View Full Version : golf 2013
06-01-2013, 05:37 PM
So we're on to another year and although it's a couple of months till it starts proper the mild weather is giving us a chance to get rid of the cobwebs.
Just had a round with hibbyradge (cheers bigman, thoroughly enjoyed it) and there was a few signs to make me optimistic for the coming season.
My game went downhill rapidly over the last couple of years and I crept up to 19.5 from 14:(
My target is to get down to that level again, what's your goals?
Happy swinging!! :)
06-01-2013, 07:42 PM
Not played since October so hoping to get out in the next week or so.
Probably going to see our club pro for a bit advice on my driving which was causing me all sorts of problems last year. Fairly sure the problem is something to do with my left foot but can't quite sort it.
Target for the year is to keep the handicap at 4, possibly get back to 3. Anything else is a bonus after last season.
06-01-2013, 10:45 PM
Target for the year is to get down to 14 from the 17 im at, Only played twice in 2 months what with work and weather and other stuff but 1 round at Prestonfield on Christmas eve went not too bad, and a quick 9 at Gifford yesterday starting Birdie,Bogey,Birdie,Bogey for the 1st 4 holes and not going too badly after that was pretty encouraging :thumbsup: Looking forward to the season ahead and as always Gimmie a PM if anyone wants a batter round :agree:
07-01-2013, 12:49 PM
I've been a regular weekly visitor to the driving range since October and been lucky to enough to be invited down to Dunbar and Gullane for a couple of games recently.
I'm very jealous of all the lucky sods who are members of links courses as most of the inland courses still resemble bogs following all the rain.
07-01-2013, 01:22 PM
It's one of my resolutions this year to play more, as I only managed 2 games last year (The Carrick in March and Dunbar in October).
I'd opted to head to the practice ground at Monifieth a couple of days ago and despite it being a lake for the most part, I was able to hit a few balls in one of the drier strips.
My short game was as sharp as ever but I have a chronic condition in my chest which causes great pain whenever I take a full swing so I don't know how much I'm going to get out until it goes away - frustrating is an understatement.
07-01-2013, 01:25 PM
So who's organizing this year's .net outing?:greengrin
07-01-2013, 02:21 PM
It's one of my resolutions this year to play more, as I only managed 2 games last year (The Carrick in March and Dunbar in October).
I'd opted to head to the practice ground at Monifieth a couple of days ago and despite it being a lake for the most part, I was able to hit a few balls in one of the drier strips.
My short game was as sharp as ever but I have a chronic condition in my chest which causes great pain whenever I take a full swing so I don't know how much I'm going to get out until it goes away - frustrating is an understatement.
I'll get you out at Monifieth soon S.
07-01-2013, 02:35 PM
I played a lot in the early part of the year, but haven't swung a club much recently. Going to try to get some games in soon and maybe look to join a club again next year!
07-01-2013, 03:05 PM
I'll get you out at Monifieth soon S.
Would certainly appreciate it G.
Hoping for a round before I depart the shores of Tayside, which will be imminent I reckon!
Is the course under as much water as the practice ground by the way? Was stunned by the depth and extent of the flooding there on Friday!
07-01-2013, 03:44 PM
Would certainly appreciate it G.
Hoping for a round before I depart the shores of Tayside, which will be imminent I reckon!
Is the course under as much water as the practice ground by the way? Was stunned by the depth and extent of the flooding there on Friday!
Big course is fine. Wee one has a few holes out. Will be sorted by the weekend.
07-01-2013, 03:46 PM
So we're on to another year and although it's a couple of months till it starts proper the mild weather is giving us a chance to get rid of the cobwebs.
Just had a round with hibbyradge (cheers bigman, thoroughly enjoyed it) and there was a few signs to make me optimistic for the coming season.
My game went downhill rapidly over the last couple of years and I crept up to 19.5 from 14:(
My target is to get down to that level again, what's your goals?
Happy swinging!! :)
I'm at 9.6 .. it better be single figs soon or I will do time!!! :cb
I am taking golf up this year!
07-01-2013, 08:48 PM
I am taking golf up this year!
Got a set of calloway x16's (4-pw) and a cobra S3 driver for a good price if you're looking for equipment :)
PerthHibby
09-01-2013, 08:19 PM
I've been a regular weekly visitor to the driving range since October and been lucky to enough to be invited down to Dunbar and Gullane for a couple of games recently.
I'm very jealous of all the lucky sods who are members of links courses as most of the inland courses still resemble bogs following all the rain.
I play at Kilspindie, course is in great nick, has been all winter.
If you fancy a game give me a shout.
Got a set of calloway x16's (4-pw) and a cobra S3 driver for a good price if you're looking for equipment :)
Thanks for the offer mate but I am sorted for irons. Managed to get a set of well conditioned Ping Zings (?) for £30!! They are longer as well which is brilliant as I am 6'5!
10-01-2013, 03:58 PM
Thanks for the offer - it's a long time since I played Kilspindie. I do however remember that the second hole seemed to be about 954 yards long!
If you want, you can PM me.
10-01-2013, 07:49 PM
Yeah me too.
Played there on Sunday and conditions were great. No wind as well !
10-01-2013, 07:52 PM
Big course is fine. Wee one has a few holes out. Will be sorted by the weekend.
TQM - what is the name of the hotel practically on the 1st tee at Monifieth ? Are there any other hotels close by ? Planning our annual trip and thought of Monifieth. Like the idea of being able to walk to the course.
10-01-2013, 08:32 PM
TQM - what is the name of the hotel practically on the 1st tee at Monifieth ? Are there any other hotels close by ? Planning our annual trip and thought of Monifieth. Like the idea of being able to walk to the course.
I'm aware I'm not TQM (thank the Lord) but it's the Panmure Hotel :agree:
10-01-2013, 08:59 PM
I'm aware I'm not TQM (thank the Lord) but it's the Panmure Hotel :agree:
17-01-2013, 06:23 AM
Sorry I missed your post - but The Biggest Bandit So Far is correct :wink:
There are a few B+Bs in Monifieth, and more hotel/pub options in Broughty Ferry. I'm Captain of the Broughty (overlooks the 18th green at Monifieth) so if you're coming let me know if you need any help with anything else.
25-01-2013, 02:07 PM
I went to the Braids Driving Range yesterday and had to wait in a queue for a bay.
The range itself was covered in snow and the problem was a lack of available golf balls. It was necessary for staff to manually collect the balls from the range as the normal machinery could not be used in the snow. All this and the place was still absolutely heaving. Mental I tell ye!
28-01-2013, 12:07 PM
I went to the Braids Driving Range yesterday and had to wait in a queue for a bay.
The range itself was covered in snow and the problem was a lack of available golf balls. It was necessary for staff to manually collect the balls from the range as the normal machinery could not be used in the snow. All this and the place was still absolutely heaving. Mental I tell ye!
Golfed at the weekend - not a spot of the white crud :greengrin
Was 6-inches from a quadruple birdie start too! :cb - had to settle for birdie-birdie-4 pars start :thumbsup:
04-03-2013, 10:17 AM
£v<*&&£$%&"*($^! GAME!!! DRIVE YOU MENTAL SO IT DOES!!!
Gross 73 yesterday with a ludicrous 4-putt!! PETRIE :grr:
05-03-2013, 06:41 PM
Ah not long to go before the start of another season. Annual sub paid, course drying out, the sun has been shining and i've a pre-season lesson booked for the 15th March. All is well until the first medal round when the wee demons are sure to make an appearance!
