View Full Version : Leigh Griffiths Twitter/Club Statement
11-01-2013, 12:51 PM
Griffiths is painfully thick sometimes. That said, this is being blown WAY out of proportion. Do people really get offended by pathetic little comments like that?
For those who dont have access to twitter, and can only read the medias one sided reporting.
From Zak Iqbals mate tweeted him with this-
@Likely_Lad1990: Leigh Griffiths tweeting people about poor spelling then spells his reply wrong haha #yourdoingitwrong
Then from he admitted he was bored so he might tweet the cant -
@Zak_Iqbal: @Likely_Lad1990 he is a fooling arse man. Since I am bored I might tweet the cant!
The initial tweet from good ole Zak to to Leigh -
@Zak_Iqbal: @LeighG28 mate you're a thumb, you go out in club earth and how many different birds you got pregnant? You really are such a stupid cant
Then followed a bit of tooing and frowing, mocking clothes, etc, then Leigh dropped the "get back to your own country" bomb.
Clearly started by the ******** Zak Iqbal, but not excusing Leighs response.
Leigh should have blocked him straight away.
This also clearly shows that the initial abuse was premeditated and calculated with cause or provocation and therefor the initial offender will also be liable for prosecution.
HibeeN
11-01-2013, 12:52 PM
I don't agree with that at all. But I agree with most of the things their PM says. Just my opinion and view. I'm more talking about folk who travel there will obey there laws and they don't bend over backwards like we do. If you don't agree that's fair enough mate.
No worries. :aok: To be honest I don't know much about Australia's immigration policies nowadays, I just find it a bit ironic seeing as the white majority (92%) who live there now are only there because of their ancestors' immigration and at the expense of the indigenous Australians.
11-01-2013, 12:53 PM
Zak doesn't like thumbs apparently
Spudster
11-01-2013, 12:55 PM
Racism
1. The belief that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, esp. so as to distinguish it as...
2. Prejudice or discrimination directed against someone of a different race based on such a belief.
It's not racist, it is stupidity however. Talented footballer is stupid, hardly shocking news
11-01-2013, 12:56 PM
I see that Wolves response includes a statement saying that the player is currently on loan to Hibs and is likely to remain there for the rest of the season! Ah well, it's not all bad news then.
For what it's worth, I would put a clause in every footballer's contract to say that they were not allowed to operate a Twitter account and that any breach of contract would result in a hefty fine.
Certainly an unacceptable comment for the player to make but this country has gone PC mad and the response in the media has been way over the top.
mentalhibee
11-01-2013, 12:57 PM
Would this have been a big deal if someone had tweeted griffiths while he was back at wolves saying...."why dont you go back to your own country?"...NO! So why the big deal? Is it because the guy has a exotic name? The abuse he gets on twitter is brutal...he's just reacted stupidly. The wee Bawbag that tweeted him will be loving this.
11-01-2013, 12:58 PM
Racism
1. The belief that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, esp. so as to distinguish it as...
2. Prejudice or discrimination directed against someone of a different race based on such a belief.
It's not racist, it is stupidity however. Talented footballer is stupid, hardly shocking news
Not everything has to adhere exactly to the definition of a word, lol. It was certainly racism. His insult was entirely based around the fact that the guy's name made him sound like he was of Asian origin.
Lee Marvin
11-01-2013, 12:59 PM
Griffiths is painfully thick sometimes. That said, this is being blown WAY out of proportion. Do people really get offended by pathetic little comments like that?
I'm finding it hard to stick up for Leigh on this one. Yes, what he said is not that bad (on the racist scale its about a 2 out of 10), but nonetheless it can still be classed as racist. I understand that hr gets loads of abuse and I would find it hard not to bite, but why go on Twitter when you know that this happens - esp to people like him. This is my gripe. GET OFF TWITTER FOR GOOD YA RADGE. I see a silverlining tho, we def have more chance of getting him now. Wolves will wash their hands of him now I suspect.
11-01-2013, 01:01 PM
Sky sports reporting the police are investigating it...ffs
Newry Hibs
11-01-2013, 01:01 PM
Afraid this has national exposure, its the number one story read on BBC website. Even above Jimmy Saville!
Not helped by the headline to click on just being 'Anger over player's......' - so presumably people were disappointed by a Wolves / Hibs player and not a Premier League superstar - who possibly plays in blue.
Correct, never read so much supposed out rage from so many thin skinned people. I hear ten times worse at ER.
11-01-2013, 01:04 PM
Needs to get himself a good lawyer. Sure they could argue his way out of any potential criminal prosecution. Stupid laddie though, needs to grow up.
11-01-2013, 01:04 PM
This also clearly shows that the initial abuse was premeditated and calculated with cause or provocation and therefor the initial offender will also be liable for prosecution.
Here's hoping you are correct and Zak gets a visit from L&B shortly.
Migt send a message to all those twats on twitter who set out to cause bother.
Velma Dinkley
11-01-2013, 01:07 PM
Not everything has to adhere exactly to the definition of a word, lol. It was certainly racism. His insult was entirely based around the fact that the guy's name made him sound like he was of Asian origin.
The whole point of words is that they have specific meanings!
Down with this sort of thing! :tsk tsk:
Correct, never read so much supposed out rage from so many thin skinned people. I hear ten times worse at ER.
90% of his tweets to the morons that tweet him are more offensive than this, he should just drop twitter instead of baiting folk. Never going to end well.
LioNeilMessi
11-01-2013, 01:08 PM
I don't hate immigrants, but the none the less our Country is full of them, I hate the soft MPs who have made this possible.
Obviously not true.
With regards to Leigh, he should of learned from the past and found a more constructive hobby to spend his time rather than wasting it on the social media (pot calling kettle black here but I don't make the newspapers with my tweets!! :greengrin). Not constructive but he could take up Call of Duty and he can call everyone on-line a 'turd' or 'noob' whilst defending the his beloved country's honour in a more socially acceptable manner: on the real (but fake) battlefield! :cb
11-01-2013, 01:08 PM
No worries. :aok: To be honest I don't know much about Australia's immigration policies nowadays, I just find it a bit ironic seeing as the white majority (92%) who live there now are only there because of their ancestors' immigration and at the expense of the indigenous Australians.
It's sad how they forced the real Australian's out. The aborigines were there first and we punted all our criminals there. So I fully agree on that. Bringing it up to this day and age I think they are going about it right to make sure they aren't over run with folk who cheat the system something that we sadly have lost control of. I do think people do get over offended and the media plays a massive part In Influencing us all. When I go to England I always get called "Jock" from my friends down there. To me that's nothing yet other find it offensive. So where do we draw the line? What is acceptable and what isn't? Like i've said before saying the N word I think is bang out of order but I bet others prob don't. We could be here debating this subject all day haha.
11-01-2013, 01:10 PM
The same word/sentence can have different meanings based on context. Language is anything but specific.
11-01-2013, 01:11 PM
This is all interpretation.
no different to me than calling somebody something you think will annoy them, it is no different than calling somebody fat etc but because there is a tone deemed racist that is seen as far worse than any other name calling.
It is pure and simple for me if you do not like somebody purely on their race that makes you racist, calling somebody a name about skin colour is a racist remark but for me does not make you racist. So calling somebody fat means your against fat folk or specky means your against folk who wear glasses but oh you mention colour and your against that race, total and utter bollocks the whole lot of it.
2 guys playground slagging big deal.
Mikey_1875
11-01-2013, 01:12 PM
I think the guy accepted the apology as well so can't see their being any legal prosecution, charges etc. Looks like it's getting national coverage though on a quiet period for the SPL. Hopefully it'll be dealt with internally and that will be all but can't see the SFA passing up an opportunity to stick their beaks into this 'juicy' tale.
11-01-2013, 01:13 PM
Part of you should F off back to its own country, then.
:cb
Well f*** you and your scoopy mate too then!! White trailer park trash that you are! :na na:
11-01-2013, 01:14 PM
Hmm, that's true, but there are usually slight differences when you look at the meaning of a specific word in various different dictionaries; it can be hard to find the absolute meaning. Like I said anyway, he was clearly being racist. The underlying meaning of his tweet is that the guy doesn't deserve to live in this country based on the fact that he appears to be of Asian(?) descent. Still though, it's hardly the most offensive comment on the planet. It's just sad that insults like that are a symptom of real racism and discrimination.
Velma Dinkley
11-01-2013, 01:14 PM
The same word/sentence can have different meanings based on context. Language is anything but specific.
Context is important but with a standalone word we have to go with it's very definition, otherwise we're just making things up as we go along.
Leishy1995
11-01-2013, 01:17 PM
The frustrating thing about twitter is that https://support.twitter.com/forms/abusiveuser that is the only way to report things, it isn't great or well documented, but if it was Leigh and others could use it at least once.
11-01-2013, 01:17 PM
The Hibs and Wolves official statements should have put this to bed. After all, this only confirms what we already knew about Leigh - he's a brilliant player but possibly not the most intelligent chap. However, if some of the posts I have seen on this thread are genuine then I'm absolutely shocked. If this thread goes on then the attitudes of some Hibs fans might become the story the press picks up on here...
11-01-2013, 01:19 PM
I'm actually pretty annoyed with Griffiths here. What he's said cannot be defended and I'm afraid if we sign him now we'll be looked upon in a particularly bad light. Just as he was about to stay on he goes and does this :rolleyes:
johncrobertson@
11-01-2013, 01:22 PM
Sky saying Lothian Borders Police will investigate. Both clubs have made statements - he will be disciplined - why do the police need to now get involved. They should start doing something about groups of fans making racist chants at games!
Hibtastic
11-01-2013, 01:22 PM
I havent read through the whole of this thread so apologies if I am repeating comments already made.
I follow Leigh on Twitter and the amount of abuse he gets is absolutely ridiculous and far worse than what he said last night. Comments slagging of his kids etc.
Its ironic given that numpties who think its ok to go on someone's personal twitter account and spout abuse then take the hump when he reacts. Dont get me wrong, Leigh shouldnt have said anything but I think we need to have some perspective on this.
11-01-2013, 01:23 PM
I have been told to **** off back to my own country numerous times over the last twenty years....................it cut me deep, real deep I can tell you!
11-01-2013, 01:23 PM
I'm actually pretty annoyed with Griffiths here. What he's said cannot be defended and I'm afraid if we sign him now we'll be looked upon in a particularly bad light. Just as he was about to stay on he goes and does this :rolleyes:
Why? it's been blown up big style. As for the comment I've heard much, much worse form other footballers and nothing is said about them or the clubs they are at now. Comment made in the heat of the moment after a torrent of abuse. Wolves no longer want him so we'll happily have him back and believe me I'll be one of the first to welcome him.
11-01-2013, 01:24 PM
Have we established what a thumb is yet?
Is it part of the young peoples vernacular I've never heard before?
The thumb is the first digit (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finger) of the hand (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hand). When a person is standing in the medical anatomical position (where the palm is facing to the front), the thumb is the outermost digit. The Medical Latin English noun for thumb is pollex (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/pollex) (compare hallux (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hallux) for big toe), and the corresponding adjective for thumb is pollical (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/pollical).
http://i49.tinypic.com/140hv8h.jpgSorry, work a bit slow today:greengrin
11-01-2013, 01:28 PM
Out of interest say I walk past one of those Romanian beggars and they ask me for money, I refuse and walk on, they they shout something in Romanian at me. I turn back and shout **** off back home and stop crippling our country. Anyone here be offended?
