View Full Version : Yams Hearts And Their £54,657 Council Arrears

25-01-2013, 08:55 PM
As per the Freedom Of Information request received, here's what they're due to our very patient and understanding Edinburgh council........

Business Rates overdue ------ £ 36,588

Rent overdue --------------- £ 18,069

As I understand it Hibs are up to date with the council.

An amount like £54,657 would be really handy to Hibs just now with the club trying to tie up players in the January window. I wonder if the council would be happy to turn a blind eye to non payments from Hibs so that we can secure players, and operate on a level playing field when it comes to paying our way in the city.

And if you're a business or individual who's being pursued by the council, tell them you'll pay when Hearts pay.

25-01-2013, 09:03 PM
Excellent research.

Cheating *******s.

25-01-2013, 09:05 PM
Can you perchance resurrect the list of all the local councillors so we can ask/complain about this? We deserve the truth :agree: :devil:

hibs4thecup1988
25-01-2013, 09:06 PM
Superb. Well that's my 1400 council tax bill put to the bottom of the pile. As you say if they can get away with it so can I.

Cheats. End of.

25-01-2013, 09:06 PM
As per the Freedom Of Information request received, here's what they're due to our very patient and understanding Edinburgh council........

An amount like £54,657 would be really handy to Hibs just now with the club trying to tie up players in the January window. I wonder if the council would be happy to turn a blind eye to non payments from Hibs so that we can secure players, and operate on a level playing field when it comes to paying our way in the city.

And if you're a business or individual who's being pursued by the council, tell them you'll pay when Hearts pay.

How do the manky mob get away with this ? , would love to tell the council i will pay when they do but back in reality land i would be oot on the street. How the duck can some hibees want them to survive , this coupled with their leave yer dough to us please . And thats just this week. **** die Hearts.

25-01-2013, 09:08 PM
If you live in Edinburgh you might want to email your local councillor asking why £54,000 worth of cash is outstanding?

25-01-2013, 09:09 PM
Can you perchance resurrect the list of all the local councillors so we can ask/complain about this? We deserve the truth :agree: :devil:

No sooner said ...........

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/councillors/name

lEXO
25-01-2013, 09:09 PM
Try no paying your rent or council tax and see how quick they come at you.
Friends in high places at the council eh?
They really are a bunch of schysters.

renato
25-01-2013, 09:11 PM
Good stuff Mikey and well done for persevering GG.

Minimum 10 pages..... ;-)

25-01-2013, 09:13 PM
No sooner said ...........

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/councillors/name

:aok: JB. Public service at its best :greengrin

25-01-2013, 09:14 PM
:aok: JB. Public service at its best :greengrin

Having worked in it for over 30 years I felt it was my duty :greengrin

25-01-2013, 09:18 PM
Good stuff Mikey and well done for persevering GG.

Minimum 10 pages..... ;-)

It's all GG's good work :agree:

I'm just :stirrer:

25-01-2013, 09:22 PM

And if you're a business or individual who's being pursued by the council, tell them you'll pay when Hearts pay.This is absolutely disgusting.The heart and soul of Edinburgh Whos people they are robbing.
What a horrid bunch they are.
I wonder if i could not pay council tax? i may not unless this is resolved soon.

25-01-2013, 09:27 PM
It's all GG's good work :agree:

I'm just :stirrer:

Nothing wrong with a :stirrer:. :greengrin

And it's the truth anyway. The public should know about these things. :agree:

f*** the h*****

25-01-2013, 09:28 PM
Maybe some journo on the Scotsman would like to print a story:greengrin

VickMackie
25-01-2013, 09:28 PM
Leithwaterworld won't be subsidised by the council but hearts will. *****.

25-01-2013, 09:42 PM
Wonder if councillor Phil Wheeler is true to his word.......

http://www.mosley2010.com/archives/667

renato
25-01-2013, 09:43 PM
To add some context, the £55k they're due is obviously significant to the vast majority of businesses that pay or struggle to pay their dues however it wouldn't even cover Zal and Driver's wages for a month....

Maybe the council will cut Hibs the same slack and we can sign a high quality loanee till the summer. I'm sure Rod and Pat will be very grateful.

25-01-2013, 09:51 PM
I wonder how many people have been evicted in the past year for rent arrears.........

25-01-2013, 09:51 PM

Good Shout

25-01-2013, 09:57 PM
I predict this makes front page of Evening News.

Between this, unpaid wages and being pursued through the courts for debts every other week. Absolutely baffling how they get away with it.

Get them shut doon, they have been living outwith there means for long enough and continue to add to there squad. Vlad is taking the jarko wiss.

25-01-2013, 09:58 PM
I wonder how many people have been evicted in the past year for rent arrears.........

Just today, the council had 42 cases up in Edinburgh sheriff court..............

http://www.scotcourts.gov.uk/current-business/court-rolls/sheriff-court

Indeed, but probably for nowhere near the amount the merrick's are due, and probably causing much pain and suffering to the individuals who have been persecuted by some jobsworth, whilst the merrick's get away with it (for the time being). The whole relationship between the merrick's and Edinburgh Council, absolutely stinks in my humble opinion...............

