View Full Version : McPake at CF for Celtic

27-12-2012, 10:53 PM
Is it time to mix it up a bit for Celtic. We could put McPake at CF to give them something to think about.

27-12-2012, 10:57 PM
Is it time to mix it up a bit for Celtic. We could put McPake at CF to give them something to think about.

Emmm, naw........

Row H
27-12-2012, 10:59 PM

Could move Hanlon back to Midfield too, where he used to play.

SurferRosa
27-12-2012, 11:00 PM

I`m guessing you`re bored.....

27-12-2012, 11:01 PM
Put Ben Williams at centre midfield :agree:

27-12-2012, 11:01 PM
And Kuqi at left back to take care of Forrests pace.

27-12-2012, 11:02 PM
I`m guessing you`re bored.....

It was my old mans idea, I cant take any credit.:rolleyes:

27-12-2012, 11:02 PM
Could move Hanlon back to Midfield too, where he used to play.

Right what about Williams up Front, we can play last defender is the keeper......

Stick 5 forwards on and play a 1-5-5 formation.....Cant believe I am being as silly as the opening post:rolleyes:

27-12-2012, 11:03 PM

Take the strong drink away from him!!!!!!

27-12-2012, 11:03 PM

I will have some of what your taking please.

27-12-2012, 11:05 PM
He did play as a striker when he was younger did he not?

27-12-2012, 11:05 PM
Did Stuart Pearce not stick David James up front for the last 20 minutes of a game when he was manager of Man City?

Sure I remember that happening.

27-12-2012, 11:06 PM
Right what about Williams up Front, we can play last defender is the keeper......

Stick 5 forwards on and play a 1-5-5 formation.....Cant believe I am being as silly as the opening post:rolleyes:

In fairness McPake played a lot of football at CF

SurferRosa
27-12-2012, 11:06 PM

Then there`s been to much brandy in the christmas pudding my friend...:greengrin

hail1875hail
27-12-2012, 11:11 PM
not the worst idea ever... maybe;)

nahh but seriously could offer a physical presence against the Celtic defense and offer a target to give the ball to? we do need a target man but my concern would be who would cover at the back. you would probably have to put out a line up like this:

Williams
maybury/Stevenson-clancy-hanlon-mcgivern
wotherspoon-claros-cairney
doyle-griffiths
mcpake

Then there`s been to much brandy in the christmas pudding my friend...:greengrin

Aye Probably.

Hibstrooper
Slightly less contriversial but still pretty bold would be Stevenson to left midfield and Cairney in the middle.

We may lose a bit of attacking threat from the left however we've had nothing from the middle. Cairney would get forward well and has just as much bite and dig as the other 3 to not lose out on that side of the game.

27-12-2012, 11:13 PM
He Wants Donaldson & Smith in defence too.

27-12-2012, 11:14 PM
In fairness McPake played a lot of football at CF

He did, but I would rather he was at CH against the merricks........

27-12-2012, 11:19 PM
not the worst idea ever... maybe;)

nahh but seriously could offer a physical presence against the Celtic defense and offer a target to give the ball to? we do need a target man but my concern would be who would cover at the back. you would probably have to put out a line up like this:

Williams
maybury/Stevenson-clancy-hanlon-mcgivern
wotherspoon-claros-cairney
doyle-griffiths
mcpake

Yes then we could at least hold the ball up further up the field durring the first half. I dont think we have got much to lose and nobody will blame PF for having a crack (well the bed wetters will, they always do).

27-12-2012, 11:25 PM
I think we need to shake things up a bit, why not start off with Sparky & Doyle on the bench. If we play a predictable game we will get slaughtered, we need to make it uncomfortable and unpredictable.

hail1875hail
27-12-2012, 11:30 PM
I think we need to shake things up a bit, why not start off with Sparky & Griffiths on the bench. If we play a predictable game we will slaughtered, we need to make it uncomfortable and unpredictable.

better start with leigh on the bench aswell haha:)

hail1875hail
27-12-2012, 11:31 PM
I think we need to shake things up a bit, why not start off with Sparky & Griffiths on the bench. If we play a predictable game we will slaughtered, we need to make it uncomfortable and unpredictable.

can see where youre coming from though

27-12-2012, 11:32 PM
better start with leigh on the bench aswell haha:)

fixed that. Meant Doyle & Sparky

27-12-2012, 11:37 PM
How about 'any man in'?