I'm asking because that's exactly what a guy in work just told me he did. For the record I'd prob flatten him first then shout it. But I agree with what the boy has said.
Sioux
Sky news now reporting that Lothian & Borders Police now investigating!
WTF - have they nothing better to do?
It's sad how they forced the real Australian's out. The aborigines were there first and we punted all our criminals there. So I fully agree on that. Bringing it up to this day and age I think they are going about it right to make sure they aren't over run with folk who cheat the system something that we sadly have lost control of. I do think people do get over offended and the media plays a massive part In Influencing us all. When I go to England I always get called "Jock" from my friends down there. To me that's nothing yet other find it offensive. So where do we draw the line? What is acceptable and what isn't? Like i've said before saying the N word I think is bang out of order but I bet others prob don't. We could be here debating this subject all day haha.
I don't like being called 'Jock', but I do accept that not every Englishman who calls me that is being deliberately offensive.
'******' on the other hand, has a long, nasty history of racial prejudice and injustice behind it, and any white person using it to address or refer to any other person should in my opinion just come right out and put on the pointy hood and bedsheets. It's like 'coon, 'wog', 'dago', 'chinky', 'spic', 'wop', 'Polack', 'Yid', 'Jew-boy' etc - totally unacceptable.
I think it's true to say that wherever you find a colonial power dominating an indigenous population you will also find racist attitudes and bigotry that endure even after the colonial power leaves and the country returns to indigenous rule. We justify our aggression by telliung ourselves and our colonial victims that we're an enlightened race bringing tcivilisation and culture to a dark and backward country and people. "The white man's burden" Kipling called it.
Orwell had some very good things to say about it in "Burmese Days" and some of his essays.
You'll also find it where there are distinct ethnic minorities with immigrant origins. We need to be aware of our Imperial history - our Imperial record in Africa, the Indian sub-continent, the Caribbean, Australia and New Zealand, South-East Asia and so on is very bad, and even today we find it very hard to admit or accept this.
Just finished reading a very good book by Timothy B Tyson (who grew up in the American Deep South as the son of a white Methodist minister) - "Blood Done Sign My Name". I'd recommend to anyone who's interested. A great deal of insight and honesty in there.
11-01-2013, 01:29 PM
Out of interest say I walk past one of those Romanian beggars and they ask me for money, I refuse and walk on, they they shout something in Romanian at me. I turn back and shout **** off back home and stop crippling our country. Anyone here be offended?
I'm asking because that's exactly what a guy in work just told me he did. For the record I'd prob flatten him first then shout it. But I agree with what the boy has said.
Yup.
11-01-2013, 01:30 PM
we cannot condone his actions, nothing short of idiotic, but the media and police have turned a complete blind eye to the abuse he receives on twitter.
The 'victim' has initiated it and has tweeted his mates saying he was gonna try wind him up prior to actually achieving it. That puts the 'victim' in as criminal a position as Leigh himself.
Nonetheless Leigh has been an absolute idiot, shown his intelligence levels and ruined any prospect of a football career. He will forever have this label.
Definitely not worthy of being the most read news in the uk today, especially when there is big news on saville-gait and another school shooting in America.
11-01-2013, 01:31 PM
The point is this guy is in his own country. Leigh said it too him in the heat of the moment because of the colour of his skin. It very simple. I hope Claros gives him a dull slap to the head in training.
11-01-2013, 01:32 PM
I don't like being called 'Jock', but I do accept that not every Englishman who calls me that is being deliberately offensive.
'******' on the other hand, has a long, nasty history of racial prejudice and injustice behind it, and any white person using it to address or refer to any other person should in my opinion just come right out and put on the pointy hood and bedsheets. It's like 'coon, 'wog', 'dago', 'chinky', 'spic', 'wop', 'Polack', 'Yid', 'Jew-boy' etc - totally unacceptable.
I think it's true to say that wherever you find a colonial power dominating an indigenous population you will also find racist attitudes and bigotry. You'll also find it where there are distinct ethnic minorities with immigrant origins. We need to be aware of our Imperial history - our Imperial record in Africa, the Indian sub-continent, the Caribbean, Australia and New Zealand, South-East Asia and so on is very bad, and even today we find it very hard to admit or accept this.
Just finished reading a very good book by Timothy B Tyson (who grew up in the American Deep South as the son of a white Methodist minister) - "Blood Done Sign My Name". I'd recommend to anyone who's interested. A great deal of insight and honesty in there.
I still use it as an abbreviation of chinese when suggesting shall we have a chinky on a Saturday night, normally after contemplating whether I should run to the P...i's for a bottle of wine. I mean no harm and just keep forgetting when using a term I was brought up with.
11-01-2013, 01:33 PM
Sky news now reporting that Lothian & Borders Police now investigating!
WTF - have they nothing better to do?
Probably yes, but seeing as someone has reported it they can't now turn a blind eye can they ? Is this the police's fault now ?
Like I said earlier - folk are quick to point fingers of blame in the wrong places in this country.
Leigh needs to man up, face up to his responsibility and take it on the chin, whatever comes of this - it's not the fault of anyone else bar Leigh and the other lad. Blaming the police or having a go at them - come on eh :rolleyes:
11-01-2013, 01:33 PM
I think it's true to say that wherever you find a colonial power dominating an indigenous population you will also find racist attitudes and bigotry. You'll also find it where there are distinct ethnic minorities with immigrant origins. We need to be aware of our Imperial history - our Imperial record in Africa, the Indian sub-continent, the Caribbean, Australia and New Zealand, South-East Asia and so on is very bad, and even today we find it very hard to admit or accept this.
Cumbrians refer to jocks as sweaty's. Fair enough!
11-01-2013, 01:34 PM
Here's hoping you are correct and Zak gets a visit from L&B shortly.
Migt send a message to all those twats on twitter who set out to cause bother.
I doubt he will though, he is a nobody, on the other hand Griffiths is a pro footballer and in the public domain, L&Bs finest will be fighting over who gets to go and speak to Sparky and possibly arrest him.
Newry Hibs
11-01-2013, 01:34 PM
If someone complains to the Police, then they have a duty to investigate. Not sure whether the fact that the 'victim' accepted the apology will stop the police investigating. If the police see a crime they can prosecute anyway.
I'm sure we'll hear soon enough from Peter Herbert of the Society of Black Lawyers - who will make sure everything is handled in a calm and reasoned manner.
superbam
11-01-2013, 01:35 PM
some surprising disappointing posts on here which will no doubt be picked up on by the media to smear all hibs fans.
If the sentiments expressed by some on here were carried to their logical conclusion in the 1870s, we would not have a football team to support. Think about that.
Sky saying Lothian Borders Police will investigate. Both clubs have made statements - he will be disciplined - why do the police need to now get involved. They should start doing something about groups of fans making racist chants at games!
Because racial abuse is a crime and the Police are tasked to investigate crimes which are reported to them or otherwise come to their attention. Therefore, if it is suspected that someone has racially abused someone else, the Police are obliged to make enquiries.
If a player robbed your house or stabbed your gran, would a club statement and internal disciplinary action suffice?
The sheer weight of media coverage will force the police to investigate and probably report the matter to the Fiscal (though whether they proceed to prosecution is debatable). If Leigh makes a counter complaint against any of his twitter detractors, this too will be investigated and potentially prosecuted too. Essentially a huge waste of public time and money because a few immature and stupid numpties can't behave themselves. Twatters.
Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 01:38 PM
Should the police not be more concerned finding the prick who threw the smoke bomb from the wheatfield. I have them an excellent description of where the jake was too. Like at the time though the police aren't interested.
I think it's true to say that wherever you find a colonial power dominating an indigenous population you will also find racist attitudes and bigotry that endure even after the colonial power leaves and the country returns to indigenous rule. We justify our aggression by telliung ourselves and our colonial victims that we're an enlightened race bringing tcivilisation and culture to a dark and backward country and people. "The white man's burden" Kipling called it.
Orwell had some very good things to say about it in "Burmese Days" and some of his essays.
You'll also find it where there are distinct ethnic minorities with immigrant origins. We need to be aware of our Imperial history - our Imperial record in Africa, the Indian sub-continent, the Caribbean, Australia and New Zealand, South-East Asia and so on is very bad, and even today we find it very hard to admit or accept this.
I've heard that's a very good doddie. Good post as well. Like I say I don't mind the "Jock" name calling as they are mates with no intent to offend. I'd prob laugh if any other Englishman called me it to be honest. But that's were everyone is different and can be offended with certain words. But I still think the world has gone far to PC. As an example the local primary school where I stay told pupils they woudn't be making fathers day cards because of the amount of single mums (not joking by the way) and it could offend them. Also the same school banned any Xmas trees in the school because not all cultures celebrate it! Sorry but that's wrong.
does LG have Alabama relatives? ;)
11-01-2013, 01:39 PM
I still use it as an abbreviation of chinese when suggesting shall we have a chinky on a Saturday night.
The last time I said that to my family my son told me very forcefully NEVER to say it again in his hearing.
I haven't - I wouldn't have referred to the local convenience store as "the Paki's" so there was no justification for talking about the local Chinese take-away as "the Chinky's".
I suppose it IS an abbreviation - 6 letters instead of 7.
11-01-2013, 01:40 PM
Should the police not be more concerned finding the prick who threw the smoke bomb from the wheatfield. I have them an excellent description of where the jake was too. Like at the time though the police aren't interested.
Have you been to the Police to make a complaint and offer this description since the game?
11-01-2013, 01:40 PM
I doubt he will though, he is a nobody, on the other hand Griffiths is a pro footballer and in the public domain, L&Bs finest will be fighting over who gets to go and speak to Sparky and possibly arrest him.
My legal advice to Leigh SH would be to report all those that have sent abusive and threatening comments to him on Twitter and ask them to investigate all of them too.............just my legal opinion anyway :wink: Each and every one of them.
If Tom Daley (or those representing him) managed to have a person charged about comments about his father during the Olympics, I'm pretty sure Leigh can do likewise :agree:
VPHIBEE
11-01-2013, 01:41 PM
As many of you know Leigh often gives back the abuse he gets on twitter but last night he has went way over the line bein racist saying "f*** off back to your own country ya clown" since making the comment he has apologised and removed it however can still be seen all over twitter.
I am usually the first to support the players when they get in off field problems but theirs no place for racism in football, and how are we meant to kick it out when the players don't help
Opinions??
On the plus side Wolves are quoted in the Daily Rangers as say it is a matter for Hibs as he is on loan, and likely to be here until the end of the season. Not the brightest thing for Leigh to say, but lets be honest, he has not killed anybody. Words of wisdom are not something I am looking for from Leigh or any other player. I will settle for a hat trick in the next Derby from him.
MoscowHibs
11-01-2013, 01:42 PM
Aye L&B's finest are seriously getting up my t1ts noo. They havnae bothered dealing wi the sectarian rantings o the yaks, which is now criminal. Probably too much work trying tae identify all those involved. Now an easy target like Leigh tho, different matter.
