View Full Version : Chants from yesteryear

25-01-2013, 08:30 AM
I started watching Hibs from early 90's onwards and have heard some good/funny/memorable chants through that time.

I was wondering if there are any we can resurrect for games today.

One that sticks in my head (although it is probably unacceptable nowadays) from when I started watching games was against Aberdeen (i think)..... "You're going to get your ****ing heid kicked in".

Any one got any others from maybe even earlier days?

25-01-2013, 10:19 AM
I started watching Hibs from early 90's onwards and have heard some good/funny/memorable chants through that time.

One that sticks in my head (although it is probably unacceptable nowadays) from when I started watching games was against Aberdeen (i think)..... "You're going to get your ****ing heid kicked in".

Opposing player lying injured

:singing: Dig a hole and bury him :singing:

25-01-2013, 10:26 AM
Over there, over there....The Hibs are coming, the Hibs are coming, you won't be singing over there!

25-01-2013, 10:27 AM
"You're going home in a f***ing ambulance" was a bit of a classic not that long ago.

I also remember standing in line at Waverley before the LC final against Livi, and a group of slightly older gents sang a ditty that basically went through umpteen Hearts players from the late 70's and 80's, making scurrilous accusations about their wives either being hookers or liking a bit of a back door party. They also seemed to spent a lot of time dreaming about Mickey Weir, Alan Rough or Keith Wright.

green glory
25-01-2013, 10:44 AM
Frank McGarvey's wife's a woman of questionable virtue.

25-01-2013, 10:47 AM
Considering how bad the weather is.

:singing: "Knit some wooly tops for us!" :singing:

25-01-2013, 10:49 AM
'your going home in a fu**ing ambulance'...'theres going to be a nasty accident'...

these were both sung to the same tune and usually at us at places like airdrie, kilmarnock, greenock ect

Eddie Turnbulls Soccer Hooligans''...again, the same tune as above and a classic of the pre casual era when we always got battered for being saps

H.I.B.E.R.N.I.A.N. HIBERNIAN na na na na, na na na, na na....lyrically wanting at times but these were the days before we had numerous composers on the internet..it said what had to be said and left no one in any doubt to the allegiance of the singers.

we used to sing the 'wild rover' on awaydays as well which sounded good through drunken ears...and 'Sailing' by rod stewart...i remember a cup tie at motherwell where the whole hibs end sang it with our scarves in the air while the well fans threw darts at us.

Another seldom heard classic was when hearts were on the brink of relegation during the yoyo years...to the tune of a status quo song 'down the dustpipe'

'hearts are going down now..back down to division one..they've only been in the league two years and they didn't do too well...but they're doing alright now..going back with the sh**e now na na na na na

maybe you had to be there but as kid travelling with the loonies on the edinbugh west bus it had all the hallmarks of a classic to my young ears..

http://youtu.be/sWo3j8pXq8M

crewetollhibee
25-01-2013, 10:53 AM
His name is Des Bremner, the talk of the north.........

25-01-2013, 10:53 AM
When John Robertson was going through some marital problems......

"Robbo, where's your wife, Robbo Robbo where's your wife"

"She's getting ****ged by a Hibby, ****ged by a Hibby"

:fenlon

crewetollhibee
25-01-2013, 10:55 AM
Sing high sing low, wherever we go.......

25-01-2013, 10:58 AM

...and of course, "she's here, she's there, she's every ******* where, Robbo's wife"

25-01-2013, 11:38 AM
The Merry Ploughboy was a firm favourite when we played Oldco in the mid-late 70's.

I generally liked singing songs that antagonised the Hun in that era ( I saw them as our main hate figures, not the Hearts, probably becasue Hearts were too rubbish to get that lathered about). Other's were the Die, Die, Die ya Hun (to the tune of the Mary Hopkin classic" Those were the days my friends", usually sung when aforementioned currant bun was lying down injured (written by Paul McCartney).

I also enjoyed the one about Barcelona, Real Madrid and doing something naughty to the Queen for half a quid and the early 80's ditty, the "No Queen of Scotland" one, although looking back, that seems to have gone a wee bit too far in respect of the references to Mountbatten. I also liked the O'Leary song to the tune of "Rock the Casbah" in the same era.

25-01-2013, 11:43 AM
Not exactly yesteryear, but "What's it like to **** a Hun" to Gary Caldwell was pretty funny.

