View Full Version : Leigh Griffiths Twitter/Club Statement

Pages : [1] 2 3

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 05:14 AM
As many of you know Leigh often gives back the abuse he gets on twitter but last night he has went way over the line bein racist saying "f*** off back to your own country ya clown" since making the comment he has apologised and removed it however can still be seen all over twitter.

I am usually the first to support the players when they get in off field problems but theirs no place for racism in football, and how are we meant to kick it out when the players don't help

Opinions??

11-01-2013, 05:39 AM
Telling some fud to go back to his own country can hardly be classed as racism.

It's not exactly discriminatory against the guys race is it?

11-01-2013, 05:48 AM
Totally inexcusable from Griffiths and ill be disappointed if hibs fans try to defend Griffiths on this one.

11-01-2013, 05:52 AM
Why does that post make him a jambo? Even if he is, he's right.

Totally inexcusable from Griffiths and ill be disappointed if hibs fans try to defend Griffiths on this one.

What did he say which was so bad?

If he said exactly what the OP say's he said, then its hardly the crime of the century.

If you went into another country and started acting like a complete bawbag and somebody told you to **** off back to Scotland, would you get all upset and teary eyed about it?

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 05:53 AM

Everyone goes on about the attitude Fenlon wants out of players on and off the pitch.. To me that's not what he's wanting. A player such as griffiths should not be saying stuff like that especially over twitter. The fact he has removed the conversation and apologised makes me think he feels the same. Great player, yeah... But he's got to learn to not make such stupid comments over twitter that will get him in bother.

11-01-2013, 05:57 AM
What did he say which was so bad?

If he said exactly what the OP say's he said, then its hardly the crime of the century.

If you went into another country and started acting like a complete bawbag and somebody told you to **** off back to Scotland, would you get all upset and teary eyed about it?

How do you know he's not from Scotland?

It's just not an acceptable phrase by anyone but especially by someone who's a role model to thousands of kids.

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 06:00 AM

It's just not an acceptable phrase by anyone but especially by someone who's a role model to thousands of kids.

The boy confirmed he was born and raised in livingstone so confused why griffiths would say somethin like that based on his look.

Genuinely can't beleive I'm getting labelled a yam for saying its not acceptable?? Not sayin it's the crime of century and sayin it's unacceptable and he should know better

11-01-2013, 06:04 AM

I'm sure thousands of kids would have been on his twitter page first thing this morning to witness such a dreadful event. :rolleyes:

What he said was politically incorrect, but it's hardly jaw dropping material and doesn't merit a thread like this.

hibbill2002
11-01-2013, 06:10 AM
The boy confirmed he was born and raised in livingstone so confused why griffiths would say somethin like that based on his look.

Genuinely can't beleive I'm getting labelled a yam for saying its not acceptable?? Not sayin it's the crime of century and sayin it's unacceptable and he should know better

Customary reply on here from some if you say anything derogatory about Hibs.

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 06:12 AM
I'm sure thousands of kids would have been on his twitter page first thing this morning to witness such a dreadful event. :rolleyes:

What he said was politically incorrect, but it's hardly jaw dropping material and doesn't merit a thread like this.

Happened last night so am sure a fair amount seen it. I only ask for a opinion on a comment he made which to me is unacceptable an I'm sure many would class as racist. Alot of people have been sending the link to the papers to so am sure they will run a story on it as they do with everything else. Your the one tryin to much to rubbish it by callin me a yam because I joined like 2 months ago and posted under 10 times

11-01-2013, 06:12 AM

He's no role model, apart from being a footballer what exactly is it he does that makes him a role model? :confused:

11-01-2013, 06:17 AM

Oh yes it does and its a shame you just don't "get it".

11-01-2013, 06:19 AM
Happened last night so am sure a fair amount seen it. I only ask for a opinion on a comment he made which to me is unacceptable an I'm sure many would class as racist. Alot of people have been sending the link to the papers to so am sure they will run a story on it as they do with everything else. Your the one tryin to much to rubbish it by callin me a yam because I joined like 2 months ago and posted under 10 times

No doubt you were one of the people who sent it to the press as you seem determined that everyone should be aware of it.

You will forgive me if i don't bother joining the "I am consumed by fake outrage" queue.

11-01-2013, 06:23 AM
Racism on any form is unacceptable. If there are known people still doing/saying these things then what chance do we have of ridding it from society.
He shouldn't have said it and he shoul be pulled up for it. End of

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 06:24 AM
No doubt you were one of the people who sent it to the press as you seem determined that everyone should be aware of it.

You will forgive me if i don't bother joining the "I am consumed by fake outrage" queue.

I thought other hibs fans should b aware of it as he's arguably our best player and he's being a dafty on twitter, he's just settin himself up for more abuse. Most of his responses I find funny and witty but not this. So ur sayin u don't think Fenlon mcpake etc will say anythin to him? U think they will say it's fine it's not even racist? I doubt it

Pathetic the amount of "Hibbys" wanting to jump on any bandwagon to have a go at Leigh..

Derek Riordan scenario all over again :rolleyes:

Never mind, keep lambasting our own forever more and we can look forward to having forward lines of Kuqi + Trakys etc etc

Oh yes it does and its a shame you just don't "get it".

Yes lets fan the flames of outrage and if the papers didn’t see it the first time this thread will do a great job publicising it.

Can we not stand behind a Hibs player just once.

P.S. Sorry for calling the OP a Jambo, I just assumed because you were new you were on the wind up. But the admins have vouched for you.

Chris.igoe
11-01-2013, 06:25 AM
Maybe wolves will not want him hahaha it all part of his plan

Mark79
11-01-2013, 06:25 AM
Why does he even respond to the abusive tweets anyway?

Amsterdam
11-01-2013, 06:27 AM
Poor wee lambs, a lot of folk looking for any reason to be offended these days. If the statement quoted is all he said ie F off back to your own country, that doesn't pass as racist. Anyway, I heard that Twitter is a mans game, so stay away if you can't take a 50 50 challenge

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 06:29 AM
Pathetic the amount of "Hibbys" wanting to jump on any bandwagon to have a go at Leigh..

Never mind, keep lambasting our own forever more and we can look forward to having forward lines of Kuqi + Trakys etc etc

Leigh knows he's wrong that's why he deleted it and apologised, yet u still think he's done nothin wrong and it's uncalled for. Wouldn't say anyone is havin a go at him at all just think it's unacceptable behaviour. But if you think u can say stuff like that over twitter to folk then that's ur opinion

11-01-2013, 06:31 AM
Leigh knows he's wrong that's why he deleted it and apologised, yet u still think he's done nothin wrong and it's uncalled for. Wouldn't say anyone is havin a go at him at all just think it's unacceptable behaviour. But if you think u can say stuff like that over twitter to folk then that's ur opinion

It's the assumed moral outrage some on here portray...

Noticed on another post you were championing us signing Badfanny, he's a right wee sweetheart right enough...

11-01-2013, 06:32 AM
It's not great news.

Will likely be pulled up for this, why people in the limelight use twitter is beyond me.

Amsterdam
11-01-2013, 06:33 AM

Fact is that he can say it, it's not illegal to say such things on Twitter. Try not reading it, you might find you don't get offended, precious wee lamb

11-01-2013, 06:34 AM
I have not seen the tweet, but apparently he's apologised? I hope we dont accept it, and drag this on and on and on for as long as possible, because that will make everything right and show just how much better people we all are. :rolleyes:

Racism on any form is unacceptable. If there are known people still doing/saying these things then what chance do we have of ridding it from society.
He shouldn't have said it and he shoul be pulled up for it. End of

Can you fit any more clichés into that post?

I agree that he shouldn't have said it but the guy suffers a daily barrage of abuse from idiots like him. There is a snapping point and sometimes you look for the easiest, quickest response and he chose one based on his race.

Bad move but if it's been deleted and he apologises then I'm sure we can all move on.

Maybe this guy who he insulted will also apologise to him for the unprovoked attack on his appearance.

That won't be an issue though because Leigh is fair game.

62Hibs70
It's the assumed moral outrage some on here portray...

Noticed on another post you were championing us signing Badfanny, he's a right wee sweetheart right enough...

Well to me it's wrong and alot of folk wouldn't take it to greatly which I wouldn't blame them for, especially as the lad is Scottish. Yeah I think goodwillie would b a good signing, I also think Leigh would b a good player to sign permanent. It's not the football ability I'm talkin about its the fact he said something out of order imo

11-01-2013, 06:36 AM

He's deleted it and apologised.

Thank you for raising the issue. What possible motivation might you have for doing so?

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 06:37 AM
Fact is that he can say it, it's not illegal to say such things on Twitter. Try not reading it, you might find you don't get offended, precious wee lamb

Not offended at all, trying to see other folks opinion on what alot would call a sensitive subject and don't like seeing any hibs player act like that over twitter. But yeah il be sure to take ur great advice..

Amsterdam
11-01-2013, 06:39 AM
Not offended at all, trying to see other folks opinion on what alot would call a sensitive subject and don't like seeing any hibs player act like that over twitter. But yeah il be sure to take ur great advice..

Good, then can we please move on now

11-01-2013, 06:39 AM

17 posts and you are over this thread like a rash, why dont you piss off back from where you come from.