To add some context, the £55k they're due is obviously significant to the vast majority of businesses that pay or struggle to pay their dues however it wouldn't even cover Zal and Driver's wages for a month....

Maybe the council will cut Hibs the same slack and we can sign a high quality loanee till the summer. I'm sure Rod and Pat will be very grateful.

Its obviously a significant enough amount to them as well or they would have paid it

25-01-2013, 10:01 PM
Its okay. The SPL will give them a signing ban until June when they find out.

Purple & Green
25-01-2013, 10:01 PM
http://www.saa.gov.uk/search.php?SEARCHED=1&SEARCH_TABLE=valuation_roll&SEARCH_TERM=tynecastle%2C+TYNECASTLE+TERRACE%2C+Ed inburgh%2C+City+Of&x=0&y=0&__utma=203509138.741231753.1359154577.1359154577.1 359154577.1&__utmb=203509138.5.10.1359154577&__utmc=203509138&__utmz=203509138.1359154577.1.1.utmcsr%3Dlothian-vjb.gov.uk%7Cutmccn%3D%28referral%29%7Cutmcmd%3Dre ferral%7Cutmcct%3D%2Fctax_vallist.html&DISPLAY_COUNT=10&ASSESSOR_ID=&TYPE_FLAG=C&ORDER_BY=SET+DESC&DRILL_SEARCH_TERM=TYNECASTLE+TERRACE%2C+Edinburgh% 2C+City+Of&DD_UNITARY_AUTHORITY=Edinburgh%2C+City+Of&DD_STREET=TYNECASTLE+TERRACE&DISPLAY_MODE=FULL&UARN=129T986%281%29&PPRN=000000000011152&ASSESSOR_IDX=10&#results

Hope that link comes out okay...One for you JC...

Is the rateable value ie £224K what they are due per annum?

25-01-2013, 10:04 PM
http://www.saa.gov.uk/search.php?SEARCHED=1&SEARCH_TABLE=valuation_roll&SEARCH_TERM=tynecastle%2C+TYNECASTLE+TERRACE%2C+Ed inburgh%2C+City+Of&x=0&y=0&__utma=203509138.741231753.1359154577.1359154577.1 359154577.1&__utmb=203509138.5.10.1359154577&__utmc=203509138&__utmz=203509138.1359154577.1.1.utmcsr%3Dlothian-vjb.gov.uk%7Cutmccn%3D%28referral%29%7Cutmcmd%3Dre ferral%7Cutmcct%3D%2Fctax_vallist.html&DISPLAY_COUNT=10&ASSESSOR_ID=&TYPE_FLAG=C&ORDER_BY=SET+DESC&DRILL_SEARCH_TERM=TYNECASTLE+TERRACE%2C+Edinburgh% 2C+City+Of&DD_UNITARY_AUTHORITY=Edinburgh%2C+City+Of&DD_STREET=TYNECASTLE+TERRACE&DISPLAY_MODE=FULL&UARN=129T986%281%29&PPRN=000000000011152&ASSESSOR_IDX=10&#results

Taken from a post on the PM board.........

At 30 June 2011 they had commitments to pay rent of £273k in the following year for land and buildings under non-cancellable operating leases

25-01-2013, 10:05 PM
Indeed, but probably for nowhere near the amount the merrick's are due, and probably causing much pain and suffering to the individuals who have been persecuted by some jobsworth, whilst the merrick's get away with it (for the time being). The whole relationship between the merrick's and Edinburgh Council, absolutely stinks in my humble opinion...............

Don't think it is just your opinion. Wonder how the people that worked in Blindcraft Beds feel after losing their jobs with the grant being withdrawn. It is just morally wrong.

25-01-2013, 10:08 PM

£100-120k pa.

Sounds like they are 3-4 months in arrears.

25-01-2013, 10:10 PM
£100-120k pa.

Sounds like they are 3-4 months in arrears.

These were the figures as of the date of my FOI. 14/11/2012.

Putting a new FOI tomorrow for up-to-date total due.

25-01-2013, 10:18 PM
These were the figures as of the date of my FOI. 14/11/2012.

Putting a new FOI tomorrow for up-to-date total due.

Think this information should be given to the Scotsman/Evening News, so they can publish a story and let all Edinburgh resident's see what a shambles of a Council we have............

25-01-2013, 10:18 PM
No doubt there will be some kind of excuse that a payment plan or to the likes has been agreed for them.

What irks me is how come you've done that Mikey yet the jurnos havnt bothered there arse to look into this kind of thing. Surly that would be part and parcel for a jurno running or investigating a high profile story such as them potentially going to the wall a few weeks back.

Its either lazy journalism, ignorance or a deliberate blind eye which I'd be inclined to go for the first 2 not the latter.

If this is in the EEN this wkend or next week that's clear evidence they troll sites like this for their stories. Choobes.

green glory
25-01-2013, 10:22 PM

Excellent work. I've just tweeted Barry Anderson at the EEN to see if he has the guts to investigate and report on it.

25-01-2013, 10:26 PM
Can some lovely person draught up an email which we can fire of to all relevant councillors, newspapers etc etc

Ta :aok:

Fat Penlon
25-01-2013, 10:26 PM
Think this information should be given to the Scotsman/Evening News, so they can publish a story and let all Edinburgh resident's see what a shambles of a Council we have............