LALthehibeeGAL
05-03-2013, 07:15 PM
Sorry to hijack your thread guys but I just want to wish both Pumpherston Juniors and Liberton Juniors the best of luck - they head out to Spain Thurs for a four day competition - it's the Home Nations Trophy 2012 both Pumpherston and Liberton qualified after playing qf at Downfield and sf at Panmure - there are two teams from England, Ireland and Wales also competition - Sat - Tues. My boy is captain of Pumpherston - not had much of a chance of late to get practice in with the weather but oh well oh and he is full of the cold - is that excuses already!!!!
No seriously the best of luck to the boys
Lal:wink:
06-03-2013, 06:50 AM
Sorry to hijack your thread guys but I just want to wish both Pumpherston Juniors and Liberton Juniors the best of luck - they head out to Spain Thurs for a four day competition - it's the Home Nations Trophy 2012 both Pumpherston and Liberton qualified after playing qf at Downfield and sf at Panmure - there are two teams from England, Ireland and Wales also competition - Sat - Tues. My boy is captain of Pumpherston - not had much of a chance of late to get practice in with the weather but oh well oh and he is full of the cold - is that excuses already!!!!
No seriously the best of luck to the boys
Was going to post something similar, the Liberton laddies fly out today. What great experience to get, I hope your boy has the time of his life!!!
Pretty sure Sky Sports cover this although when Liberton were there a couple of years ago it wasn't shown until the festive period, I was flicking through the channels and thought "that looks awfy like wee Tam that hammered me 5&4 yesterday!!" :greengrin
13-03-2013, 10:28 AM
Looks nice out .. I feel a wee half day coming on! :cb
13-03-2013, 10:34 AM
Snow all away?
13-03-2013, 10:36 AM
Snow all away?
Long gone on the Links..
14-03-2013, 10:21 AM
Went for it! Glorious afternoon. Won too!
Nice wee warm up to the final week of the Winter League this Sunday - I am leading Division 1 by one stroke! The drama... :greengrin
16-03-2013, 08:40 AM
I had an absolutely excellent video lesson yesterday and although I've a couple of things to work on, major surgery is not required. I was really looking forward to a game today and what happens ---------------- the friggin white staff has returned so definitely no golf today.
17-03-2013, 08:12 PM
I had an absolutely excellent video lesson yesterday and although I've a couple of things to work on, major surgery is not required. I was really looking forward to a game today and what happens ---------------- the friggin white staff has returned so definitely no golf today.
Fine here :greengrin. I scooped the Division 1 Winter League today :thumbsup:
Was leading by 1, and a very steady 39 points today was enough to win!
PerthHibby
20-03-2013, 07:10 PM
Fine here :greengrin. I scooped the Division 1 Winter League today :thumbsup:
Was leading by 1, and a very steady 39 points today was enough to win!
What's the course like at the moment?
Heading up your way this weekend.
Godsahibby
21-03-2013, 12:53 PM
Anyone heading to the Golf Show this weekend? normally a great day out and the free rounds of golf you get buying tickets in advance make it all the more worthwhile.
21-03-2013, 01:49 PM
Anyone heading to the Golf Show this weekend? normally a great day out and the free rounds of golf you get buying tickets in advance make it all the more worthwhile.
I'm giving it a miss this year. Yip it's not a bad £15 worth - 3 free rounds of golf + a season pass to the Johnnie Walker at Gleneagles.
As for the show itself, then I can happily spend 2 to 3 hours viewing the exhibits etc but there's not enough to keep me occupied all day.
21-03-2013, 06:28 PM
Stupid time to have it, international weekend :grr::grr:
21-03-2013, 07:49 PM
Off there on saturday morning Sir :thumbsup:
25-03-2013, 10:53 AM
What's the course like at the moment?
Heading up your way this weekend.
Well, did you freeze yer jangly bits aff??? We wisely agreed to play just 7 holes for the Capt-Vice, and get back in for food/beer :greengrin
Bl**dy lost 4-3 though. PETRIE! :grr:
LALthehibeeGAL
25-03-2013, 10:01 PM
Hubby and son and friends went on Saturday and said it was far too busy sold too many tickets - they used Groupon this year and it was just heavin - not too impressed to be honest - yes you get three free rounds of golf and sts for Johnny Walker champ but there is not really a lot else there - in fact they never got a chance to use the free rounds last year due to the weather really nor did we manage to make it to Gleneagles so never got our monies worth last year. The Tiger Woods shot you had absolutely no chance of getting on unless you were there for it opening. everything far too busy. poor show from the golf show really - anyway it's better at Ingliston (purely from a selfish point of view):agree:
26-03-2013, 08:20 AM
Ah well Tiger's recent victory at Bay Hill means that he's now officially been reinstated to the World Number 1 slot.
It's just as well he can putt otherwise he'd be a 10 handicapper. He is also the luckiest golfer in the world in my humble opinion.
28-03-2013, 04:47 AM
Well a long weekend of golf looks to be out the window after waking up to snow again!!
29-03-2013, 12:13 PM
Well a long weekend of golf looks to be out the window after waking up to snow again!!
Snow here has come and gone. Just as well as our big course closes on Saturday at 1pm for the Scottish Boys next week. I hope they get some decent weather.
We'd Paul Lawrie + sons in the club during the week.
Godsahibby
29-03-2013, 01:14 PM
Strange round this morning, can't remember it ever being so sunny yet blizzard conditions at the same time.
29-03-2013, 04:05 PM
I had a round at Dunbar today. Good weather, a cracking course in great nick and not a trace of mud on your shoes at the end of the round.
Excellent, absolutely excellent.
29-03-2013, 07:55 PM
I had a round at Dunbar today. Good weather, a cracking course in great nick and not a trace of mud on your shoes at the end of the round.
Excellent, absolutely excellent.
Played today as well, surprisingly very dry underfoot. Golf was brutal though. :rolleyes:
29-03-2013, 08:06 PM
Have not had a hit for weeks with this weather. Going to the in-laws in Galway for the Easter holiday and the bats are packed in the car for a couple of games. Will be playing the Old Galway golf club, a Mackenzie course that is always a pleasure to play, and have taken up the offer of a decent deal to play Lahinch, an hour or so down the Clare coast, another fine course.
30-03-2013, 06:30 AM
***** snow!!!
01-04-2013, 10:14 PM
Only played for the first time this year yesterday and it wasn't too bad. Then today was a similar performance but scored better. First 8 holes were poor, driving was bad and put me in trouble a fair bit, although iron play was good. Then i parred 9,10,11,12,13 and 14. Stupidly double bogeyed 15 as had trouble in a bunker. 16th par 5 i hit driver then 5 wood and was on the green in 2. Eagle putt from 25 feet was in the whole way and then turned last minute stopping half an inch away!! Gutting tbh, not eagled a hole in a while. Parred 17 and had trouble on 18. 1 over with a double from 9-17 was promosing though having just started this year, looking to sort the driving out soon.
That was at Nairn Dunbar, in fantastic condition just now! Fairways are a dream and great weather last 2 days.
03-04-2013, 01:43 AM
I e had one game at Dunbar in Januarya d that's been it since September. Wish this pish weather would just **** right off so I can get the clubs dusted off and the shoes prepared .
03-04-2013, 09:10 AM
Anyone played many clubs around the London area?
Moving down to Guildford and looking to take the game up again when I'm guaranteed a bit better weather during the year!
