View Full Version : why was it called "The Dunbar End"?

Mister P
25-01-2013, 08:55 PM
as it says?

tamsonsbairn
25-01-2013, 08:59 PM
Pretty sure there was a juice factory at that end of the ground called Dunbar's, might be wrong though.

25-01-2013, 08:59 PM
Because the Dunbar Lemonade factory was behind it.

Feed McGraw
25-01-2013, 09:01 PM
as it says?

IIRC The old Dunbar " juice " factory was at that end.

Mister P
25-01-2013, 09:04 PM
ok, ta

honestly though, who else 'didn't' know the answer to that and had always wanted to know?:greengrin

25-01-2013, 09:09 PM
Never thought of it before, but good to know the answer anyway! :greengrin

JoJo_07
25-01-2013, 09:09 PM
ok, ta

honestly though, who else 'didn't' know the answer to that and had always wanted to know?:greengrin

I knew. See here (http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/1_edin/1_edinburgh_history_-_recollections_lochend.htm#01_answer_bryden_ritchi e).

There around 1951. See here (http://www.leith.edin.sch.uk/pdf/magazines/leithAcademy1951.pdf) (advert) but avoid page 21.

Mister P
25-01-2013, 09:11 PM
I knew. See here (http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/1_edin/1_edinburgh_history_-_recollections_lochend.htm#01_answer_bryden_ritchi e).

show off!!:wink:

25-01-2013, 09:11 PM
ok, ta

Me and i never would have thought to ask but glad you did :greengrin

Gavin1875
25-01-2013, 09:27 PM
They must've been over the moon with the free advertising!!

Edit: But it obviously couldn't have been that great if noone knew why it was called it

edwards
25-01-2013, 09:31 PM
Ma Maw used to work there and I got loads of free juice. On the down side my mates used to break into it all the time and hide all their stash above the cave. :blushie:

25-01-2013, 09:54 PM
ok, ta

I didn't know that until fairly recently when it came up in a thread on here.

25-01-2013, 10:33 PM
Spooky, as just this week my Jambo boss asked me whether the away end was still called the Dunbar end and in all the years i've been going to ER i never knew the origin behind the name and he had to tell me.

25-01-2013, 10:39 PM
IIRC The old Dunbar " juice " factory was at that end.

Luckily it wasn't a bell factory......

25-01-2013, 10:44 PM
A lot of older guys (like me unfortunately) still refer to that end of the ground as the Dunbar end. I'm pretty sure the factory had 'Dunbar' painted on the roof in huge lettering which was clearly visible from inside the stadium.

25-01-2013, 10:50 PM
I used to think it was the last bit of coast in a straight line. Maybe it is......

confused
26-01-2013, 07:44 AM
Aye i'm giving my age away , but i remember it well ,Dunbars lemonade , i used to call it Hibs juice when i was wee !!!

Sweep
26-01-2013, 07:58 AM

26-01-2013, 08:01 AM

If that was the case it would be called the hearts end.

26-01-2013, 08:27 AM
I can also confirm that former Director of Dunbar's Lemonade, Jim Dunbar retired to Pitlochry, and graduated to working at a distillery. :wink:

Sherlock Jones
26-01-2013, 09:45 AM
Here's a photo I took in August 2006 from Lochend park. The waste ground is where the railway ran.

http://www.graham-jones-online.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/hnet/erdunbar.jpg

linlithgowhibbie
26-01-2013, 10:03 AM
Does anyone mind the now defunct St Andrews bowling club that was just up from the juice factory?

26-01-2013, 10:15 AM
It was the old Dunbar drinks factory.

26-01-2013, 10:21 AM
They're limeade and orange was to die for :cb

26-01-2013, 10:32 AM
Dunbar & Co ., whose address was 68 Albion Road.

Sir John Greig Dunbar who was Lord Provost in the early 1960s was councilor for the Calton ward and was Managing Director of James Dunbar Ltd.

In my young days you got a ' penny back on the bottle' when you returned empty 'Juice' bottles to the shop
During the war, with the shortage of bottles, if you took more than half a dozen back to the works you got a FULL bottle instead of money

26-01-2013, 10:37 AM
What was the name of the other Drinks factory in Edinburgh around the 70's
Hendersons? Tried a google but can't find anything. Might have the name wrong?

26-01-2013, 10:39 AM
Hendry's, Lower London Road

26-01-2013, 10:54 AM
I knew someone who worked at the old drinks factory. She was really nice. I nearly married her. She was keen. I was not so keen. She is dead now.