The
Scotsman/Evening News should have submitted the FOI in the first place! Probably worried about losing the yam readership. Pathetic!

25-01-2013, 10:27 PM
Can some lovely person draught up an email which we can fire of to all relevant councillors, newspapers etc etc

Ta :aok:

That sounds like a job for PedanticHibee :greengrin

Fat Penlon
25-01-2013, 10:30 PM
Excellent work. I've just tweeted Barry Anderson at the EEN to see if he has the guts to investigate and report on it.

That ginger fud has never nor will ever print a negative word about his horrible little club.

25-01-2013, 10:31 PM
That sounds like a job for PedanticHibee :greengrin

Defo :greengrin

007 Mickey Weir
25-01-2013, 10:34 PM
Tom English might do something on it? Some one have his contact details?

green glory
25-01-2013, 10:39 PM
Tom English might do something on it? Some one have his contact details?

I'll tweet him.

25-01-2013, 10:41 PM
Highly questionable!

25-01-2013, 10:41 PM

Better if he was given the reports on the Ukio money laundering for the Russian Mafia. Send him over to investigate that story and he'll never come back !

renato
25-01-2013, 10:47 PM
Its obviously a significant enough amount to them as well or they would have paid it

Agreed. Which further highlights the madness of the wages they were offering and why we've struggled to compete with them on the park.

25-01-2013, 10:47 PM
Any of the KB agents been over to see how this one is going down at all?

25-01-2013, 10:51 PM
I feel sick

25-01-2013, 11:19 PM
So how many months overdue are we talking? The more the better (not necessarily for your honest tax payer, but for somebody who wants to see them go down the drain!). Or does it even matter as the council will probably do nowt?

ps Well done to the man that got this info after weeks/months of waiting.

25-01-2013, 11:24 PM
I feel sick

...and this is just one example.

Can you do FoI on Police bills?

Capt Mainwaring
25-01-2013, 11:28 PM
I've tweeted that plum Anderson a the EEN and asked him to grow a pair and highlight the story and expose these shysters for the arrears due.

Title the story "An Inconvenient Truth"

speedy_gonzales
25-01-2013, 11:32 PM
Is that not a daily headline for the EEN these days?
Trams-Statuatory Repairs-Portobello High School-20MPH zones-Parking Attendants-Trams?

25-01-2013, 11:54 PM
...and this is just one example.

Can you do FoI on Police bills?
Can only take so much at a time, thanks

26-01-2013, 02:48 AM

26-01-2013, 03:58 AM
Bump!

jimmythefish
26-01-2013, 04:46 AM
surely our 1st minister cannot let these constant injustices continue in this fair & honest land :confused:

26-01-2013, 05:17 AM
surely our 1st minister cannot let these constant injustices continue in this fair & honest land :confused:

I don't know if our "first minister" even knows about these arrears. Even if he was to be questioned about them I can imagine the replies:

"Not my concern but an issue for others"..."It's a local issue"..."Hearts are part of the fabric of our capital city"..."It's not only a local issue but one that concerns the whole of Edinburgh and Scottish football as a whole".

Just pay up!

26-01-2013, 05:22 AM
So how many individuals or businesses would get away with this?

There be deep jambo roots within Edinburgh Council.

This isn't green tinted specs paranoia - this is fact.

I urge EVERYONE that reads this thread to email or write to your councillor.

Only united public pressure will have impact

LeithSqualk
26-01-2013, 07:06 AM
Since they denied your first request, were they quick with your appeal? Do you think they will be as quick with your request for current owed ammounts?

Mark79
26-01-2013, 07:13 AM
Nice to see these ****bags signing up wilson and ngoo whilst robbing £50k plus off the public purse. Unbelievable.

Council cant even send in the bailiffs cause there is hee haw worth anything to sell in that midden.

26-01-2013, 07:24 AM
So Edinburgh council are actively seeking to evict people from their homes (including Hearts fans I would imagine) they are allowing this so called institution to not pay their dues - absolutely disgusting!!!

We shouldn't let this drop.

Obviously I cant complain to anyone but I would urge you all to complain, complain and complain again.

26-01-2013, 07:31 AM
Complain to the Jambo-ridden Council that the Jambo's are being big bad meanies ?!

I mean I'll still do it, but chances of it affecting anything are slim. Makes me wish I was a politician now, the smirk and agenda I'de have... :agree:

26-01-2013, 07:51 AM
This is a ****ing disgrace. Our council rent is paid every second monday. If we havent paid it by the wednesday I usually get a phonecall from the council informing me that rent is due. Why am I bothering when these ****bags can get away with it? The difference is that my family would be out on the streets if we didnt pay. Absolute joke.

26-01-2013, 08:36 AM
Looks to be around 3 months or so of rates. Business rates are usually around 45p/46p x £224k.
These usually get paid in 10 monthly instalments.
Don't worry as March and April are free payments😄

26-01-2013, 08:41 AM
We haven't a hope in hell of our dear yam loving Councillors chasing them for this money, it will all be swept under the carpet up the High Street and the slime will seep in to Mary Kings Close never to be seen again....:greengrin

26-01-2013, 08:44 AM
That is a fresh FOI. request off to the Council asking for the total of all sums they are currently due by the Yams with a breakdown into the various categories.

