View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs vs Dundee FC

CalgaryHibs
19-01-2013, 09:29 AM
The mighty Hibs get back at it today with Dundee visiting ER, if you going to the game today give the boys a cheer for me.

Any team yet?

What's the weather like in Leith today?

19-01-2013, 09:31 AM
Game on though :flag::flag::flag::flag:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130119/match-update-game-on_2262950_3046300

19-01-2013, 09:35 AM
Game on though :flag::flag::flag::flag:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130119/match-update-game-on_2262950_3046300

I won't believe anything about the weather until we get an update from.the Bollah Barometer.

19-01-2013, 09:35 AM
I won't believe anything about the weather until we get an update from.the Bollah Barometer.Fair point, well made :greengrin

19-01-2013, 10:22 AM
The first significant snowfall of the winter has left 2 or 3 inches in some parts of Edinburgh this morning, although we wont get more than a few flurries this afternoon. The game is ON, as i predicted yesterday to some doubt. (A lesson here should be, when it comes to meteorology, leave it to the PROFESSIONALS :grr:)

It will be colder than a welldiggers ass at ER today, saying that. The temperature will hover on or around zero, and the windchill factor will take that down to around -7 with a stiff 14mph wind blowing from a cold easterly direction (thats why they call it Baltic, people!). If youre high up in the Famous Five or the West they will literally have to scrape you off your seat with a chisel at halftime. Young children in attendance will have any snot on their nostrils frozen solid. Its that kind of day.

The bollah barometer says 1005 and rising. Sunset is at 4:18, more light snow is possible at any time but lets not make a mountain out of a molehole, ken what ah mean?

Be careful on those pavememts people :aok:

HibeeN
19-01-2013, 10:37 AM
:thumbsup: I thought it might be cold when I looked out the window and saw the snow, but I couldn't be sure until you confirmed it! :greengrin

jon paul jones
19-01-2013, 10:45 AM
Game on in so many ways as the mighty Cabbage look for revenge. Just a couple of flakes here in Musselburgh (2inches deep) so put multi-layers on and get that 2nd scarf wrapped round the outside of your jacket to show the team your colours.

Remember, the best way to stay warm is to bang those hands together

Fan power drives the team

Ooraaaaaa:hibees

19-01-2013, 10:46 AM
The first significant snowfall of the winter has left 2 or 3 inches in some parts of Edinburgh this morning, although we wont get more than a few flurries this afternoon. The game is ON, as i predicted yesterday to some doubt. (A lesson here should be, when it comes to meteorology, leave it to the PROFESSIONALS :grr:)

It will be colder than a welldiggers ass at ER today, saying that. The temperature will hover on or around zero, and the windchill factor will take that down to around -7 with a stiff 14mph wind blowing from a cold easterly direction (thats why they call it Baltic, people!). If youre high up in the Famous Five or the West they will literally have to scrape you off your seat with a chisel at halftime. Young children in attendance will have any snot on their nostrils frozen solid. Its that kind of day.

The bollah barometer says 1005 and rising. Sunset is at 4:18, more light snow is possible at any time but lets not make a mountain out of a molehole, ken what ah mean?

very surprised the game is on and credit to the council/hibs staff. When I stumbled through to bed at 4 this morning the snow was a good 2 - 3 inch thick on st clair street leading up to the ground (tried to take a pic for you all but was pished, slipped and had a hissy fit about falling) but this morning @ 10:45 when the bairn decided to get up, and the missus thought puinished for being drunk I was to get up, looked outside and the road/footpath looks to have been cleared very well.
GGTTH RIGHT INTO THEM im going for an easy 2-0 if they play like they did last time at e.r :fenlon

19-01-2013, 10:55 AM
That winter break was well timed......

Russell The Dug
19-01-2013, 10:56 AM
Feels like its been ages since PBS. 3-1 hibs this afternoon hope it's a decent crowd.

jon paul jones
19-01-2013, 11:08 AM
Team Chat then

Griffiths
Doyle

Stevenson Deegan Taiwo Wotherspoon

McGivern Hanlon McPake Clancy

Williams

Think Stevenson has done enough to merit a game lately. PF might have concerns about the cross to the back post goals that we seem to always lose i would try Stevenson in Cairneys role and roll the dice....if Lewis is having a mare, bring on Handling and put Doyle at left midfield.

everyone has a different opinion on this one...is Dundees right sided winger any good?

SneakersO'Toole
19-01-2013, 11:11 AM
No slip ups today please Hibs. Professional and thorough performance needed.

One thing we need to definitely improve on in the 2nd half of the season is picking up more points against teams likely to finish bottom 6.

MichelleHibs
19-01-2013, 11:13 AM
gutted today, was meant to be bringing the kids down but its just far too cold for them...why do they make the hibs kids games at this time of year?

hibs win 3-1....:pfgwa

19-01-2013, 11:19 AM
Team Chat then

Griffiths
Doyle

Stevenson Deegan Taiwo Wotherspoon

McGivern Hanlon McPake Clancy

Williams

Think Stevenson has done enough to merit a game lately. PF might have concerns about the cross to the back post goals that we seem to always lose i would try Stevenson in Cairneys role and roll the dice....if Lewis is having a mare, bring on Handling and put Doyle at left midfield.

everyone has a different opinion on this one...is Dundees right sided winger any good?
its a tough on this week. I think your team looks about right to what fenlon will choose however I think it would be claros instead of taiwo. I think lewis made a difference when he came on v hearts and although I don't like seeing him at left mid I think that's what fenlon will do. I would love to see Stevenson left back and mcgivern at left mid. I think Ryan could do a job in that position for us, intellegant player. can pass. has a bit of pace. and looks s though he would take a man on. why not try this for 10 min today and of not working swap him and stevenson

19-01-2013, 11:27 AM
McGivern at LM and Stevenson at LB is indeed a different opinion!