27-12-2012, 11:37 PM
can see where youre coming from though

Not really a big gamble we all expect to get pumped by 4 goals at least, so lets use the game to try something out. I dont think we will lose the SPL on goal diffrence:greengrin. So I 'd like to see PF show us some creativity and make celtic sweat a bit.

andrew70
27-12-2012, 11:38 PM
I'd personally go with

Williams
Clancy McPake Hanlon McGivern
Wotherspoon Deegan Claros Stevenson
Cairney
Griffiths

Subs: Doyle, Taiwo, Donaldson, Kuqi, Caldwell, Handling, Horribine

27-12-2012, 11:41 PM
I'd personally go with

Williams
Wotherspoon Deegan Claros Stevenson
Cairney
Griffiths

Subs: Doyle, Taiwo, Donaldson, Kuqi, Caldwell, Handling, Horribine

I think we will get something like:

Williams
Cairney Deegan Claros Stevenson
Doyle
Griffiths

and that is what they will expect!!!

sbell1875
28-12-2012, 12:05 AM
I seem to recall us going 4-4-1-1 at Motherwell away in October with Doyle basically playing wide and Cairney behind Sparky. It worked a treat that night and I'd be inclined to go something similar on Saturday.

If I was offered a draw just now I'd take it with both hands.

28-12-2012, 12:12 AM
I seem to recall us going 4-4-1-1 at Motherwell away in October with Doyle basically playing wide and Cairney behind Sparky. It worked a treat that night and I'd be inclined to go something similar on Saturday.

A draw would be great!.

The old 9-1 formation is a reality most of the time against celtic.

28-12-2012, 12:15 AM
I actually would have done this for the last 15 minutes against ST.J, felt we could have done with a different option up front as we were creating absolutely nothing, and his height and pace could be pretty effective.

But starting against Celtic? No.

28-12-2012, 12:35 AM

There was also a game, home to St Mirren I think, where Fenlon swapped Doyle and Cairney around just fter half time and it worked wonders. Thought he was a master tactician at the time, not so sure now!

gegs70
28-12-2012, 01:18 AM

You know its not a bad idea....someine faster than kuqi, who is taller than 5"2 who can win a ball in the air or hold the ball up.

28-12-2012, 07:02 PM
I think we all know that the team tomorrow will be more or less the same as Wednesday's with Claros maybe back in. There is nobody else.

steviej147
28-12-2012, 09:30 PM
why not try murdoch in goal as williams is making to many howlers

Famous5forever
28-12-2012, 09:42 PM

very funny however if we get beat by less than 4 goals i will be amazed, the sad thing is 8 weeks ago this game would have been a title decider we have to get back on form quick style.

28-12-2012, 09:54 PM
why not try murdoch in goal as williams is making to many howlers

Any in particular you can remind me of? :confused:

I genuinely can't think of too many "howlers" that he's made this season.

28-12-2012, 09:59 PM
Any in particular you can remind me of? :confused:

I genuinely can't think of too many "howlers" that he's made this season.

He wasn't being serious.....

...was he?

07hibee
28-12-2012, 10:00 PM

Seem to remember a game when Darren Jackson was in goals for a bit!Id had a few sherrys in the Loch Inn ,so could be wrong !

28-12-2012, 10:00 PM
very funny however if we get beat by less than 4 goals i will be amazed, the sad thing is 8 weeks ago this game would have been a title decider we have to get back on form quick style.

So if we had played Celtic in October, it would have been billed as a "title decider"? :confused:

Not too sure about that one.

Famous5forever
28-12-2012, 10:07 PM
So if we had played Celtic in October, it would have been billed as a "title decider"? :confused:

Not too sure about that one.

top off the table clash ?

Famous5forever
28-12-2012, 10:11 PM
Seem to remember a game when Darren Jackson was in goals for a bit!Id had a few sherrys in the Loch Inn ,so could be wrong !

Aye recall being in the four after one game and had a few sherrys as well and ah had it in ma mind that benny brazil scored a hat trick ( ah just couldnae remember who fur ) SILLY POST TIME INDEED:flag:

07hibee
28-12-2012, 10:18 PM
Aye recall being in the four after one game and had a few sherrys as well and ah had it in ma mind that benny brazil scored a hat trick ( ah just couldnae remember who fur ) SILLY POST TIME INDEED:flag:

Haha,I was serious ,I think Leighton got injured with no goalie on bench?

28-12-2012, 10:21 PM
Not really a big gamble we all expect to get pumped by 4 goals at least, so lets use the game to try something out. I dont think we will lose the SPL on goal diffrence:greengrin. So I 'd like to see PF show us some creativity and make celtic sweat a bit.

I don't expect us to get pumped by 4 goals i expect us to go out and be competitive I've seen celtic a few times on tv and at times they have been poor. We should be at least looking to be taking the game to them and hoping they have a bit of an off day

07hibee
28-12-2012, 10:22 PM

Almost 100% sure Jackson saved 2 shots at the same penalty from ,Laudrup

28-12-2012, 10:31 PM
top off the table clash ?

It would have been a top of the table clash, no doubt about that.

However, just because a match is a top of the table clash doesn't automatically make it a title decider, especially in October!

07hibee
28-12-2012, 10:33 PM

Russell The Dug
28-12-2012, 10:37 PM

Nah that was Leighton.

29-12-2012, 10:20 AM

That was Leighton however Jackson did end up in goals away to Celtic once.

29-12-2012, 06:00 PM
Defo better at Centre Half!