On a cautionary note, I was thinking if the £ 54,657 arrears is approx. 3 months total and Hearts seem to work by paying all bills 90 days late.

The new figure for rent and business rates may be no different IF they are keeping to their own system so we will have to wait and see.

Of course the arrears may have been the first thing taken care of after the cake sale, but somehow I doubt it. :greengrin

26-01-2013, 08:49 AM
It would be interesting to know the age profile of these arrears and what recovery action, if any, has been instigated by the Council.

To be honest, I'm very surprised that commercially sensitive information such as this was released in the first place. However it does give us added grounds for slagging THEM even more so well played to the person who made the FOI request.

26-01-2013, 08:53 AM
That is a fresh FOI. request off to the Council asking for the total of all sums they are currently due by the Yams with a breakdown into the various categories.

On a cautionary note, I was thinking if the £ 54,657 arrears is approx. 3 months total and Hearts seem to work by paying all bills 90 days late.

The new figure for rent and business rates may be no different IF they are keeping to their own system so we will have to wait and see.

Of course the arrears may have been the first thing taken care of after the cake sale, but somehow I doubt it. :greengrin

Ah ha --------- well played. My previous post was a timing cross over!

26-01-2013, 09:17 AM
It would be interesting to know the age profile of these arrears and what recovery action, if any, has been instigated by the Council.

To be honest, I'm very surprised that commercially sensitive information such as this was released in the first place. However it does give us added grounds for slagging THEM even more so well played to the person who made the FOI request.

Surely the purpose of FoI was to bring to light exactly this kind of 'commercially sensitive' special treatment from the council.

26-01-2013, 09:25 AM
This is absolutely disgusting.The heart and soul of Edinburgh Whos people they are robbing.
What a horrid bunch they are.
I wonder if i could not pay council tax? i may not unless this is resolved soon.

:agree: We need an honest journo to pick this story up and find out what the heck is going on and if any underhand deals have been struck. On a serious note, isn't it against FIFA/UEFA rules for a club to be subsidised or funded by the government (local or national) ????

As an honest payer of council tax to EDC, I am deeply concerned about this and would like to know what efforts are being made to recover this significant shortfall and what penalties are being applied for late payment.

26-01-2013, 09:31 AM
We haven't a hope in hell of our dear yam loving Councillors chasing them for this money, it will all be swept under the carpet up the High Street and the slime will seep in to Mary Kings Close never to be seen again....:greengrin

Our councillors are under a duty to act with integrity and declare any conflicts of interest. If they are seen to deliberately favour one business over another (eg yams plc v Hibernian plc), they will be not be in their jobs for long and may end up in jail. Bt only if they are caught !

26-01-2013, 09:32 AM
My original request was refused on the grounds that the information " could prejudice the commercial interests of HOMFC ".

In my appeal I pointed out that the football club had already been served a winding up order by HMRC for £ 450,000 unpaid tax and had agreed a further tax assessment for £ 1.5 million and had various charges of late payments of wages leveled against it.
I said that, in light of the above my request could not prejudice the clubs commercial interests any further !

And the Council agreed. :greengrin

26-01-2013, 09:55 AM
Excellent work GG, surely someone must know a Journo or someone with contacts to Journos who think this is a newsworthy story? Luke Shanley/Simon Pia/Aidan Smith??
If the EEN ignores this it's like Pravda!

26-01-2013, 10:00 AM
I reckon they'll be far more corruption than this going on behind the scenes.

Being the establishment club, they can do whatever the hell they like. It's always been that way for them.

When we were in dire straights in the early 90s, the council couldn't wait for us to die. ****s!

26-01-2013, 10:02 AM
Our councillors are under a duty to act with integrity and declare any conflicts of interest. If they are seen to deliberately favour one business over another (eg yams plc v Hibernian plc), they will be not be in their jobs for long and may end up in jail. Bt only if they are caught !

Who's going to fire them if they're already more or less at the top?

GoldenEagle
26-01-2013, 10:02 AM
Anyone want to check the spl/sfa rules and confirm what constitutes late payment, as players and tax liabilities are covered then I wonder if hearts have disclosed these as well?

26-01-2013, 10:05 AM
Excellent work GG, surely someone must know a Journo or someone with contacts to Journos who think this is a newsworthy story? Luke Shanley/Simon Pia/Aidan Smith??

Simon Pia is my major project supervisor... I'm not going to e-mail him though, the best bet is to send e-mails to sports journalists at the Scotsman and the EEN and then failing that a quick e-mail off to the Daily Record or the Sun will have this situation sorted.

26-01-2013, 10:27 AM
Also maybe even Andy Muirhead of Scotzine, he is a bit of a trumpet but he gets stuck into The Rangers FC 2012 a lot as he is a Celtic fan and writes a blog for ESPN. He might ignore it as he is west coast, but there is the chance he might say yes and run with it.

26-01-2013, 10:40 AM
Thank you for the enquiry - and prompt.

Before replying in response to your specific point I have asked for some more information and background from our Council Tax team.

I will be in touch.

