View Full Version : Happy 40th anniversary, 0-7

Johnny Clash
31-12-2012, 02:22 PM
40 YEARS OF HURT

No matter what... Jambos just can't deal with the fact we pumped them seven nil on their turf!

So they can sing about their 'wee score' all they like on the 3rd but it will be our end that will be bouncing to the echo of SEVEN NIL!
Can't wait!

31-12-2012, 02:28 PM
I've said it on numerous occasions to my yam mates. The Hibs teams that won 7-0 & 6-2 could easily thrash the yams team that won 5-1. FACT.

31-12-2012, 02:31 PM
Agree
Beating them 0-7 on their own ground is the ultimate.
dunno why they think beating us by 4 goals at a neutral stadium in a touney we are cursed in makes them all moist.

0-7 ya bunch o bankrupted doughnuts.Never to be beaten.

Ps We where the first Edinburgh team to win the Scottish cup.

31-12-2012, 02:41 PM
We moan about them going on about 1-5 now we never stop going on about 0-7. All in the past now.

31-12-2012, 03:32 PM
I was there in 1973. Remember it like yesterday.

If they are to have a 51st minute clap in we could have one in 07th minute, 70th minute and throw in 62 minute for good luck. Oh and a 10 minute one too. 1 -0.

My hands are gona be sore clapping!!!

31-12-2012, 04:07 PM
I would like to see how committed they are to a51st min clap if we go in 3up at the break and McGowan is injured

31-12-2012, 04:13 PM
I was there in 1973. Remember it like yesterday.

If they are to have a 51st minute clap in we could have one in 07th minute, 70th minute and throw in 62 minute for good luck. Oh and a 10 minute one too. 1 -0.

My hands are gona be sore clapping!!!

now thats a goos idea

Gerard
31-12-2012, 04:21 PM
40 YEARS OF HURT

No matter what... Jambos just can't deal with the fact we pumped them seven nil on their turf!

So they can sing about their 'wee score' all they like on the 3rd but it will be our end that will be bouncing to the echo of SEVEN NIL!
Can't wait!

There are some Yams/Jambos that will never recover. Slim Jim Jeffries is one that comes to mind. As a player he lost 7-0 and as a manager 6-2 to the Big Team. It is said that as a young player he was a cheerful man. Given these results he is the man he is now, never happy.
At this time of year we can afford to be kind to the unfortunates of our society and the Jambos fall into that category.
Happy New Year to all

31-12-2012, 04:22 PM
All together now.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iteRKvRKFA

Seven, seven nothing, seven nothing on new years day seven nothing for the Hibees...repeat as many times you want...

0-7

:not worth:not worth:not worth

31-12-2012, 04:24 PM
Why no sing 7-0 7-0 7-0

Yiz only won 5-1 yiz only won 5-1

We only won 7-0 we only won 7-0

Happy birthday 7-0 happy birthday 7-0 happy birthday 7-0

and then straight into the greatest game in history

Lets noise these barstewards up big time

Allez Allez Allez oh

andy1875
31-12-2012, 04:29 PM
Seen as they don't have a scoreboard, big teams don't have these don't ya know, the 51st minute clap or 15th minute clap would rely heavily on the yams being able to tell the time.

Sounds simple but lads, most Yams I know are all thick halfwits.

You might get the odd one but most will be wondering why the loner is clapping....it's five past, na its 10 past, na na na it's quarter to!!! Hahaha....

Bring on Thursday, ONE CITY, ONE TEAM, THEY'LL ALWAYS WEAR GREEN, WALACE MERCER WAS RIGHT LONG AGO!

31-12-2012, 05:17 PM
Whilst 0-7 is a magnificent memory I find it is now somewhat diminished in terms of bragging rights by 1-5 in the biggest derby game since the cup final at Powderhall in 18whatever.

Sorry but I would take a Scottish Cup win, especially over them, before anything else. By all means celebrate a historical anniversary but lets not be too triumphalist about a game that happened before many posters on this forum were even born.

