge means measure.

I despair at your lack of knowledge on the game of football.

But I suppose football was never really Einsteins thing.

27-01-2013, 04:23 PM

you drinking the Clearasil again ? :aok:

Chibs
27-01-2013, 08:29 PM

au contraire mon frere
I have seen more Hibs games long before you were born.
I do not for one minute believe that you are not as passionate a Hibee as myself and if I caused any
offence I apologise.:flag:

Hibee Ryan
27-01-2013, 08:51 PM
I'm happy with a point at pittodrie, better than last time we were there.

You can't go gung ho every game cause you'll lose more than you'll win. Last season we were losing goals for fun and it still wasn't entertaining. So now we aren't conceding and getting more points I'm a lot happier! It takes more than two transfer windows to turn relegation candidates into a brilliant team. Every team needs a solid base and we're getting there, 2 goals in 5 games is a great place to be as it means it only takes 1 goal to win games! If you don't concede you can't lose!

If you turn loses into draws you can easily pick up 5-12 points a season that can be vital at the end of the season! Yes, it may not be entertaining but you wouldn't care if we'd won today? We're 15 points up at the same point we were last season so we're going in the right direction! I'm sure Fenlon knows he needs some creativity but they're the hardest players to get as everyone wants them! You defend as a team and you attack as a team so a midfield has to help the defence, if you want them to push forward you'll leave space at the back and again more loses will happen!

Give it time and it'll get more entertaining. For now enjoy the scruffy points! They're always the most enjoyable ones and the points we've not been winning for years and now we are, which is a great thing!

27-01-2013, 08:54 PM
I have been on here a few times in the last month or so moaning about the lack of goals from midfield.

After what I watched today I would be happy to see a forward pass to be honest.

Yes it is a fact that for the most part we have defensive minded midfielders, but there is nothing in the rules of the game that say a defensively minded player is barred from passing the ball forward. .... Or, heaven forbid, making a run into the last third of the park.

Is our defense so bad that Mr Fenlon has forbidden anybody from the midfield to go forward because the team are totally incapable of defending an opposition attack with one midfielder stuck up the park.

Yes the results have been not too bad considering the games we have had in the last few weeks. But the truth is that defensively minded or not, our midfielders are incapable of making any use of the ball when we do have possession and that is something we will have to remedy if we are to have any hope of European football next season or cup success this season.

Like everybody else I wanted Hibs to stop being a soft touch and to an extent we have achieved that .... I was happy to see that happen even at the expense of the mythical free flowing football we pretend we always play ..... but what I cant accept is players ( professional players ) who when they do have the ball, seem incapable of doing anything with it .... or worse .... are afraid to try.

What I saw today was us playing second fiddle to an extremely poor Aberdeen team .... In fact, they were so bad that it gives me some hope for next Sunday .............. provided we can show more than the total lack of forward play and imagination we showed today.

27-01-2013, 09:05 PM
We're like the Stoke of the SPL, minus the dirty tackles. So damn negative it frustrates me.

And the crazy long throws.

28-01-2013, 04:49 AM
If people have questions they would like to ask the club, why do they not ask the club?