I know Wentworth and Sunningdale are extremely close but I'm looking for a membership which is affordable on a Research Fellow salary :wink:
Braids Hibby
04-04-2013, 03:57 PM
Ah well Tiger's recent victory at Bay Hill means that he's now officially been reinstated to the World Number 1 slot.
It's just as well he can putt otherwise he'd be a 10 handicapper. He is also the luckiest golfer in the world in my humble opinion.
The greatest ever ...
06-04-2013, 08:47 AM
First round of the season yesterday, at West Lothian, nice but hilly track with some cracking view's over Fife and the snow topped Ochil's, oh and the golf was not too bad either :wink:
06-04-2013, 09:57 AM
Opening greensomes this weekend :greengrin ever the optimist
06-04-2013, 07:15 PM
Ah well - today was definitely a personal worst in the opening competition of the season, 84 -3 = 81. It's enough to drive a man to drink I tell ye.!
:drunk:
06-04-2013, 09:01 PM
Opening greensomes this weekend :greengrin ever the optimist
How did you get on? The laddie and me were gonna enter but I had to give it a miss. Nice weather for it
07-04-2013, 09:42 AM
Ah well - today was definitely a personal worst in the opening competition of the season, 84 -3 = 81. It's enough to drive a man to drink I tell ye.!
:drunk:
Me too, started par, par and got thinking today's the day, the a 9 :(
Thought I'd be thining everything after the mats but was hitting everything heavy?
07-04-2013, 11:45 AM
No a bad day at all
39 points with 3 holes no score
Encouraging :greengrin
07-04-2013, 04:07 PM
No a bad day at all
Good scoring. My lad playing for juniors today against adults. Dying to hear how he got on
07-04-2013, 04:10 PM
No a bad day at all
Encouraging you say.
I'd say that score comes into the :bandit: category!
07-04-2013, 04:25 PM
Good scoring. My lad playing for juniors today against adults. Dying to hear how he got on
Was that against the seniors? That should be coming to a finish about now I'd imagine - hope it went well. :aok:
Encouraging you say.
I'd say that score comes into the :bandit: category!
:greengrin Anyone who's seen my golf over the last few years can tell you I ain't no bandit :hilarious
Still happy with how this weekend has went and a big improvement on my putting so fingers crossed.
07-04-2013, 05:11 PM
Was that against the seniors? That should be coming to a finish about now I'd imagine - hope it went well. :aok:
:greengrin Anyone who's seen my golf over the last few years can tell you I ain't no bandit :hilarious
Still happy with how this weekend has went and a big improvement on my putting so fingers crossed.
I think it was against men's section and not the seniors.
07-04-2013, 05:19 PM
Beat Andy young on the last. Not had the blow by blow account yet as they are all getting fed just now :)
07-04-2013, 06:23 PM
Beat Andy young on the last. Not had the blow by blow account yet as they are all getting fed just now :)
Nice one
08-04-2013, 12:31 PM
Wheels coming aff with me! Some really poor approach play yesterday - no following through off the fairway.
Up to 10.2 now - so a lesson beckons!
09-04-2013, 03:08 PM
Think I'll quickly wave cheerio to the notion of a membership down in Surrey.
Cheapest quote I've been given for any of the courses nearby Guildford was £803 p/y and that's for an age bracket. Full memberships are all over £1300!
Mental prices!
09-04-2013, 03:28 PM
Think I'll quickly wave cheerio to the notion of a membership down in Surrey.
Cheapest quote I've been given for any of the courses nearby Guildford was £803 p/y and that's for an age bracket. Full memberships are all over £1300!
Mental prices!
Robbery - but you got a bargain at Monifieth :wink: and the courses will be better here too! Good luck with the hunt..
11-04-2013, 08:01 PM
Even though i played enough medals last year, for some reason my handicap has been 'cancelled' so need to get another. Rather annoying! Handed in the first card today.
Shocking start, 7 over after 3.....started to play much better after that, was 1 over for the next 13 holes and even that i was annoyed at, couple of close putts missed on poor greens. 3 birdies though was pretty pleased with that, finished bogey then double however so overall 11 over is poor but excluding the first and last few holes played some nice stuff.
11-04-2013, 08:25 PM
Even though i played enough medals last year, for some reason my handicap has been 'cancelled' so need to get another. Rather annoying! Handed in the first card today.
Shocking start, 7 over after 3.....started to play much better after that, was 1 over for the next 13 holes and even that i was annoyed at, couple of close putts missed on poor greens. 3 birdies though was pretty pleased with that, finished bogey then double however so overall 11 over is poor but excluding the first and last few holes played some nice stuff.
Strange that your handicap was 'cancelled.' If you returned 3 medal rounds last year then you should have been ok. If you submit another 3 cards within 6 months of last season then you should get the same handicap unless of course you've improved!
11-04-2013, 08:36 PM
I would be speaking to your match secretary.....If you played in enough medals, your handicap should not have lapsed......Ask and your handicap may be re-instated....
19-04-2013, 04:38 AM
Well another week washed out :( managed to finish second in our medal, so I suppose there are some signs there :)
Mrs cabbage bought me this https://m.itison.com/Edinburgh/deals/royal-musselburgh-golf-lesson, good deal, seemingly even she knows I'm sheite!!
19-04-2013, 11:36 PM
Dad spoke to the convenor and it seems that the last medal i played last year (only managed 3) was a non-counter so it never went towards my handicap. Hadn't even noticed it was non-counter as it was the last i was at the course last year. Not too bothered now, will get the 3 cards in before i move back up North hopefully! Looking forward to having 8 weeks up there, will be working but at night/weekends will be great getting out at Nairn again.
Went up today to Linlithgow and sadly as they are working on some greens there were winter greens and the pro said my card wouldn't count. Shame, medal tomorrow but really can't see the greens being ready as they were heavily sanded.
Dad says conditions up here were really bad this week so course got flooded, i was none the wiser having been down Blackpool way with their nice weather this week. :greengrin
20-04-2013, 08:28 AM
Dad spoke to the convenor and it seems that the last medal i played last year (only managed 3) was a non-counter so it never went towards my handicap. Hadn't even noticed it was non-counter as it was the last i was at the course last year. Not too bothered now, will get the 3 cards in before i move back up North hopefully! Looking forward to having 8 weeks up there, will be working but at night/weekends will be great getting out at Nairn again.
Went up today to Linlithgow and sadly as they are working on some greens there were winter greens and the pro said my card wouldn't count. Shame, medal tomorrow but really can't see the greens being ready as they were heavily sanded.
Dad says conditions up here were really bad this week so course got flooded, i was none the wiser having been down Blackpool way with their nice weather this week. :greengrin
A Club can have up to 2 winter greens in operation and provided that the overall course length has not been altered by more/less than 100 yards then the medal will still count as being a qualifying competition.
20-04-2013, 09:47 AM
I haven't played or even held a club in my hand since September last year. (Except one round at Dunbar in Jan). Out this afternoon. This should be fun. :greengrin:greengrin
20-04-2013, 10:24 AM
Was out yesterday for the first time this year. Not a good day at the office :boo hoo:
20-04-2013, 07:59 PM
Ah well - more *ish today 79-3 =76. Things can only get better as I'm sure the course conditions eventually will. Don't you just hate trying to putt on greens which are full of friggin aerated holes!!!