Also remember, a few years ago, post 2004/2005 but can't picture the target or even team he played for, but "****ged by a Hibbee" certainly got an airing about someone other than Robbo :greengrin

25-01-2013, 11:54 AM
Does anyone know a song that starts....

'Cheer up, cheer up, the boys will see it through....'

How does it go on?

25-01-2013, 11:56 AM
'Sailing' by rod stewart...i remember a cup tie at motherwell where the whole hibs end sang it with our scarves in the air while the well fans threw darts at us.

I'd forgotten about that, it was mental that day! Might have been the game Derek Spalding scored for us.

JustPassing
25-01-2013, 11:56 AM
ALLEE! ALLEE! ALLEE! was the chant in honour of Ally McLeod but it never had quite the same resonance as when used in honour of Muhammad Ali.

25-01-2013, 12:02 PM
"hibernian hibernian ra ra ra"

always quite liked that tune because of the irony that most merricks seem to miss

"we scored one we scored two we scored seven more than you nanana"

another good one that ive no heard for a while

25-01-2013, 12:02 PM

As soon as I saw the thread title that's exactly what popped into my head :greengrin

25-01-2013, 12:06 PM
Richard Gough had a song dedicated to him.

25-01-2013, 12:09 PM
Opposing player lying injured

:singing: Dig a hole and bury him :singing:

Sounds like something that my old man would shout/still shouts.

25-01-2013, 12:09 PM

Was just about to post that!!

25-01-2013, 12:11 PM
Picture this

Opening game if 1986 seasons- v Huns at ER. Souness and his new team the following starts in the east

'We all agree Souness is homosexual,
Wherever he goes he touches his toes
And butcher is right up his asshole'

Sorry if anyone us offended by this

25-01-2013, 12:12 PM

How does it go on?

Cheer up, cheer up, the boys will see you through
The boys who beat the Rangers and the Glasgow Celtic too (they had an i in these days)
Cheer up cheer up the boys will see you righ
The boys who wear the colours, the colours green and white
Oh we don't know why the Rangers say they have always hated green
For green's the finest colour they have ever seen.

Or my favourite version

Cheer up cheer up the wine will see you through
The Vp and the lanny and the old Cinzano too
Cheer up cheer up the wine will see you tright
It makes your eyes go funny
And you talk a load of sheicht

25-01-2013, 12:15 PM
The boys who beat the Rangers and the Glasgow Celtic too (they had an i in these days)

Or my favourite version

What's the tune for this?

25-01-2013, 12:16 PM
Picture this

Opening game if 1986 seasons- v Huns at ER. Souness and his new team the following starts in the east

That was always a classic :thumbsup:

In the early 70s we had:

His name is Alan Gordon he's the leader of the team
The greatest centre forward that the world has ever seen
He's here he's there he's everywhere he scores the vital goal
And as for Derek Parlane you can stick him up yer hole
NA NA NA NA....NA NA NA NA NA....NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA...

25-01-2013, 12:16 PM

How does it go on?

cheer up cheer up the boys will see you right
the boys that wear the colours
the colours green and white

oh i dont know why the rangers do
but they always hate the green
cos greens the finest colour
that the world has ever seen

****** the queen

25-01-2013, 12:20 PM
The Mighty Quinn song dedicated to Pat Quinn. One of my favourite songs.

25-01-2013, 12:20 PM

I wrongly imagined it had some 1970's bigoted undertone to it an thats why it was no longer sung

I'd like to hear this from the east one day soon

Ross4356
25-01-2013, 12:27 PM
His name is Leigh Griffiths he's the leader of the team
And as for "Insert Yam Here" you can stick him up yer hole

25-01-2013, 12:28 PM

Da da, da da, da da da da,da da
da da da da da da da da da da da da da da
da da, da da, da da da da,da da

da da da da da da da da da da da da da da da
da da da da da da da da da da da da da da.

25-01-2013, 12:30 PM
Who's that man with the helmet on
Dixon Dixon
Dixon of Dock Green
On the beat all day
On the wife all night
Dixon of Dock Green

25-01-2013, 12:35 PM
Da da, da da, da da da da,da da
da da, da da, da da da da,da da

da da da da da da da da da da da da da da da
da da da da da da da da da da da da da da.

Haha cheers

25-01-2013, 01:44 PM

In the early 70s we had:

And then there was the sequel:-

Derek Parlane *hags alsations nah nah nah nah na na na na na.

