View Full Version : Fantasy SPL Team

Sweet Left Peg
11-01-2013, 07:41 PM
So, for a number of reasons, this is turning into one of the most interesting SPL seasons of recent memory. There are plenty of good players around the league and although attendances could be improved upon, it is far from the “Armageddon” we were promised by the Prophets of Doom and their sympathisers. There are a number of teams battling it out for the European places and, if Celtic continue to play with the complacency that has crept into some of their games thus far, might we have a surprise league winner? Perhaps not, but it really is all to play for over the next half of the season. This heightened interest in the league this year has, for myself at least, caused me to take notice of a lot of opposition players, more so than any other year. So I thought it might be interesting to create a “Fantasy SPL” team, with a difference...

12 teams in the SPL – 1 team that we all support = 11 SPL teams. Take one player from each of these remaining teams and create your “Fantasy SPL” team for the first half of the season.

I’ll start us off...

Bell (Killie): A solid keeper who will surely play at a higher level.

Hateley (Well): Lots to pick from Motherwell. He delivers a good set piece, has an eye for goal and runs all day.
Lockwood (Dundee): A tough one to pick from them, but he scored a cracker vs the Yams, so that’s good enough for me.

Webster (Hearts): Had to pick someone from them. Good defender.

Izaguirre (Celtic): I love to see full backs attacking and he does it well. Decent in defence too.

McGinn (Dons): Having the season of his life. Good attacking threat from deep.

Davidson (St J): Surely off to England sooner rather than later, unfortunately. Chips in with a few goals too.

McLean (St M): Scored a few screamers this season and last. Especially the one at ER. A good young box to box midfielder. Versatile.

Vigurs (Ross Co): Skillful, creative and scores a few goals. Likes to have a shot from range but can get into the box too.

Russell (Utd): Reminds me of a cross between O’Connor and Riordan in their youthful prime. Powerful and scores all sorts of goals.

McKay (ICT): Another young player with a bright future. Scoring goals for fun.

hibeequinn
11-01-2013, 08:59 PM
Randolph
mair
izaguirre
Webster
gunning

riley
Britain
Davidson
mcginn

McKay
Sheridan

struggled for st mirren and Dundee.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

neilmartinrocks
11-01-2013, 09:10 PM
Randolph
mair
izaguirre
Webster
gunning

riley
Britain
Davidson
mcginn

McKay
Sheridan

struggled for st mirren and Dundee.

Nicky Rielly frae Dundee?

hibeequinn
11-01-2013, 09:15 PM
yeah too pick anyone from Dundee is hard

Hibee Ryan
11-01-2013, 09:17 PM
Douglas (Dundee) - They wouldn't have any points if it wasn't for him!

Van Zanten (St Mirren) - Had some smashing games for st Mirren this season. Looks nothing like the player we had at Hibs!
Webster (Hearts) - Composed centre back who does what he needs to do.
Boyd (Ross County) - Really impressed by him every time I've seen him play. Good on the ball as well for a defender
Matthews (Celtic) - Young lad and he's got 7 assists this season which is great for a full back

Mackay-Steven (United) - Just a joy to watch, exciting and effective! Great player
Davidson (St Johnstone) - Big, strong and can score from midfield, exactly what you want!
Kelly (Killie) - I know he's just left but if it's the season so far then he's got to be in there!
Mcginn (Aberdeen) - Outstanding goal scoring record. One of the signings of the season.

Higdon (Well) - Top joint goal scorer so far so just goes in for goals alone
McKay (Caley) - Good link up play and scores a LOT.

11-01-2013, 09:22 PM
Douglas (Dundee) - They wouldn't have any points if it wasn't for him!

Van Zanten (St Mirren) - Had some smashing games for st Mirren this season. Looks nothing like the player we had at Hibs!
Webster (Hearts) - Composed centre back who does what he needs to do.
Boyd (Ross County) - Really impressed by him every time I've seen him play. Good on the ball as well for a defender
Matthews (Celtic) - Young lad and he's got 7 assists this season which is great for a full back

Mackay-Steven (United) - Just a joy to watch, exciting and effective! Great player
Davidson (St Johnstone) - Big, strong and can score from midfield, exactly what you want!
Kelly (Killie) - I know he's just left but if it's the season so far then he's got to be in there!
Mcginn (Aberdeen) - Outstanding goal scoring record. One of the signings of the season.

Higdon (Well) - Top joint goal scorer so far so just goes in for goals alone
McKay (Caley) - Good link up play and scores a LOT.

He looks exactly like the player we had at Hibs, a decent dependable SPL standard defender. Another one we unfairly trashed as not Hibs class.