Best wishes,

Cameron

Has anyone else had any luck yet?

Hibeesforever
26-01-2013, 11:05 AM
Superb. Well that's my 1400 council tax bill put to the bottom of the pile. As you say if they can get away with it so can I.

Cheats. End of.

Wow, Heart of Midlothian would have been given an opportunity to clear the debt before the figures were released but CHOSE not to or paid as much as they could.....

Hearts Councillors, can we have some clarification on this please, my understanding is that Hearts have just signed on lian a top Liverpool striker, how can they afford that ?

Hibeesforever
26-01-2013, 11:08 AM

Great post, so true. Disgusting. Heart of Midlothian an embarrassment to the great city of Edinburgh.
Leith needs an independence referendum

26-01-2013, 11:15 AM
Wow, Heart of Midlothian would have been given an opportunity to clear the debt before the figures were released but CHOSE not to or paid as much as they could.....

Hearts Councillors, can we have some clarification on this please, my understanding is that Hearts have just signed on lian a top Liverpool striker, how can they afford that ?

They're starting to make me nauseous with their cheating. ICT potentially the latest victims.

Hibeesforever
26-01-2013, 11:23 AM
They're starting to make me nauseous with their cheating. ICT potentially the latest victims.

I agree, so much so that I might pay to go and support ICT today. Money well spent if it helps ICT win.
Council probably sanctioned the striker.
I am so annoyed at their preferential treatment.

Hibeesforever
26-01-2013, 11:41 AM

Great post, so true. Disgusting. Heart of Midlothian an embarrassment to the great city of Edinburgh.
Leith needs an independence referendum

26-01-2013, 12:38 PM
I reckon they'll be far more corruption than this going on behind the scenes.

Being the establishment club, they can do whatever the hell they like. It's always been that way for them.

When we were in dire straights in the early 90s, the council couldn't wait for us to die. ****s!

That's just not true. Cardownie is a knob, but he was prominent in the Hands off Hibs initiative from Day 1.

26-01-2013, 12:39 PM
That's just not true. Cardownie is a knobber, but he was prominent in the Hands off Hibs initiative from Day 1.

They were less than helpful with re-zoning the land behind the east for housing though IIRC?

26-01-2013, 12:45 PM
They were less than helpful with re-zoning the land behind the east for housing though IIRC?

That's right, although this was a separate issue from our quest for survival in 1990 and doesn't make my earlier point wrong. We can all see that the council have always had leanings towards them, but we shouldn't attempt a re-write at history.

26-01-2013, 12:47 PM
Cardownie is a knob

Absolutely.

26-01-2013, 12:51 PM
That's right, although this was a separate issue from our quest for survival in 1990 and doesn't make my earlier point wrong. We can all see that the council have always had leanings towards them, but we shouldn't attempt a re-write at history.

Fair enough, wasn't meaning it that way.

26-01-2013, 12:55 PM
That's just not true. Cardownie is a knob, but he was prominent in the Hands off Hibs initiative from Day 1.

Cardownie's prominence consisted of saying we should give in to Mercer's bid and that a reconstituted Hibernian should rent Meadowbank from the Council, a win win situation for him personally and for the council he profanes daily with his presence. Remember also he is not the council nor was he then although he might act that way, the Council itself did nothing.

That was it. His being "prominent" one speech and an argument with Ron Brown in The Clan Tavern. He's a Jambo lackey and a Council lackey who did nothing and suggested nothing to save Hibs. Balance that against The Lochend Butterfly scandal, the way they insulted Hibs over the plans for The Jack Kane Centre, the "Granddad" laws being invoked for HoMFC to give them an early drinking license on a Sunday, the Safety Certificate handed to Hearts season on season for their Archie "Asbestos" Leitch Monstrosity while Hibs were forced to build to The West Stand etc etc

On the subject matter it shows just how hand in hand HoMFC and CEC are - made for each other in so many ways.

Seanair
26-01-2013, 01:13 PM
No-ones mentioned Milligan,the arch Jambo and Council fixer who had a strong influence on all those Council decisions which magically favoured HMFC and did the dirty on Hibs. HE'S still there pulling the strings I bet if it helps the Lithuanian mob. E-mails to him please, even if just to annoy him.
Wonder if he's still taking the Council limo to away games?

26-01-2013, 01:41 PM
Cardownie's prominence consisted of saying we should give in to Mercer's bid and that a reconstituted Hibernian should rent Meadowbank from the Council, a win win situation for him personally and for the council he profanes daily with his presence. Remember also he is not the council nor was he then although he might act that way, the Council itself did nothing.

That was it. His being "prominent" one speech and an argument with Ron Brown in The Clan Tavern. He's a Jambo lackey and a Council lackey who did nothing and suggested nothing to save Hibs. Balance that against The Lochend Butterfly scandal, the way they insulted Hibs over the plans for The Jack Kane Centre, the "Granddad" laws being invoked for HoMFC to give them an early drinking license on a Sunday, the Safety Certificate handed to Hearts season on season for their Archie "Asbestos" Leitch Monstrosity while Hibs were forced to build to The West Stand etc etc

On the subject matter it shows just how hand in hand HoMFC and CEC are - made for each other in so many ways.