21-04-2013, 12:08 PM
Yesterday was a nightmare, we were on all 18 greens again for the medal but they were just unplayable. Felt like we were committing an offence by grounding our putters as the greens were like bunkers. The holes all over the green causing all sorts of bobbles and the fact we had to hammer every putt wasn't fun at all. It's another score card in which is the main thing so just want my handicap back before i go up north. Was 5 over front 9 with 4 three putts which was rather annoying, then back nine had another 2 three putts but wasn't quite hitting the ball well enough either so carded a poor score. Was no run at all as course was very wet so tough conditions overall, guy carded a nett 62 which is very good for yesterdays play!
23-04-2013, 04:05 PM
Complete pish on Saturday. Going to try again tomorrow night. Hope this wind Foocks off.
24-04-2013, 02:36 PM
Out 40 In 40 = 80 at Alyth last Friday. Came 2nd of 16. Won a nearest the pin, and captained a 4-ball to win the Texas in the afternoon round.
Prize haul:
Voucher
Brolly
Polo-shirt
Bottle of Port
Bottle of Wine
Shot 75 on Sunday on our wee course (11 pars and 7 bogeys).
Might head out for a few holes later tonight ahead of this weekend's 36 holes. (edit - now just 18! Booooooooo!)
24-04-2013, 04:28 PM
Good day at the office for me today in howling winds.
Started birdie, par, par, birdie, birdie, par followed up with 6 pars, a birdie and 5 bogeys for a gross 73, net 69. Best I have played in a long time and a few of the bogeys were just down to getting tired and rustiness after the lay off. Looking forward to getting out for a medal on Saturday now.
24-04-2013, 04:37 PM
Im a pussy and I didnt go today. :dummytit: Sat and Sunday guaranteed. :rolleyes:
25-04-2013, 07:45 PM
Played Turnhouse this afternoon in that lovely wind and rain. Played awful. Canny wait for a round of golf with the sun belting doon on me.
25-04-2013, 08:24 PM
I'm playing absolutely brutal just now but can't blame the course. Got a new head greenkeeper at liberton and greens are as good as they've been for a couple of years already!! Can't wait to see what they're like in the summer!!
30-04-2013, 11:34 PM
Played poor earlier, but it's the 3rd card in at least so will get handicap back.
Heading up to Nairn on Thursday and went to put my name in for the Saturday medal but entry is now closed as of 6 hours ago. Loads of spaces left and 4 days until the competition yet i can't put my name in, really frustrating!
01-05-2013, 06:52 AM
Played on Saturday and it was a nightmare.
Started par par but there was a three ball about 4 groups in front of us who's slow play was chronic. Started rushing things because of all the hanging about and ended up with a gross 83, net 79.
4 and a half hours for a medal round is a joke!
01-05-2013, 08:05 AM
Played poor earlier, but it's the 3rd card in at least so will get handicap back.
Heading up to Nairn on Thursday and went to put my name in for the Saturday medal but entry is now closed as of 6 hours ago. Loads of spaces left and 4 days until the competition yet i can't put my name in, really frustrating!
That sounds crazy Fraser!
It might be worth a phone call to the Pro shop/Secretary. I'd play the daft laddie role and see what they say. In these troubled times for Golf Clubs they've got to be as flexible as possible.
The more golfers/competitors that they can attract then all the better ------------ I'd say!
01-05-2013, 12:15 PM
That sounds crazy Fraser!
It might be worth a phone call to the Pro shop/Secretary. I'd play the daft laddie role and see what they say. In these troubled times for Golf Clubs they've got to be as flexible as possible.
The more golfers/competitors that they can attract then all the better ------------ I'd say!
Yeah just after i posted this i decided to email the secretary and she returned the email this morning saying she has given me a time early afternoon, really glad as it was the main reason i am heading up this weekend. She said it's because this medal is one of the ones where they do a draw for each hour slot, hence the early closing date to allow time for the draw a few days in advance.
But all is good now, and got time for a practice round on Friday to get used to the greens etc. :thumbsup:
04-05-2013, 07:56 PM
Ive played two medal rounds so far. Ive pulled out another three. Ive gone from 8.3 to 8.5 and my mojo has not returned. I cannot get into it at all. This weather has a lot to answer for. Dont want to practice and that is not like me. Have not hit a practice shot all year. :boo hoo:
04-05-2013, 08:20 PM
Wow today was tough! Wind was killer all the way round. 2nd hole is normally driver pitching wedge, today I hit a good driver then 4 iron and only just made it. Doubt anyone made the 5th (par 4) in 2, i smashed a driver then 3 wood and was still 100 yards short. :eek:
Hit the ball really really well most of the way round, but the wind made it very difficult. However it was the putter that let me down, putting was dreadful must have had 7 or 8 three putts.
SS was 76 when i left which is 4 over par! Despite the poor score I am just really pleased with how I hit the ball, most drives and iron play was great.
06-05-2013, 09:23 AM
An absolutely beautiful net 66 at the weekend in tough condition.
Everything finally seemed to click and can't wait to get out and practice again which is the first time in a long time. 4 single putts as well was nice.
06-05-2013, 05:00 PM
100 Balls at the range today. need a lie doon.:greengrin
06-05-2013, 05:36 PM
I had a game off the medal tees at Dunbar today. I had 15 pars, 1 birdie and 1 bogey -------------- and an unexpected out of bounds at the 7th hole where I didn't even think there was any need to hit a provisional ball off the tee. It was only a bounce game but delighted with the way I played -------- for a change!
Things are looking up, well at least until the next time I play.
Godsahibby
07-05-2013, 02:46 PM
Great weekend of golf for me, was lucky enough to get asked to play Castle Stuart on Saturday and was at Royal Dornoch on Sunday. First time I've played Castle Stuart and my golf aside I loved the track, some stunning holes, hard to pick a favorite because they all stood out, 2 of the par 3's in particular, 4 and 11 I think were pretty special.
Only problem with playing courses like that is it really gives you the bug to get out playing and unfortunately when you get out down here the courses just don't compare!
07-05-2013, 02:54 PM
Yesterday again i was playing quite well but not scoring great. My drives were great most of them all hit far down the fairway. Iron play wasn't quite as good, pulled them a bit. Putting was poor again though, really need to sort that out. 13th bogey, 14th birdie, 15th bogey, 16th birdie (not far off eagle), 17th bogey (3 putted from 15 feet), 18th double bogey. That's pretty much how i'm playing, way too many 3 putts or just missing greens with approach shots.
More i play more consistent my shots will get. Lot of work needed with the putter but hopefully in a few weeks will start shooting some decent scores.
Great weekend of golf for me, was lucky enough to get asked to play Castle Stuart on Saturday and was at Royal Dornoch on Sunday. First time I've played Castle Stuart and my golf aside I loved the track, some stunning holes, hard to pick a favorite because they all stood out, 2 of the par 3's in particular, 4 and 11 I think were pretty special.
Only problem with playing courses like that is it really gives you the bug to get out playing and unfortunately when you get out down here the courses just don't compare!
Royal Dornoch is a stunning course. Never played Castle Stuart but walked round twice during the Scottish Opens. Where i live we get a discount to play it so need to take that up sometime.
07-05-2013, 03:18 PM
Jealous, extremely jealous!
I was up at the Scottish Open two years ago and got the impression that Castle Stuart was definitely playable for the handicap golfer. It wasn't too long and the fairways were generous albeit the course did have its fair share of challenges.
I used to play Royal Dornoch in their week of golf which is held in August. I think the competition was the Carnegie Shield and at the time you were guaranteed at least 3 rounds of golf for £20 which represented fantastic value for money.
They're two great courses without a doubt.
