View Full Version : Match Updates Weekend football

05-01-2013, 10:34 AM
Can anyone tell me what side the games are on today ? Thought i'd seen it advertised the other day, but cant see any listings for it . Thanks in advance !!

05-01-2013, 10:42 AM
Fa cup games on itv. Not sure if this applies in Scotland.

05-01-2013, 10:45 AM
Cheers mate

05-01-2013, 10:46 AM
Fa cup games on itv. Not sure if this applies in Scotland.

Sky channel 973 or go to add channels to get ITV HD.

05-01-2013, 10:48 AM
What i dont know is what time do games kick off?

05-01-2013, 10:52 AM
Newcastle game 12 noon programme starts. Man Utd after 5pm. Both on ITV Engerland

05-01-2013, 10:59 AM
Newcastle game 12 noon programme starts. Man Utd after 5pm. Both on ITV Engerland

Cheers glad Newcastle is now as should be the better game and i cant watch later one.

TheReg!
05-01-2013, 11:17 AM
As the SPL closed for winter shut down:crazy:, The 3rd round of the FA Cup, probably the best day of the year for football(down south anyway). Some potential upsets on the cards today, here is my top 3.

Peterborough v Norwich - Peterborough win
Crawley v Reading - Crawley win
Brighton v Newcastle Draw/Brighton win.

Any others that I have missed?:flag:

05-01-2013, 11:34 AM
If i'm honest, i think this break has come just at the right time for us? Yes we have just taken 4 points from 2 very difficult fixtures, but our squad is very thin and some are coming back from long lay offs, and others like Cairney seem to have run out of steam.

Cairney is playing his first season in the SPL, and after starting off like a house on fire has looked recently like he's running on empty.

Clancy and McPake along with Deegan will be happy to have this break imo, it will give them a couple of weeks to tune their body without the stress of a couple of games.

Of course i could be wrong, but i feel they need this rest, and hopefully will come back stronger after it?

05-01-2013, 11:37 AM
If i was putting bets on today then both teams to score in fa cup should be good, always lots of goals.

05-01-2013, 11:44 AM
As the SPL closed for winter shut down:crazy:, The 3rd round of the FA Cup, probably the best day of the year for football(down south anyway). Some potential upsets on the cards today, here is my top 3.

Peterborough v Norwich - Peterborough win
Crawley v Reading - Crawley win
Brighton v Newcastle Draw/Brighton win.

Any others that I have missed?:flag:

Aye, you never hear the English bleating on about winter shutdowns, or the rugby fraternity and before someone says it, there is not much difference in the weather between Central Scotland and the North of England. Today highlights how difficult it is to predict the weather in this country.

05-01-2013, 11:58 AM
If i'm honest, i think this break has come just at the right time for us? Yes we have just taken 4 points from 2 very difficult fixtures, but our squad is very thin and some are coming back from long lay offs, and others like Cairney seem to have run out of steam.

Cairney is playing his first season in the SPL, and after starting off like a house on fire has looked recently like he's running on empty.

Clancy and McPake along with Deegan will be happy to have this break imo, it will give them a couple of weeks to tune their body without the stress of a couple of games.

Of course i could be wrong, but i feel they need this rest, and hopefully will come back stronger after it?

agreed.

also feel it will help Pat focus on the transfers, so he can prepare us best as possible depending on who we can keep or try to sign.

05-01-2013, 12:07 PM
Is MOTD only being shown down south tonight? Can't see it on the tv guide.

Stenny
05-01-2013, 12:11 PM

Not tonight, MOTD is only EPL games. ITV have the FA Cup goals at 11pm

05-01-2013, 12:11 PM

The Cup is with ITV this year. There's no MOTD.

Try ITV London and the likes.

05-01-2013, 12:13 PM

Not sure they gave the rights to the FA cup mate, its on ITV. Newcastle game on now and Man U game on later on, ITV London channel 853 virgin for anyone that wants to know

05-01-2013, 12:39 PM
How poor do Newcastle look, that Sami Ameobi looks utter gash

05-01-2013, 12:43 PM

After running ourselves into the ground against Celtic we looked a bit fatigued against Hearts. 4 fixtures in.quick succession with a squad as thin as our was always going to have that effect. A couple of weeks off to recharge the batteries will do no harm at all.