11-01-2013, 01:43 PM
I've heard that's a very good doddie. Good post as well. Like I say I don't mind the "Jock" name calling as they are mates with no intent to offend. I'd prob laugh if any other Englishman called me it to be honest. But that's were everyone is different and can be offended with certain words. But I still think the world has gone far to PC. As an example the local primary school where I stay told pupils they woudn't be making fathers day cards because of the amount of single mums (not joking by the way) and it could offend them. Also the same school banned any Xmas trees in the school because not all cultures celebrate it! Sorry but that's wrong.
They obviously don't read the Telegraph ...
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/unitedarabemirates/8207263/Abu-Dhabis-7-million-Christmas-tree.html (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/unitedarabemirates/8207263/Abu-Dhabis-7-million-Christmas-tree.html)
11-01-2013, 01:43 PM
Yes Nick.
Robinho08
11-01-2013, 01:44 PM
Hibs and or Wolves should ban him from using Twitter until he can be trusted not to feed the trolls.
Think as usual this will be blown out of proportion.
11-01-2013, 01:48 PM
Has anyone said some of my best friends are........................yet!
11-01-2013, 01:50 PM
So leigh broke a golden rule eh!
But what good is a rule, if the rule aint a jewel, that's fit for the crown of the king.
Are you going to take the rule and use it to make bling and say **** the king.
well then the king is gona sing.
11-01-2013, 01:51 PM
The sheer weight of media coverage will force the police to investigate and probably report the matter to the Fiscal (though whether they proceed to prosecution is debatable). If Leigh makes a counter complaint against any of his twitter detractors, this too will be investigated and potentially prosecuted too. Essentially a huge waste of public time and money because a few immature and stupid numpties can't behave themselves. Twatters.
And Leigh spending more time in court giving evidence all the time will delight the owner of Hibs.
McIntosh
11-01-2013, 01:53 PM
Sick to death of these folk offended at anything these days. You know what good on him. the UK is a very small Island and is far to over populated with Illegal Immigrants. They should be doing way more to stop these Polish/Romanian beggars as well. Australia has it spot on. You go there you live by their rules and laws. We are far to soft and always seem to back off when we are challenged by anyone who has came to our country and not respected our laws. I'm not racist at all but for gods sake, this country needs a set of balls and stop being bent over when folk are offended. If the guy was giving him abuse and he was from another country then I back Leigh. PISS OFF BACK YOU @RSEHOLE. Sorry to offend any soft souls out there! feel free to PM me.
You post is either a wonderfully sarcastic comment on post-modern life or your are just being deliberately provocative or you are as ignorant as sin. I don’t know maybe is a mixture of all of these things.
However, I do know that Leigh's original remark was frequently made to the people that founded this great club. This club was founded by immigrants; we above all should know our history and the debt we owe. The types of people you disparage are the very people who overcame adversity and raw prejudice to make Hibernian Football Club.If you post were not so sad it would be ironic.
11-01-2013, 01:53 PM
I certainly wouldn't defend the tweet/comment Leigh made bollah, however sometimes you have to look at things in a wider context - both tweets, by the letter of the law, are criminal (both the other lad's tweet and Leigh's) - different crimes admittedly, crimes which are looked upon with differing opinion in law and in society today (in severity), but both crimes.
My problem with society today is that people in the wrong, immediately when caught start to point the finger of blame on others - by that I mean people who say 'I know what he did was wrong, but blame the government/police/teachers/delete as appropriate.
Would Leigh have tweeted what he did if the guy had not been offensive in the first place ? The answer is no. Was Leigh's tweet proportionate - of course not, and it was absolutely out of order. And it was a racist remark. Which in turn makes it criminal and it needs dealt with. What Leigh's views are on ethnic groups, immigration, those from different backgrounds and cultures - no one knows at the end of the day. Whatever his thoughts, unless they are constructive and helpful, he should keep to himself.
But the other lad encouraged a response by being abusive himself - so he also needs to look himself in the mirror, as does society really.
I go for drinks in plenty boozers in Edinburgh. Touch wood, not once have I been in a fight - why, it's because I don't go looking for it, nor do I approach people and dish out verbal abuse or call their familes all the names under the sun. That might merit a right good punch in my coupon if I did - and some would say deservedly.
In short - I wish people, in life, would take responsibility for their own actions and use the wee rule of karma - be nice to people and they'll be nice to you back. Both lads are out of order in this case - it's just world view (and I believe the right view) that racism is worse than offensive/abusive comments. But you cannot ignore the fact that the other lad invited a response - the sad fact is that Leigh responded with the words and tone that he did. There's no place for racism in society agreed - however for me there is no place for randomly abusing people you don't know or have no connection with either.
Twitter and Facebook hide behind privacy laws and freedom of speech/expression - they say their sites 'self police' as you can report abuse in many ways. For me there lies the problem - they wash their hands of it and let others 'take the rap' - they themselves should be far more responsive and active in putting an end to this 'cyber-bullying, abuse' culture that exists - but they won't because of money, pure and simple. Kids these days actually do think it's 'acceptable' to post abuse on social media - I put the word in quotes because they know it probably is wrong, but there is no punishment, deterrent or penalty for posting abuse - they don't see the internet as a place, they forget the words are there for all to see - some are just young, silly and we've all been there - it's basically putting onto a website what we all no doubt said in the playgrounds when we were that age too.
Was what Frankie Boyle said (when he challenged the press in court who labelled him) humour or criminal/racist ? Are/were his comments about Katie Price's boy criminal or not, or just offensive and to be taken in good humour by all concerned ? When Rory Bremner imitates and mocks a blind politician and questions his fidelity when does it stop being satire ? Remember Norman Tebbit asking whether or not certain members of our society would pass the 'cricket test' ? Would he stand trial now ?
By all means challenge racist behaviour and those that are racist. I wholeheartedly agree we should. But I'd like folk to look beyond that too and look at what our young people are writing to each other on social media sites and accepting as 'the norm' - and that is abusing each other and thinking it's not hurting anyone by doing so.
I dont have much argument with your main points, TH. But, lets be honest, if a Hearts player had done this instead of Leigh there would be none of this 'contextualising' going on. We'd have a unanimous condemnation thread. Ive followed Leigh on Twitter for ages and i know what he has to put up with. But sometimes as a fan you cant just circle the waggons and defend the clubs players without thinking.
My 9 year old daughter is Leigh Griffiths daft and shes been asking me about it already. Great.
Its a very very bad day for the club. im just pleased the statement condemning the tweet from HFC was so swift and unequivocal.
11-01-2013, 02:02 PM
I don't think he's a racist, but he has made a particularly stupid, racist comment for the world to see. Whether the person he said it to is bothered is not the point, it is still an offensive remark. Racism is one of the areas that football as a whole is really trying to rid the game of, so the people saying this will be/has been blown out of proportion etc are quite ignorant in my opinion.
I really like Griffiths as a player, and I thought he was getting on a lot better. He seemed to be out of the spotlight recently, and was getting on well with his football. I also really wanted him to stay, but now Im really not sure I do. I think other recent incidents of racism have been handled quite badly by the clubs of the players, and that was when there wasnt concrete evidence. What Griffiths put is there for everyone to see.
I also think Wolves statement is a bit of a joke, there was quite a bit of uncertainty over where his future was (didnt Saunders say he was still looking for another striker before deciding upon Griffiths' future?), yet the moment that happens they have essentially passed the buck on to us.
11-01-2013, 02:03 PM
Has anyone said some of my best friends are........................yet!
No but there's been a few "I'm not racist but....".
Aside from the fact it's offensive, it's also utter pish. An immigrant beggar is "crippling the country"?
Why would you flatten the beggar? Would you flatten a Scottish one too?
Lee Marvin
11-01-2013, 02:10 PM
I dont have much argument with your main points, TH. But, lets be honest, if a Hearts player had done this instead of Leigh there would be none of this 'contextualising' going on. We'd have a unanimous condemnation thread. Ive followed Leigh on Twitter for ages and i know what he has to put up with. But sometimes as a fan you cant just circle the waggons and defend the clubs players without thinking.
My 9 year old daughter is Leigh Griffiths daft and shes been asking me about it already. Great.
Its a very very bad day for the club. im just pleased the statement condemning the tweet from HFC was so swift and unequivocal.
Spot on. I get my kill at the majority of every clubs football fans, I really do. I have had a look on sickback and everyone of them, EVERYONE, has condemned Leigh's tweet. Surprising - no. Strangely the majority of replies on here, although not condoning it, do not condemn it like the rabble over the road. BUT, if the tides were turned and lets say Andy Webster had tweeted this, what would be the outcome. EVERYONE on here condemning it, and the majority over the road trying to excuse it or say it's not that bad.
What Leigh did was not great, on a number of levels. But is it as bad as the media/hertz fans making out? No. But similarly we as Hibs fans need to accept that it was in someway the wrong thing to do, albeit not outrageous in the grand scheme of things. Let's hope this affair allows us to keep him at the club :flag:
JustPassing
11-01-2013, 02:12 PM
Stewart Lee. The Jeremy Clarkson excuse at 06:13
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0i0RXMvzMs
11-01-2013, 02:22 PM
Dear oh dear, a little perspective required.
11-01-2013, 02:27 PM
They obviously don't read the Telegraph ...
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/unitedarabemirates/8207263/Abu-Dhabis-7-million-Christmas-tree.html (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/unitedarabemirates/8207263/Abu-Dhabis-7-million-Christmas-tree.html)
Put's my tree to shame!!!
11-01-2013, 02:27 PM
Apparently, it's what passes for a rapier-like witty put down among Jambos: "Leigh Griffiths looks like a thumb". If that makes you any the wiser? :confused:
Is that it? Dearie me my sides are aching!
11-01-2013, 02:30 PM
No but there's been a few "I'm not racist but....".
Aside from the fact it's offensive, it's also utter pish. An immigrant beggar is "crippling the country"?
Why would you flatten the beggar? Would you flatten a Scottish one too?
Yes If he was being a cheeky *******. Regarding the "crippling the country" those weren't my words I'm telling you what he told me. But believe it or not if you do a little research Beggars cost us tax payers a lot of money each year.
11-01-2013, 02:31 PM
Sorry if posted before - now on BBC news main site as "latest news" - not ideal:grr:
11-01-2013, 02:33 PM
I don't think he's a racist, but he has made a particularly stupid, racist comment for the world to see. Whether the person he said it to is bothered is not the point, it is still an offensive remark. Racism is one of the areas that football as a whole is really trying to rid the game of, so the people saying this will be/has been blown out of proportion etc are quite ignorant in my opinion.
I think he is racist but only in a minor way that is sadly all too common in our society. Racism isn't a black and white thing (sorry). There's a spectrum of racists all the way from the "if they don't like our Xmas trees they can go and live somewhere else" right the way up to your consumed by hatred BNP types.
He's apologised and hopefully is genuinely remorseful. The club are dealing with it appropriately. The police are investigating it and rightly so. They may decide it's not worth taking any further, I don't know.
None of the above alters the fact the other guy was a twat.
Oh and for any Jambos looking in from the moral high ground. Remind me again which Edinburgh club the BNP have regularly leafleted for recruits over the years? Now why would that be?
11-01-2013, 02:35 PM
Yes If he was being a cheeky *******. Regarding the "crippling the country" those weren't my words I'm telling you what he told me. But believe it or not if you do a little research Beggars cost us tax payers a lot of money each year.
Stop digging FFS.
11-01-2013, 02:38 PM
I think he is racist but only in a minor way that is sadly all too common in our society. Racism isn't a black and white thing (sorry). There's a spectrum of racists all the way from the "if they don't like our Xmas trees they can go and live somewhere else" right the way up to your consumed by hatred BNP types.
He's apologised and hopefully is genuinely remorseful. The club are dealing with it appropriately. The police are investigating it and rightly so. They may decide it's not worth taking any further, I don't know.
None of the above alters the fact the other guy was a twat.
Oh and for any Jambos looking in from the moral high ground. Remind me again which Edinburgh club the BNP have regularly leafleted for recruits over the years? Now why would that be?
Also which club stood by a sex offender twice!!
11-01-2013, 02:40 PM
Zak doesn't like thumbs apparently
Weird as i hear he has 2 on each hand :thumbsup:
Because racial abuse is a crime and the Police are tasked to investigate crimes which are reported to them or otherwise come to their attention. Therefore, if it is suspected that someone has racially abused someone else, the Police are obliged to make enquiries.
If a player robbed your house or stabbed your gran, would a club statement and internal disciplinary action suffice?
Wow, thats a tremendously well balanced comparison to the topic of this thread, Dearie me!
No need for me to do the research if you already have. How much do beggars cost us?
11-01-2013, 02:41 PM
Griffiths is as thick as mince.Hope that's not butcherist.I often hear people saying they hate the English.I usually say "that's interesting -my wife's English"they usually splutter and say that they don't mean her.However I think I should report them to the boys in blue from now on.
11-01-2013, 02:41 PM
My legal advice to Leigh SH would be to report all those that have sent abusive and threatening comments to him on Twitter and ask them to investigate all of them too.............just my legal opinion anyway :wink: Each and every one of them.
If Tom Daley (or those representing him) managed to have a person charged about comments about his father during the Olympics, I'm pretty sure Leigh can do likewise :agree:
The problem being TH is this is not a one off from Leigh regards twitter comments, either him getting abuse or him giving abuse out, yes he could report all the folk that give him abuse, but i am sure there is plenty folk that could report Leigh for abuse he has handed out to them.
The simple thing to do would be close his twitter account down and not give folk ammunition to abuse him. Its that simple.
Even though i have read his account has been made private, you can still view him tweeting now. It has not been made private. :rolleyes:
Sorry, just found out if you follow him before on twitter you can still view his tweets. A bit pointless if you ask me.
11-01-2013, 02:42 PM
Sticks and Stones may break your bones but Tweets will never hurt you...
11-01-2013, 02:42 PM
Stop digging FFS.
Calm yourself down. I'm only telling the truth after being questioned. You want me to lie? Look at the end of the day it's a very touchy subject folk may be offended with certain things others wont be. It's trying to draw the line in between and as another poster pointed out. It's more a grey area than anything else and we could be going round in circles for a long time. It wasn't great what Leigh did, I understand though why he may have said it in the heat of the moment but I don't think he's meant it in the way folk are blowing it up to be.
11-01-2013, 02:43 PM
It has not been made private. :rolleyes:
It has. You must have been following him prior to it being made private.
11-01-2013, 02:43 PM
I'm not racist, my shadow is black..............etc etc etc.
Police investigate, realise Leigh apologised and the guy accepted said apology, give Leigh a slap on the wrists and told to behave himself, Hibs will now ban players from twitter and give Leigh a stern talking to regarding his future behaviour. Endof
11-01-2013, 02:50 PM
You post is either a wonderfully sarcastic comment on post-modern life or your are just being deliberately provocative or you are as ignorant as sin. I dont know maybe is a mixture of all of these things.
However, I do know that Leigh's original remark was frequently made to the people that founded this great club. This club was founded by immigrants; we above all should know our history and the debt we owe. The types of people you disparage are the very people who overcame adversity and raw prejudice to make Hibernian Football Club.If you post were not so sad it would be ironic.
I am very proud of our clubs history. You don't agree and think I'm ignorant, fair enough. You know nothing about me or my views. This is a modern world where we welcome all races and cultures. Do I have a problem with that? No course I don't. I have the problem with the country not having control of people coming in and sponging our system. In fact that goes for the ones who were born here as well. Yet when folk speak out the over offended say that's being racist.. Is it??
11-01-2013, 02:52 PM
Aye L&B's finest are seriously getting up my t1ts noo. They havnae bothered dealing wi the sectarian rantings o the yaks, which is now criminal. Probably too much work trying tae identify all those involved. Now an easy target like Leigh tho, different matter.
:singing: " ohhh the Hibees are gay " homophobic chanting surely.
How many arrests at the PBS last week for that. :wink: :greengrin
The good news is that with this "Racism Row" Wolves are now "done" with him giving us every chance of getting him
11-01-2013, 02:53 PM
PFA SCOTLAND STATEMENTJack Ross
11th January 2013
http://pfascotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/PFAScotland_LOGO1-324x166.jpg (http://pfascotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/PFAScotland_LOGO1.jpg)
PFA Scotland cannot comment whilst individual disciplinary matters are ongoing. Despite the fact that players are often subjected to unacceptable levels of personal abuse on social media sites they should not retaliate to such abuse. PFA Scotland therefore strongly condemns racism and all discriminatory behaviour in whatever form that takes.
PFA Scotland is a founder member, long time supporter and sponsor of Show Racism the Red Card and remains hugely supportive of the educational messages they provide. Many former and current professional players in Scotland provide assistance to the campaign and play an influential part in delivering an anti racism and anti sectarian message to children.
PFA Scotland would also like to emphasise the importance of players being aware of the potential misuse of social media. We have provided information when speaking to players at clubs, on our web-site and in newsletters with regards to using the likes of Twitter and Facebook. Furthermore we have presented to a number of apprentice players at clubs such as Celtic, Dunfermline, Livingston and Rangers on educating themselves in the area of social media.
The link to our social media guidance is listed below:
http://pfascotland.co.uk/about/pfa-scotland-advice-on-social-networking/
11-01-2013, 03:02 PM
I'm disappointed how many people on here are defending Sparky's actions. There's standing up for yourself then there's giving out racist abuse. The whole point is that Sparky chose to respond on twitter, chose not to block the other person involved, and chose to use that phrase in his reply. He's a grownman and is responsible for his actions.
He's let himself, the club and the supporters down. If a fringe player had made the same comment we'd probably want him ditched on here. Take the green and white tinted glasses off, there's good cause for emptying him from the club (although I don't necessarily think that should be the case) as that is what would happen with any other employer.
Defending his actions just makes us look bad as a support.
Gerard
11-01-2013, 03:05 PM
How do you know he's not from Scotland?
It's just not an acceptable phrase by anyone but especially by someone who's a role model to thousands of kids.
In this country we have laws that will punish hate crime. We also have laws that allow freedom of expression. I would like to know what was written that provoked Sparky to makint the tweet that he made.
Perhaps, it would be prudent in future not to have players posting on messageboards, and using social media. It just is too risky in the climate that we live in because it is too easy to write or say things that will be seen as being offensive.
11-01-2013, 03:06 PM
if its not a blackboard then what is it?
Chalk board, but a white board is still a white board. Black coffee is also not allowed in many work places, it's coffee without milk.
11-01-2013, 03:07 PM
I'm disappointed how many people on here are defending Sparky's actions. There's standing up for yourself then there's giving out racist abuse. The whole point is that Sparky chose to respond on twitter, chose not to block the other person involved, and chose to use that phrase in his reply. He's a grownman and is responsible for his actions.
He's let himself, the club and the supporters down. If a fringe player had made the same comment we'd probably want him ditched on here. Take the green and white tinted glasses off, there's good cause for emptying him from the club (although I don't necessarily think that should be the case) as that is what would happen with any other employer.
Defending his actions just makes us look bad as a support.
I don't think many are defending him? I agree with you in all respects except to say that I don't think anyone would expect nor should they expect to lose their job over something like this. A formal warning, yes, but the sack, don't think so ... well, possibly if the abusee was a colleague.
11-01-2013, 03:07 PM
Chalk board, but a white board is still a white board. Black coffee is also not allowed in many work places, it's coffee without milk.
Is that true?
davhibby
11-01-2013, 03:11 PM
As wrong as he was to say that, it's probably given us more of a chance of keeping him
11-01-2013, 03:13 PM
Is that true?
Should have said frowned upon or alternatives given for not using it. Schools and colleges seem to be pretty bad for it. I have heard recently about black bags as well, someone saying that we should be calling them refuse bags instead. I think so many places are scared of inadvertently being seen a racist that they don't make staff do it but encourage other names for things. Last year at parents evenings I noticed they didnt have blackboards anymore and said this to the teacher, she replied it's chalkboards and no we don't use them anymore, we use white boards.
Spot on. I get my kill at the majority of every clubs football fans, I really do. I have had a look on sickback and everyone of them, EVERYONE, has condemned Leigh's tweet. Surprising - no. Strangely the majority of replies on here, although not condoning it, do not condemn it like the rabble over the road. BUT, if the tides were turned and lets say Andy Webster had tweeted this, what would be the outcome. EVERYONE on here condemning it, and the majority over the road trying to excuse it or say it's not that bad.
What Leigh did was not great, on a number of levels. But is it as bad as the media/hertz fans making out? No. But similarly we as Hibs fans need to accept that it was in someway the wrong thing to do, albeit not outrageous in the grand scheme of things. Let's hope this affair allows us to keep him at the club :flag:
Andy Webster can write?!?!
11-01-2013, 03:14 PM
Much prefer white anyway.
superbam
11-01-2013, 03:17 PM
Should have said frowned upon or alternatives given for not using it. Schools and colleges seem to be pretty bad for it. I have heard recently about black bags as well, someone saying that we should be calling them refuse bags instead. I think so many places are scared of inadvertently being seen a racist that they don't make staff do it but encourage other names for things. Last year at parents evenings I noticed they didnt have blackboards anymore and said this to the teacher, she replied it's chalkboards and no we don't use them anymore, we use white boards.
Of course under the slightest scrutiny, nearly all these stories turn out to be utter *****. Its usually one councillor making a daft suggestion that is quickly shot down anyway yet the tabloids take it and run with it as evidence of "PC gone mad", the rallying call of Clarkson-esque gimps across the country.
11-01-2013, 03:20 PM
It has. You must have been following him prior to it being made private.
Have corrected that in my post now, sorry for any wrong information. :aok:
mmmmhibby
11-01-2013, 03:22 PM
I still use it as an abbreviation of chinese when suggesting shall we have a chinky on a Saturday night, normally after contemplating whether I should run to the P...i's for a bottle of wine. I mean no harm and just keep forgetting when using a term I was brought up with.
what i find strange is when in london recently i overheard 3 black guys referring to each other using the N word. One said, " i am hungry N, do you wanna eat N?. Would this be deemed as a racial slur?
TheReg!
11-01-2013, 03:25 PM
Do you know what, it's this sort of thing i.e Blackboard(chalkboard), Christmass(Winter festivities), BaBa Black sheep(FFS) amongst other things that is turning people against Immigrants. This is not the fault of the Immigrants, it's the PC brigade (which there are one or two on here btw) that put pressure on school's, businesses, government etc. The pace of changes to appease others is not healthy for a "Integrated" society.