Godsahibby
07-05-2013, 03:19 PM
Yesterday again i was playing quite well but not scoring great. My drives were great most of them all hit far down the fairway. Iron play wasn't quite as good, pulled them a bit. Putting was poor again though, really need to sort that out. 13th bogey, 14th birdie, 15th bogey, 16th birdie (not far off eagle), 17th bogey (3 putted from 15 feet), 18th double bogey. That's pretty much how i'm playing, way too many 3 putts or just missing greens with approach shots.
More i play more consistent my shots will get. Lot of work needed with the putter but hopefully in a few weeks will start shooting some decent scores.
Royal Dornoch is a stunning course. Never played Castle Stuart but walked round twice during the Scottish Opens. Where i live we get a discount to play it so need to take that up sometime.
I'm fortunate to be able to get to play Dornoch quite a lot, friends live up there so get up quite a few weekends through out the year. I was also lucky to play Castle Stuart for nothing don't think I would of at £175 for the round. If you get a decent discount you should get yourself on there.
Godsahibby
07-05-2013, 03:26 PM
Jealous, extremely jealous!
I was up at the Scottish Open two years ago and got the impression that Castle Stuart was definitely playable for the handicap golfer. It wasn't too long and the fairways were generous albeit the course did have its fair share of challenges.
I used to play Royal Dornoch in their week of golf which is held in August. I think the competition was the Carnegie Shield and at the time you were guaranteed at least 3 rounds of golf for £20 which represented fantastic value for money.
They're two great courses without a doubt.
The shield week up there is quality, never actually played in it but been up. Always a great atmosphere and the course is normally set up to be at its best then. There is also a team tournament up there, it was on this weekend called the Burghfield, an open competition on the Saturday for teams of 3 and an Open medal on the Sunday, you get to play in both for about £50.
07-05-2013, 04:57 PM
I'm fortunate to be able to get to play Dornoch quite a lot, friends live up there so get up quite a few weekends through out the year. I was also lucky to play Castle Stuart for nothing don't think I would of at £175 for the round. If you get a decent discount you should get yourself on there.
Yeah i would never pay the full amount. There is 3 times set aside a day for people from surrounding areas, it is £200 for a 4 ball so it's basically £50 for a round for me which is fantastic and well worth it.
07-05-2013, 05:26 PM
Another 50 baws today. Another lie doon required. :greengrin
07-05-2013, 07:20 PM
Another 50 baws today. Another lie doon required. :greengrin
Just had the first of three lessons, fek me I didn't realise how "full" my half swing was :)
08-05-2013, 04:47 PM
Just had the first of three lessons, fek me I didn't realise how "full" my half swing was :)
My new job is in Bishopbriggs. There is a driving range round the corner (ish). It's the first one I have used that as full length mirrors in every second bay. A great tool but frightning to be honest. :greengrin
08-05-2013, 06:54 PM
My new job is in Bishopbriggs. There is a driving range round the corner (ish). It's the first one I have used that as full length mirrors in every second bay. A great tool but frightning to be honest. :greengrin
A video lesson is the real eye opener. My so called swing resembled some sort of demented octopus. Not a thing of beauty but it's all about getting the ball in the hole and not necessarily how you do it.
09-05-2013, 05:18 AM
A video lesson is the real eye opener. My so called swing resembled some sort of demented octopus. Not a thing of beauty but it's all about getting the ball in the hole and not necessarily how you do it.
Had that before GB. What you are actually doing bears no resemblance to what you think you are doing. Well worth the investment though.
09-05-2013, 07:06 AM
Agree with the video lesson.
I remember being genuinely shocked by how mmuch I stood up during my backswing and how hard I was fighting to get back into position. After a 10 minute analysis I was shown a few excercises and and practice drills and my game improved beyond recognition.
Godsahibby
09-05-2013, 01:03 PM
First midweek evening round of the year tonight. Playing Baberton, hopefully the rain stays off!
09-05-2013, 02:44 PM
1st competitive round last night in 4ball better ball and my partner and I won 5 and 4, hitting the ball well and putting nicely but can't hit a wee chip for love nor money.
1st tie on Saturday so Friday night is about finding a wee chip shot or learning to bump and run
09-05-2013, 08:00 PM
1st competitive round last night in 4ball better ball and my partner and I won 5 and 4, hitting the ball well and putting nicely but can't hit a wee chip for love nor money.
1st tie on Saturday so Friday night is about finding a wee chip shot or learning to bump and run
Ball back in a slightly open stance. Almost played like a putt but more wristy. Never fails. Strike ball first every time "attack" the ball (dinnae be feart) Will roll a fair bit
so allow when picking that target on the green. Practice makes perfect. :cb
09-05-2013, 08:02 PM
Another 50 today. Will maybe do 100 tomorrow or 50 plus nine holes. West Lothian Golf Club on Saturday in The Linlithgowshire Spring handicap event. Bring it on!!!!! :cb
Godsahibby
10-05-2013, 08:13 AM
Best I've played in a long time last night, only played 9 in the end but gutted. I hate playing well gives you the urge to get out more and more. That false sense belief that you might have finally mastered the game for it all to fall apart the next time the sticks come out!
10-05-2013, 10:13 AM
A 36-holer Sunday (I hate derbies anyway!) and charity thing at Scotscraig next Friday..
10-05-2013, 12:34 PM
Best I've played in a long time last night, only played 9 in the end but gutted. I hate playing well gives you the urge to get out more and more. That false sense belief that you might have finally mastered the game for it all to fall apart the next time the sticks come out!
I wouldn't worry about that. Golf being the game it is will soon bring you back down to earth with a severe jolt!
It must be the most humbling game there is and the only certainty is that no one will ever play the perfect round of golf.
10-05-2013, 12:37 PM
A 36-holer Sunday (I hate derbies anyway!) and charity thing at Scotscraig next Friday..
One of my favourite golf courses and the hospitality has always been first class. I'm sure you will make every effort to enjoy yourself.
10-05-2013, 01:34 PM
One of my favourite golf courses and the hospitality has always been first class. I'm sure you will make every effort to enjoy yourself.
Last played it last August and the greens were very poor. Large hollow cores and sandy .. hoping for better next week :cb
10-05-2013, 04:38 PM
Last played it last August and the greens were very poor. Large hollow cores and sandy .. hoping for better next week :cb
Seems to be a common theme - especially on inland courses these days. Up until the last couple of days, the greens on my home course resembled Ryvita, but hey presto, all of a sudden they've improved dramatically so the poor quality of the greens is no longer a valid excuse for "indifferent" scoring.
10-05-2013, 09:20 PM
Went up today and there was 3 guys on the 2nd tee, 4 ball on 2nd fairway and 4 ball on 2nd green (fairly short par 4!) and another 4 ball was not far off the 3rd tee. Saw that and thought sack it so went and did some practicing. Hit irons well on the whole but chipping is needing worked on almost as much as my putting!
11-05-2013, 03:27 PM
Big of improvement today. Felt a bit more in control of things. Still didn't score but its coming. Need to find an open tomorrow. Anyone played Kirkcaldy (Balwearie) lately?
PerthHibby
12-05-2013, 06:36 AM
Off to Turkey today, pasha x2 sultan x2 and sueno pines, Happy days!:greengrin
Only downside missing the championship qualifier, in good shape to after 1st round.
Couple of Jambos going so praying for a result today.:flag: would make for an enjoyable flight:agree:
12-05-2013, 09:16 AM
Only downside missing the championship qualifier, in good shape to after 1st round.