WeAreHibs
26-01-2013, 11:02 AM
Happy ending!

Hibs07p
26-01-2013, 11:14 AM

There was also a Hendry's in Bowling Green street, and Globes in West Bowling Green Street.

Mister P
26-01-2013, 06:33 PM
Does anyone mind the now defunct St Andrews bowling club that was just up from the juice factory?

yup, only went there once for a surprize birthday party. cheap bevy.

:party:

26-01-2013, 06:51 PM
Here's a photo I took in August 2006 from Lochend park. The waste ground is where the railway ran.

http://www.graham-jones-online.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/hnet/erdunbar.jpg

Cracking picture G :thumbsup:

I'm one of those oldies who well remembers the Dunbar End being known as that and I'm kinda shocked at how many folk seemed not to know :shocked:

Mister P
26-01-2013, 06:54 PM

I'm one of those oldies who well remembers the Dunbar End being known as that and I'm kinda shocked at how many folk seemed not to know :shocked:

hmm, lets collaborate on a new book Jonny, The Hibees Compendium, everything you never knew about Hibs.

you can do all the donkey work and I'll go halfers in the profits with you:greengrin

26-01-2013, 06:57 PM
Hendry's, Lower London Road

There was also a Hendry's in Bowling Green street, and Globes in West Bowling Green Street.

Cheers!

26-01-2013, 06:59 PM
hmm, lets collaborate on a new book Jonny, The Hibees Compendium, everything you never knew about Hibs.

you can do all the donkey work and I'll go halfers in the profits with you:greengrin

That'll be about a fiver each then :greengrin

Here's another and it goes way back so the oldies like me will have a better chance of knowing the answer.

What did the changing rooms at Easter Road used to be known as?

26-01-2013, 07:05 PM
The eggbox?

26-01-2013, 07:07 PM
The eggbox?

Nope

26-01-2013, 07:08 PM
Dunbar & Co ., whose address was 68 Albion Road.

Sir John Greig Dunbar who was Lord Provost in the early 1960s was councilor for the Calton ward and was Managing Director of James Dunbar Ltd.

In my young days you got a ' penny back on the bottle' when you returned empty 'Juice' bottles to the shop
During the war, with the shortage of bottles, if you took more than half a dozen back to the works you got a FULL bottle instead of money

:greengrin We used to go round the back of a shop steal a couple of empty bottles and take them in to the same shop and get our pennys.

Had to stop one i'd got to 30, decimilisation had come in. :wink:

Mister P
26-01-2013, 07:17 PM

Here's another and it goes way back so the oldies like me will have a better chance of knowing the answer.

the kazzy

26-01-2013, 07:21 PM
NopeThe Steamie ..? :greengrin

26-01-2013, 07:29 PM
the kazzy

The Steamie ..? :greengrin

Nope :greengrin

26-01-2013, 07:33 PM
Nope :greengrinThe **** hoose ..?

26-01-2013, 07:47 PM
the"changing rooms".......a long shot,but you just never know :greengrin

26-01-2013, 07:48 PM
the"changing rooms".......a long shot,but you just never know :greengrin

Nope - you watch too much daytime TV :greengrin

NYHibby
26-01-2013, 08:06 PM
There around 1951. See here (http://www.leith.edin.sch.uk/pdf/magazines/leithAcademy1951.pdf) (advert) but avoid page 21.

What is wrong with page 21?

26-01-2013, 08:08 PM
Nope - you watch too much daytime TV :greengrin

sweet baby jesus no :gun:

YOU on the other hand,seem to know of this "daytime tv" :agree:

26-01-2013, 08:09 PM
sweet baby jesus no :gun:

YOU on the other hand,seem to know of this "daytime tv" :agree:

Seanair
26-01-2013, 08:14 PM
Ma Maw used to work there and I got loads of free juice. On the down side my mates used to break into it all the time and hide all their stash above the cave. :blushie:

Is that the cave in the rocks above Lochend Pond? Used to think I was the bees' knees if I climbed up there,, but never saw any juice bottles.

Was Globe made by Leith Provident Co-op Society?

27-01-2013, 08:46 PM

For anyone that's interested they were called the stripping boxes

28-01-2013, 11:06 AM
They must've been over the moon with the free advertising!!

Edit: But it obviously couldn't have been that great if noone knew why it was called it

If nobody knew why it was called that, how do we know it was called that? Anyway, Dunbars Lemonade was the best, I always thought that Globe was second rate; Barr's weegie imperialism and Bon Accord, a continental curiosity. Don't know why it was called Bon Accord though.