Would always have Lewis ahead of RM, just because he's playing behind him doesn't mean he can't overlap when we're knocking it about like the good old days :greengrin

19-01-2013, 11:30 AM

Nice working-class touch! :greengrin

jon paul jones
19-01-2013, 11:34 AM
McGivern at LM and Stevenson at LB is indeed a different opinion!

Would always have Lewis ahead of RM, just because he's playing behind him doesn't mean he can't overlap when we're knocking it about like the good old days :greengrin

Dancer! Glad we are all in agreement...I'll phone PF right now and give him the good news......:aok:

2-1 or 5-0

Yes 5-0 and Lewis scores his first goal for Hibs since his first one in 2011

19-01-2013, 11:34 AM
I'm gutted i cant be there, woke up this morning feeling sheite.:jamboak: It seems like forever since i have seen us play, so gutted but i think its man flu? :boo hoo::dead: It will be touch and go, but hopefully i will pull through? :wink:

19-01-2013, 11:36 AM
I'm gutted i cant be there, woke up this morning feeling sheite.:jamboak: It seems like forever since i have seen us play, so gutted but i think its man flu? :boo hoo::dead: It will be touch and go, but hopefully i will pull through? :wink:Games on BBC Alba tonight so even if you cant make it, you can avoid score and watch delayed reply OR as its on albo youll get a very good stream online if you know where to go. personally I prefer to sit in the 'front row' :wink:

19-01-2013, 11:53 AM
Games on BBC Alba tonight so even if you cant make it, you can avoid score and watch delayed reply OR as its on albo youll get a very good stream online if you know where to go. personally I prefer to sit in the 'front row' :wink:

Oh i know all about these dodgy sites and will watch on one, i just couldn't wait until the alba game i have to watch live if i can? :greengrin

19-01-2013, 12:08 PM
I hate it when the game's on Alba - it's murder avoiding finding out the score when you're at the match, usually manage to do it, though!

19-01-2013, 12:16 PM
Oh i know all about these dodgy sites and will watch on one, i just couldn't wait until the alba game i have to watch live if i can? :greengrin

Dogging sites is that BH??

19-01-2013, 12:22 PM
Dogging sites is that BH??

Naw, just the spanking ones. :wink:

19-01-2013, 12:32 PM
Naw, just the spanking ones. :wink:

That's ok then. :-)

19-01-2013, 01:02 PM
Anyone watching the Midden County game ?!

That Sproule's a no bad player...

19-01-2013, 01:09 PM
Come on Hibs, 3 points needed :pfgwa

Just looked on Edinburgh webcam.. HaHa YOU CALL THAT SNOW !??! :faf:

19-01-2013, 01:14 PM
Mon today Hibs, need that win. Hope for a decent crowd too.

OsloHibs
19-01-2013, 01:45 PM
Aye, me too.. Come on Hibs

19-01-2013, 01:56 PM
I know I ask this every game but can I pay at the gate?

sbell1875
19-01-2013, 02:04 PM
I just bought a ticket for Newcastle vs Reading. £20. It would have cost me £22 for Hibs vs Dundee today.

Therefore it cost less for an English premier league game than an SPL game.

No wonder Scottish football is in the state it is.

19-01-2013, 02:07 PM
Team

Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Wotherspoon, Claros, Deegan, Stevenson, Griffiths, Doyle

Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub SUBS: Murdoch, Maybury, Taiwo, Handling, Kuqi, Harris, Horribine

Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub Lewis Stevenson comes in at left midfield in place of the suspended Paul Cairney with Hibs switching to 4-4-2 formation

19-01-2013, 02:09 PM
will there be any sites where I can watch the game?? a PM would be appriciated

19-01-2013, 02:15 PM
Good to see some youngsters on the bench, where has Caldwell disappeared to though?

19-01-2013, 02:19 PM

I have a spare ticket Scott

19-01-2013, 02:24 PM

thanks mate but not feeling 100%

19-01-2013, 02:29 PM

what happened to Monday nights?

19-01-2013, 02:29 PM
I just bought a ticket for Newcastle vs Reading. £20. It would have cost me £22 for Hibs vs Dundee today.

Whilst I agree, you have to take into account the many, many, llions Newcastle receive from Sky. I'm sure that goes a long way to subsidising your ticket today. Then, we can always compare Hibs tickets to QPR, Chelsea or Arsenal. £62 for Man City fans last week.

19-01-2013, 02:31 PM
Team

Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Wotherspoon, Claros, Deegan, Stevenson, Griffiths, Doyle

Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub SUBS: Murdoch, Maybury, Taiwo, Handling, Kuqi, Harris, Horribine

Hibernian FC‏@HibernianFCClub Lewis Stevenson comes in at left midfield in place of the suspended Paul Cairney with Hibs switching to 4-4-2 formation

Really illustrates how weak a squad we have with a bench like that. Great to see some of the kids getting in about the first team squad but we really lack depth and experience.