25-01-2013, 01:47 PM
Feed McGraw, Mcgraw he's always on the ba' Oh Feed Mcgraw Mcgraw he's always on the ba'

Repeat for verses 2 to 50

hibby rae
25-01-2013, 01:49 PM

On the day of a derby it was in the papers that Cameron had separated from his wife.

"Coco's wife's a slapper she sleeps all over town, and when she's sh***ing Coco she thinks of Arpinon! Oh Arpinon, Oh Arpinon!"
and
"Stand up if you've sh****d his wife"

When we were playing the huns

"Barry doesnae know his dad, b*****d, b*****d! Barry doesnae know his dad he's a b*****d hun. He's a b*****d hun, he's a b*****d hun. Barry doesnae know his dad he's a b*****d hun!

25-01-2013, 02:15 PM

What was the story behind that? Bit of the 'Craig Thomson'?

25-01-2013, 02:19 PM
walking past tynie swinging my chain

along came a hearts fan and asked me my name

I kicked him in the balls and I kicked him in the head

now that hearts fan is dead.

nananananana. nananananana nanananana

now that jambo is dead.

25-01-2013, 02:45 PM
one from the 80`s..

If i had the wings of a sparrow and if had the ar$e of a crow..

id fly over tynecastle tomorrow and ****** on the ********s below..

GlenrothesHibee
25-01-2013, 02:55 PM
Salvatori's wifes a w***e

25-01-2013, 03:05 PM
Willie, oh Willie Murray, oh Willie Murray on the wing...

Jim_in_Canada
25-01-2013, 03:14 PM
The one I remember most is :

Jimmy, Jimmy O'Rourke,
Everyone knows his name....

I believe it was sung to the theme tune of the children's show Rupert the Bear.

25-01-2013, 03:17 PM
Trying to remember if we ever had a song to the "Dixie Deans Superstar" song

25-01-2013, 03:27 PM
"Barry doesnae know his dad, b*****d, b*****d! Barry doesnae know his dad he's a b*****d hun. He's a b*****d hun, he's a b*****d hun. Barry doesnae know his dad he's a b*****d hun!

Haha I've never hear that

Cruel but funny

25-01-2013, 03:28 PM
Trying to remember if we ever had a song to the "Dixie Deans Superstar" song

I remember a second line that went something like "looks like a woman and wears a bra!"

25-01-2013, 03:36 PM

In the early 70s we had:

The version I mind is

The finest centre forward that the world has ever seen
And when he's in the goalmouth
he's sure to score a goal
And as for ( insert Yam fud ) you can stick him up yer hole

na na na na etc :greengrin

25-01-2013, 03:39 PM
I remember a second line that went something like "looks like a woman and wears a bra!"

Or who put the ball over the Inter bar

25-01-2013, 03:40 PM
Willie, oh Willie Murray, oh Willie Murray on the wing...

I still sing that one after a few beers. :greengrin

wazoo1875
25-01-2013, 03:43 PM
Picture this

Still find myself singing this at random moments. A terrace classic

25-01-2013, 03:45 PM
Picture this

Sorry if anyone us offended by this:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

KdyHby
25-01-2013, 03:53 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5b6UCCm7f4

Na na, na na na na, heeeey Edinburgh Hibees

What do you get when you drink the wine
A ten pound fine and a year's probation
You'll get a kicking in the police station
IIIIIII'll never drink the wine agaaaaain

Hibees boys, hibees boys, laced up boots and corduroys

Emerald
25-01-2013, 03:58 PM
Or when Butcher was sitting on the bench at Easter Road with a stookie on his leg:

Its black, its blue
Its broken in f****** two
Butchers leg, Butchers leg
Repeat.......................

Jim_in_Canada
25-01-2013, 04:01 PM
I remember when I was quite young (about 50 years ago) we used to enjoy when the Celtic fans sang "and the Glasgow Celtic will be there" - we'd add "selling the programmes" - thinking we were so clever !!!

Aaaah, memories !

fit o' the walk
25-01-2013, 04:05 PM
The match Steve Fulton of the Yams was getting pelters from the East Stand Hibbies about how ugly he was...he finally snapped and made a gesture to the crowd,thus getting booked by the ref..Within seconds the whole of the stand was singing " Booked for being ugly..you were booked for being ugly,booked for being ugly,oh you were booked for being ugly".....:na na:

JIm
25-01-2013, 04:06 PM
Remember hearing a song about beating Celtic 5-3, ive never remembered the exact verses though?