11-01-2013, 03:25 PM
what i find strange is when in london recently i overheard 3 black guys referring to each other using the N word. One said, " i am hungry N, do you wanna eat N?. Would this be deemed as a racial slur?
Jesus wept.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reappropriation
11-01-2013, 03:27 PM
Jesus wept.
What's the historical evidence for this?
Marooned In Oz
11-01-2013, 03:28 PM
Is that true?
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_wAxDMfEGhoY/TSPwVvmmCPI/AAAAAAAAAYk/EVziTMTini0/s400/Not%2BSure%2Bif%2Bserious.jpg
11-01-2013, 03:29 PM
Is that true?
I very much doubt it.
I work in an environment where anti discriminatory practice is at the heart of my profession and people would not be taken seriously if they even suggested this (black coffee) could be construed as offensive.
There have no doubt been plenty examples of overt political correctness and overly zealous attempts at challenging many institutional prejudices.
This suits forces of repression who want to have us believe that we are living in a society where we are overwhelmed by loony lefty do good types, whilst meanwhile the very rich continue to shaft us all and get richer at all of our expense (aplogies to all Hibees supporting tycoons on this forum)
Leigh gets a grade A for sheers stupidity. He would have been better of telling the moron that at least he can get a ride or better still, ignoring him.
Of course under the slightest scrutiny, nearly all these stories turn out to be utter *****. Its usually one councillor making a daft suggestion that is quickly shot down anyway yet the tabloids take it and run with it as evidence of "PC gone mad", the rallying call of Clarkson-esque gimps across the country.
Exactly! These stories are keek! Unfortunately people repeat them & next thing they're facts, fact!
GREEN WARLORD
11-01-2013, 03:37 PM
Ellie Simmons (the small person swimmer) on the Jonathan Ross Show, saying that in the Olympic Village the Para Olympians were calling each other crips etc.
So, just dry your eyes honky or ghost and get on with it. :wink:
Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 03:38 PM
Have you been to the Police to make a complaint and offer this description since the game?
I called St Leonards to give them the location of where the boy was sitting and they are looking into it. Various complaints have been made also not just mines. If they have CCTV in the ****hole they will locate the guy - if they wish to. :agree:
11-01-2013, 03:39 PM
I am very proud of our clubs history. You don't agree and think I'm ignorant, fair enough. You know nothing about me or my views. This is a modern world where we welcome all races and cultures. Do I have a problem with that? No course I don't. I have the problem with the country not having control of people coming in and sponging our system. In fact that goes for the ones who were born here as well. Yet when folk speak out the over offended say that's being racist.. Is it??
You have a problem with Scottish people whose family history includes a foreign country?
11-01-2013, 03:39 PM
I find it strange that you find it strange.
11-01-2013, 03:43 PM
I find it strange that you find it strange.
Indeed, appropriation of the negative word can be a powerful way of removing some of the force attached to itīs use by an abuser, hence Gay folk might refer to another gay person as a queer or a black person may, apparently, say Niggah.
11-01-2013, 03:45 PM
Indeed, appropriation of the negative word can be a powerful way of removing some of the force attached to itīs use by an abuser, hence Gay folk might refer to another gay person as a queer or a black person may, apparently, say Niggah.
Paki, Dike and Poof are regularly used by members of those communities. :agree:
Indeed, for those of us of a certain age, the C word was used in the same way amongst mates.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-20986579
Missing the Stupid C+++ part out there on this fantastic report so it seems thats ok, well I think Leigh your silly and from the 2/3 tweets I have read from Iqbal I think he is a stupid C+++, excellent then no harm done as thats perfectly acceptable behaviour.
Nah.
Do you know what, it's this sort of thing i.e Blackboard(chalkboard), Christmass(Winter festivities), BaBa Black sheep(FFS) amongst other things that is turning people against Immigrants. This is not the fault of the Immigrants, it's the PC brigade (which there are one or two on here btw) that put pressure on school's, businesses, government etc. The pace of changes to appease others is not healthy for a "Integrated" society.
It's not so much a mythical 'PC brigade' as isolated cases that are jumped on by those that like to rant about "PC gone mad" and "PC brigades" in an attempt to disguise their own prejudices.
jw1410
11-01-2013, 03:47 PM
He's no role model, apart from being a footballer what exactly is it he does that makes him a role model? :confused:
Two kids by two women about two weeks apart, you have to admit it is impressive... :na na:
11-01-2013, 03:49 PM
Paki, Dike and Poof are regularly used by members of those communities. :agree:
Indeed. Growing up in Leith, I had a Sikh mate who regularly referred to things like going to the Pakiīs when he planned to visit the local newsagents shop. Ironically, some of these shopkeepers were Sikhs themselves, albeit maybe he was right in that they had come from the part of Punjab that was incorporated in to Pakistan.
11-01-2013, 03:52 PM
Two kids by two women about two weeks apart, you have to admit it is impressive... :na na:
Yip you would have to be pretty stupid to aspire to be like him? (Football apart)
Technofob
11-01-2013, 03:55 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-20986579
Missing the Stupid C+++ part out there on this fantastic report so it seems thats ok, well I think Leigh your silly and from the 2/3 tweets I have read from Iqbal I think he is a stupid C+++, excellent then no harm done as thats perfectly acceptable behaviour.
He's got 13,000 followers!?!?! He should be encouraging them to come to ER and scream abuse at him in person!! :greengrin
It's a pity Lenny Bruce is dead.
TheReg!
11-01-2013, 04:05 PM
Nah.
It's not so much a mythical 'PC brigade' as isolated cases that are jumped on by those that like to rant about "PC gone mad" and "PC brigades" in an attempt to disguise their own prejudices.
People should not be labeled as prejudice or racists because they are proud of their heritage. I do agree with you on your point on that papers jump on this sort of thing but to say it does not happen is wrong. For example my son's Christmas nativity play was changed to Winter wonderland because of a small number of Commonwealth children at the school i.e Gurkha kids, again this was not done by the kids parents but by the school board.
Beefster can I ask you where you live?
Impressive if you're 15.
11-01-2013, 04:14 PM
You have a problem with Scottish people whose family history includes a foreign country?
My great gran was Polish I don't have a problem at all. I just think the country is failing badly when capping the amount of immigrants and how they are abusing the system. Anyone who denies that are the ones who are ignorant. One of my best mates is from Pakistan so I'm certainly no racist and again even he thinks our country is far to soft. Whether you agree or not I honestly don't care. I respect the views of posters and opinions they have, may not always agree with them over whatever it is but that doesn't mean you or myself are correct they are only views. People need to calm down.
Gerard
11-01-2013, 04:15 PM
My great gran was Polish I don't have a problem at all. I just think the country is failing badly when capping the amount of immigrants and how they are abusing the system. Anyone who denies that are the ones who are ignorant. One of my best mates is from Pakistan so I'm certainly no racist and again even he thinks our country is far to soft. Whether you agree or not I honestly don't care. I respect the views of posters and opinions they have, may not always agree with them over whatever it is but that doesn't mean you or myself are correct they are only views. People need to calm down.:top marks
11-01-2013, 04:17 PM
My great gran was Polish I don't have a problem at all. I just think the country is failing badly when capping the amount of immigrants and how they are abusing the system. Anyone who denies that are the ones who are ignorant. One of my best mates is from Pakistan so I'm certainly no racist and again even he thinks our country is far to soft. Whether you agree or not I honestly don't care. I respect the views of posters and opinions they have, may not always agree with them over whatever it is but that doesn't mean you or myself are correct they are only views. People need to calm down.
Where, and how, would you cap it? (bear in mind the freedom of movement allowed, for the most part, throughout the EU.)
11-01-2013, 04:19 PM
I was talking about normal scots who use our system to screw others. Not any other race. Sorry if there was any confusion. Junkies for instance who are Scottish and get everything for them.
11-01-2013, 04:20 PM
my great gran was polish i don't have a problem at all. I just think the country is failing badly when capping the amount of immigrants and how they are abusing the system. Anyone who denies that are the ones who are ignorant. one of my best mates is from pakistan so i'm certainly no racist and again even he thinks our country is far to soft. Whether you agree or not i honestly don't care. I respect the views of posters and opinions they have, may not always agree with them over whatever it is but that doesn't mean you or myself are correct they are only views. People need to calm down.
house!!!!!
11-01-2013, 04:24 PM
Where, and how, would you cap it? (bear in mind the freedom of movement allowed, for the most part, throughout the EU.)
That's a good question. As an Island we can't just throw open our doors to anyone. Entering the E.U was as dangerous as it was good. Would I cap it? Yes of course. Because if you don't you have a heavily populated island that will end up suffocating itself. Capping doesn't make us racist it's making sure we have control of the population. There is millions of illegal immigrants in the UK unaccounted for. We don't and can't afford to house them all.
11-01-2013, 04:25 PM
The OP must be laughing his socks off.
Can we not close this thread now?
11-01-2013, 04:27 PM
The OP must be laughing his socks off.
Can we not close this thread now?
When the immortal phrase 'im not racist,one of my best mates is from Pakistan', makes an appearance in apparent seriousness, i think we've reached the end :aok:
jw1410
11-01-2013, 04:28 PM
Impressive if you're 15.
I think he was a bit older than 15... :rolleyes:
11-01-2013, 04:33 PM
That's a good question. As an Island we can't just throw open our doors to anyone. Entering the E.U was as dangerous as it was good. Would I cap it? Yes of course. Because if you don't you have a heavily populated island that will end up suffocating itself. Capping doesn't make us racist it's making sure we have control of the population. There is millions of illegal immigrants in the UK unaccounted for. We don't and can't afford to house them all.
Estimates are that if we declared an amnesty on illegal immigrants now we'd have to spend approx Ģ1Bn on public services they'd be eligible for but we'd get an additional Ģ3Bn in tax revenue.
Generally speaking, if folk have the bollocks to uproot themselves from their home country and move around the world in search of a better life, they're not the type to sit around on their arse sponging off the state!
Also, don't confuse Daily Mail SE England based propaganda with real life, Scotland is underpopulated, especially so in the demographic range of most immigrants.
... and this has **** all to do with LG, who abused a 2nd generation (at least) immigrant, born and bred in Scotland (but still a tosser).
FifeHibernian
11-01-2013, 04:39 PM
He's no role model, apart from being a footballer what exactly is it he does that makes him a role model? :confused:
He's an idol to young people and therefore a role model. Perhaps he didn't choose to be but it's what comes with success/fame
11-01-2013, 04:48 PM
People should not be labeled as prejudice or racists because they are proud of their heritage. I do agree with you on your point on that papers jump on this sort of thing but to say it does not happen is wrong. For example my son's Christmas nativity play was changed to Winter wonderland because of a small number of Commonwealth children at the school i.e Gurkha kids, again this was not done by the kids parents but by the school board.
Beefster can I ask you where you live?
Tranent.
It's possible to be proud of your heritage and still welcome immigration.
You seem to lump all immigrants to this country into one mass. Some undoubtedly abuse the system but most contribute enormously to our society.
house!!!!!
I never use smilies but... :faf:
11-01-2013, 04:49 PM
Estimates are that if we declared an amnesty on illegal immigrants now we'd have to spend approx Ģ1Bn on public services they'd be eligible for but we'd get an additional Ģ3Bn in tax revenue.