28-01-2013, 11:09 AM
Is that the cave in the rocks above Lochend Pond? Used to think I was the bees' knees if I climbed up there,, but never saw any juice bottles.

Was Globe made by Leith Provident Co-op Society?

The Co-op used to make Henry's juice, (or vice versa). The factory was in Lower London Road. Henry's was truly apalling.

28-01-2013, 11:35 AM
Whats the away end called now?

I just call it "the away end" or "the South Stand".

Did we sell off the rights or somthing?

28-01-2013, 11:39 AM
What is wrong with page 21?

A poem praising the yams :rolleyes:

A Leith school even talking about them was taboo in my day...:agree:

28-01-2013, 11:43 AM
If nobody knew why it was called that, how do we know it was called that? Anyway, Dunbars Lemonade was the best, I always thought that Globe was second rate; Barr's weegie imperialism and Bon Accord, a continental curiosity. Don't know why it was called Bon Accord though.Bon Accord was named after Aberdeen, where the Robb Brothers originated from.

28-01-2013, 12:05 PM
Bon Accord was named after Aberdeen, where the Robb Brothers originated from.

My granny used to get it delivered, but she called it Robb's. Was it ever known as Robb's in the South, or was it always Bon Accord?

28-01-2013, 12:14 PM
My granny used to get it delivered, but she called it Robb's. Was it ever known as Robb's in the South, or was it always Bon Accord?Some of the older customers referred to it as Robb's and the cases had Robb Bros on them. I would guess at them starting off life as Robb Bros then changing the name as they expanded.

HibbyDave
28-01-2013, 02:52 PM
Anyone else remember Duncans choclate Factory?

Also, next to stenhousemuir ground Ochilview was the McCowans Toffee factory (Random memory!)

SaudiHibby
28-01-2013, 04:38 PM
Anyone else remember Duncans choclate Factory?

Also, next to stenhousemuir ground Ochilview was the McCowans Toffee factory (Random memory!)

Aye, ma granny worked in Duncan's and used to bring broken chocolate bars home in bags. :aok:

NYHibby
28-01-2013, 04:54 PM
A poem praising the yams :rolleyes:

A Leith school even talking about them was taboo in my day...:agree:

Sorry, I was reading page 21 of the PDF and not of the book. I couldn't figure out what you would have against hats and the Tour de France.

28-01-2013, 04:57 PM
[QUOTE=HibbyDave;3486885]Anyone else remember Duncans choclate Factory?

Aye ma Maw used to work there..:agree:

alnewhaven
28-01-2013, 05:41 PM
Duncan's? Was that near cause wayside? Mind Millar's (pan drops) being around there too

28-01-2013, 05:44 PM
Duncan's? Was that near cause wayside? Mind Millar's (pan drops) being around there too

Beaverhall Road off Broughton Road

28-01-2013, 05:46 PM
Think the members of St Andrew Bowling Club got around £10K each when it was sold to the builders.

28-01-2013, 05:55 PM

:agree:Remember it well, graduated from nicking the odd bottle or two from behind huge great metal railings to actually working for them and geting free bottles by delivering juice to the doors when the lorry came round the scheme we lived in. :greengrin

28-01-2013, 06:39 PM
:greengrin We used to go round the back of a shop steal a couple of empty bottles and take them in to the same shop and get our pennys.

Had to stop one i'd got to 30, decimilisation had come in. :wink:

We used to do that at the co-op, Colinton Mains. :aok:

28-01-2013, 06:53 PM
I recall an alpine juice yard along where the fort now is, lorrys used to appear at ma square every week selling it in crates. Kinnell now feel auld..

joebakerforever
28-01-2013, 07:29 PM

The large biscuit factory in Causewayside opposite Millars was Middlemass which closed c.1970 - 73 and it's site occupied the corner of Causewayside & Grange Road.

alnewhaven
28-01-2013, 08:03 PM
The large biscuit factory in Causewayside opposite Millars was Middlemass which closed c.1970 - 73 and it's site occupied the corner of Causewayside & Grange Road.

Thats the National Library building now.
Millars would be where the Examination Centre is/was?

29-01-2013, 10:49 AM
:agree:Remember it well, graduated from nicking the odd bottle or two from behind huge great metal railings to actually working for them and geting free bottles by delivering juice to the doors when the lorry came round the scheme we lived in. :greengrin

Is your name Terry by any chance?

green glory
29-01-2013, 10:56 AM
Is your name Terry by any chance?

"It's the spice ay life"!

29-01-2013, 12:21 PM

Would have been appropriate when the hertz come round to our gaff.