Something like:

The game had just began
Alan Gordon/Alec Cropley? made it 1
were you their when we beat Glasgow Celtic
were you their when we beat them 5-3

Obviously went on with another 4 verses?

And did the following ever get sung?

Said patrick to michael one fine saturday,
are you going to tynecastle to see the hibs play?
when up popped pat stanton and nodded a goal,
tynecastle erupted in green white and gold
tooralu, tooralu, tynecastle erupted in green white and gold

linlithgowhibbie
25-01-2013, 04:06 PM

Na na, na na na na, heeeey Edinburgh Hibees

Hibees boys, hibees boys, laced up boots and corduroys

Our version was "Mental Hibees" fitted better that Edinburgh.

Used to give it the

H F HFC HFC rule ok

also Y L YLT YLT rule ok was pretty popular too!!

25-01-2013, 04:08 PM
I remember when I was quite young (about 50 years ago) we used to enjoy when the Celtic fans sang "and the Glasgow Celtic will be there" - we'd add "selling the programmes" - thinking we were so clever !!!

Aaaah, memories !

:agree: Selling programmes........... half price. :greengrin

KdyHby
25-01-2013, 04:14 PM
Queen's - We are the champions :confused:

Hibs version of the Blaydon Races

His name is ........., the talk of the North
He plays for the Hibees just over the Forth
He drinks all your whisky and Newcastle Brown
The Hibees boys are in town
Na na.............................................

Joe Joe super Joe,
Joe Joe super Joe
Super Tortolano

some here : http://fanchants.co.uk/football-team/hibs/

The hills are alive with the sound of
John Greig's a *******

inglisavhibs
25-01-2013, 04:21 PM

We've got Willie Wilson number 1
repeat twice
We've got the best team in land
and then we went right through our team.

Couldn't do that now with all these daft squad numbers.

Remember singing it on the excursion buses from St Andrew Square.

25-01-2013, 04:23 PM
we had joy,we had fun
we had celtic on the run
but the joy didn't last
'cos the b*****ds ran to fast

and the hills that they climbed
were the s***e they left

can't remember the rest :rolleyes:

25-01-2013, 04:28 PM
who could forget Jimmy O'Rourkes song...

sung to the tune of Rupert The Bear

'Jimmy, Jimmy O'Rourke, Everyone knows his name...ect

and another classic from the back of the rack in honour of our world class signing from dundee in the late seventies...

He's the greatest player in Europe and his name is Hutchison...Hutchison, Hutchison.

25-01-2013, 04:33 PM
I cant remember the year, but Joe Harper had returned to the dons. We used to get the end behind the goal opposite their lovely new stand, and we always seemed to take a decent support in those days.

The song i remember from that period was a cracker imo.

Well we aint got a barrel of money

Joe Harpers fat and he's funny

thick as a plank plays like a wa..

Harpers sheite. :greengrin

Dunderhall
25-01-2013, 04:46 PM

Very similar to what I remember but with this part at the end.

They can talk about their Ralphy Brand and Jimmy Millar to,
But we've got Paddy Stanton, he's a bobby dazzler to.

Dunderhall
25-01-2013, 04:57 PM
walking past tynie swinging my chain

along came a hearts fan and asked me my name

I kicked him in the balls and I kicked him in the head

now that hearts fan is dead.

nananananana. nananananana nanananana

now that jambo is dead.

Seem to remember it sung alongside.

We're the mental Hibees baby, we've got class,
Hibbees ya bass,
we don't carry razors, we don't carry chains,
we only carry shotguns, to blow out their brains.

nananananana nananananana nanananana,

We are the mental Hibees.

Never quite understood the background to this.

Said the bow legged chicken to the knock knee'd hen,
Aint had a fight since I don't know when,
chase them round the terracin',
doing the Hibees boot walk.

nananananana nananananana nanananana,

We are the mental Hibees.