05-01-2013, 12:45 PM
How poor do Newcastle look, that Sami Ameobi looks utter gash

They have the cheek to call the FA cup the best cup tournament in the world, yet most EPL clubs put out severely weakened sides?

Maybe 10-15 years ago it was, but they do not take this trophy serious now until the 1/4 finals at best?

05-01-2013, 12:47 PM
They have the cheek to call the FA cup the best cup tournament in the world, yet most EPL clubs put out severely weakened sides?

Maybe 10-15 years ago it was, but they do not take this trophy serious now until the 1/4 finals at best?

Do u recon there will be many shocks today? Can see a couple of prem teams struggling

05-01-2013, 12:49 PM
Do u recon there will be many shocks today? Can see a couple of prem teams struggling

Looks like there could be one in the 1st game, Newcastle 1-0 down and Ameobi just been sent off with 28 minutes to go?

05-01-2013, 12:50 PM
Brighton Hove Albion 1-0 Newcastle and Ameobi has just been sent off :greengrin

05-01-2013, 12:50 PM
Toon doon to 10 men, Shola Ameobi sent off 2nd booking

TheReg!
05-01-2013, 12:51 PM
Ameobi sent off, Brighton player went down like he was shot:rolleyes: My treble is still good to go!:aok:

05-01-2013, 12:51 PM

Are all these Newcastle changes forced due to injury or has he just dropped people who were fit?

05-01-2013, 12:53 PM
Ameobi sent off, Brighton player went down like he was shot:rolleyes: My treble is still good to go!:aok:

I think Norwich and Reading will win mate :wink:

05-01-2013, 12:53 PM
That was poor from the Brighton player. Ameobi barely touched him and he went rolling about and had a sneaky peak at the ref during the tumbling act.

Ref fell for it hook, line and sinker aswell.

Newcastle look rank though, as they did against Everton.

05-01-2013, 12:54 PM
Are all these Newcastle changes forced due to injury or has he just dropped people who were fit?

I dont know for certain, only switched it on after 5 or 10 minutes of the start? I'd imagine its a bit of both, they'd be very unlucky to have all them players out injured at the same time?

05-01-2013, 12:55 PM
Think Mike Ashley is regretting the 8 year contract he gave to Pardew.

05-01-2013, 12:56 PM
Think Mike Ashley is regretting the 8 year contract he gave to Pardew.

It was never an 8 year contract, it can be terminated with a years salary at anytime if my memory is correct?

05-01-2013, 01:06 PM
I dont know for certain, only switched it on after 5 or 10 minutes of the start? I'd imagine its a bit of both, they'd be very unlucky to have all them players out injured at the same time?

I am sure I heared the comentator say earlier that they have a full starting 11 out injured???? If so thats crazily unlucky

Nice touch from the PA announcer, announced the attendance and acknowledged the Newcastle attendance number and thanked all for their support.

BTW that Ranger looks pish aswell, wernt we linked with him on loan at one point?

05-01-2013, 01:08 PM
Not sure they gave the rights to the FA cup mate, its on ITV. Newcastle game on now and Man U game on later on, ITV London channel 853 virgin for anyone that wants to know

Cheers guys, thought it was the BBC who had the rights for the FA Cup.

05-01-2013, 01:14 PM
Game over 2-0 Brighton.

05-01-2013, 01:19 PM
Is Newcastle's new right back playing? Matthieu Debuchy. The French international they signed from Lille.

05-01-2013, 01:19 PM
I wondered why there was so many women watching football these days, and Jim Beglin has explained why.

Apparently one of the Brighton players had a little lob on, i'd imagine folk would tune in to see that?

05-01-2013, 01:25 PM
I wondered why there was so many women watching football these days, and Jim Beglin has explained why.

Apparently one of the Brighton players had a little lob on, i'd imagine folk would tune in to see that?

Hope he doesnt get hit with the baw, now that would be sare

Hanny
05-01-2013, 01:26 PM
Is Newcastle's new right back playing? Matthieu Debuchy. The French international they signed from Lille.

Nope.

Newcastle United

21 Elliot
03 Santon
06 Williamson
14 Perch (Dummett - 46' )
34 Tavernier
08 Anita
20 Bigirimana
25 Obertan (Marveaux - 71' )
39 Abeid Booked (Ranger - 46' )
23 Sh Ameobi Dismissed after an earlier booking
28 Sa Ameobi

Substitutes

01 Krul
31 Ferguson
36 Dummett
17 Amalfitano
22 Marveaux
30 Ranger
49 Campbell

Teuchter Hibbie
05-01-2013, 01:29 PM
Game finished, Gordon Smith on the telly...:giruy:

05-01-2013, 01:31 PM
Nope.

Newcastle United

21 Elliot
03 Santon
06 Williamson
14 Perch (Dummett - 46' )
34 Tavernier
08 Anita
20 Bigirimana
25 Obertan (Marveaux - 71' )
39 Abeid Booked (Ranger - 46' )
23 Sh Ameobi Dismissed after an earlier booking
28 Sa Ameobi

Substitutes

01 Krul
31 Ferguson
36 Dummett
17 Amalfitano
22 Marveaux
30 Ranger
49 Campbell

That looks weak. Looks as if its their reserves. Is that Dummett not the guy who was on loan at St Mirren? I'm pretty sure it is.

Hanny
05-01-2013, 01:35 PM
That looks weak. Looks as if its their reserves. Is that Dummett not the guy who was on loan at St Mirren? I'm pretty sure it is.

It is.

Dummett joined Scottish Premier League club St. Mirren on 31 August 2012 for another loan deal.[4][5] Dummett scored one of the St Mirren goals in a 4–3 victory against Dundee United in December 2012.[6] After returning from his loan spell at St Mirren, Dummett made his début appearance for Newcastle in an FA Cup tie away to Brighton and Hove Albion on 5 January 2013.

hibeequinn
05-01-2013, 02:25 PM
zemamma has scored for Boro and Chelsea are getting beat 1-0

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

05-01-2013, 02:28 PM
Tevez puts Citey 1 up

SJNB Hibby
05-01-2013, 02:32 PM
Villa losing at home to Ipswich-they must be losing patience with Lambert. Lose this and he better at least win the League Cup

hibeequinn
05-01-2013, 02:33 PM
spurs up 2-0

05-01-2013, 02:35 PM
spurs up 2-0

John McDonald with the 2nd.

hibeequinn
05-01-2013, 02:37 PM
3 now Dempsey

05-01-2013, 02:38 PM
Villa losing at home to Ipswich-they must be losing patience with Lambert. Lose this and he better at least win the League Cup

Think you're probably right but it shows how bonkers the game has got when a manager can be under pressure half way through his first season, especially when he took over a struggling team, it's not like he's taken over a team at the top of the league but struggling with them.

hibeequinn
05-01-2013, 02:39 PM
demba ba scores on his debut

hibeequinn
05-01-2013, 02:47 PM
Andy little sent off for sevco

05-01-2013, 02:54 PM
John McDonald with the 2nd.

Oh very good!!.... One for a certain vintage :greengrin

plhibs
05-01-2013, 03:00 PM
Andy little sent off for sevco

Live scores say its Harkins of Elgin sent off. Makes more sense it not correct to send THEM off.

05-01-2013, 03:06 PM
Wolves getting beaten by Luton, could probably do without them losing in case they punt their manager and stalls and deal for us getting Griffiths

hibeequinn
05-01-2013, 03:06 PM
yeah just seen that on live scores, said on sky sports news that it was little.

05-01-2013, 03:29 PM
Zoomer gets his 2nd for Boro but 3-1 now.

05-01-2013, 03:38 PM
Fulham equalise. WBA ahead against QPR.

05-01-2013, 03:45 PM
Heh Heh

Elgin equalise against Rangers.

05-01-2013, 03:47 PM
Sean Welsh sent off. 2nd yellow card.

05-01-2013, 03:51 PM
(https://twitter.com/bbcsportsound) GOAL! Rangers 1 Elgin 1 (Neil Alexander Og 87) #bbcsportsound (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23bbcsportsound&src=hash)

:hahaha: Would love to know what happened..

plhibs
05-01-2013, 03:52 PM
Heh Heh

Elgin equalise against Rangers.

Oh dear cant have that. Is there enough time to give THEM A PENALTY.:rolleyes:

05-01-2013, 03:58 PM
GJP weaving his magic at Forrest. :faf:

05-01-2013, 03:59 PM
For those without Sky/Virgin you can watch the FA cup game live online at http://www.itv.com/sport/football/fa-cup/match/west-ham-man-utd-3578665/ .

05-01-2013, 04:02 PM
Wolves losing might be a bad result for us, their manager might be out the door tonight?

05-01-2013, 04:32 PM
Fran sandaza an unused sub in a home draw vs Elgin

How's the career going Francisco?

05-01-2013, 04:36 PM
West Ham 0-1 Manchester Utd

Cleverley.

05-01-2013, 04:41 PM
West Ham 1-1 Manchester Utd

Collins.

05-01-2013, 05:37 PM
West Ham 2-1 Man. Utd.

Collins.

05-01-2013, 06:07 PM
FT 2-2

Van Persie rescues Utd in the 90th min.

05-01-2013, 06:08 PM
What a pass from giggs. Think even the makers name was the right way up when it landed at van persies feet

05-01-2013, 06:17 PM
Like them or loathe them, you have to say that United's ability to rescue matches which look like going against them is quite incredible.

05-01-2013, 07:05 PM
A tackle against Ian Black, Elgin expected a yellow and went ballistic when the red was shown.

I was just about to say........they're surely geting desperate - Eric Black's about 60!:greengrin

05-01-2013, 07:39 PM
RVP for £24 million is a steal. What control and finish

06-01-2013, 02:49 PM
Mansfield v Liverpool at 4pm today.

I don't normally support Liverpool, but in this case I'm prepared to make an exception.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMGXNpEu7MQ

06-01-2013, 03:42 PM
The Swansea Arsenal game was great.. I'd love to see Hibs involved in a good football match one day, not sure it will ever happen though...

06-01-2013, 03:42 PM
FA cup draw

Norwich v Luton Town
Oldham Athletic v Mansfield/Liverpool
Macclesfield Town v Wigan/Bournemouth
Derby County v Blackburn Rovers
Hull City/Leyton Orient v Barnsley
Middlesbrough v Aldershot Town
Millwall v Aston Villa
Leeds United/Birmingham City v Tottenham
Brighton v Swansea/Arsenal
Crystal Palace/Stoke v Man City
West Ham/Man Utd v Fulham/Blackpool
Southend United/Brentford v Chelsea
Reading v Sheffield United
Huddersfield Town v Leicester City
QPR/West Brom v Sheffield Wednesday/MK Dons
Bolton/Sunderland v Cheltenham/Everton

06-01-2013, 03:45 PM
The Swansea Arsenal game was great.. I'd love to see Hibs involved in a good football match one day, not sure it will ever happen though...

I have seen a few good games this season, you would need to meet them half way though, and get yourself down to easter road.

06-01-2013, 03:47 PM
FA cup draw

Norwich
Liverpool
Wigan
Derby County
Hull City
Middlesbrough
Aston Villa
Tottenham
Arsenal
Man City
Man Utd
Chelsea
Sheffield United
Huddersfield Town
West Brom
Everton

Will all go through :agree:

06-01-2013, 03:48 PM
The Real Madrid vs Sociedad game has been fantastic so far at HT.

Currently 2-2.

06-01-2013, 03:55 PM
Will all go through :agree:

You never know. Anything can happen in the FA Cup. It's unpredictable.

06-01-2013, 03:56 PM
Cray Wanderers 0 Hendon 1

Stoppage time winner by Belal Aite-Ouakrim

06-01-2013, 04:20 PM
Despicable cheating by Suarez yet again.

DarrenSQH
06-01-2013, 04:24 PM
Diego Suarez!

06-01-2013, 04:26 PM

I canny stand him but he was trying to pull his hand out the way, nowt he could do.

06-01-2013, 04:28 PM
10 man Real Madrid 4-2 Real Sociedad

06-01-2013, 04:34 PM
I canny stand him but he was trying to pull his hand out the way, nowt he could do.

Really? Tried to pull his hand out of the way & succeeded only in putting his hand exactly in the way. I know it's too much to expect any footballers to own up, let alone a serial cheat like Suarez, but it was as clear an example of cheating as you see likely to see.

06-01-2013, 04:38 PM
Really? Tried to pull his hand out of the way & succeeded only in putting his hand exactly in the way. I know it's too much to expect any footballers to own up, let alone a serial cheat like Suarez, but it was as clear an example of cheating as you see likely to see.

Ok, so what is he meant to do? The ball hit his hand after bouncing off keeper. You saying he should miss? Pick ball up and say ref stop the game im a cheat cos hit my hand? Should he be sent to jail too?

06-01-2013, 04:41 PM
I think the biggest talking point is how well the chairman has done for himself with the chief exc.

06-01-2013, 04:45 PM
I think the biggest talking point is how well the chairman has done for himself with the chief exc.

:greengrin Amazing what money can do.

06-01-2013, 04:45 PM

We can agree on that one :-)

06-01-2013, 04:56 PM
:greengrin Amazing what money can do.

Absolutely. :greengrin

06-01-2013, 04:58 PM
Ok, so what is he meant to do? The ball hit his hand after bouncing off keeper. You saying he should miss? Pick ball up and say ref stop the game im a cheat cos hit my hand? Should he be sent to jail too?

The fact he kisses the hand and shows little empathy for Mansfield tells us all we need to know about him. He is in fact a cheat.

06-01-2013, 05:03 PM
Thought Mansfield were terrific second half and must be galling given the second goal. How has the linesman not seen that? Quite incredible.

06-01-2013, 05:28 PM

06-01-2013, 05:32 PM

Whats he done now? Got on the bus and put full beam on....

06-01-2013, 05:33 PM
The fact he kisses the hand

Does that every time he scores does he not?

06-01-2013, 05:35 PM
Barca 4-0 up after half an hour, nice to see Pedro getting a couple.

06-01-2013, 05:36 PM
Barca showing how it's done again. Four up after half an hour against Espanyol in their derby.

06-01-2013, 05:44 PM
Whats he done now? Got on the bus and put full beam on....

:greengrin No idea how that post happened - I was eating my tea at 6.30pm and phone was in another room :confused:

06-01-2013, 06:33 PM
The fact he kisses the hand and shows little empathy for Mansfield tells us all we need to know about him. He is in fact a cheat.

His regular goalscoring celebration, surprised you haven't seen it before given the amount of goals he has already scored this season!

06-01-2013, 06:47 PM
Barca are murder. A full hour without a goal.
If you want entertainment in Barca then go to the cinema.

06-01-2013, 06:48 PM
Barca showing how it's done again. Four up after half an hour against Espanyol in their derby.

If that happened in Scotland, people would question what Espanyol were playing at.

06-01-2013, 07:13 PM
Was Tomer Hemed thats playing up front for Mallorca tonight linked to Hibs on here in the past?

06-01-2013, 07:25 PM
Does that every time he scores does he not?

His regular goalscoring celebration, surprised you haven't seen it before given the amount of goals he has already scored this season!
Sorry that's part of the point I was making about him. You would think he wouldn't have after the way he scored if it wasn't deliberate hand ball. He seems quite happy to cheat.

06-01-2013, 07:31 PM
Sorry that's part of the point I was making about him. You would think he wouldn't have after the way he scored if it wasn't deliberate hand ball. He seems quite happy to cheat.

Strikers put the ball into the net anyway they can and act like they do whenever they score, up to the officials after that. Of course the fact that it was Suarez on this occasion makes it a hanging offence in some people's eyes.

06-01-2013, 07:33 PM
Strikers put the ball into the net anyway they can and act like they do whenever they score, up to the officials after that. Of course the fact that it was Suarez on this occasion makes it a hanging offence in some people's eyes.
Disagree. He lashed it into the net expecting it to be pulled back for the handball. He then does all the hand kissing when its allowed. Classless cheat.

06-01-2013, 07:35 PM
Disagree. He lashed it into the net expecting it to be pulled back for the handball. He then does all the hand kissing when its allowed. Classless cheat.

06-01-2013, 07:38 PM

Watch it again without the red specs on. It really isnt that funny. :rolleyes:

06-01-2013, 07:39 PM

It wasn't "ball played man" as you suggest IMO, rather the ball was knocked up into the path of Suarez who then, quite deliberately IMO, used his right hand to direct the ball goalwards. It ultimately crossed the goal line from his handball when he then crossed the goalline and kicked the ball against the back of the net!

He cheated IMO but if the match officials don't spot it, he's never going to own up to it now is he?!

Felt sorry for the non leaguers who really deserved a replay and a "big money" payday!

Agree about the Chairman and the CEO views expressed on here. He's defo punching way above his weight there!!

06-01-2013, 07:44 PM
Watch it again without the red specs on. It really isnt that funny. :rolleyes:

Strikers scores goal with hand.................so what it happens, sometimes for you and sometimes against you that's the beauty of the game. Sometimes defenders prevent goals deliberately with their hands and get away with it ala Stephane Henchoz in FA cup final was one of my all time favourites, where as Maradonna's wasn't one I liked but hey ho no-one died. :greengrin

Red specs CANNOT be removed sorry.

06-01-2013, 07:57 PM
It wasn't "ball played man" as you suggest IMO, rather the ball was knocked up into the path of Suarez who then, quite deliberately IMO, used his right hand to direct the ball goalwards. It ultimately crossed the goal line from his handball when he then crossed the goalline and kicked the ball against the back of the net!

He cheated IMO but if the match officials don't spot it, he's never going to own up to it now is he?!

Felt sorry for the non leaguers who really deserved a replay and a "big money" payday!

Agree about the Chairman and the CEO views expressed on here. He's defo punching way above his weight there!!

Ref and lino are to blame for not giving it.

If leigh had won a derby with the same handball would you make as much fuss?

06-01-2013, 08:01 PM

If leigh had won a derby with the same handball would you make as much fuss?If a Manure player had done it you'd be claiming it was an absolute disgrace. :agree:

06-01-2013, 08:04 PM

If leigh had won a derby with the same handball would you make as much fuss?

What fuss "did I make" then?

Simply described the lead up to the goal as it unfolded recognising that the match officials ultimately decide what is a goal and what is not!

However, they were wrong IMO but nothing can be done about that now!

Suarez is a cheat though as he clearly demonstrated again today!

06-01-2013, 08:20 PM
If a Manure player had done it you'd be claiming it was an absolute disgrace. :agree:

Im not saying it wasnt handball but its ref who should be giving it.

Players cheat every week hope they are all going to be discussed in the same way?

06-01-2013, 08:23 PM

Players cheat every week hope they are all going to be discussed in the same way?but you wouldnae be arguing the toss if it was a Manure player, you'd still be slating him. :wink: :agree:

07-01-2013, 02:53 PM
http://i49.tinypic.com/29fzedw.gif

07-01-2013, 02:57 PM
http://i49.tinypic.com/29fzedw.gif

Dive.

07-01-2013, 03:01 PM

off-topic a bit(infact...totally off-topic actually:faf:) did you get a new fridge freezer in december :greengrin

07-01-2013, 03:24 PM
off-topic a bit(infact...totally off-topic actually:faf:) did you get a new fridge freezer in december :greengrin

Eh? No, why did a scouser get done for nicking one?

07-01-2013, 04:58 PM
Eh? No, why did a scouser get done for nicking one?

nah, it's only hub-caps scousers chorie :faf: , nah i was looking at a fridge freezer on the john lewis internet site and the only review was by a scouse hibee on the 18th dec just past :confused: you've maybe got doppleganger :wink:

07-01-2013, 05:41 PM
nah, it's only hub-caps scousers chorie :faf: , nah i was looking at a fridge freezer on the john lewis internet site and the only review was by a scouse hibee on the 18th dec just past :confused: you've maybe got doppleganger :wink:

Okay now that I've confirmed you're not stalking me, I'll admit it was me :greengrin

I can't think why I used the scouse hibee tag on the JL site though! I must have .net on the brain..........................the fridge freezer is great by the way :thumbsup:

07-01-2013, 07:41 PM
Okay now that I've confirmed you're not stalking me, I'll admit it was me :greengrin

I can't think why I used the scouse hibee tag on the JL site though! I must have .net on the brain..........................the fridge freezer is great by the way :thumbsup:

some other reviewer said never to trust a scousers reviews :confused:

:greengrin nah, i ended up getting one from curry's/pc world instead :thumbsup:

07-01-2013, 07:48 PM

Players cheat every week hope they are all going to be discussed in the same way?

IIRC there is a framed and celebrated photograph in the Hibs Club of Joe Baker clearly cheating!
Just saying like.
:duck:

07-01-2013, 10:05 PM
Maradona scored a good goal once with his hand. :wink: