View Full Version : Match Updates Today's Matches

13-01-2013, 12:48 PM
Man Utd vs Liverpool just now followed by Arsenal vs Man City.

Man Utd 1-0 Liverpool - RVP

Maybe now the Man Utd fans can sing about their team rather than Hillsborough :confused:

13-01-2013, 12:49 PM
I just said its all Liverpool and knew it was a knack for man utd to score

13-01-2013, 12:49 PM
Van Persie- What a guy :thumbsup:

13-01-2013, 12:50 PM
Van Persie- What a guy :thumbsup:Strange, weren't United fans signing about him being a rapist only last season?

13-01-2013, 01:08 PM
Liverpool don't half look poor going forward today.

Bit of a non-event so far.

13-01-2013, 01:11 PM
Liverpool are a poor side, Gerard not the player he was, leaving Suarez is out there on his own.

They used to be the best side in Europe when i was growing up, now they are not even the best side in Liverpool.

13-01-2013, 01:13 PM
Should have been 2-0.

Somehow, it isn't.

13-01-2013, 01:15 PM
Strange, weren't United fans signing about him being a rapist only last season?

Football fans being fickle. Whatever next?

As for the game, Joe Allen must be the most overrated player going. He's murder. Poor game really but the pre match predictions of Suarez running Ferdinand ragged aren't looking too clever right now. United looking comfortable in the midfield without really having to do a lot.

As an.aside well done to Man City fans for refusing to pay £62 for a ticket at Arsenal.

13-01-2013, 01:17 PM
Football fans being fickle. Whatever next?

As for the game, Joe Allen must be the most overrated player going. He's murder. Poor game really but the pre match predictions of Suarez running Ferdinand ragged aren't looking too clever right now. United looking comfortable in the midfield without really having to do a lot.

As an.aside well done to Man City fans for refusing to pay £62 for a ticket at Arsenal.

Indeed - £62 for a football match is ridiculous.

13-01-2013, 01:23 PM
As for the game, Joe Allen must be the most overrated player going.

:agree: He is a very good player however he is just a water-carrier and nothing more. If you want to be a top side you need more than he offers. Didnt they pay a stupid price for him too?

13-01-2013, 01:24 PM

Outrageous price for a game of fitba!

13-01-2013, 01:25 PM

:agree: I'd imagine there is a ceiling price that folk will pay to go to the football, and for the majority its a lot lower than £62?

13-01-2013, 01:29 PM
:agree: I'd imagine there is a ceiling price that folk will pay to go to the football, and for the majority its a lot lower than £62?

If you're as tight as I am it certainly is a lot lower! :greengrin

13-01-2013, 01:35 PM
:agree: He is a very good player however he is just a water-carrier and nothing more. If you want to be a top side you need more than he offers. Didnt they pay a stupid price for him too?

15 I think

13-01-2013, 01:37 PM
15 I think

I thought it was £15m, that is a sheer waste of cash. Could have gone to abroad and bought better option for cheaper/same price.

13-01-2013, 01:45 PM
2-0

13-01-2013, 01:46 PM
2-0 Vidic goal.

13-01-2013, 01:49 PM
2-1 sturridge

13-01-2013, 01:51 PM
Dangerous position here with RVP over the ball...

13-01-2013, 01:53 PM
I thought it was £15m, that is a sheer waste of cash. Could have gone to abroad and bought better option for cheaper/same price.

Rodgers seems to buy who he knows and has worked with Sturridge Allen borini and tried to get Siguršsson before he went to spurs

13-01-2013, 01:53 PM
Scousers with flares, and a few with tank tops too. :wink:

13-01-2013, 01:56 PM

13-01-2013, 02:03 PM
Man utd are looking shaky here

13-01-2013, 02:04 PM
Shocking dive from Downing. No wonder Evra's peeved.

13-01-2013, 02:20 PM
Is this the only fixture Gerrard tries in? Rolling back the years today!

Into injury time, Utd hanging on.

13-01-2013, 02:25 PM
Is this the only fixture Gerrard tries in? Rolling back the years today!

Into injury time, Utd hanging on.

Hang on! 2-1. 10 point lead for a couple of hours at least :aok:

13-01-2013, 02:25 PM
10 point gap opened up ahead of City's tricky trip to the Emirates.

League over if Arsenal win?

13-01-2013, 03:27 PM
Arsenal 0-1 Man City - Barry

Arsenal also down to 10 men after Koscielny was somewhat controversially ordered off inside 10 minutes for conceding a penalty after hauling down Dzeko (which was subsequently missed).

How bad is Abou Diaby?!

13-01-2013, 03:30 PM
Arsenal 0-2 Man City - Dzeko

So one sided...

13-01-2013, 03:33 PM

Arsenal also down to 10 men after Koscielny was somewhat controversially ordered off inside 10 minutes for conceding a penalty after hauling down Dzeko (which was subsequently missed).

How bad is Abou Diaby?!

Diaby is a great player IMO. Unfortunately hes always injured and still not 100% today.

13-01-2013, 03:35 PM

How bad is Abou Diaby?!

I think he's a cracking player tbh, isn't he just back from a long injury? Take it he's playing tom kite?

13-01-2013, 03:37 PM
I think he's a cracking player tbh, isn't he just back from a long injury? Take it he's playing tom kite?

First game in 3 months

13-01-2013, 03:38 PM
Diaby is a great player IMO. Unfortunately hes always injured and still not 100% today.

This is the first time I've seen him play in a while TBH and he's well off the pace today :agree:

13-01-2013, 03:39 PM
First game in 3 months

Guess I should cut him some slack then :greengrin

He shouldn't be on the park if he's not ready though - based on his performance first half, he's far from match fit.

13-01-2013, 03:39 PM
This is Diabys first game in 3 and a half months, he'd not be on the pitch if Arteta was not injured yesterday.

13-01-2013, 03:49 PM
10 point gap opened up ahead of City's tricky trip to the Emirates.

League over if Arsenal win?

People said that last season. Then there were six matches to go then Now there are sixteen!

13-01-2013, 03:52 PM

How bad is Abou Diaby?!

Milner, just in case any unfortunates have Barry as 1st scorer.

And Diaby hasn't played for months. If you think he's a bad player you must have seen some belters in your time.......

13-01-2013, 03:55 PM
had Dzeko 1st goal. Shocking pen :-(

13-01-2013, 04:05 PM
And Diaby hasn't played for months. If you think he's a bad player you must have seen some belters in your time.......

I was being specific to today's game.

13-01-2013, 04:13 PM
I was being specific to today's game.

Big Niall used the phrase 'ring rusty'. Think that is about right.

13-01-2013, 04:16 PM

Means a whole different thing in my house

13-01-2013, 04:18 PM

I've not had the commentary on as I'm listening to ESPN radio so didn't realise he had been out for so long when I initially posted.

13-01-2013, 04:21 PM
Diaby qualifies as a typical Wenger buy. Looked like he could be one of the worlds best players before coming to Arsenal, and got worse under Wenger (see also Nasri and Arshavin).

13-01-2013, 04:33 PM
how is that a red ffs

13-01-2013, 04:33 PM
never a red card

13-01-2013, 04:34 PM
Shocking by the ref, trying to justify it by saying it was a 2 footed tackle? :rolleyes:

13-01-2013, 05:11 PM
Diaby qualifies as a typical Wenger buy. Looked like he could be one of the worlds best players before coming to Arsenal, and got worse under Wenger (see also Nasri and Arshavin).Sorry but this is complete and utter rubbish.

Diaby is a good player, he has not got worse under Wenger, on his day he is much much better than he was when Arsenal first signed him.

Nasri had a good 6 months at Arsenal, little to do with Wenger he just didn't bother his arse the rest of the time there.

Arshavin is another one, he rarely bothered.

You also forget all the players that became brilliant under Wenger, guys like Henry, Vieira, Toure, Pires, Lauren, Anelka, Ljungberg, Fabregas, RVP and so on.

13-01-2013, 05:27 PM
Sorry but this is complete and utter rubbish.

Diaby is a good player, he has not got worse under Wenger, on his day he is much much better than he was when Arsenal first signed him.

Nasri had a good 6 months at Arsenal, little to do with Wenger he just didn't bother his arse the rest of the time there.

Arshavin is another one, he rarely bothered.

You also forget all the players that became brilliant under Wenger, guys like Henry, Vieira, Toure, Pires, Lauren, Anelka, Ljungberg, Fabregas, RVP and so on.

Arshavin was one of the hottest properties in world football when he left Zenit with the UEFA cup. Nasri was the best player in France at OM and was talked as the new Zizou. Diaby had already looked sensational and Wenger knew all about him because of Clarefontaine. None of them have kicked on.

The players you mention from the unbeatables generation are from when he actually had knowledge of the best players in France and Europe. He hasnt got that anymore and it shows.

13-01-2013, 05:38 PM
So he signed the best player in France yet had no knowledge of the best players in France? I didn't deny Arshavin was brilliant but he was and is horribly lazy, ask any Arsenal fans who watch him, I'm sure they would tell you similar.

13-01-2013, 05:43 PM

Arsenal have the dearest ST in Britain and prob Europe. Think I read that the cheapest was nearly a grand and that doesn't include games v Man U, spurs, Chelsea, Liverpool or Europe.

That is daylight robbery.

13-01-2013, 05:49 PM
Arsenal have the dearest ST in Britain and prob Europe. Think I read that the cheapest was nearly a grand and that doesn't include games v Man U, spurs, Chelsea, Liverpool or Europe.

That is daylight robbery.

Some of their STs are nearly £2k apparently! I didn't read the details of those tickets or what they include mind you but that's absurd.

They're not even "top 4" material anymore!

13-01-2013, 05:52 PM
Arshavin was one of the hottest properties in world football when he left Zenit with the UEFA cup. Nasri was the best player in France at OM and was talked as the new Zizou. Diaby had already looked sensational and Wenger knew all about him because of Clarefontaine. None of them have kicked on.

The players you mention from the unbeatables generation are from when he actually had knowledge of the best players in France and Europe. He hasnt got that anymore and it shows.

Invincibles. The unbeatables were the Hearts team that won the Champs League under Hurly Burley.

13-01-2013, 05:54 PM

And the irony is that it's teams like Man City that are driving the price up with their ridiculous spending!! What was it they have spent, something around £700 million :greengrin

13-01-2013, 06:12 PM
Some of their STs are nearly £2k apparently! I didn't read the details of those tickets or what they include mind you but that's absurd.

They're not even "top 4" material anymore!

Yep, the top price for a season ticket at the Emirates just now is £1,955. That works out at over £100 per game!

That is shocking.

For that sort of price, I would be wanting a stand named after me and a place on the bench!

13-01-2013, 06:20 PM
Yep, the top price for a season ticket at the Emirates just now is £1,955. That works out at over £100 per game!

That is shocking.

For that sort of price, I would be wanting a stand named after me and a place on the bench!

Is that in some plush seated area or the like? I presume it's nothing fancier than a normal ticket (it's not expensive enough for hospitality STs for example).

Either way, it's exorbitant - the seats all face the same way...

13-01-2013, 06:21 PM

Henry came from Juventus, Viera from Milan, Anelka from PSG, Fabregas from Barca, RVP from Feyenoord. Lauren and Pires were established players in Spain and France. But of course they'd be nothing had it not been for Wenger, plucked from clubs and leagues nobody had ever heard of of course.

13-01-2013, 06:25 PM
Is it obvious I can't stand Arsene Wenger?

13-01-2013, 06:48 PM

That is shocking.

Spoke to a couple of Arsenal fans at the utd v gunners match back in November. They told me that one of the cheapest ST are nearly £1K and that is right at the top tier. Daylight robbery from a team that hasn't won a trophy in 8 years and always lose their best players.

My Man Utd season ticket cost me £550 and that includes all 19 EPL home games. The cup and European package works on how successful the team are in the competitions and the ticket office direct debit the discounted price out of your account (roughly £27.75) a couple of weeks before the match.

13-01-2013, 07:48 PM
Back on the topic of today's matches ..... :wink:

Malaga 0 Barca 1 at half time.

PS Gerry Armstrong is a total fud and his fuddery inceases week by week as his obvious dislike of Barca manifests itself in his inane drivelling. You're right, I don't like him :greengrin

13-01-2013, 07:58 PM
Spoke to a couple of Arsenal fans at the utd v gunners match back in November. They told me that one of the cheapest ST are nearly £1K and that is right at the top tier. Daylight robbery from a team that hasn't won a trophy in 8 years and always lose their best players.

My Man Utd season ticket cost me £550 and that includes all 19 EPL home games. The cup and European package works on how successful the team are in the competitions and the ticket office direct debit the discounted price out of your account (roughly £27.75) a couple of weeks before the match.

That's not bad for a season ticket at Old Trafford, less than £30 a game!

I think the hierarchy at Arsenal are having a laugh if I'm being honest. To be the most expensive team to follow in England and probably one of the most expensive teams in the world, when they don't actually win anything and, as someone else has already said, are always selling their best players, is just ridiculous.

Charging the Manchester City fans £62 for today's game is just disgusting.

Greendub
13-01-2013, 08:06 PM
Barca 2 up now, fabregas

Messi pass was exceptional

Greendub
13-01-2013, 08:07 PM
Back on the topic of today's matches ..... :wink:

Malaga 0 Barca 1 at half time.

PS Gerry Armstrong is a total fud and his fuddery inceases week by week as his obvious dislike of Barca manifests itself in his inane drivelling. You're right, I don't like him :greengrin

He does my box in!

13-01-2013, 08:15 PM
Henry came from Juventus, Viera from Milan, Anelka from PSG, Fabregas from Barca, RVP from Feyenoord. Lauren and Pires were established players in Spain and France. But of course they'd be nothing had it not been for Wenger, plucked from clubs and leagues nobody had ever heard of of course.Yeah, you're right, all were world class players before Wenger signed them. He spent millions on them and didn't help their careers at all.

Greendub
13-01-2013, 08:37 PM
3-0 barca nice goal from thiago

13-01-2013, 08:49 PM
He does my box in!

Indeed. Commentator Rob Palmer is as bad. His little gem tonight was that De Michelis isn't in the Spanish National squad these days. No surprise really as De Michelis is Argentinian

13-01-2013, 09:03 PM
That's not bad for a season ticket at Old Trafford, less than £30 a game!

I think the hierarchy at Arsenal are having a laugh if I'm being honest. To be the most expensive team to follow in England and probably one of the most expensive teams in the world, when they don't actually win anything and, as someone else has already said, are always selling their best players, is just ridiculous.

Charging the Manchester City fans £62 for today's game is just disgusting.

True. City gave up a third of their allocation as to charge them £62 a ticket plus don't forget petrol and accommodation ain't going to be cheap either. Like you said, pure stupidity from the ersenil hierarchy. Got no consideration at all. I wonder if any other club will charge gooner fans this sort of cash. Then again they will pay that no doubt with some of them wasting £1K in a ST on a team that can't win a trophy and whose best players always depart.

Hibee Ryan
13-01-2013, 09:04 PM
Indeed. Commentator Rob Palmer is as bad. His little gem tonight was that De Michelis isn't in the Spanish National squad these days. No surprise really as De Michelis is Argentinian

Everything about Sky's coverage is incredibly shoddy. It's so poor, the commentators and the "pundits"...

Tynie01011973
13-01-2013, 09:34 PM
Everything about Sky's coverage is incredibly shoddy. It's so poor, the commentators and the "pundits"...

Really ? It is much better than ESPN and the terrestrial channels - Craig Burley v Gary Neville is no contest regarding in-depth knowledge of the game.

Although, don't know what they are thinking about having 2 ex-Liverpool players as 'pundits' today - Jamie Redknapp is the most biased 'pundit' of the lot - Souness is far more accurate and unbiased with his assessments of games than Redknapp IMO

Hibee Ryan
13-01-2013, 09:36 PM
Really ? It is much better than ESPN and the terrestrial channels - Craig Burley v Gary Neville is no contest regarding in-depth knowledge of the game.

Although, don't know what they are thinking about having 2 ex-Liverpool players as 'pundits' today - Jamie Redknapp is the most biased 'pundit' of the lot - Souness is far more accurate and unbiased with his assessments of games than Redknapp IMO

My bad, I was meaning the Spanish coverage. No effort seems to be put into it. But I agree about Redknapp, when you have pundits saying "us" or "we" you know it's not going to go well

13-01-2013, 09:44 PM
Shirley Manchester U's second goal was offside? Evra heads it forward and it bounces off Vidic past Reina - Vidic is offside at the point that the ball leaves Evra's heid, non? :dunno:

Tynie01011973
13-01-2013, 09:55 PM
Shirley Manchester U's second goal was offside? Evra heads it forward and it bounces off Vidic past Reina - Vidic is offside at the point that the ball leaves Evra's heid, non? :dunno:

Was there clear 'daylight' between Evra and Vidic when Evra headed the ball ? Was Vidic in front of Evra when he actually headed the ball ?

If you watch the slowed down footage he is actually level or just behind Evra when Evra heads the ball - when it hit him he was slightly in front yes but the important thing is was he in front at the time of the last touch - go back and look at it

13-01-2013, 10:13 PM
Was there clear 'daylight' between Evra and Vidic when Evra headed the ball ? Was Vidic in front of Evra when he actually headed the ball ?

If you watch the slowed down footage he is actually level or just behind Evra when Evra heads the ball - when it hit him he was slightly in front yes but the important thing is was he in front at the time of the last touch - go back and look at it

Take your word for it, I don't have MOTD2+. (PS Don't think daylight's necessary for offside though, is it?)