31-12-2012, 06:46 PM
There are some Yams/Jambos that will never recover. Slim Jim Jeffries is one that comes to mind. As a player he lost 7-0 and as a manager 6-2 to the Big Team. It is said that as a young player he was a cheerful man. Given these results he is the man he is now, never happy.
At this time of year we can afford to be kind to the unfortunates of our society and the Jambos fall into that category.
Happy New Year to all

:agree: Wasn't slim Jim the unfortunate manager on the end of a 1-5 defeat to us in a cup final in 2007 as well?

Johnny Clash
31-12-2012, 06:48 PM
Thing is... It wasn't just the emphatic scoreline - it was the way we achieved it - devastating - pure Hibs Class.

It was a victory that's emortslised the Hibs team and produced a DVD, a book, songs, t-shirts ... etc because it was such an achievement. Personally I don't think their result in May hurts us more. As brutal as it was, but their team of highly paid mercenaries had no class. We were awful that day and a dodgy referee sealed the deal.

Their players will be forgotten by their own supporters in five years time .

So 40 years on.... Seven nil remains the greatest game in history!!!!

HNA10
31-12-2012, 11:24 PM

31-12-2012, 11:31 PM
Happy birthday 0-7 :flag:

31-12-2012, 11:51 PM

Wish there was a LIKE button on this Hibs Net thingy.

31-12-2012, 11:55 PM
Wish there was a LIKE button on this Hibs Net thingy.http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hibs.net%2Fshowthread .php%3F253718-Happy-40th

01-01-2013, 12:04 AM
http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hibs.net%2Fshowthread .php%3F253718-Happy-40th

It's my 40th on 5th Jan

My dad wanted to call me Alan Gordon Jardine but my mum wanted Owen Gordon Jardine.

God Bless Alan Gordon - he will always be remembered by the Hibees family!

01-01-2013, 12:26 AM
I was there - and I've got reliable witnesses to prove it!

01-01-2013, 12:35 AM
They might have scored five, they cannae score six and they'll never score seven in a row.

Happy New Year and a happy 40th to Good Guys in Green around the world

01-01-2013, 12:58 AM
2013 and still fills me with pride.

Happy 40th one and all :thumbsup:

garys
01-01-2013, 01:00 AM
:-D

01-01-2013, 01:08 AM
My first son born 13/03/07. Second 07/08/12.

Its in the DNA ;) lol

01-01-2013, 01:12 AM

Hexham Hibee
01-01-2013, 01:22 AM
They came from South Morocco......

...WentToMowAnSPL
01-01-2013, 01:26 AM
And they played in the USA

davhibby
01-01-2013, 01:29 AM
But the greatest game in history

...WentToMowAnSPL
01-01-2013, 01:31 AM
My first son born 13/03/07. Second 07/08/12.

Its in the DNA ;) lol

My first son was born 18/10/2000 was on my knee when we won 6-2

...WentToMowAnSPL
01-01-2013, 01:31 AM
Was a game on New Year's Day

Hibs07p
01-01-2013, 01:32 AM
Was the game on new years day.

vahibbie
01-01-2013, 01:37 AM
Was it really 40 years ago....fk me.
What a day it was :thumbsup:. remember the game but not got a clue how I got back to Granton.

Hibs07p
01-01-2013, 01:40 AM
Happy 40th for all of us.

Nice little ditty in the EEN forums, below.

When the hearts,
go bust,
and Tynie turns to rust,
We'll be there.......

drifter533814
01-01-2013, 01:52 AM
They scored 5 but 5 will never be 6 let alone 7 happy 40th everyone

01-01-2013, 02:58 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWK7ySmMjBc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWK7ySmMjBc)

enjoy.

01-01-2013, 04:28 AM
Missed that one by a day as I was in Avonmouth on a ship. Gonna miss this one as I get into Embra on the 3rd and even me, in my heartless Hibby blood pump, could not spend my first night at home after missing Christmas and New Year with the family by going to the fitba. I will however be sitting on the couch with the wee flippy up bit up with a glass of a particularly good but yet to be decided malt in my hand. A glass will be raised after work today to celebrate a magnificent achievement.