Couple of Jambos going so praying for a result today.:flag: would make for an enjoyable flight:agree:
16 turnhouse guys off there today as well
KanyeWestLower
13-05-2013, 02:53 PM
Has anyone ever traded in clubs at American Golf? If so is it good value etc?
Looking for some money to be put toward a new driver. Also any recommendations for a driver suitable for a high handicapper?
13-05-2013, 03:05 PM
Looking for some money to be put toward a new driver. Also any recommendations for a driver suitable for a high handicapper?
You would be better trying to sell them on gumtree, although they may cut you a deal for a trade in, if you don't ask you don't get ;) As for drivers ask them for advice and they'll let you try a few if you go to one with a range.
13-05-2013, 05:14 PM
You'll probably get mixed opinions on that one.
The golf market is saturated with second hand clubs at the moment so they're probably not in a position to offer much in the way of a trade in regardless of the club(s) involved. However on the other hand something is better than nothing so if you can't find a private buyer then at least it's worth considering.
As for the new driver, then I'm a regular customer of the AGD at the Braids and I know that they have a fair selection of second hand drivers for sale at the moment. You're always better to try before you buy so I suggest you have a look through their second hand selection, choose a few that takes your eye and then ask the staff if you can take them out on to the range to try out. If you find one that suits then you can opt to buy the new version from the store.
I've always found the staff quite reasonable to deal with so good luck.
14-05-2013, 05:44 AM
I traded In my Taylor Made R7TP driver about 6months back and expected about £30 to be the offer (it was well used as was bought when it first came out) at £30 I was probably gonna keep it in case of anything happening to or a fall out with the new driver, got to my shock a £60 offer and said aye
As for a new club for you, as said above try a few out Cobra always seem to be a brand that suit higher handicaps but I couldn't hit them at all, I bought the Titleist 910 which has been awesome, I really would recommend getting an adjustable one as it can grow with you should your swing change, also the Nike machspeed is a belter available at some very good prices so have a wee look at that
14-05-2013, 08:21 AM
Bassa! Well jeal .. where you staying? Turnhouse mob (including the Radge are at Cornelia Diamond)
14-05-2013, 08:23 AM
I traded In my Taylor Made R7TP driver about 6months back and expected about £30 to be the offer (it was well used as was bought when it first came out) at £30 I was probably gonna keep it in case of anything happening to or a fall out with the new driver, got to my shock a £60 offer and said aye
As for a new club for you, as said above try a few out Cobra always seem to be a brand that suit higher handicaps but I couldn't hit them at all, I bought the Titleist 910 which has been awesome, I really would recommend getting an adjustable one as it can grow with you should your swing change, also the Nike machspeed is a belter available at some very good prices so have a wee look at that
Feels great in the mitt but I've not hit one. I use a square-headed Callaway FTi number so the Machspeed is easy on my eye.
I need to trade up .. driver is 6/7 years old as are the irons - Wilson Di6s. So, off to a Cleveland demo session this Saturday :cb
14-05-2013, 11:39 AM
The lad I play with has the machspeed TQM agree it looks and feels good but hits really well too with a cracking sound and I'd say longer than my Titleist, not hit it adjusted to my preference either
KanyeWestLower
14-05-2013, 02:34 PM
Thanks for all the info guys.
17-05-2013, 05:31 PM
Going by the weather forecast, it looks like we'll get soaked to the breek erse tomorrow so yet another point 1 beckons.
18-05-2013, 04:42 PM
Playing a tri am this morning, we were 9 under after 13 and I had an eagle putt on the 14th when the horn sounded!! Soaked to the skin for fek all :(
Was hitting the ball well though :)
18-05-2013, 07:30 PM
Droont!:boo hoo:
19-05-2013, 06:09 PM
Seriously thinking about giving the game up. Cannot break 90 for the life of me. Lucky to break 100 today. :boo hoo:
20-05-2013, 03:00 PM
Seriously thinking about giving the game up. Cannot break 90 for the life of me. Lucky to break 100 today. :boo hoo:
Hang in there mate, it'll come back.
I'm toiling from 3W to 7I off the deck. Hit the odd good one but mainly left, low and pish - so defo off plane and not following through the ball! Off the tee is fine, 8I - SW fine and putting well. Bought a lesson and will see the pro in 2 weeks.
21-05-2013, 12:21 PM
Unsurprisingly, the USGA and R&A have confirmed/upheld the ruling that anchored putting strokes will be banned from 2016 :thumbsup:
21-05-2013, 12:44 PM
Unsurprisingly, the USGA and R&A have confirmed/upheld the ruling that anchored putting strokes will be banned from 2016 :thumbsup:
But will the US tour players comply with the ruling? The European tour have already stated that their players will abide with the decision so there could be interesting times ahead.
21-05-2013, 01:38 PM
But will the US tour players comply with the ruling? The European tour have already stated that their players will abide with the decision so there could be interesting times ahead.
They could have their own tour - I wish them well with that :greengrin
21-05-2013, 01:44 PM
They could have their own tour - I wish them well with that :greengrin
Just think we could have the tedium of watching Keegan Bradley v Keegan Bradley v Keegan Bradley v Keegan Bradley v Keegan Bradley v Keegan Bradley ----------- every week. Jeez that will be exciting viewing!
21-05-2013, 02:45 PM
Off to Wentworth on Friday for the second day of the BMW Championship. Quite looking forward to it as it's not a course i've ever been to.
22-05-2013, 06:31 AM
Off to Wentworth on Friday for the second day of the BMW Championship. Quite looking forward to it as it's not a course i've ever been to.
Always said you were a bandit :cb
22-05-2013, 09:53 AM
Always said you were a bandit :cb
He's on bunker duty :wink:
23-05-2013, 07:05 AM
Shotts today. Linlithgowshire Seniors. Not looking forward to it at all. I'm obviously the junior senior.
EDIT- Thats the 90 broken for the first time this year. Conditions horrendous for most of the time.
23-05-2013, 10:46 PM
Shotts today. Linlithgowshire Seniors. Not looking forward to it at all. I'm obviously the junior senior.
EDIT- Thats the 90 broken for the first time this year. Conditions horrendous for most of the time.
Played yesterday in a fierce wind .. we had 60mph at times I am sure. Lashing rain at times too! Still in the buffer - so cannae grumble!
First tie of the season tomorrow night .. expecting the worst. He bt me 5+4 last year and that's was him giving me 3 shots.. this year it is just 1! :cb
PerthHibby
24-05-2013, 07:15 AM
Bassa! Well jeal .. where you staying? Turnhouse mob (including the Radge are at Cornelia Diamond)
Stayed at the Sirene Palace, previous twice stayed at the Diamond, Sirene not as good but the chance to play the sultan twice made up for that.
Courses were in great nick, weather not as hot as before, perfect for golf, plenty food and drink, roll on next year....
Looking at a different hotel for next year so any feedback would be great.
Medal tomorrow not playing Sunday got something else on:wink::flag:
24-05-2013, 11:06 AM
Stayed at the Sirene Palace, previous twice stayed at the Diamond, Sirene not as good but the chance to play the sultan twice made up for that.
Courses were in great nick, weather not as hot as before, perfect for golf, plenty food and drink, roll on next year....
Looking at a different hotel for next year so any feedback would be great.
Medal tomorrow not playing Sunday got something else on:wink::flag:
Only stayed at the Sirene - we did Pasha, Sultan, Carya and Lykia Links last year.