25-01-2013, 05:07 PM
good thread this...its got the old mammaries flooding back..

heres another from the bovver boy era

'we're not mental, we're insane
we cause trouble at the football game,
we chase them round the terracing,
we are the mental.. HIBEES

25-01-2013, 05:27 PM
We're mental we're barmy we're oaf our f***** heid.:greengrin

puffinandpantin
25-01-2013, 06:09 PM

i remember when joe baker made his comeback game against the sheepsha;;;; we won 2-1
bobby clark the dons goalie lost some kind of record i think it was nobody had scored against him over so many games
the baker boy wore his white boots [very trendy at the time] we were in the cowshed absolutely chockers
the song everbody would sing was the old irish rebel song [black and tan gun]

the song

it was down in the town of old bantry
where most of the fighting was done
it was there that a young irish soldier
was shot by a blackintan gun
as he raised himself up on his elbow
as the blood from his wound it ran red
as he turned to his comerade beside him
and these are the words that he said

then everybody would raise both arms to clap 1 2 123 1234 hibees
repeat clap and hibees chant

happy days

:agree::agree::agree::flag::flag::hibees:hibees:hi bees

25-01-2013, 06:16 PM
We're mental we're barmy we're oaf our f***** heid.:greengrin

Just beat me to it! :thumbsup:

25-01-2013, 06:16 PM
Come and have a go if you think you're hard enough!

25-01-2013, 06:20 PM
Remember hearing a song about beating Celtic 5-3, ive never remembered the exact verses though?

Something like:

The game had just began
Alan Gordon/Alec Cropley? made it 1
were you their when we beat Glasgow Celtic
were you their when we beat them 5-3

Obviously went on with another 4 verses?

And did the following ever get sung?

Said patrick to michael one fine saturday,
are you going to tynecastle to see the hibs play?
when up popped pat stanton and nodded a goal,
tynecastle erupted in green white and gold
tooralu, tooralu, tynecastle erupted in green white and goldFirst one will be after 1972 Drybrough Cup win . Second I remember as :
Said Patrick to Michael so where`s it today ?
It`s down to Tynecastle to see the Hibs play
when along came pat Stanton and popped in a goal
Tynecastle erupted in green , white and gold
This was after pat Stanton`s very late equaliser at Tynecastle in mid ( ? ) 70s but think it had been sung with other name long before Paddy played for us .

25-01-2013, 06:32 PM
By this stage of the thread the old classic must be in there somewhere but if not :-

Said Bertie Mee to Bob Shankly have you heard of the Northbank Highbury? The Shank says no I don't think so but I've heard of the mental Hibees. With a na na na na na na na - we' re the mental Hibees!

25-01-2013, 06:32 PM

Or my favourite version

Unfortunately, the last couple of lines in that first version are sung to the tune of 'The Sash'.

25-01-2013, 06:36 PM
Never heard "Its a long way from Easter Road" for ages :greengrin

25-01-2013, 06:38 PM
By this stage of the thread the old classic must be in there somewhere but if not :-

Said Bertie Mee to Bob Shankly have you heard of the Northbank Highbury? The Shank says no I don't think so but I've heard of the mental Hibees. With a na na na na na na na - we' re the mental Hibees!

er this is still sung regularly

25-01-2013, 06:41 PM

Sing up then!

25-01-2013, 07:30 PM
He'll Take More Care Of You, Archie Bald Archie Bald.

Kano, kano kano kano, kano, kano

25-01-2013, 08:01 PM

It's Bill Shankly :wink:

Aye and I smile to myself when I hear the younger fans singing it because I'll bet a fair few have no idea who Bertie Mee and Bill Shankly were, never mind who the hell played at Highbury :greengrin

Sing up then!

Only if you join in :greengrin

hibbiedon
25-01-2013, 08:08 PM
If I had the wings of a sparrow
The dirty great ar*e of a crow
I'd fly over the roofs of tynecstle & sh*te on the Ba%tar*s below
Below below & sh*te on the Ba%tar*s below

said patrick to michael come raising today
along to tynecastle to see the hibs play
when up popped joe baker & put in a goal
and tynecastle erupted in green white & gold

25-01-2013, 08:13 PM
cheer up cheer up the boys will see you right
the boys that wear the colours
the colours green and white

oh i dont know why the rangers do
but they always hate the green
cos greens the finest colour
that the world has ever seen

****** the queen

...........and Colin Stein.....

25-01-2013, 08:14 PM
Eck the boss with ginger hair
Frank sauzee is the king
arpinion with gaelic flair
Ulrik laursen on the wing

John o'neil and matty jack
Smith and fenwick at the back
Paco luna in attack
And it brings us back to
Eck the boss

25-01-2013, 08:17 PM
Walking in a Harper wonderland

25-01-2013, 08:21 PM
Colin Stein is illegitimate...

