View Full Version : Question who is our best player

shetlandhibee
28-12-2012, 03:58 PM
Whats your opinion, who has been our best player so far?

28-12-2012, 03:58 PM
Cairney.

28-12-2012, 04:02 PM
McGivern.

shetlandhibee
28-12-2012, 04:02 PM
Cairney. Although Claros and griffiths not far behind.

HibeeN
28-12-2012, 04:16 PM
In terms of technical ability and skill it's got to be Griffiths, but in terms of who performs best for the team it's Cairney for me, though good arguments could also be made for Griffiths, McGivern and Claros.

Green Fish
28-12-2012, 04:19 PM
IMO first season in SPL - Cairney - we need more like him

CalgaryHibs
28-12-2012, 04:21 PM
Whats your opinion, who has been our best player so far?

Sparky hands doon!

Russell The Dug
28-12-2012, 04:46 PM
Mcgivern.

28-12-2012, 04:56 PM
Wotherspoon.

28-12-2012, 04:59 PM
Griffiths.

28-12-2012, 05:14 PM
Its Cairney.

28-12-2012, 05:18 PM
Griffiths for me i think he is the one player we have that can turn a game with a bit of magic

28-12-2012, 05:25 PM
Griffiths by a distance. Cairney is a good wee player but he lacks pace and because of that I think he's probably reached his level now. McGivern looks like a player that could step up a level for 80/90% of the time and then has a spell in most games where he loses concentration. However because he looks good going forward he'll be rated more highly than other defenders. I think Clancy is our best defender and it's a pity he's had injury problems. I'm not one the anti Maybury brigade but Tim is simply much better.

28-12-2012, 05:32 PM
McGivern for me, closely followed by Griffiths. McGivern will go on to play at a higher level than anyone else in our squad IMO.

28-12-2012, 06:10 PM
Wotherspoon.

In all seriousness, McGivern for me. He is strong, quick, good in the air and has a great touch on him. He will go on to bigger and better things. :agree:

Greendub
28-12-2012, 06:13 PM
Cairney and Williams

28-12-2012, 06:14 PM
if you had asked 2 weeks ago would have said Claros easily...possibly Williams as he is more consistent (best is subjective - could be talent or could be what they bring to team over all - I have gone for latter. Talent wise Sparky but not a consistent contribution)

jon paul jones
28-12-2012, 06:19 PM
Good question by the way

In their position and who has improved the team i'd have to go for

Williams

No more fassin at crosses and hibby defending from Zibbi's days

28-12-2012, 06:25 PM
Benny Brazil

28-12-2012, 06:26 PM
Griffiths. He's been poor as of late but still a class above everybody else besides McGivern.

28-12-2012, 06:28 PM
McGivern or Williams for me.
Griffiths has scored for fun this season so far, but I think he's one of those players that will be affected by his own hype, and it'll probably hamper his career.

28-12-2012, 06:32 PM
Williams

28-12-2012, 06:39 PM
Wotherspoon.

HTD1875
28-12-2012, 06:43 PM
Mcgivern by quite a bit got all the attributes to make it at a higher level.

Hibstrooper
28-12-2012, 06:57 PM
I think I'd go with the consensus on this thread, McGivern. Really looks head and shoulders above at times and is super consistent whilst our other good players are far more up and down.

Honorary mention to Big Bad Ben too who is an excellent keeper.

28-12-2012, 06:59 PM
Kuqi

Love the Green
28-12-2012, 07:06 PM
Wotherspoon.

Love the Green
28-12-2012, 07:09 PM
Wotherspoon.

Surprise surprise..what a shocker..get yourself along tp specsavers ASAP.

keep the faith:faf:

Hibees07
28-12-2012, 07:10 PM
Ben Williams, if it wasn't for him we would be 2nd bottom and out the Scottish Cup.

28-12-2012, 07:13 PM
Ben Williams, if it wasn't for him we would be 2nd bottom and out the Scottish Cup.

Your a right bundle of joy, santa left you with an empty stocking. Honestly cant remember Williams having a save of note in the cup tie.

28-12-2012, 07:18 PM

Williams, Griffiths and McGivern have probably been our most consistent but your post is utter nonsense. He hardly had a save in the Cup game. Who are you comparing him to?!?

Heedersnvolleys
28-12-2012, 07:19 PM
McGivern.

Not OUR player

Heedersnvolleys
28-12-2012, 07:20 PM
Sparky hands doon!

Not OUR player

28-12-2012, 07:22 PM
Not OUR player

Who exactly has he played for this season? :confused:

Hibees07
28-12-2012, 07:23 PM
Williams, Griffiths and McGivern have probably been our most consistent but your post is utter nonsense. He hardly had a save in the Cup game. Who are you comparing him to?!?

You have to be on the wind up, a Patterson header after 5mins and the great save from the deflected header off Hanlon. We could have been 2 down.

patch1875
28-12-2012, 07:23 PM
Claros for me would shine even more in a good team

28-12-2012, 07:25 PM
You have to be on the wind up, a Patterson header after 5mins and the great save from the deflected header off Hanlon. We could have been 2 down.

Well you clearly have a different recollection from me and others. Both those saves you mention, I'd expect a keeper to make with the minimum of fuss.

Heedersnvolleys
All seriousness that is an issue for me, the 3 players we need to keep our season going are loans and could be away in a couple weeks. Not a good situation. Suppose it is better than last season when we had team full of loans we wanted to get rid of;-)

Would another keeper not have saved these? As I said Williams has been one of our best players but these saves were relatively simple.

28-12-2012, 07:26 PM

Both run of the mill saves.

28-12-2012, 07:27 PM
McGivern.....out of players who are not on loan, a toss between Taiwo and Cairney.

Really like the look of Taiwo!

28-12-2012, 07:29 PM
Not OUR player

Dearie me. Lets spin even more positives in to a negative. Heaven forbid that we relax and praise those who have worn out jersey this season. Did you miss a smiley out or are you merely being arsey because you can?
I believe the former...... Peace and love to Hibbys everywhere.:thumbsup:

TrinityHibs
28-12-2012, 07:30 PM
Who is best and who gives more is a different question. For me if I had to choose a player first on the team sheet its Williams. I just like having a real goalkeeper for once. LG has the potential if he could sort out consistency. So does Spoonie who I still think is one of the last of the golden generation.

28-12-2012, 07:32 PM
McGivern for me, closely followed by Griffiths. McGivern will go on to play at a higher level than anyone else in our squad IMO.

Agree with this.

28-12-2012, 07:40 PM
Agree with this.

Add me to the McGivern fan club too. I expect to see him in the top league down South on a regular basis.

Hibees07
28-12-2012, 07:41 PM
McGivern was outstanding against Hearts and has been fairly consistent but it's still Williams for me.

Heedersnvolleys
28-12-2012, 07:42 PM
Dearie me. Lets spin even more positives in to a negative. Heaven forbid that we relax and praise those who have worn out jersey this season. Did you miss a smiley out or are you merely being arsey because you can?
I believe the former...... Peace and love to Hibbys everywhere.:thumbsup:
You right can't get a smiley on my phone:-) Don't get me wrong wish they were OUR players.

Teuchter Hibbie
28-12-2012, 07:47 PM
Griffiths by a country mile in terms of ability. His quality in comparison with those around him is frequently glaringly obvious. In terms of performances this season and overall contribution to the team, I'd go with Cairney.

28-12-2012, 07:47 PM
Wotherspoon.

Agreed - definitely Wotherspoon...........(or Kuqi)! 😄

28-12-2012, 07:54 PM
Amadou Konte.

28-12-2012, 07:56 PM
Surprise surprise..what a shocker..get yourself along tp specsavers ASAP.

keep the faith:faf:

http://getfootballnewsdaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/wotherspoon_1588696a.jpeg
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/e4/42/0,,10290%7E11420388,00.jpg
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/63747000/jpg/_63747075_wotherspoon-goal.jpg
http://i2.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1469822.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Hibs+v+Heartshttp://images.teamtalk.com/12/12/402x210/Hibs-v-Hearts-David-Wotherspoon-shouts_2869648.jpg

Ultrabee1-0
28-12-2012, 07:56 PM
Doyle when he is at his best, just my opinion tho, his passing,vision,movement finishing and bring players into play and he can beat a man he does it for me always puts a good graft in as well!

28-12-2012, 08:11 PM
http://getfootballnewsdaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/wotherspoon_1588696a.jpeg
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/e4/42/0,,10290%7E11420388,00.jpg
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/63747000/jpg/_63747075_wotherspoon-goal.jpg
http://i2.dailyrecord.co.uk/incoming/article1469822.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Hibs+v+Heartshttp://images.teamtalk.com/12/12/402x210/Hibs-v-Hearts-David-Wotherspoon-shouts_2869648.jpg

http://i976.photobucket.com/albums/ae247/Mainboy/Pleasing/14o26wojpg.gif

Famous5forever
28-12-2012, 08:13 PM
Griffiths.

Agreed

28-12-2012, 08:38 PM
Williams or Claros in terms of there general consistency.

HibeeSince85
28-12-2012, 09:31 PM
The guys on loan are our best players, all three offer something different but it would be sparky we'd miss the most if we couldn't get in a ready made goal scorer.

Out of the boys in the books it's between Williams and Cairney.

Russell The Dug
28-12-2012, 09:39 PM
If not a loan player I would go Cairney then Doyle. Be gutted if he didn't get a new deal.

28-12-2012, 09:44 PM
Sparky , if not a loan player then Clancy

Shaggy
28-12-2012, 09:51 PM
Cairney by a mile.

( I dont know why alot on here ***** there knickers over Claros,
yes he can win tackles with the odd pass, but only if the action comes to him,
other than that he wanders off anywhere out of position, and leaves a hole in the midfield... usually why we dont get going
...sorry only my opinion,
but he would be my first shout for a taxi).

oh aye, still cairney for graft and commitment,
by a mile

28-12-2012, 09:55 PM
Wotherspoon.

At least I was taking the piss!!

andy1875
28-12-2012, 09:57 PM
Slightly of topic but this thread has reminded me o something that made me chuckle away to myself at the start of the season. I was in the club shop competing the Hibs kids application form for my daughter and one of the questions was "Favourite Hibs Player"? I did contemplate putting Sunshine the mascot down (bairns favourite thing about the games) but in the end left it blank haha sad times!

Anyhow that was then and this is now, our best player currently for me is, Ben Williams. Doyle/Sparky/McGivern/Cairney all been decent but Williams simply because its so refreshing to see a Hibs goalie that is capable of doin the basics right. Touch wood I ain't jinxed this now :greengrin

28-12-2012, 10:21 PM
Cairney. It's not even close! Nobody else can beat a man.

28-12-2012, 10:25 PM
McGivern

hibs4thecup1988
28-12-2012, 11:05 PM
Best player : Griffiths

Best Newcomer : Cairney

Player who has most improved : Wotherspoon

For the people laughing at Wotherspoon being the best this season in the last few pages...get a grip! He has played some great games, and if this was the other way round and we acted as Jambos do with a winning goalscorer in a derby we would be screaming for him to be knighted.
He has scored some crackers this season and always played and set up a few goals too.

28-12-2012, 11:21 PM
Best player : Griffiths

Best Newcomer : Cairney

Player who has most improved : Wotherspoon

For the people laughing at Wotherspoon being the best this season in the last few pages...get a grip! He has played some great games, and if this was the other way round and we acted as Jambos do with a winning goalscorer in a derby we would be screaming for him to be knighted.
He has scored some crackers this season and always played and set up a few goals too.

Spot on, IMO.

29-12-2012, 01:50 AM
Would another keeper not have saved these? As I said Williams has been one of our best players but these saves were relatively simple.

The one that was going in the top left hand corner of the goal didn't look simple at all from the west lower(south end). From my angle he saved a certain goal.

The **** thought they had scored for a micro second and so did we. Cue more goading!:na na:

gegs70
29-12-2012, 08:30 AM
Cairney has been a real bargain and gets my vote.

Moon unit
29-12-2012, 08:56 AM
McGivern
McGivern! - class apart..! Sparky a close second for his ability to excite and grab a goal.

rosco-hibee
29-12-2012, 07:53 PM
So the general consensus is McGivern, Griffiths or Cairney.

I think credit needs to go to McPake. The SC final aside(arguably the only player worth his wage that day), I think he has played a part instilling some pride and desire into the rest of the team. Clearly wears his heart on his sleeve when wearing the green and white and can only be a good influence on our younger players.