Well, far be it from me to defend sparryheids or their standing on the council (as I've intimated elsewhere), but that is not how I remember it. I recall him speaking at the Hibs Club, as a city councillor, on the first night of hostilities and the tone was definitely not one of giving in. As I said, I think he is a knob, but I don't think he (for one) stood by inactive at the time, nor did he appear to be willing the Hibs to die that summer of 1990.

Not arguing with any of the rest.

26-01-2013, 01:43 PM

Corrupt club, supported by a corrupt system.

26-01-2013, 02:25 PM
What about the guy who stepped up to ensure the truth being exposed about old co, Alex Thomson, does anyone know how to contact him?

26-01-2013, 03:32 PM
So what they are doing is deliberately not paying this most basic of bills so they can direct the money towards playing staff.

More cheating.

26-01-2013, 03:35 PM
So what they are doing is deliberately not paying this most basic of bills so they can direct the money towards playing staff.

More cheating.

Or being given interest free loans to run their football club by Edinburgh District Council (or by you and me to be precise) :cb

26-01-2013, 03:36 PM

More cheating.

Yep and again a player they just bring on scores for them.

26-01-2013, 04:28 PM

Completely agree similar to Beattie in the Scottish. Thought Hearts were one in, one out. Thought Wilson replaced McGowan who is Ngoo replacing.

26-01-2013, 04:30 PM
Completely agree similar to Beattie in the Scottish. Thought Hearts were one in, one out. Thought Wilson replaced McGowan who is Ngoo replacing.

They did release someone else but I don't remember who

26-01-2013, 04:31 PM
They did release someone else but I don't remember who

Enckleman the goalie

26-01-2013, 04:31 PM

Was it not the keeper, peter somebody???

Hibeesforever
26-01-2013, 04:57 PM

Yes, I don't think we should let this lie. How will ICT feel about this financial doping.

Heart of Midlothian are Cheats, Cheats, financial Cheats.

JollyGreenGiant
26-01-2013, 04:59 PM
Dinnae pay the council the tax they're due, then go and sign another striker who scores equaliser to help them get to a cup final = cheating B*******

:fenlon

Purple & Green
26-01-2013, 05:08 PM
Can't meet their existing liabilities but get to create some more to speculate to accumulate, which granted seems to have worked for them.

But if every SPL club ran their business this way we'd have the league wiped out in a season. Lets hope it's a Gretna type swansong if they last that long.

26-01-2013, 05:09 PM
Dinnae pay the council the tax they're due, then go and sign another striker who scores equaliser to help them get to a cup final = cheating B*******

:fenlon

:agree: Cheats, plain and simple.

They are the most corrupt, dodgy club in the country.

26-01-2013, 05:12 PM
The mind boggles how they continue to get away with all this and still be allowed to sign players, they really are the biggest shower of cheating bassas and they're sheer arrogance never fails to amaze me, high time the authorities did the right thing and shut them down. It will of course never happen as they always squirm out of any situation like this.

F****** hate them..

26-01-2013, 05:14 PM
:agree: Cheats, plain and simple.

They are the most corrupt, dodgy club in the country.

This......and Spawny *******s....ict have been scoring for fun, and today 2 off their more prominent players miss sitters...they are jammy, cheating ***** and the sooner they go out of business the better.

26-01-2013, 05:18 PM
I'm sure the new SPL rules stipulate that all tax liabilities must be up to date or the SPL mist be notified. Be interesting to see if Hearts let them know they were using the council as a cheap source of finance?

26-01-2013, 05:22 PM
I'm sure the new SPL rules stipulate that all tax liabilities must be up to date or the SPL mist be notified. Be interesting to see if Hearts let them know they were using the council as a cheap source of finance?

If we know, the SPL will know.

They just won't do anything about it.

26-01-2013, 05:23 PM

Aye all fine and dandy Oz but the SPL don't seem to want to implement these rules at once and the yams seem to be immune from any real punishment..

26-01-2013, 06:32 PM

Private Eyes Rotten Boroughs column might be interested? They had a dig at the Cooncil before about the tram scandal and it didn't go down too well .

26-01-2013, 08:01 PM

Corrupt club, supported by a corrupt system.

26-01-2013, 08:14 PM
We all know that THEM have their financial problems but what we really need to know is whether or not the Council have pursued THEM for the arrears or whether indeed a blind eye has been turned.

27-01-2013, 12:08 AM
I have just about got over Livi beating us in the league cup final ten years (or so) ago - playing players they couldn't afford. But Livi's punishment happened pretty soon afterwards - bankruptcy followed by several relegations.

I have up until the last few days been pretty sanguine about Hearts - particularly as Cav Green and Cropley have been taking us through their death throws in an orderly and objective manner.

But the fact that today they reached a cup final with a goal scored by a player they can't afford on top of the news they owe Edinburgh tax payers about the same amount they are paying their goal scorer makes my blood boil.

I'm sure the SPL rules about being up to date with tax liabilities is about their debt to HMRC - but busines rates is a tax too and I suspect the SPL haven't really included it their sanction regime.

i'm happy to help from a distance in terms of lobbying/pr and putting together letters/emails etc to both the cooncil and football authorities.

Romanov has once again pulled the wool over the authorities eyes - agreed a deal with the 'taxman' - put the heavies on the small guys not to squeal and ignored the bureaucracy. Result - a half mill paycheck.

But this is a huge opportunity - all the small guys who Hearts owe need to know they have the money to pay them now. The Council needs to get what it is owed. We need to keep the small claims court busy and resist the russian gangsters threats...

Hibeesforever
27-01-2013, 08:47 AM
I have just about got over Livi beating us in the league cup final ten years (or so) ago - playing players they couldn't afford. But Livi's punishment happened pretty soon afterwards - bankruptcy followed by several relegations.

I have up until the last few days been pretty sanguine about Hearts - particularly as Cav Green and Cropley have been taking us through their death throws in an orderly and objective manner.

But the fact that today they reached a cup final with a goal scored by a player they can't afford on top of the news they owe Edinburgh tax payers about the same amount they are paying their goal scorer makes my blood boil.

I'm sure the SPL rules about being up to date with tax liabilities is about their debt to HMRC - but busines rates is a tax too and I suspect the SPL haven't really included it their sanction regime.

i'm happy to help from a distance in terms of lobbying/pr and putting together letters/emails etc to both the cooncil and football authorities.

Romanov has once again pulled the wool over the authorities eyes - agreed a deal with the 'taxman' - put the heavies on the small guys not to squeal and ignored the bureaucracy. Result - a half mill paycheck.

But this is a huge opportunity - all the small guys who Hearts owe need to know they have the money to pay them now. The Council needs to get what it is owed. We need to keep the small claims court busy and resist the russian gangsters threats...

Here here, the pen is mightier than the sword.

Though, the odd massed choir appearing unannounced in the Royal Mile might also grease the wheels of justice.

27-01-2013, 10:33 AM

There's no way the SPL would know. At any given time Yams owe money to a large number of suppliers etc. The council unfortunately is no different & it took GG months of effort to get this information. As another poster said the major difference would be if the council were not actively pursuing this debt & if their treatment of Yams was favourable compared to their follow up action on other debtors.
For once we can't blame the SPL, or Petrie! :wink:

27-01-2013, 12:13 PM
Press love a non story over some petty theft but not an eye lid battered at £55k missing from the public funds coffers

28-01-2013, 12:23 PM
Simon Pia is my major project supervisor... I'm not going to e-mail him though, the best bet is to send e-mails to sports journalists at the Scotsman and the EEN and then failing that a quick e-mail off to the Daily Record or the Sun will have this situation sorted.

If your e-mailing the Daily Record maybe this guy is worth getting in touch with. http://uk.linkedin.com/pub/norman-silvester/15/253/710 :aok:

He done a story on the mad one in the Sunday Mail yesterday about money laundering and £8m going missing from Ukio. Worth a try.

OsloHibs
28-01-2013, 01:08 PM
Press love a non story over some petty theft but not an eye lid battered at £55k missing from the public funds coffers

28-01-2013, 01:25 PM
If your e-mailing the Daily Record maybe this guy is worth getting in touch with. http://uk.linkedin.com/pub/norman-silvester/15/253/710 :aok:

He done a story on the mad one in the Sunday Mail yesterday about money laundering and £8m going missing from Ukio. Worth a try.

Probably better with them. The EEN is a Hearts fanzine as shown by the headline 'Hearts are saved' the day they got a transfer embargo slapped on them.

28-01-2013, 06:00 PM
Is thgis where the FOI results are kept? If so, I can't see anything. I want to start pinging a link to the FOI on hmfc debt to anyone who SHOULD be interested
http://www.itspublicknowledge.info/ApplicationsandDecisions/Decisions/decisions.php?search_mode=decisions.php&zoom_query=&exemptions=0&EIRS=0&status=0&year=2013&RequestColumn=dec_dateIssued&RequestOrder=ASC.

28-01-2013, 06:53 PM
Is thgis where the FOI results are kept? If so, I can't see anything. I want to start pinging a link to the FOI on hmfc debt to anyone who SHOULD be interested
http://www.itspublicknowledge.info/ApplicationsandDecisions/Decisions/decisions.php?search_mode=decisions.php&zoom_query=&exemptions=0&EIRS=0&status=0&year=2013&RequestColumn=dec_dateIssued&RequestOrder=ASC.

That is the Scottish Information Commissioner's site. That was my next step if the Council had not provided the information I requested, but seeing how they did after a review the Commissioner was not involved.

The figures I got relate to last November and do not cover other categories of debt so I have sent off a new FOI request for complete and up to date figure for all outstanding payments due by Hearts.

Will be posted on Hibs.net as soon as I get the info.

28-01-2013, 08:49 PM
I'm sure Edinburgh Sucks.com would be interested in this, they love to expose the dodgy dealings in the Council.

http://www.edinburghsucks.com/

28-01-2013, 08:56 PM
Sad days for Scottish football.

Theres only one thing worse than cloak and dagger corruption. And thats blatant transparent corruption.

Paying a player with your tax money to shaft your opponents is enough to sound the death knell for Scottish football. It's that bad.

28-01-2013, 09:18 PM
Sad days for Scottish football.