HibeeMackenzie
11-01-2013, 09:33 PM
GK Cammy Bell (Kilmarnock)
RB Tom Hateley (Motherwell)
LB Danny Grainger (****s)
CB Scott Boyd (Ross County)
CB Dave Mackay (St Johnstone)
RM Nicky Rielly (Dundee)
LM Gary Mackay-Steven (Dundee United)
CM Kenny Mclean (St Mirren)
CM Victor Wanyama (Celtic)
ST Niall McGinn (Aberdeen)
ST Billy Mckay (ICT)

Hibee Ryan
11-01-2013, 09:34 PM
He looks exactly like the player we had at Hibs, a decent dependable SPL standard defender. Another one we unfairly trashed as not Hibs class.

He has confidence now though, which is a big contributor. If you look at his goal against United where he ran at, I think it was at least, a couple of defenders and scored. I don't think he would of done that while at Hibs simply because of the fear of not getting it right and then the backlash. He was just the boo boy at the time which was very unfortunate for him

neilmartinrocks
11-01-2013, 10:30 PM
yeah too pick anyone from Dundee is hard

I would have him at Hibs.
Edinburgh boy as well.

11-01-2013, 10:59 PM
I would have him at Hibs.
Edinburgh boy as well.

Hibee aswell :wink:

miller99
11-01-2013, 11:17 PM

Few rumours doing the rounds that we have had a wee look at him.

12-01-2013, 12:04 AM
Few rumours doing the rounds that we have had a wee look at him.

His cousin Paul was on our books , named after his dad , all good Hibbies :agree:

shetlandhibee
12-01-2013, 12:10 AM
GK Camey Bell (killie) a good keeper would probably pick foster fae Celtic but have got another player from Celtic.

Rcb Boyd (Ross C) good defender.
cb zaliukus (hearts) if I had to pick 1.
Lcb Daly (dun Unt.) good at defending and attacking.

Rm Humphery (moth) it was a desition between Humphery and Ryan Fraser fae Aberdeen but have another players from Aberdeen in mind.
cam McLean (st mirren) I think he's the guy with a sweet left foot
cdm wannyama (Celtic) or brown
cam Riley (Dundee) tricky little player.
lm McKay (ict) great player all round.

St McGinn (aber) great scoring record.

hibeequinn
12-01-2013, 12:11 AM
should do a fantasy team with 11 and subs but can only pick 2 from each team including hibs

RC1875
12-01-2013, 12:54 AM
Goalkeeper

Alan Manus - St.Johnstone Great shot stopper and comands his area

Defence
Ryan McGowan - Hearts - Well you had to pick one of them
Shaun Hutchinson - Motherwell - Good in the air and good tackler, likes his cards tho
Efe Ambrose - Celtic - Has every aspect you need for a centre back
Paul Dummet- St.Mirren Struggled on this but show promise. On loan from england

Midfield

Nicky Rielly - Dundee - good promsing young talent, bags of engry
Liam Kelly - Kilmarnock Good passer and isnt scared to have a pop at goal
Murray Davidson - St. Johnston Physical and great in the air.
Gary MackayStevens - Dundee United hardest played in the spl to tackle

Attack
Nial McGinn - Aberdeen full of engry, good goalscorer
Billy Mckay - Inverness not only an eye for goal, good team player

12-01-2013, 01:10 AM
Randolph

Kovacevic
Gunning
Pascali
Grainger

Riley
McLean
Wanyama
McGinn

Hasselbaink
McKay

hibeequinn
12-01-2013, 01:11 AM
Williams
izaguirre
Webster
gunning
mathews
Kelly
Britain
Humphrey
Murphy
Griffiths
McKay

bell
boyd
shinnie
McGinn
McGowan

12-01-2013, 01:13 AM
Douglas(Dee)

Mackay(St J) Webster(Hea) Boyd(County) Considine(Dons)

McGowan(St M) Pascali(Killie) Law(Well) Mackay-Steven(Utd)

Hooper(Cel) McKay (ICT)

RC1875
12-01-2013, 01:15 AM
Alan Manus ( St.J)

Van Zanten (ST.M) Hutchinson (MOT) Ambrose (CEL) Grainger (HEA)

Reilly (DUN) Kelly (KIL) Brittin (RC) Mackay Stevens (DU)

McGinn (ABD) McKay (ICT)

neilmartinrocks
12-01-2013, 01:39 AM
Few rumours doing the rounds that we have had a wee look at him. hope pat likes him. been in a fantasy team mentioned. well worth a punt imo.

Piqué
12-01-2013, 11:33 AM
Indeed, he was in the row behind me at Tynecastle last week.

12-01-2013, 12:22 PM
Douglas - Dundee

Hateley - Motherwell
Goodwin - St Mirren
Webster - Hearts
Tesselar - Kilmarnock

McGinn - Aberdeen
Wanyama - Celtic
Davidson - St Johnstone
Vigurs - Ross County

Daly - Dundee United