Chris.igoe
11-01-2013, 06:40 AM
He said . F~~k off back to your own country ya clown

11-01-2013, 06:40 AM
17 posts and you are over this thread like a rash, why dont you piss off back from where you come from.

Racist!!!!!

11-01-2013, 06:41 AM
I would suggest it should be club policy for players to make all their social networks private.

They will always attract morons itching to dispense abuse, and inevitably we are going to get into these sort of situations, when players snap, cross the line, make an idiotic throwaway comment that could easily end up as some ludicrous front page story.

Little sympathy though, yes Leigh gets a lot of abuse on Twitter, but he constantly takes the bait. He could stop it today if he wanted to.

11-01-2013, 06:41 AM
He said . F~~k off back to your own country ya clown

And another, its funny how the low posters are out in force today. LTYF'S

11-01-2013, 06:42 AM
Well to me it's wrong and alot of folk wouldn't take it to greatly which I wouldn't blame them for, especially as the lad is Scottish. Yeah I think goodwillie would b a good signing, I also think Leigh would b a good player to sign permanent. It's not the football ability I'm talkin about its the fact he said something out of order imo

By your own admission, Leigh decided he'd tweeted something wrong so he deleted the tweet and conversation, that should be the end of it..

But instead you set your alarm to come on here 1st thing in the morning to bump yer gums about it and give it the unwanted and unneeded attention some undouted wee hertz pleb is desperate for!

In your opinion Leigh is out of order and wrong etc etc for a tweet but Badfanny who in the past been charged for serious crimes in the real world seems to be a saint?!

Don't understand why so called Hibs fans seem utterly desperate to rip into our players at every given half arsed opportunity...

Chris.igoe
@LeighG28: Got to apologise to @zak_iqbal for my comment earlier, was out of order!

Racist!!!!!

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 06:43 AM

Sorry for not posting 10 times a thread on every thread possible to get my post count up for the past 2 months. I started the thread so obviously going to write alot in it cause I want to see folks opinion.

11-01-2013, 06:44 AM
@LeighG28: Got to apologise to @zak_iqbal for my comment earlier, was out of order!

Thread closed.

Hearts ***** can eff off and try again!

0-7 6-2!

Chris.igoe
11-01-2013, 06:45 AM
This is Wat the boy said back @Zak_Iqbal: @LeighG28 And I don't really get offended about stuff like that anyway because to me at the end of the day its all banter.

11-01-2013, 06:46 AM
Twitter. Facebook.
time for everyone to do something else. FFS.

11-01-2013, 06:47 AM
It's funny this little world we live in........I sometimes have a wee read of Leigh's twitter page and I'm often incredulous at some of the disgusting tweets he receives about his looks, his children, his ability and his lifestyle........yet not a lot is said about it (or probably done about it) in media, forums, gossip columns etc. There is of course a reporting mechanism on Twitter that anyone can use to report offensive tweets or comments they think are unacceptable. Can I ask a general question - how many fans have done so and reported abuse Leigh gets (or any player for that matter) ?

I'm not at all condoning what Leigh tweeted (if he did so) - but take a wee scroll through what other human beings have said about him and wonder what on earth kind of lives they have that they feel the need to slag off a guys kids or they way they look etc. There are some very sad sad sad individuals out there who clearly have very little going on in their lives that they take to twitter to abuse people.

My motto in life has always been to treat people the way you'd like to be treated yourself. It's got me this far, and judging by twitter, folk should really start too use that philosophy too.

11-01-2013, 06:48 AM
Sorry for not posting 10 times a thread on every thread possible to get my post count up for the past 2 months. I started the thread so obviously going to write alot in it cause I want to see folks opinion.

:faf: My erse.

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 06:51 AM
It's funny this little world we live in........I sometimes have a wee read of Leigh's twitter page and I'm often incredulous at some of the disgusting tweets he receives about his looks, his children, his ability and his lifestyle........yet not a lot is said about it (or probably done about it) in media, forums, gossip columns etc. There is of course a reporting mechanism on Twitter that anyone can use to report offensive tweets or comments they think are unacceptable. Can I ask a general question - how many fans have done so and reported abuse Leigh gets (or any player for that matter) ?

I'm not at all condoning what Leigh tweeted (if he did so) - but take a wee scroll through what other human beings have said about him and wonder what on earth kind of lives they have that they feel the need to slag off a guys kids or they way they look etc. There are some very sad sad sad individuals out there who clearly have very little going on in their lives that they take to twitter to abuse people.

My motto in life has always been to treat people the way you'd like to be treated yourself. It's got me this far, and judging by twitter, folk should really start too use that philosophy too.

100% agree. Would b hard to take all the criticism he receives and would b hard to blank it all out but alot more famous players seem to do so. If he replies something funny the person looks stupid but to me in this case it just makes him look a daft wee boy. The point of the thread was to get opinions on the subject, not to be called a jambo or slated for thinkin it was unacceptable

11-01-2013, 06:51 AM
Yes lets fan the flames of outrage and if the papers didn’t see it the first time this thread will do a great job publicising it.

Can we not stand behind a Hibs player just once.

P.S. Sorry for calling the OP a Jambo, I just assumed because you were new you were on the wind up. But the admins have vouched for you.

I don't agree with publicising it and my post didn't turn out as I intended....sorry. I hated seeing it this morning. But its not exactly going to get swept under the carpet is it? Leigh is more than likely guilty only of ignorance but its impossible to ignore stuff like this.

11-01-2013, 06:52 AM
:faf: My erse.

Hopefully naebody has an opinion on that !

11-01-2013, 06:52 AM
Without excusing that particular tweet, Sparky takes some horrendous and very personal abuse on twitter and he has a right to give some back to the wee scrotes that do it.
I don't think he's wise to reply, but he has a right to.
His tweet was racist, no doubt, but he has deleted it and apologised and recognised it was a mistake. We all make them.

11-01-2013, 06:55 AM
I think this has been a simple mistake. Maybe Griffiths was quoting Saunders telling him to get back to Hibs right away. :-)

cwilliamson85
I have not read the whole thread and I am not defending Griffiths but what gives people the right abuse a professional football player? Yes he may play for a different team from whom you support but are you really that sad with no life that you take to a social site to vent your anger at a person you have never met / don’t know anything about?

He shouldn't have said it. Anyone checked oit what this chap was saying to Griffiths?! Erse.

He apologised, the guy has accepted it.

End.

11-01-2013, 06:56 AM
Twitter. Facebook.
time for everyone to do something else. FFS.:top marks

11-01-2013, 06:56 AM

Obsessive thread disorder

You can buy cream for it

11-01-2013, 06:58 AM
100% agree. Would b hard to take all the criticism he receives and would b hard to blank it all out but alot more famous players seem to do so. If he replies something funny the person looks stupid but to me in this case it just makes him look a daft wee boy. The point of the thread was to get opinions on the subject, not to be called a jambo or slated for thinkin it was unacceptable

Fair enough - however if you've found what he tweeted offensive (which it was), and you agree he gets unacceptable abuse, are you going to spend some time reporting the twitter users who have sent him offensive/unacceptable tweets - it's easy to do and I'd suggest more people do so. That way eventually the penny will drop with some people that Twitter, Facebook and the likes is not an open forum to submit abuse.

Here is a wee experiment for you (and sorry, this isn't to get at you but more to provide balance) - take a look at two weeks worth of tweets to Leigh, then report back how many tweets you found over the top or bordering offensive - before and after the derby as a wee sample. Then post on the board how many and whether you reported the person to Twitter.

11-01-2013, 06:58 AM
He shouldn't have said it. Anyone checked oit what this chap was saying to Griffiths?! Erse.

He apologised, the guy has accepted it.

End.

:agree: But it wont be, there will be some folk on here who will be hurt to the very core of their soul. My guess is 56 pages, 4 banned plus Leigh jailed for 25 years.

pontius pilate
11-01-2013, 07:04 AM
Lets face it probably a heat of the moment decision to tweet that reply. Leigh has apologised the other guy in this has took it as banter. Lets now put it to bed.

62Hibs70
11-01-2013, 07:05 AM
Fair enough - however if you've found what he tweeted offensive (which it was), and you agree he gets unacceptable abuse, are you going to spend some time reporting the twitter users who have sent him offensive/unacceptable tweets - it's easy to do and I'd suggest more people do so. That way eventually the penny will drop with some people that Twitter, Facebook and the likes is not an open forum to submit abuse.

Here is a wee experiment for you (and sorry, this isn't to get at you but more to provide balance) - take a look at two weeks worth of tweets to Leigh, then report back how many tweets you found over the top or bordering offensive - before and after the derby as a wee sample. Then post on the board how many and whether you reported the person to Twitter.

Understand what your saying and fully agree with it but the stuff they say will always go unnoticed and no action will b taken from it unless the victim makes it public for everyone to see. It's not right that they can get to send him as much abuse as possible and nothin happens from it but one tweet from Leigh could make the paper, but that's what being a footballer is end of the day, will b hard but he's got to rise Above it and show his class, the best way to do that is by ignoring it and doing the business on the pitch.

11-01-2013, 07:06 AM

Agree. Indefensible and very disappointing, although ive not looked myself. He gets some terrible abuse on there but thats no excuse.