We plan to return in 2015 - to the Sirene - for 2x Pasha, 2x Sultan and optional game at Carya :thumbsup:
24-05-2013, 04:41 PM
If we by any chance we win the holy grail on Sunday, then I think it's only right and proper that the gowfers on here should mark the momentous occasion with a wee golf excursion to this place.
http://www.hiberniangolf.com/index.html
24-05-2013, 04:49 PM
If we by any chance we win the holy grail on Sunday, then I think it's only right and proper that the gowfers on here should mark the momentous occasion with a wee golf excursion to this place.
http://www.hiberniangolf.com/index.html
Fantastic!
:-)
25-05-2013, 07:07 PM
Bit better this week for me
Singles tie midweek went well won 7 of the 1st 9 holes to be 5 up at the turn and that was enough for my opponent to concede.
Medal today started badly - 7 5 8!!! 7 start but then recovered well to make buffer
Promising
30-05-2013, 08:28 AM
+1 for 14 holes* last night .. burned the edge of the hole for a hat-trick of birdies (something I have never done!) :cb
* Was all I had time for as had the wee man to pick up.
Just 36 holes Saturday and 18 Sunday this weekend :greengrin
Mon the gowf! :thumbsup:
03-06-2013, 12:26 PM
Just got 36 holes at the weekend - two net 65s, and a 3rd and 2nd places! I was leading both 'til late afternoon :grr:
Still sweepie winnings r us! :cb
04-06-2013, 09:00 AM
Played a tie last week and manged to lose 3&2 to a 24 handicapper!
Obviously he was getting a few shots but simple fact is he deserved to win, just caget the my game sorted out at all.
05-06-2013, 09:06 PM
I've just finished an epic fourball club knockout tie which we eventually triumphed at the 10th extra hole! We teed off at 1:30 and finished at 7:15. Survival of the fittest or wot?!!
06-06-2013, 09:10 PM
I've just finished an epic fourball club knockout tie which we eventually triumphed at the 10th extra hole! We teed off at 1:30 and finished at 7:15. Survival of the fittest or wot?!!
Ha! An epic battle John, and well done in getting there in the end! Who were you playing?
Our fourball campaign only lasted the one round this season, a defeat on Friday night and as a result confidence was not high going into the next day`s first round of Championship Qualifying. Was pleasantly surprised then to find myself -2 at the turn before parring round to 14 where another birdie putt dropped to move to -3. Unfortunately shots were then spilled at 15 (over cautious with approach pulled left and not getting up and down), 16 (bunkered right then not getting up and down) and 18 (pushed right and hampered by tree with a hack out only option). Disappointed to drop 3 shots on way home, but 70 - 4 for nett 66 was pretty pleasing for first medal round of season. Down to 3.1 so happy with that.
Have a singles tie this Friday where I give my opponent 14 shots, so with the favourable weather and course dry and running it could be a tough night. A game off the medal tees anyway before Saturday`s 2nd round of Championship Qualifying. Don`t you just love this time of year with the light nights, courses in great shape and plenty golf to play? :agree:
08-06-2013, 06:13 AM
First round if championship this morning, I've came down 0.9 in my last two rounds. More of the same please :)
08-06-2013, 05:09 PM
Got into golf recently. Bought a cheapish set and been playing a few rounds at my local 9 hole course for some practice.
Compared to you guys I am probably terrible but I am getting better and better each time. Pulling off some really nice shots but there is the occasional blunder. I've always been okay with irons, it was mainly my drives and putting but they have come on leaps and bounds. Want to try out some more courses though!
Par - 35
Rd 1 - 54
Rd 2 - 50
Rd 3 - 50
Rd 4 - 50
Rd 5 - 48
Rd 6 - 45
Not great I know but I'm getting better, theres progress almost every time and I'm loving playing. Feel like I could go all day.
08-06-2013, 05:33 PM
Got into golf recently. Bought a cheapish set and been playing a few rounds at my local 9 hole course for some practice.
Compared to you guys I am probably terrible but I am getting better and better each time. Pulling off some really nice shots but there is the occasional blunder. I've always been okay with irons, it was mainly my drives and putting but they have come on leaps and bounds. Want to try out some more courses though!
Par - 35
Rd 1 - 54
Rd 2 - 50
Rd 3 - 50
Rd 4 - 50
Rd 5 - 48
Rd 6 - 45
Not great I know but I'm getting better, theres progress almost every time and I'm loving playing. Feel like I could go all day.
Good for you - practice makes perfection or so I'm told!
Enjoyment should be the name of the game and the great thing about golf is that every single round you play will always be different. You can be driven to the depths of despair one day then up in the clouds with elation the next round you play. The game offers the eternal challenge and there lies the magic.
08-06-2013, 06:35 PM
Good for you - practice makes perfection or so I'm told!
Enjoyment should be the name of the game and the great thing about golf is that every single round you play will always be different. You can be driven to the depths of despair one day then up in the clouds with elation the next round you play. The game offers the eternal challenge and there lies the magic.
And what keeps you going back for more :)
09-06-2013, 10:44 AM
Had a singles tie on Friday and got emptied on the last. Had to give away 14 shots and his nett eagle on the 18th wrapped things up. Fared better yesterday in 2nd round of championship qualifying shooting 72. Started with four straight bogies which was far from ideal but settled down and managed to claw a couple of shots back. Made the qualifying and point one off the handicap so happy with the day's work.
09-06-2013, 05:27 PM
Had a singles tie on Friday and got emptied on the last. Had to give away 14 shots and his nett eagle on the 18th wrapped things up. Fared better yesterday in 2nd round of championship qualifying shooting 72. Started with four straight bogies which was far from ideal but settled down and managed to claw a couple of shots back. Made the qualifying and point one off the handicap so happy with the day's work.
So I guess we'll be having an all Hibby final this year Dave!
10-06-2013, 06:57 AM
Decent weekend for me. My mojo is definately back. :greengrin
10-06-2013, 09:27 AM
Par - 35
Rd 1 - 54
Rd 2 - 50
Rd 3 - 50
Rd 4 - 50
Rd 5 - 48
Rd 6 - 45
Good for you my man! Keep at it.
To assist here is a link to my golf guru - his videos help when a part of my game needs work - http://www.rickardstrongert.com/
10-06-2013, 11:29 AM
Decent weekend for me. My mojo is definately back. :greengrin
So you're the bassa that took it from me!!!
12-06-2013, 05:26 PM
I played in an open Tournament today and without a word of a lie I had 17 x 2 inch putts! The only hole I missed was at a par 3 where I managed to slam in a mammoth 4 footer for a bogey!
This friggin game drives me nuts at times - I'm now on official suicide watch.
Godsahibby
12-06-2013, 07:43 PM
Being unemployed just now is letting me get a fair bit of golf in, been plaing a lot between Baberton and Kingsknowe however just been invited to play the Queens Course up at Gleaneagles tomorrow. First for me up there, any advice?
13-06-2013, 07:40 AM
Being unemployed just now is letting me get a fair bit of golf in, been plaing a lot between Baberton and Kingsknowe however just been invited to play the Queens Course up at Gleaneagles tomorrow. First for me up there, any advice?
Nice course - it's not as 'stuffy' a place as one might imagine. You'll have a ball.
13-06-2013, 04:29 PM
Any pay as you play courses in Midlothian where you can just turn up without having to book prior? Full 18s not 9 holes please :greengrin
Godsahibby
13-06-2013, 05:03 PM
Nice course - it's not as 'stuffy' a place as one might imagine. You'll have a ball.
A ball would be an understatement, great day out, course in great nick and helped by me hitting the ball pretty well.
14-06-2013, 08:48 PM
Wee update. Same course.
Hit a 40 the other day which isn't too bad! Got even better though today, over playing the 9 twice ended up only 3 over. First 9 hit 37 and 36 second time around. Absolutely delighted with that. Need to play some other courses though and see how I go, I've really learned the 9 hole course well over the past few weeks.
17-06-2013, 08:04 AM
Net +2 yesterday .. cannot hole a decent putt! I'm struggling to put any decent run together - best yesterday was a run of three pars (all scrambled). Taking next weekend aff to clear ma heid of the rubbish!
17-06-2013, 12:13 PM
Played in an Open Tournament at Dunbar on Saturday and missed the buffer by one but got cut by point 2 over my home course yesterday.
The wee bassa is on his way back.
17-06-2013, 02:39 PM
Missed out on the club championships, but made it through to the internal clubs knockout stages with a decent first round. My laddie made it all the way to the final where he came across a player too strong for him (7 less of a handicap) , great experience for him though!!
18-06-2013, 03:02 PM
Played in an Open Tournament at Dunbar on Saturday and missed the buffer by one but got cut by point 2 over my home course yesterday.
The wee bassa is on his way back.
I plumped for Mouse Valley as it us a whole lot closer for me. Big mistake. Poor greens didn't help but an absolute beast in those conditions on Saturday. Particular the front nine.
19-06-2013, 04:57 AM
Missed out on the club championships, but made it through to the internal clubs knockout stages with a decent first round. My laddie made it all the way to the final where he came across a player too strong for him (7 less of a handicap) , great experience for him though!!
Royaly humped last night, last throw of the dice tonight in the 4th round of the clubs foursomes. If the swing stays the same I think I'll admit defeat and go back to bowling next year :(
26-06-2013, 02:20 PM
Nearly. So very nearly today.
01-07-2013, 08:24 PM
Had a good day on the course yesterday, and pleased to say that the Scratch Cup at The Peebles Open can be placed in the Hibs.Net trophy cabinet.
A double bogey at the second, a bogey at the 7th then a birdie at the 9th before what was to be an eventful back nine.. From there in I went par, birdie, par, birdie, quintuple bogey!!!, birdie, birdie, par, birdie. At the 14th I was too steery off the tee into the strong crosswind and as a result made two bad swings with two tee shots disappearing into a heavy plantation right with a painful 9 being carded. Pleased to recover from that and finish like I did, signing for a 72 ensuring a win on the bih and a handy voucher for £100.
Hopefully the Hibs.Net golfers can add more to the trophy cabinet as the season goes on :cb
02-07-2013, 08:16 AM
Good news/common sense prevails - http://www.bunkered.co.uk/index.php?cID=2073 :thumbsup:
03-07-2013, 09:03 AM
4 down at the turn Monday night, and wins on 18 :thumbsup:
I am gonna murder the course soon! Mon the Big Man! :cb
08-07-2013, 05:19 PM
I played in an Open Tournament at THE ROXBURGHE (near Kelso) today in absolutely baking conditions. The course itself was in first class condition and I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
Unfortunately the standard of my golf was not in keeping with the surroundings and I shot an eight over par 80 (40 for each half with nothing higher than a five on my card.) I'm striking the ball solidly but going through a phase where I've lost the art of scoring.
It's so bloody frustrating!!
08-07-2013, 06:21 PM
I played in an Open Tournament at THE ROXBURGHE (near Kelso) today in absolutely baking conditions. The course itself was in first class condition and I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
Unfortunately the standard of my golf was not in keeping with the surroundings and I shot an eight over par 80 (40 for each half with nothing higher than a five on my card.) I'm striking the ball solidly but going through a phase where I've lost the art of scoring.
It's so bloody frustrating!!
The Roxburghe is a great track. I usually play their duffers open but missed it due to my daughters graduation ceremony.
Mini tour coming up this week. Castle Park tomorrow. Harburn Medal Wed. Colville Park Thursday. Harburn both days at weekend and. Lanark next Wednesday.
PerthHibby
08-07-2013, 08:17 PM
Played Spey Valley and Boat of Garten at the weekend, used the bunkered voucher for Spey valley so a decent weekends golf for a bargin price.
Both courses were superb, Boat of Garten being the better of the two in my opinion.
Runner up both days :rolleyes:
Looking forward to muirfield next week.......Jason Day for me To lift the claret jug, would love Grant Forrest to win silver medal.
08-07-2013, 08:33 PM
Played at the weekend and my scoring was as follows (i swear i'm not making this up!)
5 bogey
4 bogey
9 +5
4 par
3 birdie
3 par
4 birdie
4 par
4 par
2 birdie
4 par
4 par
4 par
5 par
3 birdie
4 par
4 par
3 birdie
Imagine that score without the absolute craziness of the first 3 holes. The 3rd was a particular highlight. Sliced my drive out of bounds, sliced my 2nd attempt out of bounds, duffed the 3rd one about 150 yards, 3 wood to just short of the green, chip on and 2 putts.
****ing stupid game.
09-07-2013, 07:14 PM
Today 11 times (once with a 9 iron and the rest with a wedge of sorts) in perfect conditions I was faced with short shots into greens. I hit the grand total of 2!!!! Two par threes. 6 iron and 7 iron no problem!!!! Hate this game.
11-07-2013, 08:05 AM
It was the 1st round of our Club Championship last night and I managed to record a 4 & 3 victory. Onwards to tonight where my next opponent is the reigning champion - tough game in prospect without a doubt.
12-07-2013, 07:43 AM
It was the 1st round of our Club Championship last night and I managed to record a 4 & 3 victory. Onwards to tonight where my next opponent is the reigning champion - tough game in prospect without a doubt.
Ah well ----------- gubbed 5/4 last night. :boo hoo: A good performance by the defending champion , he was 4 under for the holes played.
It's a case of roll on the start of the fitba season now.
20-07-2013, 04:27 PM
While im here, slight update on my progress.
Played two full rounds at Broomieknowe Golf Course the other week, so difficult!
It's a par 69 and I hit 93 first time round and 87 the next. Was fairly happy with those scores considering it was my first time playing on 'proper' course. The 9 hole course I normally go to is pretty tight and good for beginners so it's a bit easier there.
Took a step back for a week or so and have played more rounds at the 9 hole course, got gradually worse. Hit 57,54,43 and 51. Not playing as good as I was a few weeks back. Gotta take the good with the bad though!
Went to Kings Acre today and hit 82. Was fairly happy with that, got some new irons and they feel so much better. Onwards and upwards :thumbsup:
29-07-2013, 10:31 PM
4 down at the turn Monday night, and wins on 18 :thumbsup:
I am gonna murder the course soon! Mon the Big Man! :cb
I've done just that .. recent scores include net 59, 61, 65 and 71 - and cut from 10.6 to 7.2 (now 7.3) in the process :thumbsup:
First of 3QFs tomorrow pm, another Thursday night and then next Tuesday night .. MON THE TQM! :jmcp:
09-08-2013, 08:54 PM
Played at the big course at Dalmahoy today. What a disappointment. I remember years ago Dalmahoy was a great course. Now tons of bare patches, bumpy greens, tons of GUR. What a waste of a great course.
Anyone with twitter has to go on read Lee Westwoods meltdown, he's taking on the world!!
12-02-2014, 08:39 AM
Right so I shot a +6 yesterday, which I am absolutely chuffed with. Best ever round. Just everything went right. Really hope I can get similar next time I'm on, won't be for a week or so though :rolleyes: