View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 1 v Celtc 0 FT

29-12-2012, 08:00 AM
I'm putting my 100% winning record on the line today for today's 4th vs 1st clash.

Temperature in the capital is extremely mild for the time of year, 10C currently at daybreak. The forecast is for this to drop slightly to 7C by 3pm kickoff as a weather front approaches on a strong southwesterly and clearer skies follow along afterwards.

The wind direction today is bad news for us East Stand-ers, as we will be downwind of the notoriously stinky and malodorous away support.

75% chance of rain in the early afternoon, although its guesswork as to when and if it will arrive at St Clair Street and it's environs. The barometer remains at changeable, mb 989. Sunset at 3:47pm. High tide at 3:17pm. A waning full moon will be in force for the last game of 2012:aok:

Despite 2012 being the wettest year on record in the UK, apart from some second half rain on Wednesday against Ross County, Hibs home games have been almost completely rain-free since August. A strange coincidence, and further evidence that Easter Road, like the Eden project, exists in a blessed microclimate all of its own.

I predict 1-3.:flag:

29-12-2012, 08:14 AM
Well done old chap.

Warm and humid on the Slave Coast.

I see a shock on the cards and a glorious 2-1 victory for the Cabbage.

:pfgwa:hibees:flag:

Hibees07
29-12-2012, 08:48 AM
Prozak at the ready :greengrin.

Hoping the Hibees have a real go at an average Celtic defence, lots off pass and go, overlapping full-backs, ball on the deck & quick play from back to front.

Expect to see, lots of sideways & backwards passing, sitting deep, long ball's forward, Celtic dominate & hardly a shot at goals.

One can but hope!

29-12-2012, 09:14 AM
6 or 7 weeks ago i couldnt wait to get Celtc.

I'll be there today , of course, cheering the boys on - but fear the worst now after recent performances!

Come on the Hibeeeeees !

HibeeN
29-12-2012, 09:16 AM
I have a feeling about today! Hope the players up their game and at least give a good go of it. I'm not expecting us to win, but if we get a more encouraging performance out of today than recent weeks I will be pleased.

29-12-2012, 09:20 AM
Can't make today due to work so will be following updates on here rather than the awful Open All Mics.

Fearing the worst sadly. 1-4.

29-12-2012, 09:29 AM
Can't make today due to work so will be following updates on here rather than the awful Open All Mics.

Fearing the worst sadly. 1-4.

Thought bbc radio scotland might put it on?

29-12-2012, 09:35 AM
I want to see a passionate and aggressive Hibernian home performance backed by a noisy and committed support. Thomson will no doubt revel in his pantomime villian role. Come on Hibees.

RamblingJack
29-12-2012, 10:08 AM
A very pleasant 23 degrees here today,i will walk down to my local bar and watch the match on the telly.

29-12-2012, 10:11 AM
I'm reluctant to predict a score as I dont know which HIbs will be turning up today

However, if we lose an early goal I fear a humping, and if that happens then the usual..'We need to do better' will not be acceptable if trotted out by the manager.

We've known for months we need to do better...let's just do better!

Oh, and it was a lovely 28 degrees in sunny Sydney today, but for the first time in three days, I was unable to jump in the pool to cool off due to other pressing engagements

29-12-2012, 11:00 AM
Celtic aren't world beaters all the time - if we organise and press I hope that we can get a draw - if we have a sloppy leaky defense then 3-0 for them but as always I'm going optimistically.

West Stand today for me - Leigh Griffiths to find the net

Russell The Dug
29-12-2012, 11:04 AM
0-2 two Celtic pens.

Don't do anything stupid boys that will assist Thompson on banning from the derby. Horrible erse will be dying to help them.

29-12-2012, 11:09 AM
Thomson has refed us three times this season and he's given us the best of the decisions each time.

29-12-2012, 11:16 AM
Will be making my way to leith in an hour or so. Looking forward to it, if nothing else it should be a better atmosphere than previous home games... Well at least until 3pm ;-)

Can't really see anything other than a defeat, will be absolutely delighted with a point.
But unfortunately my prediction is 3-1 Celtic

Russell The Dug
29-12-2012, 11:16 AM
Thomson has refed us three times this season and he's given us the best of the decisions each time.

Not against Celtic and not directly before a derby but I see your point.

Thomson or not, no daft mistakes from the team today as its far too easy to lose a man against either of the old firm history has shown us.

OsloHibs
29-12-2012, 11:18 AM
A very pleasant 23 degrees here today,i will walk down to my local bar and watch the match on the telly.

Snow, Snow, Snow and all the roads shut. Gotta work :boo hoo:from 2pm but my spirit shall be at ER.

Mon the Hibs :fenlon
:pfgwa

29-12-2012, 11:21 AM
Pelting down in livi what's it like in the toon?

29-12-2012, 11:23 AM
Pelting down in livi what's it like in the toon?

The same its absolutely miserable

29-12-2012, 11:24 AM
The same its absolutely miserable

Aw well :-(

29-12-2012, 11:27 AM
[QUOTE=hibsbollah;3457031]I'm putting my 100% winning record on the line today for today's 4th vs 1st clash.

We need you :not worth

Come on Hibs :pfgwa

29-12-2012, 11:27 AM
Aw well :-(

But on the bright side im told the heating will be on in the alhambra

29-12-2012, 11:42 AM
Pishing down with rain in the Capital, the soapdodgers won't like that.

29-12-2012, 12:06 PM
26o here in Dubai. Just left the pool and looking for a bar to watch the game-struggling at the moment. Sadly fear a 1-3 score. Fingers crossed for better tho...GGTTH

29-12-2012, 12:14 PM
Any team news?

Would like to see us line up..

Williams

Clancy McPake McGivern Hanlon

Wotherspoon Deegan Cairney Claros Doyle

Griffiths

Cairney pushing forward from a central area to support LG, would have to keep the ball on the deck much more than we have done in the last few weeks though...

davhibby
29-12-2012, 12:16 PM
Any team news?

Would like to see us line up..

Williams

Clancy McPake McGivern Hanlon

Wotherspoon Deegan Cairney Claros Doyle

Griffiths

Cairney pushing forward from a central area to support LG, would have to keep the ball on the deck much more than we have done in the last few weeks though...

That would be good....doubt it will happen though

29-12-2012, 12:17 PM
26o here in Dubai. Just left the pool and looking for a bar to watch the game-struggling at the moment. Sadly fear a 1-3 score. Fingers crossed for better tho...GGTTH

I wouldn't have thought it'd be on anywhere. :confused:

Unless Alba are showing the game later as live and you can pick up a dodgy feed somewhere, but I'm doubtful. :dunno:

29-12-2012, 12:17 PM

You're that optimistic?

It's been four years since we last even scored at home to Celtic in the league. :bitchy:

29-12-2012, 12:19 PM
You're that optimistic?

It's been three years since we last scored at home to Celtic in the league. :bitchy:

It was about 3 years since we beat hearts and we managed a victory there. Remember we have already played them this season and scored twice

HibeeN
29-12-2012, 12:27 PM
Absolutely pouring. Normally sit up the back of the East stand but I'm taking my dad and we're in row H this time. Likely to get soaked?

OsloHibs
29-12-2012, 12:28 PM
Right away to wade through 6 feet of snow to get to work.. and listen to all the Man Utd fans drivvvvel :blah:
Hopefully when I come on here later, it'll be all happy & postive with ZERO p*sh.

One can dream!

COME ON HIBS :pfgwa

29-12-2012, 12:32 PM
On the bus up and meeting my mates at the Nip. Optimistically going for 2-1 Hibs, bring on Scotland's Shame.

Chris.igoe
29-12-2012, 12:42 PM
Mulgrew and Forrest are oot that helps

Hibstrooper
29-12-2012, 12:48 PM
On the train through from Bathgate. Reasonably busy with Celtic fans however have just overheard the following as I'm about to get off the train:

Weegie 1; "First hibee we see we kick **** out of him"
Weegie 2; "Aye totally man"

Time to hide the scarf perhaps?

Ell_Chrisso
29-12-2012, 12:52 PM
A good thing Stokes won't be playing. Scores against us every time

29-12-2012, 12:53 PM
On the train through from Bathgate. Reasonably busy with Celtic fans however have just overheard the following as I'm about to get off the train:

Weegie 1; "First hibee we see we kick **** out of him"
Weegie 2; "Aye totally man"

Time to hide the scarf perhaps?
Exact feckn opposite man!!!!

29-12-2012, 01:16 PM
I wouldn't have thought it'd be on anywhere. :confused:

Unless Alba are showing the game later as live and you can pick up a dodgy feed somewhere, but I'm doubtful. :dunno:

I think alba are showing our game tonight

29-12-2012, 01:28 PM
That would be good....doubt it will happen though

We've played that system or changed to it during the match multiple times this season

29-12-2012, 01:37 PM
I'd like to see us 4-5-1 today

Same goalie and back four

Doyle Claros Cairney Deegan Steveson

Griffiths

29-12-2012, 01:37 PM
Shopping done. Game on Czech TV.
`mon the hibees :-)

29-12-2012, 01:42 PM
Kuqi will score the winner today. Believe :)
http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/ae247/Mainboy/Pleasing/34oagebjpg.gif

Ell_Chrisso
29-12-2012, 02:00 PM
Couple of changes...

@HibernianFCClub: Hibernian: Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon, Stevenson, Deegan, Claros, Taiwo, Cairney, Griffiths, Doyle #hibees

29-12-2012, 02:03 PM
McGivern dropped?!

Ell_Chrisso
29-12-2012, 02:03 PM
I'd guess by the changes were going 4-5-1 with Doyle dropping to play out wide.

29-12-2012, 02:04 PM
McGivern dropped?!

Must be injured?

29-12-2012, 02:06 PM
Ross co v hertz called off, not a lot of notice for the travelling pinkoids

Liam_Hibs
29-12-2012, 02:10 PM
Any idea as to the reason?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

29-12-2012, 02:11 PM
Must be injured?

Maybe Pat's not convinced his heart's at ER rather than the Etohad - he only has this and another game before he leaves ...

29-12-2012, 02:12 PM
Hearts game off...hahaha twats and no why should we care about their fans :greengrin

hibs4thecup1988
29-12-2012, 02:16 PM
McGivern dropped or injured people? Pitch looks good. Goalmouth at FF eaten up.

Peeing down with rain tho :(

29-12-2012, 02:16 PM
Absolutely pouring. Normally sit up the back of the East stand but I'm taking my dad and we're in row H this time. Likely to get soaked?

I did warn you:greengrin

It should blow over the Forth shortly:aok:

Come on the Hibs:flag:

29-12-2012, 02:17 PM
Ross County paying for the Hearts supporters buses for the reschedule. Has to be applauded.

29-12-2012, 02:25 PM
Couldnt give two hoots about the weather! Lets hope the team get it right up those smelly soap dodging w**kers! Wonder if certain players put in their best performance ahead of transfer market?

hibs4thecup1988
29-12-2012, 02:25 PM
Subs. Murdoch. Wotherspoon. Maybury. Handling. Caldwell. Kuqi. Donaldson

Celtic: foster. Izaguerre. Ambrose. Wilson. Brown. Samaras. Lassad. Lustg. Rogne. Wanyama. Hooper. Subs. Zaluska. Kayal. Mccourt. Watt. Mcgeouch. Kidd. Chalmers

29-12-2012, 02:31 PM
McGivern injured surely? Or off elsewhere?

With the Hearts game off, means we go into the Derby above them no matter what happens today.

29-12-2012, 02:48 PM
Thomson as ref again... We seem to get him rather often...

ivan03
29-12-2012, 02:53 PM
McGivs is injured today guys, touch and go for the derby. Hamstring strain.

29-12-2012, 02:54 PM
So much for Foster being injured!

29-12-2012, 03:09 PM
sparky :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

TheEastTerrace
29-12-2012, 03:10 PM
Goal for the Hibees

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-12-2012, 03:10 PM
1-0. Super Sparky. Well deserved. :thumbsup:

29-12-2012, 03:11 PM
Goal for the Hibees

great finish by griffiths! 1-0 to Hibs, great fighting start..

what a finish. Great start.

that was a tight angle as well :agree: wasn't wise sticking his thumb in his mouth at the sellick fans though

patch1875
29-12-2012, 03:12 PM
Boom had him first goalscorer

Brummie_Hibs
29-12-2012, 03:12 PM
Very good finish from a tight angle. Keeper was at fault though!

29-12-2012, 03:14 PM
that could/should have been 2-0 by doyle :(

29-12-2012, 03:19 PM
Looks a good crowd. East and F5 stands look much busier than usual. Can't see the West on the TV.

29-12-2012, 03:21 PM
The Irish commentary is good ;-)
He's very positive about Hibs. Maybe due to all the Irish players and manager. I was expecting a Celtc love in.

29-12-2012, 03:22 PM
That's how many times I've been to the bog this morning which is the reason I'm not at ER !!

I was the same Thursday and Friday its a nightmare...

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-12-2012, 03:23 PM
We are playing some lovely stuff going forward. Why can't we play like this every week ? :confused:

29-12-2012, 03:24 PM
Looks a good crowd. East and F5 stands look much busier than usual. Can't see the West on the TV.

This game on telly :confused:

Off the bar
What's the crowd like today?

Sounds like we're fired right up for this.

Deegan making all the difference.

29-12-2012, 03:26 PM
This game on telly :confused:

On the internet as on bbc alba later.

29-12-2012, 03:27 PM
What's the crowd like today?

Google is your friend

C'Mon the Hibees.

Fantastic stuff.

wazoo1875
I was the same Thursday and Friday its a nightmare...

Horrendous mate. However 3 points would make things much better ahead of Thursday :-)

Off the bar
29-12-2012, 03:29 PM
Sounds like we're fired right up for this.

Deegan making all the difference.

Our slump in form coincided with Deegan being out injured, did we sign him or is he on loan as well?

29-12-2012, 03:30 PM
On the internet as on bbc alba later.

Cheers :aok:

29-12-2012, 03:31 PM
Deegan booked again...

29-12-2012, 03:34 PM
The passion that Claros is showing makes me hope he wants to stay... :flag:

29-12-2012, 03:36 PM
hibs reserve keeper warming up behind the goal ? does he normally do that

29-12-2012, 03:39 PM
craig thomson doing his best to even things up

29-12-2012, 03:40 PM
Doyle looks well out of his comfort zone and not having a game at all.

29-12-2012, 03:42 PM
Celtc getting a lot more of the ball now. Hold out to HT then go again in the 2nd.

29-12-2012, 03:42 PM
You have to think Celtic will connect with one of those crosses sooner or later.

29-12-2012, 03:43 PM
well 0 killie pies 1

29-12-2012, 03:43 PM
Doyle!! Should have scored!:rolleyes:

29-12-2012, 03:46 PM
corner hibs, sparky kicks it in to the side netting...terrible waste :(

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-12-2012, 03:47 PM
1-0 HT. Pleasing. :greengrin

29-12-2012, 03:49 PM
So far so good. Lets home one of the Doyle chances doesnt come back to haunt us.

29-12-2012, 03:50 PM
Frombar :aok::wink:

plhibs
29-12-2012, 03:50 PM
Soft yellow for Deegan sets the ref up for an easy decision in the 2nd half.

29-12-2012, 03:51 PM
That's what frustrates me about Doyle, does the hard part sometimes then seems to lose his focus a bit.

Still 1-0 at HT is a pleasant surprise. Another 45 minutes of digging in needed.

29-12-2012, 03:53 PM
That's what frustrates me about Doyle, does the hard part sometimes then seems to lose his focus a bit.

Still 1-0 at HT is a pleasant surprise. Another 45 minutes of digging in needed.

It just hasn't came off for Doyle yet, but he's working his socks off like every other hibs player on the pitch.

But when it does come off, you know the goal will probably be a screamer out of nothing. :agree:

29-12-2012, 03:56 PM
Soft yellow for Deegan sets the ref up for an easy decision in the 2nd half.

Craig Thomson true to form.

29-12-2012, 03:59 PM
Well impressed with the first half.

...WentToMowAnSPL
29-12-2012, 04:04 PM
Come on Hibs ... Listening to the radio commentary and am nervous GGTTH

29-12-2012, 04:05 PM
Cairney is deceptively slow.

29-12-2012, 04:12 PM
Griffiths becoming increasingly isolated...

29-12-2012, 04:14 PM
Deegan kicked the turf!!!

29-12-2012, 04:15 PM
Clancy having a stormer...then gets taken off

Sproule Three
29-12-2012, 04:15 PM
Taiwo is having a stormer

29-12-2012, 04:16 PM
Maybury's on. We're Doomed....

29-12-2012, 04:17 PM
****s sakes, Craig Thomson is the same cheating biased person that he always was. Scottish football is corrupt at every level.

Sproule Three
29-12-2012, 04:17 PM
Clancy having a stormer...then gets taken off

Protecting his injury I suspect. He's been out for weeks . He broke down last time after pushing too hard

Ell_Chrisso
29-12-2012, 04:18 PM
Denied penalty from Craig Thomson. Need I say more

29-12-2012, 04:18 PM
C'mon the Hibees! Let's do them.

29-12-2012, 04:19 PM
Protecting his injury I suspect. He's been out for weeks . He broke down last time after pushing too hard

Sounds about right

COME ON HIBS!!

29-12-2012, 04:20 PM
sellick fans surprisingly very quiet, lets keep it that way hibs :)

well 0 killie pies 2

29-12-2012, 04:23 PM
Denied penalty from Craig Thomson. Need I say more

Cheating Hearts ****.

Deegan is a NAP to be sent off and suspended for the 3rd.

29-12-2012, 04:23 PM
sellick fans surprisingly very quiet, lets keep it that way hibs :)

well 0 killie pies 2

Wee lambs, best behaved fans in the world doncha know?

plhibs
29-12-2012, 04:28 PM
Sitting far too deep and giving the ball up too easily.Why do i think that the ref is going to have a large part to play in the result.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-12-2012, 04:30 PM
Sparky off, Spoony on.

29-12-2012, 04:30 PM
How long is left?

29-12-2012, 04:31 PM
well 2 killie 2
dundee 0 sheep 2

16 mins left

Cheating Hearts ****.

Deegan is a NAP to be sent off and suspended for the 3rd.

Far be it for me to defend the cheating prick but it wasn't even close to being a penalty.

are we 4-6 now?

29-12-2012, 04:33 PM
Sheep 2-0 up at Dens

Far be it for me to defend the cheating prick but it wqasn't even close to being a penalty.

I know.

I just really don't like Craig Thomson.

plhibs
LG off we are obviously trying to just hold on, dont know if thatts a gooc move.

29-12-2012, 04:34 PM
oh look, thomson has found his yellow card again...not surprisingly for a hibs player though

29-12-2012, 04:35 PM
Motherwell - 2 Killie - 2

LG off we are obviously trying to just hold on, dont know if thatts a gooc move.

It is probably the sensible thing, however whether it is construed as such or not will depend on the result.

No its not. Best form of defence is attack.

Dan Sarf

No out ball. Inviting them onto us. Suicidal unless we are very lucky.

29-12-2012, 04:36 PM
Good clearance from Broonie! :greengrin

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-12-2012, 04:37 PM
We are defending too deep.

29-12-2012, 04:38 PM
Dunmarton winning 4-1 at Falkirk. They've only won one league game before today. Well done Ian Murray!

29-12-2012, 04:39 PM
The gods are smiling!

Big let off there!

Ambrose knees over from a yard

8+ mins left

29-12-2012, 04:40 PM
Great save from Williams.

oldbiker
29-12-2012, 04:40 PM
Its great to have a decent keeper nice save Ben :thumbsup:

Cmon HIbs:pfgwa

29-12-2012, 04:41 PM
No its not. Best form of defence is attack.

:agree: Unless of course we lost a goal then it would have been bad tactics to try and go for it instead of consolidating.

plhibs
29-12-2012, 04:42 PM
We are just asking for trouble .

29-12-2012, 04:43 PM
i would normally say if it's not broken don't fix it...but i think we need fresh legs, and also help to use up some time :)

and after saying that, handling coming on :) for taiwo

29-12-2012, 04:43 PM
Last 4 minutes of normal time.

29-12-2012, 04:44 PM
Handling on for Taiwo

29-12-2012, 04:45 PM
Injury time?

29-12-2012, 04:45 PM
dundee 1 dandy dons 2

2mins left here

29-12-2012, 04:46 PM
well held ben williams

29-12-2012, 04:47 PM
3 mins added :(

16,385 att

90 minutes up

one day maybe...
29-12-2012, 04:48 PM
We are playing against a team whose resources are 10 or 15 times more than ours. Yet we are still having a wee moan that we are trying to close the doors and make it hard for them to break us down. No space for them to play in makes it difficult everione knows that, if they do sneak an equaliser then the performance from all players many of whom have said havent been given their all lately must still be applauded. Hopefully we see it out and claim the points and go into the New year on a high. 3 mins come on Hibs

oldbiker
3 mins :hibees

Is Kuqi the new Ian Westwater? Great influence but only played as an absolute last resort.

Maybury's good at wasting time because he's so slow anyway!

2 minutes :worried:

1.5 minutes to go! C'mon Hibs!

We are playing against a team whose resources are 10 or 15 times more than ours. Yet we are still having a wee moan that we are trying to close the doors and make it hard for them to break us down. No space for them to play in makes it difficult everione knows that, if they do sneak an equaliser then the performance from all players many of whom have said havent been given their all lately must still be applauded. Hopefully we see it out and claim the points and go into the New year on a high. 3 mins come on Hibs

Thankfeckfor common sense!!!

29-12-2012, 04:49 PM

Thankfeckfor common sense!!!

Seconded

29-12-2012, 04:49 PM
Good play from Doyle - takes the pressure off a bit.

29-12-2012, 04:50 PM
Seconded

Thirded.

wazoo1875
Ooh c'mon Hibs see it out please !

how terribly terribly pleasing :greengrin

FT yasssssssss :greengrin well done the cabbage :thumbsup::thumbsup::flag::jmcp::fenlon:giruy:

oldbiker
Superb well done the Hibbeeess :top marks:top marks

Ell_Chrisso
FT

banchoryhibs
YEssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss:flag::flag::flag: :flag::flag::flag:

FT 1-0 :flag::hibees:cb

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-12-2012, 04:51 PM
1-0 FT. Fantastic. Take that Ref !

Well done to bollah, put his bollahs on the line starting this thread today.

Fantastic Hibs :top marks :pfgwa

Fenlon out :cb

YA ABSOLUTE DANCER!!

:flag::flag:

****ing yes.

This is why I love Hibs.

Now let's keep it up and go accross town for a party on Thursday.

Dan Sarf
How great is that!!!!!

wazoo1875
29-12-2012, 04:52 PM
Very well done to them all. I'm more pissed off now I missed it :-(
Bring on the jam-tarts !

I didn't go today because I was scunnered after the recent results. More fool me. Brilliant stuff, Hibs! :flag:

Could I just say please, this is THE worst update thread ever. FACT.

Sitting here in my office and no feckn idea what is happening.

Bollah, you are full time now son. :agree:

:pfgwa:flag::pfgwa:flag:

JHFC
What a ****ing result hibees!!!!!! Bring on the jambos!!!

29-12-2012, 04:53 PM
:jmcp:

FT yasssssssss :greengrin well done the cabbage :thumbsup::thumbsup::flag::jmcp::fenlon:giruy:

Yes! Great result guys :-)

TheEastTerrace
Well done to the boys :flag:

oldbiker
29-12-2012, 04:54 PM
Great singing as well, spot on the fans

Always did say that PF was a tactical genius. Cough, cough.!

Great Result.

plhibs
29-12-2012, 04:55 PM

I do agree with you but it just makes me as nervous as hell trying to hold on to one goal for half of the match.:greengrin

29-12-2012, 04:56 PM
Huge result. :top marks

I cant believe it - legends!!!!

Will Lennon now buy sparky and put him in his resreves to rot???

Brilliant Hibs, got the team right and got the tactics right.

29-12-2012, 04:58 PM
wow. what effort and chasing all over the park. great stuff.
standards set !!

DoonTheSlope
29-12-2012, 04:59 PM
Gr8 result for the cabbage. What a way to end what has been a difficult period.

29-12-2012, 05:00 PM
I cant believe it - legends!!!!

Will Lennon now buy sparky and put him in his resreves to rot???

Only if he'd be daft enough to go there.

29-12-2012, 05:01 PM
Great result at the best time with the Derby up next!

29-12-2012, 05:01 PM
i'm absolutely delighted to have lost all my 25K Virtual buttons at the virtual bookies :flag:

29-12-2012, 05:02 PM
That really is a HUGE result. To beat Celtic after beating Hearts a few weeks ago, we will surely now believe that we are able to compete for 2nd. Another jinx busted!

29-12-2012, 05:03 PM
i'm absolutely delighted to have lost all my 25K Virtual buttons at the virtual bookies :flag:

It's alright, we just owe that to ourselves. Virtual yamanomics :flag:

29-12-2012, 05:04 PM
Yasssss

29-12-2012, 05:07 PM
That really is a HUGE result. To beat Celtic after beating Hearts a few weeks ago, we will surely now believe that we are able to compete for 2nd. Another jinx busted!

This season the games against 0.5OF don't really matter wrt to coming second, imho.

29-12-2012, 05:08 PM

29-12-2012, 05:13 PM
Decent and workmanlike performance from Hibs - overall we deserved the 3 points. Celtic were however pretty awful, lots of possession, but no creatvity, no ideas: a team of their talents should be able to deal with a club shutting up the doors better than the display they produced today, still that's Lennon's problem - who cares.

Fenlon got the tactics right today and he managed to motivate the team or maybe they just decided they could be arsed today: we need this every week though and we certainly needed it against Ross County in the last game. Hibs raising their game against Celtic is not really a sign of anything: it's a pleasing 3 points won.

A great performance from the team in general - but we need it regularly, not now and then against the big guys...

29-12-2012, 05:15 PM
Lennon is being very magnanimous in defeat. Is he on the happy pills these days?

29-12-2012, 05:17 PM
Lennon is being very magnanimous in defeat. Is he on the happy pills these days?

He was very uncharacteristically fair in his interview. I hope he's currently being drug tested!

29-12-2012, 05:17 PM
What a difference 3 days make! :thumbsup:

29-12-2012, 05:18 PM
Well done PF and lads :thumbsup:

Roll on 6pm and BBC Alba :greengrin

Bob Box Fish
29-12-2012, 05:21 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed that :)

29-12-2012, 05:21 PM
Bring on the jambos!!!

JoeTortolanoFanClub
29-12-2012, 05:22 PM
Lennon is being very magnanimous in defeat. Is he on the happy pills these days? Looks like it...

From BBC website
CELTIC BOSS NEIL LENNON AFTER DEFEAT AT EASTER ROAD
"I thought it was a great game and a great atmosphere. I don't think we played badly and probably deserved something from the game.
"Congratulations Hibs, I'm disappointed that our good run has come to an end.
"It was a straight ball over the top (for Leigh Griffiths's goal) and we should've dealt with it better.
"We've got a few players out at the minute and we're putting square pegs in round holes. In defeat you can take a lot of positives out of it although I don't like losing."

29-12-2012, 05:25 PM

Although he did suggest Griffiths might have been offside for his goal ...:greengrin

29-12-2012, 05:29 PM
Fair comments by Lennon post match.

29-12-2012, 05:39 PM
That score line flatters Celtc :cb

29-12-2012, 05:44 PM
What happened to Hearts leap frogging us on Thursday? :fenlon

cad
29-12-2012, 05:50 PM
wow. what effort and chasing all over the park. great stuff.
standards set !!

Exactly ,we got our just reward for determination ,keeping our shape and never giving up.
Well done to Pat and the boys, well chuffed with that result ,bring on the cake bake mob

:na na::flag::flag::na na:

29-12-2012, 05:52 PM
16,805 crowd

David_D
29-12-2012, 05:53 PM
I was sat in famous five lower but couldn't see where we could have got another 5000 fans?

29-12-2012, 05:58 PM
Is Kuqi the new Ian Westwater? Great influence but only played as an absolute last resort.

Exactly what I was thinking.

Seems to have a great rapport with the younger players

TheReg!
29-12-2012, 06:04 PM
I was sat in famous five lower but couldn't see where we could have got another 5000 fans?

I agree, I was in FF upper and it was really busy looked around 18-19000, Don't care tbh well done Hibs:flag:

29-12-2012, 06:08 PM
Was all about effort today. Every single player fought for every single ball. Also 5 in midfield really suits our squad.

29-12-2012, 06:11 PM
Great result well done to the team and Pat Fenlon.

29-12-2012, 06:12 PM
Decent and workmanlike performance from Hibs - overall we deserved the 3 points. Celtic were however pretty awful, lots of possession, but no creatvity, no ideas: a team of their talents should be able to deal with a club shutting up the doors better than the display they produced today, still that's Lennon's problem - who cares.

Fenlon got the tactics right today and he managed to motivate the team or maybe they just decided they could be arsed today: we need this every week though and we certainly needed it against Ross County in the last game. Hibs raising their game against Celtic is not really a sign of anything: it's a pleasing 3 points won.

A great performance from the team in general - but we need it regularly, not now and then against the big guys...

Yup correct, whilst a great result we need to do this against the other teams and lets hope they carry on by beating the yams!

29-12-2012, 06:16 PM
I agree, I was in FF upper and it was really busy looked around 18-19000, Don't care tbh well done Hibs:flag:

Was in the FF upper aswell and totally agree do not understand where another 5k could be squeezed in, Anyway now watching game again on Alba.

29-12-2012, 06:18 PM
Was in the FF upper aswell and totally agree do not understand where another 5k could be squeezed in, Anyway now watching game again on Alba.
Can you post a link for that - or do you mean on telly?

29-12-2012, 06:42 PM
Said before the game today that I'd be delighted with a draw and my prediction was 3-1 Celtic. Needless to say that I am ecstatic at being proved wrong. Great performance against a good Celtic side. Play like that against hearts and we will pump them. Also had a win on the coupon today so has been a perfect end to 2012

29-12-2012, 06:58 PM
Yup correct, whilst a great result we need to do this against the other teams and lets hope they carry on by beating the yams!

Yep, same old Hibs. Turn it up a nudge coz we're in the shop window.

Does this mean we're now better than Barcelona? ;-)

Off the bar
29-12-2012, 07:42 PM
just found the goal on youtube, enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gibsRL6n7IE

29-12-2012, 08:00 PM
Brilliant victory. :flag: Immense team performance. :pfgwa Valuable three points. :flag:

Well done to one and all. :aok:

29-12-2012, 08:03 PM
Good battling performance with some neat passing in the midfield.

29-12-2012, 08:27 PM
Good battling performance with some neat passing in the midfield.

Absolutely, all the players deserve enormous credit on how they approached the game & tactics spot on, now please please build from this. :top marks

Greendub
29-12-2012, 08:41 PM
First ever hibs Celtic game for me, excellent result, the yams are done for :-)

29-12-2012, 08:42 PM
just found the goal on youtube, enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gibsRL6n7IE
Nice one, cheers for that. I was in work until 12 so wasn't able to get to the game and went to the Reebok instead - Sparky's goal was from a pretty similar angle to the second Bolton goal today (yes I'm rather pleased at getting a double result today!!) if any insomniacs watch the Football League Show later.

Bring on Thursday, boy am I smug to have a ticket :greengrin

29-12-2012, 08:46 PM
Nice one, cheers for that. I was in work until 12 so wasn't able to get to the game and went to the Reebok instead - Sparky's goal was from a pretty similar angle to the second Bolton goal today (yes I'm rather pleased at getting a double result today!!) if any insomniacs watch the Football League Show later.

Bring on Thursday, boy am I smug to have a ticket :greengrin

Funnily enough just saw the Bolton goal on SSN 10 mins ago. Was very similar.

29-12-2012, 09:00 PM
Great battling performance from the team today but special mention for Williams and Hanlon - I thought they were both outstanding. I kept expecting Celtic to deny us with a late couple of goals but we hung in there. Hopefully, this result will give the players' self-confidence a boost for Thursday's game against THEM!
'Mon the Hibees!

29-12-2012, 09:02 PM
Funnily enough just saw the Bolton goal on SSN 10 mins ago. Was very similar.
You mean I don't have to stay up until dawn to see the goals again?! :greengrin