View Full Version : NHC African Cup of Nations 2013

19-01-2013, 06:54 PM
Starts today. Who do you think will win it?

I know Hibs.net is full of football experts :wink:. So who do you think will win it.

The poll will be open until all teams have played one match. Get voting!

20-01-2013, 02:28 PM
I was going to tip Egypt before realising they didnae qualify :greengrin

So its Morocco for me. Belhanda is a tremendous player as is their Fiorentina striker El Hamdaoui.

Russell The Dug
20-01-2013, 02:39 PM
Been terrible so far it has to be said. Have an outside bet on Ghana who had a good World Cup and good value at 7/1 .

20-01-2013, 02:42 PM
I see I wasn't the only one to vote for Ethiopia. Come on the Walya Antelopes! :not worth

20-01-2013, 02:42 PM
Has there even been a goal yet :dunno:

Russell The Dug
20-01-2013, 03:02 PM
Has there even been a goal yet :dunno:

Yeah, Ghana whoop whoop.

20-01-2013, 03:05 PM
I see I wasn't the only one to vote for Ethiopia. Come on the Walya Antelopes! :not worth

I voted for them as well.

It's been a boring tournament so far. Hopefully it will improve.

20-01-2013, 03:32 PM
Is it just eurosport that's showing this? Normally bbc3 or sumit used to show the games?

20-01-2013, 03:41 PM
Is it just eurosport that's showing this? Normally bbc3 or sumit used to show the games?

I'm sure ITV are doing it as well.

20-01-2013, 05:12 PM
is it just eurosport that's showing this? Normally bbc3 or sumit used to show the games?

itv 4

20-01-2013, 05:27 PM
Nigeria have a very good chance IMO.

Chibs
20-01-2013, 05:32 PM
I voted for Nigeria.
The reason is someone from there sent me a very nice e mail promising me a huge amount of
cash.
Still waiting.
But hey ho come on Nigeria.

20-01-2013, 06:10 PM
Just watching Mali v Niger, are these countries at war? some outrageous fouling going on, both teams down to 10 men just now and more to follow for sure if they keep this up! a very lenient ref as well

20-01-2013, 06:12 PM
Mali needs Amadou.

20-01-2013, 06:13 PM
Just watching Mali v Niger, are these countries at war? some outrageous fouling going on, both teams down to 10 men just now and more to follow for sure if they keep this up! a very lenient ref as well

Um.... some Malians are at war with everyone just now. :wink:

20-01-2013, 06:29 PM
Um.... some Malians are at war with everyone just now. :wink:

Looks like it Crops

20-01-2013, 07:10 PM
Why are the goalies so ***** in this tournament normally?

Find it bizarre how such a massive continent can struggle so much to find good goalies

21-01-2013, 02:14 AM
Zambia to retain the title. Mainly because Herve Renard is quality on the sidelines!

21-01-2013, 03:06 AM
I'll go for Côte d'Ivoire, their flag is nifty... But the wrong way round :wink:

21-01-2013, 06:46 AM
I'll go for Côte d'Ivoire, their flag is nifty... But the wrong way round :wink:

Is Bamba in the Ivory Coast squad?

21-01-2013, 12:42 PM
Nigeria have a very good chance IMO.

Could be a very open (and hopefully enjoyable) tournament this year. Bearing in mind that the last tournament was only last year, Ivory Coast must have a good chance of reaching the final again and their luck has to change eventually! I think it's between them, Morocco and Nigeria - but I've voted for Nigeria based on strip colour.

21-01-2013, 01:12 PM
Are the games on telly the day?

Russell The Dug
21-01-2013, 01:38 PM
Are the games on telly the day?

Eurosport and ITV 4 lad.

21-01-2013, 01:55 PM
Eurosport and ITV 4 lad.

You sure? Not listed on ma telly box.

21-01-2013, 01:56 PM

530 pm.

Highlights of the first game. Second game live.

21-01-2013, 02:00 PM

Zambia vs Ethiopia has just kicked off on Eurosport.

410 on Sky.

Nigeria vs Burkina Faso starts at 5:30 on ITV4.

21-01-2013, 02:00 PM
530 pm.

Highlights of the first game. Second game live.

Cheers :aok:

Russell The Dug
21-01-2013, 02:06 PM
Sorry mate assumed both where on.

21-01-2013, 02:47 PM
Why are the goalies so ***** in this tournament normally?

Find it bizarre how such a massive continent can struggle so much to find good goalies

Are you saying it's like the sequel of White Men Can't Jump?

21-01-2013, 03:04 PM
I cant watch this, no emotional tie to any team and those ****** vuvuzelas turn me right off watching.

Russell The Dug
21-01-2013, 03:22 PM
Mon the Ethiopians

21-01-2013, 04:15 PM
Algeria as Zurabi has the best website of any of the African players

21-01-2013, 04:29 PM
Good draw for Ethiopia against the holders today, come on the Walya Antelopes!

21-01-2013, 04:33 PM
Yes!! Well done Ethiopia.

21-01-2013, 06:50 PM
Togo

jamieross
21-01-2013, 06:59 PM
I voted for the Ivory Coast, probably got the best squad overall.

I see Burkino Faso picked up their first ever point just now against Nigeria.

21-01-2013, 07:10 PM
I'm backing the Atlas Lions, hopefully improved on recent years. My brother--law calls Morocco the Atlas Pussy-cats. We shall see. My wife is Moroccan and my two sons could play for either Scotland or Al-Maghreb.

TheFamous1875
21-01-2013, 07:26 PM
Any former Hibees in the tourney?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

21-01-2013, 07:48 PM
Have watched the three games on ITV4 so far and am deeply disappointed with the standard of football played
It's 'Hoof Ball' most of the time

Ivory Coast get my vote

Russell The Dug
21-01-2013, 07:50 PM
Any former Hibees in the tourney?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Big Sol.

What ever happened to Makalambay? He retried?

21-01-2013, 07:54 PM
Big Sol.

What ever happened to Makalambay? He retried?

Your spelling mistake says it all
RETRIED and still ' found guilty of impersonating a goalkeeper ' :greengrin

Russell The Dug
21-01-2013, 07:56 PM
Your spelling mistake says it all
RETRIED and still ' found guilty of impersonating a goalkeeper ' :greengrin

Haha he should probably try out for Vlads basketball outfit after all the amount of howlers he made at hibs Vlads probably got affection for the guy.

21-01-2013, 08:45 PM
Are Belgium in it this year?

21-01-2013, 08:47 PM
Are Belgium in it this year?

He plays for DR Congo.

21-01-2013, 09:19 PM
He plays for DR Congo.

My mistake, i thought he'd been capped for Belgium? :confused:

21-01-2013, 09:24 PM
My mistake, i thought he'd been capped for Belgium? :confused:

In the Olympics, apparently, once. But he has played 4 times for the DRC.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yves_Ma-Kalambay

21-01-2013, 09:29 PM
In the Olympics, apparently, once. But he has played 4 times for the DRC.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yves_Ma-Kalambay

:aok: Since he's been given a mention, i wonder if those who said he'd be playing at a much higher standard than Hibs within a year or two have eaten their words yet?

He's currently unemployed and to date has been a back up keeper at best since leaving the best club he will ever be a No1 at in his lifetime. :devil::timebomb::tin hat::fishin::stirrer:

22-01-2013, 10:20 AM
Got to be said the standard of the pitches is horrific.

rosco-hibee
22-01-2013, 12:09 PM
Got to be said, the standard of some of the football is horrific.

22-01-2013, 12:39 PM
Got to be said, the standard of some of the football is horrific.

Maybe because the pitches are horrific. :greengrin

22-01-2013, 01:45 PM
Technical ability aside, the end of the Nigeria/Burkino Faso game yesterday illustrated why African teams are such a long way of competing regularly in the closing stages of the World Cup.

The Nigerians were one-nil up, down to 10 men and there was 1 min left in stoppage time. They were in possession in the opposition half and instead of just keeping the ball, they tried to get a second goal. They lost possession, Burkino Faso broke forward and scored. Amateurish at best.

22-01-2013, 04:40 PM
Poll closes today, so this is your last chance to vote before it closes.

So far only Mali and Ivory Coast have won games, all the rest have been draws.

Russell The Dug
22-01-2013, 10:08 PM
Poll closes today, so this is your last chance to vote before it closes.

So far only Mali and Ivory Coast have won games, all the rest have been draws.

Tunisia won tonight too.

23-01-2013, 02:02 AM
I've watched most of the games and this tournament is dull. Hopefully it begins to liven up I think big Effan Ekuku (spelling?) is beginning to struggle with the post match analysis as the games have been so crap!

02-02-2013, 07:56 PM
Into the last ten minutes of extra time of the South Africa - Mali quarter final - currently 1-1.

Ghana already through to the semis!

02-02-2013, 08:12 PM
A tournament I never watch. Dunno why but never been interested in it.

02-02-2013, 08:28 PM
A tournament I never watch. Dunno why but never been interested in it.

Cos its pish.

Dunno why its pish right enough when there's so many good African players but its just a rubbish tournament, think its maybe cos the fans don't seem to have a dink what's going on and the cheering stays the same regardless of what's happening on the pitch, just seems like a **** atmosphere along side a **** standard and even worse goalkeeping!

06-02-2013, 08:08 PM
Looks like Craig Thomson has a serious rival for his corrupt official crown. Ref has denied a goal and stonewall penalty for Burkina Faso in their semi against Ghana whilst concocting a sending off for the men in green. Incredibly bad!!!

06-02-2013, 08:10 PM
Cos its pish.

Dunno why its pish right enough when there's so many good African players but its just a rubbish tournament, think its maybe cos the fans don't seem to have a dink what's going on and the cheering stays the same regardless of what's happening on the pitch, just seems like a **** atmosphere along side a **** standard and even worse goalkeeping!

That might be it.

DarrenSQH
06-02-2013, 08:18 PM
Glad Burkina Faso got through. Deserved it after the ref tried to cheat them.

07-02-2013, 02:05 AM
Glad Burkina Faso got through. Deserved it after the ref tried to cheat them.

Aye that ref was shocking

07-02-2013, 08:02 AM
I'm another who cant watch this, it just seems so amateurish, and those bloody vuvuzelas drive me mad. The tv coverage is also poor, and its someone in a tv studio in London giving us the commentary, and its clear they hardly know much about the teams?

It just comes across as boring, and thats a shame as i normally watch any type of football, well when i say any i wont watch womens stuff? :greengrin