Gala Foxes
11-01-2013, 07:08 AM
Talented footballer - yes

Role Model - ? just because he is a talented footballer doesn't qualify him to be a role model

11-01-2013, 07:08 AM
Lets face it probably a heat of the moment decision to tweet that reply. Leigh has apologised the other guy in this has took it as banter. Lets now put it to bed.

Agreed

There'll still be plenty plums on here though wanting to bring it up again and have a go at Leigh though

11-01-2013, 07:09 AM
Lets not forget how this all started.

Zak Iqbal to blame IMHO.

@Zak_Iqbal: @LeighG28 mate you're a thumb, you go out in club earth and how many different birds you got pregnant? You really are such a stupid ****

11-01-2013, 07:17 AM
Customary reply on here from some if you say anything derogatory about Hibs.

Oh for goodness sake, do you actually read hibs.net?

11-01-2013, 07:17 AM

Zak Iqbal to blame IMHO.

@Zak_Iqbal: @LeighG28 mate you're a thumb, you go out in club earth and how many different birds you got pregnant? You really are such a stupid ****

:agree: Leigh would be better ignoring them, biting just encourages the fuds.

Leigh's had folk wishing his kids were dead etc. Doesn't excuse what he tweeted but let's put into context. He's apologised and held his hands up. That should be the end of it.

11-01-2013, 07:19 AM
:agree: Leigh would be better ignoring them, biting just encourages the fuds.

Leigh's had folk wishing his kids were dead etc. Doesn't excuse what he tweeted but let's put into context. He's apologised and held his hands up. That should be the end of it.should be the end of this thread too.

Role Model - ? just because he is a talented footballer doesn't qualify him to be a role model

Blackpoolhibs asked the same thing earlier, surely a role model is someone kids look up to and want to be like them so will copy what they do. Surely that's exactly what a footballer is?

Who do you think a role model for kids is if its not footballers?

As many of you know Leigh often gives back the abuse he gets on twitter but last night he has went way over the line bein racist saying "f*** off back to your own country ya clown" since making the comment he has apologised and removed it however can still be seen all over twitter.

I am usually the first to support the players when they get in off field problems but theirs no place for racism in football, and how are we meant to kick it out when the players don't help

Opinions??

Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

It must have been quite exciting for you to be able to post it up.

11-01-2013, 07:20 AM
I think if you are famous you have to have a very thick skin being on twitter.

Unfortunately being a footballer the tribal element comes into things.

If it were somebody with thousands of fans the celebrity would simply highlight the abuser and let her "followers" bombard the hater and exact revenge.

Leigh's problem is he gets too involved.

11-01-2013, 07:20 AM
Blackpoolhibs asked the same thing earlier, surely a role model is someone kids look up to and want to be like them so will copy what they do. Surely that's exactly what a footballer is?

Who do you think a role model for kids is if its not footballers?

Parents, teachers, youth leaders etc.....people they have contact with on a regular basis who help to mould them in to decent human beings.

11-01-2013, 07:21 AM

Zak Iqbal to blame IMHO.

It's irrelevant apparently.

Who are these people who judge what is excusable and what type of insults are more offensive?

People seem to listen to them an awful lot.

11-01-2013, 07:25 AM
Leigh really needs to delete his twitter. It's a guarantee that comment last night ends up in the papers and lands him in bother. Not sticking up for him as such because he should learn to ignore the abuse he gets but some of the people on twitter really are the **** of the earth. Only reason they are on it is to wind footballers/famous people up with their cringeworthy comments. It's a sad sign of how the world is these days.

Dalkeith
11-01-2013, 07:26 AM
Twitter. Facebook.
time for everyone to do something else. FFS.

11-01-2013, 07:29 AM
Here is actually how it started.

@Likely_Lad1990: Leigh Griffiths tweeting people about poor spelling then spells his reply wrong haha #yourdoingitwrong

Then from our favourite victim -

@Zak_Iqbal: @Likely_Lad1990 he is a ****ing arse man. Since I am bored I might tweet the ****!

Just_Jimmy
11-01-2013, 07:31 AM
These mutants that send griffiths and other players abuse here are the real issue.

The fact is this little pube was a non entity in sparkys life until he opened the connection by sending leigh abuse unprovoked.

Sparky replied, what he said was wrong and the guy shat it. The reason the guy accepted the apology and wont take it further is the fact in his mind he is WELL AWARE that he started the abuse and would probably get his baws booted as well.

The problem with twitter is all these little prepubesent inbred mutants who couldnt fight sleep that think they can send abuse to players. The same players who if they saw in the street they wouldnt say boo too.

While i dont condone leighs reply, and i often wonder why the players reply to the crap they get twitter needs a far better system to filter the pish out.

I dont follow any hearts players, i'm not interested in anything to do with them. I dont understand why these lowlifes find the time between giros to fire abuse at guys who hear it all the time.

11-01-2013, 07:31 AM
Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

It must have been quite exciting for you to be able to post it up.

Set his alarm for 6:10 first thing, more of a captive audience now than late last night :rolleyes:

11-01-2013, 07:35 AM

Zak Iqbal to blame IMHO.

Funny how 62Hibs70 (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?26271-62Hibs70) plum didn't bring that up :rolleyes:

11-01-2013, 07:39 AM
Funny how 62Hibs70 (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?26271-62Hibs70) plum didn't bring that up :rolleyes:

Why would he?

This thread is to only be used as a stick to beat LG with...

Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 07:41 AM
Delete the thread ffs.

Wee cock starts having a go at LG, LG says something back wee cock greets like ****.

Saying that its still a ****ing stupid reply.

Delete his twitter too.

Nelly070
11-01-2013, 07:50 AM
Seriously don't get this whole football player role model thing ! Do we actually believe that there are thousands of kids out there that will copy or think that most of what todays footballer gets upto is normal or acceptable !! Seriously !

11-01-2013, 07:52 AM
This thread will have helped. :rolleyes:

11-01-2013, 07:55 AM
i'm baffled by this.

People are saying the abuse LG gets on twitter is shocking.... what do you expect?

it's not right but that's life unfortunatley... if it's a problem for him then he shouldnt have a twitter account!

if i was a professional footballer who has a reputation like that of Leigh's, there is no way i'd have any social media accounts.... it's asking for trouble.

Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 07:55 AM
Is the twitter victim Welsh? Please god may the wee ******** be from the Valleys.

11-01-2013, 07:57 AM
I want to see folks opinion.

Why?

BarneyK
11-01-2013, 08:02 AM

I agree that he shouldn't have said it but the guy suffers a daily barrage of abuse from idiots like him. There is a snapping point and sometimes you look for the easiest, quickest response and he chose one based on his race.

Bad move but if it's been deleted and he apologises then I'm sure we can all move on.

Maybe this guy who he insulted will also apologise to him for the unprovoked attack on his appearance.

This :agree: He shouldn't have said it, it is racist, but the guy he directed it had just fired him an abusive tweet and, far from being offended, is absolutely revelling in the fact that he got that response. As an aside, we know that Deeks got this constant barrage of abuse on Twitter, as does Leigh, do we however know if any Yam player suffers from this level of harrassment? Just curious.

11-01-2013, 08:04 AM
Let's face it, if it was a player from a rival team we'd be shouting about this.The correct response probably lies in the middle and I'm sure PF will discipline Sparky accordingly. If you play for Hibs your actions represent the club, even on Twitter.Make him train with the youths for a week and sit him out of the next game to show that it's not acceptable then leave it at that.

11-01-2013, 08:08 AM
Let's face it, if it was a player from a rival team we'd be shouting about this.The correct response probably lies in the middle and I'm sure PF will discipline Sparky accordingly. If you play for Hibs your actions represent the club, even on Twitter.Make him train with the youths for a week and sit him out of the next game to show that it's not acceptable then leave it at that.Aye, good idea :rolleyes: leave out our best striker and damage our chances of winning because he reacted tae abuse from some half witted moron on twitter.

The_Sauz
11-01-2013, 08:18 AM
Parents, teachers, youth leaders etc.....people they have contact with on a regular basis who help to mould them in to decent human beings.

11-01-2013, 08:19 AM
Aye, good idea :rolleyes: leave out our best striker and damage our chances of winning because he reacted tae abuse from some half witted moron on twitter.

His choice to reply, his choice of words, his actions. He's let the club down on this one and let's be fair responses like that could be a sackable offense in some jobs. What I was suggesting was a far more sensible and reasoned solution that gives Sparky the required boot up the arse and shows that the club do not condone his actions.

11-01-2013, 08:21 AM
His choice to reply, his choice of words, his actions. He's let the club down on this one and let's be fair responses like that could be a sackable offense in some jobs. What I was suggesting was a far more sensible and reasoned solution that gives Sparky the required boot up the arse and shows that the club do not condone his actions.

There are other ways to sanction him, if the club even feel it's necessary. Under the circumstances, given he was provoked, has apologised and had that apology accepted, perhaps the sensible thing to do is leave it at that.

11-01-2013, 08:21 AM

Hardly likely we'd forget, since Mr Iqbal is the main focus of everyones anger on this thread.

11-01-2013, 08:22 AM
His choice to reply, his choice of words, his actions. He's let the club down on this one and let's be fair responses like that could be a sackable offense in some jobs. What I was suggesting was a far more sensible and reasoned solution that gives Sparky the required boot up the arse and shows that the club do not condone his actions.You think it's sensible and reasoned, I think it's a load of guff.

11-01-2013, 08:24 AM
It's irrelevant apparently.

Who are these people who judge what is excusable and what type of insults are more offensive?

People seem to listen to them an awful lot.

The world seems to be full of people who are easily offended.

My 12 year old follows Leigh on Twitter. I don't think he sees him as a role model, he just loves him as a player. Kids today more than ever are taught at school to be tolerant and to accept diversity. My boy gets that, same as he sees people being gay as a matter of fact, not something different or strange.

11-01-2013, 08:26 AM
Who cares?

11-01-2013, 08:33 AM
Hands up if you criticised John Terry but are defending Leigh Griffiths...

11-01-2013, 08:37 AM
Hands up if you criticised John Terry but are defending Leigh Griffiths...

Did John Terry hold his hands up and apologise?

11-01-2013, 08:43 AM
Did John Terry hold his hands up and apologise?

Only after a year but that was mainly because no-one could prove the context of the words. Griffiths didn't have that luxury.

11-01-2013, 08:43 AM

He's apologised and deleted the offending remark. That should be the end of it. The other guy was far from blameless - seems to me he was winding Griffiths up to get a response and he got one.

I do wonder why the OP (brand-new on Hibs.net with 20 posts - hmm... :rolleyes:) decided to bring it up AFTER LG had apologised and withdrawn the remark?

11-01-2013, 08:46 AM
His twitter a/c is now private.

Door bolt horse stable.

11-01-2013, 08:50 AM
Big deal. If someone is giving him abuse, he can expect it back. That's the way of the world. Tough titties.

11-01-2013, 08:58 AM
Stupid thing to say and not acceptable.

However seems there was plenty mitigation, the other guy was clearly trying to provoke a reaction and he got one.

Leigh has apologised, removed the offending remark and hopefully Hibs have a wee word. That should be the end of it. He obviously knows it was wrong and if he's any sense he won't do it again.

merritthibees
11-01-2013, 08:59 AM
In all fairness to griffthis, I seen a couple of weeks ago someone saying he hope griffthis' son dies, can't exactly blame him for loosing the rag with these people! But he should never have resorted to that level!

11-01-2013, 09:04 AM
In all fairness to griffthis, I seen a couple of weeks ago someone saying he hope griffthis' son dies, can't exactly blame him for loosing the rag with these people! But he should never have resorted to that level!

He should just ignore the whole thing. Has no need to be on twitter as he just uses it to argue with others. He doesnt have the self control to be on social media. He may as well walk down Gorgie with a kick me sign on his back.

11-01-2013, 09:04 AM
Got to laugh at the guy who said it was because of the way the other guy looked. What makes you think that? Just assuming..

11-01-2013, 09:10 AM
EEN has picked up on this and printing a story later

Evening News ‏@edinburghpaper

Exclusive: Leigh Griffiths in Twitter race row - story soon at http://edinburghnews.com

11-01-2013, 09:13 AM
I see the evening news are running with it now.

http://m.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/latest-news/hibs-striker-leigh-griffiths-sparks-twitter-race-row-1-2732285

11-01-2013, 09:17 AM
I dont understand why he doesnt have better things to do with his time!? He's a pro footballer and he spends hours on there talking shiyite.

11-01-2013, 09:19 AM
Wolves Player In Social Media Maelstrom.

What's that matter to anyone?

JollyGreenGiant
11-01-2013, 09:31 AM
I have followed Leigh on twitter, and its so annoying that 'generally' daft wee laddies try to constantly goad him, hoping that he replies in a way that gets him into trouble. Unfortunately he has fallen right into their daft wee trap. Imho footballers need guidance from their employer on how to interact via social media!

11-01-2013, 09:35 AM
I dont understand why he doesnt have better things to do with his time!? He's a pro footballer and he spends hours on there talking shiyite.

Very thought-provoking response there

You have obviously not got anything better to do with your time if you're trolling Leigh's Twitter page all day :rolleyes:

Green Fish
11-01-2013, 09:45 AM
He's a young lad and he's been daft and he knows it - wouldn't class his comment as racist but I wouldn't be surprised if this speeds up his departure from WW as it is an area with a large ethnic population and after the John Terry fiasco down south.

Leigh -you need to knock this Twitter pash on the head!!

BarneyK
11-01-2013, 09:47 AM
EEN has picked up on this and printing a story later

Evening News ‏@edinburghpaper

Exclusive: Leigh Griffiths in Twitter race row - story soon at http://edinburghnews.com

Deary me talk about selective reporting in that story. That poor fellae was just sticking up for someone else it would seem and not trolling in any way. No siree.... :rolleyes:

11-01-2013, 09:52 AM
@scotsman_foot: Hibs striker Leigh Griffiths sparks Twitter race row http://t.co/gFfpf8bv

That isn't how it started was it?

11-01-2013, 09:52 AM
I really don't understand why he replies to it at all. His replies to these idiots are embarrassing and just make him look like a moron.

hibsmad
11-01-2013, 09:54 AM
I have only recently started following the odd person through Twitter just to see what all the fuss is about. Griffiths and McPake are two of the few people I follow.

I can seriously not believe some of the abuse that Leigh receives. His defence mechanism for this is to re-tweet almost every piece of abuse that he receives which I personally think is the wrong way to go as it only encourages more abuse. I like Leigh and think he is a good guy, and sometimes when he re-tweets this abuse he includes quite a witty remark. However sometimes his remarks only seem to bring Leigh down to the level of the person dishing out the abuse. As far as I'm concerned what has happened last night was something that has been waiting to happen for a while and I hope he now just forgets about Twitter altogether - or ignores these idiots.

For the record I don't think that Leigh's comment is anywhere near as bad as some of the things being said to him but that is not going to be all that important when "Griffiths in race row" is splashed all over the papers.

Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 09:59 AM
Deary me talk about selective reporting in that story. That poor fellae was just sticking up for someone else it would seem and not trolling in any way. No siree.... :rolleyes:

To be fair there's sticking up for yourself then there's saying what Leigh says. He'll get in **** big time for this.

Well played the OP. You asked for opinions, mines is your a **** stirring bad person.

BarneyK
11-01-2013, 10:05 AM
To be fair there's sticking up for yourself then there's saying what Leigh says. He'll get in **** big time for this.

Well played the OP. You asked for opinions, mines is your a **** stirring bad person.

Naw, it's the Zaq felly who was seemingly just sticking up for someone. It's most certainly Leigh that's the bad man in all of this according to The Evening News.

Not really wanting to get involved here, but had it been Derek Riordan then i am sure Hibercelona/weehibee would be saying something completely different and he wouldn't be defending Deek.

Griffiths was stupid on Twitter last night.

I have followed Leigh on twitter, and its so annoying that 'generally' daft wee laddies try to constantly goad him, hoping that he replies in a way that gets him into trouble. Unfortunately he has fallen right into their daft wee trap. Imho footballers need guidance from their employer on how to interact via social media!

they need told not to have any social media accounts if they can't take the ripping.....

11-01-2013, 10:06 AM
I have always noticed that it is never really ever the person whom the comment is said about that goes on about it, it is other people on their behalf who seem more bothered.

11-01-2013, 10:07 AM
What a pile of ******.

11-01-2013, 10:08 AM

To be fair mate, this is a Hibs message board, and I would say this topic is of interest to Hibs fans.

Especially as the EEN is running with "race row" headlines.

Very interesting that the EEN did not quote Zak Iqbals post.

Penrith Hibee
11-01-2013, 10:09 AM
I follow Leigh on Twitter and picked up on this when I woke up. Saw the comment and thought "oh no!" On its own it is a racist comment as the Iqbal gadgee was probably born and bred in the UK. Not the worst thing that could be said mind you. Now in the context that Leigh made it, it is a silly throw away line in the heat of a load of abuse he was getting. Not meant to be racist by Leigh I'm sure, but will be construed as such by those in power. Standby for twittergate.

BarneyK
11-01-2013, 10:11 AM
To be fair mate, this is a Hibs message board, and I would say this topic is of interest to Hibs fans.

That's their current level of "journalism" for you.

The_Sauz
11-01-2013, 10:11 AM
Just off the phone to a friend who works for the Scotsman, and I asked them were they got the story from! I had to wait a bit until they went and found out....guess what they said?

A Hibs forum :brickwall

I asked it they follow people on facebook & twitter, they said only sometime, but they do follow both Hibs & Hearts fans forms everyday!

Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 10:12 AM

That's true but some things are better kept in house and who's to say it would have made the news before being highlighted on here?

What I'm concerned about now is the reprocussions coming his way because bated or not he can't say that.

Hibs fans should be protecting our players though especially players like Leigh who gets abuse every day and that what annoys me.

McIntosh
11-01-2013, 10:14 AM
Well he made a mistake, quickly admitted it and apologised without any prompting. This says something in itself. Hopefully a lesson learned.

I am sure this has not been lost on many on this forum but the original remark was frequently said to the people that originally founded this great club - the irony.

11-01-2013, 10:19 AM
Not really wanting to get involved here, but had it been Derek Riordan then i am sure Hibercelona/weehibee would be saying something completely different and he wouldn't be defending Deek.

Griffiths was stupid on Twitter last night.

Good point..

Just proves that certain fans have an unknown reason to "hate" some of our players but on the other hand choose when to back them up after they've done something equally worse if not worsererer

JollyGreenGiant
11-01-2013, 10:20 AM
they need told not to have any social media accounts if they can't take the ripping.....

True. as he sometimes reacts to the tweets he receives on Twitter in the same way that he has reacted in the past to abuse received on the pitch.

But it is more than that, because social media is also a great way for players to interact with fans. He has done some great Q&A sessions, and it is a great way for fans to send messages of support. However, there are many pitfalls, and being ripped by opposition fans is one, but perhaps tweeting where you are going for a night out, making derogatory comments about your club, swearing or using inappropriate language etc etc, are also things professional footballers living their lives in the public eye need to learn about.

11-01-2013, 10:26 AM
Everyone has different tolerance to things said, so until LG does something I am personally not happy about and what he said is to me nothing then for me its:

:giruy::giruy:

Ball in the net is all that interests me.

11-01-2013, 10:36 AM
Well he made a mistake, quickly admitted it and apologised without any prompting. This says something in itself. Hopefully a lesson learned.

I am sure this has not been lost on many on this forum but the original remark was frequently said to the people that originally founded this great club - the irony.

Very good post, it is very ironic as you say. The more things change the more they stay the same.

All very depressing and sometimes people should learn when to engage your brain before reacting.

He has apologised and admitted it was out of order. Move on and hopefully lesson learned.

RSS Bot
11-01-2013, 10:40 AM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130111/club-statement_2262950_3038080)

11-01-2013, 10:41 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130111/club-statement_2262950_3038080

Club statement re this. Makes sense.

Last Minute
11-01-2013, 10:42 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130111/club-statement_2262950_3038080

11-01-2013, 10:42 AM
seems fair enough tae me, should be end of topic but it winnae be. :rolleyes:

11-01-2013, 10:43 AM
Don't know if this has been posted (apologies if so) but just saw this on Wolves website re Leigh & twitter, also states that he is likely to remain at Hibs for the rest of the season. :thumbsup:

http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/club-statement-leigh-griffiths-110113-591317.aspx

PUBLISHED
11:25 11th January 2013
Wolves are aware of an alleged racist comment made on Twitter last night by Leigh Griffiths.

The Club condemns such comments in the strongest possible terms and are extremely angry and disappointed.

The player is currently on loan at Hibernian FC and is likely to remain there for the rest of the season.

He is, therefore, subject to the disciplinary procedures of Hibernian FC and those of the Scottish Football Association. However, Wolves are in dialogue with Hibernian and are making their feelings known on the matter.

11-01-2013, 10:45 AM
Wolves issue a statement on their website (http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/club-statement-leigh-griffiths-110113-591317.aspx) following an alleged racist remark on Twitter by Leigh Griffiths: "The Club condemns such comments in the strongest possible terms and are extremely angry and disappointed.
"The player is currently on loan at Hibernian FC and is likely to remain there for the rest of the season. He is, therefore, subject to the disciplinary procedures of Hibernian FC and those of the Scottish FA. However, Wolves are in dialogue with Hibernian and are making their feelings known on the matter."

11-01-2013, 10:46 AM
Don't know if this has been posted (apologies if so) but just saw this on Wolves website re Leigh & twitter, also states that he is likely to remain at Hibs for the rest of the season. :thumbsup:

http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/club-statement-leigh-griffiths-110113-591317.aspx

PUBLISHED
Wolves are aware of an alleged racist comment made on Twitter last night by Leigh Griffiths.

The Club condemns such comments in the strongest possible terms and are extremely angry and disappointed.

The player is currently on loan at Hibernian FC and is likely to remain there for the rest of the season.

He is, therefore, subject to the disciplinary procedures of Hibernian FC and those of the Scottish Football Association. However, Wolves are in dialogue with Hibernian and are making their feelings known on the matter.

That makes interesting reading

11-01-2013, 10:48 AM

PUBLISHED

As much as I think its stupid and out of order, I cant help feeling quite happy that Wolves have taken this stance, probably rules out him staying there. Not the greatest impression to make on a new manager.

Needs to get a grip and stop getting into silly situations like this.

11-01-2013, 10:49 AM
Stupid and offensive thing to say but I'm sure if the recipient is willing to dish out personal abuse based on appearance he's not of the most sensitive nature.

I can't help but think that this negative coverage may work in our favour, however. :cb

11-01-2013, 10:50 AM

Opinions??

Don't really know where you're coming from on this, but since LG had already apologised and deleted the comment in question, and since you make no mention of the abuse the other guy was throwing at LG, my considered opinion is that you're simply out to stir up trouble for Hibs in general and for LG in particular. Griffiths should have got rid of that Twitter account ages ago; what he posted was stupid and out of order, but he apologised and withdrew it and that should have been the end of it.

But I question your motives, because apart from a strong stink of holier-than-thou hypocrite and a fair dash of troublemaker? :confused:

You claim that you're 'usually the first to support the players when they get in off-field problems'? You had less than 20 posts when you put that up. So on this forum you're not 'usually' anything.

Forgive me if I draw my own conclusions. :rolleyes:

11-01-2013, 10:51 AM
Good statement from the club - shows that they know Sparky was wrong, that the club knows it was wrong and that the club does not condone it.

For all the OTT defending of Sparky on here, I wonder if some other players at the club who receive a lot of criticism had made the comment if the defence on here would be the same?

11-01-2013, 10:52 AM

Best post on this thread. Wise words.

11-01-2013, 10:54 AM
On the plus side, Wolves will want to wash their hands off Leigh now. Leigh needs to stay off twitter though. I don't really understand why any footballer goes on twitter under his own name. They are obviously going to attract attention from morons and you would need to be a saint to resist responding to their tweets.

11-01-2013, 10:55 AM
Club statement is 100% appropriate and should be an end to this matter. Leigh will get yet another slap on the wrist/fine and will one day learn a lesson.

Absolutely delighted that the laddie is staying with us until the end of the season :thumbsup:

11-01-2013, 10:56 AM
Silly boy and unacceptable comments but can't help think this puts his whole future at Hibs in doubt. There is no place for racism at ER. Hibs and Wolves have moved quickly on this bit I think the SFA will now fine and suspend him for this unacceptable comments

11-01-2013, 10:56 AM
Given Leigh's history with Twitter I really think the club should have him close his account entirely, and fine him a week's wages for every week it remains open.

Absolutely no excuses for what he said, regardless of how much a twat the guy was to him Leigh shouldn't lower himself to that. Pretty sickening.

11-01-2013, 11:00 AM
Well done the club. A much better response than we've seen on this thread, frankly.

TheReg!
11-01-2013, 11:01 AM
It won't be long before SSN get their hands on this. He has apologised, both Wolves and Hibs have made statements. What he said was wrong BUT was said out of anger (haven't we all said stuff we don't mean). The matter is between Hibs and Lee now, so let it be, as this will grow into something big if we keep the matter going. Delete thread!

hibsmad
11-01-2013, 11:06 AM
Well done the club. A much better response than we've seen on this thread, frankly.

As far as I can see the majority on this thread have said that Leigh was wrong and quite a number have pointed out that he has apologised.

It's definitely the minority who think there was nothing wrong with his comment.

11-01-2013, 11:07 AM
This getting blown out of proportion and now because it's everywhere it will become a problem. The guy that he said it to probably didn't think too much of it but now he will probably suddenly become offended to punish Leigh.

Silly thing to say but once again blown out of proportion. I remember reading a study that revealed that many minorities in this country were more offended if someone abused them by calling them ugly or fat, rich or poor. They said that many of the things regarding where they come from didn't effect them as much. It also revealed that many of the steps we take to try and stamp out racism actually causes more problems, such as not being allowed to say blackboard and such.

I am not defending any form of racism, but why jump all over this and not any of the other things that are said that are not racist but more hurtful?

Suburban Hibby
11-01-2013, 11:09 AM
Silly boy and unacceptable comments but can't help think this puts his whole future at Hibs in doubt. There is no place for racism at ER. Hibs and Wolves have moved quickly on this bit I think the SFA will now fine and suspend him for this unacceptable comments

Am I the only one that thinks this is getting a bit blown out of proportion- a bit of a holier than thou witchhunt going on.

He was daft, rose to the bait and realised it. End of.

Get him off twitter and job done.

11-01-2013, 11:10 AM
I don't use Twitter so haven't seen the comments first hand.
I don't think I've felt this level of mock moral outrage since I never heard the Ross/Brand radio broadcast re Manuel!
I feel its my duty to be outraged on behalf of a daft bairn.
BTW what does it mean if you call someone a thumb? Maybe we should be pointing the finger at him!

11-01-2013, 11:12 AM
Club statement is 100% appropriate and should be an end to this matter. Leigh will get yet another slap on the wrist/fine and will one day learn a lesson.

Absolutely delighted that the laddie is staying with us until the end of the season :thumbsup:

I missed that. He is? :cool2:

And yes - that statement is 100% right and appropriate and that should be the end of the whole affair.

11-01-2013, 11:12 AM
I am not defending any form of racism, but why jump all over this and not any of the other things that are said that are not racist but more hurtful?

I wonder this a lot. Some of the stuff that goes his way is absolutely horrible. I don't think being abused for race is any more hurtful than being abused for physical appearance, I'd be willing to bet it's actually less hurtful.

It's not really the time for asking though, what Leigh said was out of order.

11-01-2013, 11:16 AM

Of course it does.

You don't need to be a good role model to be a role model.

11-01-2013, 11:19 AM
I missed that. He is? :cool2:

And yes - that statement is 100% right and appropriate and that should be the end of the whole affair.

From the BBC and Also on Wolves Website
http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article...13-591317.aspx (http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article...13-591317.aspx)

Wolves issue a statement on their website (http://www.wolves.co.uk/news/article/club-statement-leigh-griffiths-110113-591317.aspx) following an alleged racist remark on Twitter by Leigh Griffiths: "The Club condemns such comments in the strongest possible terms and are extremely angry and disappointed.

"The player is currently on loan at Hibernian FC and is likely to remain there for the rest of the season. He is, therefore, subject to the disciplinary procedures of Hibernian FC and those of the Scottish FA. However, Wolves are in dialogue with Hibernian and are making their feelings known on the matter."

11-01-2013, 11:20 AM
Looks like he's starying then :thumbsup:

11-01-2013, 11:31 AM
Used to do twitter and had for some unknown reason had nearly 800 followers, got fed up with it due to all the personal stuff I read when following so called celebs.

People think they can just say what they want to people, just cause it's twitter and I understand how easy it can be to bite.

Leigh has to learn to bite his lip and just block these people as Stan Collymore does.

Not read his tweet but has been stated he's apologised so should be the end of it, he needs to be pulled aside and told to grow up or lose the twitter before he gets into serious problems, in fact certain cubs down south have already banned their players from being on it.

As an aside, glad he's gonna be here till the end of season.

JustPassing
11-01-2013, 11:37 AM
Jesus H Christ. :confused: The boy may be a prick but he is as scottish as anyone here.
What does the H stand for?

11-01-2013, 11:38 AM
The guys an idiot. I hope he goes to Leeds.

11-01-2013, 11:41 AM
The abuse he got was unreal, I was about to type he would've been better blocking those that write abuse but he'd never be off the thing if he chose to do that.

Seeing as the vast majority of footballers tweet the grand total of 3 messages "Loving the banter:thumbsup:", "great game today!:thumbsup:", and my personal favourite "going to Nandos with the boys, YAAAASSSS:thumbsup:" I'm not sure why they bother with it.

11-01-2013, 11:43 AM
As far as I can see the majority on this thread have said that Leigh was wrong and quite a number have pointed out that he has apologised.

It's definitely the minority who think there was nothing wrong with his comment.

Really? Looks to be about 70-30 in favour of the view that either a) its PC gone mad or b) Leighs been daft BUT its all Iqbals fault really.

11-01-2013, 11:43 AM
I happen to agree with you mate but this post will go down like a lead balloon.

You probably won't get the irony of hating immigrants and supporting Hibs but it's a corker.

11-01-2013, 11:44 AM
Deezil, your post must be the internet equivalent of chucking an aerosol can onto a bonfire, next few pages will be fun!

11-01-2013, 11:45 AM
Sick to death of these folk offended at anything these days. You know what good on him. the UK is a very small Island and is far to over populated with Illegal Immigrants. They should be doing way more to stop these Polish/Romanian beggars as well. Australia has it spot on. You go there you live by their rules and laws. We are far to soft and always seem to back off when we are challenged by anyone who has came to our country and not respected our laws. I'm not racist at all but for gods sake, this country needs a set of balls and stop being bent over when folk are offended. If the guy was giving him abuse and he was from another country then I back Leigh. PISS OFF BACK YOU @RSEHOLE. Sorry to offend any soft souls out there! feel free to PM me.

11-01-2013, 11:45 AM
You probably won't get the irony of hating immigrants and supporting Hibs but it's a corker.

11-01-2013, 11:46 AM
The abuse he got was unreal, I was about to type he would've been better blocking those that write abuse but he'd never be off the thing if he chose to do that.

Seeing as the vast majority of footballers tweet the grand total of 3 messages "Loving the banter:thumbsup:", "great game today!:thumbsup:", and my personal favourite "going to Nandos with the boys, YAAAASSSS:thumbsup:" I'm not sure why they bother with it.

I envy them ! Wish I had the amount of Banter/Abuse they get..

Follow me on Twitter please... #lonely :greengrin

BarneyK
11-01-2013, 11:46 AM
Deezil, your post must be the internet equivalent of chucking an aerosol can onto a bonfire, next few pages will be fun!

:agree: Personally, I'm appalled. The punctuation is horrific. :duck:

11-01-2013, 11:47 AM
This getting blown out of proportion and now because it's everywhere it will become a problem. The guy that he said it to probably didn't think too much of it but now he will probably suddenly become offended to punish Leigh.

Silly thing to say but once again blown out of proportion. I remember reading a study that revealed that many minorities in this country were more offended if someone abused them by calling them ugly or fat, rich or poor. They said that many of the things regarding where they come from didn't effect them as much. It also revealed that many of the steps we take to try and stamp out racism actually causes more problems, such as not being allowed to say blackboard and such.

if its not a blackboard then what is it?

Sick to death of these folk offended at anything these days. You know what good on him. the UK is a very small Island and is far to over populated with Illegal Immigrants. They should be doing way more to stop these Polish/Romanian beggars as well. Australia has it spot on. You go there you live by their rules and laws. We are far to soft and always seem to back off when we are challenged by anyone who has came to our country and not respected our laws. I'm not racist at all but for gods sake, this country needs a set of balls and stop being bent over when folk are offended. If the guy was giving him abuse and he was from another country then I back Leigh. PISS OFF BACK YOU @RSEHOLE. Sorry to offend any soft souls out there! feel free to PM me.

But he wasn't he was Scottish. :confused:

TonyStokeprano
I don't even know why I'm responding to this, but the guy who abused Leigh is Scottish - he said he was born in Scotland and grew up in Scotland. :rolleyes:

What's the problem then, it's like me being in the local pub and telling some stranger who is giving me abuse to **** off back to your own pub.

11-01-2013, 11:48 AM
Leigh Griffiths is only human ffs, he recieves abuse on daily basis from idiots on twitter slagging off him, his family and his children specifically. He's made a very stupid remark in the heat of an arguement (which we've all done), instantly deleted it and apologised. The club will deal with this internally, no need to crucify him on here.

But he wasn't he was Scottish. :confused:

Haha ok retract it all :greengrin Why did he say that then out of interest.

Think it's called a chalkboard now.

BarneyK

And if he wisnae from another country?

BarneyK
11-01-2013, 11:49 AM

Cos he was being a wee bit racist of course :greengrin

11-01-2013, 11:49 AM
What's the problem then, it's like me being in the local pub and telling some stranger who is giving me abuse to **** off back to your own pub.

I don't think the man's pub in your story would be a fundemental part of his identity. Using race, which is a fundemental part of someone's identity, something they have no control over, as part of a way of attacking them, is offensive.

11-01-2013, 11:50 AM

Never seen the tweet but as a pro footballer you have to ignore these people and just block them, Stan Collymore does.

TheReg!
11-01-2013, 11:50 AM

I don't hate immigrants, but the none the less our Country is full of them, I hate the soft MPs who have made this possible.

DarrenSQH
11-01-2013, 11:51 AM
I don't hate immigrants, but the none the less our Country is full of them, I hate the soft MPs who have made this possible.

Who was it that set up Hibs again?

I cant understand people who have a problem with immigrants but love the team that was set up for them

11-01-2013, 11:52 AM
Flag debates are for pussies. This is where the real multi-pagers are at.

Not so under cover Yams, racism, apologies, denials, Alf Garnet reborn, it could last forever.

The various trolls involved in this one must be delighted.

11-01-2013, 11:54 AM
By all means debate the issue but anybody crossing the line and simply making their own racist comments will be shown zero tolerance.

The EU opened up it's borders and accepted these countries in to our community, we are part of that and as such these immigrants can come and go as they please until such time as we are no longer part of said community.

Australia has no such community rules and lives by it's own rules which are very strict, if they were part of a larger community they'd have to live by their rules.

been dealt with on three levels, Leigh's apology, Wolves statement and Hibs disciplinary procedures! No need to dwell on it! Highlighting it gives credence to the jumbo trolls on here at the moment!

11-01-2013, 11:55 AM
Some of the comments on this thread are disgraceful. You don't have to agree with the politics, that's what our democracy is for, but you cannot defend racism.

By all means debate the issue but anybody crossing the line and simply making their own racist comments will be shown zero tolerance.
Even if they remove the post and issue an apology? :greengrin

Gus
I get told to f off back to my own country all the time, because i'm English if you are willing to dish it out then be man enough to take it IMO

Leigh has apologised end of. Who hasn't said anything in the heat of the moment? The guy gets sooo much abuse. Yes he is in the public eye, role model if you will, but he his human.

My twitter feed is now full of Jambo's taking the moral high ground (unfollowed now)

11-01-2013, 11:56 AM
I get told to f off back to my own country all the time, if you are willing to dish it out then be man enough to take it IMO

Leigh has apologised end of. Who hasn't said anything in the heat of the moment? The guy gets sooo much abuse. Yes he is in the public eye, role model if you will, but he his human.

My twitter feed is now full of Jambo's taking the moral high ground (unfollowed now)

you've still not took the hint! :aok:

11-01-2013, 11:56 AM
Life was much easier when Mind your Language was on TV, at least everyone knew their place!

11-01-2013, 11:57 AM
I get told to f off back to my own country all the time, if you are willing to dish it out then be man enough to take it IMO

My twitter feed is now full of Jambo's taking the moral high ground (unfollowed now)**** off ya sassenach :wink: :greengrin

11-01-2013, 11:58 AM
Life was much easier when Mind your Language was on TV, at least everyone knew their place!

:fishin::slipper::rules:

11-01-2013, 11:59 AM

Sky News Newsdesk‏@SkyNewsBreak Lothian and Borders police say it is to look into claims Hibernian striker Leigh Griffiths sent a racist tweet

11-01-2013, 12:00 PM
been dealt with on three levels, Leigh's apology, Wolves statement and Hibs disciplinary procedures! No need to dwell on it! Highlighting it gives credence to the jumbo trolls on here at the moment!

Actually its four levels since Marinello did his Batman bit on all the dodgy posting.

skyehibee
Does anyone else not think this is a blessing in disguise?

I am not for one second praising what hes actually done, but as soon as Wolves heard about this im sure any plans they had about him coming back would of changed immediatly and therefore bit of a winner for us in that aspect :confused:

Gus
you've still not took the hint! :aok:

**** off ya sassenach :wink: :greengrin

I rest my case...........hope to see to a million page thread on these two :wink:

Even if they remove the post and issue an apology? :greengrin

I should have seen that one coming. :greengrin

11-01-2013, 12:01 PM
:fishin::slipper::rules:

Just realised I've got a magnet in my pocket beside my moral compass, the readings are all over the place! :-)

What's it all coming to?

Next we'll be told that Austrian born Germans can't invade Poland.

It's political correctness gone mad.

Its making headline news everywhere now! Leigh's made a right mess of it this time :brickwall

11-01-2013, 12:03 PM
Just realised I've got a magnet in my pocket beside my moral compass, the readings are all over the place! :-)

:greengrin:greengrin

Lot of faux outrage here. Quite a few are embarrassed by little and offended by a lot.

Aye, he was wrong for what he tweeted to the boy but the majority of those who abuse him get nastier and nastier towards him until they get the required abuse back so they can cry about it and broadcast to all and sundry how the nasty man picked on them.

Leigh should be punished for this but it's wrong to let the instigators off scot free. We all have a tipping point.

What's it all coming to?

You say invade, but to him it was all just one country.

11-01-2013, 12:04 PM
What's it all coming to?

If Hitler had just went back to his own country it would have saved a lot of bother.

Lot of faux outrage here. Quite a few are embarrassed by little and offended by a lot.

Aye, he was wrong for what he tweeted to the boy but the majority of those who abuse him get nastier and nastier towards him until they get the required abuse back so they can cry about it and broadcast to all and sundry how the nasty man picked on them.

Leigh should be punished for this but it's wrong to let the instigators off scot free. We all have a tipping point.
Was thinking the same, What did this person actually tweet to Leigh to provoke this reaction?

Think it's called a chalkboard now.

I could be wrong but I think that, in the main, the 'not allowed to call it a blackboard' story is a bit of a myth.

'Full of them'?

11-01-2013, 12:05 PM
Life was much easier when Mind your Language was on TV, at least everyone knew their place!:hilarious

Sky News Newsdesk‏@SkyNewsBreak Lothian and Borders police say it is to look into claims Hibernian striker Leigh Griffiths sent a racist tweet

I hope they are looking into some of the comments that he has been the victim of recently then too.....

Not in any way justifying what was said but in the spirit of fairness harassing someone via social media is usually dealt with quite severly. :rolleyes:

Russell The Dug
Arm round the shoulder of the boy. Pen with the pre contract in the other. Never get a better chance!

TonyStokeprano
I don't think the man's pub in your story would be a fundemental part of his identity. Using race, which is a fundemental part of someone's identity, something they have no control over, as part of a way of attacking them, is offensive.

In the same way people can't choose which areas they're brought up in, is it racist if you get called leith ****? Or a Gorgie tramp? Most people would say no, replace leith and Gorgie with the word polish and it makes you a racist? I told someone to **** off back to Calder the other day.

11-01-2013, 12:06 PM
I rest my case...........hope to see to a million page thread on these two :wink::thumbsup::thumbsup:

11-01-2013, 12:08 PM
Was thinking the same, What did this person actually tweet to Leigh to provoke this reaction?

Even though mainstream media has got a hold of this story, they will probably find it easier to find white dug s**t than the actual reason for Leigh's post.

11-01-2013, 12:09 PM

http://www1.skysports.com/news-wire/

Nothing here about it

http://news.sky.com/

Or here :confused::confused:

11-01-2013, 12:10 PM
And if he wisnae from another country?

If he wasn't then he wasn't! If it turned out he was then then big deal. My friends consist of many races and although they were born here they as well are shocked at how soft we are as a country towards Illegal immigrants and how offended people get at anything these days. I think we all agree shouting things like the N word and that is just clearly not on but telling someone to get back to their own country for me means **** all.

hibsmad
11-01-2013, 12:10 PM
Really? Looks to be about 70-30 in favour of the view that either a) its PC gone mad or b) Leighs been daft BUT its all Iqbals fault really.

Think you are being unfair to the majority on this thread. Hibs response was to say that Leigh was wrong but he has apologised, and will now be disciplined. Most on this thread have said that Leigh is wrong/daft but he has apologised, or Leigh is wrong/daft but we also have to acknowledge the abuse he receives.

There is no way that 70% are saying that there is nothing wrong with what he said, or it's "all the other guys fault". If that was the case then I'd be feeling pretty ashamed to be a Hibs fan.

Anyway, I agree with your stance on the matter so it's all good!

11-01-2013, 12:11 PM

Surely they can't suspend him for something he done off the pitch?

Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 12:12 PM

Nothing here about it

It's on bbc sportsday news.

11-01-2013, 12:12 PM
You say invade, but to him it was all just one country.

I feel the same way about Stuart Adamson, Mark Brzezicki, Tony Butler and Bruce Watson. To me, they were all just one Big Country.

If Hitler had just went back to his own country it would have saved a lot of bother.

Exactly.

Soon they'll be telling us that it's not OK to write racial abuse in excrement on someone's front door. It's political correctness gone mad. - Stewart Lee

Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 12:13 PM

Be a first ban by social media I would think.

Velma Dinkley
11-01-2013, 12:13 PM
Leigh needs to learn to rise above abusive comments. He certainly gets enough of them so he gets plenty of practice! The people sending him abuse on Twitter also need to realise that online bullying is illegal.

11-01-2013, 12:14 PM

Nothing here about it

But here's where it all is

https://twitter.com/search?q=griffiths&src=typd

Mac
11-01-2013, 12:15 PM
Just off the phone to a friend who works for the Scotsman, and I asked them were they got the story from! I had to wait a bit until they went and found out....guess what they said?

A Hibs forum :brickwall

I asked it they follow people on facebook & twitter, they said only sometime, but they do follow both Hibs & Hearts fans forms everyday!

You genuinely had to ask that question and didnt know what the answer was?????

11-01-2013, 12:16 PM

all of this :agree:

11-01-2013, 12:17 PM
What's it all coming to?

Being part Polish, I'm greatly offended!

TheReg!
11-01-2013, 12:20 PM
'Full of them'?[/QUOTE]

Why are you looking for an argument? I do believe there are too many Immigrants in the UK, that is my opinion , if that is upsetting you then I am sorry but that is how I see it. I have lived down south for the last 18 years around many city's and towns and although I have no problem with immigrants I can clearly see the problem it causes within the Community.

Part of you should F off back to its own country, then.

:cb

So was most of Poland at that time. Adolf had a knack for doing that.

Chris.igoe
11-01-2013, 12:22 PM
The boy is not bothered so why all this

@Zak_Iqbal: @LeighG28 And I don't really get offended about stuff like that anyway because to me at the end of the day its all banter.

Teapot
11-01-2013, 12:22 PM
I hope they are looking into some of the comments that he has been the victim of recently then too.....

Not in any way justifying what was said but in the spirit of fairness harassing someone via social media is usually dealt with quite severly. :rolleyes:

Agreed. Not condoning what he said but these "keyboard hard men" should be held accountable for some of the vile tweets he recieves.

11-01-2013, 12:24 PM

Mansion or Turtle Wax? Or perhaps Mr Sheen? :wink:

Mac
11-01-2013, 12:24 PM
I will also look forward to the papers printing the endless racist comments about Hibs fans now, we sing KKK songs etc etc etc

wonder why people dont buy newspapers anymore, some of the headlines are outrageous and as has been pointed out very much half truths.

HibeeN
11-01-2013, 12:27 PM
Australia has it spot on. You go there you live by their rules and laws.

:confused: The same Australia who as recently as the 1970s removed Aboriginal children from their families in order to try and keep blood pure? Even today there is still lots of racism in Australia (as there is in other countries) - it certainly shouldn't be held up as an example to follow.

11-01-2013, 12:29 PM

Try living in america, that country is full of immigrants ;)

blaikie
Lot of rubbish as per .... Deegan said worse in the summer to Mcpake on twitter, hopefully this means Wolves release him early!

I certainly wouldn't defend the tweet/comment Leigh made bollah, however sometimes you have to look at things in a wider context - both tweets, by the letter of the law, are criminal (both the other lad's tweet and Leigh's) - different crimes admittedly, crimes which are looked upon with differing opinion in law and in society today (in severity), but both crimes.

My problem with society today is that people in the wrong, immediately when caught start to point the finger of blame on others - by that I mean people who say 'I know what he did was wrong, but blame the government/police/teachers/delete as appropriate.

Would Leigh have tweeted what he did if the guy had not been offensive in the first place ? The answer is no. Was Leigh's tweet proportionate - of course not, and it was absolutely out of order. And it was a racist remark. Which in turn makes it criminal and it needs dealt with. What Leigh's views are on ethnic groups, immigration, those from different backgrounds and cultures - no one knows at the end of the day. Whatever his thoughts, unless they are constructive and helpful, he should keep to himself.

But the other lad encouraged a response by being abusive himself - so he also needs to look himself in the mirror, as does society really.

I go for drinks in plenty boozers in Edinburgh. Touch wood, not once have I been in a fight - why, it's because I don't go looking for it, nor do I approach people and dish out verbal abuse or call their familes all the names under the sun. That might merit a right good punch in my coupon if I did - and some would say deservedly.

In short - I wish people, in life, would take responsibility for their own actions and use the wee rule of karma - be nice to people and they'll be nice to you back. Both lads are out of order in this case - it's just world view (and I believe the right view) that racism is worse than offensive/abusive comments. But you cannot ignore the fact that the other lad invited a response - the sad fact is that Leigh responded with the words and tone that he did. There's no place for racism in society agreed - however for me there is no place for randomly abusing people you don't know or have no connection with either.

Twitter and Facebook hide behind privacy laws and freedom of speech/expression - they say their sites 'self police' as you can report abuse in many ways. For me there lies the problem - they wash their hands of it and let others 'take the rap' - they themselves should be far more responsive and active in putting an end to this 'cyber-bullying, abuse' culture that exists - but they won't because of money, pure and simple. Kids these days actually do think it's 'acceptable' to post abuse on social media - I put the word in quotes because they know it probably is wrong, but there is no punishment, deterrent or penalty for posting abuse - they don't see the internet as a place, they forget the words are there for all to see - some are just young, silly and we've all been there - it's basically putting onto a website what we all no doubt said in the playgrounds when we were that age too.

Was what Frankie Boyle said (when he challenged the press in court who labelled him) humour or criminal/racist ? Are/were his comments about Katie Price's boy criminal or not, or just offensive and to be taken in good humour by all concerned ? When Rory Bremner imitates and mocks a blind politician and questions his fidelity when does it stop being satire ? Remember Norman Tebbit asking whether or not certain members of our society would pass the 'cricket test' ? Would he stand trial now ?

By all means challenge racist behaviour and those that are racist. I wholeheartedly agree we should. But I'd like folk to look beyond that too and look at what our young people are writing to each other on social media sites and accepting as 'the norm' - and that is abusing each other and thinking it's not hurting anyone by doing so.

11-01-2013, 12:31 PM
Lot of rubbish as per .... Deegan said worse in the summer to Mcpake on twitter, hopefully this means Wolves release him early!

Is Deegan on loan too?

JustPassing
11-01-2013, 12:32 PM
Isn't censorship in a free society an anachronism?

When the followers of John Cormack and his Protestant Action thugs were preaching their bile at The Mound, it was offensive and puerile but freedom of speech showed them up for what they were. Scotland in 2013 is far more cosmopolitan and tolerant then it was as recently as the 1970s and I feel people can make up their own minds without someone deciding what they can and can't read or hear. Another example is that since the days of Colin Jordan and John Tyndall, the membership and influence of extreme organisations has withered rather prospered and I feel that is the power of free speech and debate.

There is lots of offensive fare in newspapers, TV and the web but there is also the off switch and the delete option as well.

The ludicrous side of censorship was Gerry Adams having his voice overdubbed by an actor so that the feelings of the lieges would be spared any offence.

Leigh Griffiths has been shown to be an arse, under provocation, haven't we all? He has apologised, so that should be an end to the matter.

11-01-2013, 12:33 PM
Thank you Hibs.net.

.... a load of old bollox, even by our standards.

What a car crash of a thread.

11-01-2013, 12:34 PM
Don't think his comments will go down too well in Wolverhampton based on its' ethnic mixes.

To me this is the perfect opportunity for Hibs to engage more fully with Edinburgh's minorities to demonstrate that we are not a bunch of racists and attract them to the Hibs family.

11-01-2013, 12:34 PM
Has nobody considered that all this furore might just be over a simple spelling mistake?

ie what Griffiths intended to say was actually " F&$k off back to your own COUNTY" as in "get ye back to west lothian ya inbred muppet" ???

NB - apologies to all who may interpret the above as having regionalist overtones - I was merely creating an example of the possible interprtations of Griffiths' comments and in no way intended to imply that anyone from West Lothian is a muppet.

11-01-2013, 12:35 PM
Is we were all given to making regular racist comments as part of everyday normal conversation, would we be:

a) all racists
b) non-racists as racism would be a cultural norm
c) living in Burnley, Lancashire.

11-01-2013, 12:36 PM
:confused: The same Australia who as recently as the 1970s removed Aboriginal children from their families in order to try and keep blood pure? Even today there is still lots of racism in Australia (as there is in other countries) - it certainly shouldn't be held up as an example to follow.

I don't agree with that at all. But I agree with most of the things their PM says. Just my opinion and view. I'm more talking about folk who travel there will obey there laws and they don't bend over backwards like we do. If you don't agree that's fair enough mate.

11-01-2013, 12:38 PM
The guy shouldn't have tweeted abuse to leigh in the first place but i'l bet the only reason he done it was because leigh has a reputation for biting. If leigh just ignored it all in the first place he wouldn't get so many idiots tweeting him. Still a very stupid thing for leigh to do. Got to laugh at some people who are trying to take moral highground on this (mainly hearts fans), people who are just as 'racist' themselves

11-01-2013, 12:39 PM

For those who dont have access to twitter, and can only read the medias one sided reporting.

From Zak Iqbals mate tweeted him with this-

@Likely_Lad1990: Leigh Griffiths tweeting people about poor spelling then spells his reply wrong haha #yourdoingitwrong

Then from he admitted he was bored so he might tweet the cant -

@Zak_Iqbal: @Likely_Lad1990 he is a fooling arse man. Since I am bored I might tweet the cant!

The initial tweet from good ole Zak to to Leigh -

@Zak_Iqbal: @LeighG28 mate you're a thumb, you go out in club earth and how many different birds you got pregnant? You really are such a stupid cant

Then followed a bit of tooing and frowing, mocking clothes, etc, then Leigh dropped the "get back to your own country" bomb.

Clearly started by the ******** Zak Iqbal, but not excusing Leighs response.

Leigh should have blocked him straight away.

St.Kristopher
11-01-2013, 12:40 PM
Now most read article on BBC News, think this may spiral out of control now.

11-01-2013, 12:43 PM
Afraid this has national exposure, its the number one story read on BBC website. Even above Jimmy Saville!

11-01-2013, 12:43 PM
For those who dont have access to twitter, and can only read the medias one sided reporting.

From Zak Iqbals mate tweeted him with this-

Then from he admitted he was bored so he might tweet the cant -

@Zak_Iqbal: @Likely_Lad1990 he is a fooling arse man. Since I am bored I might tweet the cant!

The initial tweet from good ole Zak to to Leigh -

@Zak_Iqbal: @LeighG28 mate you're a thumb, you go out in club earth and how many different birds you got pregnant? You really are such a stupid cant

Then followed a bit of tooing and frowing, mocking clothes, etc, then Leigh dropped the "get back to your own country" bomb.

Clearly started by the ******** Zak Iqbal, but not excusing Leighs response.

Leigh should have blocked him straight away.

Here endeth the lesson - 100% agree :agree:

11-01-2013, 12:45 PM
Have we established what a thumb is yet?

Is it part of the young peoples vernacular I've never heard before?

11-01-2013, 12:47 PM

Yes they can.

11-01-2013, 12:48 PM
Don't think his comments will go down too well in Wolverhampton based on its' ethnic mixes.

To me this is the perfect opportunity for Hibs to engage more fully with Edinburgh's minorities to demonstrate that we are not a bunch of racists and attract them to the Hibs family.

I dunno, some of the folk who voted for Enoch Powell must still be around the place.

11-01-2013, 12:50 PM
Have we established what a thumb is yet?

Is it part of the young peoples vernacular I've never heard before?

Apparently, it's what passes for a rapier-like witty put down among Jambos: "Leigh Griffiths looks like a thumb". If that makes you any the wiser? :confused: