View Full Version : NHC: Only an Excuse

31-12-2012, 05:30 PM
Murder. Just noticed that this is on tonight. How can this still be put on when it's no been good since 1995? Brutal.

31-12-2012, 05:35 PM
What was that guy called that was posted on here doing Scottish football impressions on YouTube again? Paul something? He was fantastic, would much rather watch him tbh.

31-12-2012, 05:35 PM
They think it is hilarious in Weegie-land. Nuff said.

31-12-2012, 05:37 PM
It's been rubbish for years. Actually was it ever good?

31-12-2012, 06:05 PM
Pish.

31-12-2012, 06:09 PM
Let me guess. Chic Young, Jimmy Calderwood, Frank "Where's the burds" McAveaney, Gordon Smith, Martin O'Neill. nothing bad about The Rangers or mention of the Old Rangers

Mark79
31-12-2012, 06:09 PM
Just posted the same on facebook to my mates. Im in tonight and thats what license fees go to??? WTF.

28 mins of old firm crap and 2 mins of random teams. The boy can only do about 2 decent impressions.

31-12-2012, 06:17 PM
What was that guy called that was posted on here doing Scottish football impressions on YouTube again? Paul something? He was fantastic, would much rather watch him tbh.

Was Paul Reid and Darren Farley. Worth a wee peek on You Tube.

Far superior to the Annual serving of pish from The Only an Excuse mob.

31-12-2012, 06:35 PM
Charles Green from first minute to last.

It WAS good. The live 1995 show is absolutely brilliant.

31-12-2012, 07:19 PM
It used to be hillarious.......when it was audio only. I still listen to the 1986 cassette "A Tale of Two Seasons" when they rip the piss out of Mexico '86 and the Souness revolution. Great memories!

ruthven_raiders
31-12-2012, 07:32 PM
Exactly why we are watching a DVD tonight lol

31-12-2012, 09:35 PM
Watson must be the worst impressionist in the country. Ah could dae better masel. It's only another excuse to crack duff gags about Rangers and Celtic.
Happy New year when it comes, am away tae ma bed.

31-12-2012, 10:19 PM
Watching it now.

Pure ****

31-12-2012, 10:19 PM
I think its been hilarious tonight.

First time I've watched since I was about 15 but I've really enjoyed it so far.

31-12-2012, 10:20 PM
Utter pish so far.

The Hearts one made laugh :greengrin

blaikie
31-12-2012, 10:23 PM
Same **** every year! Good Yorkshire accent though better than his Danny Lennon impression!

31-12-2012, 10:25 PM
Utter pish so far.

The Hearts one made laugh :greengrinIt's odd the number of people who complain about it being pish yet still watch it. :wink:

As bad as people who buy the daily bog roll and the hun the complain about the pish that is in them.

31-12-2012, 10:26 PM
Well that was terrible as usual :rolleyes:

31-12-2012, 10:27 PM
Well I enjoyed it :na na::na na:

31-12-2012, 10:28 PM
I thought it had a couple of funny moments to be fair, but that might just be the booze!

31-12-2012, 10:28 PM
only saw the last 10mins, i thought it was funny :)

sbell1875
31-12-2012, 10:30 PM
Better than I was expecting. Best episode in a number of years in my opinion.

jackie bird :drool: might just watch a wee bit more BBC

SurferRosa
I thought the Craig Levein bit was pretty funny..... " what is this [ 0-0 ]?....a great result ", " can you see him?....no, not at all.." :hilarious

31-12-2012, 10:31 PM
It's odd the number of people who complain about it being pish yet still watch it. :wink:

As bad as people who buy the daily bog roll and the hun the complain about the pish that is in them.

Sitting here in the ERI with no choice mate.

31-12-2012, 10:33 PM
I thought it was a big improvement on the last few years though not as good as it once was. Frankie boy is still good for a laugh even if the character is dated and most of the younger viewers probably don't even know who he is!

31-12-2012, 10:37 PM
Thought Charlie Nicholas was funny.

Tbf some of it was pish but in general it was funny

HibeeN
31-12-2012, 10:45 PM
I liked it. Think it's funny as long as you're not expecting too much :greengrin Charlie Nicholas and Craig Levein bits were good

31-12-2012, 11:33 PM
What grates on me is the way every Celtic gag is followed up by a Rangers one or vice versa so neither side can do their usual offended act.

31-12-2012, 11:41 PM
Soooo played out maaan...but the weegies love it....they can have it!

01-01-2013, 12:06 AM
Scottish media is shocking. Edinburgh hosts one of the worlds largest parties and we get 5 mins live from edinburgh and 30 mins from a studio in Glasgow! WTF!

01-01-2013, 12:27 AM

Pleasantly surprised.

Purple & Green
01-01-2013, 12:36 AM
I remember when it was cutting satire and wit. It's a sad parody of that now. I'll not waste half an hour of my life watching it again.

01-01-2013, 01:50 AM
Didnae bother to SKY+ it .. Seems to have been another wise decision. As stated, Paul Reid impersonations are far superior. I have PR booked for my golf club's smoker next June :thumbsup:

01-01-2013, 08:16 AM
A couple of quite funny bits Hearts one was good, the boy (not Watson) had the Hearts fans mannerisms down to a tee. That apart sheer dross, like it or not Hibs should have been ripped with the final and possibly Sparky also (number of kids?) but no attempt to do something contemporary. Some of the impressions simply awful, Salmond one for example. McAvennie a main character again, really :rolleyes:

Well past sell by date again.

01-01-2013, 08:21 AM
It was funnier this year, but still, the fm impression is a bit tired.

01-01-2013, 08:42 AM
Scottish media is shocking. Edinburgh hosts one of the worlds largest parties and we get 5 mins live from edinburgh and 30 mins from a studio in Glasgow! WTF!

But of course Glasgow is the big city, Edinburgh is just the wee city and must be kept in it's place :wink:

Although I can't stand Jackie Bird normally it's good to see her back from her illness though she still doesn't look well.

01-01-2013, 10:24 AM
The only funny bits were when he dd Alex Ferguson. The rest almost made me cringe.

yeezus.
01-01-2013, 10:27 AM
I enjoyed it. Got Chewin the fat recorded for my viewing pleasure today :greengrin

yeezus.
01-01-2013, 10:30 AM

But of course Glasgow is the big city, Edinburgh is just the wee city and must be kept in it's place :wink:

Although I can't stand Jackie Bird normally it's good to see her back from her illness though she still doesn't look well.

:agree: she looked good - not as good as Catriona Shearer but still :wink:

01-01-2013, 11:27 AM
The plug should have been pulled on it years ago. Watson's Sevco bias was evident throughout. His digs at Celtc, (as much as I love them being a target) were barbed rather than funny. Given the year Scottish fitba has had creating genuinely funny material should have been easy. Watson failed yet again.

01-01-2013, 11:30 AM
Didnae bother to SKY+ it .. Seems to have been another wise decision. As stated, Paul Reid impersonations are far superior. I have PR booked for my golf club's smoker next June :thumbsup:

Is that the guy who was on the Arabs hospitality team? If so he is miles better than Watson with much funnier gags. . He appeared in Only an Excuse years back and stole the show. He has never been seen again on it. I wonder why.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
01-01-2013, 12:03 PM
I thought the funniest sketch was the non-football one about square sausage. Says it all really !

01-01-2013, 12:15 PM

01-01-2013, 12:40 PM
I enjoyed it. Got Chewin the fat recorded for my viewing pleasure today :greengrin

Glutton for punishment? Try pulling your nails out with pliers, you'll probably laugh more!

01-01-2013, 12:47 PM
Really enjoyed it. Best it's been in a while. Being away from home probably plays it's part.

01-01-2013, 12:47 PM
I remember when it was cutting satire and wit. It's a sad parody of that now. I'll not waste half an hour of my life watching it again.

Probably a reflection of our new reality of mad Rangers fans firing out the death threats to anyone who dares question their view of reality...

DarrenSQH
01-01-2013, 12:52 PM
It's worse every year.

01-01-2013, 01:02 PM
Just watched it during the half time interval of the West Brom game, not worth missing 2 goals for imo. The sliced sausage sketch was mildly amusing, but that was about it for me.

shetlandhibee
01-01-2013, 02:07 PM
Usally i love it but it wisnae that funny this year i liked the wie levin and the hearts fans stealing the post box but dont know why they focused on craig brown so much was kind of funny though:-)

yeezus.
01-01-2013, 02:21 PM
Glutton for punishment? Try pulling your nails out with pliers, you'll probably laugh more!

:aok: I got a similar reply when I suggested that watching Morrissey live in Edinburgh would be a good idea.

01-01-2013, 02:23 PM
The programme is absolutely rubbish now. Nothing like what it used to be. Just a comedy show for the supporters of the ugly sisters.

01-01-2013, 03:07 PM
thought that was the best OAE for quite a few years. a fair few dodgy impressions but some pretty funny sketches. the independence vote one had me laughing.

...WentToMowAnSPL
01-01-2013, 04:04 PM
thought that was the best OAE for quite a few years. a fair few dodgy impressions but some pretty funny sketches. the independence vote one had me laughing.

Agreed ! Sliced sausage genius :-)

01-01-2013, 04:38 PM
:aok: I got a similar reply when I suggested that watching Morrissey live in Edinburgh would be a good idea.

Perfectly understandable viewpoint IMHO.

plhibs
01-01-2013, 05:42 PM
Just found it on You Tube, it was really bad, cant believe i used to find it funny years ago. Until reading this thread i honestly thought it had been pulled many years ago,

01-01-2013, 06:27 PM
Sad to see this garbage still getting a prime time slot on Hogmanay, really has been poor for many years now....Far too predictable now, however, I did raise a smile at the merricks with the gold post box.....

01-01-2013, 07:25 PM
jackie bird :drool: might just watch a wee bit more BBC

AKA Scrawny Bird :greengrin

Teuchter Hibbie
01-01-2013, 07:27 PM
I remember it being great in years gone by, but it's just poor now. The guy has two or three good impressions, the rest are well below par. As someone else has said above, for a year in which Scottish fitba has generated masses and masses of material for him, his script was astonishingly poor. There are still some good bits - Charlie Nicholas, Fergie and the Levein sketches were pretty funny - but the standard has well and truly slipped.

01-01-2013, 07:29 PM
Just watched it. Pish.

Hibee Ryan
01-01-2013, 07:36 PM
I think the last sketch I found properly funny was the one with Gordon Strachan and Derek riordan... And god knows how long ago that was

01-01-2013, 08:47 PM
AKA Scrawny Bird :greengrin

now now jb, the womans recovering from health problems :( she will soon be back to her radiant gorgeous red-headed strawberry blondishness loveliness :thumbsup:

http://i3.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1350910.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Jackie+Bird

01-01-2013, 08:52 PM
now now jb, the womans recovering from health problems :( she will soon be back to her radiant gorgeous red-headed strawberry blondishness loveliness :thumbsup:

http://i3.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1350910.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Jackie+Bird

Didn't know that and never intended to hurt. I call her scrawny bird because of her turkey like neck is all :wink:

01-01-2013, 08:54 PM
Didn't know that and never intended to hurt. I call her scrawny bird because of her turkey like neck is all :wink:

no hurtness was felt at all jb :thumbsup:

01-01-2013, 08:55 PM
no hurtness was felt at all jb :thumbsup:

I meant to her, not you :faf: :thumbsup:

01-01-2013, 08:57 PM
Was there no sketch of anyone walking about in skin tight tracky bottoms, a shirt and tie and a cap?

01-01-2013, 09:06 PM
I meant to her, not you :faf: :thumbsup:

it was her that typed it :confused:

01-01-2013, 09:07 PM
it was her that typed it :confused:

:greengrin :aok:

01-01-2013, 09:44 PM
Never watched it, did The Hun media bother mentioning the saga of Messrs White and Green?

01-01-2013, 10:24 PM
Never watched it, did The Hun media bother mentioning the saga of Messrs White and Green?

Don't think they did, even ma mum thought it was pish. :greengrin

The Baldmans Comb
01-01-2013, 10:58 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed this years show though maybe this is a reflection of how bad the last few years had been.

The new impersonations aren't up to much but the quality of writing has improved and the show had a lot of decent moments.

01-01-2013, 11:35 PM
Don't think they did, even ma mum thought it was pish. :greengrin

Well they did do a Charles Green sketch actually.

All these comments from people saying it was pish from those who never watched it.

It was the best episode in years.

I wish they would drop the Macca sketches. He hasnt played football in almost 20 years.

02-01-2013, 06:03 AM
Just watched most of it on YouTube (but not the last third).

Utter utter rubbish.

02-01-2013, 07:32 AM
Is that the guy who was on the Arabs hospitality team? If so he is miles better than Watson with much funnier gags. . He appeared in Only an Excuse years back and stole the show. He has never been seen again on it. I wonder why.

Yes, and yes. He's excellent.

02-01-2013, 08:51 AM
Must admit to having a chuckle at the Orange Order doing Gangman Style.

That was about it. The Alex Salmond and Craig Levein impressions were painfully bad, Frank McCavennie hasn't played football since about 1993 and done nothing of note since so why is he still featured every year? Dennis Law is hardly cutting edge either.

If they showed a repeat from 1997 it would probably be well into the last 5 minutes before most folk noticed.

Utter drivel like most of the Hogmanay offering from the Beeb. Repeats of Scotch and Wry and Still Game would be miles better.

02-01-2013, 09:06 AM
Ganting. Laughed at Charlie Nicholas' use of English but overall it was pretty guff. Was fast forwarding through some bits.

02-01-2013, 09:19 AM
Must admit to having a chuckle at the Orange Order doing Gangman Style..

That was the only bit I laughed at

02-01-2013, 09:22 AM
At least some of you found bits of it funny!! I thought every last sketch was utter rubbish.:rolleyes:

Seriously needs binned!:agree:

02-01-2013, 09:26 AM
Watson would do well to wear name badges to explain who he is trying to impersonate. Very few look or sound like the intended targets.

02-01-2013, 10:30 AM
The Levein bit at the opticians was good, the orange order doing gangnam was good, the rest was pretty *****.

On a side note, the girl to the right of Lennon, doing gangnam right at the end is the girlfriend if a good hibby!

02-01-2013, 11:18 AM
Must admit to having a chuckle at the Orange Order doing Gangman Style.

That was about it. The Alex Salmond and Craig Levein impressions were painfully bad, Frank McCavennie hasn't played football since about 1993 and done nothing of note since so why is he still featured every year? Dennis Law is hardly cutting edge either.

If they showed a repeat from 1997 it would probably be well into the last 5 minutes before most folk noticed.

Utter drivel like most of the Hogmanay offering from the Beeb. Repeats of Scotch and Wry and Still Game would be miles better.

There was a repeat of Chewin' the Fat which was pretty offensive material. I'd say Scottish humour is in a bad way if the New Year's fare is anything to go by.

Where's the subtlety? Come back Rikki Fulton!

02-01-2013, 11:47 AM
They didn't need to make another comedy this year, or for the past several years in fact.

They just needed to take a few cameras along to the PBS, the script editor would have had a field day.

02-01-2013, 01:12 PM

All these comments from people saying it was pish from those who never watched it.

I wish they would drop the Macca sketches. He hasnt played football in almost 20 years.

Nah - I watched and it was pish.

02-01-2013, 01:52 PM

I watched it, thought it was drivel......Unfunny scenes backed up with canned laughter, not worth the airtime IMO

02-01-2013, 03:45 PM
Tedious pish well past its sell by date. But that sums up most Hogmanay broadcasting.

02-01-2013, 04:08 PM
Watched it today, was utter gash

02-01-2013, 05:42 PM
Bring back The White Heather Club!

:cb