Theres only one thing worse than cloak and dagger corruption. And thats blatant transparent corruption.

Paying a player with your tax money to shaft your opponents is enough to sound the death knell for Scottish football. It's that bad.

Pretty much word for word what I was saying with my son earlier.

green glory
29-01-2013, 10:41 AM
https://twitter.com/barryanderson_8/status/296220072194764800

Barry Anderson reporting on this now. Mildly surprised, but at least he's listening to everyone's moans. :-D

29-01-2013, 10:54 AM

Barry Anderson reporting on this now. Mildly surprised, but at least he's listening to everyone's moans. :-D

And hahahahearts give themselves another five weeks breating space.

29-01-2013, 11:15 AM
And hahahahearts give themselves another five weeks breating space.

So the merrick's given 5 weeks grace, are members of the general public afforded such luxury, I wager no.....:rolleyes:

29-01-2013, 11:15 AM

And the EEN manage to get a quote from that blethering auld windbag, Foulkes.

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/latest-news/hearts-have-unpaid-council-debt-totalling-55-000-1-2764181

29-01-2013, 11:27 AM

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/latest-news/hearts-have-unpaid-council-debt-totalling-55-000-1-2764181

Apart from Foulkes' slavering I find this paragraph quite interesting. :wink:

HEARTS have told the Bank of Scotland that they intend to sell Tynecastle by 31 July next year to alleviate their crippling debt of £17.6m. The Bank has agreed to continue supporting the club on condition that it capitalises on its major asset.

29-01-2013, 11:30 AM
It's shocking that it took an FOI request from a poster here and twitter activity for this to be dealt with. That should be the story here.

29-01-2013, 11:31 AM

HEARTS have told the Bank of Scotland that they intend to sell Tynecastle by 31 July next year to alleviate their crippling debt of £17.6m. The Bank has agreed to continue supporting the club on condition that it capitalises on its major asset.

Crippling, eh? Them were the good old days. :greengrin

29-01-2013, 11:31 AM

"The News can reveal " WTF taken straight from Hibs.net you mean Sue them Mikey ! :greengrin

Car Park Rent - its Office Rent.

Anyway the £ 55,000 is out of date and does not include other items so I hope Scott and Co. do their job properly. :agree:

MCameron
29-01-2013, 11:39 AM
It's shocking that it took an FOI request from a poster here and twitter activity for this to be dealt with. That should be the story here.

What they're not saying is when the council started action (ie was it on the back of the FOI and approaches to the council). If folk here hadn't taken that action would we still be sitting here with the council taking no action? Cheats through and through!

29-01-2013, 11:42 AM
Crippling, eh? Them were the good old days. :greengrin

Thought I would get a couple of bites before you spoiled it. :greengrin

29-01-2013, 11:42 AM

That article was in 2003
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/top-stories/smg-want-cash-back-as-debt-forces-hearts-to-sell-ground-1-495902

do they still owe the bank a huge amount of cash? or has Vlad taken it on?

29-01-2013, 11:51 AM
That article was in 2003
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/top-stories/smg-want-cash-back-as-debt-forces-hearts-to-sell-ground-1-495902

do they still owe the bank a huge amount of cash? or has Vlad taken it on?

Their debt is to be reviewed in the summer. Someone will be along soon to confirm the number, but it's quite big :greengrin

29-01-2013, 11:56 AM
Their debt is to be reviewed in the summer. Someone will be along soon to confirm the number, but it's quite big :greengrin

Interesting times ahead, even with their cup final cash. :greengrin

29-01-2013, 11:59 AM
What they're not saying is when the council started action (ie was it on the back of the FOI and approaches to the council). If folk here hadn't taken that action would we still be sitting here with the council taking no action? Cheats through and through!

And the so-called news suggests it's done the digging on this. ****ing made for each other, the homfc and the een.

29-01-2013, 12:26 PM

Yep it has been carefully managed though to make out the EEN were doing the investigating and that there has been action previously, 5 week payment, getting debt recovery firm involved.. An insider says means 'we made this bit up" IMO. :greengrin

30-01-2013, 08:38 AM
"Hearts in Financial Mess Again over unpaid Council Bills" - according to the headline on the back page of today's Express. I totally agree with a couple of the previous posts on this thread about the quality and laziness of today's journalists. The days of the "scoop" are over and exclusives are now sought by trolling through supporters websites.

I think our own "Greenginger" should be entitled to a journalistic fee for his persistence in uncovering this story in the first place!

BarneyK
30-01-2013, 08:48 AM

If the sale of the stadium helps to alleviate their crippling debt, where are they intending on playing? Or are they banking on the council gifting them a new one? :rolleyes:

30-01-2013, 08:50 AM
If the sale of the stadium helps to alleviate their crippling debt, where are they intending on playing? Or are they banking on the council gifting them a new one? :rolleyes:

:greengrin it's an old story.

BarneyK
30-01-2013, 03:01 PM
:greengrin it's an old story.

Ah right. Must pay more attention in the future. :greengrin

30-01-2013, 03:04 PM
So the merrick's given 5 weeks grace, are members of the general public afforded such luxury, I wager no.....:rolleyes:

Cant imagine I would be given an extra five weeks to pay my council house rent. Bloody farce.