Glory Glory.

01-01-2013, 05:04 AM
Thing is... It wasn't just the emphatic scoreline - it was the way we achieved it - devastating - pure Hibs Class.

It was a victory that's emortslised the Hibs team and produced a DVD, a book, songs, t-shirts ... etc because it was such an achievement. Personally I don't think their result in May hurts us more. As brutal as it was, but their team of highly paid mercenaries had no class. We were awful that day and a dodgy referee sealed the deal.

Their players will be forgotten by their own supporters in five years time .

So 40 years on.... Seven nil remains the greatest game in history!!!!

In a nutshell.

They seem to think their achievements on hire-purchase dwarf this game. However, everything about that team and that game especially was pure.

A lot of what Hearts have achieved over the last 30 years has been tainted, purchased or made possible by spending what they don't have. The exact opposite of the tornadoes and that game.

They're not superior, they're just a club who's priorities have been wrong for a long time. Look at their infrastructure!

They are a shell of the club they once were. In every respect.

Fergos
01-01-2013, 08:01 AM
It was 40 years ago today
Eddie Turnbull taught the boys to play
The Hibees were always in style
And they were guaranteed to raise a smile
So let me introduce to you
The Team you've known for all these years....
Eddie Turnbulls 7 nil Hibs club baaaannnndddddd

GGTTH and Happy New Year.

01-01-2013, 08:15 AM
I was only 14 and wasn't allowed to go to Tynie at that age with just my mates :confused: still remember being peed off when I heard the score.

01-01-2013, 08:55 AM
I went to the game with my dad and jambo supporting uncles. My uncle had a hip flask and he said he'd have a nip for every jambo goal....:tee hee:
Also always wished it had only been 2 at halftime and 5 in the second half, as the stadium emptied somewhat at halftime due to the game being well and truly over.
Did have a wee chuckle at the hip flask staying in his pocket !

Hibs History
01-01-2013, 08:55 AM
The Hibernian Historical Trust are delighted to present a specially created piece by Ted Brack from his new book 'The Game on New Year's Day'.

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/index.php/blog/item/129-hearts-0-7-hibernian

A must read for any Hibs fan

Johnny Clash
01-01-2013, 09:34 AM
It was 40 years ago today
Eddie Turnbull taught the boys to play
The Hibees were always in style
And they were guaranteed to raise a smile
So let me introduce to you
The Team you've known for all these years....
Eddie Turnbulls 7 nil Hibs club baaaannnndddddd

GGTTH and Happy New Year.

Quality!!

andyf5
01-01-2013, 09:34 AM
All together now.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iteRKvRKFA

Seven, seven nothing, seven nothing on new years day seven nothing for the Hibees...repeat as many times you want...

0-7

:not worth:not worth:not worth

I was expecting this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bzt4r_IIKVM&feature=youtube_gdata_player

01-01-2013, 09:57 AM
I was there with my brother using complimentary tickets that we had been given by a Jambo friend. You could have Jambo friends in those days.

My favourite goals were the 6th because of that typical majestic run from Pat Stanton and the 7th because of the run from Erich Schaedler, who would have run through a brick wall, followed by a classic centre forward header from Alan Gordon.

The only downside on the day was that the pubs were shut and we couldn't celebrate by rubbing it in the noses of the Jambos regulars.

Without a doubt 'The Greatest Game in History'.

01-01-2013, 10:36 AM
The Hibernian Historical Trust are delighted to present a specially created piece by Ted Brack from his new book 'The Game on New Year's Day'.

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/index.php/blog/item/129-hearts-0-7-hibernian

Thanks for posting, great read!

01-01-2013, 10:50 AM
I was only 14 and wasn't allowed to go to Tynie at that age with just my mates :confused: still remember being peed off when I heard the score.

I was 13 and got to go!... :na na::na na:

01-01-2013, 10:55 AM

Thanks for that, top read !!

Hibs07p
01-01-2013, 11:03 AM
I was 13 and got to go!... :na na::na na:

Me too! :na na::na na:

Smiggy 7-0
01-01-2013, 11:04 AM
Was the game on new years day.