Mon the Hibees, sick I can't make the game.

jamieross
19-01-2013, 02:34 PM

Cant find any, if you do though give me a PM

Whilst I agree, you have to take into account the many, many, llions Newcastle receive from Sky. I'm sure that goes a long way to subsidising your ticket today. Then, we can always compare Hibs tickets to QPR, Chelsea or Arsenal. £62 for Man City fans last week.

£60 for Arsenal fans tomorrow at Chelsea aswell. Like you mentioned, the money the EPL gets from sky goes a long way to subsidise the cost of the tickets.

19-01-2013, 02:38 PM

Good for you :aok:

19-01-2013, 02:45 PM

I paid a tenner to watch Hibs game via online. Worth every penny.

Mon the Hibs :not worth

19-01-2013, 02:45 PM

I heard it was Alba later, and if true I can normally find something. But I'm struggling to find one...

jamieross
19-01-2013, 02:52 PM
I heard it was Alba later, and if true I can normally find something. But I'm struggling to find one...

I think you can watch it on bet365 (legally, of course :aok:)

19-01-2013, 02:55 PM

Anyone else get the feeling that the 'Price Debate' has replaced the good old 'Flag Debate' on hibs.net :greengrin

Greendub
19-01-2013, 02:58 PM
Like the sect 43 banners!

19-01-2013, 03:02 PM
Tims 1 up already against Hertz.

Celtic 1 up :aok:

Man City 1 up as well

HAHA, GIRFUY yams, 1 nil doun already :faf::greengrin

Celtic score in about the first 20 seconds. :tee hee:

Tims 1 up already against Hertz.

19-01-2013, 03:03 PM
Hearts down 1-0 already

hibeequinn
19-01-2013, 03:03 PM
what happened to open all mics all i have is 2 links too the yams game.

19-01-2013, 03:04 PM

I had to open a new link once it hit 3pm for some reason.

Working fine though.

19-01-2013, 03:05 PM
So nobody has a stream then? Boo :(

ancienthibby
19-01-2013, 03:07 PM

Try this:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17499743

19-01-2013, 03:07 PM

I can't even find that. The link I had was closed down in case I was outside the UK and the Radio Scotland web site is a total joke!

19-01-2013, 03:08 PM
I cant even get open all mics

19-01-2013, 03:08 PM
good build up. Nae need for that first time cross.

19-01-2013, 03:09 PM
You have to laugh...:rolleyes:

oh dear. Heads up boys.

New bogey team:boo hoo:

0-1 Defence sleeping

19-01-2013, 03:10 PM
Hibs defence sleeping as usual 0-1

Tims 2-0 Hertz

Oh dear.

19-01-2013, 03:11 PM
4-2 hibs....naw bother

Open all mouths doesn't work on Android. Blessing in disguise

Ffs

19-01-2013, 03:12 PM
2-0 celtic

Hearts 2-0 down too

Nearly 1-1. Think the goal will get us going at least like it did V ross county. In better news 2-0 celtic.

19-01-2013, 03:13 PM
FFS Hibs - come on

19-01-2013, 03:14 PM
Good to see Hearts super star signing making a such an impact to their defence!

Nearly 1-1. Think the goal will get us going at least like it did V ross county. In better news 2-0 celtic.

How have we played so far?

this is decent football though. Stick with it and it will come.

19-01-2013, 03:15 PM

Hopefully we get a better outcome than the ross County game, which was awful, bad defending by Hibs again

hibee62
19-01-2013, 03:17 PM
Stevenson was still trying to get on afte injury, ref left it far too long and they scored. Nish fouling or diving every time ball is near him but ref giving Hibs nothing!

19-01-2013, 03:18 PM
How have we played so far?

Reasonably well I think, pretty confident we can still win this.

19-01-2013, 03:19 PM
Saying that 2-0 Dundee it should of been there then.

19-01-2013, 03:21 PM
ex-Hibbys finding the net all over the place today - would be nice if a current Hibby could step up and get a goal!

Wigan 1-2 Sunderland: Fletcher.

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2013, 03:22 PM
Fletch just scored for Sunderland-ex Hibbies scoring everywhere today

19-01-2013, 03:22 PM
Fletcher puts Sunderland 2-1 up

19-01-2013, 03:23 PM
Rob Jones just scored as well

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2013, 03:23 PM
And Jones'y scores for Donnie

19-01-2013, 03:24 PM
Dumbarton equalize 1-1

19-01-2013, 03:24 PM
Dumbarton equalise. Apparantly playing great football!

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2013, 03:25 PM
Our Tam McManus for East Fife

19-01-2013, 03:26 PM
Dumbarton equalize 1-1

Wasn't ian murray or scott smith was it lol

19-01-2013, 03:28 PM
Our Tam McManus for East Fife

Paul McManus mate. Not Tam

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2013, 03:30 PM
Paul McManus mate. Not Tam

Actually I meant to put a question mark after it-ta anyway

19-01-2013, 03:31 PM
Dundee - worst team in the SPL by a distance - Hibs need to get a grip, come on

19-01-2013, 03:32 PM
2-1 Dumbarton

LeighLoyal
19-01-2013, 03:34 PM
A loady pish as grumpy Gibby would say.

19-01-2013, 03:34 PM
I hate how Griffiths takes corners - we are short enough on goal-scorers without taking the best out of the picture completely, other than rare goals straight from the set piece

19-01-2013, 03:35 PM
McPake playing terribly according to commentary

19-01-2013, 03:36 PM
included Hibs in my accumulator, kiss of death

19-01-2013, 03:39 PM
we seem to have a lack of ideas at the top end of the pitch, but dundee look like they will score as soon as they cross the halfway line.

19-01-2013, 03:39 PM

Me as well, usually never take Hibs but thought we would be a certainty today, still time though. :pfgwa

19-01-2013, 03:40 PM
This is ****ing awful

No wonder I cannae even GIVE away a spare ticket..

Team is crying out for some creativity & pace!

Any quick wingers about?

:cool2:

hailhail22
19-01-2013, 03:40 PM
Me as well, usually never take Hibs but thought we would be a certainty today, still time though. :pfgwa

Same

19-01-2013, 03:41 PM
it sounds like they're not caring - they need to play with passion and determination against everyone - we saw it against Celtic - also focus

19-01-2013, 03:41 PM
McPake playing terribly according to commentary

This is common for mcpake. Dunno some get so excited about the guy.

19-01-2013, 03:42 PM
Fletch just git another for Sunderland

SJNB Hibby
Fletch again

I hate how Griffiths takes corners - we are short enough on goal-scorers without taking the best out of the picture completely, other than rare goals straight from the set piece

Aye, his aerial threat is really missed in the box

19-01-2013, 03:43 PM
This is common for mcpake. Dunno some get so excited about the guy.

Cause he gives 100% every game. Mon hibs

LeighLoyal
19-01-2013, 03:44 PM
Handling for Stevenson please.

19-01-2013, 03:45 PM
Aye, his aerial threat is really missed in the box

Not all goals from corners are headers

19-01-2013, 03:45 PM
We are playing some good football but not troubling Douglas in goals. Will be frustrating to say the least if we cannot take 3 points from this game.

19-01-2013, 03:46 PM
Not all goals from corners are headers

and he's our only effective goalscorer, albeit he's not scored enough recently, Doyle not sounding too hot so far

19-01-2013, 03:48 PM

Same. Pish.

bathhibby
19-01-2013, 03:49 PM
Robbo on open all mikes delights in reporting us losing.
****ing we fat Alky Jakey

19-01-2013, 03:49 PM
Get kuqi and handling on

19-01-2013, 03:50 PM
Is the Albion bar open?

19-01-2013, 03:50 PM
Absolute pish

19-01-2013, 03:54 PM
Very poor first half. We look half asleep, heavy-footed, unsure and so slow and are really missing Cairney. Still could come back though.

LeighLoyal
19-01-2013, 03:56 PM
Very poor first half. We look half asleep and so slow and are really missing Cairney.

Why I say put young Handling on, fresh eager and will run. If Sproule was all up at Hibs then Stevenson is surely on the next bus.

19-01-2013, 03:58 PM
Why I say put young Handling on, fresh eager and will run. If Sproule was all up at Hibs then Stevenson is surely on the next bus.

Think Stevenson is actually having a decent game today - :greengrin

19-01-2013, 03:58 PM
Pretty rubbish, Doyle missing his sitter for the 5th(?) game in a row.

Kuqi would actually offer something different, might be worth giving him 45 minutes instead of his usual 4...

19-01-2013, 03:59 PM

Yup, could be a good game for Handling to come on and give us a bit of momentum. We really don't look like scoring, unfortunately. Neither Sparky or Doyle have looked comfortable 1st half.

19-01-2013, 04:02 PM
Fletch again

His first was good, but wait until you see his 2nd. :top marks

19-01-2013, 04:02 PM
No creativity without cairney. Hanlon's making Nish look like a superstar.

19-01-2013, 04:03 PM
Sadly Hibs are currently not a team that scores many goals - need to go way back to our 3-2 home defeat v Motherwell to the last time we scored more than one goal

SJNB Hibby
19-01-2013, 04:05 PM
His first was good, but wait until you see his 2nd. :top marks

Just saw them both-cracking goals
Duncan Disorderly has the record for most goals by a Scot in the EPL, but Fletch must be getting close

19-01-2013, 04:06 PM
Griffiths scores direct from free kick 1-1! :greengrin

19-01-2013, 04:06 PM
1-1 Free kick Sparkie

hibeequinn
19-01-2013, 04:07 PM
YASSSSSSSSSS GRIFFITHS :flag:

made it and scored it.

Hurrah for Leigh Griffiths

19-01-2013, 04:08 PM
goooooood Sparky! Come on Hibs lets push on for the 3 points, need to build up some momentum after the break.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

19-01-2013, 04:08 PM
Leigh Leigh super Leigh:thumbsup::flag:

19-01-2013, 04:17 PM
our defence is still completely dodgy by sounds of it, thankfully we have a decent goalie

19-01-2013, 04:19 PM
With Inverness winning and having a game in hand we could really do with 3 points. Mon tae france Hibs!:flag:

HiBremian
19-01-2013, 04:21 PM
our defence is still completely dodgy by sounds of it, thankfully we have a decent goalie

just been proved right - again :confused:

19-01-2013, 04:21 PM
Dundee still making chances, hoping we can just scrape a win and move on from this.

19-01-2013, 04:22 PM
Cmon Hibs furfxache waken up.

19-01-2013, 04:28 PM
Williams keeping us in it.

19-01-2013, 04:29 PM
Defence being sliced open by balls that should be intercepted easily.

Not looking nearly as solid as we have done in the first half of the season.

Off the bar
19-01-2013, 04:36 PM
has the attendance been announced?

19-01-2013, 04:37 PM
3 nil ICT McKay again

19-01-2013, 04:38 PM
The Sheep :greengrin

19-01-2013, 04:39 PM
Are we looking like scoring??

19-01-2013, 04:40 PM
mon danny!

19-01-2013, 04:42 PM
Tims 3-1 Hertz

19-01-2013, 04:44 PM
frustrating, come on Hibs, please gies a goal

HiBremian
19-01-2013, 04:45 PM
has the attendance been announced?

10,386 on the HTV xtra feed

19-01-2013, 04:47 PM
Tims 4-1 Hertz

19-01-2013, 04:48 PM

Good crowd for late January

HiBremian
19-01-2013, 04:51 PM
FT 1-1.

Not good enough.

19-01-2013, 04:51 PM
Points dropped again

19-01-2013, 04:52 PM
very disappointing.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

19-01-2013, 04:53 PM
Utter dross in the end. If we want to stay in the top 6 we need to pick up more than a point at home to Dundee.

19-01-2013, 04:54 PM
Disappointing.

We really should be beating Dundee.

And before anybody says "we shouldn't be expecting to beat anyone", we're a larger club, we spend more money and we have superior facilities.

At home, it should be 3 points against them everytime.

19-01-2013, 04:55 PM
Truly awful performance from Hibs - Dundee could have had this game sewn up in the 1st half, we were slightly better second half, but 2 points badly needed dropped. Wonder what Fenlon's excuse will be this time?

19-01-2013, 04:56 PM
Points dropped again

but we are getting better

19-01-2013, 04:56 PM
Absolutely pathetic performance.

19-01-2013, 04:57 PM
That was a frustrating afternoon, not good enough, take sparky out the team and we're bottom 6 ;(

Off the bar
19-01-2013, 04:58 PM

cheers!

not a bad crowd, poor result though :confused:

19-01-2013, 04:58 PM
I know folk are saying 2 points dropped, but from the sounds of our performance did we deserve any more than the 1 point?

LeighLoyal
19-01-2013, 04:59 PM
Mince, meanwhile Inverness with another thumping win, looking like they're going to collect the £1m plus prize for second.

19-01-2013, 05:04 PM
Mince, meanwhile Inverness with another thumping win, looking like they're going to collect the £1m plus prize for second.

:Agree:

They don't have to play Doyle for 90 minutes of every game.

19-01-2013, 05:09 PM
I know folk are saying 2 points dropped, but from the sounds of our performance did we deserve any more than the 1 point?

No

19-01-2013, 05:10 PM
Really lacked attacking options in the middle of the park. Deegan and Claros are too defensive, missed Cairney badly too. Just didnt move the ball forward with any great pace and looked sluggish throughout. Will need much better to get anything out of our next two games.

19-01-2013, 05:11 PM
That was dreadful, nothing creative at all.

19-01-2013, 05:13 PM
Same old, same old by the sounds of it.

:boo hoo:

19-01-2013, 05:14 PM
Draw was about right. We just didn't look dangerous when we had the ball. Was a plus that McGivern played so far up the pitch.

TheEastTerrace
19-01-2013, 05:15 PM
Sorely missed Cairney on the left and we were short of ideas up front against a reasonably well organised defence

Our lot were still in holiday mode for the Dundee goal too, totally asleep

Hibeesforever
19-01-2013, 05:16 PM
We are Hibernian, we have dealt with this inconsistency for years.....it is just not good enough. Why even bother to beat Celtic and then turn out and casually play as if "it will just happen" against the bottom club.

Too many sideways passes.....

19-01-2013, 05:27 PM
We are Hibernian, we have dealt with this inconsistency for years.....it is just not good enough. Why even bother to beat Celtic and then turn out and casually play as if "it will just happen" against the bottom club.

Too many sideways passes.....

:agree: beat the league leaders 1 week then fail to beat the bottom team, how many times :rolleyes: not the best way to go about staying near the top of the league, what baffles me is that its different hibs teams over years and years and still the same mindset it seems? it the hibs way :confused:

19-01-2013, 05:30 PM
Disappointing.

We really should be beating Dundee.

And before anybody says "we shouldn't be expecting to beat anyone", we're a larger club, we spend more money and we have superior facilities.

At home, it should be 3 points against them everytime.Means next to **** all on the day though. No one gets 3 points against someone everytime at home.

Emerald
19-01-2013, 05:31 PM
Utter mince. We are one paced and have no ideas at all. if it wasn't for Griffiths our attacking options would be zero. Its the same week in week out, we are going nowhere. If folk are happy watching that then I'm very concerned for our future. Its eye bleeding guff.

19-01-2013, 05:34 PM
Shows how badly we need a creative midfielder. There is just a lack of imagination in the final third and we lack ideas in goal-scoring opportunities.

19-01-2013, 05:35 PM
That was sore on the eyes today.
The passing was awful and no creativity in the first half in particular.
Words clearly said at half time.

Well done everyone who went along.

Going for a kip on the train now

19-01-2013, 05:36 PM
I'm sure paddy was aware of our lack of pace and creativity but surely today will give him the kick to make it happen sooner rather than thrashing out last minute deals.

hibee
19-01-2013, 05:37 PM
Shows how badly we need a creative midfielder. There is just a lack of imagination in the final third and we lack ideas in goal-scoring opportunities.

We really should go all out to sign someone like Frank Lampard only problem could be his wages though!

HibeeN
19-01-2013, 05:38 PM
Had a good 10 minute spell at the start of the 2nd half, but apart from that we were pretty toothless. Some decent individual performances but as a team we didn't have enough creativity, pace or urgency to win the game.

19-01-2013, 05:40 PM
http://www.snspix.com/image/8334391_400_400_0_0_fit_0_331e2eb1426ed56ff95b8f4a ce3a123c.jpg :faf:

19-01-2013, 05:40 PM

Even with Cairney we struggle to pass the ball well in the right areas. Today I thought Fenlon had to change it around a bit but it was so so predictable.

Also not helped by a nightmare 1st half for our centre backs.

HiBremian
19-01-2013, 05:44 PM
The work Claros does at the back of midfield - holding up and linking - needs mirrored at the front of midfield. Cairney ain't that sort of player. And much as I admire his effort, Doyley has been weak on the linking front recently. Problem is, what else do we have?

HibeeN
Also not helped by a nightmare 1st half for our centre backs.

Thought McPake in particuar had a poor game. A lot of slack passes which put us under unnecessary pressure.

We really should go all out to sign someone like Frank Lampard only problem could be his wages though!

FFS. I'm not saying sign Lampard, Iniesta, Goetze, etc. We lack someone that can unlock defences and play the killer balls to our strikers. A Zemamma/Latapy type of player. That's how our strikers are having to drop deeper and deeper to collect the ball and that's how the opposition defence push up towards us.

19-01-2013, 05:45 PM
I don't think we were as bad as some people are making out I thought we were poor in the first half but improved in the second half. You have to give dundee some credit I thought they were great today. I do agree we need someone to be more creative in the middle

19-01-2013, 05:45 PM
Thought McPake in particuar had a poor game. A lot of slack passes which put us under unnecessary pressure.

He's been playing like that for a while now

HiBremian
19-01-2013, 05:49 PM
FFS. I'm not saying sign Lampard, Iniesta, Goetze, etc. We lack someone that can unlock defences and play the killer balls to our strikers. A Zemamma/Latapy type of player. That's how our strikers are having to drop deeper and deeper to collect the ball and that's how the opposition defence push up towards us.

:agree: Suspect this is why we can hold out for a draw against the yams, win by a magic sparky goal against the soap-dodgers, but can't routinely put away teams like Dundee. We don't have the midfielder that can help us dominate these games.

19-01-2013, 05:49 PM

Show some resillience, man!

We're only 4 points behind and we've got 16 games of the season left, including 2 against ICT.

On another note, we've now reached last season't total already.

19-01-2013, 05:50 PM
When you come away from Easter road reasonably happy with a point against ***** like that then there's something wrong.
We created very little and I thought Dundee had the better chances.
Mcgivern was my man of the match

19-01-2013, 05:56 PM
Show some resillience, man!

We're only 4 points behind and we've got 16 games of the season left, including 2 against ICT.

On another note, we've now reached last season't total already.

Indeed. I doubt the manager and players has given it up.

19-01-2013, 05:57 PM
We need a bit of pace and trickery.

We did get a few crosses in but Kuqi clearly not trusted. Hopefully we cut our losses there too.

19-01-2013, 05:58 PM
When you come away from Easter road reasonably happy with a point against ***** like that then there's something wrong.
We created very little and I thought Dundee had the better chances.
Mcgivern was my man of the match

Our defence sit far far too deep and allow other teams to dominate. (and Mcpake sits another 2 yrds further back than anyone) I thought we played well on the left side McGivern and Stevenson need to work on the overlaps but that has great potential. Right hand side was pish, and no one seems to want to attack through the middle. Tactically we must be one of the easiest teams in the league to play against. Much better required from all.

19-01-2013, 06:00 PM
We need a bit of pace and trickery.

We did get a few crosses in but Kuqi clearly not trusted. Hopefully we cut our losses there too.

Definitely. Spoony and Stevenson are so 2 season ago!

These are the guys who should be the backbone of a stronger bench if we're going to push on.

19-01-2013, 06:05 PM

These are the guys who should be the backbone of a stronger bench if we're going to push on.

Hope you've got yer tin hat on mikey, It's a brave man that criticizes Stevenson on these messageboards!

19-01-2013, 06:09 PM

Absolutely! Badly missed Cairney today cause having Stevenson playing in midfield is basically like playing 5 in defence.

19-01-2013, 06:10 PM

ICT finished 6 points above us last season, we are currently 4 points behind them. Yes, there is a big difference in terms of resources available to us both, but we have improved as much as they have.

The only reason ICT are where they are is that they stuck by their manager during much worse times than we've had under Fenlon.

Emerald
Our defence sit far far too deep and allow other teams to dominate. (and Mcpake sits another 2 yrds further back than anyone) I thought we played well on the left side McGivern and Stevenson need to work on the overlaps but that has great potential. Right hand side was pish, and no one seems to want to attack through the middle. Tactically we must be one of the easiest teams in the league to play against. Much better required from all.

:top marksAgree with all of that and exactly what I was saying at the game today. Although I think the midfield sit far too deep too. Its not pretty to watch, thats for sure.

Hope you've got yer tin hat on mikey, It's a brave man that criticizes Stevenson on these messageboards!

To save time, I just wear it all the time :greengrin

xyz23jc
19-01-2013, 06:15 PM
To save time, I just wear it all the time

:greengrin:greengrin:top marksThat made me laugh out loud! Ken wit ye mean man, molehill out of a mountain etc etc!

Bukta#8
19-01-2013, 06:30 PM
Never in a million years would I have believed nish would look like a football player but he applied himself better than any outfield player we had on show

19-01-2013, 06:32 PM
We seem to have this idea at the club that we only need to turn up for the games against the larger clubs in order to stay up the table, while the games against clubs at the lower reaches of the table don't matter.

They need to wake up and realize that 3 points is still 3 points regardless of who they're playing.

I see Ivan scored 2 of Ross County's goals today against St Mirren. Somebody at Ross County must have told him that every point counts. Clearly nobody informed him of this while he was still with us!

Emerald
19-01-2013, 06:36 PM
We seem to have this idea at the club that we only need to turn up for the games against the larger clubs in order to stay up the table, while the games against clubs at the lower reaches of the table don't matter.

They need to wake up and realize that 3 points is still 3 points regardless of who they're playing.

I see Ivan scored 2 of Ross County's goals today against St Mirren. Somebody at Ross County must have told him that every point counts. Clearly nobody informed him of this while he was still with us!

Ivan was in the oppositions box and spent most of the game in their half. At Hibs he played in a midfield deployed four yards in front of the defence and it becomes very difficult to score from there. But hey, this is progress.

19-01-2013, 06:41 PM
Ivan was in the oppositions box and spent most of the game in their half. At Hibs he played in a midfield deployed four yards in front of the defence and it becomes very difficult to score from there. But hey, this is progress.

Exactly.

19-01-2013, 06:44 PM

As I understand it, we shifted him into midfield as he was apparently "figured out" by all the other clubs in the league when played up front.

Well he certainly wasn't "figured out" today by St Mirren....

19-01-2013, 06:44 PM

I'd say already matching last seasons points tally is progress. We weren't good today. We need to get a wide player with pace to allow Cairney into the middle then we might actually see someone go forward with the ball and attack/play some passes forwards.

Emerald
19-01-2013, 06:46 PM
As I understand it, we shifted him into midfield as he was apparently "figured out" by all the other clubs in the league when played up front.

Well he certainly wasn't "figured out" today by St Mirren....

You need to figure out what the best use of a player is, some managers can and some can't! :agree:

19-01-2013, 06:48 PM
You need to figure out what the best use of a player is, some managers can and some can't! :agree:

And we always seem to find the managers that can't. :boo hoo:

I know we always crack jokes on here about how players suddenly become 10x better when they leave here. But we should really be asking questions as to why this happens, instead of just having a laugh about it all the time.

19-01-2013, 06:56 PM
1st half everything was slow with no urgency - poor decisions when on the ball - and no real quality.

We came out and for the first 10-15 mins of the second half looked a completely different team.

After we got the goal back - we still rarely tested old Rab in goals and although we seemed in control and wanting to win it more than them - everytime Dundee attacked they looked dangerous.

I do think we are still missing a creative midfielder to unlock defenders and more depth from the bench - none of those youngsters were going to change the game today.

Kuqi must be away if he wasn't on the bench ?

2 points dropped but at the same time - Williams made 3 important saves at key times so we could have had nothing.

Noticed some of the boo boys were back again today also..

19-01-2013, 06:58 PM
I see Lyle Taylor and Chris Erskine scored today - here's hoping they are in Hibs strips soon. C'mon Rod my man, get the business done.

Greendub
19-01-2013, 06:58 PM
First half I thought we were pish, improved second, but I felt we missed Cairney, Lewis had a good game, played some cracking passes into the box.

I also felt big Ben kept us in it, McPake was off the boil today, lucky to get a draw.

I honestly don't think we merited much more

But hey, were still 4th, the yams got pumped, all good here :-)

Emerald
19-01-2013, 07:04 PM
I'd say already matching last seasons points tally is progress. We weren't good today. We need to get a wide player with pace to allow Cairney into the middle then we might actually see someone go forward with the ball and attack/play some passes forwards.

Last season was a disaster, so if we do better than last season then technically it is progress but come on. We are better than this, how can we get folk back through the turnstyles watching that rubbish. Yes, I enjoyed the cup win over Herats and our win against Celtic but the only difference I can see over last year is we are getting a wee bit luck and if it wasn't for on loan Griffiths and a fantastic improvement in the goalkeeping department, we haven't really improved. On loan McGivern has been good too but take these loanees away and where is the progress??? Its dire to watch and thats what we really need to change if we want the punters back.