MoscowHibs
25-01-2013, 08:45 PM
I remember going to a cup game in the 70's @ Montrose and the tin shed behind the goal going radge wi tones of "hibees boys,hibees boys, laced up boots and corduroys" aaaaahh happy days.

25-01-2013, 08:58 PM
Frank sauzee is the king

Paco luna in attack
And it brings us back to
Eck the boss

25-01-2013, 09:06 PM
Frank sauzee is the king

Paco luna in attack
And it brings us back to
Eck the boss

Frank sauzee is the king

Paco luna in attack
And it brings us back to
Eck the boss

So good you sang it twice :greengrin

Mister P
25-01-2013, 09:27 PM
we all agree-Valentine sha**s McGinally
where ever he goes, he touches his toes
and (insert another refs name) is right up his a$$hole.

25-01-2013, 09:36 PM
If anyone did something even slightly stupid,the crowd would sing peeeeee-neeeees peeeeee-neeeeeeees peeeeeeeee-neeeeeees haha.Bring it back

Fantic
25-01-2013, 09:38 PM
its a grand old team to go to jail for

its a grand old team to pay yer bail for

and if, you know, yer history!

25-01-2013, 09:43 PM
"Come and have a go with the Hibees agg-a-ro" :take that

25-01-2013, 09:44 PM
To the tune of hi ho silver lining

Hi ho edinburgh Hibees everywhere you go now

25-01-2013, 09:52 PM
[QUOTE=Jonnyboy;3482942]So good you sang it twice :greengrin[/QUOT

Its this bloody phone.......it keeps doing strange things

Fantic
25-01-2013, 09:55 PM
Wallace Mercers illegitimate

He aint got no birth certificate

Wallace Mercers illegitimate

He's an orange *******

25-01-2013, 10:10 PM
As I was walking down the Copeland Road
I met a total stranger
And he says to me
Are you off to see
The famous Glasgow Rangers?

So I went along to Ibrox Park
Just to see the famous Glasgow Rangers
But the boys in blue
Got f****d 6-2 by the famous Edinburgh Hibees!

joebakerforever
25-01-2013, 10:25 PM
It's black,

It's blue,

It's effin broken too

Butcher's leg

25-01-2013, 10:31 PM
I met a total stranger
And he says to me
Are you off to see

But the boys in blue

It's one of my favourites even though it's way before my time ! Always gets Tamson's jumping whenever it starts !

25-01-2013, 10:32 PM
If anyone did something even slightly stupid,the crowd would sing peeeeee-neeeees peeeeee-neeeeeeees peeeeeeeee-neeeeeees haha.Bring it back

And the never to be forgotten ........ Oh spot the loony :greengrin

25-01-2013, 10:35 PM
Giving my age away here but can remember joining in with this little ditty when we had Ronnie Simpson in goals :singing:
"I wanna be Ronnie's ball
I wanna be Ronnie's ball
That's the most important thing to me
and if I was Ronnie's ball
if I was Ronnie's ball
What a faithful, thankful ball I'd be. ..."

(it was to the tune of 'I wanna be Bobby's girl' by Susan Maugham)
Can't believe I've just typed that.:hide:

25-01-2013, 11:06 PM
Giving my age away here but can remember joining in with this little ditty when we had Ronnie Simpson in goals :singing:
"I wanna be Ronnie's ball
I wanna be Ronnie's ball
That's the most important thing to me
and if I was Ronnie's ball
if I was Ronnie's ball
What a faithful, thankful ball I'd be. ..."

(it was to the tune of 'I wanna be Bobby's girl' by Susan Maugham)
Can't believe I've just typed that.:hide:

Why would anyone want to be a testicle? :wink:

Dunderhall
25-01-2013, 11:09 PM
I met a total stranger
And he says to me
Are you off to see

But the boys in blue

Good song, there was a debate pre-internet in our crowd as to whether the 6-2 actually existed, there was a 5-2.
Never got round to checking it though.

EH6 Hibby
25-01-2013, 11:46 PM
There's only one Barry Lavety
He puts the ball, in the netty
He scores with ease
Cause he takes the E's
Walking in a Hibees wonderland.

25-01-2013, 11:47 PM
Get your t!ts out for the boys used to be sung to femle police officers.

Would love to hear that nowadays!

Billy McKirdy
25-01-2013, 11:57 PM
Queen's - We are the champions :confused:

Hibs version of the Blaydon Races

His name is ........., the talk of the North
He plays for the Hibees just over the Forth
He drinks all your whisky and Newcastle Brown
The Hibees boys are in town
Na na.............................................

Joe Joe super Joe,
Joe Joe super Joe
Super Tortolano

some here : http://fanchants.co.uk/football-team/hibs/

The hills are alive with the sound of
John Greig's a *******

That's not the version I remember..
Also to the tune of Blaydon Races..

Away the lads
You should have seen them running
We're only here to drink the beer
And s*** the f****** wimmin
All the lads and lassies
Smiles upon their faces
Walking down the Albion Road
To see the Turnbull aces :greengrin

Late 70s I remember :thumbsup:

PerthHibby
26-01-2013, 12:00 AM
Craigie Paterson Craigie Paterson what's it like to be a Hun.

I remember that going round the ground when
we were up against them late in the game.
Seemed to go on forever.

stu in nottingham
26-01-2013, 12:44 AM
'In Dublin's Fair City
Where the girls are so pretty
I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
As she wheeled her wheel barrow
Through streets broad and narrow

Crying

Joe Joe Joe Baker!

Joe Joe Joe Baker!'

--

To the tune of Excerpt from a Teenage Opera:

'Joe Baker, Joe Baker,
Is it true what the Trent end say, you are our king?
Oh yeah, oh yeah!'

--

'Zigger Zagger, Zigger Zagger

JOE BAKER!'

Just_Jimmy
26-01-2013, 01:38 AM
The rocky music for craig roecastle

Da da da...

Hibs07p
26-01-2013, 01:56 AM
We're the one and only truly original bovver boys from Easter Road.

Courtesy of the pink panther cartoon theme at the time.

Another favourite from the era before segregation. There was always a bit of jostling to claim the area of terracing just under the cameras, which were above the food stalls. This would be around the middle of the now Wheatfield stand, about a third of the way up. there was always a big presence from the Leith boys, who liked to belt out this little ditty.

In the jungle, the Gorgie jungle, the Leith team rule ya bass.

vein
26-01-2013, 08:08 AM

Or my favourite version

I remember that one being finished off with...

Oh you can take your pauly gascoine and your Brian laudrup too,
Cause we've got darren Jackson he's a bobby dazzler too,

Then finished off with a few 7-0's and references of getting intimate with the queen :)

Also remember the hokey cokey being adapted for Paul gascoine when all the wife beater stories were on the go. "put your right fist in, left boot in...."

26-01-2013, 11:47 AM

To the same tune - " You're going home like Sandy Richardson "

Crossroads fans ken whits goan on like

26-01-2013, 12:05 PM
Don't know many old Hibs ones, some Liverpool one's.............

Who's that .................................Munich song (it was song too often)

London Bridge is falling down...........build it up with Red & White

He's fat, he's round, he's worth a million pound Sammy Lee..............Sammy Lee

Rambo Rambo.....................Rambo's gonna get ye........... AKA Jan Molby

You're so ****** it's unbelievable........................sung nearly every week in the good old days :greengrin

Brucie, Brucie Grobbelaar.......Brucie Grobbelaar in our goal, Brucie, Brucie Grobbelaar............Bruce Grobelaar in our goal.

Steve Foster the Luton captain was a particular target and I recall Les Seally the Luton keeper losing the rag cos we sang for ninety minutes about him being Foster's condom!!!!!!!!

Joy Zipper
26-01-2013, 12:11 PM
When Ray Wilkins was playing for Rangers :-

"His name is Butch Wilkins,
He comes from the South,
He doesnae like Scotsmen,
He's got a big mouth,
He does nae like whisky,
He doesnae like rum,
But he likes the c**k up the bum!

Na na na na na na na na, na na na na na etc"

26-01-2013, 12:25 PM
We're the one and only truly original bovver boys from Easter Road.

Courtesy of the pink panther cartoon theme at the time.

Another favourite from the era before segregation. There was always a bit of jostling to claim the area of terracing just under the cameras, which were above the food stalls. This would be around the middle of the now Wheatfield stand, about a third of the way up. there was always a big presence from the Leith boys, who liked to belt out this little ditty.

In the jungle, the Gorgie jungle, the Leith team rule ya bass.

:agree: I remember that like it was yesterday, which is funny as i cant remember what i had for breakfast most days? :greengrin

They other one was.

when i was a young man my old man said to me,

when you grow up son what you gonna be

you gonna go to school and get a degree

or you gonna be the leader of the YLT nanananana nanananananana

26-01-2013, 12:36 PM
He plays for the hibees he's from Ecuador
he puts in the crosses for paco to score
he's not like latapy he stays off the booze
he's ulises de la cruz.

26-01-2013, 01:36 PM
Song sang in the 80's when visting away grounds, probably not Stirling Albion though.

We've got a castle, we've got a castle, you've no, you've no!!!

26-01-2013, 06:25 PM
:agree: I remember that like it was yesterday, which is funny as i cant remember what i had for breakfast most days? :greengrin

They other one was.

when i was a young man my old man said to me,

when you grow up son what you gonna be

you gonna go to school and get a degree

or you gonna be the leader of the YLT nanananana nanananananana

Another on that theme to the time of The Wanderer

You get the 22 all the way down and when you get to leith well you know you're in town

We stay by the docks and the high rise flats
We hate the gorgie boys and the jam tarts

We are the Leith Team boys we are the Leith Team boys

26-01-2013, 06:57 PM
Don't know many old Hibs ones, some Liverpool one's.............

Who's that .................................Munich song (it was song too often)

London Bridge is falling down...........build it up with Red & White

He's fat, he's round, he's worth a million pound Sammy Lee..............Sammy Lee

Rambo Rambo.....................Rambo's gonna get ye........... AKA Jan Molby

You're so ****** it's unbelievable........................sung nearly every week in the good old days :greengrin

Brucie, Brucie Grobbelaar.......Brucie Grobbelaar in our goal, Brucie, Brucie Grobbelaar............Bruce Grobelaar in our goal.

Steve Foster the Luton captain was a particular target and I recall Les Seally the Luton keeper losing the rag cos we sang for ninety minutes about him being Foster's condom!!!!!!!!

Some years ago I visited the English Football Museum in Preston and they show a film of Liverpool fans on the Kop singing "She Loves You" by the Beatles. AFAIK that was one of the earliest examples of fans actually singing at matches. Sound about right?

26-01-2013, 07:02 PM
Some years ago I visited the English Football Museum in Preston and they show a film of Liverpool fans on the Kop singing "She Loves You" by the Beatles. AFAIK that was one of the earliest examples of fans actually singing at matches. Sound about right?

:agree: That is a superb piece of footage with the whole Kop singing along, I have it on an old VHS somewhere.

26-01-2013, 07:08 PM
:agree: That is a superb piece of footage with the whole Kop singing along, I have it on an old VHS somewhere.

Sure is :agree: Made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up - brilliant sight and sound

BS44
26-01-2013, 07:09 PM
The hills are alive with the sound of....John Greig's a winker.

Roamin' in the gloamin' with a revolver in my hand. (Not repeating the rest)

26-01-2013, 11:12 PM
Sure is :agree: Made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up - brilliant sight and sound

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7jcB_v5inc

26-01-2013, 11:20 PM

27-01-2013, 12:31 PM
Not exactly yesteryear, but "What's it like to **** a Hun" to Gary Caldwell was pretty funny.

Also remember, a few years ago, post 2004/2005 but can't picture the target or even team he played for, but "****ged by a Hibbee" certainly got an airing about someone other than Robbo :greengrin

The caldwell one was funny.

The Samaras chant this season sort of reminded me of that game.

27-01-2013, 12:34 PM
Not really that long ago but the cup game against Clydebank when they had about 50 fans and their ground had just been sold.

"Nae fans, nae ground;
***** team, nae fans;
nae ground, ***** team"

27-01-2013, 01:35 PM
"You're going home in a ****in ambulance!"

I miss those days

27-01-2013, 02:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNboU_PbZMY

27-01-2013, 08:22 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNboU_PbZMY

Fantastic :thumbsup: Those crowds on the Kop - thousands of them all standing and swaying and a lot of them wearing shirt and tie!

Beats the hell out of today's sterile approach to football spectating

Disc O'Dave
27-01-2013, 09:55 PM
"You're going home in a ****in ambulance!"

I miss those days

I knew from a young age I was going to be a pedantic little git, when I pointed out to my big sister that people tend to go to hospital in ambulances, and then have to make their own way home.....

Still sang it though, obviously :)

27-01-2013, 10:51 PM

Gettin kicked tae **** doon the Polis station :greengrin

H I B - E R N - I A N Hibernian!

A-G