Yes it was, I was there and it was "THE GREATEST GAME IN HISTORY" and at a time when we feared nobody.

Hibs07p
01-01-2013, 11:11 AM
Yes it was, I was there and it was "THE GREATEST GAME IN HISTORY" and at a time when we feared nobody.

It wasn't a question, :greengrin, it was the next line in a sing song the Hibbie nation were having earlier this morning.

Smiggy 7-0
01-01-2013, 11:15 AM
It wasn't a question, :greengrin, it was the next line in a sing song the Hibbie nation were having earlier this morning.

Sorry, not fully awake yet

01-01-2013, 11:26 AM
Superb :thumbsup:. Particularly liked this bit, 'Have no sympathy for them. They'd have none for us. Go out and grind them into the dust. That's what they would do to you.'

RCNG
01-01-2013, 04:49 PM
Happy birthday to you

Happy birthday SEVEN ZERO

Happy birthday to you

Frank Moon
01-01-2013, 05:52 PM
I was there age nine with my Dad. He got tickets from a Jambo Policeman so we were in the main stand amongst them. Never forget an old bloke say to me as he left at half time, I hope your team take ten off them! My best childhood memory.

jon paul jones
01-01-2013, 06:20 PM
What a day! Gave my Jambo chums at work a wee look at my "Happy 0-7 anniversary card" today and their face was tripping. Got home and touched my east stand 007 seat hanging above the front door...... relaxing with the hair of the dog and about to play that DVD

Roll on Thursday night for the Leith San Siro Seven Zero

01-01-2013, 06:22 PM
Oh you may have won at Hampden
On the 19th of May
But the greatest game in history
Is still the one on New Years Day
7-0

02-01-2013, 12:36 AM
They scored 5 but 5 will never be 6 let alone 7 happy 40th everyone

They have scored 8 before in league match. And 10 in a friendly.

StevieT
02-01-2013, 09:35 AM
Jim Herriot
John Brownlie
Erich Schaedler
Pat Stanton
Jim Black
John Blackley
Alex Edwards
Jimmy O'Rourke
Alan Gordon
Alex Cropley
Arthur Duncan

You gave their boys a hell of a beating and I was there to see it. Thank you.

Technofob
02-01-2013, 10:06 AM
I went to the game with my dad and jambo supporting uncles. My uncle had a hip flask and he said he'd have a nip for every jambo goal....:tee hee:
Also always wished it had only been 2 at halftime and 5 in the second half, as the stadium emptied somewhat at halftime due to the game being well and truly over.
Did have a wee chuckle at the hip flask staying in his pocket !

Ha...was speaking to a jamtard on Hogmanay who was there that great day (my words,not his:greengrin) who said the same thing- nip after every goal - but they soon changed it to a nip out their hip flask at every corner!!!!!!

BTW he spent his winter fuel allowance on shares!!:rolleyes:

02-01-2013, 06:29 PM
Happy Birthday 7v0 Hail Hail

ShadesLongThrow
02-01-2013, 07:26 PM
Been reading for a long time but decided to post for first time. I went to the game aged 10 with my dad and his mates. I have 3 memories from the day. The first was the great smell of cigars wafting across the terracing which I soon realised was the norm in the West Stand at ER. The second memory was one of my dad's mates fainting and all the others waving white hankies to attract the St John's Ambulance men. Finally I recall their keeper wearing all black - surely a premonition! Don't remember a thing about any of the goals unfortunately!

Stanton1972
02-01-2013, 08:27 PM
Jim Herriot
John Brownlie
Erich Schaedler
Pat Stanton
Jim Black
John Blackley
Alex Edwards
Jimmy O'Rourke
Alan Gordon
Alex Cropley
Arthur Duncan

You gave their boys a hell of a beating and I was there to see it. Thank you.

Hey you forgot the Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill bit :greengrin:thumbsup:

03-01-2013, 04:48 AM
They have scored 8 before in league match. And 10 in a friendly.

Without reply and at Easter Road?

...as the man said.