19-01-2013, 07:13 PM
1st half everything was slow with no urgency - poor decisions when on the ball - and no real quality.

We came out and for the first 10-15 mins of the second half looked a completely different team.

After we got the goal back - we still rarely tested old Rab in goals and although we seemed in control and wanting to win it more than them - everytime Dundee attacked they looked dangerous.

I do think we are still missing a creative midfielder to unlock defenders and more depth from the bench - none of those youngsters were going to change the game today.

Kuqi must be away if he wasn't on the bench ?

2 points dropped but at the same time - Williams made 3 important saves at key times so we could have had nothing.

Noticed some of the boo boys were back again today also..

he was on the bench?

19-01-2013, 07:17 PM
he was on the bench?

Sorry my mistake - thought he might have brought him on and gone 4-3-3 - risky yes but Dundee were sitting deep at the back.

19-01-2013, 07:23 PM
Sorry my mistake - thought he might have brought him on and gone 4-3-3 - risky yes but Dundee were sitting deep at the back.

might not have done much harm........chesnie couldnae hit a coos erkie wi a banjo today.....

.........mind you, kuqi scored a screamer in the warm up too! :greengrin

19-01-2013, 07:25 PM
Last season was a disaster, so if we do better than last season then technically it is progress but come on. We are better than this, how can we get folk back through the turnstyles watching that rubbish. Yes, I enjoyed the cup win over Herats and our win against Celtic but the only difference I can see over last year is we are getting a wee bit luck and if it wasn't for on loan Griffiths and a fantastic improvement in the goalkeeping department, we haven't really improved. On loan McGivern has been good too but take these loanees away and where is the progress??? Its dire to watch and thats what we really need to change if we want the punters back.

Barcelona would have probably achieved nothing in the last few years without Messi in their team. Where would Man Utd be this year without Van Persie? Imagining what a team would be like without key players is a strange way to criticise, and largely redundant - they have been here, and they have played very well (we were missing one of our best players today, incidentally).

We weren't in a position to sign either Griffiths or McGiverm permanently before the start of the season, we in even less of a position to do so now - however, they have improved us hugely by being here on loan, and that seems like sound management to me.

We are far from perfect, but we have improved. We can improve much, much more, and I'm confident that Fenlon can facilitate that.

Emerald
19-01-2013, 09:30 PM
Barcelona would have probably achieved nothing in the last few years without Messi in their team. Where would Man Utd be this year without Van Persie? Imagining what a team would be like without key players is a strange way to criticise, and largely redundant - they have been here, and they have played very well (we were missing one of our best players today, incidentally).

We weren't in a position to sign either Griffiths or McGiverm permanently before the start of the season, we in even less of a position to do so now - however, they have improved us hugely by being here on loan, and that seems like sound management to me.

We are far from perfect, but we have improved. We can improve much, much more, and I'm confident that Fenlon can facilitate that.

I really hope you're right but I can't see improvement outside loans in our squad, and the football we're playing is horrible to watch. For all the years I've watched Hibs, this has got to be up there with the worst football we've played (thats maybe harsh). Thats my opinion and my season ticket is getting thought about AGAIN and I'm starting to question the investment, I will always support them but its not the type of football I want to see Hibs playing. I actually dont mind getting beat if we play some decent stuff. I also think that most of our players today were ok but we never done it as a team. Hope we can get it right soon.

20-01-2013, 09:06 AM
I see Lyle Taylor and Chris Erskine scored today - here's hoping they are in Hibs strips soon. C'mon Rod my man, get the business done.

I doubt any of these types of players we have been watching will arrive during January. We don't have money to pay transfer fees as Fenlon keeps saying.

20-01-2013, 09:31 AM
I really hope you're right but I can't see improvement outside loans in our squad, and the football we're playing is horrible to watch. For all the years I've watched Hibs, this has got to be up there with the worst football we've played (thats maybe harsh). Thats my opinion and my season ticket is getting thought about AGAIN and I'm starting to question the investment, I will always support them but its not the type of football I want to see Hibs playing. I actually dont mind getting beat if we play some decent stuff. I also think that most of our players today were ok but we never done it as a team. Hope we can get it right soon.It isn't, that 1st half is one of the worst displays I've ever seen at Easter Rd from a Hibs team. We could have been out the game entirely after 30 mins if Dundee took their chances.

That Hibs team yesterday looked like they were thrown together for the 1st time. They looked as though they couldn't be bothered tbh.

20-01-2013, 05:24 PM
For some reason we believe that urgency is only reuired in the last 10 minutes of a game and we have a striker in Doyle who needs 20 chances to tuck one away.

Add to that a centre half who is regularly beaten by the high ball and other who is badly off form and it's just as well we've got a decent keeper to keep us in games.

Watching the game again on ALBA, the highlight was definitely when the gaelic commentary told me that 'Wotherspoon's fancy pisher is a fish pie.'

Couldn't have put it better myself.

DanTheMan
20-01-2013, 05:44 PM
Anyone know what the attendance was yesterday?

20-01-2013, 06:04 PM
Anyone know what the attendance was yesterday?

10,300 I think I seen on Alba

21-01-2013, 04:10 AM

Have said for ages that mc pake drags everyone back to our goal. Do t know why but my opinion is he likes the backs to the wall stuff. Push up man!!!