Generally speaking, if folk have the bollocks to uproot themselves from their home country and move around the world in search of a better life, they're not the type to sit around on their arse sponging off the state!
Also, don't confuse Daily Mail SE England based propaganda with real life, Scotland is underpopulated, especially so in the demographic range of most immigrants.
... and this has **** all to do with LG, who abused a 2nd generation (at least) immigrant, born and bred in Scotland (but still a tosser).
Sorry disagree with the part about they won't sit on there ass sponging just because they have traveled the world for a better life. There is a family of 6 who were housed near me. Not one of them work she has no interest in working and is happy to live of our benefits.
I don't read the Daily Mail or any of the red top rags really as I have zero interest in trying to be manipulated by them.
11-01-2013, 04:51 PM
house!!!!!
11-01-2013, 04:53 PM
Tranent.
You seem to lump all immigrants to this country into one mass. Some undoubtedly abuse the system but most contribute enormously to our society.
I never use smilies but... :faf:
To be honest I don't mean to throw all in the same basket. Course there are genuine ones. Can you see what I mean about over population? No matter what spin folk put on it it's a major concern to the government which Labour and Tories admitted.
Anyway, Leigh was stupid but its blown out of proportion. I'm done with it.
11-01-2013, 04:53 PM
house!!!!!
Quality. Thread ending in fact.
11-01-2013, 04:56 PM
house!!!!!
This actually made me laugh to be fair!!! :D
11-01-2013, 05:02 PM
In my experience, Tranent positively encourages casual racism. I think I hang around with the wrong people.
11-01-2013, 05:03 PM
Impressive if you're 15.
WOO GO LEIGH
Yeah the club's statement summed it up for me really. The guy made a bad mistake, but then took it off and apologised without the guy who the slur was aimed at being offended. Sadly, as is the case with anything he does, it has grown arms and legs with the Weegia making far more of it than necessary. Oh well, at least this should mean he is ours and hopefully he will get banned from Twitter meaning he can't say anything worse in future.
11-01-2013, 05:10 PM
I think the best thing for Griffiths to do would be to come off Twitter completely. It's the ideal platform for anyone who wishes to target high profile people and say some really nasty things to them, things that they wouldn't dare say to them if they were face to face.
I personally don't use Twitter but I have spoken to people who are on it and who "follow" Griffiths and they've said that some of the stuff he's had to put up with on there is disgusting, things about his children which is just utterly deplorable in my opinion.
Every person has a limit in terms of what level of abuse they are willing to accept and clearly Griffiths hasn't been able to handle some of the stuff he's been subjected to recently.
I don't think there's any doubt that he shouldn't have reacted like that but it's easy to say that when people are calling you all the names under the sun on a daily basis and bringing your children into it as well. That, for most people, would be the tipping point.
Once again, though, this has been made into a far bigger story than it should have been because of people who have nothing at all to do with this altercation sticking their noses in and reporting the incident to the police, SFA, media etc etc.
Like so many of these stories that have happened in the past, the person concerned in Griffiths' tweet has accepted the apology that Griffiths gave him soon after the tweet was made. That, as far as I'm concerned, should be the end of the matter. If Hibs or Wolves, as his employer, feel that they need to take some form of disciplinary action against him then fair enough as he's probably breached some kind of policy set into his contract, but as far as all the other busybodies are concerned who have contacted the media, the SFA and possibly even the police, I personally feel that they should butt out and mind their own business.
As for Griffiths, I think he should do himself a massive favour and not only restrict access to his account but delete it altogether. It just doesn't seem to be worth the hassle.
11-01-2013, 05:12 PM
I'm surprised its taken this long for a juicy news story to come from comments made by sparky on twitter, its been an accident waiting to happen.
11-01-2013, 05:23 PM
Who cares what he tweeted, it's only word/s. Important thing for us is getting him signed up pronto. Total non story Hail Hail
Tha Cabbage Kid
11-01-2013, 05:25 PM
Why does he even respond to the abusive tweets anyway?
would you not respond to an abusive tweet?
11-01-2013, 05:27 PM
I'm surprised its taken this long for a juicy news story to come from comments made by sparky on twitter, its been an accident waiting to happen.
Agreed and I think a few on here have said the same. Someone at the club should have had a word a while back. Although can Hibs afford to employ someone who looks all day at players twitter and Facebook accounts.... obviously not.
Been away today and just logged in - glad to see it hasn't been blown out of proportion or a 14 page thread on here or across the media...
11-01-2013, 05:34 PM
would you not respond to an abusive tweet?
If Leigh did respond to everyone then I am sure he would be on twitter 24/7. Clearly these people who send him abusive tweets have their own issues, but a pro footballer that has thousands of followers that include journalists who are just looking for the next big story should be able to just ignore them, or not be on twitter at all.
If Leigh was a guy who worked in a factory somewhere then I can understand him responding but he has to have an appreciation that there a lot of people out there who will nail him for the slightest thing or mistake he makes, and he certainly chose the worst possible place to make it where 12,852 people are watching everything he says.
TheReg!
11-01-2013, 05:34 PM
Tranent.
Of course it is BUT when you see small towns outside London that have been totally changed due to immigration policy's (Aldershot and Luton for example) you then see the problem with mass immigration. Like I have said I have lived down south all of my adult life and can honestly say and experienced how it has effected "some" areas in England. Tranent is a good working class town, now imagine if it were to be flooded with immigrants in a short space of time, would you still be in the same mind set that you have now? We should have Immigrants but not to the extent of flooding working class towns with them, there has to be a balance.
There has been some good posts today and its good to see that we can have reasonable debates on the challenges that we have have in our country. If I have come across the wrong way with some posters then I apologise. I have said enough on this matter and will now stop posting on this thread as i think it should go to the Holly Ground as its turning political. LG has let himself down and Hibs, he has apologised and will be punished one way or an other, so instead of taking him to task lets get behind him and the club for the rest of the season.
11-01-2013, 05:36 PM
Been away today and just logged in - glad to see it hasn't been blown out of proportion or a 14 page thread on here or across the media...
I wouldn't worry; most people on here seem to agree with you that it's a big fuss about nothing.
11-01-2013, 05:37 PM
It seems that "racism" takes on new definitions every year. I don't think you're even allowed to describe a dark skinned person as "black" anymore. It's "African American".
We can still be described as "white" though. That's alright. :confused:
11-01-2013, 05:39 PM
Of course it is BUT when you see small towns outside London that have been totally changed due to immigration policy's (Aldershot and Luton for example) you then see the problem with mass immigration. Like I have said I have lived down south all of my adult life and can honestly say and experienced how it has effected "some" areas in England. Tranent is a good working class town, now imagine if it were to be flooded with immigrants in a short space of time, would you still be in the same mind set that you have now? We should have Immigrants but not to the extent of flooding working class towns with them, there has to be a balance.
Did we not have a whole thread once suggesting acceptable non-water-based alternatives to red-tops' favourites like flooded, swamped, etc ? Are immigrants still amphibians? :confused:
11-01-2013, 05:42 PM
I wouldn't worry; most people on here seem to agree with you that it's a big fuss about nothing.
Disagree. Think it'd be truer to say that most people think it's too big a fuss about something.
11-01-2013, 05:43 PM
I can assure you these are not rubbish. Schools no longer say blackboard, it is chalkboard. My dad a lecturer at college was told this on several occasions. Ba ba black sheep was another thing that got banned in a couple of schools. these things will not be written rules anywhere but they are encouraged.
11-01-2013, 05:45 PM
Mark Walters. Tynecastle. THAT was racism.
11-01-2013, 05:47 PM
Without excusing that particular tweet, Sparky takes some horrendous and very personal abuse on twitter and he has a right to give some back to the wee scrotes that do it.
I don't think he's wise to reply, but he has a right to.
His tweet was racist, no doubt, but he has deleted it and apologised and recognised it was a mistake. We all make them.
Absolutely. But some of the pish on here from folk trying to defend the original tweet is quite astounding. Also trying to attack the OP and present him as some kind of Hertz fan trying to bring Hibs down is out of order. Anything that's posted on twitter by any "celebrity" that is considered even mildly controversial will be all over the place in no time. hibs.net isn't the major source for controversial tweets from Hibs players as some of the folk on here would like us to believe :rolleyes:
11-01-2013, 05:49 PM
I think the best thing for Griffiths to do would be to come off Twitter completely. It's the ideal platform for anyone who wishes to target high profile people and say some really nasty things to them, things that they wouldn't dare say to them if they were face to face.
I'd actually extend that and say it's the best thing for everybody in the public eye.
I really don't get the whole Twitter thing at all and think the 'Twit' part is VERY appropriate.
11-01-2013, 05:53 PM
Twitter is for twits. Maybe they should just rename the site Twatter.
11-01-2013, 05:55 PM
He's an idol to young people and therefore a role model. Perhaps he didn't choose to be but it's what comes with success/fame
An idol for his football yes, what else does he do that makes kids want to model themselves on his life? :confused:
Do these kids you say he's a role model to actually know Griffiths? :confused:
11-01-2013, 05:57 PM
Are pop-stars role models or actors,not in my eyes, don't bye this nonsense that football players are role models for young kids to look up to.
Role models for young kids will be there parents, teachers, they will teach them how to live there life properly, not a footballer or a pop star or actor.
11-01-2013, 06:00 PM
Wow ! 3 pages at 9 this morning to this. If someone would be so kind as to give me a breakdown as to what is going on , thanks.
11-01-2013, 06:00 PM
I can assure you these are not rubbish. Schools no longer say blackboard, it is chalkboard. My dad a lecturer at college was told this on several occasions. Ba ba black sheep was another thing that got banned in a couple of schools. these things will not be written rules anywhere but they are encouraged.
My daughter's school has both black and white boards and media ( or sometimes intelligent ) boards.
The black and white ones must be upset at that!
11-01-2013, 06:01 PM
Are pop-stars role models or actors,not in my eyes, don't bye this nonsense that football players are role models for young kids to look up to.
Role models for young kids will be there parents, teachers, they will teach them how to live there life properly, not a footballer or a pop star or actor.
You cant have a role model who you know virtually nothing about.
11-01-2013, 06:02 PM
Twitter is for twits.
Hahahahah. I see what you did there!!!
11-01-2013, 06:04 PM
In my experience, Tranent positively encourages casual racism. I think I hang around with the wrong people.
Does Jim Whyte come from Tranent.
http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/soccer-dirty-tackle/sky-sports-news-jim-white-transfer-deadline-slip-235542787.html
hibee
11-01-2013, 06:06 PM
A 10 second search on Twitter will find plenty people saying the same thing or much worse, are the police finding time to investigate all if them or is this a special case because he's a footballer, surely either this is against the law for everyone or it's not.
Some examples from a quick search:
https://twitter.com/joshbryant95/status/287274413676716033
https://twitter.com/charlsss96/status/287269398853607424
https://twitter.com/lisawildishx/status/287266944950890497
11-01-2013, 06:08 PM
A 10 second search on Twitter will find plenty people saying the same thing or much worse, are the police finding time to investigate all if them or is this a special case because he's a footballer, surely either this is against the law for everyone or it's not.
Maybe Leigh has opened up a few new accounts under false names? :wink:
11-01-2013, 06:10 PM
http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/5264/molehill3hg9.jpg
11-01-2013, 06:10 PM
Don't really know where you're coming from on this, but since LG had already apologised and deleted the comment in question, and since you make no mention of the abuse the other guy was throwing at LG, my considered opinion is that you're simply out to stir up trouble for Hibs in general and for LG in particular. Griffiths should have got rid of that Twitter account ages ago; what he posted was stupid and out of order, but he apologised and withdrew it and that should have been the end of it.
But I question your motives, because apart from a strong stink of holier-than-thou hypocrite and a fair dash of troublemaker? :confused:
You claim that you're 'usually the first to support the players when they get in off-field problems'? You had less than 20 posts when you put that up. So on this forum you're not 'usually' anything.
Forgive me if I draw my own conclusions. :rolleyes:
Russell The Dug
11-01-2013, 06:11 PM
Start of the season Leigh tweets about being bored and wanted to get out of the ****hole - away from wolves.
Now - needs to go back does what he does back at hibs.
It would be a smart mans way of keeping the wage your on all season while playing for the side you love.
Just sayin'
11-01-2013, 06:13 PM
I don't think you really understand why Griffiths is being criticised.
11-01-2013, 06:14 PM
Disagree. Think it'd be truer to say that most people think it's too big a fuss about something.
Totally agree .:thumbsup:
He was wrong , yes BUT it is not exactly the crime of the century :rolleyes:
I do not 'Tweet' but am told that comments like LG's are often seen
Who monitors these postings ?
hibee
11-01-2013, 06:14 PM
Maybe Leigh has opened up a few new accounts under false names? :wink:
And now I've dropped him right in it, better delete my post quick!
11-01-2013, 06:26 PM
It seems that "racism" takes on new definitions every year. I don't think you're even allowed to describe a dark skinned person as "black" anymore. It's "African American".
I think you are wrong. Never heard anyone object to the example you highlight.
Immigration does have issues, Thatīs what happens with an unrestrained capitalist system. Money the root of most evils.
11-01-2013, 06:26 PM
I was talking about normal scots who use our system to screw others. Not any other race. Sorry if there was any confusion. Junkies for instance who are Scottish and get everything for them.
11-01-2013, 06:28 PM
Have you ever attended a juvenile football game? Believe me, footballers are role models for many kids.
11-01-2013, 06:31 PM
Wow ! 3 pages at 9 this morning to this. If someone would be so kind as to give me a breakdown as to what is going on , thanks.
Pile of cack then ???
11-01-2013, 06:33 PM
Griffiths has been unbelievably stupid, and I guess the only partial positive at all is that he appears to have realised very quickly and deleted his comment and apologised. He deserves to be carpeted by the club and I'm sure that will happen.
Having said that, the abuse he (and other footballers and celebrities) gets on twitter is staggering and if they're going to investgate him then the Police should be spending some time investigating some of the other nuggets that fire the most vile taunts and threats at him and his family too. You could argue that if it's that bad he should just shut the account down, but in reality why should he have to? He should be able to have an account like anyone else without switching it on to see someone saying they want his kids dead.
11-01-2013, 06:35 PM
Have you ever witnessed this personally?
If so then fair enough but I've only ever read about them in forums and newspapers and is always someone they know but never themselves. It's a bit like the guy who had an allergic reaction to the semen in the McDonald's burger.
I sometimes call a blackboard a chalkboard but I've only done so since other types of board were available to display things (e.g. whiteboards, projector screens) until then it was the blackboard and there was no need to differentiate between chalk and non-chalk boards.
11-01-2013, 06:35 PM
Totally agree .:thumbsup:
He was wrong , yes BUT it is not exactly the crime of the century :rolleyes:
I do not 'Tweet' but am told that comments like LG's are often seen
Who monitors these postings ?
That was one of my points earlier jsdhips - Twitter hide behind the 'self policing' argument and freedom of speech, coupled with US privacy laws. They don't appear to moderate their site at all effectively, which yes, is understandable given the millions of users online. But there is technology out there that they can use (swear filters, common rude slang, slurs).
Who was the Lord recently that threatened (or is doing so) to take Twitter users to court who had tweeted about him being allegedly involved in the Saville case ? It will take something of that magnitude, in the courts, to start to really preventing people from using social media as an outlet to abuse, threaten or allege. That of course costs money and you would also need Twitter 'onside' - given what I've said about them they would always use the argument of free speech and they cannot be held responsible for what everyone says.
You take a wee look at some folk who have abused Leigh on it, and their own accounts have family pictures, their professions, and some appear to be your average joes, family men and 'sensible' - frightening that they then feel the need to become keyboard warriors, but it just emphasises to me the sad lives they lead.
11-01-2013, 06:38 PM
Is that true?
No and neither is the blackboard tale total nonsense that has grown arms and legs.
11-01-2013, 06:38 PM
Context is important but with a standalone word we have to go with it's very definition, otherwise we're just making things up as we go along.
I think making judgements about someone based on their appearance (i.e. their race) would generally be considered as racist whether it meets any particularly definition or not.
As for specific meanings, if I was to walk into CC Blooms and shout "Oi, bender!" I doubt anyone would be thinking I'm talking to someone that bends things for a living.
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/bender?s=t
11-01-2013, 06:42 PM
house!!!!!
I knew it :greengrin
TheReg!
11-01-2013, 06:43 PM
Have you ever witnessed this personally?
If so then fair enough but I've only ever read about them in forums and newspapers and is always someone they know but never themselves. It's a bit like the guy who had an allergic reaction to the semen in the McDonald's burger.
I sometimes call a blackboard a chalkboard but I've only done so since other types of board were available to display things (e.g. whiteboards, projector screens) until then it was the blackboard and there was no need to differentiate between chalk and non-chalk boards.
Yes I have mate, I mentioned it earlier in this thread, "Winter Wondeland" instead of nativity play example.
My wife definatly had a allergic reaction to semen:wink: though not through eating at Macd's.
11-01-2013, 06:45 PM
The whole thing will be forgotten in a week.
It's a storm in a Leighcup.
11-01-2013, 06:46 PM
Read the convo I was having, it's not what you think it means. I was referring to Scottish people not Immigrants, in case of confusion.
Must admit when explaining something on here the way you type it others can try and dissect, and pick out exactly what they want to fill there need to have one up on a poster and make themselves feel good. The downside of a forum I suppose because its much easier to see a persons point when face to face!!!!
patch1875
11-01-2013, 06:54 PM
If he gets docked wages I pity the person he asks a sub from.
Read the convo I was having, it's not what you think it means. I was referring to Scottish people not Immigrants, in case of confusion.
Must admit when explaining something on here the way you type it others can try and dissect, and pick out exactly what they want to fill there need to have one up on a poster and make themselves feel good. The downside of a forum I suppose because its much easier to see a persons point when face to face!!!!
You're close to a few players though mate, and I've chatted about Twitter with a couple of coaches recently, one and ex Hibs player. They are more and more having to educate the kids about use of social media and their overall behaviour away from the pitch. It's actually part of their development to learn how to live properly on and off the pitch, and online stuff is taught to them. Do current players get advice on it from managers and owners ? You're as I say closer to players currently playing.
Who was the Lord recently that threatened (or is doing so) to take Twitter users to court who had tweeted about him being allegedly involved in the Saville case ?
Hamish McAlpine
11-01-2013, 06:59 PM
Why didn't you just use the term "Scots"?
It read like you meant Scots who didn't have foreign parents or ancestry = normal.
I agree with that, actually, but many people on here who have a parent or parents from another country might feel slightly miffed if you use language which suggests that they're not normal Scots.
Like me.
11-01-2013, 06:59 PM
You're close to a few players though mate, and I've chatted about Twitter with a couple of coaches recently, one and ex Hibs player. They are more and more having to educate the kids about use of social media and their overall behaviour away from the pitch. It's actually part of their development to learn how to live properly on and off the pitch, and online stuff is taught to them. Do current players get advice on it from managers and owners ? You're as I say closer to players currently playing.
It varies at different clubs. Most managers though now are aware of the impact any status made can have. I honestly don't know how Hibs do it all ask one of the players tonight. He's on Twitter so be interesting to see if he's been coached on how to to use social websites like Facebook and Twitter.
11-01-2013, 07:01 PM
You cant have a role model who you know virtually nothing about.
I see what you mean but what about the kids that have players names on their replica shirts and posters of them on their wall. Young girls who love Cheryl Cole and want to act and be like her, these are role models and the kids look up to them.
11-01-2013, 07:03 PM
It varies at different clubs. Most managers though now are aware of the impact any status made can have. I honestly don't know how Hibs do it all ask one of the players tonight. He's on Twitter so be interesting to see if he's been coached on how to to use social websites like Facebook and Twitter.
If he tells you to F*** Off you will get your answer.
11-01-2013, 07:05 PM
If he tells you to F*** Off you will get your answer.
Haha, liked that :D
11-01-2013, 07:06 PM
Kids look up to everyone.
They're just much smaller.
gringojoe
11-01-2013, 07:07 PM
Just for the record I am young, gifted and black.
11-01-2013, 07:07 PM
It read like you meant Scots who didn't have foreign parents or ancestry = normal.
I agree with that, actually, but many people on here who have a parent or parents from another country might feel slightly miffed if you use language which suggests that they're not normal Scots.
Like me.
You are right, I should have said Scots mate so I appoligise for the confusion. Like I say hard to explain on a forum when anything can be taken out of context.
11-01-2013, 07:09 PM
Have you ever attended a juvenile football game? Believe me, footballers are role models for many kids.
Coached a youth team for about five years. :aok:
Believe me there mums dads aunties uncles nana and grandads are the role models, as they are the ones who come along to watch there son nephew grandson play football and will teach them right from wrong.
Some of the lads would come along wearing rangers celtc tops on with names on there back like Nakamura, Boyd, yes they would think they were the best players from the team they supported, but how can they be role models if they have never met them or know nothing about them, apart from they score goals for the team they support.
11-01-2013, 07:10 PM
Why did the chicken cross the road?
That's his business. You're only asking because he's black. Racist.
Sorry couldn't resist, taken ironically from twitter :D
11-01-2013, 07:11 PM
So what we have here is Sparky replying to an insult with a racist comment and he has apologised for it , move on.
11-01-2013, 07:11 PM
Mark Walters. Tynecastle. THAT was racism.
Gary MacYam with Kevin Harper was racism also ! FACT
11-01-2013, 07:12 PM
Believe me there mums dads aunties uncles nana and grandads are the role models, as they are the ones who come along to watch there son nephew grandson play football and will teach them right from wrong.
Some of the lads would come along wearing rangers celtc tops on with names on there back like Nakamura, Boyd, yes they would think they were the best players from the team they supported, but how can they be role models if they have never met them or know nothing about them, apart from they score goals for the team they support.
Alot of kids very much copy the antics of players though such as diving, celebrations etc
11-01-2013, 07:13 PM
Just for the record I am young, gifted and black.
Great track that :agree: The Smiths 'Girlfriend in a Coma' (yes, seriously) was based around that baseline/chord structure........as Michael Caine would say, not a lot of people know that :greengrin total thread hijack, but that song always makes me smile. I'm away to youtube it and listen.
11-01-2013, 07:14 PM
I can see where your coming from Silver, but a Role Model to a kid these days is the likes of Rooney, RVP etc. Thats prob why the are role models because they are in the public eye doing the sponsers and all that. They just see the family as, well family really. But yeah the ones that come watch are for me the real role models who try and guide their child/grandchild to be the best they can.
Velma Dinkley
11-01-2013, 07:18 PM
I think making judgements about someone based on their appearance (i.e. their race) would generally be considered as racist whether it meets any particularly definition or not.
As for specific meanings, if I was to walk into CC Blooms and shout "Oi, bender!" I doubt anyone would be thinking I'm talking to someone that bends things for a living.
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/bender?s=t
I was talking about the definition of the word 'racist', not slang words. And in case there is any doubt, I'm not defending racisim or offensive language. I'm just defending the English language :greengrin
11-01-2013, 07:19 PM
SH, you'd be proud but I think my role model status at home has taken a wee dip after I've scoffed the laddies toblerone - hidden away in a drawer too......he's sneaky and had to be taught a lesson :greengrin.
GhostofBolivar
11-01-2013, 07:20 PM
I am as ashamed by the opinions voiced by many on this thread as I am by Griffiths' actions.
11-01-2013, 07:22 PM
Like me.
But you're a BUM!
Just as this thread was getting irksome you're in there to save it.
What a man. Love you!
HibeeN
11-01-2013, 07:24 PM
No, I don't think that's correct. You wouldn't refer to a black person from the Europe or the UK as African American.
Certainly in academia 'black' is still acceptable. I've not heard otherwise in any other areas either.
I am as ashamed by the opinions voiced by many on this thread as I am by Griffiths' actions.
Poor you!
Prof. Shaggy
Me too.
The_Sauz
11-01-2013, 07:29 PM
http://rootsofaction.com/blog/what-is-a-role-model-five-qualities-that-matter-for-role-models/
btw...I agree to what you are saying :agree:
11-01-2013, 07:29 PM
In what way? I personally think its been pretty well debated. Not having a go just wondering what things your ashamed at.
11-01-2013, 07:30 PM
No, I don't think that's correct. You wouldn't refer to a black person from the Europe or the UK as African American.
Certainly in academia 'black' is still acceptable. I've not heard otherwise in any other areas either.
A black person is a black person and can be called as such, the ridiculous thing is that people are not even sure how they are "allowed" to describe people anymore...................crazy just crazy.
english_hibee
11-01-2013, 07:30 PM
I don't think anyone on here is defending racism, or any form of derogatory remarks. Most people seem to think, myself included, that it has been blown out of all proportion. Had the gent been wearing glasses and Leigh had commented "foureyes", or been overweight and leigh had responded "chubs", or had been "strawberry blonde" and leigh had responded "ginge", would there have been such an outcry?
I'm not defending the lad, I fully believe that he should have either a) thought more about what he responded, or b) blocked the guy straight away and not paid it any heed. However, when you are constantly being hounded and abused/ridiculed on a public forum, especially when your children/family are brought into it, it is human nature to just snap and respond.
If the police are going to investigate this, are they therefore going to investigate every other person on twitter who has said something similar? If not, why not? If it's an offense for a pro footballer to say it, surely it's an offense for everyone?
As I said, certainly not defending him, it was a stupid thing to say, and not acceptable, especially given people take to twitter purely to wind him up and wait for the aftermath, he should have known better and not risen to the taunts, but this has been taken, by social networking and the media, way way too far
11-01-2013, 07:33 PM
:agree: a truly **** thread.
11-01-2013, 07:33 PM
I don't think anyone on here is defending racism, or any form of derogatory remarks. Most people seem to think, myself included, that it has been blown out of all proportion. Had the gent been wearing glasses and Leigh had commented "foureyes", or been overweight and leigh had responded "chubs", or had been "strawberry blonde" and leigh had responded "ginge", would there have been such an outcry?
I'm not defending the lad, I fully believe that he should have either a) thought more about what he responded, or b) blocked the guy straight away and not paid it any heed. However, when you are constantly being hounded and abused/ridiculed on a public forum, especially when your children/family are brought into it, it is human nature to just snap and respond.
If the police are going to investigate this, are they therefore going to investigate every other person on twitter who has said something similar? If not, why not? If it's an offense for a pro footballer to say it, surely it's an offense for everyone?
As I said, certainly not defending him, it was a stupid thing to say, and not acceptable, especially given people take to twitter purely to wind him up and wait for the aftermath, he should have known better and not risen to the taunts, but this has been taken, by social networking and the media, way way too far
Well said that man!
11-01-2013, 07:34 PM
Role models come in many guises and yes, the parents, grandparents and even the boys clubs coaches can be role models. When I played juvenile football, say 35 years ago, nobody rolled around, argued with the ref or opposition (not much at least) and definitely never use sweary words.
When my oldest played football I was so disgusted by what I saw week in week out that Iīve encouraged my two youngest to take up other sports.
Kids have rarely met their idols (thank ****), they see them at games and on the telly. In our celebrity obsessed world footballers have some influence on football obsessed kids perceptions of what is ok.
11-01-2013, 07:35 PM
at least it will be a bit easier to sign him now after this carry on,wolves never really wanted him before this anyway,come back leigh all is forgotten:flag:
english_hibee
Well said that man!
Wo-man, but thanks :D
:agree: a truly **** thread.
As depressing a thread as I've ever read on here.
11-01-2013, 07:36 PM
A black person is a black person and can be called as such, the ridiculous thing is that people are not even sure how they are "allowed" to describe people anymore...................crazy just crazy.
Spot on you English **** , joking but you are on the money .
11-01-2013, 07:37 PM
You would say that. You're English...........
11-01-2013, 07:38 PM
As depressing a thread as I've ever read on here.
Really? I see diiffering opinions and people reasonably debating a delicate issue, just what exactly do you see that depresses you so much?
11-01-2013, 07:38 PM
Ah, bollox
Second to the punch again.
english_hibee
11-01-2013, 07:39 PM
You would say that. You're English...........
Hehe, I'll get back to my own country then....... :greengrin
11-01-2013, 07:40 PM
Really? I see diiffering opinions and people reasonably debating a delicate issue, just what exactly do you see that depresses you so much?
Not going there, its too depressing :wink:
11-01-2013, 07:40 PM
Contrary to popular belief a Scouser doesn't consider himself an English Englander :wink:
To me Leigh has been severly provoked.This guy has gotten the reaction he's been looking for.
it's not unusual for any young man to blow up and say something he regrets because he's been angered.Especially when he's winding Leigh up for no reason other than to make him angry.
Really. the whole worlds gone mad.
100% behind Leigh and the hibees
11-01-2013, 07:41 PM
Not going there, its too depressing :wink:
Swerve :wink:
11-01-2013, 07:42 PM
Yep. The words were offensive and the intent when those words were posted were to cause hurt, offense or one-upmanship in a heated exchange of tweets. They were racist. Not in a subtle way, not in an inconsequential way, but in a blatant, in-your-face way.
The more I think about it the less I'd be bothered if we emptied Sparky over this one. All the hard work of supporting Show Racism The Red Card undone by one players actions.
The idea of "Hibs Class" is something worth sticking to and for me Sparky has a hell of a lot to do to ever be considered "Hibs class" now.
You've really let the club down, Sparky.
11-01-2013, 07:47 PM
Contrary to popular belief a Scouser doesn't consider himself an English Englander :wink:
No matter Mr non-Scot :greengrin , you said a simple but true point, why is it that so many dont get it ?
11-01-2013, 07:47 PM
Yep. The words were offensive and the intent when those words were posted were to cause hurt, offense or one-upmanship in a heated exchange of tweets. They were racist. Not in a subtle way, not in an inconsequential way, but in a blatant, in-your-face way.
The more I think about it the less I'd be bothered if we emptied Sparky over this one. All the hard work of supporting Show Racism The Red Card undone by one players actions.
The idea of "Hibs Class" is something worth sticking to and for me Sparky has a hell of a lot to do to ever be considered "Hibs class" now.
About as over exaggerated post as I have ever read on here.
11-01-2013, 07:48 PM
Yeah because they are the same as telling an Asian Scot to go back to his own country. Geez peace.
11-01-2013, 07:49 PM
About as over exaggerated post as I have ever read on here.
Correct :agree:
Pathetic.
11-01-2013, 07:50 PM
You just made that up - or else you're a daily mail reader.
11-01-2013, 07:50 PM
He apologised, get over it and move on .
11-01-2013, 07:51 PM
No matter Mr non-Scot :greengrin , you said a simple but true point, why is it that so many dont get it ?
Fear of being labelled a racist if they haven't kept up to date of the ever changing politically correct thing to say which is a total joke, intent is the word IMO. Far too many people wrongly labelled by do gooders.
11-01-2013, 07:52 PM
feart tae say anything nowadays :shhhsh!:
You've really let the club down, Sparky.I guess not everone is as perfect as you
11-01-2013, 07:55 PM
You've really let the club down, Sparky.http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies%202/dramaqueen.gif
english_hibee
11-01-2013, 07:56 PM
Yeah because they are the same as telling an Asian Scot to go back to his own country. Geez peace.
I didnt say it was the same, I said it was an assumption based on appearance. That was the point I was trying to make. But if you want to be technical, as the comment was made regarding the country, rather than the race, it's xenophobia, not racism
As I said, I think he was spectacularly stupid to make the comment in the first place, but is it worse than berating people for being gay, being ginger, wearing glasses, etc? And if it is then please explain how it is. They are all assumptions based on an appearance too
He apologised, get over it and move on .
Where do you draw the line at what an apology makes up for?
Sparky's let us down big time. Massive negative publicity for the club.
Fear of being labelled a racist if they haven't kept up to date of the ever changing politically correct thing to say which is a total joke, intent is the word IMO. Far too many people wrongly labelled by do gooders.
Now thats a **** post.
You just made that up - or else you're a daily mail reader.
Im surprised it took this long for someone to mention the daily mail.
This is like the holy ground but with more contributors.
11-01-2013, 07:57 PM
Hardly.
He made a comment that he immediately regretted and retracted and apologised to the person concerned as well. An apology which has been accepted, by the way.
What more do you want?
It's comments like these that I was referring to in my first post on this thread, which really get my goat.
If two men have an argument and one says something a bit out of order towards the other and he immediately apologises for it and the two make up and move on from it, what business does anyone else have in getting involved and getting all offended by something that has nothing to do with them?
Hibs and/or Wolves will have a word with him and probably fine him a couple of weeks' wages as per their disciplinary process written in to a player's contract. That's the only third party who should be getting involved in this.
I could think of a hundred things that he could have done to disgrace himself and the club that would have been worse than this.
He was in the wrong, he immediately realised that and made amends. He will be punished financially by the club and has been embarrassed in public.
I would say that is more than enough to be honest.
11-01-2013, 07:59 PM
This is like the holy ground but with more contributors.
It's more like the daily mail comments section. So many people with bold opinions but horse manure for a brain.
11-01-2013, 08:00 PM
This is like the holy ground.
Only to a Daily Mail reader.
Your first paragraph is debatable but the rest of the post?
Hearts class.
11-01-2013, 08:01 PM
Now thats a **** post.
Yet we have people posting on here that have shown exactly the examples I have alluded to.