View Full Version : Greggs Daly and Flood

20-01-2013, 04:48 PM
Not any links of anything and I don't normally post gossip on here but my boss is a huge Untied fan and the word is over there that we are after Jon Daly and Willo Flood. Anyone heard anything to confirm this or is it all BS?

20-01-2013, 04:48 PM
Flood - No

Daly - Yes

20-01-2013, 04:49 PM
They are certainly Irish enough.

20-01-2013, 04:53 PM
Flood - No

Daly - Yes

Yes you would take them or yes we are in for him?

20-01-2013, 04:53 PM
Daly would be a fantastic signing.

20-01-2013, 04:55 PM
Yes you would take them or yes we are in for him?

Yes i would take them :agree:

20-01-2013, 04:56 PM
I'd take Daly, I wouldn't take Flood even if he was paying us.

20-01-2013, 04:56 PM
No way Hibs are going spend money on buying players. So I doubt this very much

20-01-2013, 04:57 PM
Daly would be a brilliant signing, fits exactly what we need.

Him and Gavin Gunning from them and I would be well chuffed

20-01-2013, 04:59 PM
No way Hibs are going spend money on buying players. So I doubt this very much

Out of contract at the end of the season, daly anyway

Macaroon
20-01-2013, 04:59 PM
Daly would be a fantastic signing for us but IMO there is absolutely no chance of it happening.

20-01-2013, 05:01 PM
Would definitely take them. Especially Jon Daly. The idea partner for Leigh Griffiths.

20-01-2013, 05:01 PM
Daly would be a fantastic signing for us but IMO there is absolutely no chance of it happening.

Totally agree with this, even if we were interested, money talks, and it would be Championship or league 1 for these guys..

Russell The Dug
20-01-2013, 05:03 PM
Both would improve the side big time.

20-01-2013, 05:19 PM
they must be irish if we're sniffing about :wink:

20-01-2013, 05:26 PM
There seems to be a bit of a rumour going about regarding these two.

Daly would be an alright signing (and offer cover at the back), but unless hes receiving good service, something we struggle to do, hes quite ineffective. Im sure hes looking for one big payday so he will probably wait as long as possible for offers, but if we offer more than United I imagine he will consider our deal.

Flood is a dreadful player, I hope we dont sign him.

20-01-2013, 05:29 PM
they must be irish if we're sniffing about :wink:

Will they even get a game when Fenlon's out and Butcher's in then?

LeighLoyal
20-01-2013, 05:31 PM
Wouldn't get my pulse going, either of them. I like Russell better.

20-01-2013, 05:33 PM

We'd all prefer Russell but unless Rod's prepared to spend about £2 million there's no chance!!

20-01-2013, 05:37 PM

Why not buy Mackay-Stevens while we are throwing the millions about.

20-01-2013, 05:37 PM
Flood - no, never been impressed

Daly - Certainly, very good SPL player.

Russell The Dug
20-01-2013, 05:39 PM
Is Higdon out of contract in the summer? He's better than Daly.

20-01-2013, 05:44 PM
Is Higdon out of contract in the summer? He's better than Daly.

No he isnae

Russell The Dug
20-01-2013, 05:45 PM
No he isnae

Baws. Daly would do then and is versatile something Fenlon likes in a player.

20-01-2013, 05:48 PM

As well as liking signing gash players eh :-) according to some.

Seriously tho I'd take either of them but would prefer Daly. Like Foran at ITC tae

20-01-2013, 05:52 PM
Lot's of steam picking up around this rumour. Are the arabs that strapped?

20-01-2013, 05:54 PM
Would take both of them at Hibs especially Daly, would be a great signing. Having trouble believing it but hope that there is some truth in it.

20-01-2013, 06:28 PM
Lot's of steam picking up around this rumour. Are the arabs that strapped?

I think there debt is down from over £6million to around £4. They have at least 2 saleable assets in Russell and Mackay Stevens. I think Daly may be thinking (hopefully) that United are on the way down and Hibs ate on the way up, here's hoping!

20-01-2013, 06:30 PM
Is it the pun specialists' day off or something? Almost an entire page without one pun made out of the name Flood? :confused::greengrin

Russell The Dug
20-01-2013, 06:31 PM
Is it the pun specialists' day off or something? Almost an entire page without one pun made out of the name Flood? :confused::greengrin

This is going to end in tears now.

reidy
20-01-2013, 06:38 PM
Let the flood gates open now then.

20-01-2013, 06:39 PM

Noah chance that we will sign Flood.

20-01-2013, 06:40 PM
Noah chance that we will sign Flood.

This whole thread is about to become a washout.

20-01-2013, 06:42 PM
I dont noah lot about Flood?

20-01-2013, 06:43 PM
This whole thread is about to become a washout.

Somebody needs to rain it in.

20-01-2013, 06:53 PM
Daly-aye
flood-naw

20-01-2013, 07:04 PM
Both players would be good additions to our team & squad

biffo1875
20-01-2013, 07:20 PM
to much rumour talk and my mate heard this talk on here .heard we are looking at lots of players my self. its hibs ffs be very surprized if we sign 2 players max and [if they do what sort of quality are we going to get .we need to really start looking at scouting and trying to find young players coming through and making our 3.5 million £academy starting to work .because in my eyes since its been up and working we have not brought through any young talent at all .and if we do get to see a chance to see our young players ie caldwell handling stanton scott ,they go out on loan ,is our academy working? or is it we simply dont have the proper people in place .thoughts

Love the Green
20-01-2013, 07:26 PM

So how come he plays so many one paced, skill limited, pedestrian donkeys..where is the versatility?

"keep the faith"

Ceebs
20-01-2013, 07:27 PM
Is Willo Flood not Jasper Carrot's love child?

20-01-2013, 07:30 PM
Is Willo Flood not Jasper Carrot's love child?

He is on a par with Steve Fulton in the ugly stakes, for that reason alone we should go nowhere near him. :greengrin

LeighLoyal
20-01-2013, 07:32 PM
He likes his Irishman, Fenlon. At least we know Sevco won't sign them.

20-01-2013, 07:36 PM
He is on a par with Steve Fulton in the ugly stakes, for that reason alone we should go nowhere near him. :greengrin

What happens if they make another Lord of The Rings? Will it be like losing a player to the African Cup of Nations?

Shmeeeeegollllll

20-01-2013, 08:04 PM
I think there debt is down from over £6million to around £4. They have at least 2 saleable assets in Russell and Mackay Stevens. I think Daly may be thinking (hopefully) that United are on the way down and Hibs ate on the way up, here's hoping!

£6m down to 4 quid. Impressive.

Like my old credit card, the last fiver was the hardest to pay off.

20-01-2013, 08:10 PM
The Daly rumour won't go away. I've not heard the Flood one before - he's no better than we have IMHO.

20-01-2013, 08:13 PM

Water you talking about?

20-01-2013, 08:16 PM
Water you talking about?

If, as TQM says, he isn't that good, he won't gwt in the tide ahead of Wotherspoon.

20-01-2013, 08:24 PM
Thought Fudd was decent when he first came into Scottish football, but has gone off the boil a bit since. Maybe a change of club will do him good. Daly is okay, but I'm not sure I get this big, physical target man fetish that every other set of supporters in Scotland seem to have. We need to remember that we're Hibs and therefore a cut above the grunting, artisan plebs, and I'm not talking about people who imbue alcohol in a certain Abbeyhill hostelry.

20-01-2013, 08:42 PM

OK then - how about ?

Any chance we had of signing Flood may be EBBING away on the TIDE due to a STREAM of protests from the MAINSTREAM supporters :greengrin

20-01-2013, 09:20 PM
Flood isn't actually that good a player, hasn't been for the last 2 seasons now. Could only think that he would offer an attacking threat from the Midfield but i doubt it much.

Daly would be a brilliant signing, In a time where moneys tight the more versatile players we can sign the better. Also would give us a target man in the box as i think Fenlon has so little faith in throwing Kuqi on if we're chasing a game.

20-01-2013, 09:25 PM
Would be very happy with Daly, but just can't see it. Are we likely to be paying much more than DUFC?

20-01-2013, 09:57 PM
I actually like/rate Willo Flood. been doon to england, and didnae quite cut the mustard, but hey, we're talkin' spl. he's a guid wee player, built like a sparry, but can put himself about. caused us a few probs, in games against D.U. Daly, on the other hand has not been doon south(I think) so canny see him being the next man at ER, but you never know. both these players would enhance the playing staff at Hibernian just now, so anyone who thinks otherwise is is in cloud cuckoo land. I realise that this is only rumours, but hey, I'm not complaining.

20-01-2013, 10:00 PM
Flood's a better player than Taiwo & Stevenson, therefore would improve our side easily..

Daly would be a terrific signing

20-01-2013, 10:05 PM
Don't give a dam about Flood

20-01-2013, 11:23 PM
Don't give a dam about Floodwell, you might change your mind if it comes near to your village:wink:

20-01-2013, 11:24 PM
Daly would be a very VERY good signing. I'd be delighted if we got him!

gegs70
20-01-2013, 11:32 PM
Flood definately not.....I would rather have kept Ivan!!

21-01-2013, 09:50 AM
Will they even get a game when Fenlon's out and Butcher's in then?
Sure why not ;)

21-01-2013, 10:18 AM
The only time I've been impressed with Floods performance was when he was in that Lord of the rings thing.

21-01-2013, 10:46 PM
to much rumour talk and my mate heard this talk on here .heard we are looking at lots of players my self. its hibs ffs be very surprized if we sign 2 players max and [if they do what sort of quality are we going to get .we need to really start looking at scouting and trying to find young players coming through and making our 3.5 million £academy starting to work .because in my eyes since its been up and working we have not brought through any young talent at all .and if we do get to see a chance to see our young players ie caldwell handling stanton scott ,they go out on loan ,is our academy working? or is it we simply dont have the proper people in place .thoughts

Lack of reserve team league set us back methinks.

1875STEVE
22-01-2013, 11:07 AM

It's not an academy though is it?

It's a training facility.

There's a huge difference.

Since its been up and running we have not brought through ANY young talent? You then go on to mention Caldwell Handling And Stanton, don't forget Alex Harris and David Wotherspoon come through.

What is wrong with them going out on loan?? IMO that's the perfect scenario, what are they going to learn playing U19 football?? Id much raather these laddies went out and got game time.

It also cost £5.1m :na na:

Also what is it with folk blaming every negative thing they can find with the club on East Mains??

Id much rather have it than not.

22-01-2013, 11:20 AM
Notice that Daly was a bit critical of the proposed 12 12 18 set up on the BBC. That would lead me to think that he would prefer to go down south rather than come to Hibs.

22-01-2013, 11:45 AM
Daly has received an offer from us, Flood has not, as of 11.15 this morning.

22-01-2013, 11:48 AM

That would be one hell of a signing. :agree:

22-01-2013, 11:50 AM
That would be one hell of a signing. :agree:

Apparently, major stumbling block to Daly going down south is that the QE2 turns quicker than he does and this is putting clubs off him.

Russell The Dug
22-01-2013, 11:54 AM
Apparently, major stumbling block to Daly going down south is that the QE2 turns quicker than he does and this is putting clubs off him.

Still turns quicker than Shefki. Daly would be a great signing for the team and the club as a whole.

22-01-2013, 11:57 AM
Still turns quicker than Shefki. Daly would be a great signing for the team and the club as a whole.

Sorry, meant to mention....and his knee's goosed apparently.

Russell The Dug
22-01-2013, 12:06 PM

Really? That's a blow then. If on reasonable cash he would still be good to have around the club and is versatile. We've been crying out for a forward who can header and hold the ball up and he fits into this category,.

22-01-2013, 12:58 PM

Pre contract or transfer?

22-01-2013, 01:07 PM
Pre contract or transfer?

No idea.

22-01-2013, 01:11 PM
If true this is pretty good news. Would be delighted if we could source an attack minded midfielder with an ability to shoot/score goals.

andrew70
22-01-2013, 01:29 PM
If true this is pretty good news. Would be delighted if we could source an attack minded midfielder with an ability to shoot/score goals.

We have one, if played in his correct position. Paul Cairney is your man. Hence the need for a left mid.

FWIW I think there'll b a lot of movement in and out in the next week or so.

BarneyK
22-01-2013, 01:41 PM

Kuqi or Daly?

22-01-2013, 03:50 PM
Kuqi or Daly?

Arthur.

22-01-2013, 04:03 PM
Daly would be a good signing. Hope this happens.

kentao
22-01-2013, 04:15 PM
Would be pretty happy with daly or higdon. Would bring a different dimension and both are good in the area can cause a threat from corners and capable of scoring goals in the spl. Ggtth

Piqué
22-01-2013, 04:32 PM
If Daly could get back to the goalscoring form of last season then this would be an excellent acquisition.

22-01-2013, 04:42 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
McGivern

Wotherspoon
Taiwo
Cairney
Ereskine

Daly
Griffiths

would absolutley delight me.

22-01-2013, 04:48 PM

Where did you hear that from? Would be absolutely delighted if we signed Jon Daly from Dundee United. The idea partner up front for Leigh Griffiths.

22-01-2013, 04:50 PM
Williams

Clancy
McPake
Hanlon
McGivern

Wotherspoon
Taiwo
Cairney
Ereskine

Daly
Griffiths

would absolutley delight me.

Put Carmichael in for Wotherspoon & Deegan for Taiwo and we have a team that should finish 2nd in the league.

22-01-2013, 05:11 PM
A lot of comments on DUFC boards that he has knee problems. Many of them don't seem too fussed whether he stays or goes.

22-01-2013, 06:24 PM
Daly has problems with his knee, no for me.

22-01-2013, 06:31 PM

I'd rather have a player who won't play all the time but consistently score when he does over a player who'll play forever and not even come close.

22-01-2013, 06:32 PM

McPake had and still has problems with his back. That still didn't put us off from signing him permanently in the summer. Daly is the sort of striker we are missing. A target man with a proven goal scoring record in this league. He'd be the idea partner for Leigh Griffiths up front. Also is a decent CB as well.

Emerald
22-01-2013, 06:37 PM
McPake had and still has problems with his back. That still didn't put us off from signing him permanently in the summer. Daly is the sort of striker we are missing. A target man with a proven goal scoring record in this league. He'd be the idea partner for Leigh Griffiths up front. Also is a decent CB as well.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1362769/West-Hams-Demba-Ba-massive-injury-risk-says-Stoke-boss-Tony-Pulis.html

Goes to show!

Who was the player, I think late 90's, that failed a medical with maybe Rangers or Celtic because of knee problems but went on to be a huge success? Really wracking the brain trying to think who it was. :dunno:

22-01-2013, 06:45 PM
who was the player, I think late 90's, that failed a medical with maybe Rangers or Celtic because of knee problems but went on to be a huge success? Really wracking the brain trying to think who it was. :dunno:

John Hartson

PPZPOL
22-01-2013, 06:48 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1362769/West-Hams-Demba-Ba-massive-injury-risk-says-Stoke-boss-Tony-Pulis.html

Goes to show!

Who was the player, I think late 90's, that failed a medical with maybe Rangers or Celtic because of knee problems but went on to be a huge success? Really wracking the brain trying to think who it was. :dunno:

Hartson

Emerald
22-01-2013, 06:51 PM
John Hartson

Thanks

I just remembered myself as I was sure they had gone on to the other half of weegie mob, googled Hateley then Hartson.

JollyGreenGiant
22-01-2013, 07:49 PM

Sore knee or not, Daly starts for Dundee Utd tonight against Celtic!

22-01-2013, 07:53 PM
I suspect his bad knee is only an issue when related to a move away from Tannadice.

24-01-2013, 02:52 PM
​http://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/output/2013/01/24/sportstory1.0.shtm

24-01-2013, 02:53 PM

No working for me..

24-01-2013, 02:55 PM
No working for me..

Is for me. Is the Evening Telegraph a Dundee or Aberdeen paper?

24-01-2013, 02:56 PM
No working for me..

Or me.

What does it say?

24-01-2013, 02:58 PM

Fundee.

24-01-2013, 03:00 PM
Just what we have already heard really that we are in for both players

24-01-2013, 03:00 PM
Dundee paper. I'll buy a copy tonight

24-01-2013, 03:01 PM
Don't know if we need another Fudd at ER when we'll have 12,000 of them for a national semi in their own city next week.

24-01-2013, 03:01 PM

The story is all "is keen to" and "considering making a move" kind of stuff. Smacks of agents getting their players availability noticed.

24-01-2013, 03:04 PM
Looks as if the info has come from this site.

24-01-2013, 03:08 PM

It looks like there site comes from 1998...jeez how dated is that for a "media" organisation. Still it is Dundee I suppose.

ancienthibby
24-01-2013, 03:19 PM
Or me.

What does it say?

Hibs set for double swoop on Tangerines

Hibs look poised to make a double raid on Dundee United’s ranks (writes Liam Kennedy).

As revealed in last week’s Tele, Easter Road boss Pat Fenlon is keen to tie up a deal for Tangerines skipper Jon Daly. Now Fenlon is also considering a move for United midfielder Willo Flood. Both players are out of contract in the summer.

For full story, get tonight's Evening Telegraph

24-01-2013, 04:19 PM

:agree: There is talk of Daly - but not Flood

green glory
24-01-2013, 04:25 PM
Do we want this at Easter Road?

Willo Flood.

24-01-2013, 04:26 PM
Sun had article saying Houston may leave within weeks as opposed to end of season, and the final paragraph mentioned that we were looking at Daly.....Not really informative given it has been on this site for days now....

25-01-2013, 09:09 AM
Cant see Daly.

Will Hibs be able to offer much more than United in wages and if we cant afford Craig just now its unlikely we will be able to afford Daly.

I don't think there is much loose change lying around to buy players, maybe free wages but thats it. It looks less likely that Kujabi and Galbraith will be departing.

25-01-2013, 09:11 AM
Do we want this at Easter Road?

Willo Flood.

Still more handsome than your average jambo

25-01-2013, 09:29 AM
Cant see Daly.

Will Hibs be able to offer much more than United in wages and if we cant afford Craig just now its unlikely we will be able to afford Daly.

I don't think there is much loose change lying around to buy players, maybe free wages but thats it. It looks less likely that Kujabi and Galbraith will be departing.

Do you ever post anything that isn't superbly negative?

25-01-2013, 09:32 AM
Do you ever post anything that isn't superbly negative?

Probably not.

Glass half empty kind of guy and lead a terribly unfulfilled life.